Author Topic: Council to charge you to park Van on your own property!  (Read 7049 times)

Council to charge you to park Van on your own property!
« on: May 02, 2019, 10:50:42 AM »
What the absolute ****?

also - define "Large trailer"...

https://www.casey.vic.gov.au/apply-keep-large-vehicles-private-property

Apply to keep large vehicles on private property

Large vehicles can include:
trucks
trailers
caravans

Fees
$120 application fee (non-refundable)
$420 yearly fee

How to apply
To apply to keep a large vehicle on private property, you must:

complete a Private Land Use Permit Application form
provide a sketch plan of where you will keep the vehicle
pay the application fee

What happens next
We will consult with your neighbours to let them know you wish to keep a large vehicle in a residential area.
We will inspect the area where your plan to keep your vehicle.
If your permit is approved, you must pay a yearly fee.
You must renew your permit every year.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2019, 10:53:02 AM by Bird »

Offline Poita

Re: Council to charge you to park Van on your own property!
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2019, 10:53:18 AM »
That has to be a late April fools...

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2019, 11:01:36 AM »
Noooooooooo.... What the! 😨

« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2019, 11:27:07 AM »
Go on, let me guess - owners of storage places are complaining that people store things at home, so they miss out on charging exorbitant $$$ ??? >:D

« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2019, 11:37:42 AM »
Love to see the dummy spitting on the caravanner forums..

Does this inc boats? car trailers? box trailers, horse floats? etc

and what do you get for your $420.00 a year?

« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2019, 12:21:40 PM »
Almost fake news, I guess probably a half truth???

They are trying to stop people filling vacant blocks with junk.
It’s about parking prime movers on the curbs, piling up scrap cars and old shipping containers and making dirt bike tracks on private property.

If you have a look at the application form it’s all pretty clear.
Obviously they’ve had issues with all of the above.

Nothing to do with caravans or normal trailers.

Edit;
Actually after having a look at the satellite view of the "city of Casey" I'd say this has come from all of those new developments being pushed into the rural areas of that council.

Must be the mexican way.
Find a place that's nice a relaxed. Where the way of life is just like it was back in the days.
Then jamb a couple of thousand houses in there and complain to the authorities about all the noise coming from those bloody kids on thier motorbikes hooning around in big blocks down the road that haven't been developed yet....  :police:
I thought they only did that stuff when they migrated north settled in the regional areas up here. But apparantly they do it to their own kind as well.....  >:D
« Last Edit: May 02, 2019, 12:37:38 PM by Pete79 »

« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2019, 12:24:20 PM »
Council scheme to raise revenue

Offline corndog

« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2019, 12:31:19 PM »
Wouldn't surprise me if it is all true.

« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2019, 12:48:59 PM »
It will be true for sure, it's my council and they are the biggest pack of dead sh!ts going around, they make the federal pollies  look like brain surgeons. You can bet it's all started from these new estates in their zones, they have let the developers build the estates with narrow streets that you can't legally park two cars side by side and then drive down them, and all our Indian friends that live in them drive delivery trucks, it is total chaos, they have no yards so can't park off street and no space on the street, so now the idiots will charge a fee and get a larger pay packet for their stuff up in the first place. Lucky I live in the older area and have a yard because I've got five trailers all off the street, but I bet they still come knocking coz there's s buck to be made

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2019, 12:56:07 PM »
Love to see the dummy spitting on the caravanner forums..

Does this inc boats? car trailers? box trailers, horse floats? etc

and what do you get for your $420.00 a year?

You get to feel good about contributing the the Council coffers and a getting a piece of paper saying...............You can now park a trailer/boat/caravan in your own yard.  ;D

« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2019, 01:07:41 PM »
Quote from: macca
I've got five trailers all off the street, but I bet they still come knocking coz there's s buck to be made
$420 per trailer?

yea I've noticed hte narrow streets... mate lived round there and its criminal how they have done it.

« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2019, 01:14:28 PM »
Correct me if im wrong but...................................

Is'nt that what you pay your rates for on YOUR land?

« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2019, 01:26:45 PM »
Correct me if im wrong but...................................

Is'nt that what you pay your rates for on YOUR land?
Not with Casey council, do some google searches I'm sure you will find heaps of similar stories on the nutters, they are a law unto themselves. Must admit tho down near my daughter's place a guy has a boat parked on the street, haven't measured it but I think it would be a metre or so longer than the Titanic

« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2019, 02:19:33 PM »
Not with Casey council, do some google searches I'm sure you will find heaps of similar stories on the nutters, they are a law unto themselves. Must admit tho down near my daughter's place a guy has a boat parked on the street, haven't measured it but I think it would be a metre or so longer than the Titanic

He wouldnt wanna live back home ...

https://www.theleader.com.au/story/4763550/new-boat-trailer-rules-start/
(June 30 2017 - 2:53PM)
Boat trailers parked on streets in Sutherland Shire for more than 28 days can be impounded from July 1

« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2019, 05:05:12 PM »
I'm supprised it hasn't been knocked off, maybe they can't find anything big enough to tow it with

Offline PWE

« Reply #15 on: May 02, 2019, 08:19:03 PM »
What if I have a contemporary environmental friendly old containers recycle home?
Or is f my caravan is parked inside my fully enclosed garage.

No offence meant towards the Victorians but this will not fly in Queensland.
Change is good, so smile and enjoy life!
Landcruiser 76 tourer

« Reply #16 on: May 02, 2019, 09:01:52 PM »

What if I have a contemporary environmental friendly old containers recycle home?
Or is f my caravan is parked inside my fully enclosed garage.

No offence meant towards the Victorians but this will not fly in Queensland.

I wouldn't be too sure about that, with all the idiots that get into local councils these days it's probably only a matter of time before Shit like this spreads, City of Casey leads the way in stupidity and has done for a number of years but other councils either see an agenda or another way of ripping off people to make  their own pay packets fatter and they follow suit,  you just have to look at local councils and Australia Day to see how fast  stupidity spreads.
Just remember you have guys like Clive, Katter and a few more up there which proves that stupidity is not just confined to Victoria

Offline PWE

« Reply #17 on: May 02, 2019, 09:18:10 PM »
Cannot argue about King Clive and Cowboy Katter.

Curious to see what the outcome will be of the other Councils and interstate Councils.
Change is good, so smile and enjoy life!
Landcruiser 76 tourer

Offline 1302toby

« Reply #18 on: May 02, 2019, 10:09:22 PM »
Got to pay off the new council offices in Narre Warren somehow..

« Reply #19 on: May 03, 2019, 09:39:46 AM »
I wouldn't be too sure about that, with all the idiots that get into local councils these days it's probably only a matter of time before Shit like this spreads, City of Casey leads the way in stupidity and has done for a number of years but other councils either see an agenda or another way of ripping off people to make  their own pay packets fatter and they follow suit,  you just have to look at local councils and Australia Day to see how fast  stupidity spreads.
Just remember you have guys like Clive, Katter and a few more up there which proves that stupidity is not just confined to Victoria

Thats the thing - I reckon Councils have conferences to share stupid ideas - and to vote for someone to be a sucker test case on things, see how the lemmings wear it and if the lemmings are against it, they will all run with it.

The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

« Reply #20 on: May 03, 2019, 11:41:32 AM »
Councils
You think yours is leadin th stupid??

Frankston Council Initiative
.... on Radio at moment some chick just asked for full cream milk in coffee at the new Library Cafe - and the guy said no its not healthy...

'The Book and Bean Cafe is now open at Frankston Library, with a focus on healthy food options, to help you make the right food choice.
The cafe’s menu has been designed by Council’s Hospitality Officer, Neil Kingscote, in consultation with dieticians at Peninsula Health.'

https://www.frankston.vic.gov.au/Your_Council/Media_and_Publications/Latest_News/New_library_caf%C3%A9_off_to_a_healthy_start

EDIT: AND
Monash council: $22 levy now on recycle bins for 12 mths due to recycling problems.

So everythign will go in the normal bin from now on
« Last Edit: May 03, 2019, 11:44:33 AM by Bird »

« Reply #21 on: May 03, 2019, 11:47:26 AM »
AND
Monash council: $22 levy now on recycle bins for 12 mths due to recycling problems.

So everythign will go in the normal bin from now on

They will make sure you are charged the levy either way.

« Reply #22 on: May 03, 2019, 02:20:25 PM »
They will make sure you are charged the levy either way.
Na, we have to *buy* our recycle bins.. they are optional... Note: extra fee....

« Reply #23 on: May 03, 2019, 04:41:19 PM »
Didn't take them long to back down. In a media release on their website, after the standard apology they say that caravans, motorhomes, boats and trailers are exempt unless you are living in them for more than two weeks. They say it was a misunderstanding, like to know how you would misunderstand if you read the application,  at least some dim wit in the council could work out it wasn't going to end well for them

« Reply #24 on: May 03, 2019, 05:32:40 PM »
Always remember the sign writer up the road from my home growing up . Bankstown council wouldn’t let him build a 4m high carport so he could paint trucks under it . So he erected a 4m high carport on wheels and the council couldn’t do Didly squat 😂🤣 sat there for 25 yrs

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA