Author Topic: Private Health Insurance.  (Read 38918 times)

Private Health Insurance.
« on: June 30, 2015, 10:42:01 PM »

With the end of the financial year Penny and I decided to get full health insurance cover, especially living here at Warburton. I haven't had full cover for over 15 years. After going through a number of health funds, what a nightmare that is, we decided on HIF. The initial quote was $568 per month which gives us top hospital cover , dental etc and with no excess for hospital. A second quote with a $200 excess for hospital a quote was $518. Not bad.

Great we can save money here as I don't expect, hopefully, to be in a hospital for a long time. Any way as we gave them a Po box for our mail in Alice Springs we got a cheaper quote of $468.00. It seems NT and WA are the cheapest states for health cover.  ;D

The guy on the phone then explained that Qld and Vic are the dearest states to have health cover. Go figure. I asked for a better discount but the best he could do was a $50 gift voucher. It doesn't hurt to ask.

Re: Private Health Insurance.
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2015, 10:10:59 AM »
We are with HIF as well as work had it arranged for me and we kept it.
For our family of 4 we pay $196.25 a month. We don't have the full maximum cover but all we need.

« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2015, 11:17:00 AM »
I'm with Bupa, top family & top Extras $400pm

Offline Goose

• Life turns on a dime.
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2015, 11:30:39 AM »
I'm in the industry and those prices seem a bit high sorry.

If you're not a regular patient in hospital, then I'd be looking at the $500 hospital excess first up. What you have in monthly premiums will quickly offset the occasional hospital visit excess. Its the same as car insurance.

$200 - $250 month is about normal. A lot of people pay way more than they need to out of guilt or a belief they will get better treatment.
The following users thanked this post: slave

« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2015, 01:36:52 PM »
Looks like my under $200 is alright then.

Offline callmejoe

« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2015, 03:19:36 PM »
Having had to actually use my private heath cover I think its croc of ship....
Save that money. Invest it add to your home loan what ever. Then in time of need call back on YOUR $$ that has been working for you.
You'll get the same doctor as a public patient. The private room ONLY if available.  Same food. Only good benefits is the waiting period but yet this too only to a degree.

Plus with public no out of pocket expenses.  Trust me with specialist that adds up realllllllllll quick.

1 service I definitely have is ambulance cover though.

Just my thought anyway.
Life's wasn't meant to be fair.
Well so I've been told. ..

Offline Goose

• Life turns on a dime.
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2015, 03:40:30 PM »
You'll get the same doctor as a public patient. The private room ONLY if available.  Same food.

This here. You would be amazed how many people think private insurance = private room in a public hospital.

My partner is a nurse in a public hospital and they get this daily. The ads on TV that show private insurance customers in private rooms don't help either.

In a public hospital, the private room has to be available and you need to justifiably need it, i.e., you're contagious or infectious or within hours of our death.

Offline rotare

« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2015, 03:51:35 PM »
Having had to actually use my private heath cover I think its croc of ship....
Save that money. Invest it add to your home loan what ever. Then in time of need call back on YOUR $$ that has been working for you.
You'll get the same doctor as a public patient. The private room ONLY if available.  Same food. Only good benefits is the waiting period but yet this too only to a degree.

Plus with public no out of pocket expenses.  Trust me with specialist that adds up realllllllllll quick.

1 service I definitely have is ambulance cover though.

Just my thought anyway.

Your points are very interesting and something the wife and I have been discussing recently.  We have some level of medical cover but not full private health insurance and have been debating as to whether it's worth it.

None of my friends who have private health cover are convinced it's hugely more beneficial, in fact most are convinced it's cost them more whenever they've needed medical assistance.

Recently a couple of them have had kids and they reckon the hospital bills amounted to over a thousand dollars, where as had they gone public the cost would have been minuscule, if anything at all. Another example was where two mates ended up in hospital due to chest pain ( a couple of months between the incidences).  One had private health insurance, they other just used the public system.  When comparing notes at a BBQ the other day, both stayed in the hospital for the same length of time, both had similar if not the same types of tests performed (blood tests, ECG etc).  The cost to the public guy was zero, the guy that has private health insurance said so far the invoices for the tests, specialists etc is over $500, and he expects there's more yet to come.  So where is the benefit with private health insurance?

Be interested to hear peoples thoughts and experiences on this topic.   
« Last Edit: July 01, 2015, 06:25:46 PM by rotare »

« Reply #8 on: July 01, 2015, 04:02:04 PM »
I believe it is wrong to think of it as insurance, you need to make it work for you. Understand your requirements, kids, glasses, physio etc. and find/purchase a plan that suits. If you can't get back what you put in for the year then you may have too much cover.

For medical reasons, we went full private for the pregnancy and birth of our son. Total costs were $10K+, from memory out of pocket was about $2K.
My wife and I get an eye test and $300 each rebate on a pair of prescription glasses per year.
Recently I had to go to the physio at $70/visit, which I got 1/2 back.

Re the comment about if you're paying more than $200/m then you're paying too much. I'm not convinced, every family with kids I know is paying around$400-600/m for top cover.

Re getting better treatment, the answer is it depends. Using the example above sure the physio is the same public or private. For the pregnancy/birth, we had specific specialists, surgeons and obstetricians that you would be lucky to get in the public system.

Oh and between your 20's to late 30's you're typically in good health so you may only need emergency cover. Once you hit the big 4-0 you need it more as stuff starts to wear out.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2015, 04:06:47 PM by D4D »

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
« Reply #9 on: July 01, 2015, 04:24:14 PM »
I agree with D4D; you need to make it work for your situation.
Our cover has covered dental/orthodontic work for both of our girls, when my wife had pneumonia a few years ago and had to spend nearly 2 weeks in hospital it was a godsend, and our eldest daughter had her tonsils removed last week. Had her own room at Knox Private, 2 night stay, surgery etc etc. Cost to us: nil.
The only time it hasn't worked to our advantage  (ie. out of pocket expenses), is when using the emergency dept.
Choose the right level of cover for your current situation and it is a good peace of mind,  as all insurance is.

Offline callmejoe

« Reply #10 on: July 01, 2015, 04:38:02 PM »
My wife and I get an eye test and $300 each rebate on a pair of prescription glasses per year.

Oh and between your 20's to late 30's you're typically in good health so you may only need emergency cover. Once you hit the big 4-0 you need it more as stuff starts to wear out.

Just like to add. But my wife gets free yearly check ups from a eye specialist chain. Who then will add deals such as your free pair of glasses free. All done with no cover..

quick sums.
Your 20's and 30's = 20yrs.
200 per mth = $2400 per yr
$2400 yr @ 20 yrs = $ 48,000.

That's alot of coin.
IF and IF you did pay that $200 per month into yr home loan or something I FEEL someone could be better off.

« Reply #11 on: July 01, 2015, 04:40:40 PM »
You could do the same maths for any insurance, it's all about how much risk you're comfortable with.

Offline terravista

« Reply #12 on: July 01, 2015, 04:41:25 PM »
I have not had Private Cover for many years.
5 years ago I ended up with a leaky heart valve, and after a few weeks of Staph infection that did more valve damage, I was hospitalised from a stroke which hospitalised me for 5 weeks of coma, including two heart attacks, chest cut open 4 times for a valve replacement and another repaired, kidney failure and collapsed lung, a plastic tube cut into my throat for a breathing machine, and a food tube stuck down my nose.
This was in the Public system, but I had the same Specialists as some Private Insured patients, same room, food etc.
I walked out (slowly) after 8 weeks with no out of pocket expense, whereas a co-ward guy on Private cover had a bill over $3 000 just for a heart attack recovery and three stents.
Apparently the Private cover gets people in quicker, and that would be beneficial over dying, but when you finally get there it seems cheaper.
I guess it's a balancing act.
Ian

« Reply #13 on: July 01, 2015, 04:43:30 PM »
I agree with D4D, I am a family of 5 with 3 kids, all kids were born in a private hospital in a single room, all kids have had optical & dental work done for an average out of pocket expense of around $40. I have also had 2 root canals (out of pocket was $68.00) I believe they are a couple of k each, I also have regular sports physio & chiro where I pay on average of $30 a visit. Wife also had  a heap of major dental work done I did the sums and I'm way in front.

On  aside note I also pay pet insurance | that has saved me even more money!!
« Last Edit: July 01, 2015, 04:47:23 PM by swannie »

Offline callmejoe

« Reply #14 on: July 01, 2015, 04:46:19 PM »
You could do the same maths for any insurance, it's all about how much risk you're comfortable with.

For sure, agree 100%.
In reality for many to budget and save $$ in these method isn't going to happen.  Just showing it could be possible.

Joe

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #15 on: July 01, 2015, 04:56:00 PM »
Agree with D4D.

Its the other stuff - eg for me glasses/contacts which aren't cheap for my script. Just been told that eldest kid is going to need orthodontics soon. I used it for my physio after tearing a calf muscle, wife had to have elective day surgery,. etc etc.  Without it, things would have been a lot more expensive and in my wife's case she would have had to put up with a lot of pain for over year if she went public.

you never know when you need it. We have friends who have no medical insurance and who's daughter was diagnosed with a heart issue, they ended up being 25K out of pocket. They could have waited to go on the public but the health risks were too great

However we did have 3 kids via the Public system - not a cent was paid by us and we got top notch care at a good hospital. Friends who went to the private hospital, literally over the road, ended up paying $2k and felt that their care was pretty ordinary. 
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

Offline cetacean

« Reply #16 on: July 01, 2015, 05:07:15 PM »
I work in the Health system, at a Private Hospital in fact. No HBF or other private cover for me......has to be one of the biggest rip-offs of all time. You'd be amazed at the extra tests etc ordered by some doctors for private patients.You just gotta have a look at the Masaratis, Porcshe's, BMW'S,etc in the Doctor's car park at work to be sceptical !
Have had my share of health issues over the years and have always been happy with the treatment I've received as a public patient in a public hospital.
Mazda BT50, Trakmaster Sturt X-- Country, Stacer 369 Seasprite

« Reply #17 on: July 01, 2015, 05:20:27 PM »
As seen , everyones needs are different, same as everyones idea of need !!

As you get older, the benefits of private insurance is waiting lists.....new knee, new hip, elective surgery etc etc !
Plus for you younger people, if you haven't joined before age 40, you get slugged an extra premium for every year over 40..

But for a run of the mill broken bone, a trip to hospital is cheaper if you are a public patient......don't even mention you are private..

But for a run of the mill colonoscopy, the specialist will normally do it in a private hospital, so the private insurance will cover all of it ( apart from any excess you might have )

« Reply #18 on: July 01, 2015, 05:45:14 PM »
Sames as D4D make it work for you. We are in a industry fund. Being long term we get dividends when they have a good year (most) and we use there free dental clinic and eye clinic and every 6mths. Plus physio etc.

Offline Mallory Black

« Reply #19 on: July 01, 2015, 05:54:06 PM »
Private Health cover is essentially "Group Insurance"  that means there is no underwriting, just some pre-existing condition exclusions. so you can be pretty healthy and pay the same rates as someone who is a train wreck, or decides to have a bunch of children and get their benefits.

The last 3 experiences went like this

Boxing day 2012, stepped on a sewing needle and bits broke off in my foot, went to St Andrews Emergency, pretty sure I would need admitting for surgery, the doctor agreed but there were no surgeons, so because they could not admit me they charged me $300 for the consult + $85 for the x-ray. Didn't want to be a burden on the public but had no choice.

Daughter gets booked into the Wes for knee surgery. nil by mouth since night before, supposed to be operated on at 1pm, didn't get done till 10.30 that evening so fancy a 16y/o with no food for 24 hours. They were Hopeless,

Then there's the $250pa for glasses, but when you get your glasses which by the way as a total spend are less than $250 but then the provider says they will only pay this much for lenses, this much for coatings, that much for frames, I'm still spending $100 out of my pocket.

And believe me, we weren't paying what most of you are paying because I had a corporate rate and got in many many years ago when there was a deal that froze premiums to the entry age.

At the end of the day, the deal is crook, the service is ordinary, it wasn't always like that but that's been our experience over the past few years.

We were facing the prospect of not being able to afford the gap between benefits and cost so cancelled the stupid thing, bumped up our trauma insurance and moved on

Worst thing they could have done is float on the stock market. they have to generate too much gravy for the investors, and I'm paying for that? forget it
1998 3.4V6 Prado & homebuilt rear fold soft floor

« Reply #20 on: July 01, 2015, 07:44:05 PM »

Great comments. Yes in 20years time I will find out if it has been worth it. As mentioned everyone's need for health cover will always vary. Am I paying too much only time will tell. I will be using every benefit I can next time in town, new glasses , massages etc  ;D

Regarding insurance we all have car, building, contents etc and hopefully we never claim but peace of mind if we need to. I look at it the other way, I can replace items but me  ;D

The following users thanked this post: Bigfish

Offline Moggy

« Reply #21 on: July 01, 2015, 07:53:47 PM »
Like all insurance it's main currency is FEAR!!!!
All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

Offline Oldandslow

« Reply #22 on: July 01, 2015, 08:35:04 PM »
I have not had Private Cover for many years.
5 years ago I ended up with a leaky heart valve, and after a few weeks of Staph infection that did more valve damage, I was hospitalised from a stroke which hospitalised me for 5 weeks of coma, including two heart attacks, chest cut open 4 times for a valve replacement and another repaired, kidney failure and collapsed lung, a plastic tube cut into my throat for a breathing machine, and a food tube stuck down my nose.
This was in the Public system, but I had the same Specialists as some Private Insured patients, same room, food etc.
I walked out (slowly) after 8 weeks with no out of pocket expense, whereas a co-ward guy on Private cover had a bill over $3 000 just for a heart attack recovery and three stents.
Apparently the Private cover gets people in quicker, and that would be beneficial over dying, but when you finally get there it seems cheaper.
I guess it's a balancing act.
Ian

This is the norm.  The reality of private insurance is that its only benefit is if you need elective surgery. In the public system you go on a waiting list for any elective surgery, such as knee and hip replacements, but you do then get the same quality of care with no out of pocket expenses. With private cover you get access to almost immediate treatment for elective surgery but you will also get a substantial bill at the end. For serious medical problems the time frame and care is the same for private and public patients. Private rooms for private patients just doesn't happen unless you go to high end private hospitals and then pay the excessive gap payments.

« Reply #23 on: July 01, 2015, 08:40:52 PM »
Private rooms for private patients just doesn't happen unless you go to high end private hospitals and then pay the excessive gap payments.

That's not my experience

« Reply #24 on: July 01, 2015, 08:44:35 PM »
I'm in the industry and those prices seem a bit high sorry.

If you're not a regular patient in hospital, then I'd be looking at the $500 hospital excess first up. What you have in monthly premiums will quickly offset the occasional hospital visit excess. Its the same as car insurance.

$200 - $250 month is about normal. A lot of people pay way more than they need to out of guilt or a belief they will get better treatment.
Well said mate. We were paying over $400 with Bupa. About a month ago we spoke with a consultant, re adjusted a few things and now we are saving around $150 per month for all the cover we need. Turns out we were paying for extra's we would never use like pregnancy ;D now considering the missus was put up on blocks and had the gearbox taken out I don't think we would be needing it ;D cut a long story short it pays to make a phone call :cheers:
« Last Edit: July 01, 2015, 09:07:54 PM by Black Diamond »