Author Topic: Cyclone Anthony paying a visit in a few hours  (Read 3495 times)

Offline kochy

• Toyota Hilux Dualcab Turbo
Cyclone Anthony paying a visit in a few hours
« on: January 30, 2011, 08:18:59 PM »
Sitting here at Bowen waiting for the cyclone to hit, about midnight it won't be anything like "Larry" that hit Innisfail. Winds will peak at about 140kmh. I see Mackay is coping heaps of rain at the moment and the eye of the cyclone is about 50km off Bowen now 8pm.
But the next one following is reported to be packing winds to 400kmh. Everything is strapped down including the trooppy and the camper both in the shed.
If you are not riding on the edge you are taking up to much room

Re: Cyclone Anthony paying a visit in a few hours
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2011, 08:22:26 PM »
Not much fun up there hey
Stay safe
Brett B

Offline kochy

« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2011, 08:25:51 PM »
Thanks Brett, Yes you are right not much fun very concerned about the next one will be moving gear west to Moranbah or Clermont not many houses can stand winds that they are predicting.

« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2011, 08:34:42 PM »
yes this one is nothing but concerns with the next one and where ever it hits. I have been through 4 cyclones but nothing over cat 2.

The scariest is when they hit at night as you cannot see what is happening especially if the power goes out. Just the noise of the wind.

« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2011, 08:39:11 PM »
As if the flooding wasn't enough. Now you guys have Cyclones to deal with........
Hope everyone gets through the ruff stuff OK. :cheers:

Offline kochy

« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2011, 08:42:45 PM »
Thanks Bullfrog
At least we have some warning not like the poor people around Grantham and Laidley. It seems to be flooding all over the eastern states at the moment.

« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2011, 08:55:35 PM »
No worries about floods here to high up
but we survived the black sat fires its all crap just a different colour
and have been given a second chance
when in doubt get out

« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2011, 09:01:01 PM »
kochy, looks like the eye is just about to start passing over you (9pm), so far it seems you got the wind and we got the rain.

« Last Edit: January 30, 2011, 09:04:40 PM by Symon »

Offline Paul and Bern

• Living for Holidays
« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2011, 09:01:31 PM »
 :D
yes this one is nothing but concerns with the next one and where ever it hits
Hope all goes well and it runs out of puff.  Both will be bad if they drop a heap of rain out back again at Emerald etc  :-[

Best of Wishes
Can every day be made a public holiday?

« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2011, 09:07:43 PM »
Yasi doesn't look like fun either...

Offline shanegtr

• Offroad80s
« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2011, 09:09:08 PM »
But the next one following is reported to be packing winds to 400kmh. Everything is strapped down including the trooppy and the camper both in the shed.

whos predicting 400km/h winds? The yanks are estimating winds over 110knots (just a shade over 200km/h)
Quote from: http://www.usno.navy.mil/NOOC/nmfc-ph/RSS/jtwc/warnings/sh1111web.txt
THERE
IS POTENTIAL FOR THIS SYSTEM TO PEAK HIGHER THAN 110 KNOTS AND MAKE
LANDFALL AS A VERY STRONG, LARGE SYSTEM.

Either way it'll be a decent blow. I think we might end up with a big one over here before the seasons over

« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2011, 09:10:19 PM »
The funny thing is ( if you can call it funny ) I was talking to an old mate the other day about our recent flood & we both were saying how our area in the past has had a flood, things have settled down again & then we get an ex-TC come floating down the coast & dump heaps of rain resulting in a bigger flood than the first one  :-[. Hope I'm wrong....

Offline kochy

« Reply #12 on: January 30, 2011, 09:36:54 PM »
Symon it is starting to ease and swing around as normal I expect it to pick up again as the EYE passes over.
Chris

« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2011, 06:27:57 AM »
Thinking of you in FNQ   Stay safe .
The news told  of 14in of rain falling in a guage out of Mackey  thats hard to belive but who knows these days . Heres hoping that Thursday will track in the ocean with little or no land contact