Author Topic: Show us your bike (bicycle)  (Read 489377 times)

Offline NewieCamper

Re: Show us your bike (bicycle)
« Reply #900 on: October 09, 2017, 04:28:38 AM »
After cracking the head tube on my Yeti, I've got a stop gap solution until I find another nice bike. The yeti was all old spec. 26", straight head tube, Standard QR, screw in BB.

Bought a cheap dually (Scott Aspect) and switched all my decent running gear onto it. Reckon I dropped near 3kg off it. Mostly by upgrading the Dart forks to Reba and switching the cheap and heavy wheels and tyres to some decent TWE wheels and lightweight cross mark tyres.

« Reply #901 on: October 21, 2017, 05:25:40 PM »
My dad has been scanning his old photos and found a few pics of my old road bike. Circa 1990, Cecil Walker (Paconi built) 531 Reynolds frame, full Shimano Ultegra group set, Campag wheels and seat post, Cinelli stem and bars, and Look clipless pedals. I did a lot of klms on this bike.

« Last Edit: October 21, 2017, 05:28:02 PM by D4D »

« Reply #902 on: October 22, 2017, 05:01:00 AM »
Nice bike, D4D. What Club did ya race for?

Offline b1

« Reply #903 on: October 26, 2017, 05:22:37 PM »
ALL GONE  ;D ;D ;D

Cleaning up the garage I have some mountain bike stuff that others might be able to use

4 LED lights that I used when doing 24hr TEAM events. Haven't been used for a couple of years and was going to toss them. Plugged them into the batteries that haven't been used for the same amount of time and they still worked !! No idea how lond they might last I think I have 4 lights, 5 chargers, 3 batteries, 3 head/helmet mounts and various other bits and bobs that go with it.Gonski

Also have an action camera. Charges via USB. Cables, mounts, instructions. Used it a couple of times but didn't enjoy editing and lost interest.

Also a used Prologo X10 saddle

Pick up from Southern Sydney or Swagmail and they're yours.

Send me a PM.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2017, 10:56:10 AM by b1 »
The first 50 years of my childhood have been the hardest

« Reply #904 on: October 27, 2017, 06:14:42 PM »
New bike day for my son, an early birthday present, it's been on order for 3 months. Upgrade from a 20 inch to a 24 inch, hydraulic disc brakes, trigger shift gears and an air fork. Now to shred some trails.

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #905 on: October 28, 2017, 04:22:35 PM »
After doing a few k's on the Aldi 29r I gone back over the bike and given it a few adjustments here and there and ran a spanner over everything. So far I'm happy with the bike. Bang for buck I don't think you can beat it. Went and looked at a few 24 inch hardtails for my boy for Christmas. Just need to pick one. Pretty limited choices in town.
Cheers, Mike.

2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #906 on: October 28, 2017, 04:35:14 PM »
I have an Aldi 29er and the only thing that I've done to it is........ Check all bearing tensions and tighten up a few spokes on the back wheel. I'm more than happy with it for a thrash about bike.  ;D It is better speced than the entry level Trek equivalent.  ;)

« Reply #907 on: October 28, 2017, 04:58:36 PM »
After doing a few k's on the Aldi 29r I gone back over the bike and given it a few adjustments here and there and ran a spanner over everything. So far I'm happy with the bike. Bang for buck I don't think you can beat it. Went and looked at a few 24 inch hardtails for my boy for Christmas. Just need to pick one. Pretty limited choices in town.
Cheers, Mike.
I have an Aldi 29er and the only thing that I've done to it is........ Check all bearing tensions and tighten up a few spokes on the back wheel. I'm more than happy with it for a thrash about bike.  ;D It is better speced than the entry level Trek equivalent.  ;)

?????iszzc5 ^ eandfdaatt5ttrga

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

« Reply #908 on: November 01, 2017, 05:52:22 AM »
?????iszzc5 ^ eandfdaatt5ttrga

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
N + I = an Avanti Chrono TT bike will be making it's way into my fold on the weekend.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

« Last Edit: November 03, 2017, 03:36:45 PM by Foo »

« Reply #909 on: November 02, 2017, 10:01:57 PM »
N + I = an Avanti Crono TT bike will be making it's way into my fold on the weekend.

Dadaa

« Reply #910 on: November 03, 2017, 05:48:40 AM »
Dadaa

Damn 15 year olds building bikes, the front brake is on the wrong way round :)

« Reply #911 on: November 03, 2017, 06:20:30 AM »
Damn 15 year olds building bikes, the front brake is on the wrong way round :)
WTF? 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Offline BC66

« Reply #912 on: November 03, 2017, 07:26:34 AM »
My dad has been scanning his old photos and found a few pics of my old road bike. Circa 1990, Cecil Walker (Paconi built) 531 Reynolds frame, full Shimano Ultegra group set, Campag wheels and seat post, Cinelli stem and bars, and Look clipless pedals. I did a lot of klms on this bike.

That’s very similar to my bike, I have a Hillman built 531 Reynolds frame, same wheels and Shimano 600 Arabesque group set . Will never part with it. I’ve had it for 37 years now

« Reply #913 on: November 05, 2017, 02:28:50 PM »
Got my new toy home this morning and fitted my race wheels to it, after a wash down of the running gear. I think it looks pretty damn good.  8)

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #914 on: November 05, 2017, 05:13:37 PM »
http://www.bauerbikes.co.nz/images/bikes/boys/ambush-24-blue-large.jpg

My boys Chrissy present. Not a big brand name bike but had more bling than Treks and the like. My next choice was the Polygon Relic Evo 24 but my boy didn't like the colour scheme. The Polygon was a higher spec bike for the same price as the Bauer. The Bauer was local as well so doing my bit to keep some money in town while things are slow.
Cheers, Mike.

2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

Offline A-frame81

« Reply #915 on: November 06, 2017, 06:52:18 PM »
Nice! I have an old Bauer I've turned into a single speed.:

Here's my old Apollo that I rebuilt a few years ago. Might not be the lightest thing going around but it works for me (I'm no the lightest thing going around either  :D)
Before:

After:

« Reply #916 on: November 06, 2017, 09:40:03 PM »
Nice! I have an old Bauer I've turned into a single speed.:

Here's my old Apollo that I rebuilt a few years ago. Might not be the lightest thing going around but it works for me (I'm no the lightest thing going around either  :D)
Before:

After:

Nothin wrong with the old bikes, especially when they are done up.

« Reply #917 on: November 07, 2017, 11:03:19 AM »
Had the rear shifter cable snapped last Friday.
It was a difficult ride home with only 2 gears: 34x11 or 48x11.
I managed it and installed a new cable on the weekend. Took the time to take the cassette off and added another spacer as it was still moving around a little.
Now all quiet. It took a while to get the adjustment correctly done, but all good now.

« Reply #918 on: November 07, 2017, 11:33:21 AM »
It was a difficult ride home with only 2 gears: 34x11 or 48x11.

Nice, I hope it was downhill :)

« Reply #919 on: November 07, 2017, 12:04:29 PM »
Nice, I hope it was downhill :)

Not all the way. The flyover the Freeway was the hardest part.
And as I only have the use of one arm, I can't stand on the pedals.

Offline NewieCamper

« Reply #920 on: November 07, 2017, 08:59:10 PM »
Had the rear shifter cable snapped last Friday.
It was a difficult ride home with only 2 gears: 34x11 or 48x11
I've had the opposite happen, not fun either. Shifter died and stuck in the lowest gear. Wasn't hard work making it home, but slow, and an awful lot of pedalling.

Offline BC66

« Reply #921 on: November 07, 2017, 09:03:05 PM »
I've had the opposite happen, not fun either. Shifter died and stuck in the lowest gear. Wasn't hard work making it home, but slow, and an awful lot of pedalling.
Once I was going full speed down hill that ended in a T intersection so I pulled it into 1st with anticipation of stopping at the bottom and the chain jumped off and got jammed between the spokes and cluster. Lol locked it up and couldn’t do a thing but stay on it then it wore through the tyre and popped the tube.

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #922 on: November 08, 2017, 05:27:48 AM »
New bike day for my son, an early birthday present, it's been on order for 3 months. Upgrade from a 20 inch to a 24 inch, hydraulic disc brakes, trigger shift gears and an air fork. Now to shred some trails.

ok... I know it specifically says USA and Canada, but then this is mainly a North American website too.

might be worthwhile checking your sons new bike anyway...

http://www.bicycleretailer.com/recalls/2017/11/07/norco-recalling-childrens-bikes-because-crank-failures#.WgIIrBOCyF0

« Last Edit: November 08, 2017, 05:37:12 AM by MuruCycles »
Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.0
2 x titanium fatbikes with 4.8" tyres

« Reply #923 on: November 08, 2017, 05:30:48 AM »
ok... I know it specifically says USA and Canada, but then this is mainly a North American website too.

might be worthwhile checking your sons new bike anyway...

http://www.bicycleretailer.com/recalls/2017/11/07/norco-recalling-childrens-bikes-because-crank-failures#.WgIIrBOCyF0

Thanks! That covers his bike, I'll have to check it out.

Edit - just checked his bike, it is fitted with the updated AC-13 cranks already, as per the Norco site, so no issue.
http://www.norco.com/samox-crankset-recall/
« Last Edit: November 08, 2017, 05:36:26 AM by D4D »

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #924 on: November 08, 2017, 05:36:46 AM »
Thanks! That covers his bike, I'll have to check it out.

Edit - just checked his bike, it is fitted with the updated AC-13 cranks already, as per the Norco site, so no issue.
http://www.norco.com/samox-crankset-recall/

great news!

always good to see!
Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.0
2 x titanium fatbikes with 4.8" tyres