General => Introductions => Topic started by: Tjupurula on January 02, 2012, 05:45:32 PM

Title: A Great Sandy Desert Hello
Post by: Tjupurula on January 02, 2012, 05:45:32 PM
Hi MySwag People

This site was recommended to me as a great site, though I am still building another trailer.  About me, just another bloke in the bush, 52 year old grandfather (many times over).  The two states I have never been to are Queensland and Tasmania.  My favourite places to camp are basically everywhere, when there is noone else around.

I guess I will be asked some questions at some stage.   I hope you all have a great 2012.

Title: Re: A Great Sandy Desert Hello
Post by: Snow on January 02, 2012, 05:58:25 PM
G'day Tjupurula and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:
Post by: Tjupurula on January 02, 2012, 06:05:51 PM
Thankyou very much Snow.
Post by: watto11 on January 02, 2012, 06:59:13 PM
Gday mate and welcome to myswag cheers watto
Post by: Tjupurula on January 02, 2012, 07:54:19 PM
G'day Watto, thanks for the welcome.
Post by: Top.ender on January 02, 2012, 07:59:24 PM
Gday Tjpurula and welcome to Myswag.Whoever recommended this site to you is spot on ,plenty of great info and banter. :cheers:
Post by: Tjupurula on January 02, 2012, 08:03:12 PM
G'day Top.ender
Given that you are from the top end, you must not be too far in distance from where I am.
Thanks for the welcome.
It was a member of another forum who is also here, but would not be right to give names.
Have a great 2012
Post by: hillbilly on January 03, 2012, 06:09:49 AM
G'day Tjupurula,

Welcome to myswag. Endless info on here to help with your trailer build.

Happy New Year

Hillbilly
Post by: GU_Thomo on January 03, 2012, 07:51:38 AM
Welcome Tjupurula,

Post by: Tjupurula on January 03, 2012, 09:48:56 AM
G'Day Hillbilly
Cheers on the welcome.  You are, without doubt correct regarding advice on the trailer build.
I am a tradey, so hopefully I may be able to share some knowledge as well sometime, though I am no expert in anything.
Post by: Tjupurula on January 03, 2012, 09:51:13 AM
Thankyou Parry
Only been here a day or so, and already found people very friendly.
Have a great 2012
Post by: Jenko67 on January 03, 2012, 02:48:22 PM
Welcome mate.
Post by: Tjupurula on January 03, 2012, 03:11:55 PM
Thankyou Jenko67, have a great 2012.
Post by: BigJules on January 03, 2012, 03:29:53 PM
G'day & Welcome Marc, glad to see you were able to get on eventually.
Post by: Bushman on January 03, 2012, 04:06:56 PM
Welcome aboard Tjupurula  ;D
Post by: Captain on January 03, 2012, 05:27:49 PM
Welcome aboard Tjupurula, good to see you across on this forum  8)

Captain
Post by: Tjupurula on January 03, 2012, 06:08:24 PM
Cheers Captain
Yes know who each other is from other locations.  I was referred here and it is a good forum, with ample information.
Looking forward to those photo's one day.
Post by: Heiny on January 03, 2012, 09:19:36 PM
Hi Tjupurula and welcome to My Swag

Post by: Tjupurula on January 04, 2012, 12:03:20 AM
Hi Bubba
Thanks for the welcome.  I am looking forward to learning.
Post by: Tjupurula on January 04, 2012, 12:04:54 AM
Hi Big Jules
Thanks for both the adevice and the welcome.
Post by: Tjupurula on January 04, 2012, 12:08:17 AM
Thanks for the welcome Bushman, I look forward to learning more here.
Post by: Cam and Deb on January 04, 2012, 05:49:42 AM
Welcome to myswag great place,great people

Cam
Post by: Tjupurula on January 04, 2012, 06:01:17 PM
Hi Cam
Yes I have the people to be good to date.
Thankyou for the welcome.
Post by: gurules on January 07, 2012, 08:41:13 PM
welcome mate lots of good info and some nice people ,well so far anyway,some pics would be good of ya tug etc heyyyyyyyyyyy :cheers: ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Wandering Tassie on January 08, 2012, 05:49:32 AM
Hi Tjupurula and welcome to the forum.
Never been to Tassie, missing a great spot. When you get here be sure to contact for info on the local spots.

Post by: Tjupurula on January 09, 2012, 01:53:12 AM
Hi Gurules

As soon as I work out how to get photos uploaded to the site, then I will do my best.
Thanks for the welcome mate.

Post by: Tjupurula on January 09, 2012, 01:57:00 AM
Hi Trevor
At the moment we are enjoying the warmth of the desert, my wifes own country.
You could let me know if it ever gets over 30 degrees in Tasmania (in Celcius that is), then we may start thinking about it.
Perhaps when I fully retire and sell my business.
Post by: Wandering Tassie on January 09, 2012, 06:22:31 AM

You could let me know if it ever gets over 30 degrees in Tasmania (in Celcius that is), then we may start thinking about it

You would have to pick your days carefully, about 2 a year.

Post by: Tjupurula on January 09, 2012, 05:50:35 PM
Fair enough Trevor, but given our night temperatures are around 28 degrees at the moment, which is very comfortable, I think it will be quite a while before we go anywhere colder.
Post by: cewilson on January 09, 2012, 10:32:06 PM
I currently live in Queensland, but I'm a born and bred Tassie boy - I thoroughly recommend both destinations as 'must do' sometime during your life.

Chris
Post by: Manjimike on January 09, 2012, 10:38:51 PM
Welcome Marc,
Definitely a remote location there at Lake Gregory.
I have seen it over 100*F in Tassie a few times when I was living there as a young lad.
Then I also saw it snow in Hobart on Xmas day nearly as many times  ;D ;D

Post by: Jillsy on January 10, 2012, 09:38:43 PM
Hi Tjupurula

Don't leave it too much longer before you check out Queensland cause you will need a good while to see even half of it!
Post by: Tjupurula on January 10, 2012, 10:40:13 PM
Hi Chris
Thanks for the welcome.
Not travelling for quite some time but may consider it one day.
Post by: Tjupurula on January 10, 2012, 10:41:48 PM
Hi Jill
Queensland is not yet on our "to do" list, may wait until the water and cyclones settle down.
Post by: Old Croc + plus one on January 16, 2012, 08:15:58 PM
Hi Tjupurula
Welcome to My Swag Happy Trails with your Camper
Cheers OC
Post by: Tjupurula on January 16, 2012, 10:07:08 PM
Hi Old Croc
Good picture you have, any relation to the chaps I saw at Malcolm Douglas place in Broome;