General => General Discussion => Topic started by: GU Rich on March 09, 2010, 06:59:28 PM

Title: CAMPING TIPS (that you might not have thought of, post here)
Post by: GU Rich on March 09, 2010, 06:59:28 PM
A tip to take into consideration when camping in warm/hot weather....

Make sure the kids dont leave crayons on there beds in the camper as they WILL melt to there beds......

I'll post pics when I get the camera out....

rich
Title: Re: CAMPING TIPS (that you might not have thought of, post here)
Post by: NewcastleKnight on March 09, 2010, 07:04:42 PM
Now I am not sure whether I can explain this properly.  When you roll the flaps up on your annex/windows etc try to roll them up back to front then what is natural.  If it happens to rain or there is moisture around before you get to put them down the water won't pool in the canvas or vinyl awnd when you drop them you won't get water all over you.
Post by: Gunna Do on March 09, 2010, 07:19:41 PM
Whilst we are on the topic of window awnings.  If it a large cover/awning, and a bit large for one person, fold the two bottom corners up to the top and wind the awning up from the now formed triangle at the bottom.  Hope that's understandable.
Post by: rossow on March 09, 2010, 07:31:09 PM
wow, 2 posts, 2 great ideas! (3 if you count the crayons, but i dont think i'll ever be able to tell the kids not to do that AND have them listen)
Thanks guys,
i wish i had some inspiration to share, but we've only been out a dozen times in our camper.
The only thing I can share is make it a routine when packing up and leaving to double check EVERYTHING... I usualy do the final closing of the doors and things and before I start the car I ask the missus... "did you do your checks?"  It's her job to check all locks closed and cables connected AFTER i've done my checks.

will def. be looking in on this thread as time goes by.

Rossow.
Post by: NewcastleKnight on March 09, 2010, 07:34:10 PM
Rossow that is a good tip!  I have last a couple of bits and pieces by not doing final checks.

Post by: GU Rich on March 09, 2010, 07:41:53 PM
Just thought of another couple, Make sure that your car keys are'nt in the pocket of the folded up camper...... Yes it happened lucky it was at the door end and didnt need to unpack the whole tent....

Not sure if others do this, But when leaving the awning attached when folding lift the awning back over the roof of the tent with the 2 outside poles. This makes the job alot easier than trying to flip it over, Hope this makes sense

rich
Post by: NewcastleKnight on March 09, 2010, 07:43:51 PM
Just thought of another one, Make sure that your car keys are'nt in the pocket of the folded up camper...... Yes it happened lucky it was at the door end and didnt need to unpack the whole tent....

rich
[/quote

good point and after a couple of issues with keys I have a complete set in glove box of the car just to be safe!
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 09, 2010, 08:05:18 PM
I have a piece of coloured thin rope that is always attached to the Anderson lead on the trailer. After setting up camp and when the trailer is re connedted to the Patrol I place the loop of rope wrapped around the steering wheel so when i get up the next day after a goods nights sleep i do not rip the Anderson plug out of the trailer or tow buggy when i take off for an adventure. I just replace the loop of rope onto the trailer side of the plug and repeat process if i reconnect the two.

Garrick
Post by: greeny03 on March 09, 2010, 08:52:07 PM
Others may already do it, but when it's cold and you have a good fire going, place a small shovel full of coals under your seat!! Keeps ya backside and back nice and toasty!!
Post by: V8100 on March 09, 2010, 09:11:05 PM
however many clothes you think the kids will need doule it and you might have close to enough.

however many beers you will need double it and you might have close to enough.

eddy
Post by: aazjodz on March 09, 2010, 11:54:40 PM
Make sure that your WALLET isn't in the pocket of the folded up camper......
not that big a deal on the day, as we were opening it again that night....but it means we always check now!
J
Post by: Shemdaph on March 10, 2010, 01:17:37 AM
Not sure this passes as a camping tip.

Dont put the dunny roll in the camper. Always leave it in the car. Nothing worst when nature calls and your camper is packed up and you have to forage some paper bark, or leaves.
Post by: Carlisle Rogers on March 10, 2010, 07:27:36 AM
Hey guys - Carlisle here from Camper Trailer Australia. I was wondering if we could use some of your tips, with full credit and pics if you have them (of you or the tip in question) in the magazine. It's good stuff, I'd love to share it with my readers.
I'll even make it worth your while and give you guys a decent prize every issue. What's a good prize, what do you guys want? An extra snatch strap? Subscription to the magazine? Let me know and thy will be done...

Thanks! - Carlisle
Post by: giypsy on March 10, 2010, 07:36:21 AM
Not checking everything while packing can lead to folding up the camper and finding the car keys are still in the pocket beside the bed. Once is enough to cure you of this malady.
Post by: wannabee on March 10, 2010, 07:43:43 AM

CHECKLISTS:

I have checklists for everything - food, packing, fishing gear, etc.  Sign of a bad memory as I get older??

I print my checklists and put them in a clear plastic folder.  I cross things off using a white-board marker on the plastic surface, and then wipe it clear for re-use.

PS - Great idea for a thread.
Post by: DANBRI on March 10, 2010, 07:45:12 AM
Couple tips:

Talcum powder is handy for giving clammy kids a quick clean. The powder will remove sand and dirt etc without water.

Talcum powder is also good if you've got issues with ants, if you put a small line across their tracks they will turn back and not cross it. If you camp for a few days or more, ants can become an issue.

Cable tie a spare key under your car when you're on a decent trek. When you live out of the vehicle for weeks on end, it is very easy to lock the keys in the car as you break your routines. Locked out of your car in the heat in Knowhereville - sucks!

Photos - Rule of Thirds - Apply the principle to your snap shots and you'll see an instant improvement in your ability to capture the moment http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rule_of_thirds rather than a lifeless image.

Baby wipes are awesome for general purposes. No requirement for water etc for a quick clean or - shower in a bag, as I call it! Work well on halting the progress of mushrooms that grow on the dash on a big trek (dust).

If you haven't done so already, get some mesh or a purpose made matting for the door way / living area of your tent. It helps the grass from wearing and also keeps your living area free from debris.

I'll think of some more later!

Cheers  :D

Post by: Darcy7 on March 10, 2010, 07:45:33 AM
Situation - Everytime you walk into a camping store, you buy a new torch.
Reason - You can never have too many torches.
Consequence - Torches don't work because the batteries go flat in between trips.
Solution - Always buy a pack of batteries when you shop for supplies for the next trip.

While on the subject - if you have any devices that use rechargable batteries (especially internal ones) make sure you put them back on the charge when you get home as leaving them discharged for long periods of time can damage the batteries and lower their performance.

Carlisle - feel free to publish that one..!
Post by: kranky al on March 10, 2010, 08:10:58 AM
some excellent suggestions there

my contribution is as follows - when hung over try to remember - pants first,THEN shoes

saves all that hopping on one foot whilst swearing and tripping over the dog
Post by: jk on March 10, 2010, 08:17:03 AM
On the subject of dogs, NEVER feed the dog the left over lamb roast and gravy and then let him sleep in the closed up camper with the family, you get blamed all night for things that you didn't do  :-[ .
Post by: Patr80l on March 10, 2010, 08:21:52 AM
Under the heading of "Handy Items" I'd suggest welding gauntlets.   They are not expensive, a decent pair can insulate well enough for you to hold a red hot coal in your hand, and they make tending to the campfire very easy.
Post by: toad on March 10, 2010, 09:01:30 AM
 Keys can be a problem, ask me how I know. Froggy bought two hooks with suction caps. They are attached to the end of the s/s kitchen when it is extended. The car keys and the camper keys are put on these hooks for the duration of the camp. When we pack up, the suction caps are removed and placed in the kitchen drawer.
We both know exactly where the keys are at any time, and can't be folded up inside the camper with my wallet.
Post by: BigJules on March 10, 2010, 09:22:27 AM
In emergencies, a bottle of Stone's Green Ginger wine will keep you warm and happy...

No, not the sort of tip you're after...? ???    ;D

A peg puller is worth its weight in gold. If they were hard to get in, they'll be harder to get out.
Post by: Damo on March 10, 2010, 10:21:18 AM
Just on the use of baby wipes,

After forgetting the toilet paper on a recent trip, I had to use the baby wipes and after being on the beers for the previous 18 hours I only needed the 2 wipes after doing my business, very quick clean up. ( A little grouse I know )

Cheers Damo.
Post by: toad on March 10, 2010, 10:29:33 AM
More gross than grouse Damo!
Post by: wannabee on March 10, 2010, 10:37:34 AM

A peg puller is worth its weight in gold. If they were hard to get in, they'll be harder to get out.

I made my own combination peg hammer/puller by buying a cheap carpenter's hammer and cutting off one of the "claws".  The tool can now be used to drive pegs and the single claw can lever out recalcitrant pegs.

Post by: NewcastleKnight on March 10, 2010, 10:41:17 AM

I made my own combination peg hammer/puller by buying a cheap carpenter's hammer and cutting off one of the "claws".  The tool can now be used to drive pegs and the single claw can lever out recalcitrant pegs.

I have seen a similiar thing to this but what they did was tape a solid tent peg on to the hammer so the crooked end faced the bottom of the hammer.  Then you can use the hammer to hit the pegs in and spin it around and have a peg puller.
Post by: OffRoadDave on March 10, 2010, 10:49:54 AM
Another tip, take spare lynch pins for your trailer hitch if it needs them, my last trip out a stick or something popped it off, thankfully I stopped to air up otherwise I never would have noticed it missing.
Post by: toad on March 10, 2010, 11:04:08 AM
 Try and take items that have multiple uses. I use a camp oven lid lifter as a peg puller. A shower tent doubles as a loo shelter.
The wife cooks AND cleans! :cup:
Post by: baldheadedgit on March 10, 2010, 11:04:58 AM
Your a brave man Toad.!
Post by: olddigger on March 10, 2010, 12:21:27 PM
Never mind brave, I just hope he's got private health insurance!
Post by: Darcy7 on March 10, 2010, 12:38:46 PM

I have seen a similiar thing to this but what they did was tape a solid tent peg on to the hammer so the crooked end faced the bottom of the hammer.  Then you can use the hammer to hit the pegs in and spin it around and have a peg puller.

I just bought this weekend the Colman tent peg hammer/remover.  Fantastic little jigger...!  Works a treat...!
Post by: Redback on March 10, 2010, 12:40:53 PM
Another tip, take spare lynch pins for your trailer hitch if it needs them, my last trip out a stick or something popped it off, thankfully I stopped to air up otherwise I never would have noticed it missing.

Also to add to this, always insure the saftey chain/s are not long enough that the tongue slides out of the hitch, cut links out until the tongue won't come out if the pin is out.

Post by: Dettie on March 10, 2010, 12:44:55 PM
The good old daggy but worthy 'Stable table' from K-Mart works for us at meal time or working on a laptop. Very comfy :)

Dettie
Post by: toad on March 10, 2010, 01:27:37 PM
The good old daggy but worthy 'Stable table' from K-Mart works for us at meal time or working on a laptop. Very comfy :)

Dettie
Post by: GU_Thomo on March 10, 2010, 01:52:22 PM
Try and take items that have multiple uses.
The wife cooks AND cleans! :cup:

And you thought I had a death Wish

Post by: kranky al on March 10, 2010, 01:52:41 PM

Also to add to this, always insure the saftey chain/s are not long enough that the tongue slides out of the hitch, cut links out until the tongue won't come out if the pin is out.

baz - does this allow full articulation of the ct without binding the chains? - i just had a look at mine and couldnt see how that would work when the trailer was going on a steep downhill when the 4by was on a steep uphill - or if they were rolled at 20 degrees on opposite angles

/
_________/
Post by: fishfinder on March 10, 2010, 02:11:30 PM
When setting up 1st detatch camper from tow buggy and send the other 1\2 with all the kids in to town or exploring it is easier for 1 person to set up rather than trying to set up and entertain the kids at the same time , beer o'clock comes alot quicker . Also spray and wipe in the trigger bottle works a treat with greasy , dirty hads no need for water it wipes off with a towel , I leave a bottle in car incase of repairs on the side of road and 1 bottle in camper .
Post by: SteveandViv on March 10, 2010, 02:57:17 PM
Always keep a spray bottle with water in it and give the zips, the main big zip a quick spray when setting up and then packing up. You'll find the zip slides really well like this and dries with no after effects such as WD40 etc that collect dust. I also use a small tent peg to help zip and un zip the tarp. Makes it easier to pull it around the corners
Post by: rossow on March 10, 2010, 03:23:47 PM
Fishfinder,
I'd have to disagree with you on that one.
We give the Kids jobs to do.
5 and 3.  Their jobs include.

Setting up the folding table and chairs.
Get poles out of pole box for us and put them back when we pack up.  (usually one at a time... keeps em busy)
Roll ropes up. fetch pegs etc... All the small jobs and it really does help.

We had to pack up last trip without them as they were off playing with their cousins, and I really noticed not having my pole picker-upa-rer.  I reckon it added time to the packup cause they wernt doing their jobs.

It also gives them some ownership of the holiday!  my 2 c anyway!

Rossow.
Post by: V8100 on March 10, 2010, 04:33:20 PM
if I have been camping om the coast I always spray poles with wd 40 as I pack up.

eddy
Post by: idlegossip on March 10, 2010, 04:39:49 PM
A couple of tips from us:

When we pull up, our first rule for the kids is to go and pick up as much firewood as they can while we set up the camper.

Always put the hitch pin somewhere were you will remember where it is once you have packed up and ready to connect to the vehicle, instead of scratching your head for 1/2 an hour wondering where you put it. :-[ :-[ :-[

Post by: bja on March 10, 2010, 04:48:01 PM
No matter how calm the weather is when you set up , what the forcast says and even if only for one night PUT THE GUY ROPES ON THE ANNEX

As George W Bush said

"There's an old saying in Tennessee — I know it's in Texas, probably in Tennessee — that says, fool me once, shame on — shame on you. Fool me — you can't get fooled again."

Post by: briann532 on March 10, 2010, 06:31:48 PM
Toad, which hospital can we visit you in?
Post by: Myfault on March 10, 2010, 08:31:48 PM
I find that if I do a local trip it is easier to leave in the morning, set up myself and then have everyone arrive in the afternoon. 
This way it is one big 'myfault' when they arrive, instead of a dozen 'myfaults' as I obviously have no idea what I am doing when setting up.
Post by: ART by MICKEY on March 10, 2010, 08:41:26 PM
If the mozzies are bad, hang a couple of those mozzie rubber personal bands to the screen, so everytime you go into the camper and out the mozzies don't follow you. Not anything riveting, but just a helpful thought.
Mickey
Post by: nick 08 on March 10, 2010, 08:59:55 PM
We use some cheap solar garden lights (Bunnings $15-$20) around camp great for seeing in the middle of the night and finding the way up the dunes to the toilet when you have had to many :cheers: and lost your torch
Post by: ART by MICKEY on March 10, 2010, 09:10:21 PM
Yes the solar lights are a great idea..We use them also...
Post by: Duchess on March 10, 2010, 09:48:34 PM
+ 2 on the solar lights at the edges of the tent and guy ropes.

They also come in handy when you have a bunch of kids and want to play storm the castle in the dark...they have to "storm the solar light" instead!  ;D
Post by: Macleod on March 10, 2010, 10:14:00 PM
My tip - buy 1 or 2 of those fold up buckets.  We have a small one we keep with water in with a bit of liquid soap to wash our hands during the day.  It was also used by the other half at Xmas to keep his yabbies in so I had to buy another .... it too got used for bait (but I did reclaim it to do some clothes washing!).  They fold up flat and come in a number of different sizes and are very handy & versatile!
Post by: Darcy7 on March 11, 2010, 07:52:42 AM
Always keep a spray bottle with water in it and give the zips, the main big zip a quick spray when setting up and then packing up. You'll find the zip slides really well like this and dries with no after effects such as WD40 etc that collect dust. I also use a small tent peg to help zip and un zip the tarp. Makes it easier to pull it around the corners

GREAT Idea...!  I must try this one next time.  Not that our zips are hard to use but occasionally when putting up the annex walls, the first bit seems to bind up.  Thanks...!!!
Post by: toad on March 11, 2010, 08:06:46 AM
Toad, which hospital can we visit you in?
I'm actually in charge at home, she's gone away with work for a couple of days. Hope she doesn't see my post when she returns! ;D
Post by: Shemdaph on March 11, 2010, 08:59:09 AM
Alcohol Gel is great for washing hands before preparing a meal or after a nature call.

By the way my Solar lights were nicked by some lowlife :(. Also be careful where you place them because they can easily be run over.

Also when having a campfire. It is advisable to have closed shoes when sitting around it. I had a friend who had a piece of coal landed between his thong and sole. Nasty.

Also make sure you have your little ones under controlled and educated about the danger of fires.

In addition to children (the real little ones), make sure you always know where they are, what they doing and who they are with. Common sense really, but I have seen parents at campsites yelling frantically for their little ones, and getting everyone on a search party and checking waters edge. You also never know with snakes and such like. Apparently I picked up a deadly snake when I was young(long time ago).

Also do not assume your little ones cannot get out of a zipped up tent. If possible have the tent have zips that zip upwards.

Post by: Dasnowman on March 11, 2010, 09:13:13 AM
My tip is, if the ground is hard/packed down, and you cannot get the tent pegs in without much cursing, use a 3/8th drill bit, and drill a hole first, and the pegs will go straight in.

Dasnowman
Post by: kranky al on March 11, 2010, 10:49:49 AM
if you dont have an antenna - grab an extra long usb extension cable for your mobile broadband/ mobile phone used as modem

then you can put the device where the best signal is and your computer wherever
Post by: fishfinder on March 11, 2010, 11:00:31 AM
Fishfinder,
I'd have to disagree with you on that one.
We give the Kids jobs to do.
5 and 3.  Their jobs include.

Setting up the folding table and chairs.
Get poles out of pole box for us and put them back when we pack up.  (usually one at a time... keeps em busy)
Roll ropes up. fetch pegs etc... All the small jobs and it really does help.

We had to pack up last trip without them as they were off playing with their cousins, and I really noticed not having my pole picker-upa-rer.  I reckon it added time to the packup cause they wernt doing their jobs.

It also gives them some ownership of the holiday!  my 2 c anyway!

Rossow.

yes but when you reward yourself with a beer after woods you tend to get there quicker and the mrs not around you dont have her saying your not quite finished yet  :cheers:
Post by: blackstump on March 11, 2010, 12:49:30 PM
I cant take the credit for this, but, capsicum cut into rings make really good egg rings on the hot plate.

Post by: rossow on March 11, 2010, 12:51:23 PM
so do Onion rings. If you have to cut onions, save the middle part for egg rings. You can get about 3 decent sized rings out of 1 onion. (depending on the size of the onion and egg of course)

Rossow.
Post by: Gunna Do on March 11, 2010, 06:01:13 PM
My tip is, if the ground is hard/packed down, and you cannot get the tent pegs in without much cursing, use a 3/8th drill bit, and drill a hole first, and the pegs will go straight in.

I saw where one person actually used long coach bolts instead of tent pegs so that he could screw them all into the ground with the cordless drill, and not have to use any tent pegs.  At pack up time, it was out with the cordless drill again to screw the bolts out.
Post by: Dion on March 11, 2010, 08:56:28 PM
While on the subject - if you have any devices that use rechargable batteries (especially internal ones) make sure you put them back on the charge when you get home as leaving them discharged for long periods of time can damage the batteries and lower their performance.

Get yourself some Sanyo eneloops.  They don't self-discharge like normal rechargable batteries.
Post by: speewa158 on March 12, 2010, 02:37:50 AM
swaggers
            hate the bugs flys& mozzies  then off to spotlight buy 12m of black tule  & a big bunch of paperclips . attach tule to annex with paperclips instant light easy to work  .
along top & bottom of tule i have glued small canvas strip to strengthen the material
Post by: prlamb on March 12, 2010, 03:33:10 AM
got sick of having to thread ropes into eyelets and back through them selves on our Jayco hawk awning. so i got some elcheapo carabinas from supercheap, i think they were a dollar each and now everyone of my awning ropes have them permanatly attatched to the loop, so now it is just a matter of clicking the carrabina into the eyelet and the rope is connected to the awning, driving a tent peg into the ground and adjusting it up to the required tension.
Post by: BigJules on March 12, 2010, 07:45:11 AM
swaggers
            hate the bugs flys& mozzies  then off to spotlight buy 12m of black tule  & a big bunch of paperclips . attach tule to annex with paperclips instant light easy to work  .
along top & bottom of tule i have glued small canvas strip to strengthen the material

As always Speewa you have me intrigued

Post by: kranky al on March 12, 2010, 08:40:03 AM
swaggers

me too ***embarrassed*** what is tule?
Post by: baldheadedgit on March 12, 2010, 08:45:12 AM
Oh c'mon guy's,,, its easy,, a tule is like a spanner, or a hammer, thought you lot was edgermercated...lmao.
Post by: SteveandViv on March 12, 2010, 08:57:37 AM
swaggers

Ha Ha, glad you asked what it is ;D No really I knew what it was - promise 8)
Post by: seqfisho on March 12, 2010, 09:29:36 AM
swaggers

The "TUTU" wearers among us will know :o :P
Post by: Darcy7 on March 12, 2010, 09:55:07 AM
ok...not quite what I had in mind.

http://www.save-on-crafts.com/tulle6.html
Post by: Ricey on March 12, 2010, 10:07:56 AM
I am always impressed with how Metrosexual the Blokes on My Swag are.

Next thing we will have a post on the benefits of Facials and what hair products people use.

LOL

Post by: gumby ii on March 12, 2010, 03:23:23 PM
If you have a toilet tent without a roof (like most of them are), either don't leave the toilet paper in there or put it in a plastic bag overnight.  Nothing worse than getting up in the morning and finding soggy toilet paper from the dew.

When we are away on a long trip with a group, we normally give a spare key to somebody else in the group.  We had to use it once recently because we could not find the keys, however later that day we found the orignal set of keys, the better half was sitting on them.

Have also done the packed up the tent and realised that the keys were in the pocket of the tent.  The bugger was the tent was the first thing that got packed in the cruiser (I have since seen the light and converted to a patrol) and it was packed to the rafters with stuff.  We had to unpack everything to get the keys out.  That was nearly 20 years ago and have learnt the lesson well, have never done it again since.
Post by: toad on March 12, 2010, 03:41:22 PM
If you have a toilet tent without a roof (like most of them are), either don't leave the toilet paper in there or put it in a plastic bag overnight.  Nothing worse than getting up in the morning and finding soggy toilet paper from the dew.
The big breakthrough in toilet tissue?
Post by: speewa158 on March 12, 2010, 05:52:48 PM
NOT to be read by those under 18 years !!!!!!!!!!!!
swaggers
             did i happen to tell you that tulle  is indeed the fluffy stuff that is attached to the lower portion of a ballerinas tutu ,,,.
not that i have one ( that fits so i cut it up  no really !!!! dont i have one  )
stop laughing this is important .....!!!!!!!!!
i was looking for a product that is light in weight , easy to work cost effective ,that allowed air flow & didnt block the light & no bugs .
tulle is the go when setting  up & improves the  comfort level when there are on bugsout .
fly screen is ok but hard to stow away , fiberglass flywire has to be rolled not scrunched
ohhhhhhh whats a CAMP site without a bloke encased in 13 5m of black tulle,,,,,,,,,,,, have a tinnie & think about  it !!!!!!!

Post by: speewa158 on March 12, 2010, 06:04:24 PM
swaggers
            there are some sick puppies out there !!!!! but at least big jules is intrigued  ,, think about the no dont you are the bloke that builds huge fires to destroy the evidence  so they say .

Post by: NewcastleKnight on March 13, 2010, 04:13:35 PM
got sick of having to thread ropes into eyelets and back through them selves on our Jayco hawk awning. so i got some elcheapo carabinas from supercheap, i think they were a dollar each and now everyone of my awning ropes have them permanatly attatched to the loop, so now it is just a matter of clicking the carrabina into the eyelet and the rope is connected to the awning, driving a tent peg into the ground and adjusting it up to the required tension.

x2 that is what I have done.  Plus it allows u to use the better ropes rather then the small thin ones that jayco gives you.
Post by: macca on March 13, 2010, 07:37:53 PM

or put it in a small aluminium billy, keeps the spiders off it and that keeps the girls happy, and that means I'm happy
Post by: speewa158 on March 16, 2010, 06:15:52 PM
Swaggers
             have we run out of hints & tips  on how to do it better out there !!
there must be more to come  ,,,, get into it !!
Post by: NewcastleKnight on March 16, 2010, 06:21:01 PM
I was a little sceptical about the tule idea as I thought the gaps in the netting would be a bit big for the small insects but I am now reliably informed by my lovely wife that tule comes in various forms and that you can get the stuff with very small gaps.

Another tip is collect your two liter juice bottles and the like and fill them with cordial or water and freeze them.  They keep your esky cool and as they defrost the kids have water and/or cordial to drink.
Post by: GU Rich on March 16, 2010, 06:32:36 PM
A Cork hat to keep the flies away are more annoying than the flies......
Post by: NewcastleKnight on March 16, 2010, 06:35:21 PM
This is one that all men should adhere to.  If your lovely partner tells you that they can tow the trailer, put it up and when you get there it will all be ready don't resist.  I resisted for a while and then succumbed to the pressure... the best bloody thing I ever did!! :D ;D :D
Post by: Bennlexx on March 16, 2010, 08:15:40 PM
This one learnt from a friend.  If travelling on dusty roads its a bugger when your locks fill up with dust and you have difficulty getting the key in (padlocks are particularly susceptible) .  Solution - sticky dots that you get from a newsagent etc.  Just stick them over the keyhole before setting off.

Solar garden lights have been mentioned.  I actually use a string of solar "fairy" lights.  Hung up around the annexe they produce quite a bit of light and are particularly good for finding your CP in a dark camping ground.

Alex B

Post by: mattr on March 16, 2010, 08:29:55 PM
If you have the kids in their pj's don't forget to pack other shoes.  We had one trip in slippers!
Post by: mcbadger2 on March 16, 2010, 09:04:16 PM
Always keep note of the last pub that you passed.
It will be required while away.
This is for general health and sanity reasons of course!!

mark
Post by: speewa158 on March 17, 2010, 04:46:37 AM
Mcbadger2
              could you please swoly explain you expresion "last pub you passed " ,,there is no such thing is there ???
actions such as this will cause much decent with in the ranks     .!!!!!
Post by: TOY80ST on March 17, 2010, 05:37:42 AM
Mcbadger2
              could you please swoly explain you expresion "last pub you passed " ,,there is no such thing is there ???
actions such as this will cause much decent with in the ranks     .!!!!!

I agree on that one. Shouldn't it read the las pub you stopped at ;)
Post by: speewa158 on March 17, 2010, 06:00:34 AM
Toybost
           last pub you stopped at ,,,, yes i undrestand that , but that would trnd to suggest you have indeed left or been chucked out . :cheers:
Post by: TOY80ST on March 17, 2010, 06:55:21 AM
Toybost
           last pub you stopped at ,,,, yes i undrestand that , but that would trnd to suggest you have indeed left or been chucked out . :cheers:

Ha ha,

In my case it is usually stumps. Especially if there is heaps to read on the walls and the publican has heaps of tales to tell.
Post by: Redback on March 17, 2010, 07:33:16 AM

baz - does this allow full articulation of the ct without binding the chains? - i just had a look at mine and couldnt see how that would work when the trailer was going on a steep downhill when the 4by was on a steep uphill - or if they were rolled at 20 degrees on opposite angles

/
_________/

I've had no problems with mine, I can Jacknife my trailer and have had it over some fairly steep uphills and errosion humps, mine is a Trigg hitch so in theroy will only go to 35deg.

I was told this by an old friend and one day going to Newnes the pin came out, the splitpin brike holding it in and eventually the pin worked it's way out.

Post by: mcbadger2 on March 17, 2010, 08:15:57 AM
I agree on that one. Shouldn't it read the las pub you stopped at ;)

To all fellow swaggers I appologise for this oversight on my behalf and solemly swear to STOP at every pub in the future. May you all forgive me.
Post by: BigJules on March 17, 2010, 08:58:05 AM
I've had no problems with mine, I can Jacknife my trailer and have had it over some fairly steep uphills and errosion humps, mine is a Trigg hitch so in theroy will only go to 35deg.

I was told this by an old friend and one day going to Newnes the pin came out, the splitpin brike holding it in and eventually the pin worked it's way out.

I concur; many people seem to use the end link to connect the safety chain, when in most cases it needs to be shorter to be effective. The chains should be sort enough to stop the hitch hitting the ground, but not so short that they then inhibit turning etc.

With two chains, I cross them over, and have had no issues with binding or articulation.
Post by: westvic on March 18, 2010, 08:14:27 PM
dont forget the stubbie holder

keeps the drinks cold in the heat and the hand warm in the cold

should be located on top of the shorter gear lever (exceptions made for those with push buttons)  :cheers:
Post by: NeilNTan on March 18, 2010, 09:28:52 PM
OK, heres one for kids.

If you have a fussy eater, go to McDonalds before you leave and purchase some cheeseburger. Freeze them and then when the kids won't eat, pull them out and heat them in a jaffle iron..... yummo.....
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on March 18, 2010, 10:24:45 PM

Hessian sacks are great for storing the collapsible bbq in and double as a door mat when not in use.

Post by: BigJules on March 19, 2010, 07:57:38 AM
I always keep a chaff bag in the storage box with some kindling in it. I top it up when we pull over from time to time.
Post by: rellbell on March 19, 2010, 12:27:26 PM
Shemdaph,  Not as silly as it sounds, nothing worse then being short sheeted.  I always leave the loo paper in the pocket of the fold up dunny shelter, and i always make sure there is an extra roll wrapped in a coles bag under the front seat of the nissan and one in the drawers in the back of nissan as well. :laugh:
Post by: rellbell on March 19, 2010, 12:55:29 PM
Spare chaff bag in car always handy to lay on when have to do under car repairs too
Post by: TOY80ST on March 19, 2010, 03:19:59 PM
Spare chaff bag in car always handy to lay on when have to do under car repairs too

I have a small sheet of canvas for just that, it is 1m x 1m perfect size to put your wheel on when changing it in the dirt and when doing something under the car.
Post by: speewa158 on March 19, 2010, 05:58:25 PM
Swaggers
             now were on the right track ,,, its the little things we do that will make things easyer !!!!!
Post by: austastar on March 19, 2010, 06:43:19 PM
   We carry a set of wood blocks to be used for jacking, levelling the van etc.

Cut them to size so they fit in the floor of an available box, cupboard or space so that they store efficiently and don't move about.

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/11810-2/wood-blocks.jpg)

Post by: Vince on March 19, 2010, 08:02:32 PM
Ever had a problem with your water pump tap, like the  Trojan brand or other? .. Well if it gets a bit hard to use or starts jamming (not musically) spray some cooking oil on the shaft and that should free it up  :cheers:
Post by: farcanal on March 20, 2010, 12:41:35 PM
Surprise peas.......probably known to most but I've only "discovered" them in the past 12 months. With no freezer for frozen peas (and corn) these are the duxnuts, they weigh bugger all and take up no space...1/2 a cup is ample for 2 people and they just top off the lamb roast. I'm now prepared to be shot down in flames if this is old news....having said that, this is myswag....no ridicule in here....
Post by: Bennlexx on March 20, 2010, 12:51:24 PM
And when the stubby holder is not wrapped around a cold beer it makes a great storage container for a wine glass.  No plastic wine glasses for me   :D !!

Regards, Alex B
Post by: speewa158 on March 20, 2010, 03:43:31 PM
farcanal
          them surprise peas are surprising how they taste , though i thing green painted buck shot gravel could pip them at the taste test
as long as coldies replace frozen peas i might eat them .
Post by: Fivid on March 20, 2010, 04:45:00 PM
Someone mentioned talc for keeping ants at bay but we just keep a container of ant sand in the CT.  Sometimes setting up in a new location during the night you don't see the ant nest... If in a campground area I will then put ant sand into the nest and hopefully clear it out for future campers, if out in the bush we just use it to keep ants out and off the camper.

Post by: Fivid on March 20, 2010, 04:46:03 PM
Second hint:  Remove the hitch from the towbar and stow inside the vehicle if going into town without the CT attached.  Do you know how far you may have to travel just to buy a new hitch and towball after some lowlife decides they need yours more than you do...
Post by: speewa158 on March 20, 2010, 06:40:28 PM
Fivid
      what about a small padlock for the safty pin  on the pull  small $ ,big return
Post by: NewcastleKnight on March 20, 2010, 06:50:43 PM
On the subject of peas I am a fan of tinned peas.  They have a variety of uses.  Besides having them with your baked dinner I like to fry bacon , onion add the peas and some tomatoe paste they make a great side dish or you pit it through some pasta.

Maybe we should start a thread favourite camp recipes.
Post by: bullfrog on March 20, 2010, 06:55:46 PM
Ooooh, tinned peas, I love tinned peas. Me & tinned peas are just like Homer & chicken. Best recipe with tinned peas involes a can opener & a spoon  ;D
Post by: blackstump on March 20, 2010, 07:28:23 PM
Someone mentioned talc for keeping ants at bay but we just keep a container of ant sand in the CT.  Sometimes setting up in a new location during the night you don't see the ant nest... If in a campground area I will then put ant sand into the nest and hopefully clear it out for future campers, if out in the bush we just use it to keep ants out and off the camper.

Yep, its good stuff mate, bought some just recently and it really works well.

Post by: speewa158 on March 20, 2010, 07:44:27 PM
Bullfrog
         please advise where you are or will camp at any time forth with .
anybody that eats tinned peas is to camp alone , butt for the rumble of tin openers & the rattle eating utensils on tin cans may this be hopefully the only sound emitted from the area . & please remain down wind ( no pun intended) also no  :cheers: this could cause a revolt .

SWOMBO said you can come & eat real food at our ct any time your hungury ,,but not to hungury ,,!
Post by: bullfrog on March 20, 2010, 07:52:39 PM
This could be the reason why Mrs Bullfrog will only allow 1 tin per camp if I'm lucky  >:D. Oh well, there's always the tinned corned beef, rice cream............... :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on March 20, 2010, 08:02:05 PM
Bullfrog
         a SWOMBO of good taste & very refined  she can come to our camp but her noisy friend may not be as popular !
Post by: Fivid on March 21, 2010, 07:48:27 AM
Fivid
      what about a small padlock for the safty pin  on the pull  small $ ,big return

Thought about that, size of padlock that will do the job means not good quality lock and only a small rock would open most padlocks that size.  Also looked at the pins at ARB that have a lock built into them and they cost a few $ but I was worried about dust / mud, etc getting into them and then not being able to remove it when required.  I just take it out now, wrap in an empty hessian sandbag and put it in one of the drawers in the rear of the car.
Post by: toeball on March 21, 2010, 08:51:44 AM
Second hint:  Remove the hitch from the towbar and stow inside the vehicle if going into town without the CT attached.  Do you know how far you may have to travel just to buy a new hitch and towball after some lowlife decides they need yours more than you do...

I leave mine in, its an extended hitch which is like a reversing sensor, if some one reverses into it they will "sense it"
Post by: farcanal on March 21, 2010, 10:49:53 AM
farcanal
          them surprise peas are surprising how they taste , though i thing green painted buck shot gravel could pip them at the taste test
as long as coldies replace frozen peas i might eat them .
Hey speewa...try cookin' 'em..... ;D ;D ;D
Post by: tcf on March 21, 2010, 11:08:50 AM
I leave mine in, its an extended hitch which is like a reversing sensor, if some one reverses into it they will "sense it"

haha haha, i also have one of these sensors
Post by: speewa158 on March 21, 2010, 01:00:39 PM
farcanal
           lightly fried preen peas farcanal !!!
       nothing for this i say  !!!!!!
Post by: GU Rich on March 21, 2010, 05:51:46 PM

Make sure the kids dont leave crayons on there beds in the camper as they WILL melt to there beds......

rich

Back on march 9 when I started this thread I never thought we would see such a wide range of top ideas from fellow swaggers... I guess I should have known better  ;D

Here is the pic that gave me the idea for this thread.

When were camping recently the sun was warm and kids had been drawing in the camper earlier in the morning. When they came out the camper they left there crayons on one of there beds and you guessed it the melted. this a foam mattress that has a fitted sheet over it, well the crayons melted through the sheet onto the foam mattress and as you can see it made "Pretty Colours" on the mattress.

(http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s159/utedriver/camper%20trailer%20mods/IMG_1673Custom.jpg)

Cheers Rich
Post by: Fivid on March 21, 2010, 07:10:06 PM
Back on march 9 when I started this thread I never thought we would see such a wide range of top ideas from fellow swaggers... I guess I should have known better  ;D

Here is the pic that gave me the idea for this thread.

When were camping recently the sun was warm and kids had been drawing in the camper earlier in the morning. When they came out the camper they left there crayons on one of there beds and you guessed it the melted. this a foam mattress that has a fitted sheet over it, well the crayons melted through the sheet onto the foam mattress and as you can see it made "Pretty Colours" on the mattress.

I've seen less interesting things that galleries paid millions for....  With the right marketing strategy you may never have to work again!
Post by: speewa158 on March 24, 2010, 07:33:27 PM
send that to the national gallary in the ACT ,think up some crap to tell them about what it will tell the art world about some rubbish .
think hard , bargin harder , . clean up drink , the profits , before  they wake up
Post by: GU Rich on March 25, 2010, 06:43:13 PM
I've seen less interesting things that galleries paid millions for....  With the right marketing strategy you may never have to work again!
send that to the national gallary in the ACT ,think up some crap to tell them about what it will tell the art world about some rubbish .
think hard , bargin harder , . clean up drink , the profits , before  they wake up

I think you blokes might be onto something there!!  ;D

Post by: speewa158 on March 25, 2010, 06:55:40 PM
GU RICH
           if it pans out can i have 10% or more for the huge bar tab i have run up just thinking up the idear . Any other idears will be at a differant rate to be discussed  .
ohhhhhh &         :cheers:
Post by: tcf on March 25, 2010, 07:10:51 PM
certaintly nice kids art there rich p.s liking your new avatar pic thing...looks sweet

speewa it will be your shout with the 10% because that art cr4p goes for a bomb haha
Post by: GU Rich on March 25, 2010, 07:12:46 PM
certaintly nice kids art there rich p.s liking your new avatar pic thing...looks sweet

speewa it will be your shout with the 10% because that art cr4p goes for a bomb haha

At least it only melted there not on the floor....

Thanks for comment on the sig line too!!

Post by: speewa158 on March 25, 2010, 07:26:45 PM
tcf
    my main man you are so clever , i will cut you in to the action ,,,, how about 4/5 of 5/8 of you know !!!!
Best Offer  thats it
Post by: Johnny Trackabout on March 26, 2010, 06:10:40 AM
An old bushy told me this one years ago, when using your fridge and as it empties "throw a damp towel in the cavity" once the towel chills to the same temp as the fridge it will be twice as efficient and the towel stop things from moving around in the fridge as well...the idea of the towel is to fill the cavity and the fridge will work a lot more efficient as its not trying to keep a large empty void chilled....I have been using this method for many years and my fridge always gets a few extra days more than other people with the same fridge and same Battery specs....its simple and it works !!

Another one is when traveling out west , etc on corrugated roads, put all your cans in  stubbie coolers when packing the fridge. It will stop the cans from rubbing...no more ruptured cans or black stuff on your fingers or around your mouth ;D + the can is ready for consumption straight away....no more looking for that stubbie cooler and no more wasted time=more beers intake :cheers:

JT
Post by: wannabee on March 26, 2010, 06:52:05 AM
Gidday JT - Thanks for getting this thread back on track.  Let's get sharing those camping tips.

My contribution also relates to keeping things cool.  For those who don't have an expensive esky, the performance of a cheapy can be improved in several ways:

1.  Get a spray can of expanding foam and drill holes in the underside of the lid.  Inject a SMALL amount of foam into each hole, until the lid is filled.  Be careful to not overdo it 'cos the expanding foam can blow the lid up like a balloon.

2.  Put a folded newspaper on top of the esky contents (under the lid) to further improve the insulation of the lid.

3.  Get some foil insulation and make a cover for the esky.  This helps especially if the sun gets on the esky.

4.  Before I forget - keep the esky in the shade.

5.  Use block ice rather than crushed or party ice.  Better still, make your own by freezing water in 3 litre milk bottles.  Make sure the milk bottle is clean, and you can drink the cold water as the ice melts.

6.  Freeze as much of the contents as you can before you pack the esky.

Using these methods I hve kept the contents cold in a conventional cheapish esky for 5 days in hot December conditions.  In winter, I reckon that it would be 7 days +.

Post by: ripas on March 26, 2010, 03:52:09 PM
A tip for those with kiddies - buy a bulk lot of glow bracelets / glow sticks from China via ebay - the kids love them and you can see them at night with relative ease.
Post by: speewa158 on March 26, 2010, 06:00:40 PM
Trackabout / Swaggers
                               Gold the moist towel in the engel is so simple , but the besat ideas always are !!!!!!!!!!
Post by: morgue on March 26, 2010, 06:45:32 PM
We go camping with the Rancho flavoured Chicken wings from Aldi which has been already frozen before travel. There cheap, they keep well and are a simple cook after a hard days camping, slice the bag, dump the contents on the hot plate, cook then eat with fingers...yum.
Post by: macca on March 26, 2010, 09:49:57 PM
An old bushy told me this one years ago, when using your fridge and as it empties "throw a damp towel in the cavity" once the towel chills to the same temp as the fridge it will be twice as efficient and the towel stop things from moving around in the fridge as well...the idea of the towel is to fill the cavity and the fridge will work a lot more efficient as its not trying to keep a large empty void chilled....I have been using this method for many years and my fridge always gets a few extra days more than other people with the same fridge and same Battery specs....its simple and it works !!

from what I've read on Myswag, Johnny your fridge doesn't get too empty for too long
macca
Post by: singo-26 on March 28, 2010, 12:01:53 AM
A tip for those with kiddies - buy a bulk lot of glow bracelets / glow sticks from China via ebay - the kids love them and you can see them at night with relative ease.

Hey Ripis
check out the Clarencetown thread. Lots of the kids had a group photo with glowsticks on. My little bloke looked great riding his 12" bike with them on his arms , legs and around his neck, But it is a great idea.

Post by: TOY80ST on March 28, 2010, 07:15:24 AM
A torch for each of the kids and a magnifying glass is a must. Get the kids to write down all the stuff they find in an area of 1 m x 1m do it with them and ask them questions about what they think the things they find are. It is good for kids from about 7 to 14 years old especially if they love nature and the environment.
Post by: speewa158 on March 28, 2010, 02:01:55 PM
Swaggers

when using peg to keep the ct down , mark on the peg bag how many are supposed to be in it  . if you have more than you started with its all good

Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on March 28, 2010, 10:17:45 PM

Post by: wannabee on March 29, 2010, 06:22:51 AM
We used to put cordial in milk bottles then freeze them, so that way the kiddies had a cold drink (eventually) as well as the adults and we didn't need to pack another container with straight cordial.

We also used to freeze one litre rectangular containers of fruiy juice, same outcome.

Post by: GU Rich on March 29, 2010, 07:30:45 AM
Just thought of another..

This wouldn't apply to alot of camper trailers, but on the dingo I could roll up the front door evenly on both sides. There were 2 velcro straps to hold it open. So what we would do is place a "Fish n Chip" style strip door in. This helped when the kids were walking in and out all the time playing with the zip (or not be able to open it because they were too young). It kept a cool breeze through the camper also rather than having the door closed up.

:cheers: Rich
Post by: aazjodz on April 08, 2010, 12:57:52 AM
Somewhere in this lovely great site I glimpsed someone using a green shopping bag to anchor a rope to....
We tried this over the Easter weekend and it worked a treat!  At 99c each, it makes for cheap sand or rock anchor points, and can be moved to your liking, and when emptied can be folded up with whatever you are tying down (ropes still attached to ensuite tent!).

They pack up nicely and can be squished into most empty gaps if needed.
oh - just remembered I have a photo! (of our baked bean toilet tent - shaped like this due to excessive wind out of the tent - not inside!)

Jodz
Post by: GU Rich on April 10, 2010, 12:24:32 PM
I think it was Joff that had it in one of his pics, You can even bury the bag too.
Thanks for the pic I'm sure others will use this idea!! :cup:
Cheers Rich
Post by: Juzzo on April 10, 2010, 09:48:56 PM
that is a great tip!  :D We can put those bags to good use!
Post by: JCOJ on April 11, 2010, 07:54:53 AM
For a rubbish bin we use one of those spring up dirty clothes baskets that you can get from camping stores.  To stop it blowing away we put the peg/rope bag at the bottom with the hammer, along with spare bags, then put in the rubbish bag.

We know where the peg bag/hammer is at all times, and the bin itself folds up to next to nothing and stores next to the fridge.
Post by: Barry G on April 11, 2010, 11:49:32 PM
For a rubbish bin we use one of those spring up dirty clothes baskets that you can get from camping stores.  To stop it blowing away we put the peg/rope bag at the bottom with the hammer, along with spare bags, then put in the rubbish bag.

We know where the peg bag/hammer is at all times, and the bin itself folds up to next to nothing and stores next to the fridge.

Folding the bin is also good practice for folding the ensuite.  Once you have mastered the smaller version you can move on to the full size!  ;D
Post by: kranky al on April 12, 2010, 11:44:27 AM
the attachment for blowing up footies + air compressor gets a fire going with the wettest wood easily.
Post by: savanahkelpy on April 21, 2010, 05:40:41 PM
Another use for those reusable shopping bags, particularly the padded cool bags,, I know most camper trailers have an underslung water tank, but if you take extra water in plastic jerry cans, one jerry can fits perfectly into a padded bag with another pulled over the top, to reduce chaffing and rubbing from corrogations, and potential loss of water. This also protects the surrounding surfaces of your vehicle.
Laurie.
Post by: driftenaway on April 22, 2010, 12:02:16 PM
PUT THE CAT OUT got 100kms away from home then had that feeling we forget something the cat.
Post by: fishfinder on April 22, 2010, 01:28:32 PM
PUT THE CAT OUT got 100kms away from home then had that feeling we forget something the cat.
Knock it on the head with a shovel saves happening again in the future  :cup:
Post by: baldheadedgit on April 22, 2010, 01:37:11 PM
If that dont work,, use a hammer.!
Post by: graylyn on April 22, 2010, 02:27:40 PM
Or, you can do what the Asians do!
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on April 22, 2010, 02:45:42 PM
Or, you can do what the Asians do!

Wot? .... Chicken Chow Mein?
Post by: graylyn on April 22, 2010, 03:43:22 PM
Bingo! Ah Sooo!
Post by: speewa158 on April 22, 2010, 06:42:38 PM
What about a bessa & bag in the drink !! ( dont tell my SWOMBO )
 Poor little   DIM SIM ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,what sound dose a cat make when it runs  away from home,,,,,,, ?       SPARLASHHHHHHHHH  !
Post by: Camping Grant on April 22, 2010, 06:58:21 PM
something that was mentioned to me, and I'm not sure if it's already been mentioned on here, but take a spare, small tarp, to cover the bed mattress in the CT if you're packing up when it's wet. That way, the mattress won't get wet.

Grant
Post by: RWS on April 22, 2010, 07:16:59 PM
Expanding on the small tarp over bed thing...the plastic bag our inner spring mattress came in, doubles as a cover...inside the bag is also good for storing flat items such as floor matting, collapseable shower etc.
Post by: jetcrew on April 23, 2010, 10:56:09 AM
Not sure if this one qualifies as a camping tip but it sure helps me .Most of us have dual battery systems but alot of us run low voltage /Anderson/apan plugs in the rear of vehicle for fridges .

I was left with problem recently when I wanted to charge my mobile phone using a little 100w inverter but did not want to leave it out under the camper (plugged in to cig lighter) and did not want to leave car ignition on to power cig lighter in car.

I then noticed like most cars my cruiser had 2 cig lighter sockets at the dash .So I pulled one out disconnected the factory wiring at the back and then ran I new lead direct to the 2nd battery under the bonnet.

I placed a little dymo label under this one saying "AUX BATT PWR" and hey presto whenever I want to charge something that's expensive (don't want left out) or is not going to like dew or moisture I can plug into dash, lock car and not have to worry about draining start batt.

hope this may be of use to someone..... 
Post by: speewa158 on April 23, 2010, 08:48:28 PM
Wire the rig to charge the deep cycle intransit to camp . when you arrive disconnects the Anderson to attach to the double or triple adaptor box to dechargethe deepe into the 2 engles & phone charger .
This dose two things , keeps beer cold    ohhhhh & food , & charges phone . If you need to charge phone to be able to use it , its a sat phone or you to close to civilisation  !
Post by: speewa158 on April 23, 2010, 09:08:23 PM
The wet bed is not something I want to think about , or climb in to . We use the zip up bed protector  . The queen size mattress & protector & fitted sheet & doona & clean dry towels & personal gear  all goes into the bag . this is contained within 3 sided zip up bag & almost dust proof .
the bag is soft vinyl & works really well to keep the bed tidy . We love it !
Post by: tcf on April 23, 2010, 09:13:59 PM
The wet bed is not something I want to think about , or climb in to .

What if you were the cause... ;D
Post by: speewa158 on April 23, 2010, 09:37:26 PM

NO No no    mostly house trained ,,,,,,,unless I have had a drink or two or three or ffffffffffffffffffffffffff ohh you know !           

Post by: Ricey on April 25, 2010, 12:25:08 AM
Mrs Speewa don't forget to put him out with the cat. He needs more house training.
Post by: speewa158 on April 25, 2010, 09:02:42 AM
You cant chuck me out at night , unsupervised , that could mean big troble ! & Im affraid of the dark when the fridge door is closed .
Post by: singo-26 on April 25, 2010, 12:13:25 PM
Mrs Speewa don't forget to put him out with the cat. He needs more house training.

One thing we dont need is a feral Speewa roaming the streets at night!
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 26, 2010, 08:36:15 PM
One thing we dont need is a feral Speewa roaming the streets at night!

especially if they multiply ;D ;D
Post by: speewa158 on April 26, 2010, 08:48:59 PM
Wont happen not allowed to !
Post by: Ricey on April 26, 2010, 09:37:46 PM
Looks like the speyed Speewa is OK to roam the streets at night! LOL
Post by: speewa158 on April 27, 2010, 04:26:19 AM
You know there were so many who fronted up ,  said they would do the job for free !
Post by: Bubbles on May 27, 2010, 08:56:03 PM
I have a few tips:

Drinks Esky - I freeze about four 600ml water bottles and a 2Lt empty cordial bottle. On those hot days setting up camp its nice to have an ice cold bottle of water. I also make big blocks of ice from man size lunch boxes. It lasts for about three days
Peg Mallet/Lifter - I bought a cheap rubber mallet and screwed a heavy duty cup hook on the end of the handle. However, I am going to buy a Coleman Peg Hammer/Lifter
Double-sided Velcro - Its great, cut to what ever size you want, can be moved and when not in use it wraps around the CT poles. Its better than the plastic ties. Saves money, landfill, and cut fingers.
Equipment Bags - Write on both sides of the bag what is inside and/or how many items are inside.
Shade Cloth - Make your own equipment bags for pegs, ropes and poles. Make sure you double layer the bottom of the bag for strength. When you have wet, muddy poles, pegs or ropes wash down the bag with the hose and hang up to dry.

Jen
Post by: brettk on May 27, 2010, 09:21:19 PM
was out camping the other weekend and was told to put your used teabags in a bottleof metho and use as firelighters, will try this out next weekend.
Post by: lostindust on May 27, 2010, 09:28:10 PM
if you have lockable clips on camper trailer, lock all of them every time...not really for security but as a way to check you have shut everything. only takes a moment, but ensures you take a moment...
Post by: Pauly on May 27, 2010, 09:51:28 PM
was out camping the other weekend and was told to put your used teabags in a bottleof metho and use as firelighters, will try this out next weekend.

Dry the teabags then use kero. Metho evaporates too quickly.
Post by: GSK33 on May 27, 2010, 09:56:54 PM
Camping next weekend :cheers: Green Tea firelighters  ;D
Post by: olddigger on May 28, 2010, 04:28:55 PM
Cotton wool balls rubbed with lots of petroleum jelly work a treat. Old bushwalking trick. Cheers, Tony
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on May 30, 2010, 07:17:11 PM
Cotton wool balls rubbed with lots of petroleum jelly work a treat. Old bushwalking trick. Cheers, Tony

Arh ... bum grease and applicator comes with a second purpose!
Post by: Dave61 on May 31, 2010, 12:39:22 AM
Put an Anderson plug on the end of the solar panels so you can hook up to the CT,and when the CT is charged up you can plug it into your car and charge the auxiliary battery.

Locks on the CT will last longer if they are locked before you travel on outback roads. By locking the locks the little tumblers inside can't rattle around and wear prematurely.

Post by: kranky al on July 08, 2010, 03:41:08 PM
wet bed at night

(http://i645.photobucket.com/albums/uu175/Saki-Hanajima-18/Images/fffffuuuuuuu-1.jpg)
Post by: speewa158 on July 08, 2010, 05:47:21 PM
There is medication & pads that nobody will notice that will help you here . they have helped many who shell remain nameless  .( :cheers: no more for you OK ! )
You should be proud of yourself to  can come to your peers with no fear of the pizzling you may recive   >:D
Post by: GU Rich on August 08, 2010, 07:14:25 PM
If the butterfly style pole tightners strip in the pole like mine have after plenty of use. Use a hose clamp to hold the pole up. I have 2 stripped within a few days of each other lucky I bought extra hose clamps....

Hope this post makes sense!!  ;D

Cheers rich
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on August 08, 2010, 07:34:30 PM

A couple of metal 'kebab' sticks (with ring style handle at one end) will help support a roast that just keeps wanting to roll on your spuds.  Just jam them in to make an X and use these to turn it over as well.  Cooks on all 4 sides easily.  They also make turning kebabs easier too as your tongs have something to grab.

Post by: middojnr on August 08, 2010, 09:03:16 PM

We ALWAYS have a dunny roll in the Tug, in a sealed plastic tub that fits a new roll in snuggly. That way, if we run out in the CT, we've always got Hattie Bog Roll. (So named because we put it at the "Top of the Stairs" spot with a cap to wear for the day when it first went in - just after we bought the Prado. The name has stuck...)

Also, in the 120 series Prado, there's a closed pocket in the wall of passenger side in the cargo area (near the rearmost row of seats) and Hattie BogRoll is alway kept in there, out of the way and never gets emptied by mistake.
Post by: GU Rich on August 31, 2010, 06:53:12 PM
After just returning from our big trip and camping in alot of different terrains we placed the kids mattresses under there stretcher beds so that the legs wouldn't damage the floor of the camper when camped on the sand We camped like this for 4 nights and it worked a treat. We also used Joffs idea of the green shopping bags for sand pegs onthe awning which aslo worked very good!!

Cheers Rich
Post by: Foo on September 01, 2010, 07:37:00 PM
I use lids from jam and honey jars to place under stretchers and poles on the soft floor bases.
Post by: matt r on September 01, 2010, 08:02:29 PM
I use lids from jam and honey jars to place under stretchers and poles on the soft floor bases.

milo tin lids work a treat to :laugh:
Post by: Barry G on September 09, 2010, 05:02:29 PM

milo tin lids work a treat to :laugh:

Milo tin lids make great 'tent pegs' and pole supports when camped in snow.  (btw, I leave the ct home on such trips!  ;D)
Post by: morgue on September 09, 2010, 06:12:57 PM

1/.  A good First Aid Kit, can't be without it anywhere.
 2/.  Hygene pads, good for weeping cuts and abrashions..comfy too and pretty. Properly applied, can't tell the difference.
 3/. Tubes of Alovera jel, sunburn, stings and burns.
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on September 09, 2010, 06:49:48 PM

Heat your camp oven on the fire (empty) and use it as a food warmer while cooking the second course. 

We use a hammer to whack in tent pegs (The Man is a carpenter so it's one of his old Eastwings) and this doubles as a camp oven mover, by using the nail puller as a lifter.

Everything has to have a second purpose right?

One thing I'll be keeping in the first-aid kit wil be spray on bandaid.  Saves having actual bandaids that just won't stick.

Post by: POD on September 09, 2010, 07:20:46 PM
Wire the rig to charge the deep cycle intransit to camp . when you arrive disconnects the Anderson to attach to the double or triple adaptor box to dechargethe deepe into the 2 engles & phone charger .
This dose two things , keeps beer cold    ohhhhh & food , & charges phone . If you need to charge phone to be able to use it , its a sat phone or you to close to civilisation  !

OK, you guys may well have been around him enough to understand the newly formed "Speewa Lingo" or naturally translate but WHAT THE F@#% IS HE TRYING TO SAY HERE?
Post by: baldheadedgit on September 09, 2010, 07:22:50 PM
Lmao.... you'l work it out.. :cup:
Post by: SteveandViv on September 09, 2010, 07:31:58 PM
OK, you guys may well have been around him enough to understand the newly formed "Speewa Lingo" or naturally translate but WHAT THE F@#% IS HE TRYING TO SAY HERE?

What...You didn't get that..Have a few beers and read again..Not saying the speewa is pissed but I found it helps me  ;D

Else a good lesson in clingon works as well  ;D
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on September 09, 2010, 07:33:44 PM

Translation of "Speewa  :cheers: Speak":

Charge up your deep cycle batteries in transit to a great camping location.  Once there, disconnect from the vehicle and plug the anderson into an adaptor box (12v socket or 240v adaptor kit) which in turn uses the charge gained in transit (from the deep cycle batteries) to charge up your fridges or phones.  In essense, this will keep your  :cheers: and food cold, and charge your phone (no matter the type you have) if you actually require your phone to be charged because you're out camping and you like the relatives, Pakistani call centre operator or boss to bother you.

End Translation.

Post by: Snow on September 09, 2010, 07:38:37 PM
Translation of "Speewa  :cheers: Speak":

Charge up your deep cycle batteries in transit to a great camping location.  Once there, disconnect from the vehicle and plug the anderson into an adaptor box (12v socket or 240v adaptor kit) which in turn uses the charge gained in transit (from the deep cycle batteries) to charge up your fridges or phones.  In essense, this will keep your  :cheers: and food cold, and charge your phone (no matter the type you have) if you actually require your phone to be charged because you're out camping and you like the relatives, Pakistani call centre operator or boss to bother you.

End Translation.

Mmmm, very impressive Kit-e.  :cup: Where were you when we needed you at the Knorrit Flat meet? ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by: baldheadedgit on September 09, 2010, 07:42:57 PM
Kit-e mentioned the Pakistani call centre's,,,, just trying to visualise Speawa on the phone to them..................lmao magic moments :cup:
Post by: POD on September 09, 2010, 07:53:00 PM
Oh, it's all sooooooo crystal clear now....! Thanks kitty!
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on September 09, 2010, 08:07:40 PM
Mmmm, very impressive Kit-e.  :cup: Where were you when we needed you at the Knorrit Flat meet? ;D ;D ;D ;D

Thanks for the compliment!

I was probably here (home area) translating our 'foreign sounding customer' queries during work hours, which is probably one of the reasons I have the job.  I get all the 'interesting' calls, which I translate for our other staff, when they are having difficulties.  I'm also quite good with customer issues, being able to bring an irritated customers volume back down to speaking level in a few minutes (although on occasion nothing will work).

Some say it's a talent, I just think it's patience and listening skills.

Post by: SUPA105 on September 09, 2010, 10:14:50 PM
If using a cheaper esky with ice.......sit it up on a couple bits of 4 x 2 timber and allow the air to circulate......amazing the amount of "cold" the ground sucks out of your esky in hot weather.

Post by: matt r on September 09, 2010, 10:19:57 PM
If using a cheaper esky with ice.......sit it up on a couple bits of 4 x 2 timber and allow the air to circulate......amazing the amount of "cold" the ground sucks out of your esky in hot weather.

That's a great idea, we also hang a wet towel over ours :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on September 10, 2010, 01:15:45 AM
      What she said ! Good one Kit _e   ,   Why is everybody so cruel to me . I have flashes of brilliance or is that the other way around .   >:D
Post by: jason_candi on September 10, 2010, 08:27:38 AM
When you have unhitched, put a cover on the tow ball ( tennis ball will do nicely )
Just got back from a week away and the missus ruined 2 pairs of jeans ( tow ball grease ) accessing the fridge in the back of the fourby
Post by: Pebble on September 10, 2010, 09:56:59 AM
When you have unhitched, put a cover on the tow ball ( tennis ball will do nicely )
Just got back from a week away and the missus ruined 2 pairs of jeans ( tow ball grease ) accessing the fridge in the back of the fourby

Ahh so the covers aren't there just to look pretty then!
Our car came with one of those shiny looking tow ball covers, Hubby doesn't like to keep them on there for the everyday driving because they collect moisture under and make the towball rust.
Post by: BigJules on September 10, 2010, 10:12:58 AM
The tow ball should have a good covering of grease, which prevents rusting both by being a covering layer keeping the moisture off and by lubricating the hitch and reducing the friction within the hitch that rubs the chrome off, allowing the rust to form.

After which, you need a cover to prevent all that bloody grease ending up on your shins  ;D

I've got a moulded rubber cover that I've had for maybe 15 years. It's hard to get off, but maybe that's why I still have it and no bugger has stolen it.
Post by: GU Rich on September 10, 2010, 07:53:52 PM
I have posted this shot in my Camper Trailer thread, But I thought I would post it here too. This is an idea from this thread from Joff and his sandpeg idea. After doing plenty of beach/sand camping on our 4 month trip I have to say without these bags the pegs I have would have not even held up for 1 minute. I dont have sand style pegs in my peg bag as most of our camping is in the High Country, not much sand there!!

(http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s159/utedriver/2010%20Big%20Trip/IMG_3704.jpg)
Middle Lagoon WA

Cheers Rich
Post by: SteveandViv on September 10, 2010, 09:58:56 PM
I like that idea Rich but having sand pegs have not tried it yet. We are off on a two week trip of the Dampier in two weeks which I know you've had a look at as well. i'm going to try that set up.. Good stuff
Post by: D4D on September 10, 2010, 10:01:19 PM
The tow ball should have a good covering of grease, which prevents rusting both by being a covering layer keeping the moisture off and by lubricating the hitch and reducing the friction within the hitch that rubs the chrome off, allowing the rust to form.

After which, you need a cover to prevent all that bloody grease ending up on your shins  ;D

I've got a moulded rubber cover that I've had for maybe 15 years. It's hard to get off, but maybe that's why I still have it and no bugger has stolen it.

Great idea but a PITA when you rub against it trying to get stuff out of the vehicle.
Post by: speewa158 on September 11, 2010, 04:00:38 AM
Grab an old tennis ball cut a hole in it to put on the toe ball . Keeps the lube in & its a bit easyer to see . Dont think anybody would knock it  off  :police:
Post by: Pebble on September 11, 2010, 10:33:23 AM
You know those Weed Sprayer bottles from Bunnings etc like this
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/5-LITRE-PRESSURE-SPRAYER-GARDEN-WATER-WEEDS-FERTILIZERS_W0QQitemZ370429510575QQihZ024QQcategoryZ149207QQcmdZViewItem (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/5-LITRE-PRESSURE-SPRAYER-GARDEN-WATER-WEEDS-FERTILIZERS_W0QQitemZ370429510575QQihZ024QQcategoryZ149207QQcmdZViewItem)

Someone came up with a great idea of using them to shower with.
Not sure why we carried one on the last overnight trip, I guess in case the kids needed a hose down  ;D  but we have found they are also pretty handy for putting out small fires (particularly if spreading where they shouldn't be >:( we were in a shelter / cabin thing that had a fire place only problem is it was half sticking outside so the external timber cladding eventually started to catch!).
I must say it wouldn't do the job of putting out a campfire though since it's just a fine mist, maybe it would if the ash was spread out really well and relatively thinly if it hadn't been a real big fire.

It's cheap and re-fillable and saves the powder type extinguisher you carry for those real emergencies, and saves water I reckon. Hmmm  there is another use, spraying the car windows to clean them?

Just seems like a handy little gadget to carry, and doesn't take up that much space.

Post by: Madcat on September 12, 2010, 09:21:48 AM
Similar to the weed sprayer, this is what I use... A refillable 9 litre fire extinguisher.

Great for putting out fires, cleaning tail lights :police:, number plates :police:, shooing over inquisitive animals and for cleaning the really muddy kids.  Plus other uses to I haven't found yet.

Sam
Post by: GU Rich on September 16, 2010, 09:27:12 PM
If doing a quick overnight stop and the awning isnt set up but folded over the roof of the camper trailer, then the wind picks up I use the Guy ropes to peg it back down the ground. It was so windy one night on the WA coast I think it would have acted as a sail and taken off across the campsite if we werent still hooked up to the GU!! ;D

Post by: HerGU on September 16, 2010, 11:36:24 PM

When we used to tent it, we used to fill up the tropical box (105L esky) the night before full with water, then put a couple of frozen cordial bottles in and close the lid. It makes it so you are not putting cold ice etc into a hot esky the next morning. We used to get at least 2 more days out of the ice than mates of ours who had the exact same esky until they started doing it too. We also used to put extra frozen cordial bottles in for ice. Also, buy yourself a couple of $2 sun shade for the car and tape them to the esky. Works a treat for the ever moving sun! Sometimes you can't always keep it in the shade at all times.

Now that we have a camper trailer, we bought 3 x 80L Plastic Tubs with Lid & wheels from Kmart and removed the wheels from one side and left the other side on. This stops them from moving around on the carpet in the camper, but still makes it so we can easily get them in and out.
Post by: speewa158 on September 17, 2010, 05:13:05 AM
In the CT we pack all our gear in 60L tubs with lids  . Slide them into the camper cloths , kitchen , food etc . Makes it easy to see which one needs to go where , then hook them out with a steel rake . The rake is handy to clear a site for CT if required .
Post by: Willow Girl on December 30, 2010, 01:58:11 PM
1.  We always pack a chamois in the trailer for drying the floor of the camper (or previously the tent) .
2.  Also we pack a spare set of sheets and pillow cases. That way when we pack up, we replace the sheets with clean ones and put the dirty ones with our dirty clothes. We do this with the teatowels also.
3.  We use microfiber towels also and keep them in the food box. This way they get washed at home and packed back always!
4.  We dont use poles and ropes to put out the awnings over the windows.  We just use very long ockey straps. Sometimes to pegs but if ther are trees just tie onto them. They may not go out on an angle but very easy to setup and pack up. 
5.  When using solar lights I just place them on a pole with a elastic toggle tie.
Post by: Bart63 on December 30, 2010, 02:26:53 PM
   We carry a set of wood blocks to be used for jacking, levelling the van etc.

Cut them to size so they fit in the floor of an available box, cupboard or space so that they store efficiently and don't move about.

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/11810-2/wood-blocks.jpg)

I like this one too and I'm onto my forth set. First set the kids burnt, the second the wife "my fault", and the third I applied the "The 2 use rule" and chopped up for kindling to start the fire after heavy rains. Thought about the plastic ones but figured they don't fit into the 2 use rule.
Post by: GU Rich on March 15, 2011, 10:20:50 AM
With many new members joining up I thought I'd kick this thread back into life.

After spending another weekend away I was watching the water running off the awning, Very common when we go camping. We were camped in black sandy conditions and with even drip or pour of water the sandy mud would slash everywhere. I grabbed a few handfuls of leaves and placed them down where the water was draining off. This not only stopped the splashing but is reduced the water running away.

(http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s159/utedriver/rosebud%20weekend/IMG_6008.jpg)

(http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s159/utedriver/rosebud%20weekend/IMG_6010.jpg)
I thought of this thread and took a photo of what I did.

Post by: dno on March 15, 2011, 05:39:19 PM
This might be better of in the tight arse thred. To stop your cereal going soggie or spilling i use a cloth peg on the top of a rolled down packet
Post by: tjwrexy on March 15, 2011, 07:42:33 PM

A bottle of Aloe Gel in the fridge for insect bits or sunburn.
Head lamps also come in handy for cooking on the BBQ in the dark when lighting in the CT is not strong enough.
Frozen water bottles in the esky/fridge between the beer - VERY IMPORTANT.
Double check that the CT is "on" the tow ball properly (yes my man forgot on our first trip, I was urgently "asked" to pull over so he could check something   >:()
Lots and lots and lots of beer and stubbie holders.

TJ  ;D
Post by: Heiny on March 15, 2011, 08:04:53 PM
After just returning from our big trip and camping in alot of different terrains we placed the kids mattresses under there stretcher beds so that the legs wouldn't damage the floor of the camper when camped on the sand We camped like this for 4 nights and it worked a treat. Cheers Rich
I bought some thick marine carpet to lay on the floor of the CT to protect it, there was some left over so I cut it into squares to put under the stretcher legs and it also works a treat :cheers:
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on March 15, 2011, 11:19:49 PM
A bottle of Aloe Gel in the fridge for insect bits or sunburn.
Head lamps also come in handy for cooking on the BBQ in the dark when lighting in the CT is not strong enough.

x 2 on the Aloe Gel and headlamps. 

Post by: Sar_n_Jase on March 17, 2011, 03:58:39 PM
Such a helpful thread!!! We are heading off on our 2yr adventure in 45 days, and I've just copy/paste/printed a whole bunch of your tips for later reference, to prevent that whole "I read something that would be perfect to fix that.... but I can't remember!"
Can't wait to head off - hopefully will come up with some tips of our own on the way!

Cheers guys!

Sar n Jase ;D
Post by: way-t-go on March 17, 2011, 10:47:00 PM
I bought some thick marine carpet to lay on the floor of the CT to protect it, there was some left over so I cut it into squares to put under the stretcher legs and it also works a treat :cheers:

Good idea. I saw maybe on this thread, that someone carpeted under the mattress so that when the bed base is lifted when the CT is setup , the mattress doesn't slide off onto the floor.
Post by: britts on March 18, 2011, 04:59:20 PM
seems everyone takes frozen bottles of water to help keep things cold & for drinking if you boil the water before freezing it lasts longer & is still safe to drink.
Post by: dno on March 18, 2011, 05:08:21 PM
Wool'ns can be washed with shampoo instead of washing powder if need be.
Post by: mystq on April 15, 2011, 10:32:21 AM
seems everyone takes frozen bottles of water to help keep things cold & for drinking if you boil the water before freezing it lasts longer & is still safe to drink.

Didn't know if you boil it it will freeze for longer, godd tip!
Post by: gronk on April 15, 2011, 11:05:06 AM
Didn't know if you boil it it will freeze for longer, godd tip!

This could be a topic all of it's own ???

Wheres the rationale behind this idea ??
Post by: JCOJ on April 15, 2011, 11:36:02 AM
Before you leave on a big trip go to the bank and swap a couple of $20 notes for 2 bags of $1 coins.  Then no more searchingunder the seats and going to reception to get change when it comes time to go to the laundromats.
Post by: britts on April 15, 2011, 07:06:04 PM
Apparently something to do with removing the oxygen from the water, not 100% sure but it works.
Post by: darren on April 15, 2011, 07:08:57 PM
Wouldnt you just be left with Hydrogen????
Post by: darren on April 15, 2011, 07:17:11 PM
I have just checked. Hydrogen freezes at 14.01 k so no wonder it keeps stuff cold. You will need a pretty good freezer to get it to that though... :D
Post by: OffRoadDave on April 15, 2011, 09:40:38 PM
Water lasts longer after being boiled as it is sterilised I guess?  ???
Post by: aussiepics on April 15, 2011, 10:08:58 PM
2 cents from me..  when you roll out of the swag as the sun comes up and reach for loo paper, wipe the windscreen and headlights first, the bugs have been softened by condensation/dew for the last few hours and will come off much more easily. Once the suns been up a bit they've baked back on and you have to put heaps more effort into the job.

./cb
Post by: Chippy76 on April 15, 2011, 11:03:04 PM
nice i like that one aus pix

cheers chippy :D
Post by: baldheadedgit on April 16, 2011, 04:11:13 AM
2 cents from me..  when you roll out of the swag as the sun comes up and reach for loo paper, wipe the windscreen and headlights first, the bugs have been softened by condensation/dew for the last few hours and will come off much more easily. Once the suns been up a bit they've baked back on and you have to put heaps more effort into the job.

./cb
Na,,,, i dont like using wet loo paper for my jobbies.. ;D ;D
Post by: toeball on April 16, 2011, 06:33:09 AM
Na,,,, i dont like using wet loo paper for my jobbies.. ;D ;D

Wouldn't you get a crack full of bug guts n bits too?

The following day you may need to leave your ass out of the swag so the dew can soften you date for easier clean up ;D
Post by: tootall on April 16, 2011, 10:40:53 PM
Bright coloured pool noodles, cut up and placed on guy ropes are great when your on the cans at night - no more tripping
Post by: speewa158 on April 17, 2011, 03:31:57 AM
Now that the weather is cooling down its time to bring out the under chair warmers . Got an old fry pan or tray of some type & small shovel . Shovel hot coals in to fry pan place under chair really warms you up keep topped up with fresh coals , works a treat . :cheers:
Post by: HEM19X on April 17, 2011, 07:22:55 AM
Now that the weather is cooling down its time to bring out the under chair warmers . Got an old fry pan or tray of some type & small shovel . Shovel hot coals in to fry pan place under chair really warms you up keep topped up with fresh coals , works a treat . :cheers:

We usually use an old tin can, with lid not totally removed, fill with coals, fold back top a bit for a longer lasting b&m warmer.

Then again Melbourne is a bit colder than here, so you might need more.

Post by: petemac on April 17, 2011, 08:53:18 AM
Common sense and straightforward - but we make it a rule after packing up and being ready to roll;

Move the rig forward 10 or 20 metres then go back and have a good look where you have been camping to make sure nothing has been left behind.

Post by: tinkera on April 17, 2011, 09:14:18 AM
Common sense and straightforward - but we make it a rule after packing up and being ready to roll;

Move the rig forward 10 or 20 metres then go back and have a good look where you have been camping to make sure nothing has been left behind.

Pete                I,ll have to remember that left $200 Alvery sitting in fork of tree on last beach trip dam it.TINKERA.
Post by: toeball on April 17, 2011, 04:17:28 PM

We do that, we thought it might be the start of an obsessive compulsive disorder   ??? ;D
Post by: speewa158 on April 17, 2011, 05:11:17 PM
Its not the start of OCD it makes sence to me . reacently I can across a new axe left at an abandoned camp site . If only they had done a quick search just check
I have a canvas peg bag on it in big letters 12 big 8 small , telling me the peg count . If they are not there go have another look  :cheers:
Post by: bullfrog on April 17, 2011, 06:01:04 PM
We always have a walk around before leaving. Kids get to pick up any rubbish left, Jude & I check that nothing is left behind & check that all is ready for the road. :cheers:
Post by: NewcastleKnight on April 17, 2011, 06:08:06 PM
We always have a walk around before leaving. Kids get to pick up any rubbish left, Jude & I check that nothing is left behind & check that all is ready for the road. :cheers:

Who checks where the keys are??...lol
Post by: bullfrog on April 17, 2011, 06:52:32 PM
Me when I pack, apparently no one when she does. :cheers:
Post by: darren on April 17, 2011, 07:05:02 PM
Only ever take boneless roasting pieces. If its raining you can cut them up and cook on the stove top
Post by: campgirls on April 17, 2011, 10:54:32 PM
For those of you who take dogs with you:

Invest in some kind of waterproof doggie coats, (ours are actually Driza-bone, bought on sale!!). Not much worse than a 'wet dog' smell in the campertrailer!
Post by: GU Rich on April 17, 2011, 11:03:34 PM
Its not the start of OCD it makes sence to me . reacently I can across a new axe left at an abandoned camp site . If only they had done a quick search just check
I have a canvas peg bag on it in big letters 12 big 8 small , telling me the peg count . If they are not there go have another look  :cheers:
So there not you pegs I find nearly everytime I head out camping.
Post by: darren on April 18, 2011, 07:23:52 AM
So there not you pegs I find nearly everytime I head out camping.

As long as you dont find one in your tyre..
Post by: Redback on April 18, 2011, 02:50:11 PM
For those of you who take dogs with you:

Invest in some kind of waterproof doggie coats, (ours are actually Driza-bone, bought on sale!!). Not much worse than a 'wet dog' smell in the campertrailer!

We don't need to do this, as our two flatly refuse to go outside the camper if it's rainning ;D

Post by: GU Rich on April 18, 2011, 03:22:10 PM
As long as you dont find one in your tyre..
I hope not the one I found at Running Creek on the weekend was about 1200mm above the ground hammered into a tree.
Post by: gruesome on April 18, 2011, 05:22:21 PM
Been using this idea for a few years now, drill a small hole in the top of your tent poles to accomidate a small hitch pin, after placing the pole through the awning,tent or what ever place the hitch pin through and it won't come out.  Really good when the misses is helping and is slightly height impaired  no more arguments.

cheers Andy

(http://i655.photobucket.com/albums/uu274/gruesome2/lucaschristening.jpg)
Post by: D4D on April 18, 2011, 05:32:22 PM
I like this idea, I was going to use threaded spigots and a wing nut but this is easier  :cup:
Post by: griz066 on April 18, 2011, 05:54:32 PM
I like this idea, I was going to use threaded spigots and a wing nut but this is easier  :cup:

It is a great idea but not 100% in high wind, I tried it a few years ago, we were at the Boondooma dam and we got one of those mad mongrel afternoon storms and it just popped the whole spigot out of the pole >:( >:(. Got me stumped now, just hang onto them in that situation I guess
Post by: Bookleaf on April 18, 2011, 06:52:35 PM
Hmmmm.  I have the threaded sort with wing nuts.  The clip looks like a good idea though.  What is bothering me now is that no matter if it be clip or nut, the end will still pop out in high wind!!!!.  Maybe always have the sides installed.
Anyone have a good idea on how to keep the ends in permanently?
Post by: D4D on April 18, 2011, 06:54:53 PM
Hmmmm.  I have the threaded sort with wing nuts.  The clip looks like a good idea though.  What is bothering me now is that no matter if it be clip or nut, the end will still pop out in high wind!!!!.  Maybe always have the sides installed.
Anyone have a good idea on how to keep the ends in permanently?

pop rivet through the pole and plastic?
Post by: griz066 on April 18, 2011, 09:08:11 PM
pop rivet through the pole and plastic?

Now that should work, I was thinking about a short tek screw but the plastic is quite brittle.
Post by: peanut2 on April 18, 2011, 09:24:12 PM
We put the poles through eyelets and then run the ropes out from carabinas(sp??) from the D's in the tarp.

This way no matter if the tarp does manage to lift above the poles, the carabinas and rope are still in place to hold the tarp.  When in real doubt about the weather we have also run a full length rope right through every D along each side and tied down at each end by a heavy duty peg or just tied off onto vehicles.

Peanut
Post by: jimsiron on April 18, 2011, 09:29:50 PM
When the misses nylon cutting up board got too many marks in it from use, I cut it into a size to fit under the jockey wheel or as a jack base, a lot lighter than wood blocks to cart around.
regards
Jimsiron
Post by: ralphedward on April 18, 2011, 09:41:16 PM
Sell the kids for medical experimentation and go camping on your own ------ guess who has teenagers!!!!!!! :laugh:
Post by: speewa158 on April 19, 2011, 07:23:41 AM
Mark thats why they invented grog & even better mobs of grog  :cup:   :cheers:
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on April 19, 2011, 06:37:58 PM

When we aren't carrying jerry cans of fuel, we use our jerry can holders as rubbish bins!  Keeps the rubbish away from the kitchen, off the ground, but not away from pussoms!

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-YQW9i1vPHLo/TVfBHxPYK3I/AAAAAAAAAKk/W6hLjPKaR2w/s400/Spring+Gully+Stays+our+idea.jpg)
Recycling / Rubbish
Post by: campgirls on April 20, 2011, 03:11:25 PM
Thought of a couple more tips...

I'm sure everyone does this anyway, but if you use plastic storage containers, write on the lids with permanent marker a list of the contents; saves taking the lids off all the boxes to see what's inside. (I also make sure stuff is grouped together, eg: all the cooking things together; all the power/lighting things together, etc).

I also put different coloured dot stickers onto all the tent and awning poles so they match up and it's much quicker and easier to find the right poles! (I know, I'm a bit OCD!)

To stop food-obsessed doggies annoying other campers we just leave their harnesses and lead on and tent-peg the lead handle to the ground... gives them a bit of room to move. (Do not attach lead to camp chair and get up to get something... dog follows and scares itself silly- crashing over and then being 'chased' by the camp chair!)

Bring PLENTY of 'dog towels' (ie: the one's you use for drying your dogs after inflicting a bath on them!) for wiping down wet or dirty faces/coats/paws before they 'dry' themselves on you, their bed, your bed, the car seats...

Get some of those little elastic toggle band things- they are very versatile for hanging stuff up!

These pegless clothes lines are very much worth the investment!
http://www.pegless.com.au/page1.aspx (http://www.pegless.com.au/page1.aspx)

Also, if you take your own water... don't take a massive 20-trillion litre plastic jerry can that neither of you can lift if it's more than a third full, especially if said jerry can has been in the garage for some time and has become a home to some ants who have subsequently perished and then been rinsed out unsuccessfully so that your partner, who has been hitherto unaware of the ant problem, says "This water tastes funny. Did you wash out the water container properly?" to which you sheepishly have to then explain about the ants and that you couldn't quite get the all the ants out because some were stuck on the bottom.... Just take a couple of smaller containers, OK?  ;D
Post by: D4D on April 20, 2011, 03:23:16 PM
I'm sure everyone does this anyway, but if you use plastic storage containers, write on the lids with permanent marker a list of the contents; saves taking the lids off all the boxes to see what's inside. (I also make sure stuff is grouped together, eg: all the cooking things together; all the power/lighting things together, etc).

or you could use clear containers :)
Post by: WaituiRob on April 21, 2011, 12:31:16 PM
We use a 50lt chiller for our frozen goods which are packed in a large plastic container and placed on 3x2lt bottles
  of frozen water (last longer if they are in freezer for a couple of weeks) and other things packed over and around it.

This keeps things chilled up to 7 days depending on the temperature and when ice is needed it gets tipped into the container and this saves it melting everywhere.

Also swear by the green food saver bags for fruit and veg. they keep things fresh up to 21 days and it`s not
  necessary to have them in the chiller or fridge. We keep ours in a plastic container in the trailer and the bags are
re-usable. They were purchased at a camping show but are probably available elsewhere.

Rob.
Post by: carinya on April 21, 2011, 01:38:12 PM
Milk powder is still tasting like the stuff we fed poddy calves on when I was a kid.

To get kids to actually consume their breakfast, you can get uht milk now that for the most part tastes like milk and not the smoky, burnt flavour we used to get.  It will take up some space but at least you can get it in 1 and 2 L cartons for the same price as fresh milk  and you only need one at a time in the fridge.

Put a sheet of shade cloth down in front of your living area ( annexe, tent ) . 
It sweeps very easily, lets sand fall straight through, keeps you off the moisture all making the floored area a lot cleaner, and you can see the crawlies coming sooner.
Post by: Johnno convert on April 21, 2011, 03:31:07 PM
Not sure this passes as a camping tip.

Dont put the dunny roll in the camper. Always leave it in the car. Nothing worst when nature calls and your camper is packed up and you have to forage some paper bark, or leaves.
We keep ours in the battery compartment on the top shelf. We can access that when the tent is up or down. Very handy. compartment on ours opens into the bedroom section.
Post by: HEM19X on April 21, 2011, 08:36:59 PM
We have found that bread etc keeps much better in the insulated Coles/Wollies bags. Will keep fresh for up to 4 orr 5 days!!

Post by: carinya on April 22, 2011, 12:28:24 AM
If you are in an area where you have to take your rubbish out with you, or are camped up a few days and do some actual cooking, you will need a rubbish bin/bucket with a vermin proof lid.Don't spend any money, go to any building site and get in the skip. There will be at least five buckets of differing sorts there throughout the build of just one house, all with clip or snap on lids used for tile fixative, paint etc.  They clean up OK and can be used for anything but eating off.
Post by: Johnno convert on April 22, 2011, 01:58:51 PM
An old fella (older than me  ;D) Showed me this one and I hope you can get it without pics. To stop your guy ropes from slipping once you have tensioned them, bring the rope around the back of the knot on the timber piece. This locks it off better. Cant follow me? Then  :worthles: isn't it? Maybe a pic is warranted.
Post by: deepop on April 22, 2011, 05:28:24 PM
Now I am not sure whether I can explain this properly.  When you roll the flaps up on your annex/windows etc try to roll them up back to front then what is natural.  If it happens to rain or there is moisture around before you get to put them down the water won't pool in the canvas or vinyl awnd when you drop them you won't get water all over you.
And it acts as a bit of a verandah to stop too much rain hitting the flywire.
Post by: Johnno convert on April 22, 2011, 08:51:43 PM
when we got our new camper we saw someone had rolled up the awnings like that and thought hey what a great idea as we had struggled with the larger ones on our old camper.
Post by: Gunna Do on April 23, 2011, 06:22:15 AM
While we're on the topic of rolling flaps and awning up (not sure if this one has been mentioned before).  If you have a large window flap to roll up by yourself, fold the two corners in to the middle at 45 degrees to create a point at the bottom, and then start rolling up from the point.  Makes it much easier to keep straight, tight and tidy.
Post by: griz066 on April 23, 2011, 06:25:53 AM
While we're on the topic of rolling flaps and awning up (not sure if this one has been mentioned before).  If you have a large window flap to roll up by yourself, fold the two corners in to the middle at 45 degrees to create a point at the bottom, and then start rolling up from the point.  Makes it much easier to keep straight, tight and tidy.

Yup, by YOU post #3 on March 09, 2010, 06:19:41 PM  ;D ;D ;D ;D :cheers:
Post by: Gunna Do on April 23, 2011, 06:29:24 AM
Yup, by YOU post #3 on March 09, 2010, 06:19:41 PM  ;D ;D ;D ;D :cheers:

I can only blame alzheimer's.  If it was last week I probably wouldn't have remembered either. ???

I was going to check, but at 18 pages and 266 posts, I couldn't be bothered.

Keep an eye out about this time next year, I'll probably post it up again.   ;D
Post by: griz066 on April 23, 2011, 06:32:58 AM
I can only blame alzheimer's.  If it was last week I probably wouldn't have remembered either. ???
I am the same however I never forget anything I remember ;D ;D but unfortunately I never remember anything I forget ;D ;D
Post by: darren on April 23, 2011, 07:06:53 AM
Hey GD
At least with alzhimers every day is an exciting new adventure
Post by: JohnT on April 23, 2011, 07:42:10 AM
For those virgin campers such and me and who own a soft floor. Dont forget to put ratchet straps or similar over your camper otherwise you will be towing a baloon and a trailer net wont cut it. You can also bet that no service station stocks them ;D
Post by: dno on April 23, 2011, 08:24:39 AM
When setting up a softfloor camper for a quickie , rather an pegging it down you can just place some heavy items in the corners of the tent such as a travel bag full of clothing.
PS. Only if the weather is suitable.
Post by: Johnno convert on April 23, 2011, 09:17:12 AM
Cmon mate this is a family site !! Enough talk about quickies!! ;D ;D ;D :cup:
Post by: gibbo301 on April 23, 2011, 04:54:45 PM
i was just thinking that would be a lot of trouble setting up the camper just for a quickie  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Post by: Foo on April 23, 2011, 05:52:38 PM
^^ :o :o ^^  ;D
Post by: morgue on April 23, 2011, 06:13:16 PM
Here is a couple, some may have repeated in previous threads, but going through 18 screens to check is a bit too much for my brain to take in...anyway here is a couple.

1/.  Need good loo paper, maybe 3 or 4 ply.
2/. For the first Aid Kit, sanitary napkins, they are brilliant for cuts that will bleed, for burns  submurge in cool water, wring out and apply to burn area for relief of pain. The design, keeps the moisture away from the burn area, but still cool and the skin will not stick the the pad. Also depending on the  burn, apply heaps of Alovera to pad and then apply.
3/. Milk, use UHT, its cheap and keeps longer.
4/. Rip into Aldi when your in town next, get a bag of marinated chicken niblets, throw then in the fridge when you are travelling. BBQ them when after you have set up, yum.
5/. During a camp, put a yellow mark on the stuff you don't use, green on the stuff you do use...when you get home, disgard the yellow and keep the green. You'll be lighter for it.
6/. An old bushy trick, always get an item for camping that has a minimum of 2 uses.
7/. A Real old bushy trick, don't try to cram in too much to see when on a camping trip ie 2 weeks to do a 2000km trip, less is best, treat em' mean and keep em' keen. Lower your speed and look out the windows more, half the fun is on the journey there. It will lessen stress on the trailer and tow vehicle and you will be more refreshed when you set up.
8/. Always laugh. 
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on April 23, 2011, 06:59:22 PM
8/. Always laugh. 

Best camping tip yet!  I'd even go so far as to add:  even when you don't think you can there is humour in the worst event.  EG:  The Man wasn't keeping his eye on the speedo and we missed the turn off (totally my fault of course  ??? ).  I told him that he needed more practise turning out large convoy around  ;D  and later that night he lit the fire with the map!  Needless to say, when we ventured off the next day I assured him I had the map commited to my memory (being that I'm our NavWoman), although he wasn't so confident and sure enough we made it home! 

I've since updated our maps from 1995 to 2011!  Love those free maps from RACQ!!

Post by: Johnno convert on April 24, 2011, 02:03:17 PM
For those virgin campers such and me and who own a soft floor. Dont forget to put ratchet straps or similar over your camper otherwise you will be towing a baloon and a trailer net wont cut it. You can also bet that no service station stocks them ;D
Resist the temptation to get the really cheap ones. Pay a little more. The better ones are a lot easier to use.
Post by: craigtempo on April 24, 2011, 02:32:51 PM
not sure if it has been said as yet but we use frisbies for the kids plates because they can double as well .... frisbies  ;D

crai
Post by: Johnno convert on April 24, 2011, 03:57:39 PM

2/. For the first Aid Kit, sanitary napkins, they are brilliant for cuts that will bleed, for burns  submerge in cool water, wring out and apply to burn area for relief of pain. The design, keeps the moisture away from the burn area, but still cool and the skin will not stick the the pad.
These are really good things to have on board and are excellent wound dressings as they have to be sterile to start off with and come in their own convenient little package. They are particularly good for a bad cut or laceration as they can be taped or bandaged firmly in place and will help control bleeding, with some pressure applied, and resist weeping.
Post by: carinya on April 24, 2011, 04:24:11 PM
Couldn't see this anywhere yet.    To roll up tent awnings/ window flaps, keep a length of cutain rod or similar in your kit.  Fits into the pole tube or with the gas stems.  start the canvas on the rod, after you have a few rolls on, pull out the rod and continue.  Always gets a neat roll that you can do up the catches on.
Post by: Johnno convert on April 24, 2011, 04:35:18 PM
Man you must have a neat camp site if you do your awnings like that!!
Post by: D4D on April 26, 2011, 10:46:28 AM
Use a snap hook instead of a padlock to secure things

(http://www.millerchains.com.au/images/springclip.jpg)
Post by: BigJules on April 26, 2011, 11:02:52 AM
Use the hazard lights to check all indicators at once.
Post by: Johnno convert on April 26, 2011, 11:47:56 AM
I use an occy strap to keep the andersen plug lead and the trailer cord from hanging down when towing. It also gives if needed. ;D
Post by: outback jack on April 26, 2011, 12:05:54 PM
Use the hazard lights to check all indicators at once.

or use your central locking button
Post by: toeball on April 26, 2011, 01:20:07 PM
or use your central locking button

I use a kid :cheers:
Post by: Johnno convert on April 26, 2011, 05:06:24 PM
Good idea Jack and the brakes and parkers?
Post by: outback jack on April 26, 2011, 05:49:54 PM
Good idea Jack and the brakes and parkers?

put a stick between the seat and the brake pedal, parkers? turn em on
Post by: Johnno convert on April 26, 2011, 06:12:19 PM
Outback Jack you've got the knack!
Post by: Crisp Image on April 26, 2011, 07:25:58 PM
Are those indicators working?
Yes No Yes No Yes No!
Couldn't resist
Crisp Image
Post by: darren on April 26, 2011, 07:33:15 PM
put a stick between the seat and the brake pedal, parkers? turn em on
That reminds me of when my 110 died near Quilpy i got a 100 series rent a car and drove it back to the hunter towing the boat. I got a stick and pushed the accelerator to the floor then snapped it off and jammed it under the armrest... Instant cruise control. What was better was when we came to towns i would just apply the brakes, the car would chug and labour and gradually pick up speed on the way out of town.... i drove like that for hours
Post by: POD on April 26, 2011, 07:37:56 PM
Don't buy ex-hire cars!!!  ;D
Post by: gunna on April 26, 2011, 08:11:59 PM
Bought these off a mate of mine who has a canvas shop  to hold the guide ropes down
Very easy to use
cheers sheeds
Post by: bullfrog on April 26, 2011, 08:17:06 PM
I saw a tip once in a CVP. An old bloke was setting up a big tarp & was putting a 1/2 hitch around the pole then slipping the loop over the spike of the pole. He said it stopped the tarp trying to lift off the spike & also put the strain on the steel pole, not on the plastic insert.
Post by: gibbo301 on April 26, 2011, 08:22:16 PM
2/. For the first Aid Kit, sanitary napkins, they are brilliant for cuts that will bleed, for burns  submerge in cool water, wring out and apply to burn area for relief of pain. The design, keeps the moisture away from the burn area, but still cool and the skin will not stick the the pad.

What next a med for a nose bleed lol
Post by: POD on April 26, 2011, 09:58:36 PM
What next a med for a nose bleed lol

Well may you laugh, my friend.... But the number of tampons I have had up my nose when thugs on the footy field felt that my snoz needed to meet their fist or knee or, well any number of parts, it doesn't warrant talking about. Suffice to say, they work a treat when you can't stop it bleeding. They don't help with the clotting but they do mean you can get back out there and exact some revenge.

Cheers from tampon-nose!
Post by: gibbo301 on April 27, 2011, 09:44:32 AM
All i can say Pod is that you must have a big snoz i have seen how big those buggers get in a glass of water lol
Post by: Johnno convert on April 27, 2011, 06:35:21 PM
What the heck are they doing in a glass of water, Gibbo?? No wait a minute, on second thoughts don't answer that!!
Post by: Barrabart on April 27, 2011, 07:07:20 PM
 ;D ;D tampons in first aid kits, reminds me of a few years back, me and a mate out catching pigs early one morning, anyway we ran into a mob of pigs and we had 4 dogs each bailing up pigs in different locations, so there was a few minutes of madness as we were catching the pigs and tying them. Anyway one of my dogs got into a spot of bother around the sharp end of a cranky boar and received a bit of a nick, a hole not much bigger then about 1cm but was bleeding out badly. My mate seen it happen and the result and I’d had just finished tying the last pig and was heading to give him a hand……. Anyway as I’m crashing through the undergrowth I could here all the madness and him yelling and screaming, and I thought he was in trouble, as I got closer I could here him yelling “Bart bring the Tampons and Pads” in a panicked out of breath highly strung voice, so then I had to turn and run about 150mtrs back to the truck, to grab them from the glove box (yes us burly pig hunters always carried tampons and pads)…… anyway once we had fixed up my beloved hound, and all the dust had settled….. I couldn’t help but start chucklin’ to myself…… I was thinking …… imagine if someone had come along, to blokes running around the bush out of breath, one of them yelling from the darkness to bring Tampons….. I don’t think many would of hung around to find out what was going on ;D ;D
Post by: POD on April 27, 2011, 07:33:24 PM
All i can say Pod is that you must have a big snoz i have seen how big those buggers get in a glass of water lol

ARE YOU CALLING ME BIG NOSE??? Better get the tampons, Gibbo's gunna need 'em soon!!! And better make them the ones that help you surf and swim and go to cafes and such!!
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on April 27, 2011, 11:22:40 PM
I use an occy strap to keep the andersen plug lead and the trailer cord from hanging down when towing. It also gives if needed. ;D

X 2 ... brilliant idea that.  They don't get tangled in the hitch or hang down to catch on road debris.  Our occy strap hooks up under the rear of the ute.

Post by: speewa158 on April 28, 2011, 06:41:49 AM
Ihae been buying the 1s that help you ride a bike ,,, they dont work  ::)
Post by: cancan on April 28, 2011, 06:56:38 AM
If packing up in the rain take a change of clothes out first.
Of course i thought of this after i had packed everything up and had the dry clothes buried in the bottom of the CT.
Post by: Johnno convert on April 28, 2011, 07:53:29 PM
??? what?
Post by: aussiepics on April 29, 2011, 10:22:51 AM

...n I still can't ride a horse neither..
Post by: GU Rich on July 12, 2011, 04:43:48 PM
The thread on my camper poles has been stripped for a LONG TIME, I have been holding the poles up with hose clamps, Well I came across these at Anaconda a few eeks back All that needs to be done is drill a hole and insert the "T" piece than put it back together.

(http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s159/utedriver/camper%20trailer%20mods/IMG_7139Custom.jpg)

(http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s159/utedriver/camper%20trailer%20mods/IMG_7141Custom.jpg)

(http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s159/utedriver/camper%20trailer%20mods/IMG_7142Custom.jpg)

Post by: db on August 21, 2011, 09:42:22 PM
Use for an old plastic jerry can - cut the top off and make it into a bin.  Just used bits lying around in the shed.

Post by: Manjimike on August 21, 2011, 09:46:58 PM
Smart thinking  :cup:
Post by: mystq on August 22, 2011, 06:20:46 AM
A rubber seal and you would be good to go db.
Post by: GU Rich on August 22, 2011, 12:04:52 PM
Great idea db, Thanks for posting that pic this thread!

Post by: Jon on August 22, 2011, 08:03:23 PM
Dont let this

http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=15768.60

surface whilst away.
Post by: Stozz on August 28, 2011, 11:10:33 PM
The fruit 'n' vegie box:

I saw something similar to this somewhere on the web a while ago and thought I would give it a whirl.  I made it today.  Not sure that I built it to the same spec, but this will do us just fine.

I used:

One old esky
    Shade cloth
    Fly wire
    Cloth tape
    Screws & washers
    A patient husband

Get husband to drill holes in a tidy pattern in all walls of the esky.  File off any sharp edges.

Line with fly-wire cut to size (and trimmed with white cloth tape)

Cover with shade cloth panels cut to size (and trimmed with blue cloth tape)

Ta da!  An insulated box that will allow our fruit and veg to stay fresh, breathe, and not allow flies or ants inside (or mice!)
Post by: mystq on August 28, 2011, 11:20:43 PM
Great idea Stozz, keep us updated on how it goes.
Post by: Big Nath on August 29, 2011, 07:33:30 AM
If you have kids, go to big W and get some $3 glow sticks.

They are battery operated and have a torch and whistle on them.

Plus they come with FREE replacement batteries (1 set)

The kids love them and you will always know where the kids are.

Cheers!
Post by: hookedon4wding on August 29, 2011, 09:35:40 AM
We bought one of these shoe organizers from a Home store. Used a pants hanger to hang it from a rope under the awning. Makes a great spot to put little things that always seem to go missing when camping (keys, head torches, matches, dog lead etc). Less than $5 and works well.

(http://tapatalk.com/mu/cb2d596b-d0c0-a98b.jpg)

Cheers, Sam.
Post by: GU Rich on January 05, 2012, 04:43:14 PM
With all the new members and camping going on over Xmas I thought it was time to bump this thread.

Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on January 05, 2012, 05:03:31 PM

Thanks GU for the Bump!

I'll kick off the new year of ideas.

For those with an Aussie Swag ... and dogs ... the handle for pulling open the pantry just seems like wasted space to me, so I got inventive the other day when the requirement for Puppy Poo Bags went up a notch (must of been the scraps from dinner before bedtime).

(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-Q2UyA3QrNkY/TwVJZiGKXII/AAAAAAAAAqA/Fvg-iNXXR_8/s400/Trip+34+Dog+Poo+Bags+1.jpg)

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-QS_dNLWQvzA/TwVJa8WLM-I/AAAAAAAAAqI/lqRA8l05cLQ/s400/Trip+34+Dog+Poo+Bags+2.jpg)

From here they can be "dispensed" as such and the pantry handle used to rip off along the dotted line.  Worked well till it fell through the bottom hole, so we utilised some laundry rope to fix that.

Post by: JCOJ on January 05, 2012, 06:47:59 PM
1) When cooking spaghetti or rice drain the water into a bucket.  Then once you have finished eating you can give your dishes a prewash with this water which will keep the water in your sink alot cleaner for alot longer.

2) Before going on a major trip, go to the bank and hand over two $20 notes for two bags of $1 coins.  No need to go hunting around when it comes time to use the laundromat.

3) We have a broomstick that always goes to the back of the pole box and we can't reach it.  We vecroed the top of the broom handle, and attached the rough end of the velcro to the bottom and  side corner of the pole holder.  No more missing broomstick!
Post by: cewilson on January 05, 2012, 11:58:49 PM
1. Zip lock bags are handy for so many different things (toilet rolls/snack bags/food leftovers/fruit & veg/meat etc).
2. The more space you have, the more you will carry.....
3. Dual ropes with springs are great for corners.
4. A snack bag for the kids each day comes in real handy.
5. Battery charger is terminated to an anderson plug.  Makes it real easy for hooking up when required.
6. Swags for the kids is quick and easy, albeit bulky.
7. A spare pin (tregg hitch) is a godsend when you have 'that' moment.
8. Try to be self-sufficient.  On longer trips buying batteries starts being expensive and annoying.
9. Square frypans are worth their weight in gold.
10. The harder it is to do, the less likely you will do it.  Have your trailer set-up so all you need is water, food and clothes.  There is stuff all difference between an overnighter and a week long trip, or even a four week trip.  You really don't change anything you carry.  Have it all there ready to go so you can make that 'impulse' decision on a Friday afternoon to just get away for the weekend.  They have been some of the best trips we have ever done as a family as we never knew what was going to happen next!

Oh and lastly carry a few spare tyre tubes.  Worst case scenario you can use them on your vehicle, but primary reason is the kids will go nuts with them in water (as do the big kids!).

Chris
Post by: jeeps on January 06, 2012, 01:49:31 AM
Try to use devices that take the same size battery. I use a gazillion Eneloop AA rechargeable batteries, I no longer use anything in d or c size. Before a trip I put freshly charged eneloops in all my devices - my am/fm radio, 2-3 good Cree torches, headlamp, mini led lantern I use in the toilet tent, my kid's nightlight & remote control toys, my police scanner which i take camping... You get the idea. I also take about 8 spare charged ones so i can swap out discharged AA's straight away and my 8 bay 12 volt charger so I can charge with my solar setup, takes about 2 hrs to fully charge 8. I charge via the camper trailer's solar at home too so for the $4 initial purchase price of the eneloop I now have 2000 recharges for free per battery. I used to spend heaps on batteries every year until I jumped on the eneloop revolution. And because I have a small solar setup it's free power for my toys!

Post by: Jenko67 on January 06, 2012, 09:19:12 AM
We don't need to do this, as our two flatly refuse to go outside the camper if it's rainning ;D

Thanksgod, I thought it was just our 3 that are like this.... :D
Post by: lilstookie on January 06, 2012, 11:49:52 AM
Don't ever take a jackaroo through a rutted bog as the alternator craps itself and kills the holiday you been waiting 6 months for.

Dont listen to other 4wds on the track saying "she'll be right" as they soon leave when it all goes pear shaped.
Post by: UTE 701 on January 06, 2012, 12:04:03 PM
Dont listen to other 4wds on the track saying "she'll be right" as they soon leave when it all goes pear shaped.
" If you break down or get bogged , make sure you are blocking the track , then others have to help get you going .....  "
Post by: lilstookie on January 06, 2012, 12:48:29 PM
Take a metal bucket for easy heating of water for showers/baths/dishwashing/clothes washing...just sit it close to the fire!

Lil :)

Post by: beachrover on January 06, 2012, 02:44:49 PM
If you are starting of with a new camper, before setting out on a remote trip:

Stay at a caravan park for a couple of days that is close to hardware, camping, food & Kitchen shops. This will help sorting out all the bits & pieced before heading off on a proper adventure.
Post by: Redcherokee on January 06, 2012, 03:35:40 PM
Several folk have commented that they cover the camper bed with a tarp to prevent moisture/dirt getting onto the bedding.

I use a picnic rug instead.  One of those ones with plastic on the back and a bit of foam between the plastic and the fabric. Fabric side against the bedding, obviously.

In the spirit of making sure your stuff has multiple uses, this has a few advantages:
1. less likely to accidentally put the dirty side against the bedding as you can easily see which side is which
2. can leave it in place to provide some extra warmth when the night is colder than expected
3. can even be used to have a picnic on!!

I currently only bother covering the bottom 2/3s of the bed where the floor can touch when folded.  I'll probably get around to buying a second or bigger one to give full coverage.
Post by: Pebble on January 06, 2012, 03:58:17 PM
Swags, we jut brought some. Having a youngest child that still occasionally wets the bed the first thing I brought for their swags was a pvc mattress protector (actually really cheap from KMart if you're not fussed on having one of those terry towling backed ones).
Now from that I got an idea to buy 2 pvc mattress protectors so that I can put one on the bottom of the matress and then one on top, this means that the matress will be completely protected from getting wet or damp in particular considering the swags have a canvas base which would get saturated if sleeping in a pool of water. I will do the same with ours I reckon, but it will only be necessary to put a pvc mattress protector on the bottom.

I think it's  a beaut idea because you still have the benefit of the breathability of a full canvas swag but the mattress is protected for those times that make camping that much more memorable (adverse weather etc etc)
Post by: Wargod_70 on January 08, 2012, 07:43:24 AM
1) When packing up the tent, leave little gaps in the windows and doors - i.e. dont zip them up fully, this way when you collapse the tent and try and re-erect it you wont have to fight suctions trying to keep it shut.

2) Dont eat yellow snow  ;D
Post by: GLC on January 08, 2012, 10:16:23 AM
Three hints from me:)
1. with the tent peg puller grab a guy rope and a spare peg wrap the guy around the spare peg with the loop down about 6 inches, gets them out easy and if stuck tight adjust the loop till you are almost standing and use your knees to get the leverage.
2. Great use of a sam or military splint is to use it as a stubby holder, great insulator as you have a foam layer, aluminum and another foam layer:)
3. take note of any markings on the road like Kilometer markers, if your in a strange place it is difficult to describe where you are , but you can describe how long ago you left what point of interest and how far to the next town etc. Sorry I think medical 90% of the time and it really annoys Ambos when they dont know where you are when you need them.
Post by: qlddsl on January 08, 2012, 06:07:51 PM
I have used hammerlocks at the end of the safety chains, I think they are 1.3 ton rated and the 2 ton rated shackles cannot come out of them. A small cable tie secures the pins when traveling.
Post by: welchygq on February 03, 2012, 09:01:16 PM
My tip - buy 1 or 2 of those fold up buckets.  We have a small one we keep with water in with a bit of liquid soap to wash our hands during the day.  It was also used by the other half at Xmas to keep his yabbies in so I had to buy another .... it too got used for bait (but I did reclaim it to do some clothes washing!).  They fold up flat and come in a number of different sizes and are very handy & versatile!

What type of folding bucket do you use?

Welchy
Post by: GU Rich on February 03, 2012, 09:16:55 PM
What type of folding bucket do you use?

Welchy

I use one too there great, mine is a 15l bucket. I'll grab a pic tomorrow and post it up if I get a chance if you like. I picked it up from Anaconda I think it was for $20 approx.

http://camping.anaconda.com.au/search?p=Q&lbc=anaconda&uid=677126856&ts=custom&w=folding%20bucket&isort=score&method=and&view=grid&af=cat1%3aaccessories (http://camping.anaconda.com.au/search?p=Q&lbc=anaconda&uid=677126856&ts=custom&w=folding%20bucket&isort=score&method=and&view=grid&af=cat1%3aaccessories)

It's not like this one. I have a steel handle and a plastic rim and base. It looks more sturdy than this one.

Post by: OffRoadDave on February 03, 2012, 09:26:24 PM
This is the one Rich, I bought one myself after seeing yours the other week.  :cup:

http://www.anaconda.com.au/Product/Water/Fishing/15-Litre-Foldable-Bucket#90025871002 (http://www.anaconda.com.au/Product/Water/Fishing/15-Litre-Foldable-Bucket#90025871002)
Post by: GU Rich on February 03, 2012, 10:07:49 PM
This is the one Rich, I bought one myself after seeing yours the other week.  :cup:

http://www.anaconda.com.au/Product/Water/Fishing/15-Litre-Foldable-Bucket#90025871002 (http://www.anaconda.com.au/Product/Water/Fishing/15-Litre-Foldable-Bucket#90025871002)

Yep that's it mate, It came in handy putting out that campfire we came across still going with nobody in sight...
Post by: welchygq on February 03, 2012, 10:12:25 PM
I use one too there great, mine is a 15l bucket. I'll grab a pic tomorrow and post it up if I get a chance if you like. I picked it up from Anaconda I think it was for $20 approx.

http://camping.anaconda.com.au/search?p=Q&lbc=anaconda&uid=677126856&ts=custom&w=folding%20bucket&isort=score&method=and&view=grid&af=cat1%3aaccessories (http://camping.anaconda.com.au/search?p=Q&lbc=anaconda&uid=677126856&ts=custom&w=folding%20bucket&isort=score&method=and&view=grid&af=cat1%3aaccessories)

It's not like this one. I have a steel handle and a plastic rim and base. It looks more sturdy than this one.

HAHAHA - i alredy have this one.  It was more that you cant "leave a littel bit of water in it".  Kinda needs to be full to stand up.

Welchy
Post by: grafy82 on February 04, 2012, 03:00:10 AM

Make sure the kids dont leave crayons on there beds in the camper as they WILL melt to there beds......-

rich

Just read this first post. Don't let your kids crayons sit on your pristine dash board either. They melt everywhere and, no I don't like having a pink and green dashmat.
Post by: Willow Girl on February 04, 2012, 02:30:14 PM
We keep LED headlamps in the glove box of the 4x4 for when we get to our camping spot after dark. They are fantastic! also great for when your cooking and making a midnight dash to the dunny. ;D
Post by: FZJ on February 04, 2012, 02:44:02 PM
Beware the electric brakes after washing the camper.I gave ours a good wash after the last muddy trip,then it sat in the shed for a couple of weeks.towed it this morning and it locked up at the first corner!!
Post by: Dappers on February 04, 2012, 11:57:31 PM
Keys are a bit of a pain especially with them being electronic and expensive to replace. We have a small safe bolted into the tray of the truck so we can lock wallets keys etc in. For those with Trucks where is what looks like a big padlock which has a combination and hooks over a wishbone or other part under car. These can be found on surf/diving websites.     
Post by: speewa158 on February 05, 2012, 12:34:43 AM
Keys are a bit of a pain especially with them being electronic and expensive to replace. We have a small safe bolted into the tray of the truck so we can lock wallets keys etc in. For those with Trucks where is what looks like a big padlock which has a combination and hooks over a wishbone or other part under car. These can be found on surf/diving websites.     
I have 1 on the CT very handy & only about $50 at Locksmith  :cheers:
Post by: Chippy76 on February 05, 2012, 08:10:41 AM
Any links to these?

Cheers Chippy :D
Post by: OffRoadDave on February 05, 2012, 09:08:58 AM
Beware the electric brakes after washing the camper.I gave ours a good wash after the last muddy trip,then it sat in the shed for a couple of weeks.towed it this morning and it locked up at the first corner!!

Not sure if it's common, but mine lock up the first application out of the shed every time regardless of being washed or not, I wonder if it's the surface rust on the inside of the drum giving extra grip initially and once that's wiped off things go back to normal.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on February 05, 2012, 11:14:23 AM
Any links to these?

Heres some from a quick search

http://keywatchsystemsqld.com.au/key-lock-boxes (http://keywatchsystemsqld.com.au/key-lock-boxes)

Post by: NewcastleKnight on February 05, 2012, 12:49:28 PM
These are great collapsible buckets.

http://www.kellyscamping.com.au/p/5119512/companion-silicone-collapsible-bucket.html (http://www.kellyscamping.com.au/p/5119512/companion-silicone-collapsible-bucket.html)

Post by: Dappers on February 05, 2012, 08:26:28 PM
No links as I have a small safe with a key which came from Bunnings $30 any locksmith or surf shop/site have seen them in use bid enough for keys and wallet will have a look see if I can find a link

Dappers
Post by: loshde on February 06, 2012, 06:21:42 PM
not sure if it has been said as yet but we use frisbies for the kids plates because they can double as well .... frisbies  ;D

crai

Talk about double uses for plates.  My hubby recently walked the Kokoda Track and he took some frisbies (along with other bits and pieces) for the local kids.  Some of the kids were fighting over the frisbies so their mother came out, gave them a whack, took the frisbies off them, turned them over and served food on them.  Problem solved
Post by: LJs GU on February 06, 2012, 06:26:38 PM
Talk about double uses for plates.  My hubby recently walked the Kokoda Track and he took some frisbies (along with other bits and pieces) for the local kids.  Some of the kids were fighting over the frisbies so their mother came out, gave them a whack, took the frisbies off them, turned them over and served food on them.  Problem solved

:cup: What a great mental image...

In my mind she was just like the big fat black lady from Tom & Jerry...
Post by: martyn on February 07, 2012, 03:30:58 PM
Try to use devices that take the same size battery. I use a gazillion Eneloop AA rechargeable batteries, I no longer use anything in d or c size.

If you do have devices that require C's you can use http://www.dealextreme.com/p/translucent-1-aa-to-c-battery-converter-cases-2-pack-22595 (http://www.dealextreme.com/p/translucent-1-aa-to-c-battery-converter-cases-2-pack-22595) to convert AA's to C. They work like a charm although sometimes you need a little allfoil to help the battery make contact.
Post by: McAbouts on February 16, 2012, 08:26:11 AM
Not sure if this is on here already as it does go for pages. If you take your favorite 4 legged friend camping and he's black put a glow stick on his collar. I keep a packet in the camper and when used once can be popped in the freezer and used again the next night. I was getting a bit sick of tripping over our pooch and this solves my problem.

Louise :D
Post by: GGV8Cruza on February 16, 2012, 09:07:04 AM
Carry a set of ear plugs with you, you never know who you might have beside you when camping

Post by: Black Diamond on February 16, 2012, 09:15:15 AM
Carry a set of ear plugs with you, you never know who you might have beside you when camping

Thanks mate, i knew there was a reason you were avoiding me on the weekend  >:D
Post by: Chippy76 on February 16, 2012, 10:08:25 AM
I have three camping/travelling  tips -

1) Specific to the CT I have gone around the trailer and painted RED all the bits that need to be checked before driving off ( the rear legs, jockey wheel, hitch pins etc) that way it is just a quick walk around the CT to check everything is where it should be, and avoids and costly accidents .....

2) When setting up the gas stove at the campsite, turn the gas bottle tap on only enough to allow gas through. There is no need to open the valve all the way. This way IF there is a leak or accident, it is only a small turn to isolate the gas.

3) In relation to the vehicle. I like to keep my windscreen clean (hence I keep windex and a roll of paper towel under the seat to clean it every morning before we travel) however, when topping up the water reservoir under the bonnet, you cant always be sure of the quality of the water available. For that reason I stopped into a mower shop and bought an inline mower fuel filter to suit the size of the water hose to the sprayers. Now no matter how dirty the water, the spray jets never get blocked up with gunk.

Hope these help
Post by: BigJules on February 16, 2012, 10:41:38 AM
2) When setting up the gas stove at the campsite, turn the gas bottle tap on only enough to allow gas through. There is no need to open the valve all the way. This way IF there is a leak or accident, it is only a small turn to isolate the gas.

Not a bad idea.

As a scuba diver I learned that one fully opens the valve and then backs it off half a turn, then it's easy to check if it is open or not. Even thoguh they all turn the same way, doesn't anyone remember which way is off?
Post by: Ropes on February 16, 2012, 04:17:29 PM
Righty Tighty, Lefty Loosey ;D

I'm with you, I've always opened fully then back off half a turn and a valve is always checked by seeing if it can be shut. It's a safer check when working with 30Mpa air pressure.

With the just cracking open theory, just be sure you are still allowing enough gas flow through for the regulator to work properly.

Post by: Chippy76 on February 16, 2012, 05:46:44 PM
No reg on the camping stove ... :D

Post by: cewilson on February 16, 2012, 06:02:34 PM
Not sure if this is on here already as it does go for pages. If you take your favorite 4 legged friend camping and he's black put a glow stick on his collar. I keep a packet in the camper and when used once can be popped in the freezer and used again the next night. I was getting a bit sick of tripping over our pooch and this solves my problem.

Louise :D

I do that with the kids   :)
Post by: Manjimike on February 16, 2012, 06:14:50 PM
I keep a packet in the camper and when used once can be popped in the freezer and used again the next night.

Don't the kids get cold?   ;D ;D
Post by: Jon on February 16, 2012, 06:15:26 PM

1000's of tripping ravers cant be wrong. ;D
Post by: Ropes on February 16, 2012, 07:16:45 PM
I keep a packet in the camper and when used once can be popped in the freezer and used again the next night.

(http://members.iinet.net.au/~wgg/iinet/icons/114.gif)
Post by: UTE 701 on February 22, 2012, 08:01:12 PM
Have you ever been in a caravan ensuite site ( or a Motel ) and all you want to do is try and fill the kettle out of the tiny little basin .....

Try this idea ....   ( clean the dustpan first ....  maybe )

(http://i962.photobucket.com/albums/ae110/shootnrun_photos/My%20Swag%20Misc/basindustpan.jpg)

Or have you had your last pair of thongs start to blow out on you while away on a trip .

Try this quick repair solution ....  ( it's a bread bag tie )

(http://i962.photobucket.com/albums/ae110/shootnrun_photos/My%20Swag%20Misc/thongrepair.jpg)
Post by: Dragonfly on February 23, 2012, 07:17:17 PM
1. Zip lock bags are handy for so many different things (toilet rolls/snack bags/food leftovers/fruit & veg/meat etc).
2. The more space you have, the more you will carry.....
3. Dual ropes with springs are great for corners.
4. A snack bag for the kids each day comes in real handy.
5. Battery charger is terminated to an anderson plug.  Makes it real easy for hooking up when required.
6. Swags for the kids is quick and easy, albeit bulky.
7. A spare pin (tregg hitch) is a godsend when you have 'that' moment.
8. Try to be self-sufficient.  On longer trips buying batteries starts being expensive and annoying.
9. Square frypans are worth their weight in gold.
10. The harder it is to do, the less likely you will do it.  Have your trailer set-up so all you need is water, food and clothes.  There is stuff all difference between an overnighter and a week long trip, or even a four week trip.  You really don't change anything you carry.  Have it all there ready to go so you can make that 'impulse' decision on a Friday afternoon to just get away for the weekend.  They have been some of the best trips we have ever done as a family as we never knew what was going to happen next!

Oh and lastly carry a few spare tyre tubes.  Worst case scenario you can use them on your vehicle, but primary reason is the kids will go nuts with them in water (as do the big kids!).

Chris

Just remember to make sure that the valve stem points down towards the water. Now there's a mistake you only make once...
Post by: Dragonfly on February 23, 2012, 07:27:19 PM

Pure gold... had this problem in the Otways! Would have killed for ear plugs and the live beep thing to blank out the swearing...
Post by: Bennlexx on March 05, 2012, 05:19:19 PM
And if you forgot the earplugs, damp toilet paper made into a plugs makes a reasonable emergency set.
Post by: taipan on March 05, 2012, 07:06:33 PM
Would rather just stick to using the shower to fill the jug.  :cheers:

Have you ever been in a caravan ensuite site ( or a Motel ) and all you want to do is try and fill the kettle out of the tiny little basin .....

Try this idea ....   ( clean the dustpan first ....  maybe )

(http://i962.photobucket.com/albums/ae110/shootnrun_photos/My%20Swag%20Misc/basindustpan.jpg)

Or have you had your last pair of thongs start to blow out on you while away on a trip .

Try this quick repair solution ....  ( it's a bread bag tie )

(http://i962.photobucket.com/albums/ae110/shootnrun_photos/My%20Swag%20Misc/thongrepair.jpg)
Post by: Campfire on March 05, 2012, 08:13:12 PM
I travel for business alot around Aussie and when not home I'm living out of airports, hotels.

I've always been dedicated filling up my travel bag with all the little shampoos, soaps, body lotions, coffee, tea sachets and keep them in containers at home for trips away.

I have 1 wife and 2 x daughters so camping isn't exactly a " man vs wild" experience.

Campfire
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on March 05, 2012, 08:16:43 PM
I have 1 wife and 2 x daughters so camping isn't exactly a " man vs wild" experience.

Your Funny!   :cup:

Post by: Garry H on March 13, 2012, 08:52:56 PM
And if you forgot the earplugs, damp toilet paper made into a plugs makes a reasonable emergency set.

the best tip yet, not everything needs to be recycled, some things are best just used the once........
Post by: cheekygirl668 on March 13, 2012, 09:20:13 PM

love this  :laugh:
Post by: Willow Girl on May 07, 2012, 11:14:12 AM
A broom  and a spreader pole are my best friends!    With our camper it has a vertical wall over the bed so normally I struggle to extend it. Just yesterday tried using a spreader bar with a c clip on the end. I just extended the spreader bar out, pushed it onto the bar on the side of the bed as far as I could then turned the buckle on the main pole. Easy as. I had always struggled with this before, now .. easy as! :cup:
Ive found that with a broom I can set up AND pack up our camper on my own. A huge feat for me believe me!
Post by: Josh_WA on May 07, 2012, 11:41:36 AM
I travel for business alot around Aussie and when not home I'm living out of airports, hotels.

I've always been dedicated filling up my travel bag with all the little shampoos, soaps, body lotions, coffee, tea sachets and keep them in containers at home for trips away.

Campfire

I do exactly the same thing but we also keep a huge stash in the 2nd bathroom for when guests stay with us. It's handy as you just throw it out after they go.

Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on May 07, 2012, 05:20:18 PM

Broke the handle on our rake at home, so cut it down, refitted it and bought another rake for home.  It's ideal for moving grass, sticks, leaves, rocks and other debris around the camp so that you aren't trapesing it inside and it also makes a (sort of) fire break around the fire.  The second benifit from this is that everything you rake up (organic that is) can be used to light the fire.

The dual purpose I've noted down for the short rake is ... you can chase off wildlife with it ... don't laugh ... I look mean and fearce with a shortened rake in hand!!   ;D

Post by: bully60 on May 07, 2012, 06:38:02 PM
Check you have your mobile and wallet in The car before packing the tent, I got 15 minutes down the road and pulled in for my normal trailer check to hear my phone ringing from within the packed up tent. Luckily I could get to it from the rear part if the cover. People driving past must have laughed there butts off watching me climb into the tent whilst it was packed up to retrieve them.
Post by: singo-26 on May 07, 2012, 06:39:50 PM

Broke the handle on our rake at home, so cut it down, refitted it and bought another rake for home.  It's ideal for moving grass, sticks, leaves, rocks and other debris around the camp so that you aren't trapesing it inside and it also makes a (sort of) fire break around the fire.  The second benifit from this is that everything you rake up (organic that is) can be used to light the fire.

The dual purpose I've noted down for the short rake is ... you can chase off wildlife with it ... don't laugh ... I look mean and fearce with a shortened rake in hand!!   ;D

I am Kit-e hear me ROOOOAAAAARRRR.
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by: bullfrog on May 07, 2012, 07:27:10 PM
Yep. A mad woman waving a rake would scare the gravy out of me too  ;D ;D :cheers:
Post by: dav on May 07, 2012, 09:02:25 PM
Saw this at Seven Mile beach Holiday caravan park. Tent to small for the mattress !
Post by: cheekygirl668 on May 08, 2012, 09:18:49 AM
Check you have your mobile and wallet in The car before packing the tent, I got 15 minutes down the road and pulled in for my normal trailer check to hear my phone ringing from within the packed up tent. Luckily I could get to it from the rear part if the cover. People driving past must have laughed there butts off watching me climb into the tent whilst it was packed up to retrieve them.

damn where is the like button lol ;D
Post by: craigcurtin on May 08, 2012, 09:41:21 PM
Make sure you have a list of jobs for the kids when they arrive and in a set order

1) Clear out where the tent is going to lay out - all sticks to be picked up and stones moved
2) Layout all the tent poles for the annexes

For all those with too many annex poles etc -- we have colour coded all of ours using electrical tape and also ordered them by the number of coloured rings.

When we get to site the kids know their job is to get the poles and lay them out as follows

Red
Yellow
White

The poles have from 1 to four circles of tape on them so the kids lay them out in order where the annexes will be

Their next job is to then get out the tent pegs, mallet and ropes from the toolbox and lay them out with the poles

Then setup the camp chairs, and their stretcher beds

Then finally the annex floors and the doormat and then all done !!

We have found if you leave kids without a defined list of tasks then chaos ensues - instead they have a list each and they have a race to see who does theirs first.

Craig
Post by: LJs GU on May 09, 2012, 10:25:58 AM
Make sure you have a list of jobs for the kids when they arrive and in a set order

1) Clear out where the tent is going to lay out - all sticks to be picked up and stones moved
2) Layout all the tent poles for the annexes

For all those with too many annex poles etc -- we have colour coded all of ours using electrical tape and also ordered them by the number of coloured rings.

When we get to site the kids know their job is to get the poles and lay them out as follows

Red
Yellow
White

The poles have from 1 to four circles of tape on them so the kids lay them out in order where the annexes will be

Their next job is to then get out the tent pegs, mallet and ropes from the toolbox and lay them out with the poles

Then setup the camp chairs, and their stretcher beds

Then finally the annex floors and the doormat and then all done !!

We have found if you leave kids without a defined list of tasks then chaos ensues - instead they have a list each and they have a race to see who does theirs first.

Craig

Tried that with ours, but they're a bit young/lazy.  So our set order is:

1) Sit in the car, watch your dvd, suck on your chuppa chup, and DON'T GET UNDER MY FEET
2) See 1)

Set's the tone for the rest of the holiday.  'Happy Campers R Us'

LJ
Post by: LJs GU on May 09, 2012, 10:43:34 AM
O rings !!!

Been meaning to go get some spares for a while now.  I've noticed the one on the baby Q hose is starting to perish...

Learnt this the expensive way when we were in Kakadu many moons ago.  Had a leak on the 3 burner so had to McGiver a fix with a bit of chewy until we could replace the small o ring.  Finally found one at some outback shop... except it was still on the hose which had a price tag of $18. 

Basically $18 for an o ring!  I still have the hose, but have never/will never use it as the fitting on one end doesn't suit any of my gas bottles.

I'm sure I could of imported one for cheaper, but then that opens up a whole new arguement.  :angel:

Oh and elastic bands... the thick strong ones.  Come in plenty handy after duct tape.  (Tape on the mouth, a few lacky bands around the wrists = no kids getting under our feet.)

LJ
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on May 09, 2012, 11:56:09 AM
Oh and elastic bands... the thick strong ones. 

Yep.  I keep an assortment (large / small / should of been replaced but hell throw them in the bag anyways) of these in a coin bag with the ropes (lackie banded of course) and pegs.  Just never know when you need to lackie band something 'outside of the box'.

Post by: jswaggerking on February 09, 2015, 06:03:11 PM
Wouldn't have a clue if this has been said or not.
But bring two of them cheap blue tarps, one for putting on the floor before you bull your soft floor out to prevent dirt, due ect from wrecking your floor! And the other to put over your bed when you leave to prevent extra moisture from getting to your mattress.
Another tip is to put all your canvas walls and poles that go on the inside of your tent on your bed when you pack up that way you can pull up and pull out straight away with no mucking around.
Another tip for the kids, grab some off cuts of carpet and out on the floor of your camper once set up, this prevents your kids from putting holes ect through the floor and brings the 'homely' feeling to camping it's fantastic In winter keeps the warmth in.
Another is welding gloves for picking up your billy or camp oven, the kids will be awed in you putting your hands into the fire! Magic!
Another tarp tip, grab yourself a huge silver heavy duty tarp for longer stays, throw it over the top of your camper with some big poles leaving a gap between the tarp and the camper, this makes to camper sooooo much cooler and you get less glare ect in the morning when your windows are open, also ideal for rain.
Sorry to keep going I'm sure all these have been said, but LED strips! You can get 5m lengths on ebay for $8 I can't get enough of them, connect it to an Anderson plug or ciggy plug and enjoy a large area of light with minimal consumption.
One more thing!
I take my gazebo everywhere, set it up with the camper, use it for a cloths line, hang your lights and mozzy could ect from it, take it to the beach! Endless possibilities with a gazebo and tarp!

Hope these make your trip easier!

Post by: jswaggerking on February 09, 2015, 06:08:35 PM
Milk crate with the top cut out and a toilet seat zipties on top
Ideal for the ladies who don't like to squat!

Post by: Fizzie on April 19, 2016, 07:21:59 AM
Just found this thread when doing a search.

Bumped because of so many great idea's that people may like to see - actually deserves to be a sticky!

Post by: edz on April 19, 2016, 07:46:18 AM
DIY tarp joiners, could use grey or orange electrical conduit aswell .https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lq9svSKaB9c (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lq9svSKaB9c)
Post by: Fizzie on April 21, 2016, 09:30:49 AM
I'll throw one of my own in, that people may find handy.

With our CT. you have to lift the base of the Oztrail tent to put it up, but when you do, the mattress together with the sleeping bags, boy's stretchers etc that are all carried on top of the bed, all slide off the base onto the floor.

To fix that, we stretch a cargo net across the top of everything which hold's everything in place, as well as compressing it a bit so that the cover zips down OK.
Post by: Bird on December 29, 2017, 08:37:38 PM
no new tips?
Post by: D4D on December 29, 2017, 08:41:45 PM
no new tips?

Have to go camping to get new tips...
Post by: Bird on December 29, 2017, 08:45:25 PM
Have to go camping to get new tips...
yea, I need instructions on how to do that :(
Post by: Paddler Ed on December 29, 2017, 09:27:44 PM
Soccer ball under the cover of the camper helps to keep water from settling when it rains... not a frequent event, but useful to know...
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on December 30, 2017, 07:40:45 AM
Hi All, Heres a couple things I take when I go camping that come in handy, that I use all the time

20lt buckets with lids human consumption grade cost $8,50 each for water, make shore they pull a part. I have 5 white for water and 5 yellow for fishing and the boat
folding BBQ plate so sand does not get on it and birds do not poo on it after cooking it just folds up or over out the way , with bars under the plate for heating up your shower water, Craig

Post by: Rumpig on December 30, 2017, 08:50:59 AM
A very simple but effective shade structure a mate had here at camp the other day, here's how it went.
What you need....
One length of 25mm x 25mm tube bar, abit longer then the length of his swag
2 lengths of sail track the same length as tube bar
2 tent poles
2 cheap awning extensions (mate had Kings brand ones)
8 sand pegs and a few ropes to go with them

How it works....
At home, take the piece of 25mm x 25mm tube bar and on 2 opposing sides of it you attach some sail track down the length of each side, then drill a hole right through at each end of the tube bar for it to sit on a tent pole at each end.
At camp, take the awning extensions and slide these onto the sail tracks,  stand the tube bar ridge up on the 2 tent poles making the ridge to a desired height, 2 ropes on each pole holds them in location, the corners of the awning extensions then get tied out / down to a peg in each corner (the length of rope you use helps keep it raised above the ground to make for a bigger area, or you could simply peg the awnings directly to the ground for a smaller area)....job done. My mate had 2 single swags and a double swag set up under this shade structure, reckons it's great to sleep under as when it rains he can still have the swags open for keeping cool.
Post by: DrewXT on December 30, 2017, 09:02:46 AM
That's smart thinking, I like that idea

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Post by: Rumpig on December 30, 2017, 09:18:09 AM
That's smart thinking, I like that idea

yeah so simple and effective...I meant to get a pic of it, but never got around to doing so. We had a night with a pretty big down pour whilst they were here, they loved having their swags open and were more concerned about how deep the water may get around them, over what was falling from the sky.
Post by: gronk on December 30, 2017, 10:42:10 AM
Tip no 1......make sure you have enough beer for the duration.

Tip no 2......make sure you can keep the beer cold for the duration.

Everything else just falls into place !!   :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on December 31, 2017, 08:59:37 AM
Gronk    l can see merit in your planning    :cup:             :cheers:
Post by: avotrol on December 31, 2017, 11:07:24 AM
That's the problem with alcohol restricted areas, you end up having to resupply locally with whatever crap they are selling at usually inflated prices. So here's my tip, take plenty of money for said resupply  >:D
Post by: Pecky on January 05, 2018, 09:16:03 PM
Remove or secure (tape/cable ties) the plastic ends from roof cross bars as they may fall out on corrugated roads.

Pecky
Post by: Hoyks on January 05, 2018, 10:05:14 PM
If you are like me and light up the mozzie coils but keep losing the little holders they come with, raid the stationary cupboard for some bull dog clips or paper clips.

The paper clips can be daisy chained and are handy to stick through the hole in the middle and then hang off something convenient. I hang them off the under side of the table or the car.

The bull dog clips can either be used to clamp the middle of the coil or if you are real rebel, clamp the end and light the middle. A clip on each end makes it easy to attach to things like tent poles.

Post by: edz on January 06, 2018, 12:50:11 AM
Small tub of Borax powder to mix with honey / sugar or meat scraps and a few milk bottle lids to make ant bait stations to place around the camper tent /  trailer to CULL ants if camped in one spot for a while..
Im a  lazy so and so and usualy just stir the mixes together with out using boiling water,  they still eat the stuff .. Ants are all over it one day and usualy all gone the next .
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IKYbabTzGvo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IKYbabTzGvo) ..Not a fan of spraying sticky liquid over the gear ..
$2 Solar garden lights X 6  or a couple of strings of white or blue LED fairy lights to zip tie to or place around the awning poles tops or  base and Toilet ensuite, Gives a nice low light ambience around the camper at night / Instead of glaring LED strips .
Post by: Hookie on January 06, 2018, 05:51:01 AM
If you are like me and light up the mozzie coils but keep losing the little holders they come with, raid the stationary cupboard for some bull dog clips or paper clips.

You can buy a can of 30 for $5. The can functions as a holder and has a handle on top for easy hanging, and it's all enclosed so no worries about burning anything. The only down side is you have to put the other 29 coils somewhere else while you're using it.

I burned coils 24 hrs in our soft floor to keep them from wandering in and it was well worth it.
Post by: DrewXT on January 06, 2018, 08:35:50 AM
We use an indoor citronella bug spray on a timer inside the camper to keep the bugs at bay..

Post by: Pottsy on January 07, 2018, 04:57:58 PM
150mm piece of 20mm dowel with a 6mm rod fitted in the end protruding by 25mm and you have a handy lever for nipping up T nuts on annexe and tent poles.  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Alan Loy on January 07, 2018, 05:21:42 PM
We use an indoor citronella bug spray on a timer inside the camper to keep the bugs at bay..

I presume this works for you, I've never had any luck with citronella candles outside so am happy to find a non toxic way to keep bugs away
Post by: Bird on January 07, 2018, 05:41:14 PM
150mm piece of 20mm dowel with a 6mm rod fitted in the end protruding by 25mm and you have a handy lever for nipping up T nuts on annexe and tent poles.  ;D ;D ;D
or a tent peg ;)
Post by: GeoffA on January 07, 2018, 05:57:15 PM
150mm piece of 20mm dowel with a 6mm rod fitted in the end protruding by 25mm and you have a handy lever for nipping up stripping T nuts on annexe and tent poles.  ;D ;D ;D

Fixed....
Post by: xcvator on January 07, 2018, 07:24:51 PM

I just sit Bronny in the door way  >:D she's the best mozzie bait going, they don't come near me  ;D
Post by: Pottsy on January 07, 2018, 08:08:41 PM
Fixed....
I did say nip not bloody gorilla grip!!!!!
 :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Post by: wilson79 on January 12, 2018, 01:52:29 PM
One of my favourite little tips or Mods, was getting a storage pocket sewed onto my wheel covers, great for putting the annex floor in and wet hoses etc..
Post by: wilson79 on January 12, 2018, 01:55:11 PM
Another great for summer tip, get two wall fans mounted back to back on a piece of timber and hook it onto you tent bows.. when camping at powered sites these are great for summer nights..

I also made up a bracket that I can clamp onto my outside Annex poles which allows me to also put these fans outside if it is a hot still day..
Post by: Bird on January 12, 2018, 02:34:29 PM
Another great for summer tip, get two wall fans mounted back to back on a piece of timber and hook it onto you tent bows.. when camping at powered sites these are great for summer nights..

I also made up a bracket that I can clamp onto my outside Annex poles which allows me to also put these fans outside if it is a hot still day..
would work ok with 2x 12v fans with ciggy plugs on the end... :)
Post by: wilson79 on January 12, 2018, 02:57:03 PM
nah 12v fans don't push the amount of air these buggers do.. when I was living in NQ they were awesome..

I have some 12 v ones fro free camping but much smaller ones just the $30.00 ones from Supercheap though..
Post by: skog on January 12, 2018, 06:46:09 PM
One of my favourite little tips or Mods, was getting a storage pocket sewed onto my wheel covers, great for putting the annex floor in and wet hoses etc..
That is a good idea

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk

Post by: Paddler Ed on January 21, 2018, 08:51:35 AM
Make sure that you shut all hatches and compartments... it's tiring for the caravan park staff to chase after people when they haven't shut them...

(Just done the 100m for the first time in a very long time chasing someone who'd left the battery hatch open on their motorhome... luckily another guest was driving out and caught them at the end of the road for me!)
Post by: edz on January 21, 2018, 09:17:03 AM
Wonder if the glass from our war game Vegimite jar Molotov cocktails  still litter the side of  that drive way  ...  Had some epic battles in and around that park    ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on May 28, 2021, 05:04:09 PM
Quote from: DrewXT
Where from?
Post by: GGV8Cruza on May 28, 2021, 05:41:31 PM
Where from?

https://www.woolworths.com.au/shop/productdetails/729640?googleshop=true&store_code=woolworths_supermarkets_3113&cvosrc=ppc.google_lia.&cvo_campaign=&cvo_crid=250420925934&Matchtype=&ds_rl=1260749&ds_rl=1260758&ds_rl=1260749&cmpid=smsm:ds:GOOGLE:Woolies_8458_BAU_Shopping_LIA_H%26O%20High_WW-0001:PRODUCT_GROUP&gclid=CjwKCAjwqcKFBhAhEiwAfEr7zb_GNp_tAe8ffSP8DPNalaaSWQIfet7-R7XBQ9t4NbXVU9bV6GfdgxoCcwAQAvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds (https://www.woolworths.com.au/shop/productdetails/729640?googleshop=true&store_code=woolworths_supermarkets_3113&cvosrc=ppc.google_lia.&cvo_campaign=&cvo_crid=250420925934&Matchtype=&ds_rl=1260749&ds_rl=1260758&ds_rl=1260749&cmpid=smsm:ds:GOOGLE:Woolies_8458_BAU_Shopping_LIA_H%26O%20High_WW-0001:PRODUCT_GROUP&gclid=CjwKCAjwqcKFBhAhEiwAfEr7zb_GNp_tAe8ffSP8DPNalaaSWQIfet7-R7XBQ9t4NbXVU9bV6GfdgxoCcwAQAvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds)

Maybe something like this Bird

Post by: Bird on May 28, 2021, 05:46:55 PM
https://www.woolworths.com.au/shop/productdetails/729640?googleshop=true&store_code=woolworths_supermarkets_3113&cvosrc=ppc.google_lia.&cvo_campaign=&cvo_crid=250420925934&Matchtype=&ds_rl=1260749&ds_rl=1260758&ds_rl=1260749&cmpid=smsm:ds:GOOGLE:Woolies_8458_BAU_Shopping_LIA_H%26O%20High_WW-0001:PRODUCT_GROUP&gclid=CjwKCAjwqcKFBhAhEiwAfEr7zb_GNp_tAe8ffSP8DPNalaaSWQIfet7-R7XBQ9t4NbXVU9bV6GfdgxoCcwAQAvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds (https://www.woolworths.com.au/shop/productdetails/729640?googleshop=true&store_code=woolworths_supermarkets_3113&cvosrc=ppc.google_lia.&cvo_campaign=&cvo_crid=250420925934&Matchtype=&ds_rl=1260749&ds_rl=1260758&ds_rl=1260749&cmpid=smsm:ds:GOOGLE:Woolies_8458_BAU_Shopping_LIA_H%26O%20High_WW-0001:PRODUCT_GROUP&gclid=CjwKCAjwqcKFBhAhEiwAfEr7zb_GNp_tAe8ffSP8DPNalaaSWQIfet7-R7XBQ9t4NbXVU9bV6GfdgxoCcwAQAvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds)

Maybe something like this Bird
could be... need somethign for outdoor area at teh house.
Post by: Fizzie on May 30, 2021, 01:56:38 PM
Had this come through the e-mail earlier on, so thought I'd share

https://www.withoutahitch.com.au/caravan/buying-used-deal-breakers (https://www.withoutahitch.com.au/caravan/buying-used-deal-breakers)

Pretty basic, & some of them are obvious, but never hurts to have some suggestions on things to check, or watch out for!
Post by: Steffo1 on May 30, 2021, 03:00:21 PM
could be... need somethign for outdoor area at teh house.

I tried something similar on our deck and found the spray range too limited. Perfect for a camper, though.
Coverage was also affected by air currents/breeze.

Am now using two, citronella fuelled hurricane lamps. We don't have a severe bitey problem, though.