General => General Discussion => Topic started by: tryagain on October 01, 2020, 07:37:00 AM

Title: Kings new camper trailer.
Post by: tryagain on October 01, 2020, 07:37:00 AM
Kings are entering the camper trailer market, looks like it's aimed at being an affordable Patriot alternative.

https://www.4wdsupacentre.com.au/products/camper-trailers.html (https://www.4wdsupacentre.com.au/products/camper-trailers.html#foundations)

First video on it.

https://youtu.be/8ASIPpag3xc (https://youtu.be/8ASIPpag3xc)
Title: Re: Kings new camper trailer.
Post by: doc evil on October 01, 2020, 09:25:08 AM
Must be built to a budget............no stabilizer legs.

Suppose, a positive, there will be lots of spares on the side of tracks (as long as the bit that is broken on yours hasn't broken on theirs)  ;D
Post by: Bird on October 01, 2020, 09:39:04 AM

Suppose, a positive, there will be lots of spares on the side of tracks (as long as the bit that is broken on yours hasn't broken on theirs)  ;D
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: tryagain on October 01, 2020, 10:07:30 AM

You can see there are brackets up under it for them in this pic, not sure why they aren't on though.

(https://marketing.4wdsupacentre.com.au/camp-trail/extras/tourer-6man.jpg)
It will be definitely be made to a budget, most things are. I am guessing you are looking at about 20K once you option it all up, which in one sense isn't "cheap" so hopefully, it lives up to some of their marketing. My experience with Kings, is they offer up some cheap and nasty products, they also have some not that cheap but pretty reasonable products. Looks to me like they are aiming for the second with this one.

Compared to the Patriot X1 which seems to start around 50K, I think it might sell alright.
Post by: rossm on October 01, 2020, 10:10:02 AM
If nothing else kings are good at marketing.
Every second rooftop tent or awning I see seems to be their’s.
It’s one thing to be happy with a cheap awning that may not last (just go buy another cheap one).
Probably sell like hot cakes.
Post by: NZMarkb on October 01, 2020, 11:58:43 AM
Pay now.    Get it......................
Who knows when
Post by: wakychapmans on October 01, 2020, 12:20:05 PM
Lot of people pointing out that by the time it's speced up... it's almost $20k

I just don't understand the thinking on some people... You can pay nearly $20k for this.

Or similar money for a 2nd hand Cub, Kimberly, Pioneer, Track Trailer, AOR etc etc etc

Post by: rossm on October 01, 2020, 12:38:14 PM

I just don't understand the thinking on some people... You can pay nearly $20k for this.

Or similar money for a 2nd hand Cub, Kimberly, Pioneer, Track Trailer, AOR etc etc etc

I actually kinda like the concept of a "camping" trailer rather than "camper" trailer.
I have no interest in sleeping 2m off the ground in a roof top tent and as a mostly solo traveller my preference is a swag on a stretcher  under an awning rather than a Cub, Kimberly, Pioneer, Track Trailer, AOR etc etc etc
Even tents don't hit the mark for me as it needs to be largish to accommodate a 2m long stretcher.
But there are times when I wish I didn't have to carry so much stuff in and on the car ... kitchen gear, food, extra water, a lot of which has to be unpacked for an overnight stop.
I guess its about finding the right compromise between wants and needs with budget a major factor.
The perfect set-up will probably elude me until I am too old to camp.

Post by: Bird on October 01, 2020, 01:07:55 PM
Quote from: wakychapmans

agree.
Post by: nab on October 01, 2020, 01:37:30 PM
I reckon its a great trailer and idea. If you had to buy the wheels, tyres, lights, water tank/pump/plumbing, steel, paint, latches, hitch etc etc it would set you back $5k in parts, then you gotta design/make it. Or you pay $12k and this is all done for you. Yeah you gotta fit it out internally but everyone has different tastes and needs so the hard bit is done and you just finish it to your needs.

Sure it may/may not handle corrugations (even expensive trailers have trouble with those buggers) but for 99.9% of people it would do the job fine. Just go over it well, check bushes/bolts/hinges etc and replace bearings with good quality ones and it will go most places you want it to.

I wouldn't compare these to Cubs etc as they are actually camper trailers and decked out as such. If you think of this one as a camping/storage trailer it's hard to beat the price/concept. Also looks like the towball weight when loaded won't be 200kg+ like those campers with 5436541 storage boxes on the drawbar.

I reckon they will sell like hotcakes!
Post by: doc evil on October 01, 2020, 01:53:03 PM

I reckon they will sell like hotcakes!

They might, but once the great unwashed can fly to Bali, I recon you'll pick one up for a coupla grand..........and spend 10k fixing  the busted bits........
Post by: tryagain on October 01, 2020, 02:48:01 PM
Just had a look at the rest of their vid's, even after allowing for marketing hyperbole, I think it actually looks alright, some further thoughts are.

I like the concept, especially if you are a regular camper, you can just buy the base model reasonably cheaply, and then add the upgrades later as needed and funds allow.

The build quality isn't likely to be amazing, but looks like enough R&D has gone into it to make it good enough, I think calls of it easily falling apart are probably quite premature though, this isn't your typical reselling whatever the Chinese factory is producing, it has actually been designed and engineered here, they don't lool like they have cheaped out on things like bushes, shocks, bearings etc, so it should be good to go out of the box.

I think these are a different market to you typical older Aussie built campers, that have largely gone out of popularity due to setup times, I think this would be more suited to couples looking at touring type trips, I think the older Aussie built ones are more appealing to families looking to stay put/base camp.

I have thought before that there is a gap in the market for a budget (made with Chinese labour rates) Patriot alternative, most other styles have both an Australian made and cheaper imported alternative, but none seem to have had much sucess in the imported Patriot style. I think that is about to change.

I also wouldn't be surprised to see these start showing up on building sites, use it for work during the week, even has a fridge for drinks and your lunch, then take it camping on the weekend.

Given this is just the first version, I would think it will only get better with time, the advantage of it being modular too is that they could sell new bit's as upgrades to existing owners as well.
Post by: rossm on October 01, 2020, 03:00:58 PM

I think these are a different market to you typical older Aussie built campers, that have largely gone out of popularity due to setup times, I think this would be more suited to couples looking at touring type trips, I think the older Aussie built ones are more appealing to families looking to stay put/base camp.

This is my thinking as outlined earlier.

Patriot's starter model now has no tent. One powerball and I might be interested. 
Post by: Bird on October 01, 2020, 03:53:14 PM
https://qualitycustomtrailer.com.au/custom-off-road-trailers-sydney-australia/ (https://qualitycustomtrailer.com.au/custom-off-road-trailers-sydney-australia/)

still dont see 20k in it.
Post by: rags on October 01, 2020, 06:29:02 PM
https://qualitycustomtrailer.com.au/custom-off-road-trailers-sydney-australia/ (https://qualitycustomtrailer.com.au/custom-off-road-trailers-sydney-australia/)

I have that same trailer from that manufacturer. Good box trailer for the money, but the only Australian part of the trailer manufacturing was that the factory was located in Campbelltown NSW. The workers would have been on 4#7 visas and they ate curry for lunch. I’m sure the steel was sourced from China.
Post by: Frawls on October 01, 2020, 07:13:02 PM
You get what you pay for, that’s all I got to say.
Post by: NZMarkb on October 02, 2020, 03:46:53 AM
I wouldn't be keen on spending that much money to sleep in a cheap roof top tent, with a 75mm foam mattress
As others have already said you are better off buying a 2nd hand reputable brand
Post by: tryagain on October 02, 2020, 09:13:33 AM
I wouldn't be keen on spending that much money to sleep in a cheap roof top tent, with a 75mm foam mattress
As others have already said you are better off buying a 2nd hand reputable brand

You could put whatever rooftop tent on it that you wanted, you could spec it out from kings but choose but then choose whatever rooftop tent brand you like and you would likely still end up under 20K, but that is beside the point. I wouldn't buy it as it wouldn't suit me, the same reason as I wouldn't by a Patriot though. Those two along with the Drifta DOT when it was being made are really different market segments to what's available second hand for a similar price. It would kind of like saying to someone looking at a forward fold that they would be better off buying a caravan.

I don't see 50k+ for a Patriot and the Drifta Dot either, but others do, and it's more comparable to them than an offroad box trailer.

You get what you pay for, that’s all I got to say.

This is true, but sometimes you are paying quite a bit for a name, expensive marketing campaigns, a big profit margin, and great workmanship (as opposed to just functional). Some people are happy to trade some of that off to save some $$$, others only want the best, neither is wrong or right, each to their own.

They might, but once the great unwashed can fly to Bali, I recon you'll pick one up for a coupla grand..........and spend 10k fixing  the busted bits........

Have you had a closer look at the pictures, it looks VERY well-engineered, and looks like they haven't cheaped out on the bits people have typically had to replace on their imports.

It might sound like I am trying to spruik it, I really don't know if it is going to be any good or not, but just actually trying to base assumptions actually on the information at hand. The real unknown at the moment is how the quality will be when it rolls off the production line, the pre-production one looks reasonable from what you can see in the pictures but the production version may well be different in the flesh.

Post by: Bird on October 02, 2020, 10:35:05 AM
Quote from: tryagain
Have you had a closer look at the pictures, it looks VERY well-engineered, and looks like they haven't cheaped out on the bits people have typically had to replace on their imports.
(https://i.imgflip.com/2envtd.jpg)
Post by: below sea level on October 02, 2020, 12:06:21 PM
Hmmm. Looks like they copied my home built one.
Post by: tryagain on October 03, 2020, 07:49:22 AM
(https://i.imgflip.com/2envtd.jpg)

I did say "looks like" and I'll stand by that, time will tell if looks are deceiving or not though.  ;)
Post by: geopaj on October 03, 2020, 09:50:07 AM
I wouldn’t buy one but I reckon they will be popular.

I wonder how they will go weight wise? The advised tare is 870kg with no accessories (and no bed or roof top tent) but it’s max payload is 630kg. The water tank filled will add 100kg. How much will the fridge, fridge slide, roof top tent, roof racks, and all the other accessories add up to?
Post by: Bird on October 03, 2020, 10:18:12 AM

I did say "looks like" and I'll stand by that, time will tell if looks are deceiving or not though.  ;)
:cup: ;D ;D ;D :cup:
Post by: loanrangie on October 08, 2020, 03:25:10 PM
Its still just an RTT on an overpriced trailer even if it is on the low end of the market.
Post by: scrubber on October 08, 2020, 09:09:09 PM
I had a look at one at the new Brendale store the day.  Not impressed.  The trailer without out any options is just an overpriced trailer with lots of gimmicky single purpose features.  If you want to sleep on it, that's an option, want a kitchen ( a useless one at that), that's an option etc etc.
That said, I'm just not a fan of the camping trailer concept - especially the over the top bling trailers of Patriot - all form, no function.
Post by: Moxley on October 08, 2020, 09:31:18 PM
I had a look at one at the new Brendale store the day.  Not impressed.  The trailer without out any options is just an overpriced trailer with lots of gimmicky single purpose features.  If you want to sleep on it, that's an option, want a kitchen ( a useless one at that), that's an option etc etc.
That said, I'm just not a fan of the camping trailer concept - especially the over the top bling trailers of Patriot - all form, no function.
Probably only need a well made Australian heavy duty trailer fitted out a bit?  Those ex Army ones look pretty cool.

Post by: JD-120 on October 09, 2020, 06:27:18 AM
i like the concept. Ive always looked at those roof top tents and thought yeah great, but when you want to go out for the day, you need to pack up if its ontop of your rig. Setup like this is pretty sweet. heaps of functionalty + seemingly easy setup.

Bit of best of both worlds for a travelling couple.
Post by: NZMarkb on October 09, 2020, 06:31:17 AM
i like the concept. Ive always looked at those roof top tents and thought yeah great, but when you want to go out for the day, you need to pack up if its ontop of your rig. Setup like this is pretty sweet. heaps of functionalty + seemingly easy setup.

Climb up into one first
There's not a lot of room
And what scares me is slipping on the ladder in the midle of the night when nature calls ending up hanging from a broken leg on the ladder  :-[
Post by: JD-120 on October 09, 2020, 06:36:03 AM
yeah the dunny run in the middle of the night, in the rain would deffo suck big time, agreed. you make a good point about the climb up etc, there is probably a very limited age bracket this would appeal to
Post by: NZMarkb on October 09, 2020, 07:01:12 AM
 there is probably a very limited age bracket this would appeal to
[/quote]

Year unfortunatly I think I've passed it  :-[
Post by: JD-120 on October 09, 2020, 07:03:44 AM
lol we probably all have.

Post by: Pete79 on October 09, 2020, 07:17:03 AM
lol we probably all have.
There’s still a few of us left in here that are many years away from caravan purchasing age..... :P
Post by: scrubber on October 09, 2020, 08:10:25 AM
There’s still a few of us left in here that are many years away from caravan purchasing age.....
I'm still a few years away from this step into hell.  One thing that I'm sure of is that there is zero chance of me ever buying a caravan - hate the things with a passion.   I do however see myself in a 4x4 truck with 4 solid walls around me.  All the comforts of home and not towing anything.  I'd even consider an Oka repowered with a Cummins 6BT.
Post by: Beachman on October 09, 2020, 08:39:47 AM
We all want different ways to set up camp which is cool, but in my opinion this is just an expensive builders trailer with a roof top tent. 

I’m also pretty confident you can set up a soft floor camper which gives more unable space in the same time as this set up with the room below.
Post by: rossm on October 09, 2020, 09:14:48 AM

Rooftop tents Not for me at my age. But kings sell a lot of them if what I saw in a recent short trip away is any guide.

Each to his own.

Post by: grunf on October 09, 2020, 09:16:18 AM
yeah the dunny run in the middle of the night, in the rain would deffo suck big time, agreed. you make a good point about the climb up etc, there is probably a very limited age bracket this would appeal to

Juice bottle  :cheers: ?
Post by: loanrangie on October 09, 2020, 09:25:50 AM
Juice bottle  :cheers: ?

Yeah but just don't wake up dehydrated and grab that juice bottle for a drink  :o
Post by: tryagain on October 09, 2020, 09:35:14 AM
There’s still a few of us left in here that are many years away from caravan purchasing age..... :P
🙋

Yep, if you would consider a caravan, this isn't for you, If you are worried about midnight wee walks, safe to say you are not in the target age bracket for this trailer.

I suspect these will mostly sell to those in their 20's & 30's who are pre kids.
Post by: 2Strokeit on October 09, 2020, 11:22:17 AM
We moved from swags into a RTT over 10 years ago. Packing/set up every day  suits our touring style and when in groups we are eating first at the end of the day and waiting in the morning.
Early morning toilet run is not that much of a drama, no missed steps yet. Wet thongs left at the bottom of the stairs after rain is more annoying.
I hate the idea of towing a van so the wife bribed me into accepting old age by buying a 500hp ML63 to tow a small van to alternate blacktop/gravel loops of OZ while keeping the 80 series RTT for the gravel.
Pics.. Canarvon  Gorge  on a company car.
Punsand Bay on slug.
OTT on previous 80.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201009/3c9d0a336674323441dbe4f8a723d28a.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201009/0955bfe31be15185f3c8c4a9cfbb9c38.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201009/45ec90a6cc716a8130d5c3b364515ef5.jpg)
Post by: JD-120 on October 09, 2020, 11:48:47 AM
nice easy setup, I like it!! :cup:
Post by: Bird on October 09, 2020, 01:02:14 PM
Bloke in our club came on one of my Robe trips one year.. brilliant setup... rooftop tent with massive walls and lots of them.. he had 5 kids...

Then the next morning bright and early to beat the tids we were going for a drive.. wait hour for him to pack up..
Get back to 'camp' that night, start setting up again.

Next day going for a drive, he gave up and stayed in the caravan park.
Post by: 2Strokeit on October 09, 2020, 01:27:39 PM
Bloke in our club came on one of my Robe trips one year.. brilliant setup... rooftop tent with massive walls and lots of them.. he had 5 kids...

Then the next morning bright and early to beat the tids we were going for a drive.. wait hour for him to pack up..
Get back to 'camp' that night, start setting up again.
Why pack the walls? Mark your tyres outline then fold the top over, zip up and go! Park in the same spot then reattach. It doesn't have to be that difficult.
A friend was pieved with his set up time and timed me over a 7 day group trip. 4 mins average set up with no walls.
10 mins pack up average no walls. I'm not a morning person.
That includes the green  origami tent packed under the cover.
Post by: Bird on October 09, 2020, 03:19:33 PM
Quote from: 2Strokeit
Why pack the walls? Mark your tyres outline then fold the top over, zip up and go! Park in the same spot then reattach. It doesn't have to be that difficult.
Dunno, I just drove off leaving the camper behind.
Post by: JD-120 on October 09, 2020, 03:57:04 PM
A friend was pieved with his set up time and timed me over a 7 day group trip. 4 mins average set up with no walls.
10 mins pack up average no walls. I'm not a morning person.
That includes the green  origami tent packed under the cover.

yep, just got to learn the tricks. We got pretty good setting up and packing down our soft floor camper. 4 mins is awesome. the more storage you got the more crap you tend to take increasing both setup and packup times
Post by: #jonesy on October 09, 2020, 04:06:19 PM
I don't mind the idea of the King's setup (except the $$$)
I find out softfloor is too big at times.
Post by: tryagain on October 09, 2020, 04:24:37 PM
I don't mind the idea of the King's setup (except the $$$)
I find out softfloor is too big at times.

Tent wise or overall size? one thing Patriot have marketed well is "being compact" in reality, they are pretty similar to most softfloors footprint.
Post by: Bird on October 09, 2020, 04:31:04 PM
Quote from: JD-120
yep, just got to learn the tricks. We got pretty good setting up and packing down our soft floor camper. 4 mins is awesome. the more storage you got the more crap you tend to take increasing both setup and packup times
I reckon most soft floors once the trailer is unhitched, legs down (as with any trailer) most wouldnt take much more than 5 mins for the tent to be up.
LS had a video of the explorer + being up in 1 min once legs were down and travel cover undone with 2 people..
Post by: #jonesy on October 09, 2020, 08:27:37 PM
Tent wise or overall size? one thing Patriot have marketed well is "being compact" in reality, they are pretty similar to most softfloors footprint.
Tent size, we have 12 foot.  My son sleeps in a swag, so just me, the wife and daughter.  Lot of room just to sleep.

Post by: Mitch92 on October 09, 2020, 08:37:50 PM
I feel some people poo-hoo stuff just cause it doesn't suit them. My first camper was a self built trailer with a TJM rooftop tent. Worked perfect, 5 mins up or down Max. Did trips from 1 night through to 4 weeks and never had an issue.

Have since upgraded and whilst I enjoy the creature comforts i now have, I also can see and understand the appeal of something like this to a certain demographic, and to an extent have hit the nail on the head.
Post by: JD-120 on October 10, 2020, 05:23:04 PM
I reckon most soft floors once the trailer is unhitched, legs down (as with any trailer) most wouldnt take much more than 5 mins for the tent to be up.
LS had a video of the explorer + being up in 1 min once legs were down and travel cover undone with 2 people..

Yeah we had a LS 360 I think it was.

Putting up the main tent section without the annex was pretty quick. But thats not where the time is. We used to pull everything out of the trailer first, once it was in position and levelled. Pulled everything out before the tent went up cause it was just sooo much easier than climbing in after the fact.

Then set up stretchers for the kids, the main bed, the kitchen, water, gas, set up bbq, tables, chairs, lights. get the fridge outta the car, plug that into your trailer power.

It seemed like it was never ending at times. As stated previously, everyones setups are different with varying levels of accessories.

We moved to a conqueror and most stuff stays in it now. never looking back, ill go to a caravan no worries when the kids no longer want to come a long and we get sick of having to setup the portaloo nad shower
Title: Kings new camper trailer.
Post by: Moxley on October 10, 2020, 08:31:41 PM
There’s many reasons people go to a van, and many people go to vans.

Ideally I’d have a van, a camper and a swag.

Kings trailer is a bit too expensive for what it is, but I think they’ll have a good market.

Post by: MadMarv on October 11, 2020, 02:05:57 PM
I'm still a few years away from this step into hell.  One thing that I'm sure of is that there is zero chance of me ever buying a caravan - hate the things with a passion.   I do however see myself in a 4x4 truck with 4 solid walls around me.  All the comforts of home and not towing anything.  I'd even consider an Oka repowered with a Cummins 6BT.

Hahahahahaha .... yep i used to say that but at the age off 44 i had a stroke and things changed lol .... 50 now and we have another fourby and now a caravan and wouldnt change it  lol .....
Post by: JD-120 on October 12, 2020, 07:58:08 AM
Hahahahahaha .... yep i used to say that but at the age off 44 i had a stroke and things changed lol .... 50 now and we have another fourby and now a caravan and wouldnt change it  lol .....

Post by: Agent009 on October 12, 2020, 11:26:40 AM
Meh, looks cheap and nasty...not for me.

Personally I don't think they'll sell much.
Post by: lopez_angela on October 13, 2020, 12:08:58 AM
I've been camping since I can remember with friends or family upnorth one of my best outdoors activity we stay up til Dawn and enjoy nature

Sent from my Mediatek MT8173 Chromebook using Tapatalk