Author Topic: Drag Racing  (Read 171368 times)

Re: Drag Racing
« Reply #50 on: June 13, 2013, 02:24:13 PM »
Slight traction issue there Shane :)

Close to 900hp through white wall tyres. No idea why that didn't work ::)

Shane.

« Reply #51 on: June 14, 2013, 06:54:35 AM »
Last night, i googled myself to see what was there.  :D

My little V8 Datsun street car/drag car i owned in the early 90's appeared in a couple of forums in 2003, so i've cut and pasted some comments about it. This was 9 years after i'd sold it.....

The heading for this was "Wheelstands on the Street"

1.  saw a certain lil white datsun 1200 a few years back pull the wheels off the ground outside KFC at miami , steve you should remember the car , belonged to kevin campbell, had a 302 windsor on the bottle , back when that was the place to go on the gold coast , was awesome at the time , he purged the gas out the front and then launched , i got some pics of the car at willow if anyone wants to see em

2. kevin now drives a pink hot rod bodies altered at willowbank , not sure if he still does now but did about two years ago , it was maybe 8 years ago i think , he sold the car with rego i think but i have never heard of it since , i think it ran 10,0 , was oh so close to a 9 sec , looked unreal cause he used to purge the NOS system b4 each run , purge came from the vent in front of the screen , saw it quite a bit down the coast cruising around , ill try and find the pics and scan em to show ya

3. Kevin still races the altered, I think the 1200 only went low 10's. He could lift only one front I think on 13's street rubber, it was a very tough car.

4. yes i rememebr that little datto from the KFC days was quite a sight at the lights there when takign off.

The good old days back in the early to mid 90's
« Last Edit: June 14, 2013, 07:23:12 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #52 on: June 14, 2013, 07:36:07 AM »
Sounds like you and I used to hang out in the same places back in the day, there Jeepers,  didnt happen to also hang out up at "  Auto chick " too did you ??

« Reply #53 on: June 14, 2013, 08:46:22 AM »
Yep, remember Auto chick" very well.  :D

The BP at Gaven became a popular spot too, as we would race on highway.

Many a dollar was earned doing a little street racing.  :angel:

Geez, there was one night, we were leaving around 1 or 2 in the morning and unbeknown to us, ol mate coming home from the bowls club has run wide on a corner and gone up the footpath and wedged a small tree into an old escort ( a car not a hooker)  ;D

We've taken off from the lights about 400 metres back down the road.
With 250 HP of nitrous flowing through the ol 302, we went 6,500 in low, 6,500 in second, punched top gear and we are flying along now, 6,500 rpm and the windsor is howling.

As we arrive on the small bingle, the old bloke in his bowls outfit is struggling to stand, the towtruck driver has a grin like a split water melon and officer dibble is about to crap himself.

For a split second, we thought he was gunna pull his gun.

He ran for the car but went to the left door. We knew the radio was quicker than a Datsun, V8 or not.

The mate just said...... DON'T LIFT

We got a few K's up the road and stuck the thing is a side street and went looking for a coffeee shop.

Hours later, we very carefully drove home.

YEAH YEAH YEAH, i know it was wrong and we shouldn't be playing up like second hand lawnmower, but stuff me sideways....

IT WAS FUN.
« Last Edit: June 14, 2013, 09:04:02 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #54 on: June 14, 2013, 09:06:58 AM »
Thank goodness you guys are talking about cars.  My grandson (11 yo) typed in drags to show me, and suddenly came up with pictures of women who had used a trowel to put their make up on, and then he explained to me that they were not women......I'll not comment further.
He did after he stopped laughing at me show me some short movies about drag racing cars, not for me and not for this area, but my goodness those cars could move, and make some noise.

« Reply #55 on: June 14, 2013, 09:11:27 AM »
Hey, i never said what we were wearing while we raced.....  ;D

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #56 on: June 14, 2013, 09:14:00 AM »
Hey, i never said what we were wearing while we raced.....  ;D

That's okay JC, nothing would surprise me with you after seeing some of your posts in other threads... 8)

Offline rotare

« Reply #57 on: June 14, 2013, 10:00:10 AM »
I have a funny story to tell.  My RX4 featured in few magazines, but there was one write up that I'll always remember.

Got a call from the editor of Performance Street Car wanting to do a photo shoot of my car.  As most of you would know back in the day (the 90's) they mainly featured V8's.  So the following Saturday morning the editor and his photographer rock up to my place and ask to see the car.  I lift the roller door up and start the car off the first turn of the key.  Now off boost my car was quiet, there was no lumpy idle and nothing gave you any indication of what lurked beneath the bonnet.

Both the editor and photographer walked around the car, looked underneath, looked at the interior then walked away outside of earshot and had a quiet chat to one another before the editor came back to me and said "look mate, it's a nice car, you've done a great job of restoring it...... but it's not the sort of car we'd normally put in our magazine".  Surprised I asked "why"?  His response was "it's just not tough enough!".  Even more shocked I said "really?  but it runs 10 second quarters".  The editor and photographer both looked at each other, chuckled and rolled their eyes, then turned to me smirking and said "sure it does mate".

So I apologised to the editor for wasting his time, but whilst he had taken the time to come out and see the car and I already had it out and warming up, why don't I take him for a spin around the block?.  Like any rev head, he didn't refuse and before I knew it he was in the passenger seat strapping on his harness.

So I purposely took it slow at first, hardly bringing it on boost but just enough to push him into the seat.  He nodded with appraciation and said "geez, goes alright doesn't it".  Then I turned on to an open stretch of road I knew well.  I nailed it in second, and when it came on boost the docile engine roared as the external waste gate opened up and rear tyres exploded into smoke. I smashed it in 3rd gear, then 4th gear while wheels were still grappling for traction as we gained speed.  The editor grabbed the dash with both hands, his face white as ghost he turns to me and simply says "holy f*ck, you've got to be f*cking kidding me!!".

Needless to say he went ahead with the photo shoot and write up.  Below is the first couple of paragraphs of his write up, and knowing the background to what happened it always makes me laugh!

If you were to pass this unassuming little RX4 in a car park you'd be forgiven for thinking it's not much more than a tidy streeter.  Even if you heard it start up and cruise off down the road, it's quiet demeanour would probably give you much the same opinion.  But sit in the passenger seat when Sean sinks the right boot, and you'd sure know that this little baby has cranked out ten second passes.  Like Clark Kent emerging from a phone box, this mild mannered RX4 takes on a whole new personality when pushed hard.

When you're talkin' ten second streeters, there really aint too many of them about.  Sure, there's plenty of ten second cars but many have to sacrifice some streetability in order to achieve big numbers.  Knowing this RX4 runs 10's you may be fooled into thinking the there's probably a stinking hot Windsor or small block Chev under the hood.  Nope, it's all been achieved with the original 13b rotary motor and once more, it's just as much at home on the street as it is the strip.         
« Last Edit: June 14, 2013, 10:01:55 AM by rotare »

« Reply #58 on: June 14, 2013, 10:57:05 AM »
I have a funny story to tell.  My RX4 featured in few magazines, but there was one write up that I'll always remember.

Got a call from the editor of Performance Street Car wanting to do a photo shoot of my car.  As most of you would know back in the day (the 90's) they mainly featured V8's.  So the following Saturday morning the editor and his photographer rock up to my place and ask to see the car.  I lift the roller door up and start the car off the first turn of the key.  Now off boost my car was quiet, there was no lumpy idle and nothing gave you any indication of what lurked beneath the bonnet.

Both the editor and photographer walked around the car, looked underneath, looked at the interior then walked away outside of earshot and had a quiet chat to one another before the editor came back to me and said "look mate, it's a nice car, you've done a great job of restoring it...... but it's not the sort of car we'd normally put in our magazine".  Surprised I asked "why"?  His response was "it's just not tough enough!".  Even more shocked I said "really?  but it runs 10 second quarters".  The editor and photographer both looked at each other, chuckled and rolled their eyes, then turned to me smirking and said "sure it does mate".

So I apologised to the editor for wasting his time, but whilst he had taken the time to come out and see the car and I already had it out and warming up, why don't I take him for a spin around the block?.  Like any rev head, he didn't refuse and before I knew it he was in the passenger seat strapping on his harness.

So I purposely took it slow at first, hardly bringing it on boost but just enough to push him into the seat.  He nodded with appraciation and said "geez, goes alright doesn't it".  Then I turned on to an open stretch of road I knew well.  I nailed it in second, and when it came on boost the docile engine roared as the external waste gate opened up and rear tyres exploded into smoke. I smashed it in 3rd gear, then 4th gear while wheels were still grappling for traction as we gained speed.  The editor grabbed the dash with both hands, his face white as ghost he turns to me and simply says "holy f*ck, you've got to be f*cking kidding me!!".

Needless to say he went ahead with the photo shoot and write up.  Below is the first couple of paragraphs of his write up, and knowing the background to what happened it always makes me laugh!

If you were to pass this unassuming little RX4 in a car park you'd be forgiven for thinking it's not much more than a tidy streeter.  Even if you heard it start up and cruise off down the road, it's quiet demeanour would probably give you much the same opinion.  But sit in the passenger seat when Sean sinks the right boot, and you'd sure know that this little baby has cranked out ten second passes.  Like Clark Kent emerging from a phone box, this mild mannered RX4 takes on a whole new personality when pushed hard.

When you're talkin' ten second streeters, there really aint too many of them about.  Sure, there's plenty of ten second cars but many have to sacrifice some streetability in order to achieve big numbers.  Knowing this RX4 runs 10's you may be fooled into thinking the there's probably a stinking hot Windsor or small block Chev under the hood.  Nope, it's all been achieved with the original 13b rotary motor and once more, it's just as much at home on the street as it is the strip.         

Gotta love a sleeper. Especially when you take the unsuspecting passenger for a spin ;D

Shane.

Offline Mrs smith

« Reply #59 on: June 14, 2013, 04:02:36 PM »
HI Jeepers,
That's the right Escort but it's time at Wynnum was when the Munro Brothers had it. My mate sold the rolling chassis to them sometime after he got the record (1989?) and it took the Munro boys a few years of trying with their own combo they subsequently got it into the 10's I think. We were very pleased to see the scorty run so hard. Would love to learn where it is now.

I suppose i can let the cat out of the bag now about the setup we had. It looked like any other 2 litre road registered Escort with a turbo.. but....

Had a Sierra Cosworth block cos the normal 2 litre ford block can't reliably do more than 250hp without risk.
Ross forged pistons,
some really good rods from Germany
Extremely trick head with chevy valves, great port job and the other secret key was he re-made the centre cam bearing mount as a bigger separate piece to make it all stronger there too
revved to about 8,000
steam pipe manifold with a very well matched TO4 and 4 inch dump
MDS7AL crank trigger ignition was a big contributor to power
At the time we did the record it was drawing through a weber carb and had a methanol/water mix squirted in there to keep the charge air cool, preferred the shorter inlet tract anyway.
twin plate clutch, toyota box and very trick narrowed down falcon diff.
Mate did put a motec EFI on it and it immediately went 11.2 with no fine tuning but from memory it did a gudgeon clip and the decision was to move onto other things because if it went any faster it would mean a chute and all that stuff. not interested at the time.

Here ya go.

« Reply #60 on: June 14, 2013, 04:15:51 PM »
There used to be a tough orange cortina that was often at eastern creek back in my day that I think had a little Windsor in it or it might have been a Cleveland but this thing would pop both wheels off the deck very easily, does any one know of the car?

« Reply #61 on: June 14, 2013, 04:17:18 PM »
Close to 900hp through white wall tyres. No idea why that didn't work ::)

Shane.

Not enough VHT ;)

« Reply #62 on: June 14, 2013, 04:20:40 PM »
Stop looking! 90/10's in the front by the looks of it lol

Drag Racing Ford Cortina WOG007 Rear Wheel Stand Small | Large

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
« Reply #63 on: June 14, 2013, 08:21:33 PM »
hell yeah! I saw WOG.007 pull up a front wheel outside Normo Boys High School one day...
« Last Edit: June 14, 2013, 08:23:22 PM by GeeTee »

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook

Offline UR-50-LO

« Reply #64 on: June 14, 2013, 10:07:38 PM »
WOG-007 has just been rebuilt recently by Con & Vic, and apparently as a streetcar lol.
« Last Edit: June 14, 2013, 10:09:50 PM by UR-50-LO »

Offline GeeTee

« Reply #65 on: June 14, 2013, 10:11:47 PM »
WOG-007 has just been rebuilt recently by Con & Vic, and apparently as a streetcar lol.

yeah should be in Street Machine magazine soon I reckon!

Find us on Facebook

Offline @fnq4now

Drag Racing
« Reply #66 on: June 15, 2013, 06:48:28 AM »
Gotta love a sleeper. Especially when you take the unsuspecting passenger for a spin ;D

Shane.

Small | Large

« Last Edit: June 15, 2013, 02:13:48 PM by @fnq4now »
"The problem with common sense is that it's just not very common."

« Reply #67 on: June 15, 2013, 09:19:39 AM »
Looks Street legal to me. ;D
WOG-007 is back in 2012 - CV Performance / GD Racecars

« Reply #68 on: June 21, 2013, 05:09:42 PM »
this is from DRAGLIST.COM which is a US based site. Not correct either, it should be 7:43 @ 180, but hey, at least i got a mention

Kevin Campbell (M) from Australia   (Comp Nr/Finish: 1056 ) 2000 - Category: ALKYALT, Type: GA, Class: CC/A, Div: 8
"Arcon Express Group Build" Owned by Scott & Campbell from Australia  Crew Chief: Bob Scott
'48 Fiat Topolino by an Unknown chassis builder | Powered by Supercharged Alcohol Chevrolet with 3 speed manual transmission 
1/4 Mile ET: 7.539 at Unknown         1/4 Mile MPH: 175.00 at Unknown

« Reply #69 on: August 02, 2013, 12:15:26 PM »
Nostalgia's are on next weekend at Willowbank. All entries are pre 78, so it's all round head lights and chrome bumpers.

Always a laid back meet. If you're out there, drop in and say G'day. (Car 2758)

Shane.

Offline rotor138

« Reply #70 on: August 02, 2013, 08:22:40 PM »

It's taken me ages but the penny has finally dropped  :D Are you still building motors Sean?

Offline GeeTee

« Reply #71 on: August 05, 2013, 10:43:45 PM »

Would that editor have been Matt R?

Find us on Facebook

« Reply #72 on: September 06, 2013, 09:34:02 AM »
Took the wife and kids camping the other week.................... to Willowbank.

Gee I spoil them. ;D

Offline rotare

« Reply #73 on: September 06, 2013, 03:59:51 PM »
It's taken me ages but the penny has finally dropped  Are you still building motors Sean?

No mate, gave it away some time ago. Between house reno's, a career, other hobbies and a busy family life I just don't have the time or inclination anymore.

« Reply #74 on: September 06, 2013, 04:34:54 PM »
So how did ya go Shane?