Author Topic: MS Melbourne Cycle and 1/2 Marathon  (Read 2302 times)

Offline DrewXT

MS Melbourne Cycle and 1/2 Marathon
« on: February 08, 2019, 09:03:18 PM »
Hi Guys,

I wouldn't usually post something like this on the forum, but I feel strongly enough about this, that I'm hoping you can spend a minute or so reading this, and consider my post.

My best mate was diagnosed with MS a few years ago, and the 4WD Club I'm the President of is entering a team into the MS Melbourne Cycle and 1/2 Marathon.

I'm going to drag my unfit body around a 30km course, which includes going over the West Gate Bridge, and my wife and 6 year old twins are also dusting off their bikes for this great cause.  My wife and kids are doing a 6km lap of Flemington Racecourse, while I complete the 30km with some of the other guys in the Club.

I never had a full appreciation of just what MS does to people who have it - my mate is one of the toughest guys I know  He has battled on running his 4WD accessory business, whilst also being primary carer for their disabled child  It would be one of lifes greatest joys to see a cure developed for people afflicted with this terrible condition.

If you have a bit of coffee money (or more) to spare - donations are tax deductible, would you please consider making a donation to help the MS Foundation in their search for a cure?

Andrew

https://www.msmelbournecycle.org.au/index.cfm?fuseaction=donorDrive.participant&participantID=14215
2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup
The following users thanked this post: db

Offline Rowlie

Re: MS Melbourne Cycle and 1/2 Marathon
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2019, 06:28:23 AM »
Good on you mate.

I'm in.

Rowlie

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2019, 08:07:11 AM »
Good on you mate.

I'm in.

Rowlie
Thank you so much Rowlie :cup:

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline

Offline Rowlie

« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2019, 07:09:05 AM »
No worries - feeling a bit lonely though.

« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2019, 07:19:37 AM »
No worries - feeling a bit lonely though.

Hi Rowlie.....

Offline Rowlie

« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2019, 07:47:27 AM »
Hi Geoff - thanks for allaying my loneliness.

I feel better now.

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2019, 08:06:16 AM »
Hi Rowlie.....
Thanks heaps Geoff, very generous of you!!

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline

« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2019, 09:17:42 AM »
I do the MS 100km Brisbane to Bay ride each winter.  Go well. Great cause. They have a whole crew to clap you over the line - a very humbling experience.

« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2019, 10:39:19 AM »
I do the MS 100km Brisbane to Bay ride each winter.  Go well. Great cause. They have a whole crew to clap you over the line - a very humbling experience.

I was going to do this ride this year but then I had a look at the terms and conditions to agree to and the minimum was to be $250 be raised. Well I don't have time to be chasing people for money and had made a donation and was ordering a riding shirt, so I opted not to do it.  :'(

« Reply #9 on: February 10, 2019, 11:07:25 AM »
Yes it adds up. I just do it quietly on my own these days. I was part of a team for a few years, we got the highest fundraiser award one year ($27k) which was a crazy effort - most of it came from others who could attack corporate budgets. For your money you do get mostly closed road, food and drink stops, mechanics and sag busses. I needed the mechs last year in the rain, I was out of spares and gas before half way. That’s the other thing about preset dates - weather.