General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Foo on May 23, 2020, 04:01:10 PM

Title: Buy Australian WTH?
Post by: Foo on May 23, 2020, 04:01:10 PM
Just because it is an Australian Company, it doesn't mean they use 100% Aussie Product.  >:(

Golden Circle is an Aussie company based in Brisbane but look at the label on the back.  :o

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200523/8f6b6375a230ee49b95e37f568e86548.jpg)

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Buy Australian WTH?
Post by: Paddler Ed on May 23, 2020, 04:25:29 PM
What sort of juice?

There's little market in Australia for the 2nd and 3rd grade fruit that is often juiced or canned - in part because of how efficient harvest is now, but also because there is so little margin in it. Still needs picking, still needs grading and still needs transporting (often more urgently than "ripe" or 1st grade fruit)

One of the challenges associated with food waste...
Post by: bob65 on May 23, 2020, 04:54:36 PM
Does it have any other reference to Australia on the pack, like an "Australia made" logo or something?

By the way, Golden Circle is foreign owned.
Post by: Foo on May 23, 2020, 04:59:38 PM
Does it have any other reference to Australia on the pack, like an "Australia made" logo or something?

By the way, Golden Circle is foreign owned.

What, when did that happen?  :o Dunno if there was anything else about it, as I put it back on the shelf.  >:D

Post by: bob65 on May 23, 2020, 05:28:56 PM
A quick google search says that it was bought by Heinz in 2008
Post by: gronk on May 23, 2020, 07:21:20 PM
I buy a large can of Beetroot most weeks.......woolies brand made in NZ.....Golden Circle made in NZ....Edgell made in Australia....guess which one is the dearest ? Not always, but generally I buy the Edgell.
But as said, it can sometimes be made in Australia, but not necessarily owned by an Australian company.  So what do you do ??
Post by: Foo on May 23, 2020, 08:25:12 PM
I buy a large can of Beetroot most weeks.......woolies brand made in NZ.....Golden Circle made in NZ....Edgell made in Australia....guess which one is the dearest ? Not always, but generally I buy the Edgell.
But as said, it can sometimes be made in Australia, but not necessarily owned by an Australian company.  So what do you do ??

Stuffed if I know!  ???

Post by: OldPaj on May 23, 2020, 08:58:46 PM
From about 1992 to about 2008,  I lived in Mill Park, Vic.
My neighbour in the early days, worked at what was then a Daily Juice plant in South Morang. Semi loads of oranges came down from Mildura and were turned into juice. The plant was bought by Golden Circle and continued this practice for a number of years.
Then they started importing (if I remember what the neighbour said correctly) an amount of Brazillian orange juice concentrate, that was rehydrated and mixed with a reduced amount of Australian juice, then eventually there was no Australian juice in it at all.

Unfortuantely, most Australian consumers look at "what is cheapest" not where it is made or which is the healthiest.

Hopefully recent events will jog people to change their focus, but I doubt it.
Post by: Foo on May 23, 2020, 09:17:37 PM
From about 1992 to about 2008,  I lived in Mill Park, Vic.
My neighbour in the early days, worked at what was then a Daily Juice plant in South Morang. Semi loads of oranges came down from Mildura and were turned into juice. The plant was bought by Golden Circle and continued this practice for a number of years.
Then they started importing (if I remember what the neighbour said correctly) an amount of Brazillian orange juice concentrate, that was rehydrated and mixed with a reduced amount of Australian juice, then eventually there was no Australian juice in it at all.

Unfortuantely, most Australian consumers look at "what is cheapest" not where it is made or which is the healthiest.

Hopefully recent events will jog people to change their focus, but I doubt it.

This has been a problem from before that period. I was carting the pulp away from the Berry factory at Palmwoods in QLD and noticed 44gal drums of concentrate in the off season. They would use it with the heat treated juice from the season of that year, to keep them supplying through the off season. ;)

I looked at the Berry juice today and there was nothing Australian about it.  >:(

Post by: gronk on May 23, 2020, 11:13:24 PM

I looked at the Berry juice today and there was nothing Australian about it.  >:(

Saw a woolies branded orange juice the other day....made in Australia ...100% orange juice !!
Post by: Fizzie on May 24, 2020, 08:39:59 AM
Just checked & Aldi's, both apple & orange, are marked as "Packed in Australia from imported ingredients" :'(
Post by: Foo on May 24, 2020, 09:57:05 AM
Saw a woolies branded orange juice the other day....made in Australia ...100% orange juice !!

Really, wow, would like to know who makes it for them?  ???

Post by: Bird on May 24, 2020, 11:08:29 AM
Really, wow, would like to know who makes it for them?  ???

bottled overseas LOL
Post by: Humphreythebear on May 24, 2020, 11:48:46 AM
'The Juice Brothers' - from Leeton NSW - 100% product /packaged .

Usually in IGA or Foodworks - haven't seen it Coles or Woolies .............
Post by: gronk on May 24, 2020, 12:41:03 PM
bottled overseas LOL

https://www.woolworths.com.au/shop/productdetails/804347/woolworths-orange-juice-pulp-free (https://www.woolworths.com.au/shop/productdetails/804347/woolworths-orange-juice-pulp-free)

Really got to read all labels. This one is pulp free and 100% juice, but other woolies ones are reconstituted and sourced from overseas.

But at $5 for 2 ltrs, a lot will go for the cheaper stuff.
Post by: loanrangie on May 24, 2020, 05:15:31 PM
Nothing new, that's why the label says 2% aus content which is probably the packaging.
Post by: Hoyks on May 24, 2020, 05:38:09 PM
Tassie used to be the apple isle and supplied apples to most of Australia, but a fair bit of their market was sending them to the UK for their off season.
Then the UK joined the EU, the market collapsed, trees were bulldozed and you're hard pressed to find a tassie apple outside of Tasmania.

Apple juice is the main ingredient in a lot of 'fruit 'juices as it is sweet, but not over powering in flavour, its used as a base and the concentrated flavours added to it. Some mango fruit drinks are 90% apple juice.
Post by: rags on May 24, 2020, 06:21:19 PM
Tassie used to be the apple isle and supplied apples to most of Australia, but a fair bit of their market was sending them to the UK for their off season.
Then the UK joined the EU, the market collapsed, trees were bulldozed and you're hard pressed to find a tassie apple outside of Tasmania.

Apple juice is the main ingredient in a lot of 'fruit 'juices as it is sweet, but not over powering in flavour, its used as a base and the concentrated flavours added to it. Some mango fruit drinks are 90% apple juice.

In the district I previously lived in, in the Blue Mts it was known as the land of the mountain apple. Many years ago a couple of growers went into apple juice production but not sure it was successful.
These days the growers have got clever and gone into cider production and sales with 2 brewers ( is that what they are call?) up and running producing both alcoholic and non-alcoholic ciders and from afar seem to be doing ok.
Post by: gronk on May 24, 2020, 06:46:56 PM
I usually buy pink lady apples every week.....nearly all of them are from Batlow.
Haven't seen a Bilpin apple for ages.
Post by: xcvator on May 25, 2020, 02:13:00 AM
Read it and weep, another 10 years and we won't own anything
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-05-23/china-considers-escalating-trade-war-coronavirus-covid19-inquiry/12278672 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-05-23/china-considers-escalating-trade-war-coronavirus-covid19-inquiry/12278672)
Post by: Kangaron on May 25, 2020, 09:18:09 AM
Read it and weep, another 10 years and we won't own anything
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-05-23/china-considers-escalating-trade-war-coronavirus-covid19-inquiry/12278672 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-05-23/china-considers-escalating-trade-war-coronavirus-covid19-inquiry/12278672)
Just maybe instead of complaining about Chinese interests buying up big, we should be looking at those that are selling up.

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

Post by: doc evil on May 25, 2020, 09:45:19 AM
"NIPPYS"

:cup: :cup:
Post by: Rodt on May 25, 2020, 09:51:39 AM

Very good point  :cup:.

If these companies are employing local people and they are then helping the Aussie economy I reckon we should be supporting them as much as anyone else.
Post by: Rodt on May 25, 2020, 09:54:40 AM
Just maybe instead of complaining about Chinese interests buying up big, we should be looking at those that are selling up.

X 2. No-one is forcing the sellers to sell to foreign owned interests. Our own desire to get as much $ as possible when we sell something is the cause (I wouldn't be any different)
Post by: Bird on May 25, 2020, 10:03:04 AM
we all go round in a circle - we cant compete on wages, and the chows have the money to buy it all - they out bid others.
Post by: Humphreythebear on May 25, 2020, 02:24:16 PM
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-05-25/china-and-australia-trade-relations-who-really-holds-the-power/12281608

Its not all one sided - China 'Really' needs the rest of the  world to function , there are only so many 'roads to nowhere and apartment blocks 'to build
Top that off with an angry , far more well informed po[ulation and its a great time for Australia to reset and forge a new path .

Will OUR Prime Mincer , give us a Vision tomorrow at press club address or more politicking and bullShit 30 sec grabs ?

This is the moment , lets see how it pans out .
Post by: Foo on May 31, 2020, 02:37:20 PM
I checked out the Aldi orange juice that I buy and it is made from 100% Aussie fruit.  :cheers: I should try n find out about the company also, I guess?  ???

Post by: MDS69 on May 31, 2020, 04:06:49 PM
I checked out the Aldi orange juice that I buy and it is made from 100% Aussie fruit.  :cheers: I should try n find out about the company also, I guess?  ???

I purchased a Aldi 600ml caramel fudge flavoured milk yesterday and it was 99% made from Australian ingredients. Was delicious as well.
Post by: sparksy on May 31, 2020, 09:21:17 PM
Try and buy Australian grown bacon. Most of the bacon sold in Australia is only 20% local product.
Of all the bacon at Coles yesterday only 2 types were more than 80% Australian ingredients. Even old brands like Dons, Primo, D'Orsogna are only 20% local product.
Only one they sold with at least 98% is      Bertocchi Brothers Gluten Free Long Rindless Hickory Smoked Bacon.
Cant get 100% because the brine's and spices aren't made in Australia.

Post by: bob65 on May 31, 2020, 09:46:04 PM
That is amazing. Seems like you have to be careful even within the same manufacturer.

The Bertocchi Brothers Gluten Free Long Rindless Hickory Smoked Bacon being 98% Aussie product

but the

Bertocchi Brothers Gluten Free short Rindless Hickory Smoked Bacon that you listed there is less than 10% Aussie product.

It is pretty shameful really.
Post by: Bird on May 31, 2020, 10:35:44 PM
Try and buy Australian grown bacon. Most of the bacon sold in Australia is only 20% local product.
Of all the bacon at Coles yesterday only 2 types were more than 80% Australian ingredients. Even old brands like Dons, Primo, D'Orsogna are only 20% local product.
Only one they sold with at least 98% is      Bertocchi Brothers Gluten Free Long Rindless Hickory Smoked Bacon.
Cant get 100% because the brine's and spices aren't made in Australia.
what about from local butcher, or better - On Farm butchers...
Post by: Fizzie on June 01, 2020, 09:22:14 AM
what about from local butcher, or better - On Farm butchers...

We had a butcher that did his own ham, & it was tops :cup:

Asked him one day about bacon & he said that he's tried it before but too much time & effort involved for what he makes out of it in the end :'(
Post by: rotare on June 01, 2020, 11:45:33 AM
Was thinking about this yesterday after seeing the whole 'buy Australian' discussed on TV.  During the TV interview they used Dick Smith as an example where he tried producing 100% Australian made products, but went out of business because consumers eventually chose the cheaper price, over Australian made.

It got me thinking, instead of trying to go for 100% made or produced in Australia, why not promote products which contain 20% or some other percentage of Australian produce?  It seems to me that going 100% Australian isn't economically viable for most, and containing a single digit percentage doesn't cut the mustard either.  It would seem a win win for everybody if manufacturers were encouraged to increase the % of Australian produce in their products.... thereby supporting Australian jobs to some extent, whilst still selling a cost competitive product to consumers....

It seems 100% Australian is a dream too far away.

Or maybe I have no idea what I'm talking about  ???

Post by: Bird on June 01, 2020, 02:25:09 PM
Was thinking about this yesterday after seeing the whole 'buy Australian' discussed on TV.  During the TV interview they used Dick Smith as an example where he tried producing 100% Australian made products, but went out of business because consumers eventually chose the cheaper price, over Australian made.

It got me thinking, instead of trying to go for 100% made or produced in Australia, why not promote products which contain 20% or some other percentage of Australian produce?  It seems to me that going 100% Australian isn't economically viable for most, and containing a single digit percentage doesn't cut the mustard either.  It would seem a win win for everybody if manufacturers were encouraged to increase the % of Australian produce in their products.... thereby supporting Australian jobs to some extent, whilst still selling a cost competitive product to consumers....

It seems 100% Australian is a dream too far away.

Or maybe I have no idea what I'm talking about  ???

I like the idea, but think we should aim higher for at least 75% AU products.. But Gov Co needs to stand up behind the whole thing and support it 100%

also liked dick smith cereal - but its now labelled Farmers something ... cant remember
Post by: timmyh80 on June 05, 2020, 07:57:46 PM
Thinking about butchers and small goods, if you are heading for the Vic high country and passing through Sale or Stratfrod, Shaws butchers do their own small goods and they are fantastic. Particularly the smoked chicken!

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on June 06, 2020, 01:49:46 AM
I see there are calls for Coles/Woolies to have "Australian made" only aisles - like other countries have for their own produce

Sounds great to me.. be a short aisle though.
Post by: McGirr on June 06, 2020, 03:29:22 PM
Why all of a sudden is the majority of people pushing but Australian only brand, bring back manufacturing in Australia etc.

Australia manufacturing went off shore years ago. We, as Australians, are the reason this has happened. Now we want it all back....Honestly.

We always saw the odd push for people to buy Australian products but since the virus it's gone stupid.

So here is the challenge, take all prices off products and let people buy what they want, search out the 100% made Australian product then see how much money you will pay at the checkout. Naturally this could never happen because we shop on price, brand sometimes, but very few check the country it was produced in.

As much as we all want to buy everything Australian, the choices are few and far between....

Post by: Foo on June 06, 2020, 03:42:37 PM
Government policy has a lot to do with why, many things have gone off shore and there is the unions, don't get me started on these aresholes. >:D

Post by: Bigfish on June 06, 2020, 04:00:39 PM
Why all of a sudden is the majority of people pushing but Australian only brand, bring back manufacturing in Australia etc.

Australia manufacturing went off shore years ago. We, as Australians, are the reason this has happened. Now we want it all back....Honestly.

We always saw the odd push for people to buy Australian products but since the virus it's gone stupid.

So here is the challenge, take all prices off products and let people buy what they want, search out the 100% made Australian product then see how much money you will pay at the checkout. Naturally this could never happen because we shop on price, brand sometimes, but very few check the country it was produced in.

As much as we all want to buy everything Australian, the choices are few and far between....

Pushing it uphill mate.   Was on another forum a few days ago and one chap who works for a mob that sells driving lights and other car accessories stated that the mob he works for has one method of fixing a price.  Whatever they pay for it they multiply by 10 and the public pay that!! Sells hu dreds of sets of driving lights often and I do believe that Bunnings, supercreeps, anaconda, bcf and others have a mark up not far off.  How the hell can OZ factories compete when labour costs sweet f all in china?