Author Topic: Bigriggen - Gone to the dogs?  (Read 19124 times)

Re: Bigriggen - Gone to the dogs?
« Reply #25 on: May 16, 2016, 01:27:12 PM »
Don't worry......the intern did it  ;D

Offline scblack

« Reply #26 on: May 16, 2016, 01:38:38 PM »
What ever.

This a park never to be contemplated for my use with that attitude.
VW Amarok Highline 2016
Jayco Swan Outback 2015

A man must believe in something.
I believe I'll have another beer.

« Reply #27 on: May 16, 2016, 01:39:55 PM »
Quote from: scblack
This a park never to be contemplated for my use with that attitude.

.. but just think... there'll be nobody there apparently :) could be cheap and clean by then ;D

« Reply #28 on: May 16, 2016, 02:36:32 PM »
"Can't wait" to see Channel 7 inevitability whoring themselves with some advertorial puff piece on the Great South East etc....   nah...  nothing remotely like journalism with the interview "so is it true that you deliberately overbooked the place during the long weekend??"    "Was this fuelled by greed; incompetence, or both??"     "Did you receive complaints??"      Yeah....  dream on.....

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #29 on: May 16, 2016, 03:26:25 PM »
"Can't wait" to see Channel 7 inevitability whoring themselves with some advertorial puff piece on the Great South East etc....   nah...  nothing remotely like journalism with the interview "so is it true that you deliberately overbooked the place during the long weekend??"    "Was this fuelled by greed; incompetence, or both??"     "Did you receive complaints??"      Yeah....  dream on.
or would it be the nasty abusive 4wd steering nasties threatening poor caravan park owner?

« Reply #30 on: May 16, 2016, 04:58:17 PM »
Sorry, this page isn't available

The link you followed may be broken, or the page may have been removed.

Sorry guys, not sure why it worked for sipome and not others. 

Works for me

« Reply #31 on: May 16, 2016, 05:33:42 PM »
Reading the reply Dave got to his original complaint, I half thought it sounded like he was being fobbed off by them (answered him nicely but no real detail in actually going to fix the problem)...reading the park owners response on that FB complaint shows I reckon I was on the right line of thinking as to their attitude to the event.
I seriously was considering visiting there soon before that long weekend, definitely won't be going there now if that's what the owners are like...regardless of if they fix the overcrowding situation or not.

« Reply #32 on: May 16, 2016, 05:38:17 PM »
I sent the following as a reply to the above, before the FB response I now see here.

FYI
There are many folks on social media who have made complaints,this is not hard to find.
I am last to offer expert advise on PR, may I suggest a comment on your web site from your selves on how you may address this.

If I get no reply, I'll send that FB pic to them, with a What Even caption.

Offline Mallory Black

« Reply #33 on: May 16, 2016, 05:52:53 PM »
I've seen enough on this thread and coupled with the feedback from other sources
The current managers are brushed and off our list permanently. Don't need that rubbish.
This includes my extended group of about 50 heads
Hope they are happy with themselves.
Rathdowney locals are also very unimpressed as they depend on the visitors to Bigriggen for fuel & Shopping items.

On a brighter note, I heard that the people who run the coffee shop on the hill at the corner of Upper Logan Rd are gearing up to have camping. Not as pretty but I bet you can guarantee some P & Q
1998 3.4V6 Prado & homebuilt rear fold soft floor

« Reply #34 on: May 17, 2016, 11:46:35 AM »
Did see a comment on here a "few" weeks ago that the cafe were thinking about winding their camping side of things down as they'd had problems with idiots leaving rubbish around & campfires burning  >:(

That was before this fiasco at Bigriggen blew up, so they may now rethink it?  ;D

« Reply #35 on: May 17, 2016, 12:36:15 PM »
Did see a comment on here a "few" weeks ago that the cafe were thinking about winding their camping side of things down as they'd had problems with idiots leaving rubbish around & campfires burning  >:(

That was before this fiasco at Bigriggen blew up, so they may now rethink it?  ;D
No won't happen... they told us the other week they aren't real interested in the camping part of the business, the cafe is their main bread earner they are interested in and they weren't wanting any new people to come camp on their property, would only let their existing small groups or regulars camp there from now on. They said Mothers Day for example they'd be doing 300 meals at the cafe, that is their main concern as far as money making goes. The place is nothing like Bigriggen either, no creek and no toilet facilities where the camp area is, only toilets are about a Klm away back at the cafe.
The following users thanked this post: pank

Offline Onion

• Open-AudIT
« Reply #36 on: May 17, 2016, 03:11:10 PM »
No won't happen... they told us the other week they aren't real interested in the camping part of the business, the cafe is their main bread earner they are interested in and they weren't wanting any new people to come camp on their property, would only let their existing small groups or regulars camp there from now on. They said Mothers Day for example they'd be doing 300 meals at the cafe, that is their main concern as far as money making goes. The place is nothing like Bigriggen either, no creek and no toilet facilities where the camp area is, only toilets are about a Klm away back at the cafe.

+1 Rumpig. I spoke to them when we were there and agree with your reply 100%. Great place for morning tea though :-)
Trackabout owner.

« Reply #37 on: May 17, 2016, 03:30:06 PM »
Some of the better run or heavily marketed private bush camping grounds are multimillion dollar cash cows actually....    Sue Gordon told us they peaked at approx 4,000 bodies during the Easter long weekend....   so multiply that by "x" number of nights  x what they charge $$ per pax per night + 4wd Fees etc; ...  calculate averages for the other  (peak and off peak) times of the year. ...  and  BINGO!!!  = "BILLIONS"  ... LOL  well at least millions of dollars....  and that doesn't include record prices grazers are getting for beef atm....  the things that cause you to step around the dung;  ("in your eco hotel room")....

So it was so sad that BOTH jumbo LPG tanks ran out of gas at GC; and everyone was plunged into cold showers on the last Saturday of the recent school holidays.....  go figure that one......   I would also rate the facilities behind the admin building *barely* 5/10....   not really a pass, actually. .....

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.
The following users thanked this post: pank

« Reply #38 on: May 17, 2016, 05:10:18 PM »
Some of the better run or heavily marketed private bush camping grounds are multimillion dollar cash cows actually....    Sue Gordon told us they peaked at approx 4,000 bodies during the Easter long weekend....   so multiply that by "x" number of nights  x what they charge $$ per pax per night + 4wd Fees etc; ...  calculate averages for the other  (peak and off peak) times of the year. ...  and  BINGO!!!  = "BILLIONS"  ... LOL  well at least millions of dollars....  and that doesn't include record prices grazers are getting for beef atm....  the things that cause you to step around the dung;  ("in your eco hotel room")....

So it was so sad that BOTH jumbo LPG tanks ran out of gas at GC; and everyone was plunged into cold showers on the last Saturday of the recent school holidays.....  go figure that one......   I would also rate the facilities behind the admin building *barely* 5/10....   not really a pass, actually. .....

the property I spoke of is nothing like Gordon Country in both size and scenery (much much smaller and just dry scrub land with no real views for the most part...does have some glimpses of mountains tops in one small area), it would never make the money that Gordon Country does if they tried letting more people in. The owners also aren't interested in cleaning up after the campers as mentioned earlier, they are doing fairly well out of the cafe business instead.

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #39 on: May 17, 2016, 05:30:28 PM »
This thread pushes my long term plan of buying a bush block within 3hrs of Brisbane even higher up our list.

I know a few other have on here and I can see the appeal ..

Maybe the myswag camp ground "members only " on the front gate.  ;D ;D ;D ;D

jet :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline fergy

« Reply #40 on: May 17, 2016, 05:40:34 PM »
 Group buy
copy and paste this list  ;D
1996 Suzuki Sierra    2008 jayco hawk now gone 1978 millard pop top
Iveco daily 4x4
WR450F

« Reply #41 on: May 17, 2016, 05:48:51 PM »
I've got 12 acres in the Lockyer Valley we could turn into a camp ground.

Easy to camp on, pretty flat, 2 dams, backs onto Atkinson's Dam.

I can see the dollars signs now.....  ;D

« Reply #42 on: May 17, 2016, 05:50:48 PM »
Myswag meet.???

Sent from my ZTE T83 using Tapatalk

« Reply #43 on: May 17, 2016, 06:01:10 PM »
I've got 12 acres in the Lockyer Valley we could turn into a camp ground.

Easy to camp on, pretty flat, 2 dams, backs onto Atkinson's Dam.

I can see the dollars signs now.....  ;D
i'm happy to be the grumpy old manager / groundsman that kicks out the clowns for a small wage & % of the camping fees mate  ;D oh...but no camping allowed there if the weather conditions are ideal for boating ok

« Reply #44 on: May 17, 2016, 06:05:08 PM »

« Reply #45 on: May 17, 2016, 06:15:40 PM »
i'm happy to be the grumpy old manager / groundsman that kicks out the clowns for a small wage & % of the camping fees mate  ;D oh...but no camping allowed there if the weather conditions are ideal for boating ok

I'm happy to job share  :cheers:

« Reply #46 on: May 17, 2016, 09:12:45 PM »
You kidding....   this is my carrier, dream job...   where do I sent me application to ...??

« Reply #47 on: May 18, 2016, 07:18:55 AM »
This got mentioned just the other day:  http://www.realestate.com.au/property-acreage+semi+rural-qld-monogorilby-120749941

Only 2-3 hours from Brissie, 40 acres, 30 houses, big sheds, water, electricity...

Who else is up for it?  ;D

« Reply #48 on: May 18, 2016, 07:24:45 AM »
My wife is onto me about or another one similar. It seems there are a few like it.

Sent from my ZTE T83 using Tapatalk

« Reply #49 on: September 28, 2018, 03:25:43 PM »
Just had a few days at Bigriggen so thought I'd update this thread ???

(Another!) new set of managers in the place & they seem pretty friendly.

Decision has been made to cap numbers at 1000 on long weekends etc.

2nd toilet block is up & running beside the original so an extra 1 blokes & 3 ladies crappers so a "little" better.

Showers are now $1 coin for 5 minutes of hot water.

Firewood is now $17 / bag although it was definitely hard wood! (old fence posts actually). A farm ~halfway out from Rathdowney has a sign up for wood at $10 / bag so may be worth checking out ???

Dogs allowed but must be leashed at all times, must clean up after them & so on.

Maybe because of that, but possum numbers seem to be way down ???

More powered sites - now up to 30, & they've redone them so they're spread out along the fence line instead of being in a tight little clump. https://www.bigriggen.com.au/maps/