Author Topic: Simpson Desert - Flags Mandatory from march this year  (Read 8121 times)

Simpson Desert - Flags Mandatory from march this year
« on: January 20, 2014, 08:07:06 PM »
I'm not convince it makes cresting dunes any safer......in saying that I did have a flag fitted when I crossed six years ago......it would have been approx. 3m from the ground

IMPORTANT AND COMPULSORY NEWS FROM DEWNR

A discussion at the Annual Meeting between FWDSA and DEWNR was the requirement for mandatory Simpson Desert vehicle flags.

This will commence with the opening of the Simpson Desert on March 16 2014.

The Director of National Parks and Wildlife John Schutz has already given approval in principle and this is the information going into the new Desert Parks Pass.

It is an initial requirement, and we will monitor how this works and decide if we need to alter it at

SAFETY FLAG REQUIREMENT

All vehicles must be fitted with a Safety flag as detailed below when travelling in the Simpson Desert Conservation Park, or Simpson Desert Regional Reserve.

Flag:
Minimum 300mm wide by 290mm high.
Made of Fluorescent materials, Red-Orange or Lime-Yellow in colour.

Motorbikes:
Rear mounted flag pole, with top of the flag a minimum 3.5 metres from the ground.

All Other Vehicles:
With Front Bullbar - Flag pole attached to the bullbar, with top of the flag a minimum 3.5 metres from the ground.

Without Front Bullbar - Flag pole attached via bracket at the front of the vehicle, with top of the flag a minimum 3.5 metres from the ground;

Alternatively
Flag pole attached to the front of the roof rack, with top of the flag a minimum 2 metres from the roof of vehicle.

Tony Magor

District Manager Outback
Natural Resources SA Arid Lands
Department of Environment, Water and Natural Resources | South Australian Government

« Last Edit: January 20, 2014, 08:12:45 PM by weeds »

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
Re: Simpson Desert - Flags Mandatory from march this year
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2014, 07:40:41 AM »
we crossed from mt dare to birdsville then bought a flag and I was awarded with life time membership of the birdsville 4wd club. Although i have never received a newsletter.
since we drove at night we used our headlights as a flag.. much safer.

Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.0.3 using Tapatalk HD
1993 80 series landcruiser

« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2014, 07:46:55 AM »
Quote from: weeds
I'm not convince it makes cresting dunes any safer
It's not fool proof nor 100% safe - but it wont make it any worse will it ??? ..

But the issue with most is the flexibility of the pole its attached to.. if it flexes that much its nearly laying on the roof, its no use having it cause usually everyone thinks they need to be doing Mach 3333333 to get over the smaller dunes.

« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2014, 08:00:32 AM »
It's not fool proof nor 100% safe - but it wont make it any worse will it ??? ..

But the issue with most is the flexibility of the pole its attached to.. if it flexes that much its nearly laying on the roof, its no use having it cause usually everyone thinks they need to be doing Mach 3333333 to get over the smaller dunes.

yes i notice quite a few that were that long and flexible that the flay was nearly behind the car

why do it if it doesnt actually  improve anything….

don't get me started on the CH10 requirement

« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2014, 09:04:14 AM »
Get a 4x4equip flag pole, they don't bend.

Offline Azz

« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2014, 09:11:12 AM »
But the issue with most is the flexibility of the pole......

Viagra?  >:D

« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2014, 12:00:04 PM »
They have saved me many times driving through dunes

« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2014, 12:52:54 PM »
They have saved me many times driving through dunes

I have only one the one crossing and didn't even come close to meeting somebody at the top of a dune.........

I did have a flag but I figured both flags are already at an angle as both car are going up the dune, than if your pole is flexible and depending on your speed than the flag is even further back....than you need to rely on the drive actually looking for another flag instead of chatting to the kids or wife, looking out the window, looking in the mirrors, talking on a UHF

I just don't think them being mandatory is going to do a lot.........like as is a motor bike is going to fit one

if I cross again I will fly one just to comply but than again I doubt I will many other cars as I will be doing the more remote tracks

Offline 4wd26

« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2014, 01:04:49 PM »
I have only one the one crossing and didn't even come close to meeting somebody at the top of a dune.........

I did have a flag but I figured both flags are already at an angle as both car are going up the dune, than if your pole is flexible and depending on your speed than the flag is even further back....than you need to rely on the drive actually looking for another flag instead of chatting to the kids or wife, looking out the window, looking in the mirrors, talking on a UHF

I just don't think them being mandatory is going to do a lot.........like as is a motor bike is going to fit one

if I cross again I will fly one just to comply but than again I doubt I will many other cars as I will be doing the more remote tracks

Can you talk to the boss and get them removed from the work vehicles  :cheers:
they work and are pretty handy- you should be aware when in the dunes that there is a possibility of another vehicle meeting you at the crest, afterall you don't have the phone and texting to take your eyes off the road
'08 Mitsubishi Triton GLX/R Diesel Auto, with offroad accessories.
Windsor Rapid 472s Offroad
Not your usual camper trailer
Getting Out There<- BLOG

« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2014, 01:07:09 PM »
Can you talk to the boss and get them removed from the work vehicles  :cheers:
they work and are pretty handy- you should be aware when in the dunes that there is a possibility of another vehicle meeting you at the crest, afterall you don't have the phone and texting to take your eyes off the road

shouldn't you be working.......

if its for work than it gets my total 100% support

Offline dirtpilot

« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2014, 03:20:13 PM »
3.5m flag pole on a dirtbike? WTF?

Offline Pog

• Insert personal text here...
« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2014, 03:44:52 PM »
3.5m flag pole on a dirtbike? WTF?

mmmm - Not sure if they put much thought into that!
2013 Toyota Prado Altitude & Challenge Outback Deluxe Offroad Camper Trailer.
MY PRADO BUILD

Offline speedcomm

« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2014, 06:07:12 PM »
Yeah, um how do I carry a 3.5 flag pole on the motorbike when I'm motoring along the Sturt Highway to get to the Simpson ??  ???
2.8L Prado. Jayco Eagle OB.

Offline Robin Miller

« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2014, 06:30:02 PM »
Bit of a joke on a motorbike isn't it  -a smaller pole and high visibility vest makes more sense and less chance of pole de stabilizing the bike.

I'd like to see someone from that organization who has actually ridden the Simpson with such a liability explain how its going to cause less problems than it creates.

« Reply #14 on: January 21, 2014, 07:14:45 PM »
Yeah, um how do I carry a 3.5 flag pole on the motorbike when I'm motoring along the Sturt Highway to get to the Simpson ??  ???
Same way you do in a 4b. You get either fold up or screw together poles.

Tractor88

« Reply #15 on: January 21, 2014, 07:43:26 PM »
Same way you do in a 4b. You get either fold up or screw together poles.

Or carry it on your roof rack.    :cheers:    ;D ;D

« Reply #16 on: January 21, 2014, 08:05:44 PM »

Cool, a motorbike with a roof rack.  Got a photo  ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #17 on: January 21, 2014, 08:10:49 PM »
Quote from: Tractor88
that's how BMW GS owners do it :)

« Reply #18 on: January 21, 2014, 08:13:52 PM »
Hey Lost, that looks like my last bike (albeit an earlier model) but the wife used to ride pillion also.  Made it interesting punching through some bulldust holes  ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #19 on: January 21, 2014, 08:33:44 PM »
Hey Lost, that looks like my last bike (albeit an earlier model) but the wife used to ride pillion also.  Made it interesting punching through some bulldust holes  ;D ;D ;D

this was mine, paid $500 for it off a mate, who just said take it :D $2000 in spares :)

I had big plans for it, like this..

but parts are only available from UK at $2938402398402398 ea
Fitted the spares and sold it for $3000 to a dude from Tassie
« Last Edit: January 21, 2014, 08:44:07 PM by Lost »

Offline Pog

• Insert personal text here...
2013 Toyota Prado Altitude & Challenge Outback Deluxe Offroad Camper Trailer.
MY PRADO BUILD

« Reply #21 on: January 21, 2014, 08:40:14 PM »
DROOL!
I believe the dude lives in Aussie

http://advrider.com/forums/showpost.php?s=df6c15c9699d3b934298ba67719356ec&p=20089860&postcount=950
TDM850 engine, carbs and cdi.
Custom exhaust.
98 YZ usd forks and triple trees.
Talon/excel front wheel.
YZ front brake master cylinder and lever.
High front Mudguard.
Custom rear Mudguard.
Footpegs moved back 2".
Rally style dash, which holds roadbook, fusebox and digital speedo/trip.
Raised rear suspension.
Extra brake lights.
Smaller brighter lights and LEDS at the front.
lowered seat.
530 chain, running a 48t rear sprocket and a 16t front bike maxs out @ 75-80mph.
Custom engine guard.
Strengthened and extended the original sumpguard.
Custom gear lever.
Running a Mitas c-02 stoneking on the rear and a Trelleborg enduro on the front.

« Last Edit: January 21, 2014, 08:42:16 PM by Lost »

Offline dirtpilot

« Reply #22 on: January 21, 2014, 10:09:27 PM »
My freinds did a simpson crossing on BMW 1200's. Very hard. Most people who do it on smaller bikes, so where does one mount a 3.5 meter pole? Daft idea. Whats the penalty for not doing this?

Offline allan.kidd

• Toyota Land Cruiser; Kimberley Kamper SE
« Reply #23 on: January 22, 2014, 08:16:58 AM »
I reckon it's a good idea for bikes - I almost collected one as I crested the top of a dune. At least I had my flag up to give him some warning.
Allan

Offline 02-SR5

« Reply #24 on: January 22, 2014, 11:42:05 AM »
Due to the heat, I got up early this morning.

They had a rerun of a 70's Leyland Brothers episode of them crossing the Simpson from west to east.

What did they have? A series 2 Landrover and 3 of those trike motor cycles with the ballon tyres.

They even had to replace the clutch on the support vehicle, no flags, no Satphones, just the old school HF radio, no ARB catalogue fitted.

Just old school basics and common sense. They arrived in Birdsville. Oh, they even had their dogs with them too.
2011 Challenger with some mods

2012 Lifestyle Explorer