General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bullant4x4 on August 07, 2016, 05:16:24 PM

Title: Staying under the GVM
Post by: Bullant4x4 on August 07, 2016, 05:16:24 PM
Weighed the Patrol the other day and fully empty with a full tank of diesel with me sitting in it, the Patrol weighed  3.1T - I'm 6"2 and 150kg. I didn't believe the first weigh so drove to the most reliable scales and still turned out to be 3.1T

Just loaded all the camping gear into the Patrol and going to weigh her tomorrow.

Trailer works out to be about 185kg ball weigh but lets get real and say 250kg. So I need to remove 150kg from the GVM

Still got to get the Mrs and 3 kids in so I think I'm just going to be under by 40kg.

I have been told when you get weighed and on the limit you can choose to get out of the vehicle. If that's the case we will have about 360kg up our sleeve.
Title: Re: Staying under the GVM
Post by: plusnq on August 07, 2016, 05:28:34 PM
Went through this just before we went to the Cape ourselves. With everything and everyone we had 100kg spare. I think a lot of travellers would be well over if the weighed it.
Post by: Bullant4x4 on August 08, 2016, 12:45:22 PM
The GU Patrol has a GVM upgrade of 3495kg.
I have a bull bar, kaymar rear bar, dual batteries, rear draws with extra 100Ah Batt and roof rack and km2 33"
I have no winch, spotties or long range fuel tanks

So here we have a fully loaded Patrol with no food or beer and just one person inside also no water jerry cans on the back.
3,300kg + 170kg (Mrs & kids) = 3470kg add food 20kg = 3490kg..................................... So I have 5kg left over for a GVM upgrade to 3495kg

Looks like I'm going on a diet and drop from 140kg to 100kg to fit more stuff in.

So traveling without the camper trailer 100% legal.

If I add the camper trailer I will be over 150kg so I will need to swap over the chain saw, recovery gear etc to the camper trailer to travel to where we are going then swap it back once we make camp.
Post by: listo on August 09, 2016, 08:02:56 PM
Went through this just before we went to the Cape ourselves. With everything and everyone we had 100kg spare. I think a lot of travellers would be well over if the weighed it.

I'd hate to have seen how far over weight I'd have been when I was up there, I was sure the car was going to break before we hit the dirt
Post by: Bird on January 05, 2017, 03:29:37 PM
Just got this from a mate.

You may want to put this on the forum.
http://rveethereyet.com/police-caravan-weight-safety-checks-newmerella-victoria/ (http://rveethereyet.com/police-caravan-weight-safety-checks-newmerella-victoria/)

I was at the Police operation in Newmerella yesterday and it was alarming how many camper trailers were over their weight limits. 
Might be worth giving the members a heads up that they should get their rigs checked out.

Here’s a very brief update on the Police Operation at Newmerella where caravan, campers and other larger trailers were checked for compliance with weight restrictions and other general requirements.

Victoria Police worked together with Vic Roads and the Sheriff’s department to conduct a major road safety operation that included blood alcohol checks, licence and registration checks, outstanding fines or registration payments and, in particular, safety checks of larger trailers including caravans, camper trailers and boat trailers.  This was conducted on the 4th and 5th January, 2017, at the rest stop in Newmerella Victoria on the busy Princess Highway.

With regards to caravan and trailer checks component of the operation, it was largely an education and safety awareness exercise. No one was fined for being overweight. I did see one defect notice issued to a driver who’s boat trailer had incorrectly rated tyres for the weight being carried.

Interesting;
There were fines issued for drivers who did not have towing mirrors fitted where required.

(http://rveethereyet.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/IMG_6463-1024x576.png)
Aerial view of the rest stop in Newmerella where the operation was conducted showing a number of trailers lined up ready for inspection.

(http://rveethereyet.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/IMG_6416-1024x768.jpg)
Here you can see how the scales were used to measure the load on each wheel. The total weight was derived from the sum of all individual readings from each wheel.

Post by: cheif carlos on January 05, 2017, 03:48:31 PM
Yep never enough load carrying capacity in any wagon even though I would rather overload a wagon than a ute
Post by: Alan Loy on January 05, 2017, 06:58:31 PM
This is a very depressing thread as I have a Patrol but no upgrade.  I had better weigh it and get the bad news  :-[
Post by: Bird on January 05, 2017, 07:03:47 PM
Quote from: Alan Loy
This is a very depressing thread as I have a Patrol but no upgrade.  I had better weigh it and get the bad news  :-[
GATHERING!!!!!

we should find a weighbridge somewhere that doesn't charge, all weigh up 1 by 1.. then have a BBQ at a nearby park to share the news...
Post by: Humphreythebear on January 05, 2017, 07:13:02 PM
On the Hume at Tallarook !
Self managed , drive in drive out - don't hold the truckies up .
Or , drive through Somerton / Campbellfield and VicRoads will weigh you for free .... May be a tough convo tho - usually on a Friday arvo .

For the record , trailer weighs 910 loaded , vehicle is 2580 kg ( gvm 3175 ) ball is 125kg .

Everyone takes too much crap - remember the days of a swag , slab of beer , bacon and eggs / frypan , loaf of bread . All in the back of a HQ or XB ! 😀😀
Post by: Bird on January 05, 2017, 07:18:50 PM
Quote from: Humphreythebear
remember the days of a swag , slab of beer , bacon and eggs / frypan , loaf of bread . All in the back of a HQ or XB ! 😀😀
Ventura/Gearsack bag, saddle bags on a VFR - no room for swag.... LOL
(http://www.vf750fd.com/Peter_Seymour/birdphil.jpg)
Post by: Darcy7 on January 17, 2017, 11:20:58 AM
gday swaggers

Apologies for my long absence.  Had password troubles and then got caught up in some projects.

I'm looking at working with the police officer involved in the Newmerella operation in organising a weigh in at Broadford weighbridge in the next couple of months.  Just need to get some contacts within Vic Roads to get permission to do it.

We will likely involve a couple of other groups as well just to spread the workload. 

More info later.

In the mean time, if you're in Melbourne or close to Broadford, the weighbridge is open 24 hours and is self serve.  Drive on drive off.  Very easy and works well.

Darcy
Post by: EagleBoy on January 17, 2017, 11:47:34 AM

In the mean time, if you're in Melbourne or close to Broadford, the weighbridge is open 24 hours and is self serve.  Drive on drive off.  Very easy and works well.

Is there an equivalent in Sydney/NSW?
Post by: Isuzumu on January 17, 2017, 11:54:06 AM
GATHERING!!!!!

we should find a weighbridge somewhere that doesn't charge, all weigh up 1 by 1.. then have a BBQ at a nearby park to share the news...

They do not charge at the weight bridge here in Nanango  :D ;D
Post by: alnjan on January 17, 2017, 01:13:57 PM
http://rveethereyet.com/a-turning-point-in-towing-safety/ (http://rveethereyet.com/a-turning-point-in-towing-safety/)

A lengthy read but a good read about the above operation
Post by: Paddler Ed on January 17, 2017, 07:25:40 PM
I found a list the other day somewhere that had all the weighbridges listed on them, I'll try to find it again.

I know I can use the local one for free if I don't want a proper docket, so if I want to just check what everything weighs its free and I just check that its ok first.
Post by: ATC on January 17, 2017, 08:23:40 PM
List of registered public weighbridge

http://www.measurement.gov.au/Industry/Licensees/Documents/PWlist.xlsx

If it doesn't work in tapatalk, try copying the link to a browser

Sent from my SM-T815Y using Tapatalk
Post by: peter_mcc on January 17, 2017, 10:57:18 PM
At our local NSW (Sydney) waste transfer station they weigh you on the way in & out, giving you a receipt. You can recycle paper for free - so you should be able to drive in, dump your sheet of paper and drive out getting the weighed twice.
Post by: mike and tracy davis on January 17, 2017, 11:26:34 PM
What about your rear axle load? You can be under or at GVM but still go over your maximum axle load and be pinged! Most wagons have an @ 2:1 ratio of tow ball mass to axle load because of Archimedes principle, so for example 150kg of ball mass is equivalent of 300kg of payload or rear axle load. Utes arc often much worse at 3:1 and some at 4:1, no coincidence that the maximum ball mass on a PxRanger is 350kg and the maximum payload for the vehicle is around 1000kg!, makes you wonder about those big vans with loaded up dual cabs being legal and why the things bust in half after a few hundred kilometres of corrugated roads.
Cheers Mike
Post by: Darcy7 on January 18, 2017, 10:51:13 AM
I found a list the other day somewhere that had all the weighbridges listed on them, I'll try to find it again.

I know I can use the local one for free if I don't want a proper docket, so if I want to just check what everything weighs its free and I just check that its ok first.

You can view the list here or downloaded it: http://rveethereyet.com/weighbridges-australia-download/ (http://rveethereyet.com/weighbridges-australia-download/)
Post by: Bird on January 18, 2017, 11:33:09 AM
http://www.futuremetals.com.au/ (http://www.futuremetals.com.au/)
194-204 Ordish Road,
South Dandenong

$20 per weighbridge ticket, but I'd guess free if you don't want ticket.
7am - 4pm.
Post by: jw2170 on January 18, 2017, 11:58:51 AM
At our local NSW (Sydney) waste transfer station they weigh you on the way in & out, giving you a receipt. You can recycle paper for free - so you should be able to drive in, dump your sheet of paper and drive out getting the weighed twice.

Where is this one, pete??
Post by: Mace on January 18, 2017, 12:47:14 PM
Has this been shared here yet?

Newmeralla, a turning point.

http://rveethereyet.com/ (http://rveethereyet.com/)
Post by: kylarama on January 18, 2017, 07:54:00 PM
Has this been shared here yet?

Newmeralla, a turning point.

http://rveethereyet.com/ (http://rveethereyet.com/)

Pic from this link.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170118/a46e1e8cf8e1e02609d02a117affd6f2.jpg)

Hasn't this setup been topic of discussion on here before?

Wonder how he faired?

Post by: Pete79 on January 18, 2017, 08:56:09 PM
Are you asking because you don't believe there is a waste transfer station in Sydney that will let you do anything for free?
Or because you don't believe there is a waste transfer station anywhere that will show the same weight in and out even if you only drop off 1 sheet of A4 paper? :)

The one at Seven Hills weighs in and out by the way. ;)
Post by: Fizzie on January 19, 2017, 07:57:24 AM
Hasn't this setup been topic of discussion on here before?

Wonder how he faired?

Being discussed at http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=51026.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=51026.0)

Te van went 3.5t, the rear axle of the Collie 2.1t :o
Post by: GBC on January 19, 2017, 08:09:46 AM
There's no way the coupling of that 5th wheeler is in front of the rear axle which makes it a pig trailer or borderline at best.
I've had this conversation with horse people who run twin cabs and 5th's.
It's not a Colorado either. DMax?
Post by: Fizzie on January 19, 2017, 08:25:42 AM
I was just going on what was mentioned in the other thread re a big 5th wheeler & assumed it was the same one? :-[
Post by: Bird on January 19, 2017, 08:43:16 AM
Then you got Maces' ol mate, wish I still had my old photos :(
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=26576.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=26576.0)

(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/43083-1/spree.jpg)
Post by: Mace on January 19, 2017, 08:49:47 AM
Yeah its not the same vehicle, but similar set up.  At least me old mate had taken the rear seat out and was running as a two seater.  The spree he had/has is a little smaller than the one shown pulled up at Newmeralla.
Post by: Bird on January 19, 2017, 08:50:59 AM
Yeah its not the same vehicle, but similar set up.  At least me old mate had taken the rear seat out and was running as a two seater.  The spree he had/has is a little smaller than the one shown pulled up at Newmeralla.
I think those photos I had of him on east link he had a new tug, but I cant remember what - Dmax?
Post by: Mace on January 19, 2017, 08:52:05 AM
Not sure if it was the same set up?
Post by: peter_mcc on January 19, 2017, 09:15:54 AM
Local for me is Artarmon but I'm pretty sure they all do it. The in/out scales don't match and they change in 20kg increments. The North Ryde one also weighs in/out - I'm pretty sure they all would.

I'm not sure how you'd go trying to take a huge van in there but a camper trailer should be ok.
Post by: nab on January 28, 2017, 02:31:02 AM
Maybe camper/caravan manufacturers need to supply an "as sold" weighbridge ticket when it goes to get rego ie. with all options added included fluids. I reckon that would ruffle a few feathers....

What is the point of having a tare weight that doesn't include full water tanks?
Post by: Bird on January 28, 2017, 08:46:15 AM
Maybe camper/caravan manufacturers need to supply an "as sold" weighbridge ticket when it goes to get rego ie. with all options added included fluids. I reckon that would ruffle a few feathers....

What is the point of having a tare weight that doesn't include full water tanks?
agree on all 3 points

Ticket - Check
Feathers - check

Like the bloke that bought that Tvan and was 80kg more on the ball than he was told and over his weight limit empty years back who got his money back
Post by: kylarama on January 28, 2017, 08:51:37 AM

Make the dealers do it and let them sort it out with the manufacturer. Maybe a requirement too for any new or 2nd hand purchase? Weighbridge cert to be supplied with transfer papers?  That would ruffle even more feathers...

Post by: Fizzie on January 28, 2017, 10:05:46 AM
Great idea! :cup:

Got to have a RWC when selling a car, so why not a weighbridge ticket for selling a CT / van ??? >:D
Post by: Rumpig on January 28, 2017, 11:07:17 AM
Great idea! :cup:

Got to have a RWC when selling a car, so why not a weighbridge ticket for selling a CT / van ??? >:D
what about the same for vehicles then? How does anyone know what the starting weight of their vehicle is when the buy it new or even secondhand with it's extras fitted. Why does a RWC not need the vehicle weighed to know not only is it under the legal weight, but under the axle load weights also?...those after market add on's start to add up if enough get put on the vehicle.
Post by: kylarama on January 28, 2017, 11:21:44 AM
I was being a little facetious regarding 2nd hand stuff. Probably would be a bit nightmareish trying to implement. As the law is now that responsibility lies with the owner.  At least with the weights being fully accurate from the factory, the owner has a known starting point.

Post by: BDR on January 28, 2017, 07:39:07 PM
If I am over in my truck I will go a row of Shithouses.......in the Patrol nothing :o

Honestly as some one who spends a lot of time driving around the joint in a truck, this sort of thing should have been done years ago, apart from the no fines ;)
Post by: rseydler on January 28, 2017, 08:28:49 PM
When you register a boat trailer you need a weigh bridge certificate. Are you guys saying you don't need one for a van?
Post by: Bird on January 28, 2017, 08:37:52 PM
When you register a boat trailer you need a weigh bridge certificate. Are you guys saying you don't need one for a van?
didn't need one when I first rego'ed my camper trailer... just turned up, she didn't even know what it was 'oh looks good, never seen one'....
Post by: kylarama on January 28, 2017, 08:44:48 PM
In vic any new trailer  (any type) needs a weighbridge cert for first time rego.
Pre 1989 stuff is different. We registered  an old caravan about 7 years ago. Hadn't been registered since 1988.
Lady at the vicroads desk asked what the ATM was. I shrugged my shoulders and said the axle was rated to 1400kg. She typed that into the system. Then asked the tare. "Dunno I said. Maybe 900kg? Typed that into the system and handed me a rego sticker and number plate.

Post by: #jonesy on January 29, 2017, 10:21:00 AM
In vic with mine being a new trailer they took the weights off the compliance plate. No weighbridge socket needed. They did get out the tape measure and measure length and width.
Post by: Mace on January 29, 2017, 11:25:02 AM
In vic with mine being a new trailer they took the weights off the compliance plate. No weighbridge socket needed. They did get out the tape measure and measure length and width.

That has been my experience there, but the last time was in 2011. Have things changed?
Post by: #jonesy on January 29, 2017, 09:06:37 PM
2013 for me. It would seem to be duplicating itself if they want a weighbridge docket to show what the compliance plate has. (Yes I know the irony of what I wrote)
Post by: kylarama on January 29, 2017, 09:49:05 PM

In vic any new trailer  (any type) needs a weighbridge cert for first time rego.

I should rephrase that. Self built trailers require a weighbridge cert.
A mates built 4 trailers and needed a cert everytime. Along with receipts for all materials and capacities of axles, springs brakes etc. 3 of the trailers have been over 2 ton which requires a test of the breakway system. Never been tested for this once.

As trailer / caravan manufacturers carefully weigh each build, Vicroads obviously take their word...

Title: Staying under the GVM
Post by: Pete79 on January 30, 2017, 07:42:11 AM
Home built trailers need a weigh bridge cert for first rego in NSW as well. For trailers under 750kg gmv you don't need a weigh bridge cert to transfer trailer rego in QLD.

Before I built mine I went in and spoke with the girls at Mario trailers in Sydney. I wanted a few custom options (shorter drawbar, slightly narrower width, eye to eye springs, etc), the response was if I couldn't get what I wanted in any of their standard models or standard options they wouldn't make it.
I would guess most manufacturers are the same as Mario, they have a list of models and all specs and weights have been checked and approved by transport departments. You just order the model you want, they stamp that name on the plate and the transport guys are happy.
Now the issues with gmv on a lot of local and imported trailers these days will come down to the extras or options. It would be safe to say the manufacturer has registered their models as the bare bones box and axle. Tool boxes, water tanks, kitchen, tent/canvas, bed, drawers, etc will all be eating into your payload. That's why you're getting your trailer home and realizing you only have a couple of hundred kilos to play with.
The manufacturer has just made it as easy as possible for them to register their product.