General => General Discussion => Topic started by: NewieCamper on June 22, 2017, 03:13:14 PM

Title: Remove your hitch when not towing?
Post by: NewieCamper on June 22, 2017, 03:13:14 PM
I see lots of cars with a shin smasher on the back. Personally I prefer to remove my hitch and stow it elsewhere until I need to tow. Made even more sense when we had a box trailer with a standard ball and a poly block for the camper. Switching cars, switch the hitch. Also found that when I bought a second hand tow bar for the navara the hitch had been in for so long it was not coming out without an oxy torch. All the road grime over the years had got in around it and it was stuck solid.  I figure keeping the hitch out allows the receiver to stay clean and easy to remove if required.

What are your thoughts? Take it off when not in use? Just remove the ball/coupling? Keep it on as a rear bumper protector in case someone behind decides not to stop soon enough?
Title: Re: Remove your hitch when not towing?
Post by: Bird on June 22, 2017, 03:18:41 PM
I actually thought there was a law about removing them when not in use..

you need another option in your poll...

'i leave it there CBF removing it.
Post by: Ben.Archer on June 22, 2017, 03:20:00 PM
Can we get an extra option for - I remove the hitch but leave the (removable) receiver attached. 
Post by: NewieCamper on June 22, 2017, 03:27:00 PM
Bird: option 5
Ben: ran out of options!
Post by: Traveller on June 22, 2017, 03:53:16 PM
I voted yes, but there is a proviso.

When home I take it out and throw it in the shed. When away touring it stays on for the trip.
Post by: Bird on June 22, 2017, 04:01:48 PM
Interesting
http://www.asshat.com.au/moronsptyltd/Page.asp?PageID=558 (http://www.walk.com.au/pedestriancouncil/Page.asp?PageID=558)
(http://www.walk.com.au/pedestriancouncil/images/elements/contentpics/RTA_Towbar_Christie_Text.jpg)
Post by: Pete79 on June 22, 2017, 04:25:18 PM
Mine usually only gets taken off when we're going out wheeling on the harder tracks.
Personally I couldn't really care less about other peoples shins, but I do get annoyed when the hitch drags along the ground wrecking the awesome departure angle on the JK... :P

Not to mention having to get dirty while removing the hitch out on the tracks so I can use the receiver to attached the snatch strap and drag out another stuck toyota.... ;D
Post by: Moxley on June 22, 2017, 05:06:20 PM
Mine usually only gets taken off when we're going out wheeling on the harder tracks.
Personally I couldn't really care less about other peoples shins, but I do get annoyed when the hitch drags along the ground wrecking the awesome departure angle on the JK... :P

Not to mention having to get dirty while removing the hitch out on the tracks so I can use the receiver to attached the snatch strap and drag out another stuck toyota.... ;D

I say leave it in for the so and so's who are happy to run up your bum while on their mobile or park too close behind you.
Post by: Rumpig on June 22, 2017, 05:23:08 PM
I say leave it in for the so and so's who are happy to run up your bum while on their mobile or park too close behind you.
a mate had some young fella in his borrowed girl friends sedan run up the back of his fourby whilst he had the tow hitch left in....reckons it opened the front of the vehicle and destroyed the radiator etc in the car, yet he only had a few scratches on his fourby. He drove off after swapping details, young fella who was apparently driving like a nob had plenty of explaining to do to his girl friend and a vehicle going to a holding yard on a tow truck...lol.
I leave mine in, it doesn't really stick out with the way my canopy is set up, and happy for it to help aid protection from those behind not paying attention or driving as they should.
Post by: SEADOO on June 22, 2017, 06:11:59 PM
I will usually leave it on. But with the addition of a nudge bar, I had remove it to fit in the shed.
Post by: Ben.Archer on June 22, 2017, 06:17:09 PM
Years ago I had something similar.  I was waiting at a set of lights, and some girl to busy being a ftard on tardbook ran straight into the back of me doing 50.

The brand new falcon she was driving went right under the rear of my lifted Prado.  My tow ball punched a hole through her bonnet diagonally piercing her radiator and only stopping after it had torn the engine of its mounts. 

The only damage to my car was some cherry red paint on the tow ball.

Hers was a total write off, especially after I added insult to injury and drove off her car bringing large sections of wiring loom, radiator and bonnet with me.   :laugh:

Post by: Pete79 on June 22, 2017, 07:49:28 PM
a mate had some young fella in his borrowed girl friends sedan run up the back of his fourby whilst he had the tow hitch left in....reckons it opened the front of the vehicle and destroyed the radiator etc in the car, yet he only had a few scratches on his fourby. He drove off after swapping details, young fella who was apparently driving like a nob had plenty of explaining to do to his girl friend and a vehicle going to a holding yard on a tow truck...lol.
I leave mine in, it doesn't really stick out with the way my canopy is set up, and happy for it to help aid protection from those behind not paying attention or driving as they should.
Wasn't a evo was it?
Our young parts guy at work wrote off his misses hot little Mitsi a while back.
Driving like a tool, rear ended a forby and made a real mess of it. Forby drove off with a scratch on one under tray tool box, evo left on a tilt tray. ;D
Post by: gronk on June 22, 2017, 07:52:36 PM
Take it off as soon as I get home from camping. The 4wd doesn't fit in the garage with it on !!
Post by: GeoffA on June 22, 2017, 07:59:30 PM
I remove the hitch before someone else does.
It's not needed for protection. The Kaymar rear bar does a good job of that.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on June 22, 2017, 08:14:50 PM
I'm with Geoff A on this, but I do get a bit forgetful sometimes.
I can get all worked up and mount a 50mm ball there, a VC AT3500 tow pin, or a billet recovery point.
Or just leave it empty.
Even if I leave any of them in the socket, none of them stick out further than the spare tyre on the swing arm.
Post by: Snapman007 on June 22, 2017, 08:26:41 PM
Interesting
http://www.asshat.com.au/moronsptyltd/Page.asp?PageID=558 (http://www.walk.com.au/pedestriancouncil/Page.asp?PageID=558)
(http://www.walk.com.au/pedestriancouncil/images/elements/contentpics/RTA_Towbar_Christie_Text.jpg)

PMSL.  ;D
Post by: briann532 on June 22, 2017, 08:51:38 PM
Interesting

Harold screwloose is a twit!!!!
Post by: Brodie Tas on June 22, 2017, 09:15:08 PM
I leave mine in my ute has a trailer on it 90% of the time so couldn't be bothered taking it out, also I was rear ended by a sedan a couple of years ago wrote there car of and the tow ball took the impact not a scratch on mine  :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on June 22, 2017, 09:23:52 PM
Mine comes straight off when at camp or back home. Not interested in smashing a knee cap. Just doesn't make sense leaving it on in my book  :cheers:
Post by: Rumpig on June 22, 2017, 09:33:41 PM
Wasn't a evo was it?
Our young parts guy at work wrote off his misses hot little Mitsi a while back.
Driving like a tool, rear ended a forby and made a real mess of it. Forby drove off with a scratch on one under tray tool box, evo left on a tilt tray. ;D
no idea of vehicle involved...it was a few years ago on Mccullough Rd at Suunybank, outside the Shell servo near Sunnybank Union club.
Post by: Ragman on June 22, 2017, 10:11:42 PM
I'm too lazy to take if off, but for those who take the hitch out where do you keep it, in the vehicle or in the shed?

I have been caught out when unexpectedly need to tow something and not having the hitch.
Post by: NewieCamper on June 22, 2017, 10:29:44 PM
I usually keep mine in the shed and have been caught once. Loaded the bike rack into my wife's car in the morning, then rode the rest of the family to dinner then had to leave the bikes because I couldn't put the bike rack on to bring everything home - no hitch.
Post by: GeoffA on June 22, 2017, 10:30:09 PM
I'm too lazy to take if off, but for those who take the hitch out where do you keep it, in the vehicle or in the shed?

I have been caught out when unexpectedly need to tow something and not having the hitch.

....in the car, in one of the rear drawers.

Post by: Fathom on June 23, 2017, 06:58:29 AM
I leave mine on.
(Ball hitch for the box trailer)
Have had two cars (that I am aware of- cause I was sitting in the car.) hit the back of my car while parked in a car park in the city.
They had a nice ding. I had nothing. Without the hitch on, I'd have dings in my rear bumper.
I'm happy for idiots to hit the hitch rather than my car.

I only change it if I'm going 4wding, then I grab the recovery hitch from the drawers and put that on.
Or going camping and put the treg hitch on.
So it gets changed regularly.
But the default is the ball hitch.
Post by: Ben.Archer on June 23, 2017, 08:26:52 AM
The sheer fact that that twit Scrubby complains about them being left in and the safety aspect of leaving them in has me planning to put my ball hitch back in.  I have to remove the Mc Hitch Auto Hitch coupler when not in use as it sends the reversing sensors nuts having such a large lump of metal behind them..
Post by: Redback on June 23, 2017, 09:02:47 AM
Interesting

What if it's a permanent hitch and not a tongue?? (ie) a car.
Post by: rotare on June 23, 2017, 09:33:04 AM
I'd like to see them enforce it since every second car has a tow hitch fitted where I live.

It may be deemed illegal, but in nearly 30 years of having a license I've never heard of someone being booked.

I better make sure I fold my side mirrors in too when not using them just in case a pedestrian bumps into them with their shoulder....

Post by: Snow on June 23, 2017, 11:05:58 AM
I remove my hitch bar when it's not in use to save my shins and deter would be tealeafs. Here in NSW the rule only states that the hitch is not to protrude dangerously. Very subjective but, it does not mandate removal of the bar. When I took delivery of my Everest the bar was fitted up ready to go so Ford doesn't think it is dangerous.
I store the bar in the stock rear under floor compartment with the jack and tools (Same with Mrs Snow's Rav4) and have fitted McHitch hitches to both my camper and boxy drawbars relieving the need for more than one bar.
Post by: kylarama on June 23, 2017, 11:35:10 AM
Never removed the hitch due to having forgotten the hitch one time and a locking pin fitted. Not to mention laziness....  Plus on the Prado the factory hitch protrudes no further than the factory spare wheel cover.

A Mitsubishi SUV boot rooted our Prado last week.  Damage looked very minimal to ours, as the hitch appeared to do most of the damage to the other car.  Still managed to do 3K damage to our car. Rear bar, spare wheel cover and spare wheel bracket.

Post by: Bird on June 23, 2017, 12:20:40 PM
Quote from: rotare
I'd like to see them enforce it since every second car has a tow hitch fitted where I live.

Sort of like people on mobiles, cars with 1 headlight, etc etc.. they could clear the national debt in a month
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on June 23, 2017, 01:05:41 PM
Sort of like people on mobiles, cars with 1 headlight, etc etc.. they could clear the national debt in a month

Just like in Vic..
Where the boys aren't interested in pinging anybody, unless it involves points on Licenses apparently.
Post by: loanrangie on June 23, 2017, 01:16:32 PM
Just like in Vic..
Where the boys aren't interested in pinging anybody, unless it involves points on Licenses apparently.

And they have camera's for that, dont have to move their fat arse from the vehicle at all.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on June 23, 2017, 01:19:45 PM
Hi All, When I bought the 80 series  5 or 6 years ago the tongue was that loose, it slopped backwards and forward and rattled that bad, I pulled the tongue tight and spot welded the the fours corners it has not moved or rattled sense. Craig
Post by: rotare on June 23, 2017, 01:41:11 PM
Not sure what others have, but my hitch with ball connected is a fair slug of metal.  Unless strapped and secured inside the vehicle when not in use, I'd suspect it would do a fair bit of damage inside a vehicle, and to occupants, if you were ever in a roll over or be involved in a significant vehicle impact.
Post by: Bird on June 23, 2017, 01:52:01 PM
Quote from: loanrangie
  And they have camera's for that, dont have to move their fat arse from the vehicle at all.

I dunno.. In the middle of nowhere other day coming back from Portland there were 4 of em standing hidden beside an abandoned building in small country town that looked like it had been extinct for last 35 yrs..
1 with camera shooting almost down the verandah to the road (was on a corner), and 3 like council workers, and 1 bout klm down the road with some P Plater who probably did 1klm over, or smiled in public or similar deadly crime... If only he had of done a aggrevated burg instead he'd be in the clear.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on June 23, 2017, 02:20:46 PM
Just to clear up a small thing, speed cameras on side of the road are operated by sub-contractors, not by members.
Post by: wilson79 on June 23, 2017, 02:30:13 PM
I remove as I have had 2 stolen on me already
Post by: Bird on June 23, 2017, 03:15:31 PM
Quote from: wilson79
I remove as I have had 2 stolen on me already

I cant believe people steal these things that often.. I've heard of it in caravan parks...  but not in the real world.
Post by: wilson79 on June 23, 2017, 05:39:38 PM
I cant believe people steal these things that often.. I've heard of it in caravan parks...  but not in the real world.

Yep once in a motel in Mt Isa the other I think it was at the Bunnings car park in Townsville
Post by: Rumpig on June 23, 2017, 06:18:45 PM
Just to clear up a small thing, speed cameras on side of the road are operated by sub-contractors, not by members.
so you're saying they are to lazy to even do that now? ;D ;D
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on June 23, 2017, 07:17:00 PM
so you're saying they are to lazy to even do that now? ;D ;D

Rummy, your just nasty.

Dunno about elsewhere, but Vic. the Police have Subbied out the job of roadside Speed Camera's, been like that for years.
The 'Bosses' refer to it as more uniform police available for "Interaction with the Public."
Post by: Rumpig on June 23, 2017, 07:27:31 PM
Rummy, your just nasty.

Dunno about elsewhere, but Vic. the Police have Subbied out the job of roadside Speed Camera's, been like that for years.
The 'Bosses' refer to it as more uniform police available for "Interaction with the Public."
all jokes mate...the coppers in every state work hard for their money i'm sure, then watch their hard work go down the drain as soft judges give repeat offenders continual slaps on the wrist.
Post by: stabicraft on June 23, 2017, 07:58:39 PM
There are more important things to police.
Drunk/ drugged drivers.......when was the last time you were drug tested?
Bald tyres, lots of tgem around.
Dangerious vehicles/ trucks
4x4s that need a ladder to reach the drivers door.
Look at me lights, blinding everyone.

These things need more enfrcement, not a tow bar.
Post by: NewieCamper on June 23, 2017, 10:02:01 PM
I tried to get one out of a partially burnt out hilux in the bush once, damn thing was stuck solid. Wonder how many won't ever be coming out again?
Post by: bellony on June 23, 2017, 11:33:16 PM
all jokes mate...the coppers in every state work hard for their money i'm sure, then watch their hard work go down the drain as soft judges give repeat offenders continual slaps on the wrist.

Be careful rumpig. 3 pollies nearly went to jail for stating the obvious.
Post by: moeite on June 24, 2017, 12:38:26 AM
Mine stays in. Lost the key for the locking pin.  ;D
Post by: prodigyrf on June 24, 2017, 05:19:24 PM
You can get radioactive ones but I use a standard one and hit it with some yellow marker paint I also have to spray the outer sides of the mudflaps and carry bar with as her indoors seems to struggle a bit watching where she's going-
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/GLOW-IN-THE-DARK-HIGH-VIS-TOWBAR-SHIN-PROTECTOR-SHIN-GUARD-TOWBALL-ACCESSORY-/251302308162 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/GLOW-IN-THE-DARK-HIGH-VIS-TOWBAR-SHIN-PROTECTOR-SHIN-GUARD-TOWBALL-ACCESSORY-/251302308162)
Sometimes you need to consider suitable training aids in such highly technical matters  :-*   

Post by: 4runnernomore on June 25, 2017, 09:02:45 PM
I remove mine on all my cars. I have the ozhitch so it sticks out a little bit to far and definitely do not want someone knocking it off.

Cheers, Chris :cheers:
Post by: alnjan on June 25, 2017, 10:52:20 PM
I remove it.  It just makes sense. 
Post by: Rumpig on June 26, 2017, 06:39:00 AM
I remove it.  It just makes sense.
why does it "just make sense"?...mine is used regularly and doesn't protrude past the ladder or rubbish bag on the back of my canopy, so it "just makes sense" to me that I leave it on.
Post by: Pete79 on June 26, 2017, 07:57:28 AM
I tried to get one out of a partially burnt out hilux in the bush once, damn thing was stuck solid. Wonder how many won't ever be coming out again?
I recon there's tons rusted solid in the receiver.

My brother came wheeling with us once in his Colorado, his highway tyres slipped into a muddy rut and got stuck on his front arms.
Just needed a gentle pull back a meter so he could get back on the right line, but his hitch was never coming out. There was no force required so I made the call that it was safe to strap onto the main bar, but if he was really stuck it could have been an interesting recovery.

And the second hand towbar that I bought for my MN triton was rusted solid. It took 2 days of soaking it in WD40 and absolutely belting the crap out of it with my big f....off hammer before it budged. There was no chance of getting that hitch out on the tracks.
Post by: Julian Kaye on June 26, 2017, 08:52:54 AM
I recon there's tons rusted solid in the receiver.

My brother came wheeling with us once in his Colorado, his highway tyres slipped into a muddy rut and got stuck on his front arms.
Just needed a gentle pull back a meter so he could get back on the right line, but his hitch was never coming out. There was no force required so I made the call that it was safe to strap onto the main bar, but if he was really stuck it could have been an interesting recovery.

And the second hand towbar that I bought for my MN triton was rusted solid. It took 2 days of soaking it in WD40 and absolutely belting the crap out of it with my big f....off hammer before it budged. There was no chance of getting that hitch out on the tracks.

Did you read the topic about the man being killed while snatching a mate's car at Yeppoon?
Post by: Pete79 on June 26, 2017, 09:06:47 AM

Did you read the topic about the man being killed while snatching a mate's car at Yeppoon?
Yes I did.
Just to be clear here, by "safe to strap around the main bar" I mean wrapping the TOW strap around the main cross bar that goes between the chassis rails and makes the body of the tow bar. Not the tow ball.

But seriously we could have easily pushed my brothers car out of the rut if we wanted to get our feet muddy, I'd hardly even call it a recovery.....
And it was a looooooong way away from snatching at full noise with a length of the strap run up like everyone loves to do these days.

Anyways, everyone can do want they want with their hitch.
Leave it in, leave it out, I couldn't care less.
My point was, if you leave it in make sure you slip it out every now and then to make sure it's not rusted solid in there.
You never know when you might need to connect a strap to your receiver, even if you are just a highway cruiser (like my brother) one day you might slip into a rut and need a hand to get out.
Post by: Julian Kaye on June 26, 2017, 02:14:22 PM
Yes I did.
Just to be clear here, by "safe to strap around the main bar" I mean wrapping the TOW strap around the main cross bar that goes between the chassis rails and makes the body of the tow bar. Not the tow ball.

But seriously we could have easily pushed my brothers car out of the rut if we wanted to get our feet muddy, I'd hardly even call it a recovery.....
And it was a looooooong way away from snatching at full noise with a length of the strap run up like everyone loves to do these days.

Anyways, everyone can do want they want with their hitch.
Leave it in, leave it out, I couldn't care less.
My point was, if you leave it in make sure you slip it out every now and then to make sure it's not rusted solid in there.
You never know when you might need to connect a strap to your receiver, even if you are just a highway cruiser (like my brother) one day you might slip into a rut and need a hand to get out.

Fair enough, I thought that's what you meant, I was being a bit cheeky.
Post by: Pete79 on June 26, 2017, 02:19:02 PM

Fair enough, I thought that's what you meant, I was being a bit cheeky.
All good mate. :)
Sadly humor tends gets a bit lost in any 4wd recovery discussion. The default positions are always Attack or Defense these days.
Post by: alnjan on June 26, 2017, 05:32:30 PM
why does it "just make sense"?...mine is used regularly and doesn't protrude past the ladder or rubbish bag on the back of my canopy, so it "just makes sense" to me that I leave it on.

My reasons make sense to me and your reasons make sense to you.  There fore neither is wrong and neither is right but what we want to do  8)
Post by: NewieCamper on June 26, 2017, 06:19:17 PM
All good mate. :)
Sadly humor tends gets a bit lost in any 4wd recovery discussion. The default positions are always Attack or Defense these days.
And not just about 4wd recovery either, pretty much everything.

The hitch stuck in the second hand towbar on my navara was stuck solid, tried Soaking it in wd40, smashing it with a hammer, using a fence puller connected to the house (with damper on the cable), driving around without the pin in (but a cable tie safety strap) even tried moving the trailer around the yard. In the end I was lucky the towbar was subject to recall, so I got a brand new one from Nissan!
Post by: ATC on June 26, 2017, 06:30:19 PM
And not just about 4wd recovery either, pretty much everything.

The hitch stuck in the second hand towbar on my navara was stuck solid, tried Soaking it in wd40, smashing it with a hammer, using a fence puller connected to the house (with damper on the cable), driving around without the pin in (but a cable tie safety strap) even tried moving the trailer around the yard. In the end I was lucky the towbar was subject to recall, so I got a brand new one from Nissan!
Score

Sent from my SM-T815Y using Tapatalk