Author Topic: Unmarked police cars , what would you do ?  (Read 12853 times)

Re: Unmarked police cars , what would you do ?
« Reply #75 on: January 01, 2019, 07:00:24 PM »
That’s operation mercury. The officer is tasked to respond to collisions on the highways so the road is cleared ASAP. It’s a rostered shift not paid by RMS.

I'm only going off what the young bloke tells us,he is in a highway patrol command and does that shift often and it is in addition to his regular shift roster. He does it for the OT money to pay bills.

« Reply #76 on: January 01, 2019, 07:18:07 PM »
I'm only going off what the young bloke tells us,he is in a highway patrol command and does that shift often and it is in addition to his regular shift roster. He does it for the OT money to pay bills.

Yep they work a rostered 8hrs shift and then RMS pay the over time to take it up to a 12hr shift. 

Offline JusyApples

« Reply #77 on: January 01, 2019, 08:33:19 PM »
Yep they work a rostered 8hrs shift and then RMS pay the over time to take it up to a 12hr shift.
It’s a ten hour shift with 2hrs overtime but not for operation mercury. That’s a straight 10hr shift with no overtime.

It’s definitely not a cancelled rest day meaning 10hrs of OT.

Bought a what?
Researching my next camper

Offline JusyApples

« Reply #78 on: January 01, 2019, 08:34:12 PM »
Has operation mercury been going continuously for the last 6 or 7 years?
Just asking as I’ve noticed those parked cars at overpasses and near merging lanes checking plates for at least the last 6 years.
In Sydney yes it’s been going for years, was previously called Freeflow.

Bought a what?

« Reply #79 on: January 02, 2019, 06:34:45 AM »
It’s a ten hour shift with 2hrs overtime but not for operation mercury. That’s a straight 10hr shift with no overtime.

It’s definitely not a cancelled rest day meaning 10hrs of OT.

Depends what their shift already was, 10hr or default 8hr, which ever RMS takes it up to 12hrs.

Offline JusyApples

« Reply #80 on: January 02, 2019, 06:38:59 AM »
Depends what their shift already was, 10hr or default 8hr, which ever RMS takes it up to 12hrs.
There is no 8hr shift.
Hwp do 10 hr shifts (9.5hrs with 30min meal break)
Certain shifts have a provision for 2hrs overtime.
The only 8hr shifts are cancelled rest days, meaning it’s actually a day off but the officer works and gets paid more. This is generally funded by the centre for road safety.
Bought a what?

« Reply #81 on: January 02, 2019, 08:23:24 AM »
In Queensland, you can go online at any time and check the status of your vehicle rego.  You can choose to have an electronic reminder sent and if you have a smart phone, that date is automatically added to your calendar.  No excuse really, except laziness.

Now if you do get caught unregistered, the first time, you will still get a ticket but if you immediately go to Qld Transport and pay your rego, like that day or the next business day, the ticket will be cancelled, no questions asked.  Just don’t do it again.

And for the people who aren't on the internet, and don't have a smart phone? They do exist. There are quite a few old people who just aren't tech that savvy. But anyway, doesn't excuse the actions and attitude of the copper in that clip. I stand by my original statement.

Oh, you can also add "not too bright" to his faults. If you see a dog sitting beside it's owner, clearly in a protective role, you should expect that it may have a go at you, if you start man-handling the owner. Would have been much easier to let her secure the dog first.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #82 on: January 02, 2019, 09:02:36 AM »
I wouldn’t have afforded her anywhere near the courtesy he did.

« Reply #83 on: January 02, 2019, 12:16:52 PM »
Rule # 1 = For patrolman pat in future, Dont do Shit in front of known  camera's ..
No footage other than chase / Only She said He said and did / Judge takes into account Blue Badge of reality statement / fail to stop / chase, drive unregistered what ever / case / sentence etc finalised,  pay fine, Whinge all you like lady .
No Trial by Media for the Blue Badge of Reality .

« Reply #84 on: January 02, 2019, 08:38:52 PM »
There is no 8hr shift.
Hwp do 10 hr shifts (9.5hrs with 30min meal break)
Certain shifts have a provision for 2hrs overtime.
The only 8hr shifts are cancelled rest days, meaning it’s actually a day off but the officer works and gets paid more. This is generally funded by the centre for road safety.

Did that come about with Highway going under the THPC?   Shift lengths were determined by the troops within the Commanders.  8 (default), 10 or 12Hrs. 

Offline JusyApples

« Reply #85 on: January 02, 2019, 09:14:37 PM »
Did that come about with Highway going under the THPC?   Shift lengths were determined by the troops within the Commanders.  8 (default), 10 or 12Hrs.
As far as I know all regions do 10hr shifts. There has been a recent push for 12hr shifts like GDs but I can’t see it happening unfortunately.

If it was 8hr shifts you would pretty much work everyday and not get any cancelled rest days

Bought a what?

« Reply #86 on: January 02, 2019, 09:41:08 PM »
As far as I know all regions do 10hr shifts. There has been a recent push for 12hr shifts like GDs but I can’t see it happening unfortunately.

If it was 8hr shifts you would pretty much work everyday and not get any cancelled rest days

Most 24hr GDs are 12hr shift with a mix of 8hrs if needed for a 'summer roster', Non 24hr Stations will run either 8hr or 10hr some were doing a mix of the two.  Same for Highway and other Specialist were also doing either the 8 or 10hr or a mix.   It came down to majority rule and is the boss allowed it or how creative a roster person can be.  Joys of flexible rostering.   

« Reply #87 on: January 04, 2019, 03:42:50 PM »
There is always 2 sides to every story...

One side;

“Fines for driving unregistered vehicles have accelerated in NSW since the removal of car registration stickers in 2013, with hapless motorists blaming the state government for not sending reminders to renew registration.

Fines for driving unregistered in NSW, worth more than $240 million in state revenue over the past six years, are up from about 60,000 to 65,000 last year. There was a sharp jump in fines when registration stickers were first removed in 2013, and five years on they remained elevated, suggesting drivers have not adjusted to the new system.

Erasing rego stickers was sold as a "making life easier" measure but many drivers told The Sun-Herald it served as an everyday reminder. They say they were not contacted, reminded by post, email or SMS before NSW Police pulled them over and gave them two fines – one for being unregistered and one for being uninsured, worth $673 each.”

And the other side;

“THE last thing police expected when scanning for unregistered cars at their local station was to nab two of their own.

But that’s just what happened when a highway patrol car fitted with Automatic Number Plate Recognition technology, known as ANPR, started reading plates in the Windsor Police Station carpark.

Two police vehicles were red flagged by the system last month for being unregistered and, therefore, uninsured, meaning its officers had been breaking the law each time they put them on the road.

The rogue vehicles were revealed as a mobile police van and a trailer used to launch the command’s police boat.

The station’s commander, Superintendent Steve Egginton, said both vehicles had been unregistered for several weeks.

A police spokesman said a paperwork error was to blame for the rego bungle, the same excuse used by thousands of drivers pinged every year by the ANPR system.

But unlike the average NSW motorist, the station’s commanding officers decided to let themselves off without a fine, declaring that the vehicles hadn’t been in use at the time they were caught, and therefore no law was being flouted.”

See 2 sides to every story, or as its more commonly known “one rule them, different rules for everyone else”.

I'm calling bullShit on this one Pete79.  Considering the fact that Windsor Police Station was decommissioned in 1991, and ANPR was only introduced to the QPS a couple of years ago I find it very hard to believe that two police vehicles were detected unregistered recently.   
« Last Edit: January 04, 2019, 03:52:10 PM by Sixpack »

« Reply #88 on: January 04, 2019, 03:55:02 PM »
I'm calling bullShit on this one Pete79.  Considering the fact that Windsor Police Station was decommissioned in 1991, and ANPR was only introduced to the QPS a couple of years ago I find it very hard to believe that two police vehicles were detected unregistered recently.   

Windsor QLD or Windsor NSW ?

I think the article was referring to the NSW station mate?

« Reply #89 on: January 04, 2019, 04:01:31 PM »
Ok my blue

« Reply #90 on: January 04, 2019, 04:11:25 PM »
Ok my blue

Ha, get back in ya corner....  ;D

How ya been Boof?

« Reply #91 on: January 04, 2019, 04:16:41 PM »
Yeah I'm good Kev, how about yourself. 

« Reply #92 on: January 04, 2019, 04:17:54 PM »
Yeah, real good.... Wouldn't be Dead For Quids.  :cup:

« Reply #93 on: January 04, 2019, 04:18:38 PM »
Good to hear. Did the move go well. I heard there was some shonky bastard in the Laidley region trying to sell cars.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2019, 04:21:41 PM by Sixpack »

« Reply #94 on: January 04, 2019, 04:25:41 PM »
Good to hear. Did the move go well. I heard there was some shonky bastard in the Laidley region trying to sell cars.

:-X  ;D

« Reply #95 on: January 04, 2019, 08:45:14 PM »
Windsor QLD or Windsor NSW ?

I think the article was referring to the NSW station mate?

The original Windsor NSW station should have been decommissioned in 1991 but it took about 20 more years before the troops got a new station in a new location in Windsor.