Author Topic: Police checking for Mods, Sth East QLD  (Read 49691 times)

Re: Police checking for Mods, Sth East QLD
« Reply #300 on: November 10, 2018, 06:55:32 AM »
When I drove the highway I always sat on 130kph. Work Toyota, my troopy or motorbikes.  I found I concentrated a hell of a lot more than when I did on 100kph. Even when cruising on my motorbike it was 130kph.  Often had to overtake slower vehicles but once again your awareness is a great deal more than sitting on a mind numbing 100kph.

Amen to that one, I lived in Europe for a while and love cruising down the motorways at speed, it is a great experience, everyone is alert, lots of caution used, and there are real government stats showing few bad prangs, compared to our terrible M1 here on the Gold Coast for eg.

« Reply #301 on: November 10, 2018, 06:58:10 AM »
This rack down has meant a bit of a spike in business for us car carrying types. We seem to be taking a few more 4wd's to auction then normal for some reason.......
Few cheap ones out there now if ya looking.  ;D

« Reply #302 on: November 10, 2018, 08:39:24 AM »
G'day Dave, good to hear from you :D

How's things going with the new business - sound's like you're busy ???

« Reply #303 on: November 10, 2018, 07:07:47 PM »
G'day Dave, good to hear from you :D

How's things going with the new business - sound's like you're busy ???

Ummmmm?
Not the best to be honest, I basically bought a truck that can do what a $150,000 worth can do for $50,000, thinking I am still young and bullet proof, so I can fix it all up easy.
Well it seems I am not as capable as i was once upon a time. I have spent nearly every weekend sorting it out since April. Now, near completion, I am looking to possibly sell it.
The truck it self, I Mitsubishi Fuso is great with almost a million k's on it and still going strong averaging 25 litres per 100 km weighting 20 tonne all up, but the deck was ruined which I have almost fixed. That's the bit I am struggling with.
Good bit is, I can see the end of the tunnel and am almost there.
Then, back to camping..... ;D

« Reply #304 on: November 11, 2018, 01:59:56 PM »

« Reply #305 on: June 02, 2019, 12:12:50 PM »
There’s a blitz set up right now on Creek Rd in Brissy (opposite side of the road, just up from Bunnings/Cannon Hill shops).

Looks like so far they have done 2 rangers and a navara for modifications.
All 3 are parked up with lifts and bigger tyres.

« Reply #306 on: June 02, 2019, 02:12:02 PM »
There’s a blitz set up right now on Creek Rd in Brissy (opposite side of the road, just up from Bunnings/Cannon Hill shops).

Looks like so far they have done 2 rangers and a navara for modifications.
All 3 are parked up with lifts and bigger tyres.

They should be good.  We all know that its impossible to drive on dirt roads without a 4inch lift and 35 inch tyres.... :D

« Reply #307 on: June 02, 2019, 02:16:40 PM »
Funny that, I was following a navara on the highway not long after passing this blitz.
This ute was easy lifted 4 to 5 inches.
I was wondering what the strange noise was that I could hear as we drove along.... then I realized it was his CVs screaming in agony.... :D

Offline JusyApples

« Reply #308 on: June 02, 2019, 06:40:59 PM »
Driven about 4000kms in qld in last 4 weeks.  Barely seen a cop. Maybe 4 or 5 in total.

Bought a what?
Researching my next camper

« Reply #309 on: June 02, 2019, 08:18:59 PM »
Driven about 4000kms in qld in last 4 weeks.  Barely seen a cop. Maybe 4 or 5 in total.

that's standard operational procedure here in Qld...the one thing I notice straight away when leaving Qld and going over the border, is just how much higher the Police visual presence is.

« Reply #310 on: June 03, 2019, 10:10:03 AM »
Quote from: JusyApples

Same here in Vic, but they are spending more $$ on unmarked cars.. no money to be made from people who see a cop car and check their speed.

« Reply #311 on: June 03, 2019, 10:23:15 AM »
They're getting BMW's for the Traffic Blokes in Victoria nowadays. 
So they're out there, you've just gotta look harder to see 'em.
While your lookin' for Police Cars and Camera Cars, you miss the stuff that really matters.

« Reply #312 on: June 03, 2019, 02:54:26 PM »
and there's more

« Reply #313 on: June 05, 2019, 06:20:18 PM »
They're getting BMW's for the Traffic Blokes in Victoria nowadays. 
So they're out there, you've just gotta look harder to see 'em.
While your lookin' for Police Cars and Camera Cars, you miss the stuff that really matters.
don't need to look for them. It doesn't matter if your not doing the wrong thing.

« Reply #314 on: June 05, 2019, 08:10:04 PM »
Blackbutt police were stopping cars in the Main Street today...looked like they were inspecting for compliance.

« Reply #315 on: June 05, 2019, 10:20:33 PM »
Heading up the Bruce Hwy to Gympie today I noticed up north of Cooroy where there is a truck checking area the transport inspectors along with police had setup and had a dual cab ( think newish Navara) pulled over and a jack under the front right wheel.

I don't think they were helping change a flat tyre.

Offline cardinal28

« Reply #316 on: June 06, 2019, 12:13:19 PM »
Not a mod blitz - but this is happening in Bundy at the moment
Growing old is inevitable - growing up is optional.

« Reply #317 on: June 06, 2019, 01:51:24 PM »

Good stuff.  should be double what they test now.  Still too many pissed/drugged or texting drivers on the road.

« Reply #318 on: June 06, 2019, 02:16:49 PM »
night after state of origin... they'd get a few