Author Topic: Fraser Island Scenic Flights  (Read 3995 times)

Fraser Island Scenic Flights
« on: September 24, 2017, 07:16:45 AM »
Anybody know the cost? 

Would they take card? Or cash only??

Re: Fraser Island Scenic Flights
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2017, 07:41:36 AM »
From memory a few months ago, the sign on the beach said $80...can't help on cash or cards though

Offline trevc

« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2017, 09:11:30 AM »
Anybody know the cost? 

Would they take card? Or cash only??

80 bucks each,  cash or card. Pull up and chat to the ground crew and they'll set you straight.
We did a flight during winter holidays and thought it was good value.

« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2017, 10:42:35 AM »
Cool bananas.....just making sure I have my bases covered with cash.

Offline trevc

« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2017, 05:30:10 PM »
Now that you say that we paid cash and think they offered eftpos but not certain.
Maybe cash is tne go.

« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2017, 06:03:56 PM »
Always have some cash up ya sleeve when on hols...
I missed a 12 mth old waeco 50 for 500 that a mate scored..

Joyflights are always kewl... but some are extortion knowin your on hols. Although im no fan of planes smaller than an antanov

« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2017, 08:34:09 PM »
Out of interest...which part of the beach.

« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2017, 08:40:06 PM »
Quote from: weeds
Out of interest...which part of the beach.
Eli Creek / Maheno area... look for the plane on the beach ;)

« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2017, 09:15:25 PM »
Eli Creek / Maheno area... look for the plane on the beach ;)

All good....I'm sure we will spot them....needed the location so I can see which night we are booked in that zone.

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2017, 09:16:30 PM »
All good....I'm sure we will spot them....needed the location so I can see which night we are booked in that zone.

When we were there before Easter they also had a runway setup down near Eurong

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2017, 09:19:00 PM »
Top of zone 4 bottom of zone 5 eh

« Reply #11 on: September 24, 2017, 09:21:48 PM »
When we were there before Easter they also had a runway setup down near Eurong

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Man...now your just messing with my head.

« Reply #12 on: September 24, 2017, 09:34:36 PM »
No, its true....    especially low tide....    you'll see "aircraft landing" signs and orange witch hats first....    Then a traffic controller in a ute...  and a couple of light planes parked on the beach - 20 something yo pilots standing around  .... and sometimes the planes' landing lights can feel like the planes are landing on top of you, sorta...

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #13 on: September 25, 2017, 08:06:00 AM »
Just returned from Fraser on the Weekend and it is still $80 and they also take credit/debit cards. Last week they had 3 different spots on the beach starting around Eurong and the last at the Maheno.

« Reply #14 on: October 08, 2017, 06:08:58 PM »
We didn't get a flight....the one time we bumped into them they brushed us as they had bus's about to arrive and the bus's have priority. The did suggest meet them latter in the day,however it was in the opposite direction to where we were heading.

« Reply #15 on: October 09, 2017, 06:17:18 AM »
Definitely $80, damn good price I think if you compare it to some others, we watched one take off Friday as we headed of the island,
I believe there is a package deal also for travelers thwe you fly in from Hervey Bay first thing in the morning they have a fleet of near new Pajeros and Tritons, you use one for the day then fly out again in the avro, heard it was $200 pp. Still pretty good deal

« Reply #16 on: October 09, 2017, 07:38:17 AM »
Ifwehad of been 15-20 earlier than there was a chance we could have got up @ $100ea as there was one plane on the ground.

The ground guy told us they bring Rangers in and out at times. He didn't mention package deals from the mainland but not doubting there could be as I did see on one day 3-4 cars parked up on the beach and thought it was odd.

Either way they weren't really interested in us as soon as we mention it was just the two of us. What hey didn't know we we were prepared to pay extra but we're not given the opportunity to discuss as they were focus on the tour buses arriving

Next time maybe.

« Reply #17 on: October 09, 2017, 08:08:31 AM »
They base the $80 pp on three or more on the flight, if there is only one or two the price goes up accordingly.. Back in July it was going to be just my young daughter and I for $200, luckily a family of three pulled up as we were getting ready to board, so we got it at the $80 pp ..
Either way we're on holidays and its not something we do all the time and decided to fly anyway,  the young pilot  gave us probably one of the best commentary and  whale spotting flights I've ever had up there in the last 25 years .
Fly drive deal ..http://www.airfraserisland.com.au/index.php/fly-drive/
« Last Edit: October 09, 2017, 08:34:34 AM by edz »

« Reply #18 on: October 09, 2017, 08:11:27 AM »
Quote from: weeds
We didn't get a flight....the one time we bumped into them they brushed us as they had bus's about to arrive and the bus's have priority.
Thats pretty ****in poor I reckon

« Reply #19 on: October 09, 2017, 10:06:57 AM »
I know it isn't Fraser, but came across the same way of thinking at Boulia.
20 of us to do a tour of the Boulia exhibit/museum thingo in the main Strteet.
Didn't want a bar of it, they thought there were Tour Coach's coming.

Just a grab for cash.
I do know it helps the Pilots get hours up, and that can't be all bad.

« Reply #20 on: October 09, 2017, 10:20:33 AM »
During a previous trip we wanted to do a scenic flight and were told to come back later as the tour buses got priority. The pilot could tell my Wife wasn’t happy and went on further to explain the Bus tours/Scenic flights companies have some sort of co ownership, so each morning and afternoon the planes have to be available as it’s the tourists on these buses who provide the majority of the business for the planes.

He went on to say if they relied on Mum & Dad campers, they would have gone broke years ago.

Seeing we were camping close, we went back at lunch and jumped straight on. 

I’m also not sure if the planes are doing day trips from Harvey Bay as know for sure Rangers are flying in on the first plane and home on the last plane per day.

« Reply #21 on: October 09, 2017, 12:02:21 PM »
As said...the reality is the tour companies are where the planes make their living, for anyone to expect to rock up with no booking or advanced notice and be a priority for them, it's just not going to happen....the buses run to a schedule and the planes would work out in advance where they need to be on the beach each day to suit those schedules. Maybe signage should be put up stating this fact instead of just their large $80 signs with no other info, because the average punter driving up the beach wouldn't know that's how their system works.

« Reply #22 on: October 09, 2017, 12:02:55 PM »
Timing didn't work out for us...there was three planes all working together and I can understand they need bums on seats. If we had bugger all to do we would have considered driving upto Eli but as we had other plans we missed out.

« Reply #23 on: October 09, 2017, 07:15:09 PM »
Timing didn't work out for us...there was three planes all working together and I can understand they need bums on seats. If we had bugger all to do we would have considered driving upto Eli but as we had other plans we missed out.

wasn't having a go at you mate if that's how it came across, just making a general statement on the whole system there....atleast you have another reason to go back to Fraser now, I've lost count of how many times we've been there and I still haven't done a flight...lol...did think about doing it last visit whilst sitting at Eli Creek watching them take off and land.

« Reply #24 on: October 09, 2017, 07:34:19 PM »
wasn't having a go at you mate if that's how it came across, just making a general statement on the whole system there....atleast you have another reason to go back to Fraser now, I've lost count of how many times we've been there and I still haven't done a flight...lol...did think about doing it last visit whilst sitting at Eli Creek watching them take off and land.

All goods.......

The bride was disappointed as she patiently waited till we returned from sandy cape and the weather to improve.......only to miss out.

We might go back with the kids and rent the house that our neighbors have a Orchid Beach.