Author Topic: Cyclone Yasi.... Good Luck fellow N'Qldrs  (Read 8777 times)

Cyclone Yasi.... Good Luck fellow N'Qldrs
« on: February 01, 2011, 05:15:34 PM »
G'day all,

Well it looks like we are in for a bit of a breezy day tomorrow......... best of luck to all, look after yourselves.... give a hand when it's needed, but remember to be safe....... see ya's at the clean up!!.....

All the best.

QUEENSLANDER!!!!

Offline Moto Mech

Re: Cyclone Yasi.... Good Luck fellow N'Qldrs
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2011, 05:41:47 PM »
Yeah, good luck to all up there.
ARB, the only gear for my Landcruiser 105
Red Earth Camper Trailer

« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2011, 07:48:20 PM »
Well said Barrabart.   Have to admit this one is doing my head in - just can't get past the size of the bugger - the fact we're to have very strong winds tomorrow morning already and it's still 1000 kms away!!!   Crikey!!
Really feel all the others have been a dress rehearsal and this is the real performance for Cairns.
Sorry to sound a tad freaked but yes, I am very anxious.
Take care all far north and north Queenslanders.
Sharyn

Offline graylyn

• Kendall River Barramundi
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2011, 08:20:17 PM »
Look after yourselves up there, and keep your heads down.
The worst day fishing is always better than the best day at work.

2021 Isuzu d-max utility 3 litre
2012 Jayco Swan Outback
full 60 litre Engel

« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2011, 08:29:25 PM »

Just so you feel a little more comforted, TC Tracy was about 217k wind speed when it broke the measuring do-darr.  So far it's been the worst recorded TC (I believe).  And TC Tracy is the reason we have those great building compliances to adhere to now.  The northern side of the TC is (apparently) the best side to be on.  You guys will be fine.  Stay inside.  Keep away from the windows.  The smallest room in the house is usually the most sturdy I'm told.  Sure to see you on the other side of it.  Be careful when it's all over though ...

They don't breed sissy's up here in Qld.  Stay Safe.

Offline dragonsgirl

« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2011, 09:00:23 PM »
Stay safe everyone up in North Queensland will be thinking of you, remember possessions can be replaced but your lives cant.

Dragonsgirl and Dash60
AKA
Wendie & Darrell

Blog: www.campingwiththehumes.blogspot.com

Offline Crazy Dog

• Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2011, 09:40:17 PM »
Hey Sharyn,

Wanna come round - you and the boy for a cyclone party....Hahahaha'

Grrr!!!

Keeping head down - now have head between legs ready to kiss my ar.. good by..

Bloody hell it's a biggun eh...

U2 keep safe mate.. :-*
Cairns FNQ - I love poor little defenseless animals, especially in gravy.

Offline JCAT

• Live for today, you may not be here tomorrow.
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2011, 10:19:31 PM »
Be Safe up there.

If in doubt, GET OUT!
2018 Prado GXL
2017 Vista Crossover XL

« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2011, 02:06:27 PM »
Hey Sharyn,

Wanna come round - you and the boy for a cyclone party....Hahahaha'

Grrr!!!

Keeping head down - now have head between legs ready to kiss my ar.. good by..

Bloody hell it's a biggun eh...

U2 keep safe mate.. :-*

Hahaha   You and Marg keep safe too.   Yes, it is a big bugger eh.   That's what keeps freaking me out - the sheer size of it. Have always felt rather laid back about cyclones over the years, but not this time! Feeling very nervous about what's coming in a few hours from now.   Anyway, all the best.   :D

Offline tonyw

• Tonys Travel Blogs
« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2011, 02:37:03 PM »
Be Safe up there.

If in doubt, GET OUT!

Far too late for that now..

« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2011, 02:48:46 PM »
Townsville Yasi webcam
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/caillins13

« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2011, 02:49:35 PM »
How Cyclone Yasi compares around the world.
It's a big Sucker.

Take care guys, our thoughts are with you.

« Reply #12 on: February 02, 2011, 03:39:44 PM »
Be safe everyone...
Bill and Morag
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

« Reply #13 on: February 02, 2011, 04:20:22 PM »
For the religious I will say a prayer

For those not religious I will crack a coldie

Bugger it, I crack two open anyway!

Best of luck.

« Reply #14 on: February 02, 2011, 05:49:52 PM »
Will pray for all of you.

Well said dragongirl.

Offline BigDougie

• Enjoy Today for who knows what the future holds!
« Reply #15 on: February 02, 2011, 06:09:26 PM »
About to crack one too dazzler, just waiting for the battering now.

Winds blowing up and the rain is getting heavy. Here she comes, knocking on the door.

;D No stressing now, just hold on......
Our Maverick and New to us Trackabout Overlander RF

"Smile and Wave boy's, Smile and Wave"

« Reply #16 on: February 02, 2011, 06:19:24 PM »
FNQ Swaggers  you are in our hearts as you go in to this trial tonight , Stay Safe  as  best you can .
When the going gets tuff the TUFF GET GOING . To You All  :cheers:

« Reply #17 on: February 02, 2011, 06:45:06 PM »
FNQ Swaggers  you are in our hearts as you go in to this trial tonight , Stay Safe  as  best you can .
When the going gets tuff the TUFF GET GOING . To You All  :cheers:

Your sincerity shows Speewa ... no spelling errors ... complete coherance ... and only 1  :cheers:  :-*  ... let's hope they make it out the other side with little loss of life ... heaven knows what the place will look like afterwards.  I reckon the wildlife will suffer the worst of all.  They have nowhere to shelter and no-one to care for them.  We've given to the flood fund, now the RSPCA will need a hand.  I know they have been evacuating not only the homeless pets, but local pets as well.  Hopefully it won't be too heartbraking for both humans and creatures.

Offline Blue Bravo

• adventure before dementia
« Reply #18 on: February 02, 2011, 07:09:04 PM »
Mrs Bravo and I are just hoping that everyone comes out safe and sound.
Glenn

A member of the leisure class

Offline Glencoe

« Reply #19 on: February 02, 2011, 07:26:44 PM »
Thinking of you all up north also, take care everyone...

« Reply #20 on: February 02, 2011, 07:40:48 PM »
Hi FNQ ers our thoughts and prayers are with you and my two daughters who are batten down in Cairns as well so a sleepless night for us as well in Dural.

Guys stay safe and don't take chances, life is too precious.

« Reply #21 on: February 02, 2011, 08:02:55 PM »
Your sincerity shows Speewa ... no spelling errors ... complete coherance ... and only 1  :cheers:  :-*  ... let's hope they make it out the other side with little loss of life ... heaven knows what the place will look like afterwards.  I reckon the wildlife will suffer the worst of all.  They have nowhere to shelter and no-one to care for them.  We've given to the flood fund, now the RSPCA will need a hand.  I know they have been evacuating not only the homeless pets, but local pets as well.  Hopefully it won't be too heartbraking for both humans and creatures.

Yeah, always wonder where the wildlife shelter and how they can possibly survive.  As soon as Larry passed by, I saw a butterfly fly through our backyard.  Couldn't believe what I was seeing.  Something so delicate - where on earth had it been sheltering???!!!     Wish I could add sound to this post.  The winds have seriously picked up over the last hour and it's just the beginning.  It is going to be one very long scary night.   Am shutting down the computer now.  Lights have had a bit of a flicker, so expect the power to go out any time soon.   Talk to you all in a few days or so.   Thanks for all the well wishes.  Bye for now, Sharyn

Offline Lemo79

« Reply #22 on: February 02, 2011, 08:08:07 PM »
Stay Safe guys.

Lemo

« Reply #23 on: February 02, 2011, 08:19:02 PM »
Sharyn Tropicbird 54   Welcome back  Glad to have you here . Read this when you can .

« Reply #24 on: February 02, 2011, 08:49:47 PM »
Stay safe everyone.
Try and keep a level head and stay put.
The sun will rise again  :cheers: