Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 506297 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #2600 on: March 24, 2021, 09:43:58 AM »
Take ya pick!
https://www.lloydsonline.com.au/AuctionLots.aspx?smode=0&aid=21852&pgn=1&pgs=100

I'll take the 1936 Ford 3 Window Coupe
or 1967 Ford Falcon XR 500 Ute 170cui or 1961 Holden FB Ute  or :'(

Even 2 for Jeeepers
https://www.lloydsonline.com.au/LotDetails.aspx?smode=0&aid=21852&lid=2752951&pgn=1&pgs=100
https://www.lloydsonline.com.au/LotDetails.aspx?smode=0&aid=21852&lid=2765501&pgn=1&pgs=100

Only car I'd pick is the L34...but even if I had the spare cash, not at 200K.

« Reply #2601 on: March 24, 2021, 02:50:21 PM »

« Reply #2602 on: March 25, 2021, 03:01:35 PM »
Only car I'd pick is the L34...but even if I had the spare cash, not at 200K.
Thats some L34 though!

This is your opportunity to own a very tidy car converted to race specs with very strong Tait (Brock) 1979 308 engine but includes original 1974 L34 engine and original seats.
Engine: Tait (Brock) 1979 L34 308ci V8 petrol PLUS ORIGINAL ENGINE on stand.
Original HZ engine and seats with car,
this car was No, 152 completed out of 263 L34.
This car is 1 of 6 Sebring Orange L34's

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #2603 on: March 28, 2021, 09:42:51 PM »
Dammit, missed this one on FB. Not a bad price with some work done already
Learnt to drive in a HG, did up  a HK with my brother and started doing up a HT sedan myself.
 So always loved this generation Holden.
Maybe I should spend more time.on Facebook

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk

« Reply #2604 on: March 29, 2021, 08:50:11 AM »
Quote from: MattNQ
Dammit, missed this one on FB. Not a bad price with some work done already
Learnt to drive in a HG, did up  a HK with my brother and started doing up a HT sedan myself.
 So always loved this generation Holden.
Maybe I should spend more time.on Facebook

yea I'd love an old HT... try explaining 3 on the tree to a modern teenager LMAO

last week at lunch, nanna pulled up in teh Armstrong Steering special... she would have been 80, and fought that wheel like a bastard for a good 10 mins back and forward... you can see she ended up 2ft from kerb and said fuk it! .. was entertaining while being great to see an old dear still giving it Shit to get around and about. wonder if she knows what that car is worth now.....
« Last Edit: March 29, 2021, 09:01:46 AM by Bird »

« Reply #2605 on: April 01, 2021, 02:08:30 PM »
saw this down the road other day... very tidy!

« Reply #2606 on: April 01, 2021, 07:20:28 PM »
saw this down the road other day... very tidy!

My father had a ZB 68 Fairlane...maroon colour...after 20yrs it was still in showroom condition.

« Reply #2607 on: April 08, 2021, 03:26:06 PM »
Here you go.

Mate just sent me this one

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sItz5ZO2b9Y

Some of you reading were drooling over them back then ;D
« Last Edit: April 08, 2021, 03:28:41 PM by Fizzie »

« Reply #2608 on: April 08, 2021, 04:21:02 PM »

Some of you reading were drooling over them back then ;D

Not me.....couldn't really take to any of the pommie cars !!
The following users thanked this post: NZMarkb

Offline Raym

« Reply #2609 on: April 08, 2021, 07:15:11 PM »
Only link I found. Saw it on the news tonight.

https://www.facebook.com/1679606165601300/posts/2973912209504016

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #2610 on: April 12, 2021, 01:25:11 PM »
Down town Nanango today.
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #2611 on: April 12, 2021, 04:03:56 PM »
Geez, they'd be close to original plates, too. From memory, my EK was PPR883 or, it could have been my AP6. Too long ago, in a land far, far away! :'(

Offline BS61

« Reply #2612 on: April 12, 2021, 04:04:42 PM »
Jeez that old fe is a pearler.

« Reply #2613 on: April 12, 2021, 05:14:56 PM »
It is very nice however, the colours aren't right.

I had a HX which was that fawn with a chocolate brown roof...........

« Reply #2614 on: April 12, 2021, 07:50:42 PM »
Jeez that old fe is a pearler.

agree... those old giggers were so solid..... if you melted it down, you'd make 10 hyundai..

« Reply #2615 on: April 12, 2021, 07:57:28 PM »
It is very nice however, the colours aren't right.

I had a HX which was that fawn with a chocolate brown roof...........
My mum had a HG in those colours but brown on body , beige on roof

« Reply #2616 on: April 13, 2021, 04:39:43 AM »
Geez, they'd be close to original plates, too. From memory, my EK was PPR883 or, it could have been my AP6. Too long ago, in a land far, far away! :'(

My Dad had an FE and it was NCE something..... so very likely, original plates or bloody close to it.

« Reply #2617 on: April 18, 2021, 05:01:17 PM »
 :-*

Offline MattNQ

• My website
« Reply #2618 on: April 21, 2021, 11:50:03 AM »
With all the trendy petrol-electric hybrids around now, it is easy to forget these ideas are not new - meet one of the earliest petrol-electric hybrids -  built in 1916

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LYQ2PiX_Z9o

Offline MattNQ

• My website
« Reply #2619 on: April 26, 2021, 03:39:46 PM »
Here's a cool project for someone

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk

« Reply #2620 on: April 29, 2021, 01:29:43 PM »
strange..... very very strange. From the Jetsons ??? ??? ???

1957 Astro Sled Bubbletop

Professional build completed by Dave Shuten to honor Ed 'Big Daddy' Roth and 1960s vintage Show Rods Featured in June 2007 issue of Rod and Custom Hand-crafted and gel-coated fiberglass body 1957 Chrysler 354 CI V-8 engine Weiand blower 8 Stromberg 97 carburetors GM TH350 transmission Suspended 1957 Chevrolet rear end Highly modified tube axle Hairpin radius rods and cup-mounted coil springs 48-inch wide and 18-inch tall bubble top activated by convertible top cylinders 1959 Cadillac tail lights 1964 Galaxie bezels 1957 Lincoln Premier decklid trim Small trunk constructed to house battery and fuel filler neck House of Kolor White Pearl with Silver Kandy Blue Blue fogging
https://www.autabuy.com/details/?vid=73046576&Year=1957&Make=Astro-Sled&Model=Bubbletop

Struth!

https://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/threads/bubbletops-show-rods-pics-facts-more-pics.841222/
« Last Edit: April 29, 2021, 04:49:51 PM by Bird »

Offline 2Strokeit

« Reply #2621 on: May 17, 2021, 07:23:14 PM »
Grocery getta the other day at the local supermarket. A hearse?
I couldn't make out an emblem.

Offline Brisbane Puff

« Reply #2622 on: May 17, 2021, 08:26:31 PM »
Studebaker (Lark)  ambulance..
Puff

« Reply #2623 on: May 23, 2021, 09:48:34 AM »
This might be the ULTIMATE HDT!  #05
Verified as Peter Brock's personal car, it is unrestored and unmodified - a true Survivor!

https://www.facebook.com/126900240852575/posts/1730218010520782/

« Reply #2624 on: May 23, 2021, 11:37:15 AM »
This might be the ULTIMATE HDT!  #05
Verified as Peter Brock's personal car, it is unrestored and unmodified - a true Survivor!

https://www.facebook.com/126900240852575/posts/1730218010520782/

Especially if it features the famous energy polariser