General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Onion on May 03, 2016, 10:51:26 AM

Title: Bigriggen - Gone to the dogs?
Post by: Onion on May 03, 2016, 10:51:26 AM
So we went to Bigriggen this weekend (arrive Sat, leave Mon). The site has new owners (since Jan). We've been here 3 or 4 times before, our last being in Dec. I don't think we'll go back again - at least never on an expected busy weekend.

In past times we've been twice on long weekends (where you expect it to be busy). It has never, ever been like it was last weekend. We ran into a lady who said she has been going there on this weekend every year for the past 9 years. She won't be returning. Apparently the new owners allowed an increase from 800 to 1500 people on the site. You can imagine what this does to the small amenities block. There are 3 showers each for the men and women. There are 3 toilets each for the men and women. They bought in an extra 8 porta-loo's to attempt to cope. No extra showers. The porta-loo's were emptied but not cleaned. You can imagine the smell. The showers had a line-up 4-8 people deep for most of the day and night. We resorted to showering at midnight. We went elsewhere when we could to use other toilets (yes, we drove somewhere else and bought coffee, food, etc just to use a decent toilet).

The previous owners also pretty thoroughly kept on top of the idiots. The new owners, not so much. Example - at 11pm on Sunday night 3/4/5 very drunk guys came wandering through the middle of the campground and everyone's sites. Quite happy to make plenty of noise and swear. Including abusing a family that told them to shut up because they had just woken their baby. One idiot even returned an hour later to abuse the family once more. Management were told and apparently had been to see the guys quite a few times already the previous day (about doof-doof music and abusing people). Previous management would have kicked them out straight away. New management let them stay and disrupt everyone.

We were very sad to see the place in this state. We absolutely love going to Bigriggen and this time took two other families to enjoy it as well. We expected it to be busy. Even this busy, we still have room for our four families and setup. But the amenities were a complete and utter disaster. So sad. We will likely go back on a non-busy weekend, but not for a long weekend or in the school holidays.

Time to find a new place less than 2 hours from Brisbane northside I think.

If anyone else has experiences of Bigriggen this year they can share, please do chime in.
Title: Re: Bigriggen - Gone to the dogs?
Post by: Bird on May 03, 2016, 10:54:18 AM
but think of the money they made.... :(
Post by: Spada on May 03, 2016, 11:15:56 AM
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=40392.msg664103#msg664103 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=40392.msg664103#msg664103)

Nothing new about 1500 people there...........

Sounds like not much has changed, other than new managers, and the dogs.
Post by: Skuta on May 04, 2016, 07:24:09 AM
Yep same experience here this last weekend. Felt sorry for the ladies in the line-up
Post by: Mallory Black on May 08, 2016, 07:16:48 PM
We had booked to be there for the May weekend (would have been our 3rd visit on the same weekend) but by chance we got an offer to camp on private property so cancelled. Feeling like we had dodged a big bullet
Friends who were there (one is an RN) had to take time out to attend to a spaced out 40 y/o who endo'd on the BMX track, no helmet
And yeah the new managers were out of their depth big time by overbooking and letting the DH's in.
We won't be back, don't need that junk in our lives....plenty of other choices out there.
Post by: DaveR on May 09, 2016, 06:24:06 AM

Friends who were there (one is an RN) had to take time out to attend to a spaced out 40 y/o who endo'd on the BMX track, no helmet

My kids saw that happen, don't think the helmet would have helped him on that occasion. What a mess.

I'd be given the place a miss now, long weekends for sure.
Post by: JSKM on May 09, 2016, 06:40:10 AM
I think this location is a typical example of many places around Australia.

Greed has taken a front door step to old fashion service and hospitality (not just in Van Parks either).

The worst part about it however, the great places to can get to away from the Van parks are now being over run and left looking like a rubbish dump and worst of all, open toilets.

Pity what the great life style we had has become.

Post by: Mallory Black on May 10, 2016, 06:40:30 PM
Had a think about this... on the other side of the coin probably a big wakeup for the new owners.
I've sent them an e-mail to see what they thought of the weekend and what they will be doing going forward.

Like make an apology via e-mail to the affected campers. they can do that because they have everyone's e-mail
If thy are half smart they can also contact the dickheads who ruined the weekend and tell them to forget about coming back

We shall see....
Post by: Rumpig on May 10, 2016, 07:17:25 PM
It will be interesting to hear the owners view of how they think the weekend went. I didn't stay there that weekend and only made it as far as the front gate when I planned to drop in say giddy to Dave, but that crowd I saw there has made me not want to stay there ever again. Obviously a normal weekend wouldn't see crowds like that there, but it does make me think twice about ever staying there in the future anyhow...wondering just how many people will be there.
Post by: oldmate on May 10, 2016, 08:31:16 PM
they wont have to worry about us going there overcrowding it
Post by: Fizzie on May 15, 2016, 08:03:56 AM
So did anyone get any response from Bigriggen yet?
Post by: DaveR on May 15, 2016, 10:04:24 AM
Yes. I'll share the response later. They will sort it out.

Sent from my ZTE T83 using Tapatalk

Post by: DaveR on May 15, 2016, 02:28:47 PM
The following is my message to them.

Hello
We had a booking and stayed the recent long weekend.
We've stayed several times in the past. And enjoyed it.
I found this recent visit to be very crowded, too crowed even. We weren't the only ones who found this either.
Is it true the max head count number has been increased from 800 to 1,500?
The attraction of places like this is even long weekends it is not crowded.

Now for the response....

Hi Dave
Thanks for the feedback yes we agree , too many people we got the wrong advice this issue & other things will be addressed for the future.
Bigriggen

Before I book, again, I will follow this up.
Post by: Fizzie on May 16, 2016, 08:17:10 AM
Thanks Dave.

Next SEQ long weekend now isn't till October (& that's the end of the school holidays as well) so we'll have to see what happens in the mean time.

July school holidays could be interesting?
Post by: Beachman on May 16, 2016, 10:13:24 AM
We are planning a trip on the long weekend in October with another 5 or 6 families and Bigriggen was mentioned as a possible venue.

But until I know they have sorted out the numbers, going to give this place a miss on busy times.
Post by: DaveR on May 16, 2016, 10:21:45 AM
I did reply to them. Shall update with response.

Post by: Rumpig on May 16, 2016, 11:07:56 AM
I'd ask them to outline to you what their plans are in regards to making things different in the future. That reply of theirs seems pretty lacking in any detail that would get me interested in staying there any time in the future.
Post by: oldmate on May 16, 2016, 11:55:06 AM
I think this response sums it up Mal. Get Leanne to show you. It a face book response from Managment to a review. https://www.facebook.com/tony.cheers.50/posts/10154113349569501:0
Post by: KingBilly on May 16, 2016, 12:08:35 PM
Whatever  ;D ;D ;D

Post by: Bird on May 16, 2016, 12:17:23 PM
I think this response sums it up Mal. Get Leanne to show you. It a face book response from Managment to a review. https://www.facebook.com/tony.cheers.50/posts/10154113349569501:0 (https://www.facebook.com/tony.cheers.50/posts/10154113349569501:0)

Sorry, this page isn't available

The link you followed may be broken, or the page may have been removed.
Post by: plusnq on May 16, 2016, 12:28:03 PM
Its still there.
Post by: Beachman on May 16, 2016, 12:42:12 PM
The link wouldn’t work for me either, but what a disgusting reply by management with replying 'whatever'
Post by: BaseCamp on May 16, 2016, 12:52:50 PM
I'm not on FB...   so thanks for posting up the screen copy above. ...    what a pathetic management response "what ever"....   Ignorant tools, grunts!!....     for a start it should be "whatever"   ...  grrrr

Post by: Bird on May 16, 2016, 12:59:32 PM
Im betting th management wasn't expecting the amount of feedback they got.. and with 1200 people there and only a few voicing their complaint, they will keep going and be merry.
Post by: DaveR on May 16, 2016, 01:06:05 PM
That face book response is an embarrassment.
What idiot in business would put such a thing, the negative comments were not and insult and were accurate.
Post by: plusnq on May 16, 2016, 01:27:12 PM
Don't worry......the intern did it  ;D
Post by: scblack on May 16, 2016, 01:38:38 PM
What ever.

This a park never to be contemplated for my use with that attitude.
Post by: Bird on May 16, 2016, 01:39:55 PM
Quote from: scblack
This a park never to be contemplated for my use with that attitude.

.. but just think... there'll be nobody there apparently :) could be cheap and clean by then ;D
Post by: BaseCamp on May 16, 2016, 02:36:32 PM
"Can't wait" to see Channel 7 inevitability whoring themselves with some advertorial puff piece on the Great South East etc....   nah...  nothing remotely like journalism with the interview "so is it true that you deliberately overbooked the place during the long weekend??"    "Was this fuelled by greed; incompetence, or both??"     "Did you receive complaints??"      Yeah....  dream on.....

Post by: Bird on May 16, 2016, 03:26:25 PM
"Can't wait" to see Channel 7 inevitability whoring themselves with some advertorial puff piece on the Great South East etc....   nah...  nothing remotely like journalism with the interview "so is it true that you deliberately overbooked the place during the long weekend??"    "Was this fuelled by greed; incompetence, or both??"     "Did you receive complaints??"      Yeah....  dream on.
or would it be the nasty abusive 4wd steering nasties threatening poor caravan park owner?
Post by: oldmate on May 16, 2016, 04:58:17 PM
Sorry, this page isn't available

The link you followed may be broken, or the page may have been removed.

Sorry guys, not sure why it worked for sipome and not others. 

Works for me
Post by: Rumpig on May 16, 2016, 05:33:42 PM
Reading the reply Dave got to his original complaint, I half thought it sounded like he was being fobbed off by them (answered him nicely but no real detail in actually going to fix the problem)...reading the park owners response on that FB complaint shows I reckon I was on the right line of thinking as to their attitude to the event.
I seriously was considering visiting there soon before that long weekend, definitely won't be going there now if that's what the owners are like...regardless of if they fix the overcrowding situation or not.
Post by: DaveR on May 16, 2016, 05:38:17 PM
I sent the following as a reply to the above, before the FB response I now see here.

FYI
There are many folks on social media who have made complaints,this is not hard to find.
I am last to offer expert advise on PR, may I suggest a comment on your web site from your selves on how you may address this.

If I get no reply, I'll send that FB pic to them, with a What Even caption.
Post by: Mallory Black on May 16, 2016, 05:52:53 PM
I've seen enough on this thread and coupled with the feedback from other sources
The current managers are brushed and off our list permanently. Don't need that rubbish.
This includes my extended group of about 50 heads
Hope they are happy with themselves.
Rathdowney locals are also very unimpressed as they depend on the visitors to Bigriggen for fuel & Shopping items.

On a brighter note, I heard that the people who run the coffee shop on the hill at the corner of Upper Logan Rd are gearing up to have camping. Not as pretty but I bet you can guarantee some P & Q
Post by: Fizzie on May 17, 2016, 11:46:35 AM
Did see a comment on here a "few" weeks ago that the cafe were thinking about winding their camping side of things down as they'd had problems with idiots leaving rubbish around & campfires burning  >:(

That was before this fiasco at Bigriggen blew up, so they may now rethink it?  ;D
Post by: Rumpig on May 17, 2016, 12:36:15 PM
Did see a comment on here a "few" weeks ago that the cafe were thinking about winding their camping side of things down as they'd had problems with idiots leaving rubbish around & campfires burning  >:(

That was before this fiasco at Bigriggen blew up, so they may now rethink it?  ;D
No won't happen... they told us the other week they aren't real interested in the camping part of the business, the cafe is their main bread earner they are interested in and they weren't wanting any new people to come camp on their property, would only let their existing small groups or regulars camp there from now on. They said Mothers Day for example they'd be doing 300 meals at the cafe, that is their main concern as far as money making goes. The place is nothing like Bigriggen either, no creek and no toilet facilities where the camp area is, only toilets are about a Klm away back at the cafe.
Post by: Onion on May 17, 2016, 03:11:10 PM
No won't happen... they told us the other week they aren't real interested in the camping part of the business, the cafe is their main bread earner they are interested in and they weren't wanting any new people to come camp on their property, would only let their existing small groups or regulars camp there from now on. They said Mothers Day for example they'd be doing 300 meals at the cafe, that is their main concern as far as money making goes. The place is nothing like Bigriggen either, no creek and no toilet facilities where the camp area is, only toilets are about a Klm away back at the cafe.

+1 Rumpig. I spoke to them when we were there and agree with your reply 100%. Great place for morning tea though :-)
Post by: BaseCamp on May 17, 2016, 03:30:06 PM
Some of the better run or heavily marketed private bush camping grounds are multimillion dollar cash cows actually....    Sue Gordon told us they peaked at approx 4,000 bodies during the Easter long weekend....   so multiply that by "x" number of nights  x what they charge $$ per pax per night + 4wd Fees etc; ...  calculate averages for the other  (peak and off peak) times of the year. ...  and  BINGO!!!  = "BILLIONS"  ... LOL  well at least millions of dollars....  and that doesn't include record prices grazers are getting for beef atm....  the things that cause you to step around the dung;  ("in your eco hotel room")....

So it was so sad that BOTH jumbo LPG tanks ran out of gas at GC; and everyone was plunged into cold showers on the last Saturday of the recent school holidays.....  go figure that one......   I would also rate the facilities behind the admin building *barely* 5/10....   not really a pass, actually. .....

Post by: Rumpig on May 17, 2016, 05:10:18 PM
Some of the better run or heavily marketed private bush camping grounds are multimillion dollar cash cows actually....    Sue Gordon told us they peaked at approx 4,000 bodies during the Easter long weekend....   so multiply that by "x" number of nights  x what they charge $$ per pax per night + 4wd Fees etc; ...  calculate averages for the other  (peak and off peak) times of the year. ...  and  BINGO!!!  = "BILLIONS"  ... LOL  well at least millions of dollars....  and that doesn't include record prices grazers are getting for beef atm....  the things that cause you to step around the dung;  ("in your eco hotel room")....

So it was so sad that BOTH jumbo LPG tanks ran out of gas at GC; and everyone was plunged into cold showers on the last Saturday of the recent school holidays.....  go figure that one......   I would also rate the facilities behind the admin building *barely* 5/10....   not really a pass, actually. .....

the property I spoke of is nothing like Gordon Country in both size and scenery (much much smaller and just dry scrub land with no real views for the most part...does have some glimpses of mountains tops in one small area), it would never make the money that Gordon Country does if they tried letting more people in. The owners also aren't interested in cleaning up after the campers as mentioned earlier, they are doing fairly well out of the cafe business instead.
Post by: jetcrew on May 17, 2016, 05:30:28 PM
This thread pushes my long term plan of buying a bush block within 3hrs of Brisbane even higher up our list.

I know a few other have on here and I can see the appeal ..

Maybe the myswag camp ground "members only " on the front gate.  ;D ;D ;D ;D

jet :D
Post by: fergy on May 17, 2016, 05:40:34 PM
 Group buy
copy and paste this list  ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 17, 2016, 05:48:51 PM
I've got 12 acres in the Lockyer Valley we could turn into a camp ground.

Easy to camp on, pretty flat, 2 dams, backs onto Atkinson's Dam.

I can see the dollars signs now.....  ;D
Post by: DaveR on May 17, 2016, 05:50:48 PM
Myswag meet.???

Post by: Rumpig on May 17, 2016, 06:01:10 PM
I've got 12 acres in the Lockyer Valley we could turn into a camp ground.

Easy to camp on, pretty flat, 2 dams, backs onto Atkinson's Dam.

I can see the dollars signs now.....  ;D
i'm happy to be the grumpy old manager / groundsman that kicks out the clowns for a small wage & % of the camping fees mate  ;D oh...but no camping allowed there if the weather conditions are ideal for boating ok
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 17, 2016, 06:05:08 PM
Post by: plusnq on May 17, 2016, 06:15:40 PM
i'm happy to be the grumpy old manager / groundsman that kicks out the clowns for a small wage & % of the camping fees mate  ;D oh...but no camping allowed there if the weather conditions are ideal for boating ok

I'm happy to job share  :cheers:
Post by: BaseCamp on May 17, 2016, 09:12:45 PM
You kidding....   this is my carrier, dream job...   where do I sent me application to ...??

Post by: Fizzie on May 18, 2016, 07:18:55 AM
This got mentioned just the other day:  http://www.realestate.com.au/property-acreage+semi+rural-qld-monogorilby-120749941 (http://www.realestate.com.au/property-acreage+semi+rural-qld-monogorilby-120749941)

Only 2-3 hours from Brissie, 40 acres, 30 houses, big sheds, water, electricity...

Who else is up for it?  ;D
Post by: DaveR on May 18, 2016, 07:24:45 AM
My wife is onto me about or another one similar. It seems there are a few like it.

Post by: Fizzie on September 28, 2018, 03:25:43 PM
Just had a few days at Bigriggen so thought I'd update this thread ???

(Another!) new set of managers in the place & they seem pretty friendly.

Decision has been made to cap numbers at 1000 on long weekends etc.

2nd toilet block is up & running beside the original so an extra 1 blokes & 3 ladies crappers so a "little" better.

Showers are now $1 coin for 5 minutes of hot water.

Firewood is now $17 / bag although it was definitely hard wood! (old fence posts actually). A farm ~halfway out from Rathdowney has a sign up for wood at $10 / bag so may be worth checking out ???

Dogs allowed but must be leashed at all times, must clean up after them & so on.

Maybe because of that, but possum numbers seem to be way down ???

More powered sites - now up to 30, & they've redone them so they're spread out along the fence line instead of being in a tight little clump. https://www.bigriggen.com.au/maps/ (https://www.bigriggen.com.au/maps/)
Post by: DaveR on September 29, 2018, 06:05:50 AM
Nice work there Fizzie, Thanks.
Shall now plan a weekend trip there again.
Post by: Bird on September 29, 2018, 11:00:22 AM
Quote from: Fizzie
Decision has been made to cap numbers at 1000 on long weekends etc.
limit... 1000?? how big is this place?
Post by: jwb on September 29, 2018, 11:07:47 AM
limit... 1000?? how big is this place?
it is pretty big!
But is in need of some rain!
very dry there on my last visit!
Post by: Bird on September 29, 2018, 11:16:02 AM
it is pretty big!
But is in need of some rain!
very dry there on my last visit!
just knowing there are 1000 (people or camps?- eg 1000 people or 5000?) would put me off going..
Post by: Onion on September 29, 2018, 02:29:18 PM
New managers and the 1,000 cap might make me try again. Been there quite a few times (last time when I started this thread, not since). I think the cap used to be 800 or 900. A single extra mens loo isn't enough, but it would be much better than the sh!t fight I originally reported on. It is quite a large place. I think it's 100 acres, with 50 acres of campground.
Post by: Beachman on October 02, 2018, 09:02:32 AM
I’m thinking about going back in a couple of weeks which should be okay seeing it won’t be school holidays or a long weekend. So I will give an update after the trip.
Post by: Fizzie on October 02, 2018, 10:14:22 AM
Shall now plan a weekend trip there again.

New managers and the 1,000 cap might make me try again.

I’m thinking about going back in a couple of weeks

Maybe we could think about a Swag meet, perhaps in the New Year ???

Post by: Fizzie on April 01, 2021, 12:16:41 PM
Just had another week out there, so time for an update of some new details ;D

As well as the second toilet block, they've now also got 4 permanently mounted portaloos that are kept for busy times, & also a second shower block, with 5 showers.

As we speak, they're in the process of turning the old hall into a combined office / kiosk / cafe, which will also (soon, they hope ???) have a camp kitchen included! Hoping for it to be up & running this weekend, & certainly have been going flat out this last week, so fingers crossed for them.

The old office will then become a residence.

Also putting in more powered sites, which will put them up to ~40.

New managers are pretty good, so if you haven't been out for a while, it may be worth a trip. Don't go on the weekend, especially over the school holidays as it's been pretty busy then!