Author Topic: thumbs up or thumbs down  (Read 6981 times)

Offline eatMYdust

• I Do What I Do Coz I Do It So Well
thumbs up or thumbs down
« on: September 24, 2010, 08:38:58 PM »
i would like to give a thumbs DOWN to the bloke who came running into work the other day looking very stressed out. after talking to him i found out he was driving to work when the coupling of the tradesmen trailer he was towing broke off and his trailer was stuck on the side of the road. mind you this was boundary rd in mordialloc during morning peak. so with that i grabbed a few things and met him down at the trailer i was able to clamp on a coupling with a couple of plates one on top and one underneath the a frame this made it possable to tow the trailer back to work. i then cleaned up replaced and welded any broken bits and re fitted the coupling finishing off with a bit of paint to protect the welds. what would you expect to pay for that kind of service well i only asked for a slab to try and cut the guy a break and with that the guy set off for my payment do you think he returned? no chance. i haven't seen him i really must be more aware of people in this day and age its just too hard to tell who is genuine or not
if you pick at it, it won't heal

Re: thumbs up or thumbs down
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2010, 08:41:40 PM »
Thats sad...

« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2010, 08:43:12 PM »
Mate

That sucks :'(

Offline Stoo

« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2010, 08:44:14 PM »
Good on you for the good deed, but don't give up on people, some of us are ok.

( what a scumbag )

« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2010, 08:49:21 PM »
Thats poor form on his behalf, How long since the repair?

Offline bommy

« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2010, 08:51:11 PM »
I'd come back with two slabs:D

some people on this earth are bogan scum, seems like you encountered one :( 
Living life & enjoying the scenery

« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2010, 08:54:33 PM »
some people on this earth are bogan scum, seems like you encountered one :( 

What's worse are cubs...cashed up bogan scum  >:(

Offline eatMYdust

« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2010, 08:57:01 PM »
its only been a couple of days since the repair and don't worry people i haven't given up on everyone i just had an eye opener is all

Offline oldturtle22

« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2010, 08:59:50 PM »
poor form

Offline eatMYdust

« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2010, 09:05:24 PM »
What's worse are cubs...cashed up bogan scum  >:(

LOL funny

Offline Humbolt

« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2010, 09:19:55 PM »
Big thumbs down!!!
Yeah unfortunately those sorts of things make you tink twice about whether to help next time or not.
Karma will get the better of them.
Unfortunately life's lessons can be very harsh but make you wise for next time.
Good on you for helping though  :cup:

Offline Prado BB

« Reply #11 on: September 24, 2010, 10:17:07 PM »
eatmydust, never mind, you still did a good deed and therefore you will be rewarded.....philosophical I know, but good onya your a  :angel:
Cheers Andy

A diplomat is someone who can tell you to go to hell in such a way, that you look forward to the journey.

« Reply #12 on: September 24, 2010, 10:23:41 PM »
Unfortunately there are some scum out there, but eatmydust, you can stand tall,

Wil

Gonewalkabouts

« Reply #13 on: September 24, 2010, 10:32:09 PM »

What a mongrel, and mate Im sorry to hear you were short changed with your generosity, geez mate I'd buy you a slab myself after reading your story.

People are creatures of habit, and sooner or later he will proabably short change somebody else who collect on him (back of the pub or workshop)

« Reply #14 on: September 24, 2010, 10:32:47 PM »
Karma will be a bitch to them, but your good dead will be repaid in the future.

Cheers for helping out though!! :cheers:

Cracka

« Reply #15 on: September 25, 2010, 08:06:54 AM »
Well done on your good deed :cheers:
I cant work out people like this. Unfortunately there are plenty of them around.
Ive also learned that myself.
Good deeds dont go far these days unless you come across good people.
Like said before, he will keep.

Onya mate :cheers:

john

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #16 on: September 25, 2010, 08:54:21 AM »
That's crap mate I know it feels,

years ago at Easter I took the family to Landcrusier park ( Bad IDEA ) but anyway we got there set up all was good. At about 8PM
A guy in an F100 rolled in and set up next to us . He was alone just him 45 Y/O ,and his 9 Y/O son . they started to set up and then went off in search of wood to build a fire .My wife could hear them crashing around in the bush and gave me the obligatory "go help "Look.

So off I went to lend a hand and eventually told him to take some of my wood as I did not think people wanted me to start a chainsaw at 8.30pm . So I gave him my wood and he said I'll get some more tomorrow for you. No worries and I thought nice to see a father son out together on a camping trip.

Next morning they had no coffee ,so my wife offered to make them one . Then they went off for the day and returned about 3 hrs later being towed into the camp ground. Pulled up at camp and asked me if I knew anything about cars. I said "enough to know that's stuffed" when I popped the bonnet and saw engine oil and coolant in the air filter.

any way he asked if I could drive him to the office so he could make some calls ,So I drive him to the office and he starts to call tow trucks (Easter SAT) and they tell him it will be $500 for a tow back to Bribe Island where he lives. He then starts trying to negotiate a price with the towy. And then calls another and another.

Whilst waiting there for him to do this a young guy walks into the office and enquires on a recovery to which he is told $200.00 per hour. .He was all sweaty aftyer walking all the way from track he was stuck on. I asked a few Q's and decided I would help the young guy out and drove him back to his car and discovered he had dropped a clutch on the side of the track (NOT 4WDing). So I towed him back to office . He offered me $100.00 plus all his beer .which I declined and told him to pay it forward..He was very appreciative .

Back the office my f150 guy was still stuffing around and I said mate I got to get back 4 hours later. He got a truck booked for the morning .so we went back and then he says "can you tow me from the campground to the office as it's an extra $200.00 to get picked up from campground. I did not want to tow that car all that way but wanted to get rid of the guy by this stage so I agreed.

Next morning I tow him there and he Say's "thanks for all your help I only live 10 Min's from you I will drop in and shout you a beer. WELL 2 YEARS LATER I AM STILL WAITING !! What a prick . I spent countless hours ,my fuel etc helping this ignorant person and he lives 10 min away and can't even  stop in and say thanks when he drives past my place each day.

And the young fella and later another fella I helped out tried to empty his ashtray of all his change and give me all his beer and a mars bar for helping him for 5 Min's when he got stuck on a track.

I ate humble pie that weekend and these 2 young guys restored my faith in young people and demonstarted to me that just because of someones age does not make them more likely to be decent...

That Father is a disgrace and I hope he gets his karma...   
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline OffRoadDave

• If I think I can build it I will!
« Reply #17 on: September 25, 2010, 10:04:18 AM »
EMD, a slab for all that and no sight of it, that sucks big time.

And I agree with jetcrew, age is not a factor used to determine someones morality. I had an old bloke a few years back come in to work and hassle me for some time trying to explain what he wanted us to do, being only a little job I said bring a slab back with you and it's yours, well he comes back to pick up the job with some story about how he'll get the slab and drop it off later, but he needs his job now, I was nice enough to oblige him, to this day I am yet to see the slab.

Since that day, a new policy was put in place, all people who wish to pay in slabs will not be extended credit, all slab payments are to be made on pickup, no slab, no pickup.   :cheers:

Offline Pebble

« Reply #18 on: September 25, 2010, 11:02:53 AM »
Definitely a thumbs down there hey, however hopefully they will still follow through if it's only been a couple of days.

We got caught in rain and recovered a couple of cars from what had become a river crossing on the Mereenie Loop Rd on the way back home to Alice from Kings Canyon once.
The few of us had to spend the night on what little high ground there was as the road had pretty much turned into a river. Our ute was sort of set up for camping so we could comfortably sleep in the back. One of the couples didn't look like they had much so gave them a few dry clothes and a sleeping bag. In the morning I saw them packing up the sleeping bag and I was a little concerned but figured they'd give it back.
I can't remember what was wrong with their car (drank some water possibly and they didn't want to chance it) but we gave them a lift back to Alice, gave them our details and all that but I never saw my gear again. It was a really good sleeping bag and it was my favorite pair of shorts at the time lol! I guess next time I'd make sure to actually ask for it back even though you shouldn't have to.
We didn't expect anything in return for our help, just getting our gear back would have been nice. It's all rather irrelevant now but you know that was a pretty memorable trip, as the ones where things go wrong usually can be!

Lets just say those sort of people know what it's like to be in need of others help, and they know how nice it is to get the help they need. So we can only hope that one day they can find out that it's even better when you're the one able to give the helping hand. And don't offer a slab unless you mean it, even though at times just the offer is all that will be required.

2015 LC Dual Cab
2017 Trakmaster Gibson

« Reply #19 on: September 25, 2010, 10:24:21 PM »

Thumbs Up to you eatmydust! 

Hey, you never know, he may return with that slab ... maybe ...

Offline Johnny Trackabout

• GIDDY UP...WHOO BACK
« Reply #20 on: September 26, 2010, 07:06:25 AM »
"Thumbs down" to the companies who send us junk faxes all the time. It's a waste of paper, toner and administration costs >:( But "thumbs up" to one of my staff members who 2 years ago decided to keep all the junk faxes, so when we get a junk fax I wait till my kids come in to work and I let them feed and fax the sender a couple of 100 pages of everyones crap....tell you what "they don't like it one bit" for some reason it wastes there paper, toner and time ;D I love it as its my revenge and keeps the kids busy for hours on end.....and after all the boys love helping Dad out so its win, win for me  ;D

JT

« Reply #21 on: September 26, 2010, 07:10:53 AM »
Since that day, a new policy was put in place, all people who wish to pay in slabs will not be extended credit, all slab payments are to be made on pickup, no slab, no pickup.   :cheers:

I'll remember that for next week  :D

« Reply #22 on: September 27, 2010, 06:14:54 PM »
Slightly different take one the 'slab' payment. (sorry it’s a bit long winded)
I am more than happy to pay for some help or assistance either in cash or 'slabs', buying coffee or dinner,or offering manual labour. etc etc.
How is this one for 'taking the piss' though.
And guys, please tell me if I am wrong....
Couple years ago, as a young fella left Albany with my dads new Engel in the Falcon planning on taking the missus north for a stint of cheap tent travel heading north.
First stop at familys in Perth, Engel plugged in to 240v at sisters house.
We stopped at Caravan parks tent sites most of way up and took powered sites if price was ok. Was in January, but with big storms in Esperance and a cyclone hitting further north we had bad weather all the way from Albany to Kalbari. It was cool and windy.
Wasnt till we got to Exmouth and weather subsided and it started to get HOT that we noticed an issue with Dads Engel. The Engel happily coped with the hot days after being plugged into 240v the night before, but we knew something wasnt right.
I took the Falcon to a local mechanics thinking I had a problem with the cig lighter plug, told him my situ. Local mech looked at the plug, confirmed its alright and fearing the worst, I asked him (urged him)to check out the fridge. He said didn’t know anything about fridges but would look at the cord. Confirmed cord was ok so must have problem with fridge. This freaked me out. How do I tell Dad I r**ted his beloved fridge and how do I afford to have it fixed?
I thanked the Mech and asked him how much I owe him. He said its ok, was nothing, get on my way. I thanked him again and said “no, seriously, how much do I owe you” he confirmed, get out of here before I changed my mind. I thanked him again and backed out still offering thanks and telling him how decent he is.
But not
But now the fridge was still cactus. My missus was somewhat consoling, but I was in for a hard time from the old man and an empty bank account.
I sought out a local fridge man and when I told him my predicament he said (rather rudely) he said was busy and I could leave the fridge outside his workshop or I could wait for him. I said if its ok, could I wait as I was not leaving the Engel outside a workshop and besides, the way I was feeling I was not in a mood to go see anything. I waited all day, sweating with the fridge under my arm outside the closed workshop. Sweating, Not only for the high 30deg(prob40) day, but also had a whole day of thinking the worst. Finally the not so friendly fridge man came and I carried it into the workshop, he turned it round and laughed. Pulled out an old fuse from the tray and said, “It’ll work now”. Turned out Dad had needed a fuse and took the one from the fridge, never replaced it and never told me about it either. I asked if we could check it and with my 12v cord it kicked into life.
Relief that it was something so simple. I never noticed, as there was no fuse there to begin with, so it didn’t stand out as being the problem.
I Thanked him and asked him how much I owe him. Expecting to hear ‘bring a few coldies’, pay a fiver or tenner, or a six pack of (x) beer. Even the very kind “get on ya bike” reply, which would have been appreciated but not Expected at all.
I heard, “a couple slabs of (x) beer.” (X= favourite most expensive beer, particularly named beer.)
A couple of slabs!! For a 50c fuse and 1 minute of seeing there was simply no fuse there. 
Now this being Exmouth, beer is expensive. $50 or $60 a carton if I remember rightly. Even I was not drinking as the beer was too expensive for a young fellas minimum wage.
I was shocked, and asked again, “how much”, “A couple slabs of (x) beer” came the reply again.
Now that’s just taking the piss.
I said sure, let me get this back to the campsite to pack my food back in and get cold and I’ll drop em right round.
On the way back to campsite I called into the local bottlo and grabbed 2 x 6 pack of beer for the kind mechanic guy, dropped this off to him and told him the brief outcome of the fridge. He offered to drink the beers with me and we shared the 6 pack, nice guy. After a beer with the mech I told him the situ of the fridge man and he said wheres the country town attitude of helping someone. He said it took him 2 mins and no effort of expense to quickly check my car and said the fridge man could have easily just said, go get yourself a (x) amp fuse and it’ll be alright. At least the mech was happy to hear the fridge wasn’t knackered.
I sat and talked with my missus about what we should do. Shall I drop him in the second six pack, (which was my intention) but maybe he’ll get upset he didn’t get 2 x full slabs and give me a belting. He wasn’t a nice guy to begin with anyhow. Eventually, and I didn’t feel good about it, but we packed up and left town. Kind a left a sour feeling in my mouth. I said I hope the next guy that has a fridge problem doesn’t get charged 4 slabs beer, but come on, if he was reasonable I would have happily have dropped off more.
A six pack, I would have happily paid for. My missus was put out that he said (x) particular brand which happened to be some eastern states most expensive beer available there.
I think he was just taking advantage of a young naïve fella who was easily taken the piss out of.
Left a sour feeling for Exmouth and also people like him.
Anyway, if you think I am wrong, please tell me.

Gonewalkabouts

« Reply #23 on: September 27, 2010, 06:31:17 PM »

Mate respect is a big thing (until somebody plays you), what you did was right, if in doubt just think would would the equivalent cost be had you given him the money instead of the beer (retail quote price). By only giving a couple og 6 packs instead of 2 slabs you making sure your getting pissed on whilst still giving a fair compensation for work done. It would have been different if you promised him 2 x slabs and did a runner on him, but you didnt.

If the guy did insisted on  2 slabs of beer for a quick fix (not joking about it), this in my books is no different to a motor mechanic that overprices a job for work that didnt need doing. e.g. taking advantage of a person who knows nothing about cars. 

You have given him beer instead of money which is payment that never goes on the books (tax), secondly it costed time to get it for him.

I think you did the right thing, it read to me like a fair trade, I wouldnt loose sleep over it.

Gonewalkabouts

« Reply #24 on: February 27, 2011, 11:33:42 AM »
i would like to give a thumbs DOWN to the bloke who came running into work the other day looking very stressed out. after talking to him i found out he was driving to work when the coupling of the tradesmen trailer he was towing broke off and his trailer was stuck on the side of the road. mind you this was boundary rd in mordialloc during morning peak. so with that i grabbed a few things and met him down at the trailer i was able to clamp on a coupling with a couple of plates one on top and one underneath the a frame this made it possable to tow the trailer back to work. i then cleaned up replaced and welded any broken bits and re fitted the coupling finishing off with a bit of paint to protect the welds. what would you expect to pay for that kind of service well i only asked for a slab to try and cut the guy a break and with that the guy set off for my payment do you think he returned? no chance. i haven't seen him i really must be more aware of people in this day and age its just too hard to tell who is genuine or not

So did he ever come back?