General => General Discussion => Topic started by: DannyG on July 15, 2019, 10:22:50 AM

Title: Garage Heating
Post by: DannyG on July 15, 2019, 10:22:50 AM
What does everyone do to heat their garage? I know a lot of you wouldn't need to but down here in Tassie it gets a little chilly on the willy during winter after about 4pm so most garages have some sort of heating.

We have also just put in a wood heater down here but I am a little over wood heaters so I went looking for alternatives.

The Mericans use those electric wall mounted heaters which isn't ideal when you pay to much for electricity and some even use a standard 'split system' heat pump/air conditioner which isnt a bad idea if you need air con as well as heat but again I wasnt keen on spending that sort of money.

Sooooooo I thought why not give one of the cheap Chinese diesel heaters a go!! I fired my little 2kw heater up thats in my camper (yes I ran the exhaust outside!) and on a freezing cold night it did actually ever so slightly take the chill out the air. Not much but I thought there could be some potential.

A quick look on ebay and some youtube research and what do you know, you can buy 8KW diesel heaters these days for under $200!! At that sort of money its worth giving it a try, I may even run two ;)

My garage had to be BAL rated so its sealed pretty good and has good insulation on the roof so Ill report back once its up and running and let you know how I got on.

I started the thread to get the discussion happening because I couldn't find another thread on the topic???
Title: Re: Garage Heating
Post by: BBull on July 15, 2019, 10:37:34 AM
Yes it would easily warm a shed up. Only thing to consider would be noise and fuel usage.
I recon it would constantly run flat out, so it would be pumping some fuel through and the fan noise would be very loud.

I have a 7x5 little shed and I have the camper heater on every now and then just to give it a run and warm the shed a bit while working in there.
Camper lives out side so I just face the pipe at the door opening and it blows the hot air inside
Post by: DannyG on July 15, 2019, 10:46:08 AM
Yes it would easily warm a shed up. Only thing to consider would be noise and fuel usage.
I recon it would constantly run flat out, so it would be pumping some fuel through and the fan noise would be very loud.

I have a 7x5 little shed and I have the camper heater on every now and then just to give it a run and warm the shed a bit while working in there.
Camper lives out side so I just face the pipe at the door opening and it blows the hot air inside

Yeh I agree and took all that into consideration. My shed has a seperate shed on the side of it, so Ill house the unit out there, that should keep the noise down. And they use 360ml per hour running flat out, so itll cost a couple of dollars per night to keep warm which I am ok with.

This is a good video on them......they appear to be quieter than the smaller versions......
https://youtu.be/IjDDlI_42a4 (https://youtu.be/IjDDlI_42a4)
Post by: GBC on July 15, 2019, 10:48:52 AM
They do self contained 5kw units on ebay that half of Europe uses for exactly your purpose.
Post by: DannyG on July 15, 2019, 10:52:44 AM
They do self contained 5kw units on ebay that half of Europe uses for exactly your purpose.

Yeh I saw those. They are basically the same thing but in a case that houses the heater and tank. Hopefully itll work for me then.
Post by: GBC on July 15, 2019, 10:57:14 AM
Yeh I saw those. They are basically the same thing but in a case that houses the heater and tank. Hopefully itll work for me then.
If you are on FB there is a page called ‘Chinese diesel heaters’. It is all Europeans setting them up in garages etc.

Post by: Bird on July 15, 2019, 11:11:07 AM
I just use one of these... works well in my sized shed, takes 5-10 mins to really be felt.
(https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/shopping?q=tbn:ANd9GcRpmCH1DJemTtBSP5Edj7lHdtzwLknuyWX3Yc-ynFpo-wXO8UM&usqp=CAY)
Post by: DannyG on July 15, 2019, 11:12:06 AM
I just use one of these... works well in my sized shed, takes 5-10 mins to really be felt.
(https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/shopping?q=tbn:ANd9GcRpmCH1DJemTtBSP5Edj7lHdtzwLknuyWX3Yc-ynFpo-wXO8UM&usqp=CAY)

Are they safe in a confined space though? ;D
Post by: Bird on July 15, 2019, 11:18:11 AM
Quote from: DannyG
9x6mtr shed with sliding doors + 2 whirlybirds its fine.
It works well enough that sometimes have to turn it off as it gets too hot.
Post by: Kangaron on July 15, 2019, 11:53:04 AM
can't beat these.
Shed is 22m x 8m.

Post by: Steffo1 on July 15, 2019, 01:17:21 PM
...or,
Post by: noel_w on July 15, 2019, 01:59:11 PM
or....

Sorry, couldn't resist
and.......  waiting for the Nissan on fire
Post by: Hoyks on July 15, 2019, 02:02:47 PM
I'd definitely go with something that is flued to the outside, especially in a sealed up (BAL rated) garage.

Last thing you'd want is carbon monoxide poisoning or splashing some degreaser or thinners around and having a source of ignition.

But I'm from Qld, so heating the garage is rarely an issue.
Post by: KeithB on July 15, 2019, 02:16:01 PM
If you have or can get a supply of waste sump oil, there are commercial burners that will heat a large area. A lot of workshops use them.
https://kroll-heaters.com.au/waste-oil-heaters/workshop-waste-oil-heater/ (https://kroll-heaters.com.au/waste-oil-heaters/workshop-waste-oil-heater/)
But there is a lot of info on the net about making your own.
Keith
Post by: Merts on July 15, 2019, 02:32:18 PM

The answer is no, they aren't.

If your shed is 'leaky' enough you may get away with it, but operating any fuel burning heater which doesn't have an external flue in an enclosed space is dangerous.

Edit for clarity: I'm referring to patio heaters etc. not being safe in enclosed spaces, not the diesel heaters which have an external flue and are therefore fine.
Post by: weeds on July 15, 2019, 03:05:07 PM
Diesel space heater have an external flue......therefore not an issue with these.

Patio style gas heater, need to be more careful.

Post by: gronk on July 15, 2019, 06:12:46 PM
The 8Kw heater you posted up is not really 8Kw, more like the 5Kw that is sold on ebay.
Also, these diesel heaters are not really suited to run flat out, but at 3/4 approx, they will still throw out some nice heat.

There is a 13 part series on the chinese heaters on u tube.....all done by a bloke in Australia...well worth watching for all the dos and don'ts of setting one up. I have nearly finished installing one in my camper and found the u tube series good.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nRF-B74sDmQ

I don't know why the link you paste up is no longer a "clickable" link ?
Post by: DannyG on July 15, 2019, 06:18:55 PM
The 8Kw heater you posted up is not really 8Kw, more like the 5Kw that is sold on ebay.
Also, these diesel heaters are not really suited to run flat out, but at 3/4

Is there a reason you think it’s only 5kw not the 8kw that the model suggests?

I’ve been running my campers heater flat out for years :)
Post by: Marcus73 on July 15, 2019, 06:47:16 PM
I hope it catches fire....

Post by: gronk on July 15, 2019, 06:50:19 PM
Is there a reason you think it’s only 5kw not the 8kw that the model suggests?

I’ve been running my campers heater flat out for years :)

The bloke on u tube has tested heaps of heaters...including the supposed 8Kw ones......they are the same size, use the same amount of fuel and heat output is the same as the 5Kw unit.

Only going on what this bloke said, flat out the unit was getting very hot, so he eased it off a bit ??
Post by: briann532 on July 15, 2019, 07:12:52 PM
(http://www.myswag.org/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=56467.0;attach=146785)

Love it Steffo........

;D ;D ;D
Post by: DannyG on July 15, 2019, 07:13:55 PM
The bloke on u tube has tested heaps of heaters...including the supposed 8Kw ones......they are the same size, use the same amount of fuel and heat output is the same as the 5Kw unit.

Only going on what this bloke said, flat out the unit was getting very hot, so he eased it off a bit ??

No worries hopefully whatever heat it puts out it’s good enough
Post by: DannyG on July 15, 2019, 07:18:43 PM
I hope it catches fire....

Did you get that rash cleared up?
Post by: Marcus73 on July 15, 2019, 07:23:55 PM
Did you get that rash cleared up?

Yeah thankfully I caught it in time but the doc did say that the carrier probably won’t be so lucky, so you might want to book an appointment sooner rather than later

Post by: OldPaj on July 15, 2019, 07:24:15 PM
I have a pot belly made out of an old stainless steel Carlton United beer keg.

Light a good fire in it, and it warms up the garage/shed/workshop (approx 10 X 7) OK eventually. No fan so not very efficient.
So I found an old working pedestal fan at our local recycling centre and a bit of modification, it blows air over the pot belly (lowest speed) warm air then circulates beautifully.
Post by: Gazza00 on July 15, 2019, 07:31:03 PM
Been around for years

http://demonheater.com.au/
Post by: vern on July 15, 2019, 07:47:19 PM
Been around for years

http://demonheater.com.au/
These work great, used to heat a mate workshop with one, just used old sump oil

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Post by: westvic on July 16, 2019, 06:21:30 AM
I have a pot belly made out of an old stainless steel Carlton United beer keg.

Light a good fire in it, and it warms up the garage/shed/workshop (approx 10 X 7) OK eventually. No fan so not very efficient.
So I found an old working pedestal fan at our local recycling centre and a bit of modification, it blows air over the pot belly (lowest speed) warm air then circulates beautifully.
[/quote

Similar to this but using my Ozpig. Flue permanently in place but Ozpig removable for camping.
Post by: BBull on July 16, 2019, 07:29:49 AM
Yeh I agree and took all that into consideration. My shed has a seperate shed on the side of it, so Ill house the unit out there, that should keep the noise down. And they use 360ml per hour running flat out, so itll cost a couple of dollars per night to keep warm which I am ok with.

This is a good video on them......they appear to be quieter than the smaller versions......
The noise is from the outlet where the air blows out. Not the noise of the burner I would be worried about. If that fan is blowing flat out they are loud.
But for $200 give it ago
Post by: GBC on July 16, 2019, 08:23:56 AM

I recently swapped out a 2kw name brand heater for a 5kw ebay special in my camper and concur with all he said. It is much quieter (quieter than our 240 fan heater inside the camper!), moves a heap of air, and definitely uses less diesel per given set temperature because it doesn't work nearly as hard. The buttons on the control panel are a bit dicky but the supplied remote controller works a treat. You can also nominally set either temp or fan speed which is a bonus if you are in company and don't need it going straight to full bore which the small one did and I could not control that. I highly recommend looking at the self contained unit for the garage, they are ready to go.
Post by: DannyG on July 16, 2019, 10:30:41 AM
Those demon heaters have been around for years and are a great idea. I did look at quite a few DIY type oil burning heaters because I was looking for a way to use all our waste sump oil but in the end I was hesitant to use any heater wood/gas/oil that needs a flue up through the roof or wall and space is sort of limited.
But if this diesel heater doesnt work out ill go the demon heater for sure, they are priced well.

I have been watching the series of the Aussie bloke who tests the diesel heaters and while I can definitely see what he is talking about when he tests the larger unit I am not 100% certain he is accurate.
A couple of things that I thought were odd is that he wasn't using the ecu that came with the unit and he shut it down on the assumption that it would shut itself down when it reaches 120 deg however all the other videos I watched (including the one I posted) the person doing the testing clearly had readings of 150c or above out of the larger units for an extended period of time. And as for the fuel delivery from the pump yes using your own switch to test the delivery will give you the same amount of fuel because they use the same pump. He criticised other youtubers for testing the pump delivery in real time as the unit was running but in my simple mind surely thats how you need to find out how much fuel that particular units ecu is calling for? Doing it on a bench controlling the delivery yourself is only proving that the pumps are the same it is not showing how much fuel the proper ecu would be asking for.....(these little pumps just tick along and can tick along quite fast if they are being asked for more fuel)
And finally his suggestion that the 8kw are dearer may have been correct 4 months ago when he posted his video but they are now the same price as the 2kw and 5kw so that is also incorrect.
Im not saying he is wrong in all his findings, and in fact he may well be correct, the Chinese rubbish is like that but I just wanted to put it out there that he has some flaws in his reasoning ;)

My little 2kw unit that I have been using for years often runs flat out for several hours at a time when I am drying my tent. Quite often when camping ill turn it on flat out an hour before I go to bed to heat the camper up. One night I had it on flat out, got in bed after having a few drinks and woke up around 3 or 4am drenched in sweat because I fell asleep with the thing running full bore  ;D
I would go as far as saying they much prefer to run high and hot than they do low and slow.........there are a lot of videos out there of people who have to pull them apart the clean all the soot out because they were not running them hard enough.

Again I am not sure that all the chinese heaters are made by the same company or if we are comparing apples with apples but I just want to make sure my real world experience is also put out there.
I may well be looking for flaws in his arguement because I just bought an 8kw and I want the bloody thing to be 8kw LOL but not really, it doesnt matter too much either way 5kw or whatever, a little heater like this will only take the chill out of the air down here anyway I reckon, I doubt itll be toasty warm like a wood heater would be, but again for less than $200 its worth giving it a go. Hopefully I can report back this weekend if it arrives this week :)

Thanks for all the comments, I am definitely leaning towards the Demon Heater moving forward if this heater doesnt cut it.

Post by: gronk on July 16, 2019, 06:35:20 PM

I would go as far as saying they much prefer to run high and hot than they do low and slow.........there are a lot of videos out there of people who have to pull them apart the clean all the soot out because they were not running them hard enough.

They will run low and slow, but recommended every 12 hrs of run time to run them flat out for 10mins before shutting down to clean the soot !!
Post by: Fizzie on July 17, 2019, 07:59:58 AM
They will run low and slow, but recommended every 12 hrs of run time to run them flat out for 10mins before shutting down to clean the soot !!

Know nothing about them, but wouldn't the easiest way of doing that, be to run them flat-out for 10 mins each time you start it, which would also help warm things up quicker ???
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on July 17, 2019, 01:46:35 PM
I would imagine that would be how you break it.
Post by: GBC on July 17, 2019, 02:13:04 PM
Know nothing about them, but wouldn't the easiest way of doing that, be to run them flat-out for 10 mins each time you start it, which would also help warm things up quicker ???
Running on idle all night soots up the glow pin. The idea is to run them flat out prior to shutting down so the glow pin works next time it is cold. Flat out from start is nice but doesn’t really help the scenario.
Post by: Merts on July 17, 2019, 04:24:15 PM
I would imagine that would be how you break it.
Why would running a diesel heater flat out break it?
Post by: gronk on July 17, 2019, 05:30:00 PM

There is 13 parts to a series on these heaters on u tube.....all done by an aussie bloke....well worth watching and all questions regarding these things is answered !!
Post by: austastar on July 17, 2019, 09:36:07 PM
    Yep, a good series. Does he sell stuff on ebay? He seems to have done too much research to just make informative videos.
He has not enabled any chat/contact on his channel that I can find.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: gronk on July 17, 2019, 10:22:29 PM
    Yep, a good series. Does he sell stuff on ebay? He seems to have done too much research to just make informative videos.
He has not enabled any chat/contact on his channel that I can find.

I don't know....I just watched the series. I get the impression he is retired and bought a $1000 worth of heaters and went to town ??  Somewhere in all his talking I think he mentioned why ??
Post by: Rumpig on July 18, 2019, 07:23:12 AM
we run our Webasto diesel heater flat out all the time for 10 hours straight and have done so the past 8 years of owning it, hasn’t hurt it yet
Post by: DannyG on July 18, 2019, 09:55:18 AM
we run our Webasto diesel heater flat out all the time for 10 hours straight and have done so the past 8 years of owning it, hasn’t hurt it yet

Yeh Im at a loss as to why he would say they shut down if you run them flat out too. Ive had mine for years as well and it regularly runs flat out for hours on end. You would think the little ecu doesnt allow you to put that much fuel in that it runs itself too hot.
I think it happens to him because he uses the wrong ecu's to test them in some instances.
I know it has a temp sensor for this exact thing but thats only for the people that sit something near the outlet and block the heat coming out.......it prevents fires ;)

I agree the gents youtube series is good for information but I would suggest you watch other 'youtubers' who have done the same thing to get their 'opinion' as well, because really thats all they are giving us is their opinion based on the findings of how they have done the testing. Some do the testing a little more logical than others ;)

The poor Aussie bloke in one video showed how he bought what he thought was an all in one heater unit for the bargain price of $112 (or something cheap like that) to only find out when it was delivered that he didnt read the misleading description properly and what he received was just the case and accessories the heater comes in. LOL But he still went and invested the the $200 or so dollars to buy the complete unit so he put it together and showed how it works!
Post by: GBC on July 18, 2019, 11:01:00 AM
I agree, there are plenty of sensors and failsafes on them. My little 2 kw loved taking off on auto and running hard. That was the only way they worked up until the chinese manufacturers got in on the act and hacked the operating parameters to allow arbitrary setting of fan speeds and the downstream 'sooting' issues occurred. My little one automatically ran hard prior to shutdown and never had an issue with soot.
Post by: austastar on July 18, 2019, 11:59:28 AM
    My Eberspacher is about 8 years old and was quite expensive as the time.
I like the idea with the new ones of being able to dial in the pulse rate on the pump.
As ours is auto, it tries to balance the warmth to the dialed in setting,  so if the door is opened on a cold night the heater goes full speed to keep the warmth at the setting on the dial.
My installation is not as he recommends,  with no filters, a dip in the exhaust pipe with no condensation trap, large bore rubber pressure feed from the pump and the non straight through muffler. This I will change at some stage.
One idea I had was a custom tank with a dip tube outlet, a sealed cap and an extended breather. With this I can blow in the breather to raise the fuel to the end of the pipe before connecting it to the pump.  It only takes one failed start before the system is fully primed.
I definitely would not have a camper without a heater built in, so much more comfortable.

Post by: DannyG on July 18, 2019, 01:05:44 PM
I picked up the '8kw' heater earlier and set it up on the bench to make sure it works.

Ive installed 3 of these (2kw) Chinese heaters to campers and they are all the same so getting it fired up was an easy process.

Initial thoughts are that it is considerably larger in physical size to my 2kw and when it runs it is a jet compared to the smaller version. It is obvious that is throws out a lot more heat.
The kit came with everything from plastic fuel tank to all the bracketry and connections and these days they even have a fancy ecu with pretty pictures on them to show you what is happening with the heater.

It was 10 deg inside my cave when i fired it up and 30 mins later it was 12 degree's with it running at half its offered speed. I just cranked it up flat out, so ill leave it for an hour (then I have to leave) and see what happens with the temp inside the shed.

The shed is 12m x 8m but 2m is segmented off with a framed gyprock wall. That section is not sealed at all so Ill eventually put some draft stops on the door. The main shed is sealed pretty well although one of the roller doors needs a new bottom seal which Ill install this weekend and I am going to use some more spray foam to seal the sheeting at the bottom of the slab. So there is potential so far.
Post by: Marcus73 on July 18, 2019, 01:54:57 PM
I picked up the '8kw' heater earlier and set it up on the bench to make sure it works.

Ive installed 3 of these (2kw) Chinese heaters to campers and they are all the same so getting it fired up was an easy process.

Initial thoughts are that it is considerably larger in physical size to my 2kw and when it runs it is a jet compared to the smaller version. It is obvious that is throws out a lot more heat.
The kit came with everything from plastic fuel tank to all the bracketry and connections and these days they even have a fancy ecu with pretty pictures on them to show you what is happening with the heater.

It was 10 deg inside my cave when i fired it up and 30 mins later it was 12 degree's with it running at half its offered speed. I just cranked it up flat out, so ill leave it for an hour (then I have to leave) and see what happens with the temp inside the shed.

The shed is 12m x 8m but 2m is segmented off with a framed gyprock wall. That section is not sealed at all so Ill eventually put some draft stops on the door. The main shed is sealed pretty well although one of the roller doors needs a new bottom seal which Ill install this weekend and I am going to use some more spray foam to seal the sheeting at the bottom of the slab. So there is potential so far.

I hope it catches on fire

Post by: DannyG on July 18, 2019, 02:04:38 PM
I hope it catches on fire

LOL 5 degree gain in about an hour...have to run. Ill do proper testing on the weekend.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on July 19, 2019, 03:28:16 AM
Running it from start at Flat stick doesn't give anything a chance to warm up evenly throughout the unit.
It'll create an excessively hot area surrounded by cool area and cause cracking in the metal of the unit.
I know it won't stay cool for long, and it won't fail immediately. 
But you won't be getting a long useful life out of it.
Post by: Merts on July 19, 2019, 08:35:59 AM
Running it from start at Flat stick doesn't give anything a chance to warm up evenly throughout the unit.
It'll create an excessively hot area surrounded by cool area and cause cracking in the metal of the unit.
I know it won't stay cool for long, and it won't fail immediately. 
But you won't be getting a long useful life out of it.
There is no way known that the heat exchanger would get really hot on the inside yet stay cold enough on the outside to cause cracking. Heat travels through the metal they use very quickly, and the differential between the 'hot' and 'cool' sides would be bugger all.
Post by: DannyG on July 19, 2019, 08:43:06 AM
Both my heaters sort of ramp up at start up rather than just start blasting flat out from the very start when I have them set on high so that should be enough to allow some heat sink I would have thought.

Post by: Fizzie on July 19, 2019, 02:00:12 PM
On the subject of heaters, just had this come through this morning

https://www.awardrv.com.au/gasmate-propane-ducted-camping-heater (https://www.awardrv.com.au/gasmate-propane-ducted-camping-heater)

May be an easier way of doing things than hard-mounting one in your van or whatever ???
Post by: Marcus73 on July 19, 2019, 03:58:04 PM
On the subject of heaters, just had this come through this morning

https://www.awardrv.com.au/gasmate-propane-ducted-camping-heater (https://www.awardrv.com.au/gasmate-propane-ducted-camping-heater)

May be an easier way of doing things than hard-mounting one in your van or whatever ???

It’d be interesting too see how much heat they put out. Running on the canisters definitely wouldn’t be as economical as diesel though.

Post by: Pottsy on July 19, 2019, 05:16:08 PM
It’d be interesting too see how much heat they put out. Running on the canisters definitely wouldn’t be as economical as diesel though.

90g/h, convert to a 4.5kg cylinder $10-15 fill for approx 50 hrs run time, not to bad. Might not Beas temperamental as the cheap diesel heaters and it's portable.
Post by: bob65 on July 19, 2019, 05:43:34 PM
Can you run a propane heater on lpg?

Sent from my SM-A530F using Tapatalk

Post by: Pottsy on July 19, 2019, 06:21:19 PM

Must do, I just bought a Buddy heater that uses the little propane cylinders and they sold me an adaptor hose to use with my 4.5 kg cylinder, ran it for about 3 hrs the other day, no issues.
LPG is liquid petroleum gas or in lay mans terms, propane.
Post by: Marcus73 on July 19, 2019, 06:21:58 PM

That’d be a yes

Post by: gronk on July 19, 2019, 07:21:35 PM
90g/h, convert to a 4.5kg cylinder $10-15 fill for approx 50 hrs run time, not to bad. Might not Beas temperamental as the cheap diesel heaters and it's portable.

Are the cheap diesel heaters temperamental ??
Post by: DannyG on July 19, 2019, 07:37:02 PM
I put the diesel heater on high for 1 hour 50 minutes tonight. 8 degree's outside, 14 degrees inside using an old fashioned mercury thermometer on the other side of the garage.

There was a distinct feeling of warmth coming from outside to inside the garage but it still felt pretty cold after being in it for while, but I suppose 14 degree's isnt exactly warm, especially considering I came from inside a very warm house, however if I was doing something other than just standing there it wasnt any where near as cold as it usually is.

So even though I havent sealed the garage up properly yet I am reasonable confident it will do the job and considering it is a heater less than $200 and very efficient I am happy enough so far.

I am going to seal the garage tomorrow and run the heater for a longer time tomorrow arvo/night so that will tell the real story.

But initial thoughts would tell me that it is effective enough for me to be out there working but if I was hosting a shed party for instance I would imagine my wife would be feeling the cold.......but she is a very cold person.....very very cold and nasty and heartless lady like they all are ;D Just kidding, she isnt a lady.......

So any youtube videos telling you not to run these heaters on high because they shut down is fake news, and anyone telling you not to start them on high is also fake news.....but just like everyone else, this is only my opinion.

Post by: Pottsy on July 19, 2019, 07:42:14 PM
Are the cheap diesel heaters temperamental ??

Gronk my statement on them being temperamental is based on what you read on forums, sooting up, difficult to start, cutting out, noisy etc. I note though many people have no issues and love them.
I like the idea of a propane heater, nice and clean, pretty economical, portable and I would not think it would be too noisy.
Post by: bob65 on July 19, 2019, 07:50:51 PM
You can get those same cheap diesel heaters in a portable format, they don't have to be fixed in place.

Post by: Kangaron on July 19, 2019, 09:04:56 PM
When my time comes, which is not far off, I'll pay a little extra, get a warranty, and take it along when I need it.
http://www.dieselheatingaustralia.com/products-pricing/snugger-remote-sf2-diesel-heater/
Post by: DannyG on July 19, 2019, 09:54:38 PM
When my time comes, which is not far off, I'll pay a little extra, get a warranty, and take it along when I need it.
http://www.dieselheatingaustralia.com/products-pricing/snugger-remote-sf2-diesel-heater/

A little extra? $1500 extra on a $200 product just so you get a warranty?

Parts are so readily available for diesel heaters for next to nothing and they are very simple to work on I can’t see the reasoning to pay an extra $1500?
Post by: gronk on July 19, 2019, 10:08:20 PM

Parts are so readily available for diesel heaters for next to nothing and they are very simple to work on I can’t see the reasoning to pay an extra $1500?

I'd agree. Even if the main unit crapped itself, another $200 is not over the top and you'd have a box full of spares. I picked my unit ( from a fair few on ebay) because it says it has a 2 yr warranty ..
Post by: Kangaron on July 19, 2019, 11:46:38 PM

Simple for you, not for me, I make all my own furniture, beds, kitchens, sheds,  etc so way ahead on this simple stuff.
Post by: GBC on July 20, 2019, 06:12:27 AM

That’s what I just finished tearing out of my camper and replacing with an ebay 5kw. Roger who owns DHA is great to deal with. Mine died and it was easier to buy new than wait for parts. Having settable speeds is a bit of a godsend on the newer units. Glad I swapped mine even if it was an expensive exercise. When I bought it the eBay ones where only just appearing.
Post by: CTL on July 20, 2019, 08:13:18 AM
DannyG do you have a link to the one you bought  :cheers:
Post by: DannyG on July 20, 2019, 08:20:39 AM
DannyG do you have a link to the one you bought  :cheers:

This is the exact supplier and heater I bought. I paid a little extra to get the latest fancy ecu with the pretty pictures. Two days shipping to arrive so great service.
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/12V-8KW-Diesel-Air-Heater-Tank-Remote-Control-Thermostat-Caravan-Motorhome-RV-AU/254293986231
 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/12V-8KW-Diesel-Air-Heater-Tank-Remote-Control-Thermostat-Caravan-Motorhome-RV-AU/254293986231)
However the pretty pictures are really just a novelty so if you wanted to save a few dollars i see the older version for a bit less but I can not say what the suppliers are like.
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Diesel-Air-Heater-12V-8KW-Remote-Control-Convenient-Adjustable-RV-Caravan/183805353903 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Diesel-Air-Heater-12V-8KW-Remote-Control-Convenient-Adjustable-RV-Caravan/183805353903)
Post by: Fizzie on July 20, 2019, 08:41:53 AM

Would you also be able to run an adaptor of some sort to one of the little butane canisters ???
Post by: CTL on July 20, 2019, 01:25:27 PM
This is the exact supplier and heater I bought. I paid a little extra to get the latest fancy ecu with the pretty pictures. Two days shipping to arrive so great service.
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/12V-8KW-Diesel-Air-Heater-Tank-Remote-Control-Thermostat-Caravan-Motorhome-RV-AU/254293986231
 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/12V-8KW-Diesel-Air-Heater-Tank-Remote-Control-Thermostat-Caravan-Motorhome-RV-AU/254293986231)
However the pretty pictures are really just a novelty so if you wanted to save a few dollars i see the older version for a bit less but I can not say what the suppliers are like.
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Diesel-Air-Heater-12V-8KW-Remote-Control-Convenient-Adjustable-RV-Caravan/183805353903 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Diesel-Air-Heater-12V-8KW-Remote-Control-Convenient-Adjustable-RV-Caravan/183805353903)

Thank you  :cheers:
Post by: DannyG on July 21, 2019, 10:03:12 AM
Just a quick update on the little diesel heaters performance yesterday arvo and night. This thing is a little rocket. I ran it on high for at least 4 hours with no issues at all.

It wasn't that cold outside....around 12 degrees.......so the garage was toasty warm.

The real test will be when we get the nights around zero degrees to see if it is going to heat the area up and it wont be that cold all week by the looks of it. But I managed to get it all installed permanently enough with the exhaust running up and through the top of the wall. Ill get some pics later, its a real dad and dave show ;)
Post by: gronk on July 21, 2019, 05:36:35 PM
Finished installing the diesel heater in the camper yesterday....haven't worked out all the different settings on the controller, but fired it up, made the temp go up and down, and worked a charm !!
Certainly not quiet....running 2 mufflers on the exhaust, but most of the noise comes from the intake, but will most likely only run it before going to bed and in the morning for the soft missus to get up !!
Post by: GBC on July 21, 2019, 06:51:11 PM
Got the silencer on the intake?
Post by: gronk on July 21, 2019, 07:48:24 PM
Got the silencer on the intake?

It came with a so called silencer, but looking at the tests done on youtube, apart from not making it quieter, it doesn't stop dust and dirt getting in. I bought one on ebay that looks similar, but has fine mesh for a filter.
Have you got a pic of one that is actually a silencer ?
Post by: DannyG on July 21, 2019, 08:50:33 PM
The ones I use you on my heaters are just a black plastic diffuser type thing.
They are not great but they do silence it more than not using them.
Post by: GBC on July 21, 2019, 09:04:21 PM
Intake silencers are black plastic with a foam liner. They work well.
Post by: gronk on July 21, 2019, 09:26:44 PM
Intake silencers are black plastic with a foam liner. They work well.

But they don't stop dirt or bugs etc from getting in....and according to youtube tests, they make no difference to noise levels ?
If I go away next weekend I'll take the diffuser thing and do a back to back test .
Post by: bagpuss on July 21, 2019, 11:10:14 PM
Here is a photo of he intake silencer that's on my heater I have fitted a air filter off ebay to help with keeping things out of the heaters intake I find that it really makes the jet intake sound a lot quieter
Post by: GBC on July 22, 2019, 04:16:18 AM
No they don’t stop dust or small bugs - nor are they meant to - but i defy you to put one over your intake while it is running and not hear 100% reduction in intake whine.
Post by: gronk on July 22, 2019, 06:38:53 AM
No they don’t stop dust or small bugs - nor are they meant to - but i defy you to put one over your intake while it is running and not hear 100% reduction in intake whine.

I'll give it a try next weekend.
Post by: DannyG on July 22, 2019, 07:01:36 AM
according to youtube tests, they make no difference to noise levels ?

If you are talking about the Australian bloke it is because he is testing it wrong. He has the decibel meter at the intake so he is measuring the induction noise through the baffles...thats why he gets a higher reading.
There are baffles in the way so the air makes an extra noise going around them.

The idea of the intake silencer is to stop the induction noise coming through the heater unit into the cabin.

They make a considerable difference to the sound where it matters, or at least mine do.

And just on the exhaust side of things the Aussie bloke said if you want a longer exhaust he recommends making it bigger. I disagree. These are a straight through system that is not restricted and are way large enough for the application.

I extended my exhaust years ago on the camper with the same size pipe and have never had an issue. I do the same in the garage.
Post by: gronk on July 22, 2019, 06:39:35 PM

The idea of the intake silencer is to stop the induction noise coming through the heater unit into the cabin.

I extended my exhaust years ago on the camper with the same size pipe and have never had an issue. I do the same in the garage.

I can hardly hear the noise from the intake inside, but outside is where I think it is noisy.....which is where the bloke had the decibel meter. I will try the original "silencer" on the weekend and see if it makes any difference.
My exhaust is very short, probably 250mm from outlet to the 1st of the 2 mufflers and only approx 50mm hanging off the 2nd muffler.
Can't say I can hear the exhaust at all.

What the bloke is saying on a few things is not that some things will cause major problems, but best practise.....and a few he backs up with sound reasoning....like having the pump at 45deg or better.

I'm not going to bag a bloke who went to a lot of trouble testing these things, especially when I haven't seen anyone do better ?
Post by: DannyG on July 22, 2019, 09:34:27 PM

What the bloke is saying on a few things is not that some things will cause major problems, but best practise.....and a few he backs up with sound reasoning....like having the pump at 45deg or better.

I'm not going to bag a bloke who went to a lot of trouble testing these things, especially when I haven't seen anyone do better ?

I agree, no one needs to bag the bloke who has gone to a lot of trouble to offer some really good info on these heaters.
But it’s important that we as long term real world users give our real world version of our experience and not just a bench test.
We can’t help that our experiences are not the same as some of his bench testing.

I have never used a fuel filter on my old 2kw heater either just FYI :)

The Aussie guy on YouTube makes me wonder why he has spent so much money buying these units to do his testing?
Post by: Marcus73 on July 22, 2019, 09:37:30 PM

I hope it catches fire

Post by: gronk on July 22, 2019, 10:29:45 PM

Ha ha, they must have pure diesel down in Tassie !!  lol
Post by: GBC on July 23, 2019, 09:07:53 AM
I don't have filters either. It's just a furnace fed by a dosing pump - it'll eat up any old crap, not that I feed it bad fuel.
Post by: DannyG on July 23, 2019, 09:17:19 AM
I don't have filters either. It's just a furnace fed by a dosing pump - it'll eat up any old crap, not that I feed it bad fuel.

Yep I was actually thinking of mixing in some old sump oil into my fuel to get rid of the stuff. I wonder if it would work?
Post by: GBC on July 23, 2019, 09:27:06 AM
Yep I was actually thinking of mixing in some old sump oil into my fuel to get rid of the stuff. I wonder if it would work?
As long as it's diluted enough it should be fine. Plenty of vids show bio diesel/ diesel veg oil mixes all being burned. As long as you don't go more than about 50/50 ratio you shouldn't have to pre heat the oil to get it to burn.
Post by: DannyG on July 23, 2019, 09:30:45 AM
As long as it's diluted enough it should be fine. Plenty of vids show bio diesel/ diesel veg oil mixes all being burned. As long as you don't go more than about 50/50 ratio you shouldn't have to pre heat the oil to get it to burn.

Thanks, Ill do some testing on the weekend. Even adding 20-30% would be great as it helps to get rid of all the old oil we get around here.
Post by: tryagain on July 23, 2019, 10:07:21 AM
Thanks, Ill do some testing on the weekend. Even adding 20-30% would be great as it helps to get rid of all the old oil we get around here.

I would probably make sure you use it on high, one issue I have heard about with them is sooting up, especially when running at a low temp. I imagine that adding, especially old oil out of a diesel engine would also contribute to a soot issue, Running it at a high temp apparently helps with this by burning it all off.
Post by: gronk on July 23, 2019, 09:57:25 PM

Fed by a dosing pump with a small orifice....feeding into another small orifice before it hits the "furnace"..
Mine came with a filter, so an easy decision.
Post by: gronk on July 27, 2019, 08:29:32 PM
Well, I'm camping atm, have tried the heater.......works great, too good in fact....ran it on low last night ( 1.8 pulse rate ) for 1/2 hr before bed....had to turn it off....unless we wanted to sleep naked on top of the bed with no sheets.
Tried the 2 different intakes.....one is the original "silencer" and the one I bought, a similar one with just a fine gauze and nothing else......And NO difference in intake noise.....inside or outside.
The missus loves it in the morning, to have a quick wash in a tub of hot water in the camper.
Can't say it's really quiet, but as we won't run it all night, it'll be ok
Post by: Rumpig on July 27, 2019, 08:44:08 PM
I’ve always compared our diesel heaters noise inside the camper to sounding like sitting in your car with it’s fan on high...not quiet, but not super loud either.
Post by: Marcus73 on July 27, 2019, 09:51:53 PM
Those who think that they’re loud must be bloody light sleepers. Being a constant background noise I have no problem sleeping while it’s on

Post by: Pete79 on July 27, 2019, 10:00:48 PM
Or...... They went camping for the peace and quiet and can’t believe that selfish bastard beside them is going to running that bloody annoying droning thing right beside their tent all bloody night......
Post by: Marcus73 on July 27, 2019, 10:12:12 PM
Or..... if they wanted peace and quiet, perhaps camping beside someone wasn’t the brightest move

Post by: gronk on July 28, 2019, 09:57:17 AM
Or..... if they wanted peace and quiet, perhaps camping beside someone wasn’t the brightest move

Might be a bit late when the 1st you knew,  the person 10m away fires it up at 10pm ?

I've always been a bit anti noise late at night at a campground so I'd be hesitant to run my heater for too long right near someone.
Post by: Marcus73 on July 28, 2019, 01:26:37 PM
Might be a bit late when the 1st you knew,  the person 10m away fires it up at 10pm ?

I've always been a bit anti noise late at night at a campground so I'd be hesitant to run my heater for too long right near someone.

You’d want to hope they don’t snore as I know that’d be louder and less consistent than my heater running

Post by: aussie9 on July 28, 2019, 01:46:26 PM

Just spent a week at a Forestry Camp that is usually deserted through the week. I was the only one there Sun to Tues when 4 vans (with vehicles) arrived and set up in a group about 100mts away.
Far enough away
Come 6:30pm 3 fired up diesel heaters and these all cycled on and off until about 7:00am the next morning.
People that say heaters are like a gentle hum, hardly audible, weren't near these 3.
Weren't even timed to cut in and out together.
Not as bad as generators, but louder than the usual owl or koala or even the occassional deer rutt.
Same the next 3 nights.
I just pulled my goose down eiderdown up and was probably warmer than them anyway.
It did get down to -6 most mornings but is winter after all.

Sent from my Moto G (5) using Tapatalk

Post by: GeoffA on July 28, 2019, 01:51:20 PM
Not as bad as generators.....

They may not be as loud as generators, but they ARE just as bad.

Back to garage heating....

Post by: Marcus73 on July 28, 2019, 03:00:20 PM

Come 6:30pm 3 fired up diesel heaters and these all cycled on and off until about 7:00am the next morning.

And there lay the problem.... cycling. Yes they can get noisier if set via thermostat and cycle on and off, they also use a lot more battery power. If mines on overnight its just left running or I totally agree that it’d give me the sh#%s too

Post by: gronk on July 28, 2019, 03:13:42 PM
And there lay the problem.... cycling. Yes they can get noisier if set via thermostat and cycle on and off, they also use a lot more battery power. If mines on overnight its just left running or I totally agree that it’d give me the sh#%s too

ATM, only because I haven't read the instructions on how to do thermstat settings, it is running on min or up to max pulse rate settings.
On the lower settings ( around the 2 mark ) it is fairly quiet.....but still boils the camper after 1/2 hr.
Anyway, the best thing for us so far is to warm up the camper before bed, then when I get up in the morning , turn the power on to the controller and the missus can fire it up when she decides to get out of bed.
Post by: aussie9 on July 28, 2019, 03:44:26 PM
I suppose the next thing will be  someone to invent a reverse cycle diesel heater that air çonditions through summer. 

Post by: GBC on July 28, 2019, 03:49:58 PM
I suppose the next thing will be  someone to invent a reverse cycle diesel heater that air çonditions through summer. 

I want them to hook up an alternator so it charges up the batteries while it runs. Because I have the correct silencers in the right places I can’t hear mine 20 feet away when on low. The 5 is many times quieter than the 2 was - it was genuinely noisy.

Post by: gronk on July 28, 2019, 04:48:32 PM
I want them to hook up an alternator so it charges up the batteries while it runs. Because I have the correct silencers in the right places I can’t hear mine 20 feet away when on low. The 5 is many times quieter than the 2 was - it was genuinely noisy.

I've got industrial deafness too, but I can still hear mine from 40ft away.
Your deafness must be really bad !!  ;D
Post by: DannyG on July 30, 2019, 09:31:47 AM
Just a final evaluation of the 8kw diesel heater as a garage heater.

The garage still isn't sealed how I want to seal it (Ill get to that at some stage) but on a night when the outside temps are between zero and 5 degrees the heater takes the chill out of the air quite fast.

Late last night I was out there doing stuff and in the adjacent storage shed that has no heating it was bloody freezing and a lot of steam was blowing out of my mouth. But in the main shed there was a noticeable difference and no steam when I breathed.

It's not a heater that would suffice to heat a shed up for a sit down shed party in winter that has people who feel the cold I dont think, but more than adequate for me when out there in winter tinkering around.

It is fast, easy to turn on and off, very efficient and clean.

I still wouldn't rule out a wood heater or one of those demon oil heaters at some stage if I was to have Grand Final day or Bathurst day in the shed and it was cold but I think ill give this diesel heater a chance on those fringe months and see how it performs. Which going by how it was when the temps were between 5 and 10 degrees Id say it would be perfect.

Post by: GBC on July 30, 2019, 10:31:30 AM
Get onto some cheap insulation and you’ll be home free.
Post by: DannyG on July 30, 2019, 10:35:23 AM
Get onto some cheap insulation and you’ll be home free.

Ill probably never insulate the walls, its just a shed, although I will admit insulating it and lining it had crossed my mind prior to it being built. The roof has a pretty good insulation on it for condensation.

All I really want to do is seal the trimdek sheeting where it meets the concrete and I have to put a brush seal at the top of the rear roller door. The large main front roller door is sealed for the fire rating. Then at least no drafts can get in.
Post by: tryagain on July 30, 2019, 10:54:58 AM
Ill probably never insulate the walls, its just a shed, although I will admit insulating it and lining it had crossed my mind prior to it being built. The roof has a pretty good insulation on it for condensation.

All I really want to do is seal the trimdek sheeting where it meets the concrete and I have to put a brush seal at the top of the rear roller door. The large main front roller door is sealed for the fire rating. Then at least no drafts can get in.

For the trim deck, I was looking at sealing mine for a while with a few different products but didn't find anything that I really liked, so one day I grabbed a can of expanding foam that I had and gave each of the gaps a little squirt. Looked ok from the inside but the outside where it oozed out looked pretty ugly. Then when I was doing the lawn I hit a bit with the whipper snipper and it pretty much turned that bit that it hit into dust. A couple of mins later and I had tidied up all the extra oozed out bits without even having to bend over. 

Was in hindsight a cheap and easy way to seal it, the only tip I would add is to have a piece of cardboard etc in one hand as you are doing it, as although you stop squirting in between each bit,, what is in the tube keeps expanding. So if you are moving more than just the small gap in between the adjoining holes, it's better to just rest the nozzle on that than having to clean up some dags.
Post by: DannyG on July 30, 2019, 01:57:07 PM
For the trim deck, I was looking at sealing mine for a while with a few different products but didn't find anything that I really liked, so one day I grabbed a can of expanding foam that I had and gave each of the gaps a little squirt. Looked ok from the inside but the outside where it oozed out looked pretty ugly. Then when I was doing the lawn I hit a bit with the whipper snipper and it pretty much turned that bit that it hit into dust. A couple of mins later and I had tidied up all the extra oozed out bits without even having to bend over. 

Was in hindsight a cheap and easy way to seal it, the only tip I would add is to have a piece of cardboard etc in one hand as you are doing it, as although you stop squirting in between each bit,, what is in the tube keeps expanding. So if you are moving more than just the small gap in between the adjoining holes, it's better to just rest the nozzle on that than having to clean up some dags.

Yeh thanks for that. I used expandable foam to seal the toilet area as I gyprocked and insulated the Loo and didnt want moisture getting up through the sheeting.

I was thinking of either using it for the rest of the shed or buying the actual foam inserts that lysaghts sell for that exact thing.
Post by: Marcus73 on August 10, 2019, 11:16:01 PM

Have you tried this yet and if so how did it go?

Post by: DannyG on August 11, 2019, 05:11:48 AM
Have you tried this yet and if so how did it go?

LOL You know how it went but for everyone else, if I get the oil to diesel ratio right I can make it look like this....................so dont add oil to your diesel unless of course you see the amusing side to it  >:D

Post by: edz on August 11, 2019, 10:40:31 AM
Used to do that at the wreckers years ago, feed a couple of liters of diesel down the carb of an old Holden or Ford  motor at revs, used to feed the exhaust into a drain pipe and watch the white smoke billow from the drain entry points all up and down the industrial estate .. Kept the mosquito / midgee population down a bit too .
Metal fab mate next door used to make a fair bit of noised so at times we'd smoke him out too . So he'd tack weld our gates shut .. great bloke " Uncle john " R.I.P. ..
Post by: DannyG on August 11, 2019, 04:47:16 PM
So he'd tack weld our gates shut

hahah thats a bit like cable tying someone's camper zip closed from the outside................
Post by: speewa158 on August 11, 2019, 05:17:32 PM
l had a 9kg gas can  rolled on its side with a flap cut in the  top 1/4 . The flue was a wet sleeve from a 165 Massey tractor  tec screwed 900mm down pipes to the roof line . All my wood scraps from projects went into it , heated up a treat . .
When l reconfigured the shed to house the Exodus 14  it was sold off to a better home , to make room
l do miss the heater but love the camper ,,,,,,,,,Lots                            :cup:

Post by: DannyG on September 16, 2019, 12:13:43 PM
Just a little update on the diesel heater in the garage now that I have used it quite a bit.

It is a fast and easy to use way of taking the chill out of the air but it doesnt make the garage comfortable enough to have a party in it for instance on a freezing night so I made a little addition for the very cold nights.

I built a little pot belly wood burner out of truck brake drums and I can say that it more than takes the chill out of the air. It cooks the garage very easily with only a tiny fire in it.

When I grabbed the brake drums I also grabbed the stack off the wrecked truck and used the chrome section as the part that i welded to the heater top. I also put a damper in the chrome section. The rest of the flue is a proper stainless flue for a wood heater. I cut and shut the truck muffler and made a double wall section where the flue goes through the shed roof so I could use the dektite silicone seal over it.

(https://www.ozisuzu.com.au/album/uploads/big/d412c79dc6ca4e20424204562726620e.JPG)

(https://www.ozisuzu.com.au/album/uploads/big/073c753274c684aeac0f70821159f4af.JPG)

(https://www.ozisuzu.com.au/album/uploads/big/f1993b782cfdc4158e18784d9f1889d1.JPG)

I am going to mount the trucks exhaust guard around the flue as it gets stupid hot. A bit like this only Ill lift it up about half a metre so you can still see the pretty chrome stack ;)

(https://www.ozisuzu.com.au/album/uploads/big/344b39473e160970f6ff1d83ba247c8f.JPG)

Im also going to fold up a tray to attach to the section I cut out on the bottom as this acts as an air vent as well as a ash collector.
Post by: bagpuss on September 20, 2019, 07:07:09 PM
Danny G that is brilliant well done mate
Post by: Troopy_03 on September 21, 2019, 05:27:35 PM
Just a little update on the diesel heater in the garage now that I have used it quite a bit.

It is a fast and easy to use way of taking the chill out of the air but it doesnt make the garage comfortable enough to have a party in it for instance on a freezing night so I made a little addition for the very cold nights.

I built a little pot belly wood burner out of truck brake drums and I can say that it more than takes the chill out of the air. It cooks the garage very easily with only a tiny fire in it.

When I grabbed the brake drums I also grabbed the stack off the wrecked truck and used the chrome section as the part that i welded to the heater top. I also put a damper in the chrome section. The rest of the flue is a proper stainless flue for a wood heater. I cut and shut the truck muffler and made a double wall section where the flue goes through the shed roof so I could use the dektite silicone seal over it.

I am going to mount the trucks exhaust guard around the flue as it gets stupid hot. A bit like this only Ill lift it up about half a metre so you can still see the pretty chrome stack ;)

Im also going to fold up a tray to attach to the section I cut out on the bottom as this acts as an air vent as well as a ash collector.

Nice work mate. I have a couple of truck brake drums like that in the yard, but not the bottom section. Would you mind showing a few details of how you did the bottom bit for the ash removal?

They put out a lot of heat when you get them glowing cherry red don't they..
Post by: prodigyrf on September 22, 2019, 09:26:57 AM
Wouldn't you be better off getting an RC aircon and they even do portable ones-
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/AU-3072BTU-Air-Conditioner-Window-Wall-Box-Refrigerated-Cooler-Heater-Portable/123876462196
Post by: DannyG on September 22, 2019, 05:31:44 PM
Nice work mate. I have a couple of truck brake drums like that in the yard, but not the bottom section. Would you mind showing a few details of how you did the bottom bit for the ash removal?

They put out a lot of heat when you get them glowing cherry red don't they..

Thanks the bottom is just another brake drum.
I cut out a section and welded up a tray out of 5mm plate to attach to the cut out.
It works as a vent as well as an ash collector.
Here’s a pic, it’s a bit dirty because I just hosed the garage floor!

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190922/71e4d9552016b3211880b4c38365c435.jpg)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190922/dbc8fe54242fe145ebe8ae0733b0331a.jpg)
Post by: Troopy_03 on September 23, 2019, 02:03:10 PM
Thanks mate @DannyG, I might get enthusiastic about doing a proper job with mine now. I've got 3 of the longer ones, and two of the shorter ones. I bought them at a garage sale about 15 years ago, for $20.00 for the lot. The idea was to build a pot belly stove like I saw at the SGT's mess at Laverton, many years ago. It was a full on pot belly, with a door for loading wood in the top drum. The heat shield they had around the flue was only semi successful, as I found out when not thinking, I leant against it with my hand. Got a pretty nasty burn over the palm of my hand. Lucky I was p1ssed at the time, or it would have hurt like hell.