Author Topic: The wonderfull price cycle.  (Read 5893 times)

Online corndog

The wonderfull price cycle.
« on: September 23, 2017, 09:13:34 AM »
The other night on the way to the accountant we drove past a petrol station. Wife said "That's cheap petrol, only $1.14 a litre". Well we must have been in the accountants for a bloody long time cause when we drove past it on the way home the wife just said "S**T".  In the 30 mins or so the price had jumped to $1.42 a litre. That's 28 cents per litre or 24% if my maths are right. In one jump. But then it all made sense.  It has to do with the price cycle. They slowly give us cheap petrol and the slug us quick and high to make up for it. And we are stupid to believe that it is cheap.
They don't sell us nothing without making money on it. Is cheap 'cheap' or is it a con.

Re: The wonderfull price cycle.
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2017, 09:51:11 AM »
Quote from: corndog
But then it all made sense.  It has to do with the price cycle. They slowly give us cheap petrol and the slug us quick and high to make up for it. And we are stupid to believe that it is cheap.
They don't sell us nothing without making money on it. Is cheap 'cheap' or is it a con.
Welcome to 20years ago

Online corndog

« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2017, 10:32:01 AM »
Can remember when it was 18c per litre.

« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2017, 12:50:23 PM »
I've been paying for BP diesel over the last 10 months $1.299, in Maclean, it has not changed.
In Grafton it has been 2 cents cheaper & dearer.
It has not budged even tho the dollar has gone up & down and so has the $per barrel of oil.
It's got my stuffed.
I will say tho, in Maclean there isn't another servo in town, at Townsend there is a Liberty and just south on the H/way there is another BP owned by the same bloke who also has the BP in Grafton.

« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2017, 12:57:49 PM »
Can remember when it was 18c per litre.

What? I can remember when it was under 6cents/ltr and a carton of tallies were $4.80  ;D

« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2017, 02:27:12 PM »
fuel has gone up due to the instability in somewhere that doesn't have oil.. any ****in excuse...

1.44 up the road here now and god help you if you run 98

Offline Raym

« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2017, 03:58:38 PM »
god help you if you run 98

Run it in the Cox Cruizer Honda powered Zero Turn and chainsaw, Blower & Genny, $1.70 plus most days
It's insane.

« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2017, 06:03:11 PM »
Best way to beat the price cycle is to always control how much you pay . l always buy $25 of fuel then you know what its going to cost me  . l have been known to do a fair bit of walking from time to time .                            >:D                          :cheers:

« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2017, 06:11:55 PM »
Run it in the Cox Cruizer Honda powered Zero Turn and chainsaw, Blower & Genny,
High octane in such high performance units as mowers and blowers ??? ??? Why?

« Reply #10 on: September 23, 2017, 06:29:10 PM »
Diesel at local Shell in Brisbane is $1.31 and middle of nowhere about 15-20 minutes North of Gympie it's $1.16....must be all the city traffic is driving up delivery costs I reckon

« Reply #11 on: September 23, 2017, 06:37:56 PM »
High octane in such high performance units as mowers and blowers ??? ??? Why?
The Honda in the Zero Turn runs heaps better using it, I mow near on 5 acres, I buy it in drums, so I really don't want a few tins of other fuels in the shed.
One drum does the lot.  ;D

« Reply #12 on: September 23, 2017, 07:13:32 PM »
The Honda in the Zero Turn runs heaps better using it, I mow near on 5 acres, I buy it in drums, so I really don't want a few tins of other fuels in the shed.
One drum does the lot.  ;D

Do you do anything to keep the fuel from going off?
Or doesn't it last that long?

« Reply #13 on: September 23, 2017, 07:29:57 PM »
Do you do anything to keep the fuel from going off?
Or doesn't it last that long?
Doesn't last that long, as I had said to a mate in SA, we have two seasons on the NSW North Coast,
The Mowing Season & the Non Mowing season.  ;D
Got is pretty well sussed looking after some 5 acres, been here for twenty years, Know when to mow & when not to,ya get a feel for it  ;D
As much as I love the 23hp motor, it's like running a third car in the family when it is Mowing Season  :cheers:

« Reply #14 on: September 23, 2017, 07:41:50 PM »
l have 10 acres of 1st cut pasture hay . lf l have to slash it , it costs me . lf l sell it as 1st cut pasture hay its a Win/Win . l don't have to slash it & somebody gets a big bunch of small bailers  for 4/5 of 5/8  of SFA . Oh & l gets a bunch of Beer tickets  .              :cup:  :cheers:

Offline rossm

« Reply #15 on: September 23, 2017, 08:58:20 PM »
They call WA Wait Awhile but maybe we are ahead of the game.

Fuel prices here cannot change during the day. They change from day to day and vary from suburb to suburb   but the Government's Fuelwatch website tell you what the price is   today and what  it will be tomorrow.

we all remember the  days where the price was changing while people waited in the queue at the pump!   

Offline mynance

« Reply #16 on: September 24, 2017, 04:04:21 PM »
Dad used to get change from $20 for 44 gallon drum (200) litres I think)
When we were farming in 1970

NT Pajero Avan Cruiseliner

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #17 on: September 24, 2017, 05:56:38 PM »
We paid $200 for a 44 gallon fuel drop on the Tanami back in the very early 90's... And thought that was expensive!!!

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #18 on: September 24, 2017, 06:08:35 PM »
The other night on the way to the accountant we drove past a petrol station. Wife said "That's cheap petrol, only $1.14 a litre". Well we must have been in the accountants for a bloody long time cause when we drove past it on the way home the wife just said "S**T".  In the 30 mins or so the price had jumped to $1.42 a litre. That's 28 cents per litre or 24% if my maths are right. In one jump. But then it all made sense.  It has to do with the price cycle. They slowly give us cheap petrol and the slug us quick and high to make up for it. And we are stupid to believe that it is cheap.

I don’t get it either. Our local is a Caltex/Woolworths brand. The fuel will be say $1.35/L and gradually drop down to around $1.11L over a 7-10 day period then bam back up to $1.35L bit here is the catch, the servo gets a tanker in every two days so it is not as if it goes up because the servo has to buy fuel in.

« Reply #19 on: September 25, 2017, 06:26:35 AM »
Not real sure how the cycle works these days.

But, back in the 80's, there was about 5 or 6 servos in fairly close proximity to each other.

The poor bastard who was on the end of the inbound city traffic, would drop his price a bit to try to get some more sales. We'd ring BP and ask if we could beat him (one way or another  :D)
We'd get told, you can match his price, so everyone would end up matching each others price over a day or so.

Muggins on the end, would call his head office, (Esso) and ask if he could drop again under the others.

He'd get a bit of compensation/rebate so he'd still be making his usual stuff all as opposed to nothing.

Then the others, would all ring Head Office, and the cycle continued until one big player would scream, all rebates stop at midnight.

7am the next morning, one servo would go back to the normal price and you wouldn't see a car in for fuel for hours.
The other Head Offices, would get wind of the change, (ringing each other most likely)and all rebates would be lifted and everyone started selling fuel at the normal price.

Then, around 3 days later....... The poor bastard who was on the end of the inbound city traffic, would drop his price a bit to try to get some more sales.

Here endth the lesson.

Offline Ozsnowman

• "Missus wants an Avan"
  • Travelling with Shirley the van!
« Reply #20 on: September 25, 2017, 08:11:28 AM »
Here in Rochester, vic, diesel has been 121.7 now for months. Has been nice having a constant price hehe
We've swapped from the camper to a van yay! :)

Offline OldPaj

« Reply #21 on: September 25, 2017, 06:39:57 PM »
In Vic, in my opinion, the change in price should have been fully expected. 23 Sep, school holidays started!

Offline Traveller

« Reply #22 on: September 26, 2017, 08:42:42 AM »
In Vic, in my opinion, the change in price should have been fully expected. 23 Sep, school holidays started!

No, surely it is just a coincidence. Oh wait, I forgot, the same thing happened at the last school holidays, and the one before that, and the one before that, ............

I couldn't agree more with you. It is as consistent as death and taxes.

Online lloydus67

« Reply #23 on: September 26, 2017, 09:14:46 AM »
I use an app called motor mouth

School holidays suck, but as you can see best to worst you can save 24cents per litre
When it's not school holidays I find plenty of cheaper servos mixed in

The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

« Reply #24 on: October 29, 2017, 11:32:43 AM »
Late last week the price jumped to $1.319 @ all three BP's owned by the same dude in the Clarence Valley.
The 4th stayed at $1.299.
Go figure

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk