Author Topic: The Random Question of the Day Thread...  (Read 319540 times)

Re: The Random Question of the Day Thread...
« Reply #1150 on: September 14, 2020, 05:10:57 PM »
Quote from: Spada
How come a complete air suspension kit with bags, mounts, fittings, hardware and accessories cost's $800..................

And just the 2 bags as replacements for the same kit, without all the mounting bits............ costs $600  >:(
cause they know you only want 1.

buy the whole kit and keep the others as spares.

Offline terravista

« Reply #1151 on: September 15, 2020, 04:05:40 PM »
I was trying to compare storage area in the back of a couple of SUV's.
They give the depth of the area and how many litres volume.
Who the hell cares how many litres, are we expected to silicon the gaps and fill the bloody area with water?
FFS , just give me dimensions.
Does anyone have a 2016 Pajero Sport opening height?
« Last Edit: September 15, 2020, 04:07:27 PM by terravista »

« Reply #1152 on: September 15, 2020, 04:15:40 PM »

The one that always amazes me is reading reviews & they tell you how well the car performs on & off road, it's milage, how comfy the seats are, what colour the inside of the ash trays are & so on, but they never mention it's towing capacity! ::)

Yes, this may amaze you, but ome people actually use 4wd's to "tow" things!!! ::)

« Reply #1153 on: September 15, 2020, 06:57:57 PM »
I was trying to compare storage area in the back of a couple of SUV's.
They give the depth of the area and how many litres volume.
Who the hell cares how many litres, are we expected to silicon the gaps and fill the bloody area with water?
Does anyone have a 2016 Pajero Sport opening height?
Can’t help with dimensions, but looking at this comparison photo it seams Mitsi have done what so many car makers do and made the rear compartment unnecessarily narrow at the top.

Mitsi, Holden, Ford, in order below;

« Reply #1154 on: September 15, 2020, 07:25:00 PM »
Quote from: Pete79
seams Mitsi have done what so many car makers do and made the rear compartment unnecessarily narrow at the top.
yea then it all opens up to unusable space... just so they can brag how many megalitres it holds

« Reply #1155 on: September 15, 2020, 08:04:34 PM »
yea then it all opens up to unusable space... just so they can brag how many megalitres it holds
28 odd years ago, my parent's & I owned Taxis.
The vehicle requirements were strict, Falcon's & Commdores were the vehicle of choice.
Then Camry's were able to be used, why?
Because of the cubic meter volume.
Boot space, leg room, width i internally.
How was this possible, they are a smaller vehicle?
Body shell, Door panels, dash, rear seat thicknest became thinner.
Vehicle's haven't got wider, the shell has become thinner.

« Reply #1156 on: September 18, 2020, 09:40:32 AM »
So I'm pondering...

How come in Qld we are constantly hearing complaints from the Prime Minister and NSW premier about the border being closed to NSW and Vic...... but never a word about the Tasmanian, Western Australian, South Australian and Northern Territory borders having the same (or very similar) entry restrictions restrictions?

« Reply #1157 on: September 18, 2020, 09:55:51 AM »
So I'm pondering...

How come in Qld we are constantly hearing complaints from the Prime Minister and NSW premier about the border being closed to NSW and Vic...... but never a word about the Tasmanian, Western Australian, South Australian and Northern Territory borders having the same (or very similar) entry restrictions restrictions?
do people still live in those states .... ;) :P

« Reply #1158 on: September 18, 2020, 11:24:28 AM »
So I'm pondering...

Or when NSW was closed to Vic ???

« Reply #1159 on: September 18, 2020, 11:25:31 AM »
do people still live in those states .... ;) :P

Nah, they've all moved (or apparently want to move) to Qld! >:D

Poor us! :o

« Reply #1160 on: September 18, 2020, 05:53:52 PM »
do people still live in those states .... ;)
Shhh!

Be very very quiet!

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

« Reply #1161 on: September 21, 2020, 02:09:42 PM »
Is it just my wife who asks half of a question?

And somehow I am supposed to know what she is talking about?

Today she asks " What was the measurement again?"

Today.  I've been measuring and cutting boards for the kitchen reno.  It won't be that. 
I moved the old fridge outside and measured it for fit through the door.  It won't be that.
I measured where other stuff will fit around it.  It won't be that.

Nup. She's looking at blinds that I measured over a week ago. 

Of course I should have known.

« Reply #1162 on: September 21, 2020, 02:39:20 PM »
Is it just my wife who asks half of a question?

And somehow I am supposed to know what she is talking about?

Today she asks " What was the measurement again?"

Today.  I've been measuring and cutting boards for the kitchen reno.  It won't be that. 
I moved the old fridge outside and measured it for fit through the door.  It won't be that.
I measured where other stuff will fit around it.  It won't be that.

Sounds like my missus, conversations over and done with, hour or two later she says something, I reply, what are you on about. Weird look from her and the words, we were just talking about it!

Offline Harbourmaster

• Hard floor camper
« Reply #1163 on: September 21, 2020, 07:39:55 PM »
I recon we're a negative earth & women are positive earth. I hear you men
2013 ex Telstra GU Patrol 2004 Kimberley Kamper

« Reply #1164 on: September 21, 2020, 07:57:27 PM »

You should of.
Ya slippin mate.
 :angel:

« Reply #1165 on: September 21, 2020, 09:55:28 PM »
I recon we're a negative earth & women are positive earth. I hear you men
Women are earth signs, men are water signs...
together we make mud.........

Offline Harbourmaster

• Hard floor camper
« Reply #1166 on: September 21, 2020, 10:13:36 PM »
Don't mind making mud. Just don't happen too Often these day's  :D
2013 ex Telstra GU Patrol 2004 Kimberley Kamper

« Reply #1167 on: September 22, 2020, 09:28:10 AM »
Good old 'Murphy' paid me a visit yesterday!

In the first couple of days of our recent trip, both LED water tank gauges stopped working. These are mounted next to the solar/batteries meters. They are operated by pushing a button on the face of the gauge.
I put the cause of the malfunction to a loose connection somewhere, caused by the somewhat corrugated surfaces we had been travelling on.

Yesterday, I commenced my sleuthing, with the removal, inspection and replacement of both tank sensors. I had no idea what to look for but they appeared OK to me.
I then started the lengthy and awkward process of following the relevant wiring through the 'van to the inside electrical panel. My dodgy back is not too flash when working under a vehicle or in crawl spaces.
After some time and a calming cup of tea, I ended back at the panel, with the circuitry testing OK on the multi-meter.
I then had a closer look at one of the gauges and noticed a small gap on one end, which appeared designed to have a wee lever used in it.
On opening the gauge, Lo and Behold! There was a small A23 battery inside.
After a drive to my local IGA, purchasing some replacement batteries, inserting a replacement and trying the button, 'Voila'!
All the LEDs lit up, as the tank was chockers. The same with the rear tank gauge.
Now, my question is, 'What are the chances of both batteries going flat on the same day, even if they were replaced at the same time plus, me commencing at the wrong end of the wiring?"

« Reply #1168 on: September 22, 2020, 12:48:54 PM »
I remember reading something many years ago now, about a plane crashing when the pilot didn't know what was wrong, because both the main, & backup, warning lights for this problem, had both burnt out together, despite being on separate circuits! :'(

Offline Nifty1

« Reply #1169 on: September 24, 2020, 08:52:01 AM »
Aah, warning lights! Many years ago I worked as a tech in a radio station, in the days when it all got switched off at 11pm and had to be turned on again at 5:30. Occasionally, usually after a big party night, someone would carefully remove all the indicator lamps from the equipment in the control room, and the poor hungover morning tech would be in a complete panic thinking he was faced with a major power problem when nothing came on with the master switch. Variations included removing the fluoro starters as well, or wiring the old photo flash bulbs to the starter sockets.
Tvan + Terracan
Hilux Adventure Camper
1999 Outback Sturt - an oldie but a goodie. Updated of course (passed on within family)

Offline DandyD

« Reply #1170 on: October 02, 2020, 07:15:58 AM »
Container ships

Does anything go inside or is it all stacked on top?

« Reply #1171 on: October 02, 2020, 07:33:08 AM »
Container ships

Yes

« Reply #1172 on: October 02, 2020, 10:27:14 AM »
Container ships

both on top and in the hull - depending on the ship

« Reply #1173 on: October 02, 2020, 10:28:09 AM »
Has anyone ever won a decent amount on instant scratchies ???  not just $2 or 5 but 10k 50k? I dont think they actually exist. I reckon its a scam and nobody could prove otherwise.

« Reply #1174 on: October 02, 2020, 12:56:38 PM »
Has anyone ever won a decent amount on instant scratchies ???  not just $2 or 5 but 10k 50k? I dont think they actually exist. I reckon its a scam and nobody could prove otherwise.

I've said the same thing for years.

& just think about it.

They say there's one top prize of $50k. So the ad shows somebody scratching a ticket to reveal ... $50k! ::)

So your chances of winning $50k on that issue is now ... ??? >:D