Author Topic: CAMPING TIPS (that you might not have thought of, post here)  (Read 159248 times)

Offline Pebble

Re: CAMPING TIPS (that you might not have thought of, post here)
« Reply #200 on: September 11, 2010, 10:33:23 AM »
You know those Weed Sprayer bottles from Bunnings etc like this
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/5-LITRE-PRESSURE-SPRAYER-GARDEN-WATER-WEEDS-FERTILIZERS_W0QQitemZ370429510575QQihZ024QQcategoryZ149207QQcmdZViewItem

Someone came up with a great idea of using them to shower with.
Not sure why we carried one on the last overnight trip, I guess in case the kids needed a hose down  ;D  but we have found they are also pretty handy for putting out small fires (particularly if spreading where they shouldn't be >:( we were in a shelter / cabin thing that had a fire place only problem is it was half sticking outside so the external timber cladding eventually started to catch!).
I must say it wouldn't do the job of putting out a campfire though since it's just a fine mist, maybe it would if the ash was spread out really well and relatively thinly if it hadn't been a real big fire.

It's cheap and re-fillable and saves the powder type extinguisher you carry for those real emergencies, and saves water I reckon. Hmmm  there is another use, spraying the car windows to clean them?

Just seems like a handy little gadget to carry, and doesn't take up that much space.

2015 LC Dual Cab
2017 Trakmaster Gibson

Offline Madcat

• If you own a 4WD... Get it Dirty!
  • Too much work, not enough days off!
« Reply #201 on: September 12, 2010, 09:21:48 AM »
Similar to the weed sprayer, this is what I use... A refillable 9 litre fire extinguisher.

Great for putting out fires, cleaning tail lights :police:, number plates :police:, shooing over inquisitive animals and for cleaning the really muddy kids.  Plus other uses to I haven't found yet.

Sam
80 Series Landcruiser and Bush Hopper Off Road Camper

« Reply #202 on: September 16, 2010, 09:27:12 PM »
If doing a quick overnight stop and the awning isnt set up but folded over the roof of the camper trailer, then the wind picks up I use the Guy ropes to peg it back down the ground. It was so windy one night on the WA coast I think it would have acted as a sail and taken off across the campsite if we werent still hooked up to the GU!! ;D

Offline HerGU

« Reply #203 on: September 16, 2010, 11:36:24 PM »

When we used to tent it, we used to fill up the tropical box (105L esky) the night before full with water, then put a couple of frozen cordial bottles in and close the lid. It makes it so you are not putting cold ice etc into a hot esky the next morning. We used to get at least 2 more days out of the ice than mates of ours who had the exact same esky until they started doing it too. We also used to put extra frozen cordial bottles in for ice. Also, buy yourself a couple of $2 sun shade for the car and tape them to the esky. Works a treat for the ever moving sun! Sometimes you can't always keep it in the shade at all times.

Now that we have a camper trailer, we bought 3 x 80L Plastic Tubs with Lid & wheels from Kmart and removed the wheels from one side and left the other side on. This stops them from moving around on the carpet in the camper, but still makes it so we can easily get them in and out.

« Reply #204 on: September 17, 2010, 05:13:05 AM »
In the CT we pack all our gear in 60L tubs with lids  . Slide them into the camper cloths , kitchen , food etc . Makes it easy to see which one needs to go where , then hook them out with a steel rake . The rake is handy to clear a site for CT if required .

Offline Willow Girl

• Him, Her and the boys :)
« Reply #205 on: December 30, 2010, 01:58:11 PM »
1.  We always pack a chamois in the trailer for drying the floor of the camper (or previously the tent) .
2.  Also we pack a spare set of sheets and pillow cases. That way when we pack up, we replace the sheets with clean ones and put the dirty ones with our dirty clothes. We do this with the teatowels also.
3.  We use microfiber towels also and keep them in the food box. This way they get washed at home and packed back always!
4.  We dont use poles and ropes to put out the awnings over the windows.  We just use very long ockey straps. Sometimes to pegs but if ther are trees just tie onto them. They may not go out on an angle but very easy to setup and pack up. 
5.  When using solar lights I just place them on a pole with a elastic toggle tie.
Him, Her and the boys!
2003 Pajero

9ft Khaki Customline tent on a full off road custom trailer :-)

and a wish list a mile long.....

Offline Bart63

« Reply #206 on: December 30, 2010, 02:26:53 PM »
   We carry a set of wood blocks to be used for jacking, levelling the van etc.

Cut them to size so they fit in the floor of an available box, cupboard or space so that they store efficiently and don't move about.

I like this one too and I'm onto my forth set. First set the kids burnt, the second the wife "my fault", and the third I applied the "The 2 use rule" and chopped up for kindling to start the fire after heavy rains. Thought about the plastic ones but figured they don't fit into the 2 use rule.

Bart63

« Reply #207 on: March 15, 2011, 10:20:50 AM »
With many new members joining up I thought I'd kick this thread back into life.

After spending another weekend away I was watching the water running off the awning, Very common when we go camping. We were camped in black sandy conditions and with even drip or pour of water the sandy mud would slash everywhere. I grabbed a few handfuls of leaves and placed them down where the water was draining off. This not only stopped the splashing but is reduced the water running away.

I thought of this thread and took a photo of what I did.

« Last Edit: March 15, 2011, 10:41:57 AM by GU Rich »

« Reply #208 on: March 15, 2011, 05:39:19 PM »
This might be better of in the tight arse thred. To stop your cereal going soggie or spilling i use a cloth peg on the top of a rolled down packet

Offline tjwrexy

« Reply #209 on: March 15, 2011, 07:42:33 PM »

A bottle of Aloe Gel in the fridge for insect bits or sunburn.
Head lamps also come in handy for cooking on the BBQ in the dark when lighting in the CT is not strong enough.
Frozen water bottles in the esky/fridge between the beer - VERY IMPORTANT.
Double check that the CT is "on" the tow ball properly (yes my man forgot on our first trip, I was urgently "asked" to pull over so he could check something   >:()
Lots and lots and lots of beer and stubbie holders.

TJ  ;D
Tammy and Jeff
2010 Triton GLX-R and 2011 Aussie Swag Ultra G

« Reply #210 on: March 15, 2011, 08:04:53 PM »
After just returning from our big trip and camping in alot of different terrains we placed the kids mattresses under there stretcher beds so that the legs wouldn't damage the floor of the camper when camped on the sand We camped like this for 4 nights and it worked a treat. Cheers Rich
I bought some thick marine carpet to lay on the floor of the CT to protect it, there was some left over so I cut it into squares to put under the stretcher legs and it also works a treat :cheers:

« Reply #211 on: March 15, 2011, 11:19:49 PM »
A bottle of Aloe Gel in the fridge for insect bits or sunburn.
Head lamps also come in handy for cooking on the BBQ in the dark when lighting in the CT is not strong enough.

x 2 on the Aloe Gel and headlamps. 

Offline Sar_n_Jase

« Reply #212 on: March 17, 2011, 03:58:39 PM »
Such a helpful thread!!! We are heading off on our 2yr adventure in 45 days, and I've just copy/paste/printed a whole bunch of your tips for later reference, to prevent that whole "I read something that would be perfect to fix that.... but I can't remember!"
Can't wait to head off - hopefully will come up with some tips of our own on the way!

Cheers guys!

Sar n Jase ;D

Offline way-t-go

• Our Camper Trailer
« Reply #213 on: March 17, 2011, 10:47:00 PM »
I bought some thick marine carpet to lay on the floor of the CT to protect it, there was some left over so I cut it into squares to put under the stretcher legs and it also works a treat :cheers:

Good idea. I saw maybe on this thread, that someone carpeted under the mattress so that when the bed base is lifted when the CT is setup , the mattress doesn't slide off onto the floor.
2009 'MDC' Off Road Deluxe Camper with more mods than you can poke a stick at.
2010 Mitsubishi PB Challenger Auto

Offline britts

« Reply #214 on: March 18, 2011, 04:59:20 PM »
seems everyone takes frozen bottles of water to help keep things cold & for drinking if you boil the water before freezing it lasts longer & is still safe to drink.

« Reply #215 on: March 18, 2011, 05:08:21 PM »
Wool'ns can be washed with shampoo instead of washing powder if need be.

« Reply #216 on: April 15, 2011, 10:32:21 AM »
seems everyone takes frozen bottles of water to help keep things cold & for drinking if you boil the water before freezing it lasts longer & is still safe to drink.

Didn't know if you boil it it will freeze for longer, godd tip!

« Reply #217 on: April 15, 2011, 11:05:06 AM »
Didn't know if you boil it it will freeze for longer, godd tip!

This could be a topic all of it's own ???

Wheres the rationale behind this idea ??

« Reply #218 on: April 15, 2011, 11:36:02 AM »
Before you leave on a big trip go to the bank and swap a couple of $20 notes for 2 bags of $1 coins.  Then no more searchingunder the seats and going to reception to get change when it comes time to go to the laundromats.

Offline britts

« Reply #219 on: April 15, 2011, 07:06:04 PM »
Apparently something to do with removing the oxygen from the water, not 100% sure but it works.

« Reply #220 on: April 15, 2011, 07:08:57 PM »
Wouldnt you just be left with Hydrogen????
« Last Edit: April 15, 2011, 07:11:33 PM by darren »

« Reply #221 on: April 15, 2011, 07:17:11 PM »
I have just checked. Hydrogen freezes at 14.01 k so no wonder it keeps stuff cold. You will need a pretty good freezer to get it to that though... :D

Offline OffRoadDave

• If I think I can build it I will!
« Reply #222 on: April 15, 2011, 09:40:38 PM »
Water lasts longer after being boiled as it is sterilised I guess?  ???

Offline aussiepics

• aussiepics
« Reply #223 on: April 15, 2011, 10:08:58 PM »
2 cents from me..  when you roll out of the swag as the sun comes up and reach for loo paper, wipe the windscreen and headlights first, the bugs have been softened by condensation/dew for the last few hours and will come off much more easily. Once the suns been up a bit they've baked back on and you have to put heaps more effort into the job.

./cb

Offline Chippy76

• :D
« Reply #224 on: April 15, 2011, 11:03:04 PM »
nice i like that one aus pix

cheers chippy :D
"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton