General => General Discussion => Topic started by: muzza01 on March 04, 2017, 12:14:10 PM

Title: Shopping for 2nd hand 4wd in 2018 - Scratched the Y61 Patrol off the list
Post by: muzza01 on March 04, 2017, 12:14:10 PM
Most likely upgrading the 105 Cruza wagon in about 18 months. Looking at spending up to $36k.
I would prefer a 200s or 76s Cruza wagon but my budget will only buy in at the bottom end. I like to research well ahead of buying.

I wasn't  really after a ute but I have looked  over 2013 dmax, BT50, Hilux,  Navara, Ranger. They are Ok but didn't really bond with them.  Didn't like the Triton at all.

I would really prefer a wagon on coils, BTW, Not really fussed on the Pajero or Prado.

What I do like is the Patrol. Like the GU7, GU8.  So much too offer for the price and really nice to drive.  My question for the Partol owners is how do they tow with the 4 cyl diesel?

Just after opinions on from Swaggers.
Title: Re: Shopping for 2nd hand 4wd in 2018 - options - opinions?
Post by: cowwee on March 04, 2017, 01:15:23 PM
Have a look at an Amarok.....mine has done everything that my mates 80 series with 5 inch lift has done!!!

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Post by: Fathom on March 04, 2017, 01:17:24 PM
My Patrol won't win a drag race up hill towing the camper.
But we get there.
Post by: tennismark on March 04, 2017, 02:14:11 PM
Will be watching this, as this is just like my situation. 200 series is clearly the winner so far but the 76 could be a choice too. Also looking at resale value too once its mine.

The GU late model Patrol is on the cards, but too many questions about how it will run over the journey still on my mind.
Post by: dave.sue on March 04, 2017, 02:56:18 PM
I had a 3lt patrol auto towed my 2 tin van once in summer it over heated 4th gear too high and 3rd to low un less the like towing at 80km the manual may be better as 5 speed then again a personaly  know if 3 3lts that blowed up i sold mine and got a 200 series.  The 4.2 patrols are good will run forever

Sent from my SM-A300Y using Tapatalk

Post by: mudge1 on March 04, 2017, 03:05:39 PM
Could not go past my FJ
Not great if you want to put more than 2 people in it for a trip or entry & exit, but it will go anywhere you point it and you can by a fully kitted out 2013 model with low K's for that money if you shop around. Bonus is they come with all the buttons that a much more expensive model (Prado Kakadu) have for a third of the price.
Better still you join a secret society of FJ drivers that have their own wave & you will stand out in a crowd.
I drove to Birdsville, towing a CT & the fuel cost was not much Diff to a big V8 diesel.
You won't need to worry about resale because you will keep it until you scatter its ashes

Post by: Bird on March 04, 2017, 03:11:03 PM
Have a look at an Amarok.....mine has done everything that my mates 80 series with 5 inch lift has done!!!
your mate cant drive
Post by: Railey on March 04, 2017, 05:14:29 PM
D3 or early model D4

Post by: oldmate on March 04, 2017, 06:23:06 PM

I've taken my hiace on a few trips. Went everywhere my mate in his 6" lifted patrol Went. He is even on this site to vouch for that

Post by: hempo on March 04, 2017, 06:27:16 PM
We just traded our GU9 Patrol recently.  You would be able to get one of these inside your budget.  We only have a camper under 1 tonne and it towed easily enough, but was pretty thirsty with 33" tyres.  Hills placed some additional strain, but you just drive it like it should be driven, it's not meant to be a fast car.  We had a 3" exhaust which helped but would have had an ECU remap should we have kept it.  These would help greatly.  Factor these into the budget also if you go down the Patrol avenue.

Post by: Fathom on March 04, 2017, 06:43:03 PM
I've taken my hiace on a few trips. Went everywhere my mate in his 6" lifted patrol Went. He is even on this site to vouch for that

Vouched.

Post by: ScarpsD40 on March 04, 2017, 07:44:36 PM

Vouched.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170304/91766e8344c2d569516c8f8f1fb337f0.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170304/9c0d35ebd4a23840abdcf22e29fad9ec.jpg)
Post by: grafy82 on March 04, 2017, 09:59:55 PM
I just downgraded from the 80 series a couple of weeks ago. Your budget is a lot higher than mine was but I ended up with an 05' 3.2DiD Pajero and so far, couldn't be happier. Don't get me wrong, I absolutely love my Toyota's, but for the price of a same year model non turbo cruiser, I could buy two Pajeros. Ultimately what made me upgrade was the lack of power in the old non turbo 80 when towing the camper. 2nd gear and 40km/hr ain't much fun up long, steep hills. The Pajero tows the camper beautifully, comfortably and with power to spare and the 5 speed auto is silky smooth. Yes, they don't have the resale of the Toyota, but you pay a helluva lot less to buy one in the first place. Good luck with the decision.
Title: Shopping for 2nd hand 4wd in 2018 - options - opinions?
Post by: Fathom on March 05, 2017, 06:49:35 AM
I'll add a bit more detail.

My 2014 auto Challenger on the highway trumps the Troll.
While the 'dinkiest 'engine in its class. It doesn't really slow down for hills with my FF attached. On road I hardly know it's there.
However I can feel the camper more. (Potholes etc)

I feel the extra weight of the camper in the Troll straight away- however it will still pull the camper up the Gateway bridge in 5th gear. (Manual)
Or Cunninghams gap in 4th.
I do have to pay attention to the rev range though, and play where it likes to play.
On the beach/off road. Most likely due to the extra weight and gearing, the Troll feels like it tows better. If the camper slides out on a rut, the Troll handles this better.
So for highway trips. The Challenger.
Beach or off road- the Troll.
Every vehicle is a compromise.

And as a comparison.. same same driver.
No way will the Challenger (2inch lift factory rear locker) go where the Troll (bigger) will go off road. Although it's competent off road..
It would be damaged trying or hung up.

I remember when I was looking for a new 4wd. And the Colarado7 salesmen saying he had taken a stock one through Cruiser Canyon at LCMP.  I told him if he drove it out there and did it right now, I would buy one...(not the one he drove...)

So in short.
You won't go wrong with a Troll towing.
And if your worried. Chuck a bugger intercooler and exhaust on it. Some NADS.. and you'll wonder why you ever owned a cruiser.

Or get the Hiace like Oldmate. It really did do a few trips surrounded by some tough trucks and went everywhere they went.
Admittedly those weekends the 'tough trucks' only went on bitumen roads, gravel tracks and grassy paddocks.
But the Hiace kept up.
Although on one of those trips he didn't follow a stickish GU ute through a dam. To be fair the driver wasn't with our group.. and umm the GU didn't make it..
Post by: ScarpsD40 on March 05, 2017, 07:59:06 AM
I'll add a bit more detail.

My 2014 auto Challenger on the highway trumps the Troll.
While the 'dinkiest 'engine in its class. It doesn't really slow down for hills with my FF attached. On road I hardly know it's there.
However I can feel the camper more. (Potholes etc)

I feel the extra weight of the camper in the Troll straight away- however it will still pull the camper up the Gateway bridge in 5th gear. (Manual)
Or Cunninghams gap in 4th.
I do have to pay attention to the rev range though, and play where it likes to play.
On the beach/off road. Most likely due to the extra weight and gearing, the Troll feels like it tows better. If the camper slides out on a rut, the Troll handles this better.
So for highway trips. The Challenger.
Beach or off road- the Troll.
Every vehicle is a compromise.

And as a comparison.. same same driver.
No way will the Challenger (2inch lift factory rear locker) go where the Troll (bigger) will go off road. Although it's competent off road..
It would be damaged trying or hung up.

I remember when I was looking for a new 4wd. And the Colarado7 salesmen saying he had taken a stock one through Cruiser Canyon at LCMP.  I told him if he drove it out there and did it right now, I would buy one...(not the one he drove...)

So in short.
You won't go wrong with a Troll towing.
And if your worried. Chuck a bugger intercooler and exhaust on it. Some NADS.. and you'll wonder why you ever owned a cruiser.

Or get the Hiace like Oldmate. It really did do a few trips surrounded by some tough trucks and went everywhere they went.
Admittedly those weekends the 'tough trucks' only went on bitumen roads, gravel tracks and grassy paddocks.
But the Hiace kept up.
Although on one of those trips he didn't follow a stickish GU ute through a dam. To be fair the driver wasn't with our group.. and umm the GU didn't make it..

lol
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170304/b3167106e213b6abc1408fd176f612d2.jpg)
Post by: GUEY on March 05, 2017, 03:57:21 PM
If looking at a Patrol, factor in an ECU remap. They seem to be really livening them up torque wise.
Factor around $1000 bucks for it.
Title: Shopping for 2nd hand 4wd in 2018 - question for Patrol owners
Post by: muzza01 on March 05, 2017, 05:29:01 PM
Thanks for the replies guys. Should have added Amerok to the list of I don't really like.
I had a Challenger as a hire car last year. I drove it  from Weipa to Mapoon and it didn't really impress me.  I did the same trip in a Patrol and I was really impressed with it.

I am not concerned too much about fuel economy but I am sure the 3 litre Nissan would chew less than my 4.2 Toyota.

I think the Patrol has defo got me interested.  Can any of the Patrol owners explain the differences in models like ST and GX.  Is there any major difference between 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 models.

Are there any other must do mods besides 3inch exhaust and ref lash the chip?

Are there any bad things I should about the Patrol?

Title: Re: Shopping for 2nd hand 4wd in 2018 - question for Patrol owners
Post by: gronk on March 05, 2017, 05:54:35 PM
The Patrol.....probably nearly everything you want......except for that 3ltr engine.  I know, every 2nd bloke says they have fixed the problems, and every 3rd bloke will tell you a story of heartache.

If you can't stretch it for a V8 Patrol, then I'd be placing my money on a Pajero. But that's me !!
Post by: patroldude on March 05, 2017, 08:25:20 PM
Desiel Central in Gracemere is getting around 200RWHP out of his 3Ltr Patrol - been around 3 years now I believe. Cheers

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk 2
Post by: sbv20j on March 05, 2017, 08:57:36 PM
I had a 2012 model loved every thing about it except the motor it is absolute Shite, with a family of five towing a camper it was a boarder line dangerous fitted all the usual suspects on it egr block, 3" exhaust chipped but it was still crap
I cut my losses and got a Y62 have not looked back by far the best 4wd I have ever driven or owned, I know it is not in your budget range but just stating my experience.
I have had the following 4wds
GU8 Patrol, GU1 Patrol, GQ Patrol, 2X Prado's (company cars), 3X Hilux (company cars), Jeep, Navara (company car), D Max (company car) and even a jackeroo
Post by: fergy on March 05, 2017, 10:04:44 PM
All these questions and your still going to end up with a 200 series
Post by: Fathom on March 06, 2017, 06:06:21 AM
Thanks for the replies guys.

I had a Challenger as a hire car last year. I drove it  from Weipa to Mapoon and it didn't really impress me.  I did the same trip in a Patrol and I was really impressed with it.

Yup. I would say I love driving my Troll.

Can any of the Patrol owners explain the differences in models like ST and GX. 

GU series.
DX- base model (vinyl floor etc)
ST mid range (carpet, more bells and whistles.
STI - like the ST but leather seats. And Ac to the rear.

Is there any major difference between 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 models.

No. Not really.

Intercooler upgrade
Catch can.
EGR block.
Either a needle and Dawes valve or aftermarket VNT
Then if you want... boost and EGT gauge.
Then if you really really want.. an LS or Duramax conversion.

Other that's what's already been said in this thread?
Nope.

Post by: doc evil on March 06, 2017, 07:30:05 AM
<snip>

I think the Patrol has defo got me interested.  Can any of the Patrol owners explain the differences in models like ST and GX.  Is there any major difference between 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 models.

Wagon was DX (base) ST (mid range) and Ti (all the bells) ute was DX and ST. (ST-S and ST-L were dropped I think around 2008 during the GU5 reign)
2010 & 2011 models designated GU6
2012 and I think 1st half of 2013 was GU7
They are only facelift evolutions ie little bit of chrome here or removed there.

As to mods,
needle and dawes
2.5" exhaust (don't do 3" too big for a starter motor for a real engine ;D ;D ;D ;D ) 
Proper tune via an ECU remap (don't chip, it's snake oil)
intercooler and gauges etc your call. Do things properly and it will last and if you're not too heavy with the right foot, it'll be quite surprising with the fuel.
Post by: chester ver2.0 on March 06, 2017, 07:57:15 AM
Go the manual i found the auto is a 4 speed and it hunts between gears (3rd and 4th) when towing
Post by: achjimmy on March 06, 2017, 10:16:26 AM
Wouldn't you get close to a 4.2 for that money?

Post by: DannyG on March 06, 2017, 10:33:08 AM

Thats what Id be looking at. Or an Isuzu MUX ;D
Post by: TimE on March 06, 2017, 11:20:42 AM

It would be old and lots of ks.

A good GU IV with around 150,000 ks and fruit will be around $50k, maybe a bit less !!  I own one (2005 4.2 tdi) and it has much fruit, surprisingly it is worth what I paid for it 9 years ago!!  So on the budget outlined a 4.2 would be old and tired.

Go onto the Patrol form www.nissanpatrol.com.au (http://www.nissanpatrol.com.au) and have a look around, lot of knowledgeable and helpful members there.
Post by: DannyG on March 06, 2017, 11:27:54 AM
It would be old and lots of ks.

A good GU IV with around 150,000 ks and fruit will be around $50k, maybe a bit less !!  I own one (2005 4.2 tdi) and it has much fruit, surprisingly it is worth what I paid for it 9 years ago!!  So on the budget outlined a 4.2 would be old and tired.

Go onto the Patrol form www.nissanpatrol.com.au (http://www.nissanpatrol.com.au) and have a look around, lot of knowledgeable and helpful members there.

I think they are coming back a bit more than that in price. My old and high kay 4.2 GU was a 25k seller so with the OP's budget of 36k I think he would get a decent one.
A quick look on carsales has plenty that you could buy within his budget. Sure there is always one or two that try to get silly money for then still but for the most part with a budget of 36k you will get a good one.
Post by: wakychapmans on March 06, 2017, 11:43:19 AM
by this time next year... he should be able to pick up a 76 series for around that price that hasn't been a mine basher either.

That's what I'm counting on at least...  ;D

Post by: TimE on March 06, 2017, 11:57:25 AM
I think they are coming back a bit more than that in price. My old and high kay 4.2 GU was a 25k seller so with the OP's budget of 36k I think he would get a decent one.
A quick look on carsales has plenty that you could buy within his budget. Sure there is always one or two that try to get silly money for then still but for the most part with a budget of 36k you will get a good one.

https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/results?sortby=%7EPrice&limit=12&q=%28And.Year.range%282005..%29._.Odometer.range%280..200000%29._.Service.Carsales._.%28C.Make.Nissan._.Model.Patrol.%29_.FuelType.Diesel._.Cylinders.6._.Doors.5.%29 (https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/results?sortby=%7EPrice&limit=12&q=%28And.Year.range%282005..%29._.Odometer.range%280..200000%29._.Service.Carsales._.%28C.Make.Nissan._.Model.Patrol.%29_.FuelType.Diesel._.Cylinders.6._.Doors.5.%29)

2005 or later, less than 200,000k, 4.2l wagon .............. don't see any below $38k.

Go older and higher ks, maybe, but .............
Post by: DannyG on March 06, 2017, 12:08:11 PM
https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/results?sortby=%7EPrice&limit=12&q=%28And.Year.range%282005..%29._.Odometer.range%280..200000%29._.Service.Carsales._.%28C.Make.Nissan._.Model.Patrol.%29_.FuelType.Diesel._.Cylinders.6._.Doors.5.%29 (https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/results?sortby=%7EPrice&limit=12&q=%28And.Year.range%282005..%29._.Odometer.range%280..200000%29._.Service.Carsales._.%28C.Make.Nissan._.Model.Patrol.%29_.FuelType.Diesel._.Cylinders.6._.Doors.5.%29)

2005 or later, less than 200,000k, 4.2l wagon .............. don't see any below $38k.

Go older and higher ks, maybe, but .............

Im almost 100% certain if you were to offer the people that have 38 and 39k on them 36k they would seriously consider it.

But either way its not about nit picking over the price of cars its about getting the best vehicle for the money you have. :)
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on March 06, 2017, 02:47:42 PM
Don't you live in hilly country? Isn't that the reason for the turbo on the Toyota?

If so, is a 4cyl Patrol what you really want?
Post by: achjimmy on March 06, 2017, 04:22:28 PM
Yeah what people want and get can be a mile apart. Had a colleague sell a really tidy super serviced 04 100TD with $200k on the clock, Konis, good bfg rubber etc. He asked $20k and sold it within a few days but didn't get knocked over in  The rush. Yet talk to 100 series owners and they'd think he gave it away ! Yet you see the same ones advertised for $35k forever.
Post by: Bird on March 06, 2017, 04:24:26 PM
Quote from: achjimmy
.... serviced 04 100TD with $200k on the clock

I'd have bought it, kept the $200,000 that was on the dash and burnt the car.
Post by: muzza01 on March 06, 2017, 06:55:20 PM
Don't you live in hilly country? Isn't that the reason for the turbo on the Toyota?

If so, is a 4cyl Patrol what you really want?
Dunno, the 4cyl diesel is the only let down. I was hoping a few of the Troll owners would tell me they have plenty of power. 
Post by: oldmate on March 06, 2017, 07:22:06 PM
They have more power than a 4.2 patrol. And torque. Don't tell they 4.2 guys though. They don't like it.

Post by: Bird on March 06, 2017, 08:10:37 PM
Quote from: oldmate
They have more power than a 4.2 patrol. And torque. Don't tell they 4.2 guys though. They don't like it.
not all 4.2s they don't  ;D ;D.. and don't last as long either :D
Post by: Fathom on March 06, 2017, 08:21:15 PM

It's funny cause it's true.
Post by: grafy82 on March 06, 2017, 08:21:40 PM
6.5 Litres perhaps?
Post by: oldmate on March 06, 2017, 08:44:25 PM
No your right not all 4.2's

Post by: oldmate on March 06, 2017, 08:45:24 PM

See Muzza. First bite

Post by: GeoffA on March 06, 2017, 08:54:25 PM
 :cup: :cup:

Way too obvious Olly..... ;D ;D

Post by: Bird on March 06, 2017, 08:57:16 PM

See Muzza. First bite
just facts...
Post by: oldmate on March 06, 2017, 10:52:41 PM
:cup: :cup:

Way too obvious Olly..... ;D ;D

Hahaha. Mate I suck at fishing, so if I am going to ever catch anything, I need to drop a line into a fish tank. And wow, look at that, caught a bird!!!!

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on March 07, 2017, 12:02:40 AM
You lot have been using this forum way too much.
Your even able to predict peoples answers. >:D :cheers:
Post by: trinityalyce on March 07, 2017, 08:10:14 AM
You might find a 4.2L diesel Patrol for that money. If you're lucky. They do exist (occasionally) but they go quickly. ;)
Post by: MattNQ on March 07, 2017, 03:06:44 PM

I am not concerned too much about fuel economy but I am sure the 3 litre Nissan would chew less than my 4.2 Toyota.

Get a 4.8 Petrol?  ;D

Bad things?
Not a lot that can't be fixed relatively easily; eg the pathetic reversing light,
The infamous 90km wobbles can be usually eliminated by quality tyres, good steering damper &  finding someone who is very good at aligning & balancing.
My clutch went at around 100k. Got an Exedy Safari put in & was sweet.

One thing that used to annoy me in my patrol & our work trucks...
If the engine is working hard in hot weather, the older GU Patrols seem to like switching off the A/C for extended periods - Not sure about the later models if they improved that. 

A bit outside your budget (and mine, unfortunately) but if the lotto comes good .....My mechanic has supercharged his Y62. It is scary fast. I would lose my license in a week I reckon, but I would never get the smile off my face ;D 
Post by: muzza01 on March 07, 2017, 07:34:21 PM
So does anyone here tow a really heavy CT or caravan with their 3.0 Patrol? Be interested to hear how they go.
Post by: oldmate on March 08, 2017, 03:35:25 PM
Mr mac GU used to tow his KK with the 3lt. It went fine and was a great truck, just a bit sluggish on the hills. His was an 03 or 04 model.
I used to tow out Ultimate with ours and it was fine till the hills also. But it never really used to worry me to be honest.

Post by: Alan Loy on March 08, 2017, 05:08:54 PM
I have a 2008 Common rail 3.0 auto.  The engine is a bit tired (probably injectors) 220000.  I put in a new bonnet scoop, bigger intercooler, engine management system and 3" exhaust.

It can easily pull our Tvan @110kmh but does start to suffer up steep long hills BUT seldom less than 80.

20 years ago I would be bragging but now all I will say is that it gets the job done.  If you are focused on the high country then maybe a lower low range is the go

There are better tugs BUT for the money I think they are hard to beat.  Cheap enough to do the mods + a new engine if the unthinkable happens
Title: Re: Shopping for 2nd hand 4wd in 2018 - Prado vs Patrol
Post by: muzza01 on March 08, 2017, 05:52:58 PM
Thanks guys.
My turboed 1HZ still struggles with the CT up hills a bit. It goes so much better since the turbo but I wonder if there is really much difference in power between mine and the Nissan 3lt common rail.  I am happy with the power I have now, I just don't really want to go backwards in power with the new 4b.

The 4.2 turbo Patrols are expensive and overpriced like the Lancruiser 100 TD.  I was supposed to have a Patrol hire all next week while I am in Weipa but I think it is going to be a Landcruiser now.
Post by: Rumpig on March 08, 2017, 06:47:01 PM
Thanks guys.
My turboed 1HZ still struggles with the CT up hills a bit. It goes so much better since the turbo but I wonder if there is really much difference in power between mine and the Nissan 3lt common rail.  I am happy with the power I have now, I just don't really want to go backwards in power with the new 4b.

The 4.2 turbo Patrols are expensive and overpriced like the Lancruiser 100 TD.  I was supposed to have a Patrol hire all next week while I am in Weipa but I think it is going to be a Landcruiser now.
i did a few trips with Mr Mac whilst we both towed our KK's...him in a 3ltr Patrol and me in my turbo intercooled 1HZ 105 series. Several times I recall asking over the uhf if he needed a push up the hill when I caught him....lol. I reckon you'll be disappointed if you get one, it won't be much different to what you have now and likely similar fuel usage.
Post by: muzza01 on March 08, 2017, 07:47:25 PM
i did a few trips with Mr Mac whilst we both towed our KK's...him in a 3ltr Patrol and me in my turbo intercooled 1HZ 105 series. Several times I recall asking over the uhf if he needed a push up the hill when I caught him....lol. I reckon you'll be disappointed if you get one, it won't be much different to what you have now and likely similar fuel usage.
I reckon you have more boost than mine ;)
Post by: Alan Loy on March 08, 2017, 08:14:18 PM
I guess my big question is "why are you changing"

If you are concerned about the state of wear of your vehicle then that is the crucial element.

If you want something faster then forget the Patrol.

BUT the hills are no steeper the speed limits are no higher.  I think we have just about hit the diminishing marginal returns for expenditure for new 4WDs

If we all tow 2 or 3 tons rather than 1.5 then buy a 200 Landcruiser (or a  https://www.iveco.com.au/product/daily-4-x-4 (https://www.iveco.com.au/product/daily-4-x-4))
Post by: Rumpig on March 08, 2017, 08:18:51 PM
I reckon you have more boost than mine ;)
can't recall what it was set at, but was nothing special. The 3" exhaust made a differance, and the intercooler made a difference again power wise. I never got it dyno'd, but seat of the pants I noticed straight away a power gain with the intercooler fitted. In hindsight I should have just 1HDFTE'd the thing instead of adding all that fear to a 1HZ, would have been a much better option.
Post by: muzza01 on March 08, 2017, 09:00:56 PM
I guess my big question is "why are you changing"

If you are concerned about the state of wear of your vehicle then that is the crucial element.

If you want something faster then forget the Patrol.

BUT the hills are no steeper the speed limits are no higher.  I think we have just about hit the diminishing marginal returns for expenditure for new 4WDs

If we all tow 2 or 3 tons rather than 1.5 then buy a 200 Landcruiser (or a  https://www.iveco.com.au/product/daily-4-x-4 (https://www.iveco.com.au/product/daily-4-x-4))
I aimed to get close to 10 years from this Cruza, had the last Cruza for ten also.  I just want to spend a lot of time on research before buying. I do love the 200 but my budget will just buy problems.
Post by: doc evil on March 09, 2017, 07:31:00 AM
can't recall what it was set at, but was nothing special. The 3" exhaust made a differance, and the intercooler made a difference again power wise. I never got it dyno'd, but seat of the pants I noticed straight away a power gain with the intercooler fitted. In hindsight I should have just 1HDFTE'd the thing instead of adding all that fear to a 1HZ, would have been a much better option.

you just wanna copy the hog........ ;D ;D ;D ;D

And then you still would have sold it for the ute  :D :D :D
Post by: Rumpig on March 09, 2017, 11:55:24 AM

you just wanna copy the hog........ ;D ;D ;D ;D

And then you still would have sold it for the ute  :D :D :D
seriously looked at doing it but price was reciculous to get someone else doing the job, they were 10K cheaper to do when he did it...couldn't justify spending $25K on an old vehicle to lob in an engine that already had 200K on it, hence bought a new fourby instead.
Post by: Nomad on March 09, 2017, 07:38:35 PM
I know you've discounted the Prado but what about something like that or a Pajero in a petrol model.

The price of diesel these days and better power of petrol is making me seriously consider whether I will go another diesel 4by.

Post by: muzza01 on March 10, 2017, 06:23:38 AM
I know you've discounted the Prado but what about something like that or a Pajero in a petrol model.

The price of diesel these days and better power of petrol is making me seriously consider whether I will go another diesel 4by.

I would consider  petrol 200 series. They might be more affordable in 12 months. 

When buying a car I need to really like or appreciate the vehicle and not just buy what is practical.  I just don't like Pajeros at all, and couldn't imagine spending Mu hard earned on something I didn't like.

I should have another look at the Prado as the one I drove was a 120s. I will test drive the 150s and compare them. Thanks for the tip
Post by: muzza01 on March 11, 2017, 03:31:29 PM
Me and the Mrs took quite a few 4bs for a test drive today.  If going for a twin can ute, the BT50 and Ranger was nice, more bells and whistles than the Hilux SR5 but the Hilux handled better for me.

Drove a couple of Patrols and 150 Prado's.  Without a doubt the Prado was a clear winner over the Patrol. Prado had more power, acceleration was much more responsive.  Prado was quieter and much more comfortable.   The Prado is smaller than both our current Landcruiser and the Patrol but our kids are all grown up now and I think the Prado is big enough for the two of us.

Question for the Prado owners, are the a capable towing vehicle? Would the tow a medium size caravan?
Title: Re: Shopping for 2nd hand 4wd in 2018 - liked the Prado
Post by: D4D on March 11, 2017, 03:36:39 PM
Question for the Prado owners, are the a capable towing vehicle? Would the tow a medium size caravan?

Yup you know it is on the back but it does it fine. Keeping the caravan gtm under 2500Kg is sometimes a problem to keep it legal. All depends on you definition of 'medium size' caravan.
Post by: muzza01 on March 11, 2017, 04:32:15 PM
Yup you know it is on the back but it does it fine. Keeping the caravan gtm under 2500Kg is sometimes a problem to keep it legal. All depends on you definition of 'medium size' caravan.
Yeah 2500kg was the max I was thinking
Post by: MattNQ on March 11, 2017, 06:39:55 PM
I would consider  petrol 200 series. They might be more affordable in 12 months. 

When buying a car I need to really like or appreciate the vehicle and not just buy what is practical.  I just don't like Pajeros at all, and couldn't imagine spending Mu hard earned on something I didn't like.

I should have another look at the Prado as the one I drove was a 120s. I will test drive the 150s and compare them. Thanks for the tip
I'd stay away from the older 200s. Not convinced they are reliable enough. Had my 2007 petrol model for a bit over a year now.  in that time, one  knock sensor has died which messes with the advance and the auto changes , cd player died, centre diff lock and 4lo light has been flashing on within increasing frequency, which could be the 4wd actuator going faulty, brakes are now gripping unevenly - hoping the discs aren't warped (a common Toyota problem a prado owner at work tells me.) The Lexus donk is pretty sweet on the occasions when it is working well though.  I think I will be returning to Nissan next changeover.

sent from Earth via tapatalk

Post by: DaveR on March 11, 2017, 07:07:51 PM
I recon ya mad.
Keep the old girl I recon.
Its simple,buy an old crappa to drive for a few months, get the better 151 kw donk out of a 100 series write off complete car, fill a garden shed with spares from it and sell the rest, fit the interior of yours with better furniture (GXL gear fits real easy, happy to show you). Sell ya running turboed 1HZ.
Fit all the go faster gear into your 105 from the 100. almost 50% more power.
Get the 105 on the road.
Sell the crappa.

Sorted, yep, it took some time, but, look at the shed time you just scored.....  ;D

You can thank me later.  :cheers:
Post by: grafy82 on March 11, 2017, 07:39:32 PM
I recon ya mad.
Keep the old girl I recon.
Its simple,buy an old crappa to drive for a few months, get the better 151 kw donk out of a 100 series write off complete car, fill a garden shed with spares from it and sell the rest, fit the interior of yours with better furniture (GXL gear fits real easy, happy to show you). Sell ya running turboed 1HZ.
Fit all the go faster gear into your 105 from the 100. almost 50% more power.
Get the 105 on the road.
Sell the crappa.

Sorted, yep, it took some time, but, look at the shed time you just scored.....  ;D

You can thank me later.  :cheers:

If I had $36k to spend, I'd be buying something I want already done. Stuff the 'shed time', I want more camping time😀
Post by: DaveR on March 11, 2017, 07:48:21 PM
Oh, well if ya gonna be sensible about it then, how about selling the 105 and get the 100 series.
More GeGees, no overheating hassels.
Best bit.
It aint a Nissan or Mums Taxi  ;D ;D ;D ;D
I'm gonna run away now
Post by: MattNQ on March 11, 2017, 08:06:58 PM
Here's one for you selling in Townsville. 330rw kW. Bit of a weapon. Need your own KC-135 for refuelling when  touring though. Wants $43k ! He has spent a motza on it.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170311/f791a0c99f67fc3a3dd777beaccf8aed.jpg)

Post by: muzza01 on March 12, 2017, 05:38:40 AM
I'd stay away from the older 200s. Not convinced they are reliable enough. Had my 2007 petrol model for a bit over a year now.  in that time, one  knock sensor has died which messes with the advance and the auto changes , cd player died, centre diff lock and 4lo light has been flashing on within increasing frequency, which could be the 4wd actuator going faulty, brakes are now gripping unevenly - hoping the discs aren't warped (a common Toyota problem a prado owner at work tells me.) The Lexus donk is pretty sweet on the occasions when it is working well though.  I think I will be returning to Nissan next changeover.

Yep, don't want too old or too many kms if it was a 200.
Post by: muzza01 on March 12, 2017, 05:40:14 AM
Oh, well if ya gonna be sensible about it then, how about selling the 105 and get the 100 series.
More GeGees, no overheating hassels.
Best bit.
It aint a Nissan or Mums Taxi  ;D ;D ;D ;D
I'm gonna run away now
It is a tuff decision Dave. I have plenty of time to think about it.
Post by: Roo on March 12, 2017, 07:12:39 AM
I looked at 200s for a minute. ...then took a lookat the lexus version, the Lx570. Positives are- bigger 5.7L V8 petrol engine than the 200s 4.7. Looks pretty swank. Very plush appointments. Similar if not slightly cheaper than then equivalent 200s.
Downsides -petrol touring range and not sure if it "needs" premium fuel.

Post by: Diesel Power on March 12, 2017, 08:21:25 AM
A three litre Patrol with every performance mod done to it was very similar to my 105 series with turbo and intercooler etc.
regards
Post by: muzza01 on March 17, 2017, 08:03:07 AM
Well I hav had a 2012 76 Cruza wagon as a hire car this week.  This model is affordable to me but it's not for me. The power is unreal, handling the sloppy, chewed up, corrogations and water around Mapoon was all tip top.

Driving on the blacktop... Loud, rattles and squeaks and basically much the same or similar seats, interior and dash as the old 75 series that came out in 1985.  I am a big fan of not fixing something that isn't broken but there have been some serious advancements made in the last 35 years and most have been ignored with the 76.
Post by: DaveR on March 17, 2017, 08:38:12 AM
I recon you'll fit the same amount of gear in a 76 as you would in the playdo.
Post by: muzza01 on March 17, 2017, 10:32:54 AM
I recon you'll fit the same amount of gear in a 76 as you would in the playdo.
yeah I reckon it is similar, when we drove the Prado's the other day we folded all the seats down to see how much storage we had.  Defo smaller than the 105s but surprisingly, a fair bit of room.    Pretty unusual for us to have passengers with us when we go camping so both middle and rear seats aren't required.
Post by: chester ver2.0 on March 17, 2017, 11:41:13 AM
Well I hav had a 2012 76 Cruza wagon as a hire car this week.  This model is affordable to me but it's not for me. The power is unreal, handling the sloppy, chewed up, corrogations and water around Mapoon was all tip top.

Driving on the blacktop... Loud, rattles and squeaks and basically much the same or similar seats, interior and dash as the old 75 series that came out in 1985.  I am a big fan of not fixing something that isn't broken but there have been some serious advancements made in the last 35 years and most have been ignored with the 76.

Yeah i had one in the mines loved the v8 but that was it
It really needs a 6th gear so you can just lop along at 110 rather than having it scream at 2500 rpm
The difference in track width between front and rear wheels is really noticeable on the sand or deep bulldust
Post by: muzza01 on March 17, 2017, 12:02:52 PM
Yeah i had one in the mines loved the v8 but that was it
It really needs a 6th gear so you can just lop along at 110 rather than having it scream at 2500 rpm
The difference in track width between front and rear wheels is really noticeable on the sand or deep bulldust
Absolutely, also in the slop.  Handled the bumps well but wanted to wander a bit here and there most likely due to track width.
Post by: Bird on March 17, 2017, 12:31:21 PM
Absolutely, also in the slop.  Handled the bumps well but wanted to wander a bit here and there most likely due to track width.

Come on.. for a miserable extra $20,000 you can get a real set of diffs
http://www.marks4wd.com/portal-axles.html (http://www.marks4wd.com/portal-axles.html) LOLOLOL!!a
Post by: lowflyer on March 17, 2017, 01:20:14 PM
The Mrs pestered me to have a look at a Isuzu MUX the other day. They had never really appealed to me but begrudgingly went and had a look. Came away quite impressed at the package built like a brick out house, 3L truck engine , not a power house but will last for ever and apparently very good for towing with plenty to torque down low. Is now on the list for our next replacement. Would probably go for the base spec model and build it up.
Post by: muzza01 on March 22, 2017, 06:57:18 PM
Come on.. for a miserable extra $20,000 you can get a real set of diffs
http://www.marks4wd.com/portal-axles.html (http://www.marks4wd.com/portal-axles.html) LOLOLOL!!a

Holy crap$$$$ I guess there is a market for everything.

The Mrs pestered me to have a look at a Isuzu MUX the other day. They had never really appealed to me but begrudgingly went and had a look. Came away quite impressed at the package built like a brick out house, 3L truck engine , not a power house but will last for ever and apparently very good for towing with plenty to torque down low. Is now on the list for our next replacement. Would probably go for the base spec model and build it up.

I have looked at them online, no test drives as yet. Damn thing looks ugly to me but I will never say never  :D
Post by: DaveR on March 22, 2017, 07:14:11 PM
Cough.... Cough, 100 series, cough.  ;D
Post by: GeoffA on March 22, 2017, 07:28:23 PM

Tune-up needed??
Post by: muzza01 on March 22, 2017, 09:19:33 PM
Thought about 1000 times already. Maybe  :D
Post by: prodigyrf on March 23, 2017, 12:25:39 AM
I can buy anything new but something in the genes stops me from scratching up a brand new expensive car on those narrow tracks lined with acacia bushes and the like. Diesels tow best but then that Euro5 and 6 horror show- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yzRR8BTVsyw (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yzRR8BTVsyw) so I'm aware the lad's new 2 year old MN Triton with Provent and electronic EGR delete added is the last of the Mohicans so to speak. You can buy a similar sized 2.5L petrol engine Mazda CX9 brand new and that will tow 2000kg as the best in engine class but then there's that near new 2015 Mitsi Challenger top range PC LS auto in Ballarat with only 16000kms on the clock and plenty of factory warranty for $33k so what the hell eh?

I had the plugin EGR delete with me already for pickup and to head off to see a mate in Bega with it while the missus drove on to catch up with her sis in Melb and the Western Filters Provent kit was being delivered to fit for the new vehicle punt back in Adelaide. Well I have to say a round trip of over 2000kms and 16 hours straight in the saddle from Bega to Adelaide and I had no regrets. First impressions are the seats are hard but Mitsi got it right as I had no usual back complaint after the 16 hours in the saddle back home and I was pleasantly surprised. 8.77L/100kms average (spec says 8.4 so that was pretty good and does the EGR delete help here?) and that included a fair bit of 110km/hr solo across the Hay plain, etc. Already had a towbar fitted and as luck would have it I won a spare mag for $150 (only a steel spare) for the missus to pick up in Melb on her way home and $89 for some aftermarket weathershields and with the Provent fitted now I reckon I've got the only diesel I'll ever buy again to bash around for the next ten years trouble free- http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=29515.msg892841#msg892841 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=29515.msg892841#msg892841)

Post by: prodigyrf on March 23, 2017, 12:38:57 AM
Oh and if those office jocks in Canberra reckon they're saving the planet with their machinations, tell em they're dreaming from me-
https://www.bing.com/images/search?q=diesel+intake+clogging&qpvt=diesel+intake+clogging&qpvt=diesel+intake+clogging&qpvt=diesel+intake+clogging&FORM=IGRE (https://www.bing.com/images/search?q=diesel+intake+clogging&qpvt=diesel+intake+clogging&qpvt=diesel+intake+clogging&qpvt=diesel+intake+clogging&FORM=IGRE)
Post by: chester ver2.0 on March 23, 2017, 09:11:12 AM

Thats what i want but can't find one with low K's
Post by: jwb on March 23, 2017, 10:54:00 AM
Ot I know, but 1 of the guys in our group who camped at Somerset Dam last weekend had a VERY tidy 06 multi valve 100 series with 150 k on it.
Thanks to the previous owner
( his dad)
This model was on my "want" list when looking to upgrade a few years back.
Lucky so n so 🤤

Post by: prodigyrf on March 23, 2017, 12:23:43 PM
Sweet Jesus! What is it with all these veteran and vintage fourby owners  :o
https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/results?sortby=Price&offset=0&setype=sort&q=%28And.Service.Carsales._.%28C.Make.Toyota._.Model.Landcruiser.%29_.Year.range%281998..2002%29.%29&limit=12 (https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/results?sortby=Price&offset=0&setype=sort&q=%28And.Service.Carsales._.%28C.Make.Toyota._.Model.Landcruiser.%29_.Year.range%281998..2002%29.%29&limit=12)
Gotta love those 1990s owners bragging with '$10000 worth of receipts in the last few months'  :'(
Post by: DaveR on March 23, 2017, 01:36:42 PM
Sweet Jesus! What is it with all these veteran and vintage fourby owners  :o

Easy, they are more reliable and easier to fix then the modern sh iet boxes that took their place.
Post by: Pete79 on March 23, 2017, 01:48:17 PM
After flicking through some of those adds I'm kicking myself.

15 years ago I sold my 1991 HZJ75 with 180k on it for $19,000.

Apparently they've only lost about $1,000 in value over the last 15 years....
Post by: prodigyrf on March 24, 2017, 09:32:12 AM
Easy, they are more reliable and easier to fix then the modern sh iet boxes that took their place.

Yes it's all about manufacturers trying to meet tougher emissions standards- http://zettiemissions.com/summary-of-emission-requirements/ (http://zettiemissions.com/summary-of-emission-requirements/)
From lower table you can see the effect of Euro5 Particulate Matter standards for domestic diesels coming into play as of 1/11/2013 for any new models (ie DPF fitment for any new model releases approaching that date) whereas existing models like the MN Triton and Challenger without DPF could continue to be sold right up to 1/11/2016 and hence Mitsis new Triton and Pajero Sport models last year joining the rest of the makers. I'll take a low km 2015 Challenger with an eye to our future towing requirements thanks, rather than a tired Toyota, etc  :cheers: 
Post by: petrolburner on March 24, 2017, 01:53:31 PM
If your happy to consider a petrol 200series why not consider a Y62.

People are currently asking 45-50k for series one ST-L's

I paid 52k for mine over 3 years ago!! I rekon in 18months you should be able to buy a tidy one within your budget.
$49k is surely taking the piss!! Though if they are still fetching that money I haven't lost too much to depreciation :)

But it will probably be newer than an equivalent priced petrol 200sereis, has a lot more power and a better gearbox not to mention its pretty bloody huge inside!!

In fact if your prepared to consider a petrol powered option between Nissan and toyota the Y62 really is the default choice!
If you like Prado's and are happy with petrol the 4litre V6 is a cracker of an engine too!

If you like GU patrols the 4.8 auto solves the woeful performance issues of the 3.0CRD, but be warned, the fuel use horror stories are true! At least they were for my 4.8, would still buy another in a heartbeat though:)

Post by: Nomad on March 24, 2017, 07:52:00 PM

I paid 52k for mine over 3 years ago!! I rekon in 18months you should be able to buy a tidy one within your budget.
$49k is surely taking the piss!! Though if they are still fetching that money I haven't lost too much to depreciation :)

But it will probably be newer than an equivalent priced petrol 200sereis, has a lot more power and a better gearbox not to mention its pretty bloody huge inside!!

In fact if your prepared to consider a petrol powered option between Nissan and toyota the Y62 really is the default choice!
If you like Prado's and are happy with petrol the 4litre V6 is a cracker of an engine too!

If you like GU patrols the 4.8 auto solves the woeful performance issues of the 3.0CRD, but be warned, the fuel use horror stories are true! At least they were for my 4.8, would still buy another in a heartbeat though:)

So is the y62 better on petty than the GU?  :cheers:
Post by: two up on March 24, 2017, 07:54:24 PM
Totally different beast.

Sent from my A1601 using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on March 24, 2017, 07:57:47 PM
Quote from: Nomad
Depends whose calculator you use... apparently some of them you read about get better economy than a Daweoo Matiz'....
Post by: muzza01 on March 24, 2017, 08:13:25 PM

Havnt taken one for a wheel yet but the Y62 has got a good rep.  I looked at a few on the Internet about a week ago. I reckon $50k will buy something decent.  Seriously considering hanging on to the Cruza until late 2018 early 2019 now. Hoping my $$ might go a bit further by then.
Post by: petrolburner on March 24, 2017, 09:09:30 PM

Yes, waaaay better!!
The y62 for its size and power is pretty decent on fuel really. 13 to 15L/100km on the freeway compared to 20L/100 at best in the 4.8, modded similarly. 

Towing my boat the 4.8 never used less than 30L/100km of petrol and on lpg never less than 35L/100km. Once I averaged 50L/100km of LPG into a howling headwind!!

Same boat with the Y62 and use is down to 20L/100km at best and a worst of 24L/100lm and that is going a lot faster than the 4.8 could go!!

Note, I don't drive to save fuel at all, I tow at or above the speed limit wherever safe to do so.
Post by: shanegtr on March 25, 2017, 10:40:18 AM
I've driven a few 150 series prados at work - the thing I hate the most with them is the restricted vision out of the front windscreen. Not really a car I'd enjoy punting through some tight tracks. Im much more used to good foward vision from 70 & 80 series cruisers and my current Discovery 3(by far the best vision out of the drivers seat)

Post by: landbarge on March 25, 2017, 10:42:54 PM

Post by: DaveR on April 17, 2017, 04:46:19 PM
Hey Muzza, after 4700 k's struggling in the very slow lane with the big box on the back, a bloke seems to think my 105 days are numbered also...
I'm now in the same spot as you.
Oh bother, what to do.
First thing I did was check the back seat width of the possible replacements as I got 3 kids.
The L/C, and Pootrols, have it over the 4 door utes in that dept. I need every inch I can get with 3 kids.
Post by: muzza01 on April 17, 2017, 06:15:03 PM
Hey Muzza, after 4700 k's struggling in the very slow lane with the big box on the back, a bloke seems to think my 105 days are numbered also...
I'm now in the same spot as you.
Oh bother, what to do.
First thing I did was check the back seat width of the possible replacements as I got 3 kids.
The L/C, and Pootrols, have it over the 4 door utes in that dept. I need every inch I can get with 3 kids.
After camping with Duggie and a few other swaggers on the weekend, I am defo going to test drive an her Patrol.
Post by: DaveR on April 17, 2017, 06:19:25 PM
I'm thinking that beast of Douggies would be able to solve my headache for sure, and sound great at the same time.
Post by: muzza01 on April 18, 2017, 05:10:36 PM
I'm thinking that beast of Douggies would be able to solve my headache for sure, and sound great at the same time.
Duggie sure does have a beast. I think he has wound the power down but it would still blow away most 4b's.

Your 2.5t on the back would surely slow down most things a bit, you sure you want to get rid of it?
Post by: DaveR on April 18, 2017, 05:58:04 PM
you sure you want to get rid of it?

No, just wanna add some grunt.
Post by: Bird on April 18, 2017, 06:38:08 PM
No, just wanna add some grunt.
http://www.brunswickdiesels.com.au/vehicles-for-sale (http://www.brunswickdiesels.com.au/vehicles-for-sale)
Post by: DaveR on April 18, 2017, 06:43:36 PM
I wish, but 1 of these would do me nicely, 50% increase in g- gee's

(http://www.allfourx4.com.au/WebRoot/Store/Shops/allfourx4/MediaGallery/Categories/Used/Now_Dismantling/Toyota_Landcruiser_Troop_Carriers_and_Utes/6044__0906_HDJ79_TOYOTA_LANDCRUISER_1HDFTE_5SPD/60444.png)
Post by: Bird on April 18, 2017, 06:45:00 PM
I wish, but 1 of these would do me nicely, 50% increase in g- gee's
sounds like a plan!!!!!
Post by: landbarge on April 18, 2017, 07:14:15 PM

I am stepping out of my 100 series. It just isn't doing it for me anymore. 1hz turbo, 1htd internals, intercooler etc... I still miss my old swb pajero. 4.8l Pootrol for me. Hunting has commenced.

Post by: Jakster1 on April 18, 2017, 09:35:52 PM
Late model CRD 3.0l PATROL owner here. I have read the first and last page of this thread. Here is my 2 cents worth....
First up when people say they are gutless they're right.(lots of new factory turbo diesels are) Out of the box power wise they are a heap of junk, i very nearly got rid of mine due to the frustrating lack of power.
You will hear lots of horror stories but as far as I am aware and all the Patrol forums on the net, the reported failure rate and problems of the CRD patrol engine is actually fewer than most modern day diesels. Overall, They're actually very well built and are a strong and reliable unit.
A few simple and relatively inexpensive mods can turn it into (not a powerhouse) but a good and very livable with 4WD and tow vehicle. 100% glad I kept it now. It's night and day now to compare it power wise before mods. If I wanted, It will light up 33s on the road now 😎.
ECU REMAP - $1000
3" exhaust - $800
Dawes or Tillix valve - $300 ish
Upgraded intercooler - $500 - $1500
Intake and airbox models $500
Catchcan, egr block, boost and egt gauges - $500

It can and will tow your camper no worries. 👍 I probably wouldn't like to regularly put 3 tonne behind it (never tried) but most campers come in well under that anyways. We tow our fully loaded Jayco Eagle, with the Patrol also loaded up. It will easily sit on 110 all day long if needed.
The PATROL with a few off-road mods is also an absolute weapon off-road. All legal mods like 2" lift, 33" decent tyres, diff lock on the front and the Patrol will go further more easily than most other 4wds out there. Easily better than the 4wd Utes we use for work.
As for a cruiser 200... sure I'd love one, but unless I was buying new $$$$ or a low klm model say under 50000 I'd steer clear, they suffer badly from chocked up intake.. google it
76 series dual cab or wagon would be awesome too and I would definitely have one, but yeah, very $$$ for what you get. (Maybe the next car if I'm allowed)
Prado would be the pick of the soccer mums cars. The rest I'm not too fussed with. They're probably some very good vehicles, just not up my alley.
It's horses for courses really, lots of choice, all have their pros and cons.
I'm happy with my Patrol now, and have no intention to try to upgrade. Set one up right and you won't be disappointed.

Post by: prodigyrf on April 19, 2017, 12:09:39 AM
"A few simple and relatively inexpensive mods can turn it into (not a powerhouse) but a good and very livable with 4WD and tow vehicle."

An interesting observation as I topped up the Challenger today spotting a good price trekking across town and calced urban consumption at 9.45L/100 kms when I'd experienced over 10 previously. You can certainly read the traffic ahead up high and try and keep 2T of vehicle rolling and I haven't really noticed the dreaded flat spot everyone talks about with these donks. Only fitted with a Provent catch can (which shouldn't affect immediate performance) and an electronic EGR delete and it's the latter that's got me wondering now, just  how much EGR affects economy and performance with these diesels.

Funnily enough the missus is getting slightly worse than that round town with the lighter 2L Suzuki SX4, although being 4 speed auto they are a bit thirsty but that comes into its own when towing 1200kg. I haven't towed with the Challenger yet but I can tell it will eat the Zook so perhaps power is relative and not absolute for some of us. In that respect I still want reasonable urban economy as that's where most of us do most of our mileage and I seem to be getting it. When you think about it they stick turbos on them to ram in more air so what price EGR eh?

PS: I should point out they're rated at 9.8L/100 Combined
Post by: DaveR on April 19, 2017, 07:02:31 AM
The 4.8 Patrol is a bit of a weapon, my cousin has one, and being a nissan mechanic he has given it the "lumpy cam and 650 double pumper" type treatment.
Towing 2.5 tonne he keeps up with traffic everywhere, up hill even.
Fuel consumption with the van, he wont tell me, but he can match my worse (20 L per hundred) when doing 80 k's.
Post by: landbarge on April 19, 2017, 08:08:04 AM
Fuel consumption of the 4.8 is always a concern. Such a weapon though. I don't do big grand tours. The fuel use is only an extra few l per hundred over my cruiser. I still may end up in a dual cab ranger. They aren't without compromises neither. Still,  it's getting Atilla all tarted up for sale to see what I can afford. Shopping now is a bit cart before the horse. A friend had 60l per hundred towing a loaded boat through Fraser Island with 4.5 80 seriers. That was his tipping point. He is in an Amarok now.

Below is a bloke from Perth. I reckon he gets more chicks than l per hundred lol

https://youtu.be/BBzWVqJcL1Q

Post by: DaveR on April 19, 2017, 08:23:17 AM

There ya go Muzza, thats what ya need, it'll have ya on 2 wheels all the way up gillies range.  ;D
Post by: prodigyrf on April 19, 2017, 08:28:32 AM
I see it doesn't get any easier for the tar boys tossing up between a newbie and an old thumper in hot demand.  Tesla or Monaro...decisions...decisions...
http://www.msn.com/en-au/motoring/news/1970-holden-monaro-to-fetch-more-than-dollar300000-at-auction/ar-BBzXnQA (http://www.msn.com/en-au/motoring/news/1970-holden-monaro-to-fetch-more-than-dollar300000-at-auction/ar-BBzXnQA)
Post by: fergy on April 19, 2017, 02:30:55 PM
http://www.graysonline.com/lot/0008-9006056/motor-vehiclesmotor-cycles/2011-toyota-landcruiser-200-series-gxl-4wd-sports-auto-98-932-km-indicated (http://www.graysonline.com/lot/0008-9006056/motor-vehiclesmotor-cycles/2011-toyota-landcruiser-200-series-gxl-4wd-sports-auto-98-932-km-indicated)
Post by: muzza01 on April 19, 2017, 02:48:51 PM
There ya go Muzza, thats what ya need, it'll have ya on 2 wheels all the way up gillies range.  ;D
Hell yeah
Post by: DaveR on April 19, 2017, 02:55:40 PM
Now I know I'm on the brink of causing trouble with this, BUT
Is it just me, or am I seeing the 200's going for similar or less $ then a 100 series?
Could there be a reason for this?
Post by: Moxley on April 19, 2017, 03:04:11 PM
Is it just me, or am I seeing the 200's going for similar or less $ then a 100 series?

Dusted engines?
Post by: DaveR on April 19, 2017, 03:17:03 PM
More then 1? With a warranty?
Post by: landbarge on April 19, 2017, 03:31:43 PM
The 1hdfte was one of the very finest diesel engines released. Cheaper to mod and more reliable. 200s are friggen huuuuge too.
The hunjy you see for more money than a 2hunj will be super low k and pristine condition.  200 for similar price would be povo spec have many k and look like it. Were the oil use and injector probs fixed under warranty? 8x bad injectors at 1200 a pop..?  Could be interweb rumours.?

Hmmm that grays auction looks good though...

Post by: Bird on April 19, 2017, 03:39:22 PM
Quote from: landbarge
8x bad injectors at 1200 a pop..?  Could be interweb rumours.?

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/122257830303 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/122257830303)
Post by: landbarge on April 19, 2017, 03:41:10 PM
Don't make me research stuff before I relay pub talk. Fitted. That's what I meants. Yeah. Fitted.

Post by: Bird on April 19, 2017, 03:51:23 PM
Quote from: landbarge
Don't make me research stuff before I relay pub talk. Fitted. That's what I meants. Yeah. Fitted.

lol  ;D ;D
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on April 19, 2017, 03:52:48 PM
Hi All, A lady I know at Pomona had a late model 3lt turbo Nissan Wagon moter still good, they had a 6.6lt turbo inter cooled Duramax motor and 6 speed Alison auto fitted cost 40 grand drive in drive out, She said it pulls there new 2,5t van like its not there, And lots cheaper than a 200 series, Craig 
Post by: Bird on April 19, 2017, 04:25:02 PM
Quote from: Craig Tomkinson
Hi All, A lady I know at Pomona had a late model 3lt turbo Nissan Wagon moter still good, they had a 6.6lt turbo inter cooled Duramax motor and 6 speed Alison auto fitted cost 40 grand drive in drive out, She said it pulls there new 2,5t van like its not there, And lots cheaper than a 200 series, Craig
Finding someone of quality who can do the conversion is near on impossible... some massive hacks out there doing them.

Have 2 mates that actually visited the place in Packy that is doing their work to .. ask how things were going :D.
One bloke has had his car in there 18 months now, the other dropped his off for engine rebuild in September after being fitted by a different shonk down here that didn't bother to connect the Y pipe or air box, and the engine got dusted. Apparently ti was also an engine with only 67k miles on it, but was in that bad a condition even the crank was rooted and unrebuildable.

One bloke has been promised his car back more times than Speewa has had green cans, yet there it was yesterday parked a long way from the workshop door to be worked on.

When the first one was going 300rwkw and close to 900nm  (from memory) was nice.. but then again it went into limp mode the day he picked it up in Qld, 1/2 way through the blue mountains in middle of night.. then there was the weekend it caught fire as the oil lines for gearbox were less than 1inch from the header pipes...

As I said finding someone of quality to do the work is the hard part.

YMMV
Post by: DaveR on April 19, 2017, 05:40:50 PM
Don't make me research stuff before I relay pub talk.

Just to keep the tradition of hijacking a thread alive, I vote for Landbarge in the "Quote of the year awards" for this fine effort.   :cup:
Post by: lincolnland on April 19, 2017, 05:48:51 PM
Fuel consumption of the 4.8 is always a concern. Such a weapon though. I don't do big grand tours. The fuel use is only an extra few l per hundred over my cruiser. I still may end up in a dual cab ranger. They aren't without compromises neither. Still,  it's getting Atilla all tarted up for sale to see what I can afford. Shopping now is a bit cart before the horse. A friend had 60l per hundred towing a loaded boat through Fraser Island with 4.5 80 seriers. That was his tipping point. He is in an Amarok now.

Below is a bloke from Perth. I reckon he gets more chicks than l per hundred lol

RB30 in the engine bay? Hows the boost coming up on that thing. Awesomeness
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on April 19, 2017, 06:30:48 PM
Hi Bird, For shore there must be doggey jobs out there, The bloke that done theres is around Nambour and has done quite a few of them now all still going I belive, Would I do it no way, My old 80 1HZ is all I need for a couple more years yet, then I Mite up grade to an auto factory Turbo one day, Craig
Post by: Bird on April 19, 2017, 06:54:57 PM
Quote from: Craig Tomkinson
...  done quite a few of them now all still going I believe

... no they aren't  :-[
Post by: landbarge on April 19, 2017, 06:57:29 PM
RB30 in the engine bay? Hows the boost coming up on that thing. Awesomeness
Turbo 4.8l. All fast parts from uae. Car is well known over here.

Post by: landbarge on April 19, 2017, 07:34:35 PM
Just to keep the tradition of hijacking a thread alive, I vote for Landbarge in the "Quote of the year awards" for this fine effort.   :cup:
Ha ha I am humbled and honoured by the nomination.

Post by: Paddy16 on April 20, 2017, 07:55:13 AM
I love reading this topic. I would be in a similar shopping situation in the future but the more I read the more I love my GQ Patrol for it's simplicity. Its not a daily driver so when it hits the road it works and does it well. Friends have a Prado Kakadu and it makes the kids carsick and unless fully laden rides like a barge.
Post by: shanegtr on April 20, 2017, 11:04:20 AM
Not looking at the petrol 200's are you? Those go dirt cheap second hand - easily 1/2 the price of the diesels
Post by: prodigyrf on April 20, 2017, 10:04:38 PM
4.8 litres you say? Real men get rid of the decimal points   :4x4:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X-jezu7sBp0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X-jezu7sBp0)
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on April 20, 2017, 11:55:52 PM
Rod Hadfield built a special, just to prove you could.
I know your gunna call it a hi-jack.
Blame Prodigy, ok.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SIj2GVfua84 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SIj2GVfua84)
Chevy with a v12 Merlin, road registered.
They said it was impossible, and that's what started it all.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on April 21, 2017, 05:59:55 AM
That was orsome Cruiser 105Tvan, Thanks for sharing, that made my day Amazing, Craig
Title: Re: Shopping for 2nd hand 4wd in 2018 - Scratched the Y61 Patrol off the list
Post by: muzza01 on May 26, 2017, 12:17:59 PM
I had a 12 month old Y61 Patrol ST as a hire car this week in Weipa area.  It was Ok, nice to drive, fairly comfortable, fairly quiet.  But...my 2003 Cruza seemed to have the same power, was more comfortable to drive and quieter.  I know it's not fair to compare a modified Cruza to a stock Patrol but I wasn't really impressed.

It was defo nicer to drive than the 2010 and 2011 Patrols we took for a tar drive a couple of months ago.  Price wise the Patrol is so much cheaper than an equivalent Cruza but I can understand why.

I might have to take a Y62 Patrol for a drive.
Title: Re: Shopping for 2nd hand 4wd in 2018 - Scratched the Y61 Patrol off the list
Post by: Bird on May 26, 2017, 12:39:22 PM
I had a 12 month old Y61 Patrol ST as a hire car this week in Weipa area.  It was Ok, nice to drive, fairly comfortable, fairly quiet.  But...my 2003 Cruza seemed to have the same power, was more comfortable to drive and quieter.  I know it's not fair to compare a modified Cruza to a stock Patrol but I wasn't really impressed.

It was defo nicer to drive than the 2010 and 2011 Patrols we took for a tar drive a couple of months ago.  Price wise the Patrol is so much cheaper than an equivalent Cruza but I can understand why.

Y61 3.0.. apparently you can get them to go reasonable with a chip, exhaust, and NADS.

I've got a Mitz Outlander this week as a hire car in Sydney, very disappointing as it was "sir, your entitled to a free upgrade from a Hyuandi"..
It has a bigger flat spot than the Nullabour, and a larger dead spot than Harold Holt off the line... I think it would struggle to tow an empty box trailer.
Post by: landbarge on May 26, 2017, 12:39:47 PM
I myself, would be on the y62 like a fat chick on a cup cake. Too much munnies for me as I struggle to live within my means. I will be looking at Pajeros to replace my mighty steed.

Post by: Moxley on May 26, 2017, 01:23:00 PM

The Y62 people will say don't do that unless you're prepared to buy one, because you won't be able to get it out of your mind.
Post by: MattNQ on May 26, 2017, 01:52:19 PM

I've got a Mitz Outlander this week as a hire car in Sydney, very disappointing as it was "sir, your entitled to a free upgrade from a Hyuandi"..
It has a bigger flat spot than the Nullabour, and a larger dead spot than Harold Holt off the line... I think it would struggle to tow an empty box trailer.

Yeah, gotta watch those 'free upgrades'. I reckon it's to keep the kms up on the cars that no-one wants to hire. 
 Had the same joy one time with an 'upgrade' to a Jeep Compass. One of the worst cars I've ever driven.

Sent from my D5833 using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on May 26, 2017, 02:09:18 PM
if you need a bit mor power, how about this Cruiser
1490kW Toyota LandCruiser

http://www.msn.com/en-au/motoring/news/1490kw-toyota-landcruiser-is-world%E2%80%99s-fastest-suv/ar-BBARV7d (http://www.msn.com/en-au/motoring/news/1490kw-toyota-landcruiser-is-world%E2%80%99s-fastest-suv/ar-BBARV7d)
Post by: AdrianLR on May 26, 2017, 04:06:44 PM

I've had the Y62 for 18 months. Fantastic.

Uses less fuel than the chipped CRD GU towing a 1.8t camper. Comfort, performance and safety beyond anything for the same money. 2nd hand values are also holding up well according to the user group (actual prices rather than advertised)

Lots of accessories (lifts, bars, tyres, supercharger! Etc etc) available locally and overseas.

But as others have said, if you don't want to buy one, don't go for a test drive :)
Post by: muzza01 on May 26, 2017, 06:53:20 PM
if you need a bit mor power, how about this Cruiser
1490kW Toyota LandCruiser

http://www.msn.com/en-au/motoring/news/1490kw-toyota-landcruiser-is-world%E2%80%99s-fastest-suv/ar-BBARV7d (http://www.msn.com/en-au/motoring/news/1490kw-toyota-landcruiser-is-world%E2%80%99s-fastest-suv/ar-BBARV7d)

Seen that one. Nuts isn't it
Post by: muzza01 on May 26, 2017, 07:01:25 PM
The Y62 people will say don't do that unless you're prepared to buy one, because you won't be able to get it out of your mind.

Yeah I know, they are still out of my budget, maybe in a year or two.

I am not so much trying to find something with more power (although I would expect it coming from a 2003 vehicle) I am trying to find something of at least equivalent comfort value or better.

Worst thing with the Y61'was the fuel consumption. 36lts for 207 kms travelled.  I actually mentioned to the hire car company that perhaps the last driver didn't quite fill the Patrol.  She said no, the fuel and while vehicle is checked over when returned.  I said well old mate forgot to top up the windscreen washer resovoir because it was dead empty. 

Can't believe the fuel consumption out of 207 kms, 140km was on dirt but in the road was beautiful and I sat on 110kmph most of that.  The rest of the 67 kms was just driving around Weipa averaging between 50-80 kmph.  Doesn't make sense.
Post by: kylarama on May 27, 2017, 07:36:37 AM

Doesn't make sense.

Curb weight of 2.5 ton, powered by a 3L 4 cylinder.......

Post by: AdrianLR on May 27, 2017, 10:00:17 AM

Can't believe the fuel consumption out of 207 kms, 140km was on dirt but in the road was beautiful and I sat on 110kmph most of that.  The rest of the 67 kms was just driving around Weipa averaging between 50-80 kmph.  Doesn't make sense.

Below 100 consumption was ok but got much worse as soon as speed went up. Combination of mass, brick-like aerodynamics, three and a half speed auto and small, old diesel.
Post by: muzza01 on May 27, 2017, 11:09:01 AM

Curb weight of 2.5 ton, powered by a 3L 4 cylinder.......

Yeah I get that Kyle but 17.5 lts per 100 out of a turbo diesel 2015/16 4b at 2.5T vs 14.5 Lts  per 100 out of a 2003 turbo diesel 4b at nearly 3.0T? I honestly thought the Patrol would have been chewing 10-11 Lts.
Post by: kylarama on May 27, 2017, 12:32:39 PM

Yeah I get that Kyle but 17.5 lts per 100 out of a turbo diesel 2015/16 4b at 2.5T vs 14.5 Lts  per 100 out of a 2003 turbo diesel 4b at nearly 3.0T? I honestly thought the Patrol would have been chewing 10-11 Lts.

Fair call.  Although it is essentially the same old 3L, but with 13 years of diesel emission development choking it.

Post by: Bird on May 29, 2017, 08:39:09 AM
Quote from: muzza01
I honestly thought the Patrol would have been chewing 10-11 Lts.
You quite often hear people sprouting those or better figures for the grenade... I think a lot of people need a new calculator or one that doesn't seasonally adjust the figures..

You get the old rusty razor wire and conduit treatment on patrol forum if you doubt them.

Same with the petrol Y62.. some of the figures people claim would make a Toyota Yaris driver envious.

I think the only way to get accurate figures is how your doing it Muz - drive them yourself...
Post by: prodigyrf on May 29, 2017, 02:32:04 PM
Just clocked 10.6L/100 tootling around town in the 2015 Challenger with over 20000kms on it now. 2T of vehicle, no DPF, an electronic EGR delete and a 2.5L 4cyl diesel supposedly gutless with horrible turbo lag so you work it out from there with all the you beaut alternatives  :cheers:
Post by: muzza01 on May 29, 2017, 07:19:09 PM
You quite often hear people sprouting those or better figures for the grenade... I think a lot of people need a new calculator or one that doesn't seasonally adjust the figures..

You get the old rusty razor wire and conduit treatment on patrol forum if you doubt them.

Same with the petrol Y62.. some of the figures people claim would make a Toyota Yaris driver envious.

I think the only way to get accurate figures is how your doing it Muz - drive them yourself...

Thanks Mate.  Y62 is still on the list although havnt driven one yet. Can't quite afford one yet but a maybe in 12-18 months.
Just clocked 10.6L/100 tootling around town in the 2015 Challenger with over 20000kms on it now. 2T of vehicle, no DPF, an electronic EGR delete and a 2.5L 4cyl diesel supposedly gutless with horrible turbo lag so you work it out from there with all the you beaut alternatives  :cheers:
Thanks Mate. I had a Challenger hire car last year. From memory the fuel economy was Ok but nah, challenger is not my thing.
Post by: DaveR on May 29, 2017, 08:03:59 PM
Have you had a sniff around the nissan pathfinder?
We compared one to the playdoh, and I found being just over 6 ' I was far more comfy in one than the Paydoh. They have a lot more room inside and are the same size.
We went a different direction with a 2009 outlander, but still think of the pathfinder as a good vehicle.
Post by: prodigyrf on May 30, 2017, 12:53:54 AM
Thanks Mate. I had a Challenger hire car last year. From memory the fuel economy was Ok but nah, challenger is not my thing.
I went to school before calculators so that's a real figure and I roll along easy with the traffic so I suspect most will be getting 12-13L/100 around town particularly with DPFs and a heavier foot. I did get 8.65 solo across the Hay Plain bringing it home so with 10.6 urban we'll see how it goes towing 1200kg of Jayco. In that respect the 2L petrol Suzy 4speed auto (Challenger is auto too) would get around 10.5-11.5 towing but I've had 16 into a howler and below 9 running with one and that's where some of these owners can get creative with consumption figures. 
Post by: muzza01 on May 30, 2017, 07:52:50 PM
Have you had a sniff around the nissan pathfinder?
We compared one to the playdoh, and I found being just over 6 ' I was far more comfy in one than the Paydoh. They have a lot more room inside and are the same size.
We went a different direction with a 2009 outlander, but still think of the pathfinder as a good vehicle.
Dave, I am going to sit on my Cruza for a little bit longer but I think it will come down to 2006/07 1HDTFTE Cruza, 200 Cruza or perhaps Y62 which I havnt actually driven yet.
Post by: Fathom on May 30, 2017, 08:18:43 PM
I've had the Y62 for 18 months. Fantastic.

Uses less fuel than the chipped CRD GU towing a 1.8t camper. Comfort, performance and safety beyond anything for the same money. 2nd hand values are also holding up well according to the user group (actual prices rather than advertised)

Lots of accessories (lifts, bars, tyres, supercharger! Etc etc) available locally and overseas.

But as others have said, if you don't want to buy one, don't go for a test drive :)

I went and looked at the Y62 last week
The salesman told me that I can't put bullbar/ lift/ rear bar /larger tyres on it due to the radar/sonar stuff?
Said they had discontinued the model you could do that to?
Was he incorrect?
Post by: AdrianLR on May 30, 2017, 08:29:55 PM
I went and looked at the Y62 last week
The salesman told me that I can't put bullbar/ lift/ rear bar /larger tyres on it due to the radar/sonar stuff?
Said they had discontinued the model you could do that to?
Was he incorrect?
Completely wrong. If you're on Facebook then get into the Y62 group. Heaps of real user info.
A random pic from posts today as an example. (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170530/6d78dc09f4df0a30fda5d97544f46667.jpg)
Post by: GeoffA on May 30, 2017, 08:31:33 PM
They do look nice with a bit of jewellery on them....
Post by: Fathom on May 30, 2017, 08:31:51 PM
Completely wrong. If you're on Facebook then get into the Y62 group. Heaps of real user info.
A random pic from posts today as an example. (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170530/6d78dc09f4df0a30fda5d97544f46667.jpg)

Cheers for that. I had completely ruled them out after that convo with the sales dude.
I'll have a closer look.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on May 30, 2017, 08:38:31 PM
That sort of talk is the start of an upgrade or a big brother for the GU

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: GeoffA on May 30, 2017, 08:43:56 PM
That sort of talk is the start of an upgrade or a big brother for the GU

They look very nice, but not THAT nice.... ;D ;D
Post by: landbarge on May 30, 2017, 08:45:19 PM
I hate bloody know nuffink car salesman. They have such a huge important role to society...cockroaches. I am dealing with 3 atm. One guy didn't know what a rear diff lock was. POS wasted my time for 2hrs to low ball a 1/2 price wholesale figure. Another bloke tried to sell me a car with mould all over the seats. Tries to tell me it was from the cleaning. I  was there 2 days before and smelled dirty water...
The remaining guy seems to be a solid guy. End of rant

Post by: AdrianLR on May 30, 2017, 09:36:45 PM
I hate bloody know nuffink car salesman.

Nissan created its own problems with the Y62 by only allowing certain dealers to sell it initially. Of course the guys who didn't get a go just rubbished it.

And after you get through Sales you get to the Service Dept:
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170530/ead33c45eb4a084afb036a06a81be859.jpg)
Post by: landbarge on May 30, 2017, 09:46:50 PM
No no no. I said end of rant. I will not be toyed with like your play thing... That has me twitching. John Cadogan has a lot to answer for.😉

Post by: muzza01 on May 31, 2017, 05:03:34 AM
They certainly do.  Need all the help they can get though.
Post by: MattNQ on May 31, 2017, 11:00:40 AM
They certainly do.  Need all the help they can get though.
The cruisers and patrols are all butt ugly these days. Then Lexus takes the 200series and hits it with the ugly stick some more!

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on May 31, 2017, 11:35:33 AM
Nissan created its own problems with the Y62 by only allowing certain dealers to sell it initially. Of course the guys who didn't get a go just rubbished it.

And after you get through Sales you get to the Service Dept:
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170530/ead33c45eb4a084afb036a06a81be859.jpg)
someone, somewhere is high fiving that they got the pic through!
Post by: landbarge on May 31, 2017, 11:41:36 AM
Transmission braking. No? 😆

Post by: Beachman on June 01, 2017, 08:25:56 AM
I too am looking at upgrading from my 105 1HZ cruiser next year, so glad I’m not the only one who is miffed about what to get next. It has been a fantastic and comfortable car as I’ve always felt confident/safe when 4WDing, but it’s lack of power is slowly wearing me down.

If I could I would buy a 200 series TTD, but even for $60K I can only get a 7 year old car with 200 000 + Kms.

New 150 Prado, like mentioned before they have poor visibility from the driver’s seat and not that much room in the back. Lack of room in the back also excludes all the other medium sized wagons.

Pajaro – I think they are capable, but unsure it’s for me.

Y61 Patrol – Again I’m sure they are capable, but don’t like Nissan (Past bad experience)

Utes are practical, but not sure if I want to go back to being bounced around again, but may have no option

Ranger – Possible

New Hilux -  Very Possible
Post by: wakychapmans on June 01, 2017, 10:29:31 AM
I too am looking at upgrading from my 105 1HZ cruiser next year, so glad I’m not the only one who is miffed about what to get next. It has been a fantastic and comfortable car as I’ve always felt confident/safe when 4WDing, but it’s lack of power is slowly wearing me down.

If I could I would buy a 200 series TTD, but even for $60K I can only get a 7 year old car with 200 000 + Kms.

I'm in the same boat. I love my 1HZ 105. And... while it's taken me around 500,000klm to accept it... I've become accustomed to the lack of power now. So that's not a biggie. But my next 4wd will probably have to last 15+ years...

Have you considered a 76 series wagon? I'd look at it as the heir apparent to the 105 series. Solid axles, tough, but with the V8 TD engine.

I mean... sure, it's not as "refined" or "luxurious" as a 200 series... But I figure, I'm in a 105 series now... (with manual window winders FFS) So even the 76 series should be an upgrade in comfort.

https://tinyurl.com/y7lzeb3l

Post by: landbarge on June 01, 2017, 10:51:00 AM
Don't forget the extra money you will be up for the new rear axle and coil uprade.

Post by: wakychapmans on June 01, 2017, 10:57:40 AM
Don't forget the extra money you will be up for the new rear axle and coil uprade.

yeh, but do you *need* that conversion done up front? Or could you drive for a year or three and then have it done?

I'd like an auto box too, but I know what they cost as well.

Post by: Bird on June 01, 2017, 11:03:03 AM
Quote from: MuruCycles
yeh, but do you *need* that conversion done up front? Or could you drive for a year or three and then have it done?
plenty don't ever do it... although I think it would Shit me sand driving
Post by: jfella on June 01, 2017, 11:09:22 AM

New 150 Prado, like mentioned before they have poor visibility from the driver’s seat and not that much room in the back. Lack of room in the back also excludes all the other medium sized wagons.

Pajaro – I think they are capable, but unsure it’s for me.

Y61 Patrol – Again I’m sure they are capable, but don’t like Nissan (Past bad experience)

Utes are practical, but not sure if I want to go back to being bounced around again, but may have no option

Ranger – Possible

New Hilux -  Very Possible

I agree the new utes are worth a second look as the ride, while not in the wagon class yet, is improving and can be adjusted to suit individual preferences and loads for not too much money.  I have been in an Amarok now for a few years and the ride is not too far off the NT Pajero I had before but the space difference (with canopy) is huge.  The Ranger and Hilux are two of the most popular utes and I reckon both would be worth taking for a drive before you rule the utes out.

Post by: Bird on June 01, 2017, 11:48:44 AM
Quote from: Beachman
I too am looking at upgrading from my 105 1HZ cruiser next year, so glad I’m not the only one who is miffed about what to get next.
you would be one of 100s...
With all 4wds becoming fancy shopping trolleys (its 90% of their target market) its getting hard to consider changing... There is certainly nothing that jumps out at me as an obvious replacement.

Sadly most hard tracks get dozed regularly these days and give it a decade and many of the out of the way places people love will be roads.
Post by: Moxley on June 01, 2017, 12:12:28 PM
you would be one of 100s...
With all 4wds becoming fancy shopping trolleys (its 90% of their target market) its getting hard to consider changing... There is certainly nothing that jumps out at me as an obvious replacement.

Sadly most hard tracks get dozed regularly these days and give it a decade and many of the out of the way places people love will be roads.

Next year though the JL Wrangler might be a good option, along with the V6 Ford Ranger.
Post by: Bird on June 01, 2017, 01:38:51 PM
Next year though the JL Wrangler might be a good option, along with the V6 Ford Ranger.
mmmmmmmmmmmm........... no thanks :)
Post by: wakychapmans on June 01, 2017, 01:45:07 PM
mmmmmmmmmmmm........... no thanks :)

what he said...
Post by: muzza01 on June 01, 2017, 05:41:12 PM
I'm in the same boat. I love my 1HZ 105. And... while it's taken me around 500,000klm to accept it... I've become accustomed to the lack of power now. So that's not a biggie. But my next 4wd will probably have to last 15+ years...

Have you considered a 76 series wagon? I'd look at it as the heir apparent to the 105 series. Solid axles, tough, but with the V8 TD engine.

I mean... sure, it's not as "refined" or "luxurious" as a 200 series... But I figure, I'm in a 105 series now... (with manual window winders FFS) So even the 76 series should be an upgrade in comfort.

https://tinyurl.com/y7lzeb3l
Yep previously posted about a 76 threat I hired for a week. Power is good but that is it.  Not for me, I sure there are plenty of happy owners but I don't want to go that far backwards in comfort and niceties and noise.  :cheers:
Post by: muzza01 on June 01, 2017, 05:43:10 PM
You taking the pi55  :cheers:
Post by: Moxley on June 01, 2017, 06:05:56 PM
You taking the pi55  :cheers:

Sort of, but on the other hand I think options are pretty limited, and it's generally in a sense is desperation that I hope for something better next year.

I'm also in the market for an upgrade from now on pretty much, but nothing quite fits the bill. I actually thought about a Triton to tide me over for a couple of years, but like you, I didn't warm to it either. Too small inside for one. I'm not too big either.
Post by: Rumpig on June 01, 2017, 06:28:13 PM
plenty don't ever do it... although I think it would Shit me sand driving
with tyres deflated sufficiently, I don't have any issues on my 79 series. Is it noticeable...yep, is it a major issue...no. I find those who crow the loudest about them aren't owners most times. I'd happily do a conversion if someone wanted to pay for it for me, but it's not on my to do list any time soon due to the cost.
Post by: muzza01 on June 01, 2017, 06:39:09 PM
Sort of, but on the other hand I think options are pretty limited, and it's generally in a sense is desperation that I hope for something better next year.

I'm also in the market for an upgrade from now on pretty much, but nothing quite fits the bill. I actually thought about a Triton to tide me over for a couple of years, but like you, I didn't warm to it either. Too small inside for one. I'm not too big either.
I agree options are limited for replacement.  The 4.2 diesel Patrols and Cruzas are just what I want.  Shits me they don't make them anymore and that the new v8s are so expensive. 

I know plenty of people love their Utes, Pajeros, Prado's, and others but for me this list doesn't do anything for me.  I know everyone is different, selfishly I am just thinking about me  :D
Post by: GeoffA on June 01, 2017, 06:49:32 PM
....... I know everyone is different, selfishly I am just thinking about me  :D

If that's the case muzz.......we're actually all the same...... ;D ;D
Post by: Nomad on June 01, 2017, 06:51:37 PM
I am the same.......I am happy enough with the Prado but yearn for something else....and its not a 200 series. I am thinking at this point I will retire the Prado to the shed for beach work and trips to the bush and buy myself something fast for something different............just don't know what
Post by: callmejoe on June 01, 2017, 10:53:53 PM
Say like a
Y62,  put a super charger on and best of both worlds.
Not that u need the super charger, well that what the wife keeps telling me.
Post by: landbarge on June 01, 2017, 11:16:28 PM
Camel Joe. Lol
Sorry Dude. I had a bit of a chuckle with misreading your user name thinking it was Camel toe. After a couple of more drinks I realised you were Camel Joe. Now that made me laugh with seeing I should really pay attention to find you are Joe. Call me Joe. Thanks

Post by: callmejoe on June 02, 2017, 09:29:11 AM
Camel Joe. Lol
Sorry Dude. I had a bit of a chuckle with misreading your user name thinking it was Camel toe. After a couple of more drinks I realised you were Camel Joe. Now that made me laugh with seeing I should really pay attention to find you are Joe. Call me Joe. Thanks

I'm glad we could amuse. :cheers: Yr the 2nd to point that out.
But being me,  and seeing nothing wrong with seeing a amusing camel toe,  i thought why bother making a new name.
 :D
Post by: landbarge on June 02, 2017, 10:17:18 AM
All in good fun eh

Post by: UIZ733 on June 02, 2017, 10:26:08 AM
I'm glad we could amuse. :cheers: Yr the 2nd to point that out.
But being me,  and seeing nothing wrong with seeing a amusing camel toe,  i thought why bother making a new name.
 :D
How about Mumble-pants?
Post by: Bird on June 02, 2017, 10:28:16 AM
I agree options are limited for replacement.  The 4.2 diesel Patrols and Cruzas are just what I want.  Shits me they don't make them anymore and that the new v8s are so expensive. 

I know plenty of people love their Utes, Pajeros, Prado's, and others but for me this list doesn't do anything for me.  I know everyone is different, selfishly I am just thinking about me  :D
Bingo on all points

Quote from: GeoffA
If that's the case muzz.......we're actually all the same...... ;D ;D
x eleventy
Post by: prodigyrf on June 02, 2017, 11:44:25 AM
There is no ultimate with these Green machines anymore so it's just a matter of the best compromise you can find for your dough.
For me it was a low km 2015 Challenger if I wasn't to have a DPF and could get around the intake clogging without buying aging dramas and greasy hands. I'm past that Shit  :cheers:
Post by: vern on June 02, 2017, 11:57:58 AM
Bingo on all points
x eleventy
Same here, this is why i still putt around in my ol isuzu powered rangie, nothing else ticks all the boxes, and if you spend $60+k, is it anymore capable? Its only going to get trashed to some degree anyway! Just keep on patching it up i say.

79 duel cab is the closest for me, but there is also so much i don't like about it too

Post by: petrolburner on June 02, 2017, 12:04:50 PM
Just get a Y62!!

Hang some bling off the front and the butt ugly front bumper is history!

Hang a Kamar bar off the back to get rid of the rear bumper.

Install Andrew Cassars lift if it's a HBMC model then fit 35's and your away and probably with change in your back pocket compared to buying a 200series with similar km.

(http://i1101.photobucket.com/albums/g437/notorious_benny/IMG_0475.jpg) (http://s1101.photobucket.com/user/notorious_benny/media/IMG_0475.jpg.html)
Post by: latestarter on June 02, 2017, 12:32:26 PM
PBurner .... I love your rig. It is definitely what I aspire to when time is right  :cheers:
Post by: muzza01 on June 02, 2017, 01:31:06 PM
Just get a Y62!!

Install Andrew Cassars lift if it's a HBMC model then fit 35's and your away and probably with change in your back pocket compared to buying a 200series with similar km.

(http://i1101.photobucket.com/albums/g437/notorious_benny/IMG_0475.jpg) (http://s1101.photobucket.com/user/notorious_benny/media/IMG_0475.jpg.html)

Very very nice.   :cup:
I need to take one for a wheel.  Not the fuel economy is big on my priority list but could you tell me how yours goes around town and also with a CT on the back.
Post by: Bird on June 02, 2017, 01:31:48 PM
Just get a Y62!!

I'd never get the miracle fuel figures people claim.
Post by: petrolburner on June 02, 2017, 01:47:29 PM
I don't either and I don't think I claim them.

Consistently 13-15L/100km on the open road and around 20 with camper in tow up to 24 if pushing hard into strong winds doing above 115kph.

The series 3 models apparently have VVEL on the exhaust as well as intake and owners are claiming consistently better fuel figures than series 1 and 2 owners but I find 10L/100km a little far fetched as well!!

Interestingly towing my 2700kg wake boat didn't use much more fuel than towing my DRIFTA camper. But the drifta is the complete opposite of aerodynamic:) there are so many squared edges and protrusions to catch the wind, I always get better fuel use if directly into the wind than A side wind with the drifta
Post by: petrolburner on June 02, 2017, 01:49:01 PM
Very very nice.   :cup:
I need to take one for a wheel.  Not the fuel economy is big on my priority list but could you tell me how yours goes around town and also with a CT on the back.

My thread.....

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=44682.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=44682.0)
Post by: Beachman on June 02, 2017, 03:14:37 PM
While the IHZ is slow it’s not the main reason for looking to change. For me the main reason for upgrading my 4WD’s is potential rust.
Just the other week I needed to attend to a spot around the windscreen and know in years to come it’s going to turn into a battle I won’t win.

Most of my 4WDing/Camping is on the beach, so all up I would estimate my car is on the beach an easy 6 weeks per year times 9 years I’ve owned it. While I’m pedantic about giving it multiple cleans after extended trips, just know after 7-14 days camping on the beach with a couple of kids/dog salt/sand gets into places I just can’t clean. 

I personally would by a 76/79 series cruiser as the power upfront cancels any suspension/rear diff length concerns. But my Wife who rarely comments on 4WDs did let me know these aren’t an option.
Post by: vern on June 02, 2017, 03:22:44 PM
While the IHZ is slow it’s not the main reason for looking to change. For me the main reason for upgrading my 4WD’s is potential rust.
Just the other week I needed to attend to a spot around the windscreen and know in years to come it’s going to turn into a battle I won’t win.

Most of my 4WDing/Camping is on the beach, so all up I would estimate my car is on the beach an easy 6 weeks per year times 9 years I’ve owned it. While I’m pedantic about giving it multiple cleans after extended trips, just know after 7-14 days camping on the beach with a couple of kids/dog salt/sand gets into places I just can’t clean. 

I personally would by a 76/79 series cruiser as the power upfront cancels any suspension/rear diff length concerns. But my Wife who rarely comments on 4WDs did let me know these aren’t an option.
I spent a bit over a month in a very well kitted out 79 series on a central Australia trip including the canning stock route, my highlight of the road trip was spending 2 hours in a mates basically bog stock 100 series, so much leg room, so much more comfort, a much more capable vehicle!

Post by: Bird on June 15, 2017, 01:52:24 PM
Quote from: Bird
As I said finding someone of quality to do the work is the hard part.
3 Sherriff cars, police, forklift, Electricians, Large Semi were at a Duramax "Specialist" Lilydale and confiscated goods from the Factory, they had a warrant.
now my 2 mates with cars in there Pakenham office have no idea where too from here.
Post by: muzza01 on June 15, 2017, 07:58:19 PM
3 Sherriff cars, police, forklift, Electricians, Large Semi were at a Duramax "Specialist" Lilydale and confiscated goods from the Factory, they had a warrant.
now my 2 mates with cars in there Pakenham office have no idea where too from here.
Huh... Bird, I am Lost  ???
Post by: GeoffA on June 15, 2017, 08:03:16 PM

;D ;D
Post by: speewa158 on June 15, 2017, 08:19:34 PM
;D ;D
Hug  You Lost ,,,,,,,,,, stick with me & we will never be Lost .
                    There will always be somebody telling me where to go & you can bring  :cheers: for the journey    :cup:                    :cheers:
Post by: Bird on June 16, 2017, 11:27:24 AM
just on the engine conversion discussion earlier. FWIW I'm both :D
Post by: Rumpig on June 16, 2017, 04:52:44 PM
I spent a bit over a month in a very well kitted out 79 series on a central Australia trip including the canning stock route, my highlight of the road trip was spending 2 hours in a mates basically bog stock 100 series, so much leg room, so much more comfort, a much more capable vehicle!

my old 105 series was a much more comfortable vehicle to drive then my new 79 is, but the 79 suits my needs better as a work vehicle first and foremost and the rear canopy storage kills the old wagon set up hands down. If I didn't need the 79 as a daily tow rig for work, I wouldn't choose it as a touring vehicle to own....the vehicle suits my current needs perfectly, but comfort isn't their strong point by a long shot.
Post by: plusnq on June 16, 2017, 04:58:06 PM
my old 105 series was a much more comfortable vehicle to drive then my new 79 is, but the 79 suits my needs better as a work vehicle first and foremost and the rear canopy storage kills the old wagon set up hands down. If I didn't need the 79 as a daily tow rig for work, I wouldn't choose it as a touring vehicle to own....the vehicle suits my current needs perfectly, but comfort isn't their strong point by a long shot.

So what would you choose if you didn't need the 79 for work?
Post by: muzza01 on June 16, 2017, 05:02:17 PM
My guess is that Rumpig would pick either Landcruiser 100, 200 or the Y62 Patrol just like me.  I reckon he too is a little young for A Prado.   Then again I could be wrong  ;D
Post by: Rumpig on June 16, 2017, 05:07:46 PM
took a mates day old 200 series for a drive on Saturday night  8) 8) the downside is I would struggle with the lack of storage in a wagon over my canopy I have now...guess you can't have it all though, and I used to manage with the old wagon I owned. I'd look at the new Patrol also, but having driven my sister inlaws 4.2 wagon they owned, the comfort factor had better have changed dramatically over what the old rigs were like to have me buy one.
Post by: Rumpig on June 16, 2017, 05:10:38 PM
My guess is that Rumpig would pick either Landcruiser 100, 200 or the Y62 Patrol just like me.  I reckon he too is a little young for A Prado.   Then again I could be wrong  ;D
beat me the it....you are on the right track, my brother has a Prado, it's a nice vehicle but a touch small for my liking. If it was just me and the Mrs I'd consider owning one, but then if it was only the 2 of us, i'd also consider a few other vehicles probably
Post by: vern on June 16, 2017, 05:20:34 PM
took a mates day old 200 series for a drive on Saturday night  8) 8) the downside is I would struggle with the lack of storage in a wagon over my canopy I have now...guess you can't have it all though, and I used to manage with the old wagon I owned. I'd look at the new Patrol also, but having driven my sister inlaws 4.2 wagon they owned, the comfort factor had better have changed dramatically over what the old rigs were like to have me buy one.
Can't beat that rear canopy for offroad touring, can be setup so well. Pity the cabs not as comfy as a 100/200

Post by: plusnq on June 16, 2017, 06:02:02 PM
Yes. It's difficult if you want carrying capacity and comfort. Modern vehicles are getting less and less payload. It makes it harder to choose a good family outback  tourer. I know with the missus and the three kids we bump up against GVM, let alone space constraints.
Post by: Bird on June 21, 2017, 04:09:33 PM
(http://www.motoringme.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/OR_0065.jpg)
http://www.motoringme.com/nissan-launches-nismo-middle-east-nismo-patrol/ (http://www.motoringme.com/nissan-launches-nismo-middle-east-nismo-patrol/)
Post by: Beachman on June 21, 2017, 07:05:52 PM
(http://www.motoringme.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/OR_0065.jpg)
http://www.motoringme.com/nissan-launches-nismo-middle-east-nismo-patrol/ (http://www.motoringme.com/nissan-launches-nismo-middle-east-nismo-patrol/)

Lowered with low profile tyres, so might pass on it.
Post by: oldmate on June 21, 2017, 07:29:44 PM
Bahahahahahahaha.  Work.   Your a pissa.

Post by: Bird on June 22, 2017, 09:19:09 AM
Lowered with low profile tyres, so might pass on it.
I'd have one.

•320kw
•Torque improvement over 70% rev-range (be nice to have a graph or #'s)
•NISMO 22? RAYS forged-alloy wheels
•NISMO tuned suspension using ‘Bilstein’ shock absorbers for improved handling and ride comfort
•Takumi tuned Engine
•Customized body reinforcements for precision steering & quick response
•Segment first Zero-Lift aerodynamic body kit
•NISMO signature designed body kit
•NISMO Sport tuned Power Steering
•NISMO Bespoke designed interiors
Post by: petrolburner on June 22, 2017, 10:34:22 AM
I love my Y62 but personally I don't get that Nismo version????

I would take mine over that any day if the week 😁

If you want more torque than the stock engine across the rev range a supercharger isn't  that expensive.
Post by: Bird on February 01, 2018, 01:13:44 PM
That's mainly because, for reasons known only to itself, Nissan no longer has a diesel Patrol. The only choice of propulsion is a 5.6-litre petrol V8 with claimed combined fuel consumption of 14.4 litres/100km - 20.2 litres in the traffic.
That's not a lot less than a Lamborghini Aventador and frankly the Nissan claim is a bit fanciful. We saw 30 litres/100km on our first commute. Thankfully it has a huge 140-litre tank.

No wonder 99 per cent of LandCruiser buyers choose a diesel and no wonder the big Toyota outsells the Patrol by more than 10 to one.

There's a good chance this generation of the Patrol will be the last we see - it appears headed the way of the V8 Commo-Dodo.

https://www.bigrigs.com.au/news/nissans-patrol-is-a-pain-in-the-city-but-awesome-i/3322866/ (https://www.bigrigs.com.au/news/nissans-patrol-is-a-pain-in-the-city-but-awesome-i/3322866/)
Post by: callmejoe on February 01, 2018, 08:50:29 PM
Me'll bite. :laugh:
Mr bird.
 Stop reading weird article. You can find anything you want on the net.  Alot an't true...
Just  (sorry editing from my original post  as you are quoting from a article ) the fuel usage quoted are "little off" ....  well alot...
Post by: muzza01 on February 02, 2018, 04:46:22 AM
I see this thread has come up again. At this stage we are keeping the Cruza for another couple of years and seeing if our choices are a bit cheaper.

We have test driven pretty much all of the twin cab Utes and in my opinion, most of them are a pile of Shit compared to Patrol and Cruza and the Utes are just plain ugly.  I know most of this forum would disagree but it is my opinion :)

The best 4bs ever made were either the Patrol or the Landcruiser, quite simply all the others are not even comparable. It's a shame the 200 series is so damn expensive and the Y62 didn't come with a diesel option.  I can only hope the 300s comes out soon and the 200s drop in price by a lot.

Thanks to everyone who commented on this thread, I may did it up again next year. 

Cheers Muz
Post by: Hookie on February 04, 2018, 05:54:10 AM
The best 4bs ever made were either the Patrol or the Landcruiser, quite simply all the others are not even comparable. It's a shame the 200 series is so damn expensive and the Y62 didn't come with a diesel option.  I can only hope the 300s comes out soon and the 200s drop in price by a lot.

Agree 100%. The reason I bought a Y61 is because I could never afford a cruiser of similar age and km. I know I have a vehicle that can go anywhere I have the balls to take it.
Post by: MadMarv on February 04, 2018, 09:31:06 AM
I begin to wonder why some people upgrade there cars regulary , yes i know comfort milage etc ... but many ppl just use them for daily commuting to work ... so keeping that thought in mind , couldnt you say buy a new small 4cl car which gets say 7 lp100 and change that over just as often and keep your 4x4 for just trips/weekend work .... i only pose this question as i used to have a work vehicle so my Patrol just sat there most weeks , but being as it didnt get used for daily commuting the insurance was only $650 full comp agreed value 25k .... sure still had rego but it ment overall running costs were much lower ..... .... just a thought .... and also if its say over 20 years old and your in a club that has a historic reg thingy couldnt you just run it on historic reg , therefore lowering costs further .... i only say this as all the extra costs ontop off buying a vehicle to make it go where you want would be a fair bit off coin that you don't get back when you sell it ..... or am i just missing something
Post by: rags on February 04, 2018, 09:55:48 AM
I begin to wonder why some people upgrade there cars regulary , yes i know comfort milage etc ... but many ppl just use them for daily commuting to work ... so keeping that thought in mind , couldnt you say buy a new small 4cl car which gets say 7 lp100 and change that over just as often and keep your 4x4 for just trips/weekend work .... i only pose this question as i used to have a work vehicle so my Patrol just sat there most weeks , but being as it didnt get used for daily commuting the insurance was only $650 full comp agreed value 25k .... sure still had rego but it ment overall running costs were much lower ..... .... just a thought .... and also if its say over 20 years old and your in a club that has a historic reg thingy couldnt you just run it on historic reg , therefore lowering costs further .... i only say this as all the extra costs ontop off buying a vehicle to make it go where you want would be a fair bit off coin that you don't get back when you sell it ..... or am i just missing something

It has been what I do, after having a company car for 18years with the 4WD parked in the shed I'm now in a job with no car so I still leave the 4WD in shed and now commute in a Suzuki Swift.
If we head out anywhere we take the wife's car and the Prado is purely for our travelling and van towing duties.