Author Topic: Bunnings  (Read 38226 times)

Re: Bunnings
« Reply #100 on: May 13, 2017, 10:59:25 PM »
I was in there today looking for secutars (20 different types, none were what I was after) and found this gem.

Seriously, WTF?
$10 for a hacked up log offcut with a piece of rope attached? Must be a hell of a mark up.

« Reply #101 on: May 14, 2017, 08:49:36 AM »
I was in there today looking for secutars (20 different types, none were what I was after) and found this gem.

Seriously, WTF?
$10 for a hacked up log offcut with a piece of rope attached? Must be a hell of a mark up.

Bonfire Starter??
If you had enough wood for a bonfire, why would you need to buy a piece of wood to start it??
There must be some real gumbies out there, seriously!

« Reply #102 on: May 14, 2017, 09:32:37 AM »

Seriously, WTF?

You,d be paying close to $1000.00 a tonne for firewood....WTF?

Offline Gandalf the White

• Wise Wandering Wizard
  • Feelin great with a 2.8
« Reply #103 on: May 14, 2017, 09:44:41 AM »
Ok gentlemen, I'll bite as this could be fishing or your naivety. These cut logs are known as Swedish torches. Popular in the north.
https://www.google.com.au/amp/www.instructables.com/id/Swedish-Torch/%3Famp_page%3Dtrue
How to fall asleep in a chair
1 - sit in a chair
2 - be old
The following users thanked this post: Bad Scott

Offline 03GV

« Reply #104 on: May 14, 2017, 10:12:01 AM »
Probably to hard to read a label?

http://www.ecoforestfirewood.eu/products-page/ecoforest/light-n-go-bonfire-log-2/

This method has been around for a very long time!
2010 DDIS Grand vitara
Lumberjack  Buckley  Campertrailer

« Reply #105 on: May 14, 2017, 10:37:46 AM »
regardless of their quality control there, anyone buying sausages from a hardware store carpark can't really complain about the taste I reckon. Got a friend that was inducted into the Sausage Kings Hall of Fame recently, get a bad snag from him and you can complain, but not from a hardware store.

What taste? fat isn't a taste or a flavour...  ;D  Anyway, the $2.50 is happily donated. It's the $3.00 worth of antacids tabs I begrudge..
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #106 on: May 14, 2017, 10:51:12 AM »
What taste? fat isn't a taste or a flavour...  ;D  Anyway, the $2.50 is happily donated. It's the $3.00 worth of antacids tabs I begrudge..

Ha ha, any 1/2 decent camper needs to have cast iron guts..

The old Bunnings snags are probably a lot better than some stuff I've consumed while camping !!   :cheers:

« Reply #107 on: May 14, 2017, 12:18:02 PM »
Ok gentlemen, I'll bite as this could be fishing or your naivety. These cut logs are known as Swedish torches. Popular in the north.
https://www.google.com.au/amp/www.instructables.com/id/Swedish-Torch/%3Famp_page%3Dtrue

I'm familiar with the process and have done it a few times when camping, but $10?

• Wise Wandering Wizard
« Reply #108 on: May 14, 2017, 12:22:18 PM »
I'm familiar with the process and have done it a few times when camping, but $10?
lol....you're obviously not a gullible city dweller😉
1 - sit in a chair
2 - be old

« Reply #109 on: May 14, 2017, 01:17:05 PM »
Come on guys, this is a quality American product, manufactured to conform to the expectations of the most eclectic purchaser. Of course you have to pay for it. What is that old saying that keeps popping up when people pay outlandish prices for something, and they need to feel better about it?

You only get what you pay for.......  ;D  8)
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

Offline 100bedonderd

« Reply #110 on: May 14, 2017, 01:51:44 PM »

What they go for here in the us

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: May 14, 2017, 02:09:23 PM by 100bedonderd »

Offline Rusty

2018 200 series landcruiser
2021 Jayco silverline outback

« Reply #112 on: May 16, 2017, 02:53:45 PM »
« Last Edit: May 16, 2017, 06:39:37 PM by rags »

Offline terravista

« Reply #113 on: May 16, 2017, 04:15:18 PM »
[/quote

It probably comes down to need vs. cost, but I am damned sure I wouldn't sharpen the chainsaw and throw it in the car, drive out to a dead tree somewhere, cut the log thing to length, slice the top to allow the fire to burn more efficiently, and bring it back to town. If I wanted one I wood (pun intended) be happy to pay a lousy $10.
Plus you can get a veggie snag sanga if you go to a Bunnings with people conducting  fundraising for local Pussy.

« Reply #114 on: May 16, 2017, 06:40:12 PM »

Seriously, WTF?

These only burn for around 20 minutes as well before they burn out.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

« Reply #115 on: May 16, 2017, 07:19:42 PM »
http://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/food/eat/bunnings-vegan-sausage-sizzle-cheltenham-cat-rescue-has-no-meat-in-snags/news-story/c48897ab5a36cb7edeaddd1fc257fa93

surprised there was not a riot

Rusty

Came across a similar thing at Nunawading Bunnings a while ago with my son. I think it was a cat protection society. Saw the sign for vegan snags and thought how cute.
So I asked if they had real sausages and was politely told no.  So off we go and detour past another Bunnings for lunch.

Really if I wanted a vegan snag wouldn't it be easy to BBQ a carrot?

« Reply #116 on: May 17, 2017, 09:12:00 AM »
Quote from: #jonesy
Really if I wanted a vegan snag wouldn't it be easy to BBQ a carrot?
like people going into  burger joint and asking for a burger with no meat.

Offline JPH

« Reply #117 on: May 17, 2017, 11:58:33 AM »
like people going into  burger joint and asking for a burger with no meat.

That's a salad roll.....

Offline monbeg

« Reply #118 on: May 17, 2017, 12:02:58 PM »
That's what he wanted too  :laugh:

« Reply #119 on: May 17, 2017, 05:26:31 PM »
That's a salad roll.....
When I was younger, I use to get.
A Honey roll over with lets us on top.

Now I get Gout.  >:(

« Reply #120 on: May 17, 2017, 05:36:25 PM »
When I was younger, I use to get.
A Honey roll over with lets us on top.

Now I get Gout.  >:(
and some hot tounge and cold shoulder

« Reply #121 on: May 17, 2017, 05:59:44 PM »
You,d be paying close to $1000.00 a tonne for firewood....WTF?

Have l got a deal for YOU,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, :cup:     Trust Me     :cheers:

« Reply #122 on: May 17, 2017, 07:54:52 PM »
You could even chuck in a free PDFP for that............ok maybe just 20% off the PDFP  :cheers:

« Reply #123 on: May 17, 2017, 09:21:06 PM »
Hey, I live in Sydney, plenty of man buns would love to clink frappalatte glasses around the uberfire.
Its hip man.........
And rebellious too...........put away the weed brother, this is real like fire like whoa man, truly passive.
Carbon warriors at the ready, we're having a patio bonfire!!!
Hey bro does my beard look trim or what?

• Wise Wandering Wizard
« Reply #124 on: May 17, 2017, 09:29:55 PM »
Hey, I live in Sydney, plenty of man buns would love to clink frappalatte glasses around the uberfire.
Its hip man.........
And rebellious too...........put away the weed brother, this is real like fire like whoa man, truly passive.
Carbon warriors at the ready, we're having a patio bonfire!!!
Hey bro does my beard look trim or what?
I think these could be the same people that will light it up on their verandah or balcony, sit around enjoying the warmth and glow, then wonder why the timber deck burnt down around them
« Last Edit: May 17, 2017, 09:56:16 PM by Gandalf the White »
1 - sit in a chair
2 - be old