Author Topic: Has the world gone to facebook & WHY  (Read 10422 times)

Re: Has the world gone to facebook & WHY
« Reply #25 on: September 28, 2017, 06:52:21 AM »
I do have it, my other half made me as she got tired of my family contacting her wanting to see what we're up to.
Then I did it, joined up with the relo's and that is it.
Somehow I end up with a hundred friend request from folk I don't know, or from school I don't remember.
I deleted all these requests.
Now
If I look on the home screen, I see nothing, just a message "Add more friends and you'll see the News Feed".
The message has been there for some time and hasn't bothered me as I just put pics up of our adventures and not read the crap.
But the pics part I use is proving to be difficult now, the epic journey we're on at the moment, I have put about a 100 pics up and FB won't let me place them in an order of the events, no matter how I go about it. It is a shared album with the Mrs so she can add pics as well which allows her friends to see it.
Not sure what I'll do about this one now.
It seems everywhere you go someone tells you to like them on FB, never used the like button yet.

« Reply #26 on: September 28, 2017, 07:29:42 AM »
lm glad it works for those that use it but l don't need it .l have seen people staring at a tiny screen tapping messages to God only knows why for hours as they miss the beauty of world roll by . :-*                :cheers:

« Reply #27 on: September 29, 2017, 10:39:56 AM »
For me it's not about what you or your 'friends' post. It's about what the business takes from all it's users.

I'm happy to wear my tin foil hat on this one.
Every experiment needs a control specimen.
And those of us that have made the choice not to hand over all of our details and data to this business and all of their advertisers and who ever else they want to sell your details to are the control subjects in this massive global multi billion dollar social experiment.

If it was just about keeping touch with friends and family and groups like Raym has said, that would be fantastic.
The reality is there is much more happening in the software code then just letting you say Hi to a friend....

Now if you'll excuse me I have to put my phone back in the microwave.... :P

You're definitely right on this one. Just in case anyone is curious, straight from the horse's mouth: https://www.facebook.com/privacy/explanation

I don't have Facebook - used to, deleted it, definitely not missing out on anything. I do have most other kinds of social media for various reasons. Each to their own.

« Reply #28 on: September 29, 2017, 10:48:12 AM »
This thread was started because on a radio interview of people that don't facebook . Some were astounded that this is in anyway possible]
companies have asked for access to peoples stalkerbook a job interviews too.. that could really **** people up.. but what people do in their private lives shouldnt make Shit difference to their work

Offline Traveller

« Reply #29 on: September 29, 2017, 11:54:09 AM »
This thread was started because on a radio interview of people that don't facebook . Some were astounded that this is in anyway possible . They are the electronic /online sheep trying to keep up with the world as perceived .
As an offline trend setter of the old school  l really cant see the point . lf l miss camps then its not my problem .
To those that indulge , more power to your posts & Enjoy       :cheers:

Couldn't agree more. The wife and I certainly can't see the point, even more so for me as I don't have a mobile either (which makes using FB even more difficult). We have watched the 'addicts' that don't seem to be able to stay off FB or one of the clones. The part that really cheeses me off is if we are sitting around having a yarn/beer and the phone chimes, then the conversation stops so they can find out if Harry has had his daily visit to the dunny yet, or if Matilda did manage to to get the washing dry. For heavens sake, who cares, and I really worry about the future if millions of people worldwide need this sort of information. We have even had friends families go to war over FB comments that someone took an exception to.

Thanks for the chance of joining but I will keep Speewa and his mates company in the joyful ignorance club.

« Reply #30 on: September 30, 2017, 12:35:50 PM »
A little while back, I gave one of the girls at work a birthday card as it was a "special" birthday - 18 / 21 / 25?

She seemed a bit surprised & said Wow, thanks, it was the first card she'd got :-\

I was surprised about that myself, but she said that no-one young actually gives each other cards any more, all birthday wishes are sent via FacePlant :'(

« Reply #31 on: October 01, 2017, 05:51:55 PM »
How many times has the world stopped cause the ants are back in the kitchen or the cat has rolled over in a cute way ,,,,,,,,, spare me . lf l miss events cause of it l will go it alone . You all have fun  :cheers:

Offline listo

« Reply #32 on: October 01, 2017, 06:17:58 PM »
I've got an account, I used to be on there all the time for the buy sell & swap mobs. Between the having to see all the other whiney crap about people's life while trying to get to what I wanted & the realisation that I don't have the money to buy the goodies I see, it wasn't hard to stop. Stuff Facebook I reckon

Offline SEADOO

« Reply #33 on: October 02, 2017, 01:20:29 AM »
companies have asked for access to peoples stalkerbook a job interviews too.. that could really **** people up.. but what people do in their private lives shouldnt make Shit difference to their work

It does come in handy when buying a vehicle for example. Most users are not aware of their personal security settings so it's piss easy to see their profile.

A good one is, if there is a 4wd advertised on the local buy swap sell FB page, you can check out old mates profile and see how the 4wd was used. Especially when "it's never been off road" and there he is standing on the roof in a river, and he has a 100 likes.

Social media has its place, just like beer and footy, I use it as a tool to keep in contact with mates and family, something to read on the crapper, but that's about it.

I know of a couple of job sites that have banned smart phones on their job sites. They will only allow the non-smart phones. To many staff disappear to the ablutions to knock one out whilst watching Youporn or updating their FB status of how much of a cnt their boss is, all on company time.

It was mention above, but the thing that sh1ts me the most, when your sitting around with your friends, if it's not their very annoying kids interrupting the adult conversation, it's half way through a good convo, they pick up their phone and start swiping their phone to see what thei friend had for desert.

When we are in any social gathering, we leave our phone turned off.

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #34 on: October 02, 2017, 07:22:50 AM »
Got my $100 Black Widow fridge slide off Facebook

As much as the endless drivel of people's opinions often annoys me, it has its uses.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: October 02, 2017, 08:25:04 AM by MattNQ »

« Reply #35 on: October 02, 2017, 10:18:08 AM »
It does come in handy when buying a vehicle for example. Most users are not aware of their personal security settings so it's piss easy to see their profile.

A good one is, if there is a 4wd advertised on the local buy swap sell FB page, you can check out old mates profile and see how the 4wd was used. Especially when "it's never been off road" and there he is standing on the roof in a river, and he has a 100 likes.

Social media has its place, just like beer and footy, I use it as a tool to keep in contact with mates and family, something to read on the crapper, but that's about it.

I know of a couple of job sites that have banned smart phones on their job sites. They will only allow the non-smart phones. To many staff disappear to the ablutions to knock one out whilst watching Youporn or updating their FB status of how much of a cnt their boss is, all on company time.

It was mention above, but the thing that sh1ts me the most, when your sitting around with your friends, if it's not their very annoying kids interrupting the adult conversation, it's half way through a good convo, they pick up their phone and start swiping their phone to see what thei friend had for desert.

When we are in any social gathering, we leave our phone turned off.

Yep, last place I worked they were banned, and it was a formal warning if you got sprung with your phone. Except I was allowed to have mine cos when the boss stormed over, because he saw me looking at my phone while wiring up a truck, I showed him that I had all my schematics on the phone (which I had drawn up anyway) because all the laminated paper copies had been destroyed by the yobbos. The look on the young fellas faces, that used to always be on facebook on their's, was priceless.  ;D
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #36 on: October 02, 2017, 11:38:24 AM »
I started using it when it was still invite only, back in about 2006 or so. At the time I was working with a lot of people who were uni students, and as that was the original market that's where it started. I'm still in touch with some of those guys, 11 years later and now spread across the world.

I now use it to keep in touch with a few different people from various bits of my life (childhood, university, work) that otherwise would be unlikely to cross. I'm still active on forums, with regular visits and posts on about 4 and loiter on another 2 or 3. However, I've also found a number of useful Facebook Groups.

From those groups I've managed to buy:
-4 rims for the 4Runner
-Sofa
-Fridge
-Chair
-Bed frame (which turned out to be from a friend of the wife's)
-Bike (x2)
-Bull bar for the 4Runner
-A shed wall (don't ask... it's now taking up space in the yard because we then got a free kennel from a friend)

I've also sold:
-3x sofas
-1x set of rims and tyres
-another set of tyres

With work, I admin on 2 different company pages as well, so I end up on there quite often for that. It's also useful for an aggregation service for some industry specific information that I've got before others have in the past as well; the more that some companies (or govt bodies) use it, the more you need to be on there. I end up checking both LinkedIn and Facebook daily for that information, and then end up sharing it around amongst the people I work with.

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #37 on: October 03, 2017, 02:17:04 PM »
Like everything else I scroll past the BS and just keep up with what is important. And for me, what is important is sledging all of my mates online when I can't do it face to face. Have done a bit of the buy swap and sell, and as mentioned most smaller business use Facebook instead of a web site. Its not for everyone, but neither is those coffee beans that have been digested by animals and shat out and brewed into coffee.... Each to their own.
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

« Reply #38 on: October 03, 2017, 07:38:23 PM »
Lino6
Can you confirm you have been told today    ??? lf not please consider yourself told on behalf of all known to you  & the dog as well . ::)

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #39 on: October 03, 2017, 08:06:35 PM »
Lino6
Can you confirm you have been told today    ??? lf not please consider yourself told on behalf of all known to you  & the dog as well . ::)

Command confirmed
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

« Reply #40 on: October 04, 2017, 06:52:09 AM »

Offline boobook

« Reply #41 on: October 04, 2017, 07:28:29 AM »
I'm sure that if Myswag made it very easy for people to post pictures of themselves, it would be as popular as Facebook.

« Reply #42 on: October 05, 2017, 09:36:52 AM »
I'm sure that if Myswag made it very easy for people to post pictures of themselves, it would be as popular as Facebook.

Maybe that's why I'm on here and not on Facespace.  ;D

« Reply #43 on: October 05, 2017, 10:15:18 AM »
cant be much easier than 2 clicks.