Author Topic: New Ford Ranger  (Read 5225 times)

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
New Ford Ranger
« on: May 18, 2011, 08:09:43 PM »
Just found a site about entering a competition to win a new Ford Ranger and in the contest details it had the prize details and the top prize a
XLT Dual Cab Auto was listed at $58,500.00
Now I am not telling you all the site as I am going to win this  :laugh:
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu
2011 Jayco 17.55 Outback with Cruisemaster Independent Air Suspension
Off road trailer full of camping gear.

HF Radio Club  Sel Call 1955

Re: New Ford Ranger
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2011, 08:13:28 PM »
http://www.fordrangerchallenge.com.au/rangerchallenge/

« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2011, 08:14:41 PM »
Its a new Ford Ranger as well...looks different...don't worry I wont mention the web site or how I googled it either

« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2011, 08:14:52 PM »
$58K for a ute  :o

« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2011, 08:16:31 PM »
Careful of the clutch...it can be fragile

« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2011, 08:17:36 PM »
$58K for a ute  :o

you haven't heard of a hilux?

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2011, 08:22:16 PM »
Yep price is up there with the Lux and Amarok, but it looks to have a bit more on board than the Lux.
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu

« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2011, 08:22:45 PM »
Hiwhat?

« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2011, 09:35:09 PM »
$58K for a ute  :o

Top of the range Navara 550 is about $66k  .... for a ute !!

« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2011, 09:43:39 PM »
Winning a Ford ??? now that's a contradicting statement >:D

« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2011, 06:59:18 AM »
I hope the Ford comes with a HUGE winch so it can drag its broken down carcus out of the bush to rust somewhere else  ;D

« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2011, 09:13:47 AM »
The new Ranger is meant to be almost F150-sized, so I'm keen to see one in the flesh, and see if it really is bigger than the current crop of mid-sized utes.

I like them.

Having just blown the engine in the father-in-law's 05 Courier though, it would take a lot for me to actually get one though.

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2011, 09:20:07 AM »
I'm lining one up as a company car, nice unit I reckon.

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2011, 04:43:35 PM »
Mate who owns a Ford Dealership said that price will not be the one Ford put out at launch as it is up there with the Hilux and he said if it is as much people will just buy the Lux cause of it's popularity.
I to am keen, one I like the motor (it has been around in Europe in the Transit since 2008) the suicide doors and looks to have a lot of new technology. So lets hope they have a sharp penicl.
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu

« Reply #14 on: May 19, 2011, 05:54:01 PM »
Dose this Ranger fill the F100/150 gap  ;D

Offline albany_nomads

• Dylan..Mans best friend
    • John Grant Photography
« Reply #15 on: May 19, 2011, 10:38:08 PM »
Hope it goes better than our fleet Rangers...theyre not a bad vehicle... just take it easy with the clutch's..they can be a bit fragile
Kind Regards: John, Nola & Dylan (The Albany Nomads )

MY BLOG:   http://johngrantphotography.wordpress.com/

« Reply #16 on: May 20, 2011, 10:32:07 AM »
Dose this Ranger fill the F100/150 gap  ;D
It's supposed to, as I understand it. That's why they're not selling it in the states - they reckon it's basically the same size as the F150, but doesn't have the 3/4 ton chassis, etc, of the big F150. Of course, this is annoying the daylights out of the US guys who want a smaller, new turbo-diesel dual cab. Unfortunately for them, most people who buy the F150's want them for their size and their big motors, so I can understand Ford's decision. Does seem strange though for this to be one of their raft of new "global" cars, that's not being sold in their home market...  ;D

Got to admit, the size is something I'm really interested in. I'd love to grab a 100-series cruiser or Patrol and lop the back off to turn it into a full-size ute. If the new Ranger actually turns out to be a bit bigger than the current mid-size crop, then it might be a good option.

Offline strudeltoowoomba

« Reply #17 on: May 20, 2011, 10:03:07 PM »
It is reported to be 90% of the size of the F150, towing capacity will be 3350kg and be available with the ZF box that currently graces the most modern vehicles.   Talking to a couple of the guys that have driven it, it is going to make the lux old hat.  Relability issues have supposedly been sorted, time will tell on that front.

Strudeltoowoomba

Offline 4wd26

« Reply #18 on: June 06, 2011, 02:41:15 PM »
my entry

got to be in it to win it- be nice to get back to Fraser.  :cheers:
'08 Mitsubishi Triton GLX/R Diesel Auto, with offroad accessories.
Windsor Rapid 472s Offroad
Not your usual camper trailer
Getting Out There<- BLOG

« Reply #19 on: June 06, 2011, 02:52:23 PM »
found a photo... now what words do I put with it...

Offline StevenM

• Yep thats my swag
« Reply #20 on: June 07, 2011, 09:24:41 PM »
Supposed to be basically a Patrol size ute and dual cab.

Should do well

Offline whitey

« Reply #21 on: June 07, 2011, 10:32:23 PM »
A ranga ... supercrap.... whatever you other drivers want to call it i have one( and i'm a Holden supporter), a 2010 supercab xlt with a couple of extras fitted (will send photos once i start my slide on build ....or when my daughter shows me how to do it more to the point) Since i've had mine 3 others mates have done the same... Dual cabs and wildcats and they also jump up and do the Toyota kick cos' they've saved a quid or two, the only draw back i have is the leaf springs are comfy alright but need another leaf / beefing up to carry the load they are rated to carry and pull, which they do quite comfortably and easily( no sign of clutch issues). I have let the Nissan boys hook up my tandem with a slasher on it and compare the two around the pleasant hills and tracks around town and they concede it isn't a bad bus.
I will change the springs and use the old ones on a trailer build killing two birds with one stone ... if i do a spring on a trip in the vehicle i can swap it and ditch the trailer or as a ford hater would say ditch the ranga and roll away in the trailer ;D ;D ;D so if a lucky reader enters and wins the truck you will be as happy as a fart in a zipped up double swag... go on you want to enter don't ya

Offline whitey

« Reply #22 on: June 07, 2011, 10:41:36 PM »
Oh yea.. the Wildcats picked up last month has all the extras in the deal  .....   Front bar, tow pack, hard cover on tub, roof bars heavy duty floor mats, cruise  (XLT stuff) for $42000  :'( :'(