Author Topic: Greetings from the Gold Coast  (Read 4388 times)

Greetings from the Gold Coast
« on: May 13, 2015, 10:55:14 AM »
G'day all.

Long-time lurker, reader & researcher, who's finally got round to actually signing-up (so I could see more photo's!) & saying hello.

First off, a massive thank you to all those very clever people who keep posting some brilliant ideas & suggestions on here  :cup:  – as our CT starts getting modded, lots of concepts will be copied.  ;D

Way, way back, when I was young, single & so had money, I used to do a bit of camping with the mates – tents, tarps & occasionally a borrowed CT. When we got married, my wife wasn't in the least interested in camping – old joke I know, but her concept of camping under the stars really is between 3 & 5 stars! We then went to a Caravan & Camping Show a couple of years ago (still don't know why – guess it was a wet weekend & didn't have anything else to do) & to my amazement she started looking at CT's & commenting on how nice they were & really comfy & so on -  all of a sudden, she's interested in getting one!

Nothing much happened last year because I busted my wrist in a work accident, but then, late in the year, my wife's nephew offered us their CT. They had a new bub & were also planning on going o'seas for a couple of years so wouldn't be camping but preferred to keep it in the family.

It's a 7x4 Economy Trailer (http://www.economytrailers.com.au/for-sale/Trailers/CAMPER-Trailer/K24LXY/details?fr=13&fd=3000&ft=7&fb=0) fitted with an Oztrail Camper 12 tent, which is absolutely massive, with a huge amount of space for the 4 of us. It must have been put together pretty well, though, as it originally started life as a hire trailer for a few years. After the nephew bought it, they used it quite a bit for weekender's & so on, then took it from the Gold Coast to Perth, via Darwin, Kakadu & the Kimberley's before coming home across the Nullabor.

So far, we've only used it once for a weekend (& when I can figure out how to shrink the size of the photo  ???, I'll put some pics up), but there's definite plans for more frequent trips!

Anyway, I'll start a thread of what I want to do with regard to mod's & there's also lot's of questions still to be asked!

Hope to catch some of you around a camp-fire with a cold beer in hand at some time.  :cheers:

Graeme

As promised:
« Last Edit: May 13, 2015, 01:25:56 PM by Fizzie »

Offline Peterr

Re: Greetings from the Gold Coast
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2015, 10:59:29 AM »
Welcome back to camping!!

Lots of nice places for relaxing weekends , and longer , handy to the Gold Coast too; and then there's the rest of Aussie to explore as well .....

Let the modding begin ..........

Peter

MDC camper , SOLD it..  Pop top very soon....

« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2015, 12:00:29 PM »
G'day Graeme and welcome to myswag.  Congrats on your CT purhase.  Look forward to reading of your many adventures in it.

Offline saint camp

« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2015, 07:35:20 PM »
Welcome to myswag mate!

Happy camping!

« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2015, 09:11:43 PM »
Welcome from another gold coaster, as peterr said, lots of place close to the coast for weekend getaways. Keep an eye out for MySwag stickers and flags when your out and about  :D

« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2015, 09:43:13 PM »
Welcome to another Qlder.Keep an eye out for myswag get togethers around the great south east.

« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2015, 08:50:17 PM »
Welcome Graeme,

Great score, looks like you are well set up now.
Have fun, lots of great spots in the Great South East.

« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2015, 01:59:20 PM »
Thanks everyone!

As I said before, looking forward to catching you around a camp-fire with a cold beer in hand  :cheers:

Graeme

Offline speedhump

• Going places ... others dream!
« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2015, 02:09:44 PM »

Hello G.
you will enjoy this site
Speedhump
Speedhump
2013 triton 4WD dual cab
2016 New Age Wallaby Caravan
4.55m Makocraft runabout & Quintrex 350 cartopper
Our Blog: chezzastravels.wordpress.com

« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2015, 08:29:38 PM »
G'day Graeme,

There are few Swaggers just south of you, The Clarence Valley, give a shout out.
Happy & Safe Travels.

Offline Bongo

« Reply #10 on: May 21, 2015, 12:31:00 AM »
Welcome to MySwag. Looks like a very capable unit.

Tom.

Offline jackriley

• cold air, dark night, warm fire, bright stars
« Reply #11 on: May 21, 2015, 07:56:53 AM »
Welcome mate.

Good to see another Gold Coaster join up.

See you out and about.
there ain't nothing wrong with them city lights,
but me, I prefer them slow country nights.