Author Topic: Hi from Sydney  (Read 4910 times)

Offline scblack

Hi from Sydney
« on: June 21, 2015, 09:27:42 AM »

Newbie here, this looks like a good site, with a bunch of good helpful members. I came across this site investigating my new camper, and car purchases.

To introduce myself then:

Camper - I have ordered a Jayco Swan Outback. Options are: bed flies, bag awning, awning walls, moved the battery to the rear dinette seat, bed end garage and roof racks.

Car - Subaru Forester 2.0d-l turbo diesel, CVT auto.

Family - myself, wifey, 2 girls aged 8 & 10.

We have been camping for many years in our Jayco Swift camper which we sold to upgrade to the Swan Outback. The Swift managed with the four of us, but as the kids grow, it needed to be bigger. We go offroad, hence the Outback model, but not really genuine 4WD'ing, more likely to need firetrail access to mates properties. We go camping with a decent sized group of friends, most of whom have outback style campers or caravans.

I have read the stories of the ridiculously underweight towball weight listing by Jayco for the Swan Outback, and have my own story there, but shall open a new thread for that I reckon. The Sydney dealer was VERY silent when towball weights were raised. I learnt through that episode.

Anyway, g'day all.
VW Amarok Highline 2016
Jayco Swan Outback 2015

A man must believe in something.
I believe I'll have another beer.

Re: Hi from Sydney
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2015, 09:50:32 AM »
Gday and welcome
Yep I agree, very helpful mob here, that's what makes this forum the success it is IMHO.

« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2015, 10:19:38 AM »
Welcome to myswag.  Congrats on the new Jayco

Offline speedhump

• Going places ... others dream!
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2015, 11:37:52 AM »

A big welcome to My Swag & hope you enjoy your jayco.
Speedhump
Speedhump
2013 triton 4WD dual cab
2016 New Age Wallaby Caravan
4.55m Makocraft runabout & Quintrex 350 cartopper
Our Blog: chezzastravels.wordpress.com

Offline scblack

« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2015, 03:02:19 PM »
Cheers guys, now have the frustrating wait until September until we get the camper delivered.
VW Amarok Highline 2016
Jayco Swan Outback 2015

Offline Mobi

« Reply #5 on: June 21, 2015, 04:30:57 PM »
Welcome to My Swag and I'm sure September will come fast enough.

Peter
Cat slave

« Reply #6 on: June 21, 2015, 05:20:32 PM »
Hi mate welcome. I am also waiting on a Jayco Swan Outback we must be in the same build batch as I too am waiting for September. Can't wait to share ideas And photo's.

Offline scblack

« Reply #7 on: June 21, 2015, 06:00:09 PM »
I home brew too, is there a Home Brew thread in here? - I'll check out the recipes section. :cheers:
VW Amarok Highline 2016
Jayco Swan Outback 2015

« Reply #8 on: June 21, 2015, 09:08:40 PM »
Welcome,

Sounds like you are having some great changes to your camping coming up.
Enjoy the new gear.

Offline Colmano

• Our trip to Cape York: www.rifftotip.wordpress.com
    • Follow our trip to the Cape...
« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2015, 09:11:13 PM »
Welcome to myswag...your wallet will be forever lighter  ;D ;D

Congrats on the Swan purchase too...nice choice  :cup:
2010 Toyota Prado GXL V6 4.0i - 2015 Jayco Swan Outback
Check out our recent 2016 trip - Penrith to Uluru: www.rifftorock.wordpress.com

« Reply #10 on: July 13, 2015, 12:50:47 PM »
Welcome to the Forum, heaps of info on the Jayco's here

Offline scblack

« Reply #11 on: July 17, 2015, 10:10:04 AM »
Some awesome knowledge from people to be picked up in here - particularly electrical mods which I have Zero working knowledge of. I'm trawling plenty of threads for ideas.
VW Amarok Highline 2016
Jayco Swan Outback 2015