Author Topic: Newby to the Forum  (Read 3790 times)

Offline georgegna

Newby to the Forum
« on: September 15, 2011, 12:50:49 PM »
Great sight! Good effort everyone.

I'm new to the Forum and camper trailers. I'm interested in soft floors. There are so many out there.
My Customs and Finance Minister has said $8000 max.

Any suggestions on what's good and what's not??

One other thing, I'm from Kalgoorlie,WA so expect sur charge for freight.

Thx
Grant
2011 ST Patrol with most of the whistles.
2011 GIC Offroad Camper.

New to the CT game & can't wait to try out my new toys.

Offline Fivid

Re: Newby to the Forum
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2011, 01:00:40 PM »
Hi and welcome, you are sure to get lots of advice...  Friends just bought a Mars offroad fully galvanised trailer with huge tent areas etc for around that price.  Have had to do a little work to it in terms of water tanks connections that leaked, etc but pretty minor.  Made with ripstop canvas...

http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2011, 01:08:29 PM »
Welocme to the forum, Good luck with your seach for the camper, Don't be affraid to keep an eye on the second hand market too. Often some of the mods would have already been done!

« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2011, 01:11:30 PM »
Welcome to the forum, I would watch the second hand market with a $8000 budget you will find a great unit.

« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2011, 01:48:40 PM »
G'day & Welcome Grant.

What sort of camping are you into and how many folks do you need to house in the camper?

I've noticed some second hand good units for sale in SA recently, so you might get lucky on transport costs. My advice is go for a quality second hand camper rather than a new(er) imported trailer.

« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2011, 02:05:46 PM »
Any suggestions on what's good and what's not??

Welcome to myswag, what ever camper you get you need a DC-DC charger for it ;D

Offline georgegna

« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2011, 03:01:32 PM »
Thx 4 ur input.
Just seen an ad on a Kalgoorlie website.
A bloke is selling a GIC camper trailer for $8600. Only thing it does't have is a bash plate.
What do folks think?
Cheers Grant
2011 ST Patrol with most of the whistles.
2011 GIC Offroad Camper.

New to the CT game & can't wait to try out my new toys.

« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2011, 03:15:09 PM »
I would strongly recommend you first have a look at some of the threads on this site then if your still keen go and have a look at the CT.

Wil

« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2011, 03:38:53 PM »
Welcome to the mad house.  i would seriously look at the second hand market, some great buys out there.

Offline Camping Grant

• The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new lands but seeing with new eyes
  • Such Is Life
    • Grant & Kerryn's Camping Adventures
« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2011, 03:40:39 PM »
G'day Grant, welcome to the forum. Plenty of information on here regarding soft floors around your budget.

Remember, new is not always best...better to spend the same amount on a 2nd hand decent camper, then to spend heaps on a chinese cheapy.  Not that I'm bagging chinese cheapies, I own one myself.

Have Fun

Grant

Offline balfang

• "My sister & I - can't really see any resemblance"
« Reply #10 on: September 15, 2011, 03:53:49 PM »
Gidday Grant,

Welcome to the CT circus. Just make sure you have good look around before settling on the first one that comes up. You need to make sure it ticks all the boxes, obviously with budget limit being  :cup:

There are always good 2nd hand CT's on this site and plenty on Trading Post, RVPoint and Camper Trader.org

Good luck and don't forget when you get the new member of the family remember :worthles:

Cheers Balfang  :cheers:

Offline Top.ender

• "I WONDER WHERE THIS TRACK GOES"
« Reply #11 on: September 15, 2011, 05:59:02 PM »
G,day Grant welcome to myswag,check out WA campers Balcatta Perth,they have some great quality 2nd hand campers.By the way I,m not affiliated with them in any way just ahappy customer.Good Luck :cheers:

100 Series Diesel with lots of stuff
2014 Jayco Swan Outback

« Reply #12 on: September 15, 2011, 07:39:52 PM »
Hi Grant and welcome to My Swag :cheers:

« Reply #13 on: September 15, 2011, 07:44:34 PM »
Welcome to the forum, I would go for a Tambo ;D

Offline flamingo

« Reply #14 on: September 18, 2011, 04:19:05 PM »
  Gday Grant Welcome Mate.. Hope you find what your looking for...  :cheers: Phil
Go Tigers!
2005 Navara
2011 Jayco Flamingo