Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1749918 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #5750 on: July 17, 2020, 03:40:14 PM »
This weeks builds
The following users thanked this post: Titfish

« Reply #5751 on: July 19, 2020, 08:27:28 AM »
Decieded to turn half of one of my shed benches into a welding table, cut off half the ply top and welded in some supports then add the top ( 100mm x 5mm x 1m ), took me about 4 hours because I'm not the worlds best welder ( but getting better  ;D ). But it turned out ok  :cheers:

« Reply #5752 on: July 19, 2020, 11:39:47 AM »
@jk looks good, but maybe a 30mm gap between the flat bar pieces, so you can clamp things down to it. Or are you thinking of a different method for clamping? Although you can always tack weld direct to table if the flatbar is thick enough not to warp, then just grind it off once you are done.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #5753 on: July 19, 2020, 03:08:19 PM »
I had a carport added to my shed. Shed was 9x6, now has a 6x6 carport out the front and a 15m carport down the side.

I want to sheet some of it in, so today I struck a blow for the next phase of construction and started laying a concrete slab. So far I've done 2.5 x 3m, 100mm thick and I'm a broken man.

Its all been shoveled and mixed in my little electric mixer, 35L at a time, so approximately 21 mixer loads and having to shovel 1/2m3 of gravel out of the ute before I started as I needed a cubic meter, but can only really carry 1/2m at a time, as well as the 20 bags of cement I stocked up with.

Only 12.5m to go. Makes the $9.5k quote I got to do it all sound reasonable now.

I hope I don't have to lift anything heavy at work tomorrow as a pen will probably be testing my capabilities :-[
The following users thanked this post: archer63

« Reply #5754 on: July 19, 2020, 03:26:47 PM »
@jk looks good, but maybe a 30mm gap between the flat bar pieces, so you can clamp things down to it. Or are you thinking of a different method for clamping? Although you can always tack weld direct to table if the flatbar is thick enough not to warp, then just grind it off once you are done.

Got too much gear stored under the bench mate, Chainsaw, car ramps, tool box etc, so didn't want crap ( hot stuff ) dropping through. But I see the logic in your idea  :cup:

The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

« Reply #5755 on: July 19, 2020, 03:27:59 PM »
I had a carport added to my shed. Shed was 9x6, now has a 6x6 carport out the front and a 15m carport down the side.

I want to sheet some of it in, so today I struck a blow for the next phase of construction and started laying a concrete slab. So far I've done 2.5 x 3m, 100mm thick and I'm a broken man.

Its all been shoveled and mixed in my little electric mixer, 35L at a time, so approximately 21 mixer loads and having to shovel 1/2m3 of gravel out of the ute before I started as I needed a cubic meter, but can only really carry 1/2m at a time, as well as the 20 bags of cement I stocked up with.

Only 12.5m to go. Makes the $9.5k quote I got to do it all sound reasonable now.

I hope I don't have to lift anything heavy at work tomorrow as a pen will probably be testing my capabilities :-[
I sympathise with you mate, concrete work is hard yakka, I barrow mixed concrete for all the paths a metre wide around our first house when I was young and fit but sure felt it at the end of everyday.
Treat the week as your recovery period.
The following users thanked this post: Hoyks

« Reply #5756 on: July 19, 2020, 06:43:37 PM »
I did nuffin  :D

« Reply #5757 on: July 19, 2020, 07:13:37 PM »
l have decided to  " Down Size " my toys .  l have been asking myself as to why l need to house 2 wood laths , so its 1 . There has been a Rip through my shed to strip down  . l really enjoy the reality of my kit going to somebody else to be enjoyed  . The space that this has created is amazzzzzzing  . Where did said floor space come from  ? &  said $   

« Reply #5758 on: July 19, 2020, 10:26:18 PM »
l have decided to  " Down Size " my toys .  l have been asking myself as to why l need to house 2 wood laths , so its 1 . There has been a Rip through my shed to strip down  . l really enjoy the reality of my kit going to somebody else to be enjoyed  . The space that this has created is amazzzzzzing  . Where did said floor space come from  ? &  said $
Treg up and make dust

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

« Reply #5759 on: July 23, 2020, 05:55:09 PM »
Not quite in the shed.  My new toy arrived so I gave it a run. The trees I tested it on were were trees that came down in cyclone Larry so it is well and truly dry wood and being yellow stringy not a soft wood,. It cut it like cheese, on one battery set.
I went with this saw as it has a top handle like my old petrol unit, and with a chain speed of 1,200m/min it cuts just as fast as my petrol saw.
https://www.makita.com.au/power-garden/category/chainsaws/duc306z-18vx2-brushless-top-handle-chainsaw-300mm-12
The following users thanked this post: Ultimate Adventures Podcast

« Reply #5760 on: July 23, 2020, 06:09:24 PM »
Not quite in the shed.  My new toy arrived so I gave it a run. The trees I tested it on were were trees that came down in cyclone Larry so it is well and truly dry wood and being yellow stringy not a soft wood,. It cut it like cheese, on one battery set.
I went with this saw as it has a top handle like my old petrol unit, and with a chain speed of 1,200m/min it cuts just as fast as my petrol saw.
https://www.makita.com.au/power-garden/category/chainsaws/duc306z-18vx2-brushless-top-handle-chainsaw-300mm-12

But lithium doesn't have the same smell as 2-stroke :)

« Reply #5761 on: July 23, 2020, 06:57:41 PM »
I can not smell, I have not been able to smell after a couple of operations on the nose. :cheers:

Offline Raym

« Reply #5762 on: July 23, 2020, 09:19:08 PM »
Another one ready to go home (almost) This is a C1920s Roebuck. A C1910 Lines one getting close as well & working on an Asian import as well.

Once that is done time to move on from restorations & more travel.

« Reply #5763 on: July 23, 2020, 09:28:11 PM »
Very nice Ray, once again. :cup: :cup:

The man's a machine... ;D

« Reply #5764 on: July 24, 2020, 08:02:10 AM »

« Reply #5765 on: July 24, 2020, 08:09:28 AM »
Another one ready to go home (almost) This is a C1920s Roebuck. A C1910 Lines one getting close as well & working on an Asian import as well.

Once that is done time to move on from restorations & more travel.
Another beautiful example of your work.

« Reply #5766 on: July 24, 2020, 08:44:44 AM »

« Reply #5767 on: July 24, 2020, 08:50:58 AM »
I recently bought a couple of old Lathes. This one I am selling as the other one is an old American South Bend Lathe and I love it.

Bought this one as a part of the package.......thats a Maximat V10 believe it or not.

Spent a couple of days tidying the old girl up and she works very nice indeed. Its a shame I have to sell it, it is actually in very good condition. No broken gears, tight and machines nicely.

Offline Bobsan

« Reply #5768 on: July 24, 2020, 10:07:03 PM »
Where did you purchase the Soudal cutting oil?  I haven't been able to find a supplier. My treflex is running out and need a alternative.
Mits Challenger.
Bushranger Rear fold  Camper

« Reply #5769 on: July 25, 2020, 02:53:26 PM »
I got some of my rocks off   :angel:
Turned these 

« Reply #5770 on: July 25, 2020, 02:55:44 PM »
into these

« Reply #5771 on: July 25, 2020, 04:24:01 PM »
Nice work Xc, great colours.

« Reply #5772 on: July 25, 2020, 08:47:58 PM »
Where did you purchase the Soudal cutting oil?  I haven't been able to find a supplier. My treflex is running out and need a alternative.
Our local tool king store stocks it. It’s probably the only shop in my area (northern tas) that has proper trade items. Even nubco here is limited and over priced.

Offline sparksy

« Reply #5773 on: July 25, 2020, 09:51:15 PM »

We were told years ago when couldn't get Trefolex that it wasn't sold because of health risks in using it. Carcinogenic??
Still haven't found anything as good for threading steel conduit.

« Reply #5774 on: July 26, 2020, 06:54:26 PM »
Started making a door that is replacing the vinyl door section on my Starvision Galaxy PX1.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2020, 06:56:14 PM by duggie »