Author Topic: Little birdy told me  (Read 8322 times)

Re: Little birdy told me
« Reply #25 on: November 27, 2019, 03:35:45 PM »
Quote from: Beachman
It's wouldn't be a cheap exercise to paying food/fuel/wages for 7 cars full of people for 3 months.
Not a long trip (5 days high country), one bloke invited his mate along.
Anyway got to day 3 before he spoke up thinking it was all catered for as he had no food or drink... LOLOL...

« Reply #26 on: November 27, 2019, 06:32:53 PM »
I would take my own 4wd and tucker for up to 4 weeks if need be, To learn how they go about doing it right would be great,  and some of the places they go the average bloke like me would never be allowed in, Craig

« Reply #27 on: November 27, 2019, 08:27:06 PM »
, To learn how they go about doing it right would be great, 

What do they do that's "right" ??

« Reply #28 on: November 28, 2019, 05:50:27 AM »
There are 7, 4wds go away on there 3 month shoots they even have a producer now, Would love to go as a side kick to a camera man,  Craig
Late 1989 I ran into the film crew for ‘the bush tucker man’ at Barron Falls. I begged so much to join they had to threaten violence to get rid of me. Seriously a cool group of blokes doing some hard work to get the best shots (it was middle of storm season and they were filming the gorge in flood - seen in the opening credits of each show. Had a chat about land rovers - they were all in troopies. Apparently it was a bit of an anchor.

Offline JusyApples

« Reply #29 on: November 28, 2019, 09:18:59 AM »
In May we did the OTT early in the season and stumbled across the 4WD Action guys filming. They were at gunshot, we watched for a while it was good to see how it was all done. They took about 2hrs just to film that section. Needless to say we decided to take the smallest gunshot entry and get ahead of them.

Bought a what?
Researching my next camper

« Reply #30 on: November 28, 2019, 11:25:36 AM »
Well I should of said just see how they go about filming and setting things up, I have been filming stuff sence 1988 but the stuff we did years ago was lost, then i had mates film stuff that turned out crap, I have just started doing some again,

Very nice GBC, use to love the bush tucker man but he was all over the shop he did not like saying where he was much,

That would of been an eye opener Justapples,
The following users thanked this post: GBC

Offline Champin

« Reply #31 on: November 28, 2019, 01:01:01 PM »
Reminds me of good ole Albie Mangles flying in to do a mustering shoot saying he'd been on it for a whole week. Never let facts get on the way of a good story.

Sent from my TA-1024 using Tapatalk

Offline rossm

« Reply #32 on: November 28, 2019, 02:23:54 PM »
Reminds me of good ole Albie Mangles flying in to do a mustering shoot saying he'd been on it for a whole week. Never let facts get on the way of a good story.

My son was a keen fisherman and he once chanced on a couple of blokes who made a program here in Perth as they fished one of his favourite Swan River spots. Didn't turn the camera on till there  was a bite. 

Standard practice for those programs I would reckon.

« Reply #33 on: November 28, 2019, 02:29:34 PM »
Quote from: rossm
Didn't turn the camera on till there  was a bite. 
Thats fair enough
Fishing is that slow and boring there'd be 50 hours of nothing before 10 whole mins of action... then another 12 hours of Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

« Reply #34 on: November 28, 2019, 02:30:52 PM »

ahhhh..............Alby Mangles..................the Bear Grylls of the 70s and 80s.

« Reply #35 on: November 28, 2019, 02:42:21 PM »
My son was a keen fisherman and he once chanced on a couple of blokes who made a program here in Perth as they fished one of his favourite Swan River spots. Didn't turn the camera on till there  was a bite. 

Standard practice for those programs I would reckon.

Years ago I was on a fishing holiday at the Sunshine coast and noticed one boat fishing over a 3 day period and another boat anchored nearby filming him.

Couple of weeks later I saw them on a TV show called Creek to Coast and they were saying how good the fishing was because they caught all these fish on one session. Shame they didn’t qualify that the ‘One Session’ was actually 3 days.   

Offline rossm

« Reply #36 on: November 28, 2019, 02:43:37 PM »
Thats fair enough
Fishing is that slow and boring there'd be 50 hours of nothing before 10 whole mins of action... then another 12 hours of Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

True, but by faking how easy it was to catch a fish thousands of people no doubt headed off to the tackle shops sponsoring the programs and spent a lot of money and ended up sorely disappointed.

I guess that’s just marketing at work. Bit like programs that make people think you need to tick every box in the ARB catalogue before you venture off the bitumen.

« Reply #37 on: November 28, 2019, 05:06:24 PM »
They took about 2hrs just to film that section. Needless to say we decided to take the smallest gunshot entry and get ahead of them.

Going to have to shoot that again, didn't get any sponsors logo's in that one!

Offline knightlux

« Reply #38 on: November 28, 2019, 08:39:27 PM »
I think this may have been their truck at Innamincka in July this year.

I'd be willing to bet that the chassis is fine under this and its actually the tray mounts that have collapsed. Thats a factory tray with a lot of weight on it, especially over the back.
2018 Toyota Fortuner, Ezytrail Albany Z

« Reply #39 on: November 29, 2019, 05:27:11 AM »
Lloyds have Mahindra duel cab up for auction at the moment.

Badly broken back on this one.
Would be wicked going over the rocks and Shit, the shape now would make it much easier.

The following users thanked this post: Rumpig

« Reply #40 on: November 29, 2019, 07:34:39 AM »
Lloyds have Mahindra duel cab up for auction at the moment.

Badly broken back on this one.
Would be wicked going over the rocks and Shit, the shape now would make it much easier.

3 week old mining ute.. lol  Current Bid:$22

comes with spares ... LMAO

« Reply #41 on: November 29, 2019, 10:12:35 AM »
3 week old mining ute.. lol  Current Bid:$22

Is that just patches of dirt all over it, or is it riddled with rust ???

« Reply #42 on: November 29, 2019, 10:36:15 AM »
It’s a bit more then 3 weeks old. But a perfect example of why you never buy ex mining utes....

And I’m genuinely surprised that the axles in that Indian thing out lasted the chassis. Or perhaps it was already on its 5th or 6th set of rear axles when the chassis rusted through. ;)

« Reply #43 on: November 29, 2019, 10:58:17 AM »
Is that just patches of dirt all over it, or is it riddled with rust ???

Patina mate...not rust... :cheers:
The following users thanked this post: Rumpig

« Reply #44 on: November 29, 2019, 11:13:06 AM »
It’s a bit more then 3 weeks old. But a perfect example of why you never buy ex mining utes....

Wouldn't let that worry me nowadays. I know our vehicles don't get like that. If they even look they are being mistreated then the individual gets a massive pineapple.

Like everything do your due diligence and you will usually be fine

« Reply #45 on: November 30, 2019, 08:08:16 AM »
Patina mate...not rust... :cheers:

Oh excuse me! ;D