General => General Discussion => Topic started by: watto11 on October 01, 2011, 12:45:55 PM

Title: Myswaggers that ride dirt bikes
Post by: watto11 on October 01, 2011, 12:45:55 PM
Hey guys just curious how many myswaggers out there ride dirtbike out there and if many base there camping around areas to ride in especially qld.

I ride or try to ride a drz400 which I brought of my bro in law about 6months ago it was a few yrs between bikes for me and am really happy to be back behind the bars it's a great way to just zone out of everyday life for a few hours my boys r 5 1/2 and nearly 4 I have a peewee 50 which my eldest is learning to ride at the moment I made a rack on the drawbar of our camper to take my bike and no doubt will have to find ways of loading more as kids get older (http://tapatalk.com/mu/31b7da1a-7ed1-3352.jpg)
Cheers watto
Title: Re: Myswaggers that ride dirt bikes
Post by: Swogjb on October 01, 2011, 01:40:09 PM
Hey guys just curious how many myswaggers out there ride dirtbike out there and if many base there camping around areas to ride in especially qld.

I ride or try to ride a drz400 which I brought of my bro in law about 6months ago it was a few yrs between bikes for me and am really happy to be back behind the bars it's a great way to just zone out of everyday life for a few hours my boys r 5 1/2 and nearly 4 I have a peewee 50 which my eldest is learning to ride at the moment I made a rack on the drawbar of our camper to take my bike and no doubt will have to find ways of loading more as kids get older
Cheers watto

I have been dirt bike less for the last few years.
I'm on the look out at the moment for a new bike and getting back into it.
A lot of my mates are wanting to do the same thing.
The thought of camping with dirt bikes hadn't crossed my mind, but it sounds like a great idea and it will help in convincing SWMBO that I should get a bike. :cup:
I have recently riden a KTM530exc and a Honda Crf450x, bloody hell these things GO.
What do you think of your DRZ?
Great to see your kids are getting into it.
Glenn

Post by: watto11 on October 01, 2011, 02:06:41 PM
Hey glen

The drz isn't quite in the same class as the ktm or the crf lol
However they r a fantastic bike extremely reliable and offer smooth even power with plenty of touque they r a bike that u could ride to work during the week or for a few hundred km's through the bush unlike the more high preformance 450 which r awesome put require so much maintenance I can't justify the extra expense my drz is a 2001 model which my bro in law has looked after really well it's only ever had oil changes and runs like new I've seen them with over 15,000km's and still no need to rebuild which is great for someone that's looking for a good bike to ride through bush and tracks the drz is a great option and I'd recommend to anyone especially since u can pick something up for under $5k for a late model bike that's near on brand new
Anyway that's enough of my drz bashing lol I wish I owned a ktm 450 or something but my budget doesn't allow those sort of toys so I'll enjoy every minute of my drz and savour each ride just enjoying life
Post by: Racer on October 01, 2011, 03:59:36 PM
Currently on a Husqvarna TE449....
Post by: MDS69 on October 01, 2011, 04:09:55 PM
I bought a DRZ new back in late 2000. Stripped it right down of ADR gear and club raced it with a bit of sucess. Sold it about 5 years ago to buy a different toy but am thinking of selling that and buying a 2012 KTM 450. Might pick up a set of motard wheels and tyres for a bit of tarmac fun during the week and then hit the trails on weekends :cup:

My old DRZ
(http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t126/exbrockowner/DRZ400.jpg)
Post by: swanny on October 01, 2011, 04:26:14 PM
Love the Dirt biking fullllll stop. Here a pic of a recent camping trip with a few mates, and our bikes, rode all thru the High Country in Vic for a week great trip. ( photo is at a hut on the Snowy River, over near a place called Seldom Scene, for all the Mexicans out there)

Race these things every year in a couple of events, all desert/enduro stuff. As u will prob see, all big bikes, and set up for long haul racing.

Cheers Swanny.
Post by: watto11 on October 01, 2011, 05:22:17 PM
I bought a DRZ new back in late 2000. Stripped it right down of ADR gear and club raced it with a bit of sucess. Sold it about 5 years ago to buy a different toy but am thinking of selling that and buying a 2012 KTM 450. Might pick up a set of motard wheels and tyres for a bit of tarmac fun during the week and then hit the trails on weekends :cup:

My old DRZ
(http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t126/exbrockowner/DRZ400.jpg)

That's a awesome looking drz mds69 u must of really enjoyed riding that looks great I fitted mpe suspension to mine plus pro taper bars to lift ride position a bit I'm really happy with it plan on keeping it for a few yrs thinking I'd like to try modding it after trailer is finished of course
Post by: watto11 on October 01, 2011, 05:24:42 PM
Looks like a fun punch of bikes swanny bet there's some great riding in Vic and nsw I'm trying to find a few places in qld that suit riding and family camping as I have to keep wife happy first so I'm aloud to play
Post by: GU Rich on October 01, 2011, 07:09:24 PM
Cruza Driver rides an XR 400 a few times a month  ;D
Post by: Bird on October 01, 2011, 07:31:45 PM
Cruza Driver rides an XR 400 a few times a month  ;D
you can buy mine off me, that would blow out the cops when they pull you pair up for license checks :D
Post by: pacs on October 01, 2011, 07:35:05 PM
Used to do a lot on the farm and did a great trip up the high country with local bike shop a few years back just after the twins wa born and smashed some ribs then SWMBO asked me to tame it down only done a little over the past few years hence the old XR in the 4sale section of the forum but now the kids are almost five and have been given 2x pwee 50's I may have to rethink this :)

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=-36.714756,144.302374
Title: Re: My Swaggers that ride dirt bikes
Post by: GU Rich on October 01, 2011, 07:46:04 PM
you can buy mine off me, that would blow out the cops when they pull you pair up for license checks :D
Cruza is full reg and licensed no need to out run to cops  8)

He even organizes top High Country rides!

Post by: Bird on October 01, 2011, 07:48:36 PM
Cruza is full reg and licensed no need to out run to cops  8)

He even organizes top High Country rides!
full reg is too rich for somethin ya ride twice a year...

I used to run top mx/enduro/road race meetings back in the day :D
Post by: GU Rich on October 01, 2011, 07:49:29 PM
full reg is too rich for somethin ya ride twice a year...

I used to run top mx/enduro/road race meetings back in the day :D
Not if you want to ride into Jamieson and refuel!
Post by: DANBRI on October 01, 2011, 08:48:02 PM
450EXC here, used to be right into it! Now just single track snotty black loamed goat tracks gets me emotional, I leave the wide open stuff for the heroes.
Post by: noel_w on October 01, 2011, 09:20:59 PM
Used to ride an old XL500 widowmaker years ago chasing wildlife 2up with a shottie. Was a lot of fun though not PC I guess. Used to ride RD350, GS750 & GS1100G roadbikes too. Not sure I could lift the leg over some of the new chookchasers without a ladder and oxygen mask. Might have to leave them for the young fellas, the old arthuritus claims another one.
Post by: DannyG on October 01, 2011, 10:26:37 PM
We like our dirt bikes  :D

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/new%20450/groupbikes.jpg)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/westcoast/PB020447s.jpg)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/westcoast/PA310333s.jpg)
Post by: Cloud Basher on October 02, 2011, 05:44:16 AM
Well some of you may remember my questions from last year about Quad bikes, motorbikes, small kids etc.  Well here are a few pics of the whole CB family out having fun last year at out first ride together as a family at Pacific Park.  Absolute ball of a day and the start of many rides together as a family.  My kids love it (now 7 and 6) and they took to it like a duck to water.  They could pushbikes before this and our next door neighbor lent us an electric scooter with a twist grip hand throttle that taught them how to use it to govern speed before Santa brought them a bike each for Christmas last year.  Looking forward to getting home and doing heaps more riding.

I did hear about a funkhana event somewhere over near Richmond or Windsor that used to happen every second weekend for the littleuns.  Does anyone know if this still occurs and if so any contact people or a website?  I have tried numerous different searches on google and not come up with anything.  Failing that is there any motorcross clubs for brand newbies to the sport out Penrith way that teaches kids confidence and how to ride properly?  Any info very much appreciated.

The eldest tearing up the novice track!
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/32270-2/01+Eldest.JPG)

The girls in all their kit
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/32289-2/02+Girls+in+Moto+gear.JPG)

The youngest getting faster and faster
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/32277-2/03+Youngest.JPG)

Mum on her TTR 125
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/32280-2/04+Mum.JPG)

Mum waiting for the kids
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/32283-2/05+Waiting+for+kids.JPG)

CB on his first ride on his 2005 XR400.  Nice bike, starts second kick every time and is well and truely more than enough bike for my extreme novice standard.  But had some good rides at Lithgow, Lake Lyell, Pacific Park and Louee.  Got to get back and get my P's on the bike.  Interesting being old and having L's then P plates again. But in my case, most assuredly deserved.
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/32286-2/06+CB_s+First+ride+on+Xr400.JPG)

CB
Post by: darrenh on October 02, 2011, 08:06:33 AM
Every month on the bike
Look at the back of my junko(http://tapatalk.com/mu/3aa3afac-8e92-2293.jpg)
Post by: Swogjb on October 02, 2011, 08:27:28 AM
Every month on the bike
Look at the back of my junk

Hi Darren,
Don't suppose you'd have any close up pics of your motorbike rack.
Brilliant idea, first Jayco hat I have seen with this mod. :cup:
Did you make it yourself?
Did the rear bar have to be strengthened up at all?
Glenn

Post by: Swogjb on October 02, 2011, 08:32:04 AM
Currently on a Husqvarna TE449....

Gday Racer,
What do you think of the Husky, some real good deals around at the moment on both the TE449 and the TE511.
How do you find the fuel injection and the under seat fuel tank?
The new Husqvarnas sure do look sexy.
Glenn
Post by: kylarama on October 02, 2011, 08:44:44 AM
2000 YamahaTTR-250 with only 3200km on the clock. 
Although its sat untouched in the shed for the last 2 1/2 years with either a carby or top end problem.  Carbies now rebuilt, so I'll stick it back in next week to find out if the head has to come off!
3 of my close mates have just bought bikes again, so the pressures on to fix.
Post by: Racer on October 02, 2011, 09:33:02 AM
Gday Racer,
What do you think of the Husky, some real good deals around at the moment on both the TE449 and the TE511.
How do you find the fuel injection and the under seat fuel tank?
The new Husqvarnas sure do look sexy.
Glenn

Hey Glenn

Yes mate, I love it...the fuel injection is fine and the tank cap is pretty well protected (ie no mud sliding in). The centre of gravity feels so low yet there is plenty of clearance. I've done a couple of rides with mates (FE5570, 450exc, etc) and where they have cased out I just seem to scrape through. The suspension is quite good for the heavier riders, I am 6ft4 100kgs and all I needed to do was wind it up a bit...

Husqvarna has done a good thing with these 449/511's since being taken over by BMW. As you have probably heard they are based on the BMW G450x however well improved on this. For the price they are going for ride away, you would be mad to even consider a Blue, Green, Red or Yellow prehistoric machine....

I went from an WR450F to a 300EXC...and never looked back to the Jap bikes....
Post by: Swogjb on October 02, 2011, 12:11:51 PM
Hey Glenn

Yes mate, I love it...the fuel injection is fine and the tank cap is pretty well protected (ie no mud sliding in). The centre of gravity feels so low yet there is plenty of clearance. I've done a couple of rides with mates (FE5570, 450exc, etc) and where they have cased out I just seem to scrape through. The suspension is quite good for the heavier riders, I am 6ft4 100kgs and all I needed to do was wind it up a bit...

Husqvarna has done a good thing with these 449/511's since being taken over by BMW. As you have probably heard they are based on the BMW G450x however well improved on this. For the price they are going for ride away, you would be mad to even consider a Blue, Green, Red or Yellow prehistoric machine....

I went from an WR450F to a 300EXC...and never looked back to the Jap bikes....
Hi Racer,
I've been looking around at good low K husaberg fe570 and Ktm 530exc, was probably leaning towards the husaberg as they seem to get great reviews.
For the same sort if money I could get a spanking new Husqvarna te511.Husky has brilliant warranty compared to the others.
The 2010 huskies don't seem to be the flavor of the month, mainly electrical problems and the close ratio gearboxes, can pick up cheap 2nd hand.
How do you find the gearbox on your 449?
How's the power compared to your mates ktm's and hussies?
Any issues with the bike at all?

I have not had a bike for a few years, but I do appreciate the quality of the european bikes.
My last bike was a kTM 380exc two smoker, pharrkkk that thing went hard.
Sorry about all he questions.
Glenn

Post by: Racer on October 02, 2011, 01:21:27 PM
The new 449/511's don't have the inherit Husqvarna issues of reliability. These days they come with a 12mth unlimited kilometer warranty..the gear box is fine...I did plenty of research on them prior to splashing out...

As for power mate, not a problem....I did read somewhere about some fool comparing the 449 to a DR400Z.....I have the pleasure to ride one of these at work and I can assure you..they are totally opposite bikes....

You can pick up a new '11 for 11K with bits and pieces ride away...the '12 models are being released in December....
Post by: Bird on October 02, 2011, 01:38:20 PM
I wonder how many people here honestly think they get 100% out of their bikes... or even 75% - specially open class bikes.. In other words, how many Aussie champions are here? If you *honestly think* you are gettin 75% out of it, go racing, you will do extremely well.  

Many people would ride faster on smaller bikes, they are easier to ride. I saw this regularly over the years while racing and while organising race meetings.

You dont need open class bikes for trail riding IMWO. I reckon for 95% of trail riders buying a cheaper used mid sized jap bike is a good option...

Corsers old man was a perfect example at a Aussie Champs meet at the creek, when Troys brother was tellin his dad buy him a NEW model race bike not a 2yr old one... Troys old man turned to him and said, 'when your doing laptimes same as the front runners, or gettin the most out of your bike you can have one'.
Post by: darrenh on October 02, 2011, 02:08:36 PM
Hi Darren,
Don't suppose you'd have any close up pics of your motorbike rack.
Brilliant idea, first Jayco hat I have seen with this mod. :cup:
Did you make it yourself?
Did the rear bar have to be strengthened up at all?
Glenn
here are couple of shots. I can sketch it up with dimensions if you want. I haven't strengthened the chasis and it has travelled at least a couple of thousand kays so far
(http://tapatalk.com/mu/3aa3afab-e34e-53e4.jpg)(http://tapatalk.com/mu/3aa3afab-e36a-6c4b.jpg)(http://tapatalk.com/mu/3aa3afab-e386-b035.jpg)(http://tapatalk.com/mu/3aa3afab-e39d-5bcf.jpg)(http://tapatalk.com/mu/3aa3afab-e3bc-112d.jpg)
Post by: Swogjb on October 02, 2011, 02:20:32 PM
here are couple of shots. I can sketch it up with dimensions if you want. I haven't strengthened the chasis and it has travelled at least a couple of thousand kays so far

Mate, rack looks fantastic. Thanks for the pics they give me a real good idea of how to go about things.
Better get off my arse and get a bike.
I love the idea of taking a bike away with us on holidays.
SWMBO even likes the idea.
Post by: watto11 on October 02, 2011, 02:42:47 PM
It's great to have the option of taking bike with u while u travel thats why I made a rack for my CT it's not something that will come every time but a awesome option to be able to load it up and go I'd love to go to
Cape again and unload bike and ride some of the tracks my wife is a competent 4wder which means if I find somewhere I'd like to ride I can meet them alone track best of both worlds
Post by: swanny on October 02, 2011, 03:09:49 PM
"I wonder how many people here honestly think they get 100% out of their bikes... or even 75% - specially open class bikes.. In other words, how many Aussie champions are here? If you *honestly think* you are gettin 75% out of it, go racing, you will do extremely well."

Lost, i do race, but i didnt relise that we as swaggers had to justify having a dirt bike as part of the thread ???, i thought the thread was about who has a dirt bike and enjoys taking it away camping and riding.

Stick to the the title, please.

Regards Swanny
Post by: Swogjb on October 02, 2011, 03:16:41 PM
I wonder how many people here honestly think they get 100% out of their bikes... or even 75% -

The same could be said about 4wd's and camper trailers.

'Different strokes for different folks'

Post by: Moopla on October 02, 2011, 03:59:21 PM
Have ridden dirt bikes all my life and love it. I ride a kxf50f mxer and with the raw power the new 4strokes have i know a lot of the time i'm just a passenger trying to hang on. But christ it gets the heart going. ;D Whenever she's wide open it scares the crap outta ya. It's good to be alive!
Post by: watto11 on October 02, 2011, 04:45:50 PM
Have ridden dirt bikes all my life and love it. I ride a kxf50f mxer and with the raw power the new 4strokes have i know a lot of the time i'm just a passenger trying to hang on. But christ it gets the heart going. ;D Whenever she's wide open it scares the crap outta ya. It's good to be alive!
Perfect way to describe it moolpa I only hope it's a kx450f and not a 50cc lmao ?
Post by: Geoffwin on October 02, 2011, 05:57:06 PM
I decided to stop coming off many years ago :-)
Post by: lilstookie on October 02, 2011, 06:17:54 PM
We're road riders from way back and have gone with a compromise....we've had KLR650s and now have a DR650. We make them do things they're not supposed to do and have a ball. Most of our camping has been on the bikes and we had it down to a pretty fine art (obviously pre-kids ;) ).

Creb Track
(http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l164/lil_nutter/Bikes/DSC_2076.jpg)

Mungo NP
(http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l164/lil_nutter/Bikes/Deserttrip-10.jpg)

'The Boys' Campsite off the Great Alpine Road
(http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l164/lil_nutter/Bikes/DSC_0048.jpg)

Our CT has been ordered with a bike rack  8)
Post by: Stormchaser on October 02, 2011, 08:23:09 PM
I ride a 2008 Yamaha WR250F occasionally or at least try to keep it upright with forward momentum.
She isnt too flash pretty much bog stock standard and only has just clicked over 600k's shows how much I get to ride :'(

We recently did the annual trek to Sunny Corner (near Portland NSW) for the Central Tablelands MCC "Sunny Corner Trail Bike Ride" what an awesome weekend although it was a tad bit dusty :cup:
Post by: Racer on October 02, 2011, 08:39:55 PM
We like our dirt bikes  :D

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/new%20450/groupbikes.jpg)

Jeeze Danny, I see a few pumpkins there...

I had an '07 300....didn't really take much care of it but it never missed a beat in the old donk....You knew it was a good thing when I was the first off the line beating electric starts racing at Coffs one year...
Post by: sparksy on October 02, 2011, 08:46:49 PM
I'm pretty much old school.
A XT500 Yamy that I dont ride much off road , too scared to dent the ally tank.
And a  1984 Suzuki DR250 that I use to get to work and shops occasionly.
I used to have both of these models before I got married. so when i got the chance to buy them I did.
The XT still scares me kick starting it but then I'm not as young as I used to be.
Post by: Rowanb on October 02, 2011, 08:49:18 PM
As an X racer as of last year, I gave it away after suffering a broken C7 on an enduro down Melb way I figured it was time to call it quits. Selling the bike was a hard think to do after racing for the past 30 odd years I have seen the transition from 4 strokes to 2 strokes now back to 4 strokes with a new resurgence in the 2T class TY to KTM.
So now I have switched to a much safer form of racing, road racing on my VTR100.
I'm so tempted to wade into the 100% 75% debate but I wont lol but I will say if I'm paying out of my pocket I'm buying the best frighting experience I can get.
And its called a regoed CR500.
Post by: rotare on October 02, 2011, 09:29:47 PM
I wonder how many people here honestly think they get 100% out of their bikes... or even 75% - specially open class bikes.. In other words, how many Aussie champions are here? If you *honestly think* you are gettin 75% out of it, go racing, you will do extremely well. 

Based on that simplistic philosophy most us wouldn't haved graduated from an 80cc yet.

I used to ride a WR250F.  Went everywhere and did everything the 450+ bikes were doing.  Terrific bike.  However, when you're doing lot's of kms of trail riding, or riding on the bitumen at highway speeds, the bigger bikes are so much better at this and just eat up the kms.

Surely I don't need to be ringing the neck of my bike within an inch of it's life, or riding like an Aussie champion to justify going to a 450? 
Post by: Cloud Basher on October 03, 2011, 05:49:36 AM
Funny people should say about faster lap times on a smaller bike.  As stated I am a novice and I did buy the mid sized 2nd hand tractor (XR400) as previously posted.  Out at Louee I can ride the fies TTR125 heaps quicker than the XR400, go up hills and down dale much easier.  But I look pretty damn gay on the TTR in my red moto riding kit.

And from what my neighbor told me, who has been into motorbike riding for 35 years and has raced road, track, drags, enduro, motorcross etc (he was the one who got us all into it) "Motorcross riding is all about how cool you look, nothing to do with how fast you are!" ;D ;D ;D

So I went for the XR400.  An old tractor but still has a very large and loyal following.  It is easier to ride (so I am told) than the later model 4 strokes and you can't kill them. Bugger all maintenance needed, no adjusting shims, or rebuilding engines or valves or whatever other components are highly stressed in the newer 4 strokes.  Very important to me as I spend enough time maintaining the hunjy without having to rebuild or adjust a damn engine after every 12 hours or riding or whatever.  And the XR tries and kills me anyway and I am only about trying to kill myself on the bike and not the bike itself.  One cracked rib on last trip to Louee proves it!

Could care less about trying to get 75% or 50% or 10000% out of the bike.  I am currently getting 100% out of me and that scares the Shit out of me, with plenty more room for me to get more than a 100% and still scare the Shit out of me! 

But the most important thing is the beer tastes damn good in the pub at the end of the day around the fireplace and the tales I reckon are taller than fisherman tales!  All damn good clean (dirty!) fun. 

Just waiting until a I break a collar bone, leg, arm spleen etc before I realise I started riding too late and do not heal like I would have, had I really learned to ride when I was younger...  But as yet, just one very sore knee and a cracked rib!  Bike got bent handlebars and a busted rear left indicator light, plus a couple more scratches.  Are scratches on an XR cool, like I keep telling the wife the ones on the hunjy are?

CB
Post by: watto11 on October 03, 2011, 06:46:55 AM
Love the post cloud basher every word is true lmao
Post by: DANBRI on October 03, 2011, 09:12:42 AM
I can get a pretty good percentage out of the 450, though experience tells me to only ride at 60%. My only complaint is it's weight, I'm only 83kg and the added inertia of the 4 strokes slows corner entry speed too. Anything over 108kg and I struggle to maintain a decent entry speed. Just my experience. But they're a good 'all mountain' bike.

I was quickest on a 200 EXC, very consistant more so. High speed transit stages I'd get eaten but natural terrain, and single track it was a great match for my style. I have ridden and tested stacks of bike, some reviews are still on the net. But the bigger the bore, the easier it is to generally get a bit lazy and do big skids. Big 4 strokes suck in tight stuff, the low end stall - I hate it! They all feel like DRZs, ergh!

I used to do a lot of riding, worked in bike shops etc. I know what you mean Lost, but most people aren't really looking to be as fast as they can be, rather something that does big skids and they enjoy. I know elite riders, Merriman etc, and these are the folk that will be cautious with there engine selection, and these types are very few!

I always liked bikes and learned to never estimate a riders capability by their bike or gear. I was taken by suprise when in NZ one time, I was riding there with some farmers, doing a tour on their property with a few boys from the shop I worked in at the time. I was competing here at the time and training 3 nights a week, so I had good fitness. Akubra and all, I couldn't keep up with a farmer who had never raced a day in his life, both on 450WRs so no bike advantage - just awesome!
Post by: Campfire on October 03, 2011, 09:36:27 AM
I have 2 dirt bikes and a quad. I can carry up to 2 bikes or 1 quad on my camper trailer.

The family does trips away in the camper trailer and we take bikes or quad with us on occasion.

Enjoyable past time.

I fan of Suzuki and KTM bikes.

Campfire

Post by: scotto62 on October 03, 2011, 05:36:12 PM
well im looking to get back into trail bike riding and after having a wr400 a few years ago i think a DR400 or XR 400/650 (electric start preferibly) would suit my needs 
Post by: watto11 on October 03, 2011, 07:02:08 PM
Hey scotto I had a 99 wr400 I think it was I believe they first released in 98 were real weapons back then with no tameness about them they have managed to refine that power over the evolution and now they r just all fast and smooth if u decide to head in direction of drz 400 you'll love it they r a smooth bike to ride all day same with xr's of course which have done a fantastic job for getting into decades now.
Post by: Bird on October 03, 2011, 10:12:42 PM
Quote from: DANBRI
I was quickest on a 200 EXC, very consistant more so.
It's funny how people think you need huge neddies to go fast... You really don't. Which was my point at the start. "My mate has a YAMAZUKNDASAKIKTMBURG 50000 I need one to keep up with him"....

I used to race a TT720 (600 with some work and factory bits ;D)... We did MX (they think Thumper racing is reasonably new!), Enduro, and even Club roadraces at Oran/Amaroo Parks mainly figure 8 track at Oran with sucess... Always wanted one of the CR500's the boys were road racing, they were insanely fast.. But even with 100's spend on suspension, I was always rooted at the end of a meet, or even a weekend trail riding. Having said that, we didnt hang around either :)

Until I took a mates KDX200 for a club run down at Yerriyong...  I couldn't believe how insanely easy this thing was to ride anywhere. The MX track down there for the special, or just out in the trees in tight stuff over logs the works... My old boss at the bike shop told me this was the case for ages, and to stop blowing $ on the TT, but wouldnt believe him :( At the end of the day I felt like I'd hardly done anything... My times were heaps quicker too :( Hated admitting it to him...

Out of the ~50 odd bikes I've had, the KTM 300 was easiest to ride offroad, the 400WR Husky was before the TT, but I used to ride sand a lot back then, so large neddies were the talk of the day. The Super 10 I just sold was amazingly agile for a tank on wheels.

If I still had 4 limbs that worked I reckon I'd keep the XR400 or if I could lose a few ton I'd love a WR200 or KTM/Husky 125 just for High Country fun They are just so easy to pickup and throw around with little effort.. Go Rec Rego, and not worry, just have fun :)... or possibly a 4 stroke 250 of some format, but not one of the modern things that need rebuildin every few weeks.
Post by: watto11 on October 03, 2011, 10:16:57 PM
I definitely agree with the ease of riding of small bore bike I wish for tight stuff I had a 300 or smaller when I put the drz down on a hill climb it takes everything I can to turn it around were as guys with lighter bikes just pick them up on there shoulders
Post by: swanny on October 04, 2011, 07:52:13 AM
I think a lot has to do with the type of riding u like doing, for me i like long haul stuff, also desert/endruo riding, and the bike i ride is suited perfectly (XR650R). Its not uncommon for me and the guys i ride with to do 400-500ks on a ride, a big day.

Im not saying that smaller bikes couldnt do this, they could, in fact the modern 450 has more then enough power etc to do it, IMO i think that my bike eats those Kms, and i feel far less fatiuged at the end of the day, and this due to the size of my bike.

They other deciding factor for me is cost, and looking after it, a new 450 is somewhere around the 12k mark, and that was way to much at the time, and the ease at which u can keep the mighty XR going is fantastic, oil and filter every 500ks, and then a bit of preventitive stuff regularly and ur done, and thats wat i like.

Then again u throw me in tight stuff and me and the bike sucks, this type of riding is not wat i like, so all good get out on the open stuff.

I guess at the end of the day its about fun, i'm defo not Ben Grabbham. but i still love gettin out there and hanging on by the seat of my pants, and doin the stuff i like.

Cheers Swanny
Post by: DANBRI on October 04, 2011, 08:03:54 AM
I would love a new XT660, the new dual sport things. Big KM touring days in summer, sensational!
Post by: Redback on October 04, 2011, 08:11:11 AM
We have dirtbikes too

TTR250

CRF230

XT230 Sero

I have never been without a bike since I started riding, it's in my blood ;D

This was my all time favourite dirtbike, kicked myself after selling it.
(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v293/bazzar/Bike%20Photos/Roll02-020.jpg)

Post by: gurules on October 04, 2011, 08:41:49 AM
iv have an xr650r,redone suspension,rims,vortex ignition,steering damper and lots more we have buckets of places to ride here drz is a great all rounder if you dont want lots or serviceing,and reliable my son has a drz125
Post by: Swogjb on October 04, 2011, 12:36:14 PM
iv have an xr650r,redone suspension,rims,vortex ignition,steering damper and lots more we have buckets of places to ride here drz is a great all rounder if you dont want lots or serviceing,and reliable my son has a drz125

Hi gurules,
Im only guessing here.
Did you used to sell motorbikes for a living?
I believe I traded a KTM on a Honda 4 Wheeler about 10 years ago.
Or am I barking up the wrong tree??
Glenn
Post by: speedcomm on October 04, 2011, 07:16:00 PM
Hey scotto I had a 99 wr400 I think it was I believe they first released in 98 were real weapons back then with no tameness about them they have managed to refine that power over the evolution and now they r just all fast and smooth if u decide to head in direction of drz 400 you'll love it they r a smooth bike to ride all day same with xr's of course which have done a fantastic job for getting into decades now.

99 WR400 here ! Its maybe like a GQ Patrol, old, rough and tough but still able to mix it with the newer fangled machines  ;D oh and cheap.
If only it had an electric leg it would be perfect. Had many great adventures on the WR, plenty to come.
Post by: cruza driver on October 04, 2011, 07:31:54 PM
Its good to see a big variety of dirtbikes on here
I have an XR400 which I ride mainly in the High Country the 400 unless I'm out on the local tracks 20min from home  ;D
This below pic is of a group of riders I lead to the Jamieson Pub one Sat afternoon. I think there were 16 all up
(http://i196.photobucket.com/albums/aa110/cruzadriver/XR%20400%20PICS/142-1-1.jpg)
This was taken at Mt Buller earlier this year just before the seasonal closures.
(http://i196.photobucket.com/albums/aa110/cruzadriver/snow%20ride%20may%20ooll/037.jpg)
Post by: Moopla on October 04, 2011, 07:46:50 PM
Yeah sorry watto. KX450F. Have ridden mxers most my life and enjoy a good days enduro riding but to me i love cutting laps on a nice flowing mx track trying to see how hard you can push it. I also made the switch to four strokes from 250 two strokes back in 2004 and know i was quicker in 5 laps than i was ever on the two strokes. LOVE IT! >:D
Post by: Cloud Basher on October 04, 2011, 07:54:34 PM
Cruza Driver,
Great to see another XR400 on here.  Have you modded yours for electric start?  I am thinking about a kit out of the UK.  Fairly pricey but it bolts straight up and you are good to go.  I have been looking for the Honda 400EX 4 wheeler that had the same engine as the XR but with electric start but haven't been able to find one that is being wrecked or has a siezed motor so I can rip the starter and bits off that.  It is a lot of bother for the benefit of a button, but my XR rocks and I love it and can't see myself getting rid of it anytime soon so might even end up just splurging and getting one!

CB
Post by: speedcomm on October 04, 2011, 08:04:10 PM
Wish I could track down an electric leg for the WR ! other than getting a 450 engine with elec start theres nothing much I can do. I put an auto decomp cam in that certainly helps things, just kick it, none of the "sequence" any more...
Post by: Redback on October 05, 2011, 06:39:39 AM
OK so Bruce(lost) was talking about racing dirtbikes at road race meeting, see if you can guess who this young chap is that is in front of the GSXR we are at Fairburn Park, in the ACT, he is just out of junoirs and it's his first road race meeting, he went on the become Australian Superbike champion :cup:

He's on a CR250 with slick tyres, in front of him (out of picture his his mate on a YZ490) that's me on the GSXR.
(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v293/bazzar/Bike%20Photos/Roll29-028.jpg)

Post by: 95cruza on October 05, 2011, 09:10:31 AM
I also have an XR 400 just got back into it last year after plenty of years out - started with the XR200 back when XR's first came out in 1982 and it was so light and nimble you could ride it flat out in every gear - progressed to the XR500 awesome and scary.  Then got out with family/work etc. As my lad grew up got him into an XL250 (cheap) and then an XR250 - then when I moved to Coober got the XR400, have 3-4 others with bikes here to blast around creeks etc and out to breakaways/dog fence tracks etc.
Great commentary from CB, well done - you can't beat an XR for reliability and fun without the worries.
Post by: Bird on October 05, 2011, 09:35:31 AM
Quote from: Redback
OK so Bruce(lost) was talking about racing dirtbikes at road race meeting, see if you can guess who this young chap is that is in front of the GSXR we are at Fairburn Park, in the ACT, he is just out of junoirs and it's his first road race meeting, he went on the become Australian Superbike champion :cup:

He's on a CR250 with slick tyres, in front of him (out of picture his his mate on a YZ490) that's me on the GSXR.
(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v293/bazzar/Bike%20Photos/Roll29-028.jpg)

Gee, that doesnt make sense...
Thats an 85 GSX-R by the look of it, yz490's came out in the J model in 82, that makes it the 80's...
But your 200yrs old, so who was young back then.... Hmmmm maybe Giacomo Agostini ;D??
(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v293/bazzar/Bike%20Photos/Scan004.jpg)

So after 85 would leave Mat Mladin, his first RR was at Winton at our club day.. so that leaves Campbell, Phillis or Slight, but hes a kiwi... Gardner was in europe by then... Not sure...

I still remember Mark Salter flyin past all the superbikes on his CR500 lap after lap at Oran Park.. By far one of the fastest people on that circuit.
Similar bike to this...
(http://i493.photobucket.com/albums/rr292/Gitzy84/CR%20Motards/imgprevaaaaaaaa-1.jpg)
Post by: Redback on October 05, 2011, 09:57:45 AM
Gee, that doesnt make sense...
Thats an 85 GSX-R by the look of it, yz490's came out in the J model in 82, that makes it the 80's...
But your 200yrs old, so who was young back then.... Hmmmm maybe Giacomo Agostini ;D??
(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v293/bazzar/Bike%20Photos/Scan004.jpg)

So after 85 would leave Mat Mladin, his first RR was at Winton at our club day.. so that leaves Campbell, Phillis or Slight, but hes a kiwi... Gardner was in europe by then... Not sure...

I still remember Mark Salter flyin past all the superbikes on his CR500 lap after lap at Oran Park.. By far one of the fastest people on that circuit.
Similar bike to this...
(http://i493.photobucket.com/albums/rr292/Gitzy84/CR%20Motards/imgprevaaaaaaaa-1.jpg)

Barstard I resemble that remark ;D

It's a very young Shaun Giles, in 1986/7 :cup:

I remember Shaun on his CR500, leading Jeff Sale at Amaroo for 3 laps of a 5 lapper, he was using the guard rail as a berm and putting on the back wheel the whole length of the straight
Post by: MADCOW on October 05, 2011, 10:13:47 AM
Had a few over the years with an XR400 at the moment but it is up for sale as I have tweaked the knee and it is giving me a hell of a time trying to sort it out. The XR is just great! From a 250, 350 and the 400 all have been good fun but need a button. I'm surprised Honda dropped them off their list and I'm positive with the addition of a button, better brakes and possibly fitting the engine into a CRf frame sales would again be outstanding for them. Having ridden the Bluelight, Nolan and Yack Charity on it giving the younger guys a hurry up some times is hilarious on the old girl!
Post by: MADCOW on October 05, 2011, 10:17:37 AM
Some pics of the Yack Ride here

http://www.onlineoffroadtours.com.au/gallery/yack_charity_07/images_index1.php

Great day out if you get the chance it sells out very quickly due to limited numbers.

ps I'm the ugly bugger in the bottom right pic in the middle
Post by: Swogjb on November 16, 2011, 08:52:19 PM
I picked up my new Husqvarna TE449 last week.
I'm loving it so far.... Such an easy bike to ride. ;D
My 3yo daughter thinks it's pretty good as well.

Glenn

(http://i1097.photobucket.com/albums/g347/swogjb/622ec4f7.jpg)
Post by: Bird on November 16, 2011, 09:39:07 PM
I picked up my new Husqvarna TE449 last week

how do you find the ABS?
http://www.mcnews.com.au/NewsArchives/2011/November/Husky_ABS.htm
Post by: Swogjb on November 16, 2011, 10:02:10 PM
how do you find the ABS?

The ABS is on the 2012 models.
I opted for the 2011 models and saved a sh!t load of cash. ;D
Post by: gurules on November 18, 2011, 04:36:52 PM
swogjb yeh and ive just clicked who you are to,great forum lots of good info hey  :cheers:
Post by: NZMarkb on June 18, 2020, 05:16:01 AM
My 2016 Beta 300(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200617/85bb808c9ea2047fad017b007612ed41.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200617/cb5e8cff365f10cbf9745d38f05d7011.jpg)

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: bmwfreak on June 18, 2020, 02:14:26 PM
I don't have a dirt bike, too big and heavy for that description. What I have is an adventure bike - 1988 BMW R80GS. Lots of fun on open road dirt/gravel, difficult on fire trails. 6-7 of us are heading out next Tuesday on a four day ride, taking in around 1700km of mixed tar and gravel, through southeast QLD  :D :D :D
Post by: NZMarkb on June 18, 2020, 03:20:37 PM
I've got one that fits that disruption too
Love getting out on it(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200618/090f5fe5f115a246dab0790f3197d896.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200618/509d78ce3451c9e750e96d6f7b3e9d8d.jpg)

Post by: bmwfreak on June 18, 2020, 03:26:40 PM
Ahh, should be on the track not through the track, although that thing got a lot further underground than my old man (R80 is called Erich) would have managed  >:D >:D
Post by: NZMarkb on June 18, 2020, 03:42:57 PM
It took 4 of us to lift/drag it to firm ground 😂😂
Post by: NZMarkb on June 21, 2020, 12:45:28 PM
Dragged the old girls out for a run back before lockdown

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200621/7056b4cb3b5644085ed1bc32a292479e.jpg)
Post by: GeoffA on June 21, 2020, 03:24:26 PM
Now that takes me back...had an IT490K.

Put about 6 kick start return springs into it, but apart from that...couldn't kill it.

Great fun to ride, but tiring.

Had it for 10 years, and sold it for more than I paid for it....

Post by: PWE on June 21, 2020, 10:29:18 PM
Have anyone bought an ex army bike?
Suzuki DR-Z400E

Are they any good?
Post by: Paddler Ed on June 21, 2020, 10:46:55 PM
Have anyone bought an ex army bike?
Suzuki DR-Z400E

Are they any good?

We've got an ex-Army Yam XT600, not sure which number owner we are ex-Army, but certainly the 2nd.

It needed a key (for the XT600, a proper barrel was going to cost ~$200.... on a $1,000 bike), and the wiring for the lights was all a bit interesting (once you worked out what it all did...)

There are things that are problematic in it, and you can tell it's been squaddy'd over the years - brakes are the same front and rear, rather than different (means one sort of pads only are needed) and there have been occasions where I reckon they've looked at and thought there's an empty hole there, it needs a bolt in it like the others have.... well, no it didn't need those 3 holes filling with bolts, but that's a whole other story...

But it came with a long range fuel tank, and has done us about 5,000km over the last few years as a hack bike.

If anyone's interested we might be tempted to sell it... we do have a slightly large fleet of vehicles at the moment...
Post by: briann532 on June 22, 2020, 05:57:05 PM
I have 4 Kwaka's in the shed.

KLX for riding into town etc.
Kx 450 for having fun.
My sons KX 250
My daughters KLX 140.

All good bikes and fun to ride.
Wouldn't know life without a bike anymore. I mean there's important things in life, like food and water, but bikes really are essential. ;D
No pics as I'm far too lazy to find them and upload them  :'(
(Besides - they're just boring stock bikes!)
Post by: Bird on June 08, 2022, 12:23:51 PM
NSW riders sign this petition
https://bit.ly/trailsnsw  (https://bit.ly/trailsnsw)

The picture attached shows a bunch of us riding some single track through Zig Zag, in our happy place, having a ball.

NPWS NSW are taking over the management of this area & according to their, “Policy”, this “Illegal”, activity will be prohibited in the near future. 

The area is big enough to cater for all recreational users & the tracks we have been using for 40 years can be managed & maintained so they can be continued to be used into the future.  According to “Policy”, it’s good enough for mining & commercial activities, (zip lining etc), then surely it’s good enough for riding single track on managed tracks, like mountain biking will be.

We are not environmental butchers & think we are legitimate bush users, like so many others.   We need to see single track riding legalized, the E Petition below needs 20,000 signatures before NSW parliament will even consider our plight.

So, whoever you are, click the link & sign the thing, NSW family, kids & friends can sign it, then pass it on for others to sign. 

What’s next in their sights, Sunny Corner, Lidsdale, Watagans, Nowra, Buladelah for all bikes and 4wding. 

Sign it now, on your phone, tablet, on any device, 20,000 is a lot of signatures, do it now, for you, me, everybody...
https://bit.ly/trailsnsw (https://bit.ly/trailsnsw)
https://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/la/pages/epetition-details.aspx?q=v-uI_XJvXXqZ0xGjxALAow&fbclid=IwAR0g51TP3NuKbXaU9Mn5urCh8db-3Wi2yHMj2LhJNmr6ABiK2HvZeuvX9gY (https://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/la/pages/epetition-details.aspx?q=v-uI_XJvXXqZ0xGjxALAow&fbclid=IwAR0g51TP3NuKbXaU9Mn5urCh8db-3Wi2yHMj2LhJNmr6ABiK2HvZeuvX9gY)
Post by: NZMarkb on June 08, 2022, 12:32:12 PM

The picture attached shows a bunch of us riding some single track through Zig Zag, in our happy place, having a ball.

NPWS NSW are taking over the management of this area & according to their, “Policy”, this “Illegal”, activity will be prohibited in the near future. 

The area is big enough to cater for all recreational users & the tracks we have been using for 40 years can be managed & maintained so they can be continued to be used into the future.  According to “Policy”, it’s good enough for mining & commercial activities, (zip lining etc), then surely it’s good enough for riding single track on managed tracks, like mountain biking will be.

We are not environmental butchers & think we are legitimate bush users, like so many others.   We need to see single track riding legalized, the E Petition below needs 20,000 signatures before NSW parliament will even consider our plight.

So, whoever you are, click the link & sign the thing, NSW family, kids & friends can sign it, then pass it on for others to sign. 

What’s next in their sights, Sunny Corner, Lidsdale, Watagans, Nowra, Buladelah for all bikes and 4wding. 

Sign it now, on your phone, tablet, on any device, 20,000 is a lot of signatures, do it now, for you, me, everybody...
https://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/la/pages/epetition-details.aspx?q=v-uI_XJvXXqZ0xGjxALAow&fbclid=IwAR0g51TP3NuKbXaU9Mn5urCh8db-3Wi2yHMj2LhJNmr6ABiK2HvZeuvX9gY (https://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/la/pages/epetition-details.aspx?q=v-uI_XJvXXqZ0xGjxALAow&fbclid=IwAR0g51TP3NuKbXaU9Mn5urCh8db-3Wi2yHMj2LhJNmr6ABiK2HvZeuvX9gY)

Get stuck into them Bird or this will just be the thin end of the wedge
Unfortunately this is happening all around the world
As you say We are legitimate recreational bush users too
Post by: vern on June 08, 2022, 07:44:20 PM
Signed.
Now, is there a legislation for Rec Rego? Like in Victoria?
One of the only things I miss about Victoria, oh and the footy, and the night life, but not the weather, definitely not the weather.

Sent from my SM-A526B using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on June 08, 2022, 10:26:35 PM
Signed.
Now, is there a legislation for Rec Rego? Like in Victoria
nope.. but its one thing they've been trying to get approved for a long long time...
Post by: alnjan on June 09, 2022, 02:25:30 PM

The same thing will happen if the application to create the Great Koala National Park goes ahead.  There will be no free bush left for recreational well being in the area.   

https://www.nbnnews.com.au/2022/06/06/great-national-koala-park-bill-to-be-debated-this-week/ (https://www.nbnnews.com.au/2022/06/06/great-national-koala-park-bill-to-be-debated-this-week/)

https://www.koalapark.org.au/ (https://www.koalapark.org.au/)