Author Topic: The CUB CLUB  (Read 260498 times)

Offline thommo19

Re: The CUB CLUB
« Reply #325 on: August 13, 2013, 02:02:04 PM »
Thanks bobnrob,this is very helpful.
Jeff

« Reply #326 on: August 13, 2013, 02:18:09 PM »
We had a dvd from when we bought our first cub a 2008 Weekender and handed the dvd on when we sold it without keeping a copy.  This willbe handy as we now have 2003 Supamatic Regal.   Thanks a lot

Offline fabulous

« Reply #327 on: August 13, 2013, 03:31:18 PM »
There be a green one forsale in a few weeks...

One for sale now Bruce !
Our Camper

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=5261.0

Our Patrol

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=10214.msg152303#msg152303

Offline Terry W4

• Retired - loving every minute of it
« Reply #328 on: August 13, 2013, 05:57:27 PM »
Watching it when I got home, I found I'd been setting the CUB up wrong, and now I manage to pack it all away a lot easier. I also found there's a bonus of how to re-set the tent  :D
So if anyone wants a copy, I've uploaded it to my Dropbox. You can view it there on-line, or click the "download" button, and save it to your computer :)

CUB Camper Setup and Reset  150mb
If anyone has limited download, or slow connection, PM your address and I'll snail mail you a copy

Great - was worried about what I would do when get mine - making an offer this weekend. Just watched it and downloaded- fan-bloody-tastic.

Terry - Canberra ACT
2008 Prado 120 D4D and 2009 Swan Outback
Blog Travels with Terry: https://terrywalls.wordpress.com

« Reply #329 on: August 13, 2013, 09:40:37 PM »
Hi Bob

Hope the camper is still serving you well.

You betcha Paul, I'm still glad you were selling  :D

Changed the front tool box for a smaller, but higher box, made a wooden slide out pantry next to the cooker, put a couple of LED strips inside, but still pretty much the same way I bought it from you.
Only done one major trip so far - along the GOR, but been away in it heaps, getting well used :)

P.S.  Went away with a few to Yadboro SF, got talking to (I think his on-line name is redback?) about the camper, said he knew you well...just as well I only had good things to say about the sale   ;)  lol
« Last Edit: August 13, 2013, 09:45:12 PM by bobnrob »

Offline Wazza2

• Campfires rule!
« Reply #330 on: August 13, 2013, 10:36:31 PM »
Having travelled for 8 weeks in our Cub I can say most of the video makes sense.

For ensuring the camper is level before setup, I don't agree with the video. If you are parked on a slope the camper will be at the same height relative to you at the front and the back. It will still be parked on a slope though and not be comfortable to sleep in. Use your head and find a different way to check if it's level before setting up

« Reply #331 on: August 14, 2013, 08:56:58 AM »
For ensuring the camper is level before setup, I don't agree with the video. If you are parked on a slope the camper will be at the same height relative to you at the front and the back. It will still be parked on a slope though and not be comfortable to sleep in. Use your head and find a different way to check if it's level before setting up

Agree, so I have one of these attached to the drawbar

and carry 2 of these

« Reply #332 on: August 18, 2013, 08:08:01 PM »
I have the '04 Supermatic Regal, and I want to replace the 14" wheels with 15's.
Anyone know whether these are Holden or Ford stubs please?

Offline corynmelnkids

« Reply #333 on: August 18, 2013, 08:12:35 PM »
What is the size of the studs 7/16" or 1/2" and what is the distance from 1 stud to the next stud centre to centre.
2003 Toyota Prado Turbo dsl
Cub Supamatic Escape Offroad
Stacer 349 Cartopper with a Suzuki 5hp 4 stroke
All set now for a big trip just need the money
and time off work.

Offline kiwi66

• Enjoy the Now.
    • Judy's Trekabout
« Reply #334 on: August 18, 2013, 08:41:27 PM »
This is a good idea Cub Club, cheers.
Nomad Drover and Kiwi66 have got a Spacevan Drover Off Road, took it out for the first trip a week ago, we have been playing around with it in the back yard and yes we have issues with the canvas not sitting straight. We have spoken with the Cub people where we bought it and have a couple of things to try, so see how it goes.

2012 Pathfinder Sand Storm.
2013 Cub Camper Drover off road.
Judy’s Trekabout

« Reply #335 on: August 18, 2013, 10:18:34 PM »
What is the size of the studs 7/16" or 1/2" and what is the distance from 1 stud to the next stud centre to centre.

Will check in the morning  :)

Update

Centre to Centre is 66-67mm. On the rim, on one side of the valve is stamped...6JJx14 (obviously 14"), on the other is 4  217
« Last Edit: August 19, 2013, 11:15:43 AM by bobnrob »

Offline mumbo

« Reply #336 on: August 22, 2013, 01:16:26 PM »
Will check in the morning  :)

Update

Centre to Centre is 66-67mm. On the rim, on one side of the valve is stamped...6JJx14 (obviously 14"), on the other is 4  217

Offline corynmelnkids

« Reply #337 on: September 02, 2013, 08:09:15 AM »
Sorry bobnrob for taking so long
The stud pattern you have should be HT stud pattern.
and time off work.

thrasherdave

« Reply #338 on: October 09, 2013, 08:02:21 PM »
Just watched the video. I was was very surprised to see the bloke extending the rear bow arms prior to folding up. Surely this cannot be correct? If you extend them on setup, as you do, then clearly you retract them prior to fold up. WTF?

I have a Supermatic Drover.

DaveO

« Reply #339 on: October 09, 2013, 10:04:59 PM »
I just leave mine as they are

« Reply #340 on: October 10, 2013, 06:08:21 AM »
Cub Club Catch up , Mitchels Crossing via Nagambie Vic Melb Cup Weekend  , All Welcome Cub , or not , or swag ,or what ever you want to be in ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,( even vans )  :cup: Check the post  :cheers:

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #341 on: October 12, 2013, 12:33:10 PM »
Has anyone ever met the owner of CUB??

or talked to him on the phone?
1993 80 series landcruiser

Offline Herks

• Not lost, just geographically displaced!!
« Reply #342 on: October 12, 2013, 06:25:36 PM »
Not sure but I think he is also part of this and the current president???
Impressive with what they are trying to do.
http://www.australianmanufacturedcampertrailers.org.au/
Dmax Duel Cab LSU. Canopy, duel batteries, GVM Upgrade, Light Bar, Draw system, Fridge slide and much more. Avan Aspire Pop Top van, Many mods, 12v, 240v.

Offline thommo19

« Reply #343 on: October 20, 2013, 03:38:39 PM »

« Reply #273 on: July 05, 2013, 09:49:51 PM »

Question for CUB Club.  Do the CUB Club members have a CUB Club get together? ???   

Have we any thoughts on this for the NSW members.

Jeff

Offline corynmelnkids

« Reply #344 on: October 20, 2013, 05:04:23 PM »
If a NSW meet is organised count me in.
and time off work.

« Reply #345 on: October 20, 2013, 06:22:03 PM »
If a NSW meet is organised count me in.

Draw a line in the sand , find a spot  , post up where & when , & they will come , to where ever in NSW you want them to be .

Offline Chippy76

• :D
« Reply #346 on: October 20, 2013, 10:04:15 PM »
Draw a line in the sand , find a spot  , post up where & when , & they will come , to where ever in NSW you want them to be .

What he said!

Cheers Chippy :D
"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton

KIMBOPRADO

Bike rack on cub
« Reply #347 on: October 31, 2013, 10:03:40 PM »
Hi guys

After a bit of advice from any cub owners who have ever put a bike rack on the roof/floor of a cub.

Been researching on here about bike racks at the back of CT, however can damage bikes with vibration etc and even falling off the back...... Looking to carry 4 bikes

Have bought an eBay rack for $50 from this link

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/1-Bike-Car-Roof-Carrier-Rack-Bicycle-Racks-Steel-/160921507063?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item2577ab54f7&_uhb=1

After a trip to bunnings for 40mm L galvanized brackets bolted either side of the braces as per this picture

Was looking at getting another 3 up there, carry the 4 bikes, when arrive wherever, take bikes off and still be able to flip out camper.....

Has anyone one done this, would it be OK weight wise or would the aluminium struts on the camper be compromised

Look forward to your input

Kim   

« Last Edit: October 31, 2013, 10:06:57 PM by KIMBOPRADO »

Offline Wazza2

• Campfires rule!
« Reply #348 on: November 02, 2013, 10:39:18 AM »
I reckon the aluminium will handle it fine Kim. I drilled a couple of holes in mine and it's been fine.

Ended up that we bought some more alu and had it welded in as cross bracing. We sit 2 medium size storage boxes on there and these would have fallen in the gaps without cross bracing.

Biggest thing to keep in check is the weight you are adding. You'll bend the bows on the tent when you wind it closed if you go too heavy. I learnt the hard way.

A work around if it end up too heavy is to help lift the hard floor when closing. We do this everytime.

KIMBOPRADO

« Reply #349 on: November 02, 2013, 11:02:20 PM »
Thanks wazza2 for the response, never thought of the bows for tent being effected, might just do the kids 2 lighter bikes first, see how that goes after a trip and go from there.

Kim