Author Topic: Anyone use those warmer/coolers?  (Read 6023 times)

Offline Brodie Tas

Anyone use those warmer/coolers?
« on: January 13, 2018, 07:36:18 PM »
Hey seen that supercheap have 10l rydge Ryder cooler/warmer I know they only go 20° below air temperature, but will it keep a can of coke cold on a drive? Or do they take a while to cool down? I just think if they work OK I would get one for when we go for a long drive, and how well the the warmer work? Thanks

Offline lloydus67

Anyone use those warmer/coolers?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2018, 07:45:59 PM »
I have a weaco 45l that I have had for years, it works well for products that are already hot or cold, not so good at cooling everything down. However it’s a bloody good esky (its main use now) don’t forget unlike a compressor fridge that draws 5amps while running (approximately 50% of the time) a thermocooler fridge draws 5 amps all of the time, so it’s power hungry

Offline Brodie Tas

Re: Anyone use those warmer/coolers?
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2018, 07:50:09 PM »
Its main use would be keeping a few drinks cold on our way camping, so if I have the drinks already cold then put them in it they should stay cold

« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2018, 07:58:04 PM »
20 below ambient means if it is 35C then your beer is 15C,  >:(

Offline Brodie Tas

« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2018, 08:00:16 PM »

Yeah true I do live in Tassie haha

Offline MrCruza

« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2018, 08:03:23 PM »

With the aircon set at 24 degrees your beer will be 4 degrees. Perfect.   :cheers:
Used to have a Waeco cooler that we used in the back seat for drinks on the go and it was perfect for that task. Always had cold drinks and snacks for the trip.
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline

Offline Vitara_JaycoSwift_Outback

« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2018, 09:37:10 PM »
I used to borrow my Mum's one quite regularly for camping trips when I was starting out. I found it to be fantastic. I used to fill it up with the cold drinks and food the night before. I'd also throw some ice in and with that combination it keeps everything beautifuly cold. I did leave it one once to long in the car with the engine off and it flattened the battery very quickly.

« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2018, 10:24:00 AM »
Has anybody used one as a food warmer ???

"Supposed" :D to go to ~65`, so wondering if you could warm pies or something while travelling ???

Offline Johnnos3003

« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2018, 11:44:15 AM »

"Supposed" :D to go to ~65`, so wondering if you could warm pies or something while travelling ???

I used a Weaco one to keep my dinner hot when I worked afternoon shift, the plan was to put it in at the start of the shift and it would be hot at dinner time. Didn't really work it was luke warm by dinner at the best, I found I really had to microwave it when I got to the depot and put it in the truck hot.

Offline Brodie Tas

« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2018, 12:43:04 PM »

A pie oven is the way to go if you want to heat up food, my dad has one in his boat and its the best thing, warm pies on a cold morning :cup:

Offline garryc

« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2018, 12:54:07 PM »
I used to to have one that I put warm sousage rolls and pies into before work, by smoko they were still nicely warm

« Reply #11 on: January 14, 2018, 04:05:00 PM »
If your expecting the heater/cooler to change the Temp. of the food or drink, I think you'll be waiting a long time.
Or the wiring will need to be upgraded for a higher current to get the change happening a bit quicker.
My understanding is they're like a Bain marie, more for keeping stuff at a temp. than changing the Temp. much.
Which is why I don't understand the lightness of the 12V. lead on Finch/Electrolux/Coleman type 3 way fridges.

Offline hardroad

« Reply #12 on: January 14, 2018, 04:50:41 PM »
I have an old Waeco TropiCool permanently fixed between the 2 seats in the car. Holds about 10 cans. Cold cans in, cold cans out. Originally had it on the motor bike when touring. When camped at night and mains power available would plug it into 240v to 12v adapter. So hot cans in at night, cold cans next morning. But yes, it will flatten the vehicle battery quickly and takes forever to cool things down. Advantages to me are small footprint and light.

« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2018, 06:50:21 AM »
Used one for years travelling for work, living in motels and flying in helos during the day. If you get one, get a small one with a shoulder strap because you carry them everywhere to keep them running.

« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2018, 07:37:18 AM »
We put a small one of these units in place of the center console in a mates Hilux, powered from the second battery, Truck had a fixed solar panel on the roof racks to boost the battery when parked . As stated ditched the original light duty power cable and ciggy plug .
Always had ice cold drinks and Sanga's ..
Till one of his kids had flicked the switch to heat .. Bonus was Take away that day ..
 Did a good job of stuffing the Sanga's and cokes with heat it put out .

Offline Brodie Tas

« Reply #15 on: January 15, 2018, 04:28:18 PM »
After having a bit more of a think about it I'll probley just stick to the little 20l esky on the back seat and some frozen water bottles will do the same job I reckon

« Reply #16 on: January 15, 2018, 07:39:37 PM »
We put a small one of these units in place of the center console in a mates Hilux, powered from the second battery, Truck had a fixed solar panel on the roof racks to boost the battery when parked . As stated ditched the original light duty power cable and ciggy plug .
Always had ice cold drinks and Sanga's ..
Till one of his kids had flicked the switch to heat .. Bonus was Take away that day ..
 Did a good job of stuffing the Sanga's and cokes with heat it put out .

Yeah my son turned a fridge full of chilled food to warm mush one day after playing with the buttons.......it was fun cleaning up melted butter that had run through everything............never again will I bother with one but I can see why some people have them.  :cheers:

Offline Annieandandy

« Reply #17 on: January 15, 2018, 08:13:40 PM »
Bought one, tried it, took it back. Not sure it did anything but suck juice.

« Reply #18 on: January 16, 2018, 01:47:32 PM »

Sounds like a good way to potentially give yourself food poisoning...?

We have a 40L Engel fridge. Sure, they're pricey, but we wouldn't be without it. Even for things like buying food at the market - we know we have a cold fridge to stick everything in so the meat etc. doesn't get too hot while we're getting home. Love it!