Author Topic: The CUB CLUB  (Read 260878 times)

Offline grizzly

Re: The CUB CLUB
« Reply #125 on: February 09, 2012, 08:48:40 PM »
VKPrado
That is an excellent link, for some reason I was put off looking at ALKO I think the local agent told me they did not have a hydraulic option so I moved on , however this is just the help I was looking for top marks  :cup: :cup: :cup: ;D ;D ;D now to cost it and get funds from the minister of war and finance,( where the work really begins  ;D ;D)
Grizzly  :cheers: :cheers:

Online GeoffA

« Reply #126 on: February 10, 2012, 06:12:48 AM »
now to cost it and get funds from the minister of war and finance,( where the work really begins  ;D ;D)
Grizzly  :cheers: :cheers:

Sometimes..... it's easier to beg forgiveness, than ask permission....... ;D ;D

Offline VKPrado

« Reply #127 on: February 10, 2012, 08:01:00 AM »
Grizzly I would be interested in what you find out. Whether it can be done. With the issues I am having with setting up my cable brakes it might be an option to go hydraulic. Keep us posted.

Offline just startin

« Reply #128 on: February 10, 2012, 06:32:44 PM »
Hi VKPrado,
                 Just measured my mudflaps. They measure 770 wide X 260 high and they hang off the stone guard

Offline adrianjt

« Reply #129 on: February 10, 2012, 09:36:58 PM »
dear all, gday!

new member with refurb'd 78 drifter 6 offroad (woohoo)

thru some stroke of good fortune (doesnt require annual pink slip) it was originally rego'd as the non offroad version, thus rego papers read 410 tare

it has 6 leafspring suspension (no dampeners),  would anyone know what is the gvm? /aggregate mass (ie how much can i safely load up the leafsprings?)

thanks in advance
adrianjt

Offline VKPrado

« Reply #130 on: February 12, 2012, 07:52:25 PM »
G'day Just Startin,
                            Thanks for those measurements  :cup:. I take it the flaps are just bolted straight through the stone guard frame? Good looking set up you have also  8).

Offline gee-you1

« Reply #131 on: February 13, 2012, 09:11:26 AM »

Anyone added rear recovery points to their Cub?
Where and how?

Offline Chippy76

• :D
« Reply #132 on: February 13, 2012, 09:41:48 AM »

Anyone added rear recovery points to their Cub?
Where and how?

In the process of it ...will take some pics when Im done ...
Cheers Chippy :D
"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton

Offline just startin

« Reply #133 on: February 13, 2012, 06:47:20 PM »
Hi all Cub Clubbers
             Here a few more pics of my Camper at Kiama over the wk/end
 I have fitted matching steel wheels to the camper so they match my Pajero. I have D694 Duellers on steel wheels for outback travel and the highway tyres fitted to the alloys for around town use also copied Snow's solar exhaust/vent on the fridge/spare's box also fitted to the camper roof rack some aluminium screen door mesh to hold and tie down smaller items.
      And for Gee-You 1  before last trip I welded a U bolt to chasie ( temp) so I could remove trailer if stuck. I will improve on this before next trip.

Offline grizzly

« Reply #134 on: February 14, 2012, 05:06:13 PM »
VKPrado
Just got a quote in from Trailer Spares Direct for a kit that includes PBR brake callipers braided hydrolic lines Hydrastar brake actuator and a Prodigy 3 controller for $1700 give or take a few dollars, Hydrastar has a two year warranty which you do not get locally if you buy direct from USA
 The price I got from the net direct from USA was $635 locally supplied is $900
I have placed a requisition with the Minister of War and Finance and it has been given aooroval after some major dental work and possibly a new oven  ( if the Lofra people let us down on warrenty) ??? ???
Grizzly  :cheers:

Offline Craig and Jen

• I WISH I WAS CAMPING RIGHT NOW!!!
« Reply #135 on: February 14, 2012, 05:29:12 PM »
Hi CUB Swagers,

I thought we would join the CUB CLUB untill our baby is sold

Offline ozbogwam

The CUB CLUB
« Reply #136 on: March 17, 2012, 09:12:15 PM »
Not a Cub owner, yet. Have a couple of questions if I may.

I need to be able to fit a bunk bed in the hard floor area is this possible in any of the offroad models?

Can you fit an innerspring mattress or will that be too tall for the fold over?

Offline Chippy76

« Reply #137 on: March 17, 2012, 09:19:08 PM »
I cant speak for any one else, but a bunk would be a VERY tight fit in our hardfloor. Other models may have more space. We replaced our foam mattress with an inner spring. No problems with fit ...

Offline hargs

« Reply #138 on: March 17, 2012, 09:28:02 PM »
We still have the foam mattress ....its ok.

X 2 for fitting a bunk in our Cub Brumby Kamparoo. Maybe be do able ......................but would need to be very short.
Life is to short not to...............

Offline Estelle

• New members of the leisure club
« Reply #139 on: March 17, 2012, 09:33:39 PM »

I need to be able to fit a bunk bed in the hard floor area is this possible in any of the offroad models?

Can you fit an innerspring mattress or will that be too tall for the fold over?

The Space Van offroad is supposed to be able to fit a bunk bed on the hard floor area. They have/had them in the Sydney showroom. It is 6' wide.

The Spacevan can handle inspring mattresses (we have the single beds). Heaps of room. Other models may.
Chris & John

05 DiD Platinum Pajero, Cub Spacevan Drover Off Road

Offline timneva

• Prado GXL and Cub CT
« Reply #140 on: March 18, 2012, 09:50:36 AM »
We've got a cub escape and a set of camp bunks for the kids which fit in easy on the hard floor area. We generally only use them when we're stopped for a week or so as they take a bit of time to set up.

Offline fabulous

« Reply #141 on: March 19, 2012, 06:48:57 AM »
I've seen the bunk beds on display in Melb on a Spacematic from memory.  Yes they would be small, but I would think it would suit small children.  If the kids are getting too big - time for them to stay in a tent or  a swag.
Our Camper

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=5261.0

Our Patrol

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=10214.msg152303#msg152303

Offline corynmelnkids

« Reply #142 on: June 17, 2012, 08:37:20 AM »
Cant wait to join the Cub Club we are waiting for delivery of our New Cub Supamatic Escape Off Road it is due the middle of August so not too long to go now.
Once we have got it i will post some pictures for all to see.
We have added a few options:
Twin 4kg gas bottles
Twin Jerry can holders
Largest box they offer on the front (didn't go the fridge box as our fridge wouldn't fit)
Tropical Roof
Deluxe Awning
Full Set of canvas walls for awning
Standard slide out kitchen
Slide out Pantry
12V Battery set up with charger and inverter
One storage cupboard at end of bed
Lockable water filler
Pole carrier
12v pump and tap
As i said cant wait to take delivery.
2003 Toyota Prado Turbo dsl
Cub Supamatic Escape Offroad
Stacer 349 Cartopper with a Suzuki 5hp 4 stroke
All set now for a big trip just need the money
and time off work.

Offline Riguez

« Reply #143 on: June 18, 2012, 09:56:02 AM »
In the process of it ...will take some pics when Im done ...

Hey chippy, did you ever fit the recovery points? Would love to see pics of what you ended up doing.
2010 Mitsubi Triton GLX-R

2009 Cub Brumby

Offline Chippy76

« Reply #144 on: June 18, 2012, 10:42:06 AM »
Hey chippy, did you ever fit the recovery points? Would love to see pics of what you ended up doing.

Funny you should mention it mate. I had a clean up of the shed on the weekend and found the recovery points buried under stuff on my bench. Will have to pull my finger out and get it done. Im also contemplating a rear tyre carrier ...it is quite an engineering task!

Will take some phortos when it is done.

Offline just startin

« Reply #145 on: June 18, 2012, 07:50:02 PM »
Welcome to the Cub Club corynmelnkids hope you enjoy your new baby, we are currently setting our spacematic Drover up for a trip to the Flinders & Innaminka in August " Love that Cub"

Offline poppasmurf

« Reply #146 on: June 18, 2012, 09:30:50 PM »
I'm in. 2010 Kamperoo Brumby. Couple of mods, lined fridge box and vents in door, couple of extra checker plate storage boxes with tie down points, roller on box lid for strap(now 50mm).

ready to leave showroom

just home

first setup at home.

maiden voyage including 128mm of rain

Cheers Shane
« Last Edit: June 18, 2012, 09:33:08 PM by poppasmurf »
06 Terracan, 2010 cub kamperoo brumby

Offline hargs

« Reply #147 on: June 19, 2012, 07:22:17 AM »
Gee that much rain was a good test. Looks so new !!! Ours is a 2007 model, and is now in the shed till the end of August !!

Its so cold here at this time of year, both of us are now working on getting 6 weeks of next year and going north in July.............can't handle the Snowy Mt's in winter !!
Life is to short not to...............

Offline poppasmurf

« Reply #148 on: June 19, 2012, 09:33:51 AM »
Hi Hargs, that much rain was a test that showed a few seam leaks but they have since seal up nicely. SWMBO was not impressed with that much rain and wanted to go home but I persisted and we stayed for 4 days if memory serves.
The Brumby doesn't look quite that new anymore, it lives in the back yard uncovered. I am looking forward to getting some time off for a trip North at some stage myself.

Cheers Shane
06 Terracan, 2010 cub kamperoo brumby

Offline Riguez

« Reply #149 on: June 19, 2012, 10:15:41 AM »
wow, shiny shiny, poppasmurf. Did you buy it new and these are old photos or did you buy secondhand? Mine is 2.5 yrs old and has a bit of bush pin striping down the sides and red dust and mud in various spots, mostly camouflaged by the baby poo brown panelling  ;D
2010 Mitsubi Triton GLX-R

2009 Cub Brumby