Author Topic: Bunnings  (Read 38202 times)

bully

Re: Bunnings
« Reply #50 on: April 30, 2017, 08:57:01 PM »
Funny but the only reason Dad and Dave shut down was all their customers decided to support the big corporate chain instead of supporting the little man because they thought they were getting it cheaper due to advertising. It's not the big corporations that shuts down little stores. It's the customers not spending money there anymore.
The following users thanked this post: Paddler Ed

3rd time lucky

« Reply #51 on: May 01, 2017, 09:15:24 AM »
Lol no monopoly,  Masters proved that? Lmao.
Others will recall Hardware House, another large size chain store business that Bunnings sunk then took over. We dont have the population base for a truly thriving competitive retail sector. Look at our internet and phone costs - what a farce, having "limits " to download data.
The following users thanked this post: pud151

Offline Tim - Stratford

• Sarah's Canvas Products
    • Canvas Jaffle Iron Covers
« Reply #52 on: May 01, 2017, 09:23:36 AM »
What ever happened to the chain store McEwans? For memory they had a uniform very similar to Bunnings.

Sarah's Canvas Products...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.0

« Reply #53 on: May 01, 2017, 09:36:03 AM »
Quote from: Tim - Stratford
What ever happened to the chain store McEwans? For memory they had a uniform very similar to Bunnings.

"In 1997, the remaining smaller-format McEwans stores were renamed "Bunnings"."

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bunnings_Warehouse

« Reply #54 on: May 01, 2017, 09:51:02 AM »

Yep, used to be a McEwans in Bourke St., Melbourne just West of Elizabeth Street.
Don't think it's a Bunnings now though.

« Reply #55 on: May 01, 2017, 09:56:31 AM »
Yep, used to be a McEwans in Bourke St., Melbourne just West of Elizabeth Street.
Don't think it's a Bunnings now though.
It became a Bunnings for a short period and was then closed down when the Bunnings Port Melbourne opened.

Offline rotare

« Reply #56 on: May 01, 2017, 10:06:34 AM »
If the little corner hardware stores are what everyone prefers, why are they closing down?  Surely strong customer support goes a long way in dictating the success or failure of a business?

Personally I'd rather drive an extra 5 minutes to buy from a Bunnings or a large hardware chain, than any of the three 'little corner' hardware stores near me.  For a starters all three of the independent hardware stores have different opening / closing hours and none are open on Sunday's.  Having a busy lifestyle, opening hours of 7.00am till 9pm during the week and closing at 5pm on weekends is appealing and convenient.  I've found that the smaller stores have limited range, and before Bunnings in our local area I'd often have to travel to at least two smaller stores to get what I need for a weekend project.  Without a doubt the smaller stores are more expensive.  Sure, I may be able to buy 10 individual rivets from the smaller hardware store, but why would I do that when I can buy a pack of 50 from Bunnings for the same price?

So far as service, they are about the same.  Smaller stores have less staff to provide service than the larger ones, so the waiting times for advice or service the same IMO.  In reflection I've had more issues trying to claim warranties or to return damage goods at the smaller stores, than the larger ones - I've never been questioned and cross examined at Bunnings when returning a faulty piece of electrical equipment like I was at a smaller store.  The same type of part time teenagers that work at the local stores, are the same type I find at Bunnings.  There were comments made in this thread about Bunnings employment not being a career choice, but a good portion of staff at my local Bunnings have been the same old faces for at least 5 years or so, so it must be a good source of employment for some I assume.

Similar level of service, restrictive opening hours, lack of range and more expensive - tell me again why I should support my local hardware store? 

« Reply #57 on: May 01, 2017, 10:11:54 AM »
There's a Mum & Pop hardware store in Johnson Street, just East of Smith St. on the North side.
Been there a long time, hard to move around inside because of all the stock, the man at the till knows what's located where too.
Bit like a Steptoe & Son.

« Reply #58 on: May 01, 2017, 11:41:19 AM »
Lol no monopoly,  Masters proved that? Lmao.

All I can say to that is- so many consumer eggsperts, so few profitable long term suppliers  :cheers:
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

Offline Tim - Stratford

• Sarah's Canvas Products
    • Canvas Jaffle Iron Covers
« Reply #59 on: May 01, 2017, 01:38:20 PM »

Should have got Sarah making green aprons years ago.....would have cashed in!  ;D

Sarah's Canvas Products...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.0

Offline PWE

« Reply #60 on: May 01, 2017, 05:34:00 PM »
When I built my rear drawer I bought one of the 100 packets of M10 bolts and nuts.
I do not have to look around for different bolt and carry few tools because I have standardise my bolts.
I normally find what I want in Bunnings, it is normally power tools accessories and auto parts that Bunnings do not stock, but super cheap cover that.

Having said that, I work in Government (construction). I make it one of my main goals to setup accounts with the local (close to the site) mon & dad shops and buy all my site small consumables from them. And make sure that they can tender for some of the site contracts with a local weighting advance towards them.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2017, 05:39:16 PM by PWE »
Change is good, so smile and enjoy life!
Landcruiser 76 tourer

« Reply #61 on: May 01, 2017, 05:40:59 PM »
Having said that, I work in Government (construction). I make it one of my main goals to setup accounts with the local (close to the site) mon & dad shops and buy all my site small consumables from them. And make sure that they can tender for some of the site contracts with a local weighting advance towards them.

How much does the building trade source stuff from Bunnings?  I remember talking to a builder who refused to deal with them due to some pricing issue, it was a few years ago though.  They certainly have the retail market, but what about trade?

« Reply #62 on: May 01, 2017, 06:10:14 PM »
it is normally power tools accessories and auto parts that Bunnings do not stock, but super cheap cover that.
they don't even stock 11mm pine quad at my 2 local stores these days (which they used to stock), it's a standard product at any hardware store selling mouldings once upon a time....they have 18mm quad, but don't have the smaller size which is a joke if you are a builder stopping in there to grab something. The amount of times I have stopped in to grab 12mm bolts to build a patio or verandah and they don't have any the right length (between 120mm and 150mm long) is rediculous, the most commonly sold size for verandah and they have either none or just a couple in stock. To say they only normally don't stock power tool accessories and auto parts is just plain wrong...these days they cater for home handymen mainly, it's where there biggest profits are. What they did was buy out proper hardware stores like BBC, then over time have culled what they stock to only sell their biggest profit makers. Like I said earlier, it's great for them from a business money making sense...but why I mainly get gear from Hudsons or Bretts instead.
The following users thanked this post: Hairs

« Reply #63 on: May 01, 2017, 06:36:37 PM »
When I built my rear drawer I bought one of the 100 packets of M10 bolts and nuts.
I do not have to look around for different bolt and carry few tools because I have standardise my bolts.
I normally find what I want in Bunnings, it is normally power tools accessories and auto parts that Bunnings do not stock, but super cheap cover that.

Just watch out for those bolts from Bunnings, I got two sizes of bolts like that a while ago, ZP M8 and M10, and they were rubbish. Must have been made from recycled chewing gum. These days I get all my fasteners from a specialist fastener supplier, and most of the time it works out cheaper too.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #64 on: May 01, 2017, 07:26:33 PM »
How much does the building trade source stuff from Bunnings?  I remember talking to a builder who refused to deal with them due to some pricing issue, it was a few years ago though.  They certainly have the retail market, but what about trade?
As a commercial fitout builder we use them for bits and bobs. Up to $100 purchases if you need something quick.
Probably still spend around 2K a month.

Completely and utterly useless for timber and board products.  With no drive through timber yard. Our driver would have to park a 12T truck, grab a trolley, hand pick and then walk it out and hand load. Costs a fortune in time.

Getting their trade department to quote on project quantities is pointless. Can't read or don't want to read specs, slow to respond and usually are the dearest.

Offline Brodie Tas

« Reply #65 on: May 01, 2017, 07:44:31 PM »
As a painter I won't use them for there paints I get better prices and customer service from the paint shops with delivery and knowledge, after going there on a weekend to buy a knot duster and asked the paint staff where they are to be answered painters don't use dusters haha, also over heard one guy telling some people that painters use cheap paint because they can finish it of proper... I only use the best because it last longer easier to keep clean and finish of, but saying this I will go there to buy what ever I need for home projects etc

« Reply #66 on: May 01, 2017, 07:57:24 PM »
Just watch out for those bolts from Bunnings, I got two sizes of bolts like that a while ago, ZP M8 and M10, and they were rubbish. Must have been made from recycled chewing gum. These days I get all my fasteners from a specialist fastener supplier, and most of the time it works out cheaper too.
I must have got some bolts from the same batch as you, 30mm and 50mm M8. Got big boxes of each, but can't actually use them for anything much.
If you nip them up with a socket on a hand driver they just hold, put a spanner or ratchet anywhere near them and you'd swear they are made of cheese.

« Reply #67 on: May 01, 2017, 08:02:44 PM »
Pete, take 'em back.
Not fit for purpose.
Try them on for being responsible, for a collapsed structure etc., and see if they respond.

« Reply #68 on: May 02, 2017, 05:26:13 AM »
Completely and utterly useless for timber and board products.  With no drive through timber yard. Our driver would have to park a 12T truck, grab a trolley, hand pick and then walk it out and hand load. Costs a fortune in time.

Thought that would be the case.  I've noticed it is pretty hard to get a straight piece of timber from them as well, everything is warped.

The DETA branded electrical stuff and the Arlec lights they stock are just awful, I'm amazed they are actually AS compliant.

Offline vern

« Reply #69 on: May 02, 2017, 08:07:34 AM »

The DETA branded electrical stuff and the Arlec lights they stock are just awful, I'm amazed they are actually AS compliant.

Arlec, every electricians nightmare! Would hate when customers supplied there own gear and it would be this rubbish!

Offline greygonads

« Reply #70 on: May 02, 2017, 08:34:39 AM »
The "Bunnings Chalenge" to get the daily double.IE. Get in and out without saying hello to the doorperson. Takes a bit of skill.
If you see a Winnebago you are on the wrong road

« Reply #71 on: May 02, 2017, 08:54:56 AM »
Quote from: greygonads
The "Bunnings Chalenge" to get the daily double.IE. Get in and out without saying hello to the doorperson. Takes a bit of skill.
... even worse when its ya neighbours cute ex-missus

Offline The punter

• "avoiding grey nomads since 2011"
« Reply #72 on: May 04, 2017, 09:54:17 AM »
My biggest gripes about Bunnings are their customers. Whole families out for a day trip and pensioners there holding up checkouts on a Saturday, like wtf do you do all week? I just wanna get in get my sh1t and get out, kids playgrounds, cafes, really?
13 FJ Cruiser
15 Lifestyle Reconn
1980 HJ45

« Reply #73 on: May 04, 2017, 04:40:58 PM »
As a commercial fitout builder we use them for bits and bobs. Up to $100 purchases if you need something quick.
Probably still spend around 2K a month.

Getting their trade department to quote on project quantities is pointless. Can't read or don't want to read specs, slow to respond and usually are the dearest.

yeah bunnings is great for some little things, as long as you know they stock it, where it is in the store, and it aint a special order.  The problem is their staff, i think they put in a "special"order when hiring.

« Reply #74 on: May 04, 2017, 06:18:36 PM »
A mates son works in Bumblings and boy does he have some funny stores to tell around the campfire.

He is a young boy, on his P's and it's a job for him while he studies and enjoys life. Surely no one can think that Bunnings can supply a "career" to the average staffer on the floor?
Retired, filling in time, extra income, studying etc. A means to an end, but not a career goal.
So how can we expect top service then?
As lots of other previous posts state, we buy cheap, we get Bunnings.
Also we need to remember that despite their ads, they are a business. Purely there to make profit. Minimal costs, maximum profit.

Now I have to admit, I love Bunnings. Its a hardware store no matter what you say, it has to be good.........
Yes there are better or were better, but its still a hardware store, it has boy stuff and that sausage sizzle......
Yes I still love the country hardwares and the skilled staffers and the better products, but that big green shed......it has most things you need and plenty parking. Oh and did I mention the snags??? Add a steak house and I reckon I could move in...