Author Topic: CAMPING TIPS (that you might not have thought of, post here)  (Read 157272 times)

Offline NewcastleKnight

Re: CAMPING TIPS (that you might not have thought of, post here)
« Reply #75 on: March 16, 2010, 06:21:01 PM »
I was a little sceptical about the tule idea as I thought the gaps in the netting would be a bit big for the small insects but I am now reliably informed by my lovely wife that tule comes in various forms and that you can get the stuff with very small gaps.

Another tip is collect your two liter juice bottles and the like and fill them with cordial or water and freeze them.  They keep your esky cool and as they defrost the kids have water and/or cordial to drink.

« Reply #76 on: March 16, 2010, 06:32:36 PM »
A Cork hat to keep the flies away are more annoying than the flies......

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #77 on: March 16, 2010, 06:35:21 PM »
This is one that all men should adhere to.  If your lovely partner tells you that they can tow the trailer, put it up and when you get there it will all be ready don't resist.  I resisted for a while and then succumbed to the pressure... the best bloody thing I ever did!! :D ;D :D

Offline Bennlexx

« Reply #78 on: March 16, 2010, 08:15:40 PM »
This one learnt from a friend.  If travelling on dusty roads its a bugger when your locks fill up with dust and you have difficulty getting the key in (padlocks are particularly susceptible) .  Solution - sticky dots that you get from a newsagent etc.  Just stick them over the keyhole before setting off.

Solar garden lights have been mentioned.  I actually use a string of solar "fairy" lights.  Hung up around the annexe they produce quite a bit of light and are particularly good for finding your CP in a dark camping ground.

Alex B

2003 Aussie Swag Rover Ultra & 2012 Prado GXL D4D

Offline mattr

« Reply #79 on: March 16, 2010, 08:29:55 PM »
If you have the kids in their pj's don't forget to pack other shoes.  We had one trip in slippers!

Offline mcbadger2

« Reply #80 on: March 16, 2010, 09:04:16 PM »
Always keep note of the last pub that you passed.
It will be required while away.
This is for general health and sanity reasons of course!!

mark
mcbadger

« Reply #81 on: March 17, 2010, 04:46:37 AM »
Mcbadger2
              could you please swoly explain you expresion "last pub you passed " ,,there is no such thing is there ???
actions such as this will cause much decent with in the ranks     .!!!!!

Offline TOY80ST

• The Camper trailer Whisperer
« Reply #82 on: March 17, 2010, 05:37:42 AM »
Mcbadger2
              could you please swoly explain you expresion "last pub you passed " ,,there is no such thing is there ???
actions such as this will cause much decent with in the ranks     .!!!!!

I agree on that one. Shouldn't it read the las pub you stopped at ;)
I hvae tlruobe wtih selplnig and dxsyliea. NOW I'TS YUOR TRUN!

« Reply #83 on: March 17, 2010, 06:00:34 AM »
Toybost
           last pub you stopped at ,,,, yes i undrestand that , but that would trnd to suggest you have indeed left or been chucked out . :cheers:

Offline TOY80ST

« Reply #84 on: March 17, 2010, 06:55:21 AM »
Toybost
           last pub you stopped at ,,,, yes i undrestand that , but that would trnd to suggest you have indeed left or been chucked out . :cheers:

Ha ha,

In my case it is usually stumps. Especially if there is heaps to read on the walls and the publican has heaps of tales to tell.

« Reply #85 on: March 17, 2010, 07:33:16 AM »
Also to add to this, always insure the saftey chain/s are not long enough that the tongue slides out of the hitch, cut links out until the tongue won't come out if the pin is out.

baz - does this allow full articulation of the ct without binding the chains? - i just had a look at mine and couldnt see how that would work when the trailer was going on a steep downhill when the 4by was on a steep uphill - or if they were rolled at 20 degrees on opposite angles

/
_________/

I've had no problems with mine, I can Jacknife my trailer and have had it over some fairly steep uphills and errosion humps, mine is a Trigg hitch so in theroy will only go to 35deg.

I was told this by an old friend and one day going to Newnes the pin came out, the splitpin brike holding it in and eventually the pin worked it's way out.

Offline mcbadger2

« Reply #86 on: March 17, 2010, 08:15:57 AM »
I agree on that one. Shouldn't it read the las pub you stopped at ;)

To all fellow swaggers I appologise for this oversight on my behalf and solemly swear to STOP at every pub in the future. May you all forgive me.
mcbadger

« Reply #87 on: March 17, 2010, 08:58:05 AM »
I've had no problems with mine, I can Jacknife my trailer and have had it over some fairly steep uphills and errosion humps, mine is a Trigg hitch so in theroy will only go to 35deg.

I was told this by an old friend and one day going to Newnes the pin came out, the splitpin brike holding it in and eventually the pin worked it's way out.

I concur; many people seem to use the end link to connect the safety chain, when in most cases it needs to be shorter to be effective. The chains should be sort enough to stop the hitch hitting the ground, but not so short that they then inhibit turning etc.

With two chains, I cross them over, and have had no issues with binding or articulation.

Offline westvic

« Reply #88 on: March 18, 2010, 08:14:27 PM »
dont forget the stubbie holder

keeps the drinks cold in the heat and the hand warm in the cold

should be located on top of the shorter gear lever (exceptions made for those with push buttons)  :cheers:
Getting there if half the fun

The other half is a cold beer when you do.

Offline NeilNTan

« Reply #89 on: March 18, 2010, 09:28:52 PM »
OK, heres one for kids.

If you have a fussy eater, go to McDonalds before you leave and purchase some cheeseburger. Freeze them and then when the kids won't eat, pull them out and heat them in a jaffle iron..... yummo.....

« Reply #90 on: March 18, 2010, 10:24:45 PM »

Hessian sacks are great for storing the collapsible bbq in and double as a door mat when not in use.

« Reply #91 on: March 19, 2010, 07:57:38 AM »
I always keep a chaff bag in the storage box with some kindling in it. I top it up when we pull over from time to time.

Offline rellbell

• 2000 gu II + MDC XT12
« Reply #92 on: March 19, 2010, 12:27:26 PM »
Shemdaph,  Not as silly as it sounds, nothing worse then being short sheeted.  I always leave the loo paper in the pocket of the fold up dunny shelter, and i always make sure there is an extra roll wrapped in a coles bag under the front seat of the nissan and one in the drawers in the back of nissan as well. :laugh:

Offline rellbell

• 2000 gu II + MDC XT12
« Reply #93 on: March 19, 2010, 12:55:29 PM »
Spare chaff bag in car always handy to lay on when have to do under car repairs too

Offline TOY80ST

« Reply #94 on: March 19, 2010, 03:19:59 PM »
Spare chaff bag in car always handy to lay on when have to do under car repairs too

I have a small sheet of canvas for just that, it is 1m x 1m perfect size to put your wheel on when changing it in the dirt and when doing something under the car.

« Reply #95 on: March 19, 2010, 05:58:25 PM »
Swaggers
             now were on the right track ,,, its the little things we do that will make things easyer !!!!!

« Reply #96 on: March 19, 2010, 06:43:19 PM »
   We carry a set of wood blocks to be used for jacking, levelling the van etc.

Cut them to size so they fit in the floor of an available box, cupboard or space so that they store efficiently and don't move about.

Offline Vince

• Central Coast 4WD Club
« Reply #97 on: March 19, 2010, 08:02:32 PM »
Ever had a problem with your water pump tap, like the  Trojan brand or other? .. Well if it gets a bit hard to use or starts jamming (not musically) spray some cooking oil on the shaft and that should free it up  :cheers:

Offline farcanal

« Reply #98 on: March 20, 2010, 12:41:35 PM »
Surprise peas.......probably known to most but I've only "discovered" them in the past 12 months. With no freezer for frozen peas (and corn) these are the duxnuts, they weigh bugger all and take up no space...1/2 a cup is ample for 2 people and they just top off the lamb roast. I'm now prepared to be shot down in flames if this is old news....having said that, this is myswag....no ridicule in here....
2018 Pajero NX GLS 3.2D auto, 2004 Kimberley Kamper Escape

Offline Bennlexx

« Reply #99 on: March 20, 2010, 12:51:24 PM »
And when the stubby holder is not wrapped around a cold beer it makes a great storage container for a wine glass.  No plastic wine glasses for me   :D !!

Regards, Alex B

2003 Aussie Swag Rover Ultra & 2012 Prado GXL D4D