Author Topic: Advice on locations SE QLD / N NSW  (Read 16094 times)

Offline swallowtail

Advice on locations SE QLD / N NSW
« on: November 16, 2014, 09:12:56 PM »
I realise that this may open a complete can of worms of everyone's own wonderful experiences etc. but here goes  ;D

We are looking for somewhere to go camping in mid-December for 10 days up to Christmas, not too far from Brisbane. Ideal requirements:

1. We like peace and quiet. No freight trains or sites next to Cunningham Hwy.
2. We like peace and quiet in the site, which is why we go when we do - typically most places are almost empty up to 24th / 25th.
3. We have a medium-duty off-road-ish Camper trailer towed by an AWD SUV (BMW X3), not a Landcruiser, so we need to be able to get there...  8)
4. We like places where we can pull up, look around, and pick where looks nice under a nice tree etc., not be told - "That is your 3m by 3m space there".
5. We have shower capability, and was thinking about getting up portable loo capability this year, so are open to places that don't have them, but will need to top up water occasionally from a tap. Having said that if somewhere has toilets, then that could work ok.
6. Looking for somewhere ideally within 2 hrs of Bris. If it was perfect, maybe a little further.
7. Need room for some other families to join us for a few days.

So bring on the suggestions.

Places we have enjoyed in the past have been Bigriggen and Kenilworth (main drawcard for both of those was the open fields, just select a spot), but open to somewhere a little more remote as long as we can get there.

Suggestions?

Re: Advice on locations SE QLD / N NSW
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2014, 09:35:13 PM »
Jump in the car and go for a drive. You'll find somewhere..or there is a tonne of trip reports on this forum with heaps of spots mentioned

My thoughts are , to find that type of place you describe you need to drive more then 2 hours from Brisbane.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2014, 06:23:54 AM by oldmate »

Offline swallowtail

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2014, 10:39:00 PM »
Found this place online http://www.fernhillpk.com/

I did a search but no one on here appears to have had much to say about it. Looks OK though...

Unfortunately I don't have the luxury of enough time to spend hours driving around to by chance stumble on somewhere perfect...  8)

« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2014, 11:04:53 PM »
Peacock creek west of Toonumbar dam out of  Kyogle, dirt road can be a bit rough at times .. Honesty box payment  footy field flat area fire pits weather shed drop toilets and the creek isnt far of the side ..Aprox 1hr 30 from Tweed Heads..
Usualy no one else around https://plus.google.com/102347410715352945011/about?gl=au&hl=en   or stay at the dam

www.visitkyogle.com.au/index.php/accommodation/category/camping/]
« Last Edit: November 16, 2014, 11:10:30 PM by edz »

« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2014, 06:27:21 AM »
Found this place online http://www.fernhillpk.com/

I did a search but no one on here appears to have had much to say about it. Looks OK though...

Unfortunately I don't have the luxury of enough time to spend hours driving around to by chance stumble on somewhere perfect...  8)

Place seems ok. I've never been there. Any of the places kb has put up are fine also, and you will find info on a few of them on this forum

Getting there is sometimes the adventure itself.   ;D

Here is a great blog from the blog section on this forum with heaps of spots to go.

http://guthriefamilyadventures.blogspot.com.au/

And mine although not much in it yet

http://ultimateadventuresblog.wordpress.com/

Under trip/track section you can find  members blogs with heaps of info.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2014, 06:33:55 AM by oldmate »

Offline swallowtail

« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2014, 07:21:53 PM »
Levuka looks interesting... Are the camping spots nice and quiet?

« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2014, 07:28:11 PM »
It is a big area but on some weekends it can also be very busy.  Lots of four wheel drive clubs go there.  It is nothing fancy but I enjoyed it.  Need to take all supplies as the nearest shop and pub are not close

Offline smythy17

« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2014, 07:50:25 PM »
Liking the look of some of these areas. Darlington park looks nice. Thinking us swaggers should do a trip around this area soon..

« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2014, 07:53:47 PM »
Liking the look of some of these areas. Darlington park looks nice. Thinking us swaggers should do a trip around this area soon..
we did a MySwag trip there several months back, was a good weekend  8) I went past Darlington on the weekend just gone heading to camp on a private property just up the road from there, the place was like a refugee camp with the Brisbane G20 long weekend

Offline smythy17

« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2014, 08:04:53 PM »
we did a MySwag trip there several months back, was a good weekend  8) I went past Darlington on the weekend just gone heading to camp on a private property just up the road from there, the place was like a refugee camp with the Brisbane G20 long weekend

Bugger.. That was BC (before camper).

« Reply #11 on: November 17, 2014, 08:34:18 PM »
Levuka looks interesting... Are the camping spots nice and quiet?
Yes levuka is a great spot, but don't tell anyone.. Lol. We go here all the time by ourselves.

« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2014, 08:44:01 PM »
Yes levuka is a great spot, but don't tell anyone.. Lol. We go here all the time by ourselves.
you mean you have no friends Olly?  >:D

« Reply #13 on: November 17, 2014, 08:46:26 PM »

you mean you have no friends Olly?  >:D

Best way to be I reckon.  ;D

« Reply #14 on: November 17, 2014, 08:48:50 PM »

Best way to be I reckon.  ;D
its must be long overdue for a camping trip down this way Olly? when we going to catch up again mate?  :cheers:

« Reply #15 on: November 17, 2014, 08:50:16 PM »

« Reply #16 on: November 17, 2014, 08:54:05 PM »
its must be long overdue for a camping trip down this way Olly? when we going to catch up again mate?  :cheers:

Yep for sure.  We will be down northern nsw over Xmas, but not coastal.  We leave on Thursday to go to the mt victoria/lithgow for a wedding ( my bro) on Saturday then spending a few nights coming home. 

Will have to organise something soon, maybe Aussie day somewhere?

« Reply #17 on: November 17, 2014, 08:56:36 PM »
Yep for sure.  We will be down northern nsw over Xmas, but not coastal.  We leave on Thursday to go to the mt victoria/lithgow for a wedding ( my bro) on Saturday then spending a few nights coming home. 

Will have to organise something soon, maybe Aussie day somewhere?
we will be at Brooms Head from 21st Dec. cold beer aplenty for a weary traveller  8)

« Reply #18 on: November 17, 2014, 08:57:40 PM »
we will be at Brooms Head from 21st Dec. cold beer aplenty for a weary traveller  8)

Mmmmm. May just drop over. Will see which way we decide to go

Offline swallowtail

« Reply #19 on: November 17, 2014, 09:42:01 PM »
I like the look of Levuka.

Current alternates are Fernhill, but it's further. http://www.fernhillpk.com/

Or Mt Barney Lodge - http://www.mtbarneylodge.com.au/

I was looking at Murphys Creek Escape but am a bit put off by the idea of half-hourly trains all through the night  ???

Offline Mallory Black

« Reply #20 on: November 17, 2014, 11:32:36 PM »
Bigriggen's alright for your type of camping. 5 mins west of Rathdowney

1. They don't like crowding out the campground (tick)
2. Has amenities (tick)
3. family oriented (tick)
4. Not on a noisy highway (tick)
5. can get to with a normal car (tick)
6. under 21's can't go in solo (tick)
7. good base for day trips or for lazing in the river (tick)

better book now because they stick to item one big time
1998 3.4V6 Prado & homebuilt rear fold soft floor

« Reply #21 on: November 18, 2014, 06:16:17 AM »
I like the look of Levuka.

Current alternates are Fernhill, but it's further. http://www.fernhillpk.com/

Or Mt Barney Lodge - http://www.mtbarneylodge.com.au/

I was looking at Murphys Creek Escape but am a bit put off by the idea of half-hourly trains all through the night  ???

I've stayed at murphy's and never noticed trains??

For my Barney I would stay here, although I have never been to the lodge

http://www.mtbarneyretreat.com.au/bartopia.html

Bens a great bloke.

« Reply #22 on: November 18, 2014, 03:59:40 PM »
Bigriggen's alright for your type of camping. 5 mins west of Rathdowney

1. They don't like crowding out the campground (tick) Yet they jam in 1500 people at Easer
2. Has amenities (tick) 3 showers, even when there are 15oo people at Easter
3. family oriented (tick) agreed
4. Not on a noisy highway (tick)unless you count all the people that continualy drive back and forth to the only ameneties block
5. can get to with a normal car (tick)that's true
6. under 21's can't go in solo (tick) under 18's are not permitted unless accompanied by an "adult", yet they charge adult rates if your over 15
7. good base for day trips or for lazing in the river (tick) and it is a nice creek to laze in

better book now because they stick to item one big time but don't try and make a group booking, it's all too hard. You cant book for a group under one name, every one must book individually. They wont take your booking over the phone, it has to be on line. You must pay in full in advance. For a lot of popular week-ends you have to pay for Friday night, even if you cant get there on Friday, but if you can get there on Friday, your not allowed to arrive after 8pm

Sorry for the rant. I like this place, it's a nice spot that is close to home. My regular group of 7 families used to go there quite a lot for over the years, until we tried to make our regular group booking a few years ago and the new Gestapo management became too hard to do business with :'( Anyway, try Bigriggen. It is a nice place, I've just been left with a sour taste from their recent change of management and have a biased view.

OK, perhaps this info is more inline with the original post, here is my list of local (and near local)spots.

Many have already been mentioned and no doubt people will have strong views on some of the places (like I do with Bigriggen), but it's half the fun to find out for yourself if you like a place or not.

http://www.nprsr.qld.gov.au/parks/daguilar/index.html
http://www.nprsr.qld.gov.au/parks/imbil/index.html
http://www.nprsr.qld.gov.au/parks/crows-nest/index.html
http://www.nprsr.qld.gov.au/parks/glen-rock/index.html
http://www.nprsr.qld.gov.au/parks/main-range/about.html
http://www.gordoncountry.com.au/
http://www.ncbr.com.au/
http://www.nprsr.qld.gov.au/parks/jimna/index.html
http://springgullystays.com.au/caravan-and-tent-sites/
http://www.barambahbush.com.au/
http://www.nprsr.qld.gov.au/parks/benarkin/index.html
http://www.sandycreekcampin.com.au/sandy-creek-camping.php
http://www.yarramalongcamping.com.au/14.html
http://www.borumbadeerpark.com/index.html
http://www.brooloopark.com/brooloo/pages/home.php
http://www.yandillacampingandfarmstay.com.au/
http://www.environment.nsw.gov.au/nationalparks/parkhome.aspx?id=N0001
http://www.bestbrook.com.au/camping.htm
[urlhttp://fordsdalefarmstay.com/camping/][/url]
http://www.murphyscreekescape.com.au/accommadation/index.html
http://www.nprsr.qld.gov.au/parks/girraween/index.html
http://www.goomburravalleycampground.com.au/
http://www.lakeleslietouristpark.com.au/
http://www.queenmaryfallscaravanpark.com.au/
http://www.nprsr.qld.gov.au/parks/sundown/index.html
http://washpoolcampingreserve.com.au/

Offline Mallory Black

« Reply #23 on: November 18, 2014, 07:53:10 PM »
Hey Spada,
Sorry to hear your Bigriggen experience was different to mine
Did the October labour day weekend there and they were booked out but seriously could have gotten plenty more campers in there.

In comparison, Flannigans up the road looked absolutely packed and every time we drove past there was a pall of dust over the whole thing. I know a bunch of swaggers were there that weekend, what's their feedback?

Back to Bigriggen...Don't know how long the current management have been there but they were very organized with our access passes,they had a pile of extra portable loos on hand and they were very active with keeping it all clean.
Agreed about the booking thing but I actually prefer this because we've booked friends acquaintances people we don't associate with any more...under our name in the past only to have them no show so blow that anyway.

As for the showers, they are coin op, 4 mins max so the turnaround is quite good, but I do get the problems some families might have with a rush hour and sorting out small kids etc. I did notice quite a few campers had their own shower ensuites and the management had no problem with that
We treat amenities as a bit of a luxury, we are used to showering with 5 lts water each in camp so that 3 min shower I had was an indulgence, I thought it was alright and I'm pretty picky.
The princesses who are too lazy to walk to the amenities, lets be honest that crap happens in lots of parks with 2WD access

Yes they are not all that cheap but I value my right to "peaceful enjoyment' of my camping above all else and for a long weekend so close and accessible to a capital city I thought it was alright.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2014, 08:00:48 PM by Mallory Black »
1998 3.4V6 Prado & homebuilt rear fold soft floor

Offline swallowtail

« Reply #24 on: November 19, 2014, 09:12:18 PM »
Lots of very interesting responses... :)

Firstly thanks to all for all of the hints - incredibly useful.

We've tried some of the places mentioned before - I have had less than pleasant experiences at Bigriggen with a bunch of yobbos, so won't be back there in a hurry.  ;D

We are looking through the lists given, will hopefully make a call soon! Again thanks all.