Author Topic: EOI SIMPSON crossing SEP 2014  (Read 21273 times)

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
Re: EOI SIMPSON crossing SEP 2014
« Reply #25 on: August 20, 2013, 11:18:49 AM »
This will def be an east to west and more than likely back agian via a different route.

This trip for us is about the desert so we want a fair bit of time in there as there seems to be so many different routes and things to see and absorb.

Trailers are welcome but that decision will rest with each owner.
Having regard for their ability and equip.

I have never crossed so am in no position to tell others weather or not they should take a trailer. ;D

I am sure common sense will prevail and no one would expect others to perform multiple recoveries so they have a comfy bed lol ;D ;D

Jet :cheers:
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

« Reply #26 on: August 20, 2013, 01:57:49 PM »
Thats good info, thanks for that. I was curious how much diesel my Patrol would use going East to West and towing, not that I want to tow anything until ive checked it out for myself first.

we did a West -> East crossing!

« Reply #27 on: August 20, 2013, 02:13:10 PM »
Quote from: DannyG
Thats good info, thanks for that. I was curious how much diesel my Patrol would use going East to West and towing, not that I want to tow anything until ive checked it out for myself first.
From DDR who did it recently without a trailer though (just before I did the broken Broken Hill trip)

"we rushed cos its was 45deg in the shade every day so 3 nights from Mt Dare to Birdsville I think we used about 3/4 of a tank so that would be about 90-100lt"

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #28 on: August 20, 2013, 03:24:40 PM »
Jet  pencil us in if you like you know I'd follow you anywhere again. Could leave the trailer behind and rough it for a few weeks and im sure i could twist coeys arm to  ;D

Excellent mate a bit of a cape york reunion :cup: :cup: :cup:

Jet ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline shakey55

EOI SIMPSON crossing SEP 2014
« Reply #29 on: August 20, 2013, 03:26:44 PM »
Would be a great trip, but taking wife to Hawaii and Las Vegas

'shakey'

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
Re: Re: EOI SIMPSON crossing SEP 2014
« Reply #30 on: August 20, 2013, 03:32:57 PM »
On our 2012 trip one mate used 200lts in his v8 100.
He was towing a AORC unit
A GU TD42t towing a Kimberly used 140lts
And a 2012 Hilux d4d towing my camel used 118lts

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

Thanks for the info mate I will carry approx 210L which should be enough, I hate not having enough to be able to have a look around. Obv 80 ltrs on roof is a fair bit of weight but I will fill at last servo and transfer into car as used so 40ltrs should come down after day 1

Jet :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Re: Re: EOI SIMPSON crossing SEP 2014
« Reply #31 on: August 20, 2013, 03:54:07 PM »
Thanks for the info mate I will carry approx 210L which should be enough, I hate not having enough to be able to have a look around. Obv 80 ltrs on roof is a fair bit of weight but I will fill at last servo and transfer into car as used so 40ltrs should come down after day 1

Jet :D

We used 180l west - east in a 4.0L V6 120 series Prado towing a CT.

Edit filled up at Mt Dare.

« Reply #32 on: August 20, 2013, 07:22:48 PM »
You will get lost leaving melbourne it has been that long mate

Hyuck hyuck hyuck

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #33 on: August 20, 2013, 07:52:49 PM »
Some good real world info from members who have done the trip already which is greatly appreciated , I am confident that  everyone who attends will have everything squared away with the help of this site .

Thanks in advance to all those who can share . :cup: :cup: :cup:

Have made the first $$$ outlay tonight in preperation for the trip with the 2 x ARB jerry holders coming my way. Have  along list of mods to do on the crusier as I have yet to turn a spanner on her since buying it.

Diff drop kit
snorkel ( in shed)
dual batts (in shed) anyone know an installer LOL ;D ;D
cargo barrier and divider (will build)
4 x metal jerrys
sand grabba matts
awning
solar set up
new tent (prob blackwolf)
Storage frame in rear seats (only one child so take 60% seat out and mount engle)
Tyres (this will be tough 16x8 or stay 17x8)

There must be a hundred things I have missed but that's a start, nothing like an adventure to get you motivated.  ;D ;D

Jet ;D

Jet ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline coey

« Reply #34 on: August 20, 2013, 08:48:45 PM »
Hey mate this sounds like a great plan, we would love to come along if you will have us  :cheers:
you never know we may even be living down the road from you by then  8)

Coey

« Reply #35 on: August 20, 2013, 08:52:48 PM »
Hey Jet, don't over think this one. There is nothing as tough as the OTL etc, this is about day after day - same - same. There will be a few dunes you will end up trying twice and will learn the speed to negate the wallows on approach etc.

I'll keep going back to one dune we could not get up, it was just too rutted just when we needed the momentum. I climbed to the top of the dune and rather than looking strait ahead, looked left and there was a 50% lower dune 500 meters away with a nice easy over the dune. We weren't running over plants etc and we most likely did less damage just doing this quick diversion. While the track will be formed once you get there after the summer rain you can still make you own track. We also had a few attempts at one like the one in my pics. But found it easier to go right of the track and then cut back in at the last moment, Stuff like that will hold you in good stead. I always thought I was good at reversing trailers but after doing it all the way down a few dunes I realized- I was really good  ;D- just kidding, it was fun as though.

There are very few turns so you can run very low pressures. I know that I can do 11 front and 15 back with my rims and MTZ's and I did right from the start.

You'll have a ball I'm sure.

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #36 on: August 21, 2013, 10:12:34 AM »
Hey mate this sounds like a great plan, we would love to come along if you will have us  :cheers:
you never know we may even be living down the road from you by then  8)

Coey

I can feel a croissant or two coming up  ;D ;D

Top stuff mate  :cup:

Jet ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline cp

« Reply #37 on: August 21, 2013, 10:36:03 AM »

I'd be interested in this trip.  Have already done a Cape York, so pretty well prepared. 

CP

« Reply #38 on: August 21, 2013, 11:04:15 AM »
Any chance of you putting up a bit more of a plan/outline of the trip and what you wanna see/plan to see through the trip etc.

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #39 on: August 21, 2013, 11:24:25 AM »
Any chance of you putting up a bit more of a plan/outline of the trip and what you wanna see/plan to see through the trip etc.

I am waiting for a child board to go up then we can sort out some sort if itinerary , would like it to be a collaborative approach so people have input. All that is confirmed is dates and the desert .

If people have a plan then we can table them all and agree on a final it itinerary  :D

Jet ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

« Reply #40 on: August 21, 2013, 11:44:27 AM »
Jet we are only a slim chance at this stage but as I stated earlier a lot can happen/fall into place in 12 months so Id like to approach this trip as though we are going in some capacity.

It may be only my wife and I with roof top tent. It may be my wife and I and a couple of kids with RTT and swags/touring tent. It may be just me and my dear old father.

So having said that I hope you dont mind me putting in some input and still only be a 'chance' of being able to attend. Nothing worse than 20 people putting their hands up as going and when push comes to shove only 3 actually go, so Id prefer to leave myself in the 'slim chance' list until I am certain we can go :)

« Reply #41 on: August 21, 2013, 04:53:36 PM »
I too am keen but very much the same as Dannyg, will not firmly commit to anything as a family big trip is planned for april Tassie - WA return which will possibly blow the funds to do another family trip later that year unless I travel solo. I will sit back and follow this thread with interest and if I am to late to commit my self in going - so be it.

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #42 on: August 21, 2013, 05:29:05 PM »
Jet we are only a slim chance at this stage but as I stated earlier a lot can happen/fall into place in 12 months so Id like to approach this trip as though we are going in some capacity.

It may be only my wife and I with roof top tent. It may be my wife and I and a couple of kids with RTT and swags/touring tent. It may be just me and my dear old father.

So having said that I hope you dont mind me putting in some input and still only be a 'chance' of being able to attend. Nothing worse than 20 people putting their hands up as going and when push comes to shove only 3 actually go, so Id prefer to leave myself in the 'slim chance' list until I am certain we can go :)

DannyG,

I fully understand and I guess there are 2 ways to look at it .

I am absolutely happy to have as many as possible provide info and tips into this trip. Just because there is a chance you may not make it is no reason not to put some ideas and concepts forward mate. ;D ;D heck someone who can't come may have a great Idea or thing / place to visit.

I encourage everyone who is keen to contribute, by having a collaborative approach  we end up with a final agreed position that every member has ownership off then if i get hit by a bus we wont have 20 people doing an itinerary they had no input into  ;D ;D.

Then if you can not make it , it,s not like we are all doing the one thing you wanted to do as the whole trip is agreed upon. if you know what I mean , so jump in mate and we can put a rippa trip together.

Jet ;D ;D ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline rodsswag

• Always dreamed it, now living it!!!!!!!
« Reply #43 on: August 21, 2013, 08:46:31 PM »
Hi, we have been watching this and thinking sounds awesome.
But until last week we would of been good to go, but now there will not be enough room in the Prado for everyone and the fridge.

Rod and Julie.......
Swag
Coramal Caravan

Offline bushbandit

• Oh To Be On The Wallaby
« Reply #44 on: August 21, 2013, 09:03:14 PM »
We have been planning this trip now for awhile and will be leaving the Newcastle area NSW last week of August 2014 so I guess we will see you all out there .Our aim is to see the race at Birdsville .We are hoping to see Flinders first then to Birdsville West to East

Some reading in this link im definitely not taking the CT.

Sounds like Jet is sorting the first item to tackle the fuel storage as we have been today the ARB holders or equivelant

http://blog.snowys.com.au/crossing-the-simpson-for-beginners-part-1-who-can-do-it/

http://blog.snowys.com.au/crossing-the-simpson-desert-for-beginners-part-2/

http://blog.snowys.com.au/crossing-the-simpson-desert-for-beginners-part-3/
« Last Edit: August 21, 2013, 09:13:38 PM by bushbandit »
2013 Mitsubishi Triton GLR 4x4
2015 Jayco Swift Outback

« Reply #45 on: August 21, 2013, 09:57:45 PM »
While its not a definite yet, I'm definitely keen. As long as work picks up a bit so a few mods can be added to our vehicle and obviously for general trip costs, we will be doing our best to make this one.
Fingers crossed

« Reply #46 on: August 21, 2013, 10:04:02 PM »
The way we are going this could be the Tassie Simpson crossing......we might need a logo and tshirts to be made LOL ;)

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #47 on: August 21, 2013, 10:06:02 PM »
The way we are going this could be the Tassie Simpson crossing......we might need a logo and tshirts to be made LOL ;)

Bloody hell I hope someone else comes one qlder in a sea of taswegians anything could happen ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

« Reply #48 on: August 21, 2013, 10:11:39 PM »
Bloody hell I hope someone else comes one qlder in a sea of taswegians anything could happen ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Should I be bringing my sister? ;)  :)

« Reply #49 on: August 21, 2013, 10:16:37 PM »
Should I be bringing my sister? ;)  :)

Only if you think your going to be lonely if you know what i mean ;D