Author Topic: Victorian Kelly Country Camp - November 2-6 (Cup Weekend)  (Read 148025 times)

Re: Victorian Kelly Country Camp - November 2-6 (Cup Weekend)
« Reply #350 on: November 01, 2012, 10:55:11 PM »
Have fun guys, sure the weather will be fine and you havegoodweekend and travel safe.

« Reply #351 on: November 02, 2012, 04:58:59 AM »
Guys its with much regret I dont think I will be going on this one? there will be more
As you know Ive been a bit crook and wont be going anywhere for a while
I was looking forward to catching up with you all but I think I will be flat out staying well
Plus its a long way back in an ambo if some thing goes wrong
Cheers Guys keep up the good work

ps can you hang on to my stickers and stubbie holder for awhile untill some $ come in

Mate I missed out on the stubble holder so I will hold onto it real tightly for you. Take care.
Wayne

Offline camlisa

« Reply #352 on: November 02, 2012, 06:03:44 AM »
Sounds like a great long weekend very jealous. Wish it was a bit closer to Gold Coast, cup day should be a national holiday. Great itinary well organised would love to take wife to Kelly country .Have a great weekend hope sky is blue and beer is cold.

« Reply #353 on: November 02, 2012, 06:05:23 AM »
.........Have a great weekend hope sky is blue and beer is cold.........

We should be on the road soon..........if beer is cold, sky colour is irrelevant........... ;D ;D

« Reply #354 on: November 02, 2012, 06:05:57 AM »
We should be on the road soon..........if beer is cold, sky colour is irrelevant........... ;D ;D
Take care on the roads mate, see you up there.

Offline Kris

« Reply #355 on: November 02, 2012, 06:33:13 AM »
Looking out the window here in the King Valley, and it is a beautiful clear, still, sunny day!  The weather will be fine.  Maybe a light sprinkle early Sun, but I doubt there's much in it.  Sunday's forcase 26deg  8)

I am 1/2 packed, so hope to be on the road around lunch, to arrive for a late lunch ('cause it's sooooo far to go  :P). 

See you all soon  ;D  :cheers:  Kris
2006 Hilux SR towing 1999 Kimberley Kamper

Offline NatGav

« Reply #356 on: November 02, 2012, 07:53:16 AM »
I can't wait to get out from kinglake its misty, raining and crappy..... Should be there in time for Avo wine and cheese platter

Sent from my HTC Velocity 4G using Tapatalk 2

« Reply #357 on: November 02, 2012, 11:52:57 AM »
its Shit at home, just finished packing and on the way 10

« Reply #358 on: November 03, 2012, 05:09:21 PM »
Well I have just returned from the hills. Everyone's having a ball and the weathers great. Credit to Mace for organising a great spot and get together. Wish I could have stayed.
Wayne

Offline Jason B

• "Mark Goldie recovery team coordinator"
  • 80 Series Turbo DX Cruiser, Kimberley Kamper 2013 SE
« Reply #359 on: November 03, 2012, 05:46:13 PM »
Someone post up some pics please this is killing me!

« Reply #360 on: November 03, 2012, 05:49:33 PM »

« Reply #361 on: November 03, 2012, 06:13:18 PM »
Someone post up some pics please this is killing me!

Problem is that there is no reception in Tolmie so you may  have to wait till next week. I forgot my camera so I will try to post some iPhone pics tomorrow.
Wayne

Offline Jason B

• "Mark Goldie recovery team coordinator"
  • 80 Series Turbo DX Cruiser, Kimberley Kamper 2013 SE

Offline mattz

Victorian Kelly Country Camp - November 2-6 (Cup Weekend)
« Reply #363 on: November 04, 2012, 01:35:36 PM »

« Reply #364 on: November 04, 2012, 02:22:35 PM »
What a planker!

Offline making tracks

• Whats around the corner
« Reply #365 on: November 04, 2012, 02:36:51 PM »
Looks like where in for some amazing/amusing photos and write ups if these three photos are to go by.

Now to get myself another drink to dull the pain of not being able to attend  :'(

Always next year  ;D

Offline Fivid

« Reply #366 on: November 04, 2012, 02:56:32 PM »
We have just returned home, no four day weekend for us being north of the border  :'(

Weather was great, location brilliant and the MySwaggers were all fantastic people.  There were still some we didn't get to meet...  All the more reason to be going on more of these types of trips.

We set up camp in a location that would give us morning sun and arvo shade...  Worked well for us and in the five years we have had the camper and with all the use it gets it was a nice change not to be packing up today in the rain!

We took our two furry kids, they were happy to be friends with anyone, even Speewa!

Saturday we went for a bit of a drive.  Big Jules saw too much bitumen on the way south, wanted some dirt.  We found him some dirt and a little mud.  Unfortunately he volunteered to go tail end Charlie and ended up with lots of dust as well.  We made our way via some back roads and a nice little track to Tomahawk Hut

After a stretch of the legs we went up No 3 Rd and stopped for a photo opportunity along the way at a place GU Rich showed us on the 10 huts trip earlier in the year...  Fantastic Views.

Also a good place for a group pic.

(anyone who wants to know where this place is: Lat 37;3;18.3120   Long 146;25;29.3279  at an altitude of 1,548m.)

That evening we had a lamb roast cooked in the Cobb but while it was cooking Mace had organised some entertainment.  One of the locals came and gave us a bit of a talk about Ned Keely and his version of how a few things happened to do with Ned growing up, trouble with the law, etc and being hanged.  It was interesting to hear and he scared the crap out of us when he fired off an old rifle unexpectedly.  It was a .057 I think so packs a large amount of powder  with a noise to match!

He had a replica of the Kelly's head armour which he allowed people to try on...  A few people had a turn.

On the way home today we passed Power's Lookout.  Harry Power was supposedly the bushranger that taught Ned Kelly the ways of the bush and the art of being a bush ranger...  Anyway, great views and it is easy to understand why such a place would be helpful in seeing who was coming.

I'm sure there will be lots more to read and see as people return home over the next few days and post their pics, etc.  Thanks to Mace for organising such a great weekend.

« Last Edit: November 04, 2012, 02:59:34 PM by Fivid »
http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

Offline flamingo

« Reply #367 on: November 05, 2012, 05:56:30 PM »
I'm with you Making Tracks real peed of I couldn't get there!  There better be heaps of pics!!!  :cheers: Phil
Go Tigers!
2005 Navara
2011 Jayco Flamingo

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
« Reply #368 on: November 05, 2012, 07:11:02 PM »
I'm with you Making Tracks real peed of I couldn't get there!  There better be heaps of pics!!!  :cheers: Phil

« Reply #369 on: November 05, 2012, 07:51:46 PM »
Yes that's me in the photo as well. Took the 76 and got it absolutely filthy. 2+ hours to clean it. Had fun though. ;D

Offline NatGav

« Reply #370 on: November 06, 2012, 06:58:53 AM »
Just got to eildon, after an amazing myswag Kelly camp. Meet some wicked people, a big thanks to mace and loved every second... All the kids were great, all the dogs were great and everyone relaxed and enjoyed their camping... Big hello to big Jules, mace, nisnav, Adrian, big steve, speewa... And everyone else I meet

Sent from my HTC Velocity 4G using Tapatalk 2

« Reply #371 on: November 06, 2012, 08:37:24 AM »
Got in late last night guys, great weekend by all and we all had a great time. I think the kids and dogs are exhausted!!
PS Flamingo/ Brett B I have your stubby holders so we need to catch up.

Offline poppasmurf

« Reply #372 on: November 06, 2012, 11:27:24 AM »
Hi everyone, unfortunately this weekend has come to an end. If I get this right a few more pics to enjoy

test image to see if I am doing this right. Should be NATGAV's awesome tow rig
06 Terracan, 2010 cub kamperoo brumby

Offline poppasmurf

« Reply #373 on: November 06, 2012, 12:01:50 PM »
COOL, worked first try so here are a few more.

Couple of furry friends havin a ball

Looking towards community hall

Gotta love that ute :cup:

Black Diamond......well,..........just being Black Diamond

And again

A not so graceful dismount  :cheers: >:D

Mace introducing a local Kelly historian

Saturday's Kelly tour leaving camp

Howqua Hut on Monday mornings little excursion to the huts in the area. A huge thanks goes out to Lost and others for taking a rookie in a soft roader on such a fun day. And even better The Terra did it EASY.

Just our vehicles at Howqua hut to prove the Terra was there even if it is half hiding

A few of the travellers at Howqua Hut

Craig's Hut

one of the many gorgeous views from Craig's Hut

Thanks Mace for organising such a great and successful event. Pity I couldn't hold up my end of the entertainment, the telescope decided it didnt want to work so we all missed out on some night views of the planets and other deep sky wonders. :'(
Can't wait for the next time Tracey and I can get away with the Swaggers, we have made a lot of new lifelong friends. Yes Speewa even you mate. :cheers:

Cheers all Shane
06 Terracan, 2010 cub kamperoo brumby

Offline Crisp Image

• Old enough to know better. Young enough to do it again!
« Reply #374 on: November 06, 2012, 12:39:41 PM »
Home now and the camper is away. Will sort out pictures later this afternoon and post up.
Thanks Mace for a top weekend! :-)

2008 Outback Sturt, 2010 Prado 150 D4D Tug