Author Topic: new member  (Read 6361 times)

« on: November 19, 2015, 02:14:22 PM »
Hi my name is Craig I am 51, I live near Noosa in QLD, and yes I use to grow Bananas, I love camping, shooting, 4wdring, and any type of fishing that has to do with bait live or dead, My wife and I have 4 kids and we have owned for the last few years an old 1HZ diesel 80 series wagon with 620,000ks on the clock. I have owned landrovers, Nissens, and 3 toyjos but perfur to work on and own the older stile Toyotas, we allso have an old jayco Jaylark around 1982 model that I bought a year or so ago payed $1600, I got had as both ends were rotted out the timber was gone and ply floor was buggered and it cost around $800 for timber and screws and paint and ply to fix it. I rotated and flipped the axle I bought it because its has a tracking wheel base to the Cruiser, I also strengthened the chassis and stripped all the gas gear out of it as the wife and I hate gas inside a van so it just all beds inside, we just set the fridge and freezer and cooking gear up outside under a tarp.and I took the sink and water tank out as it was rotten under the sink and the tank was buggered, I was going to replace the canvas but at around $4000 it will have to wait a bit longer,  I bought it to camp at Inskip point near Fraser Island, Craig         
« Last Edit: November 19, 2015, 02:20:43 PM by Craig Tomkinson »
The following users thanked this post: archer63

Offline Green rv

• SAND CAR-SELS @ FRASER
Re: new member
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2015, 02:21:38 PM »
Gday Craig

1600+800 not to bad so far
hope you enjoy the forum always a good place to research for those upgrades

Adam

Hilux 2002 LN167 + Stockman POD

« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2015, 02:34:12 PM »
Hi Adam, Thanks, Yes I wise I knew about this site before I bought the van, Sorry plus around $200 to register it again, because it had brakes the tare was 620kg and I took out to 1000kg ATM. Craig 

Offline RWS

« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2015, 02:44:41 PM »
Welcome Graig...plenty on here tinkering with old vans and campers in the build section...you should pickup some great tips and mods.

Enjoy your stay.

Offline archer63

• Live For Today
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2015, 02:51:22 PM »
Welcome Craig mate...lot's to see & read here.

Blink and you can get 20 new posts to read by the time you've read the first one !!

« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2015, 03:24:25 PM »
Welcome to myswag Craig
Lots off information her seems like your pretty handy with the tools
all the best with your projects

CHEERS GRC :cheers:

« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2015, 03:43:31 PM »
Hi RWS, Thanks for that I will have a look in that section, Craig

Thanks Rob, Great site thanks for telling me about,Craig

Hi grc, Thanks, Only self taught, As I  like to do all my own work on all my gear. Craig

« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2015, 08:47:54 PM »
G'day Craig and welcome to myswag.  Enjoy your time on here.

« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2015, 12:09:17 PM »
Thanks KB, Heaps of info on here thats for shore, Craig

« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2015, 05:04:22 PM »
G'day Craig and welcome to Myswag mate. 

« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2015, 06:14:59 PM »
  Welcome Craig.....Lot's of great info on here...Pics are always great ......

« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2015, 06:47:37 PM »
Welcome to the forum Craig. Ask around here and you'll soon blow the budget  ;D

Offline Mangrovematt

« Reply #12 on: November 21, 2015, 08:19:53 PM »
G'day Craig,
Welcome to Mysway, look forward to reading about your trips away with the camper,
We have spent heaps of time fishing and camping at Noosa and DI and surrounds And enjoy your writing style and stories  in BNB , hope to see some photos and trip report soon mate.

LC 79 Dual cab ,  Camel beachcomber x4 humps

« Reply #13 on: November 22, 2015, 02:06:10 PM »
Welcome Craig
Sounds like you have set up a great camper.
Enjoy,

« Reply #14 on: November 24, 2015, 01:44:02 PM »
Hi Sixpack, Thanks for that, Craig

Hi Tracker, Thank you, Yes tried to put my photos on here but they did not load three times got the shirts with it and gave up, Craig

Hi Plusnq, No worries I am a tight ass so there's no way that will happen thanks, Craig

Getday Matt, Thanks heaps, Yes love writing for the BNB and I try and tell it like it is with no BS, Glad you like reading my stories, Yes great spots the old DI and around Noosa I will have to spend more time there with the van once I get new canvas for it, Craig

Thanks Rob, the old van she is far from perfect, but good enough to knock around once I go bush or up the beach, Craig   

Offline WillsTdi

« Reply #15 on: November 24, 2015, 07:35:52 PM »
Welcome from another Newbie with a 1980's camper :-)
Cheers William
'97 Land Rover Discovery 1 300 Tdi Auto Modified
'85 Cub Campomatic modified
'05 BMW R1150 GS Adventure

« Reply #16 on: November 24, 2015, 07:52:03 PM »
Getday WillsTdi, Thank you, What make and model camper did you by and did you have to fix it up, Craig

« Reply #17 on: November 28, 2015, 05:44:13 AM »
Welcome to the Forum, sounds as though you are a well traveled explorer. Keep us updated on your travels and join in the banter

« Reply #18 on: November 29, 2015, 08:45:44 PM »
HI GG, Thanks looks like a great site, Yes first went up Cape York in 1982 with a mate, went back in 87 with my dad for 10 weeks, Did the Gulf and Darwin and the Kimberlies in 1988 for a few months then around Aus that same trip, Up the Cape a few more times with the girl friend, Then did the centre trip and Gulf  with the misses, Did the Cape another few times with same lady but now my wife, After all the other places I have been I just love the Cape the best been going up there many times in the last 33 years, I have done 90 o/o of the Cape but Pennefarther to me is the best, Craig