Author Topic: Bunnings  (Read 38198 times)

UIZ733

Bunnings
« on: April 29, 2017, 08:33:02 AM »
Is it Australia's newest and most observed religion?
Significantly more cars in the Big Green Sheds car-park and people inside on a Sunday morning, than any of the recognized religions.
We might have to get Pauline (perhaps Cory and George too) onto it in case there are subversive implications for the nation. ;D

Offline loanrangie

Re: Bunnings
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2017, 09:47:12 AM »
Is it Australia's newest and most observed religion?
Significantly more cars in the Big Green Sheds car-park and people inside on a Sunday morning, than any of the recognized religions.
We might have to get Pauline (perhaps Cory and George too) onto it in case there are subversive implications for the nation. ;D
Must be the yearning for snag in bread that draws the crowds.

Sent from my K4000_PRO using Tapatalk

MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595
The following users thanked this post: Brodie Tas

Offline Chris.

« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2017, 09:57:17 AM »
Must be the yearning for snag in bread that draws the crowds.

It wouldn't be the customer service you receive there  ;D
The following users thanked this post: archer63

« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2017, 10:29:59 AM »
It wouldn't be the customer service you receive there  ;D

Every body goes there, but no one complains about the worst service in Australia !!

To the lady at the front saying hello, get your ar*e behind that cash register....now !!

They have self service checkouts.......but not for cash ??

« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2017, 10:35:34 AM »
They have self service checkouts.......but not for cash ??

That's because Bunnings IT built the self serve point of sale in-house, rather than paying squillions for some from NCR etc. that take cash like Coles did. There's a bit of competitive rivalry between the Wesfarmers companies.

3rd time lucky

« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2017, 11:08:48 AM »
At our local Bunnings (THE worst in Australia, hands down winner) the self serve are never open anyway - they need someone to supervise the checkouts lol.

Offline The punter

• "avoiding grey nomads since 2011"
« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2017, 11:14:35 AM »
If Bunnings was a religion, they would need a figurehead skyfairy
13 FJ Cruiser
15 Lifestyle Reconn
1980 HJ45

« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2017, 11:26:51 AM »
Quote from: gronk
Every body goes there
that's cause they have killed off the useful smaller hardware stores.
religion is a bad joke anyway.. my fictional character is better than yours :-*

The following users thanked this post: loanrangie

Offline Chris.

« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2017, 11:30:42 AM »
Every body goes there, but no one complains about the worst service in Australia !!

says a lot for the human race hey... I love the place but you need to know what you're after... heaven help anyone who needs to ask for some assistance.

« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2017, 12:26:54 PM »
religion is a bad joke anyway.. my fictional character is better than yours :-*
still some great little hardware stores about, but many Bunnings visitors want the ease of a store being 5 minutes away over quality service and product knowledge. I'm happy to drive 20 minutes away into the city to visit Paddington Hardware here in Brisbane at times over visiting Bunnings who have very little variety of many products. Finlaysons whilst expensive is my go to for timber mouldings, especially when chasing anything related to old Qld'er houses, Bunnings will have very little to choose from. I avoid Bunnings as much as possibly especially on weekends (Brett's and Hudsons are other options), but sometimes the store being literally 5 minutes up the road means I'll stop in there to grab stuff over visiting a real hardware store.

3rd time lucky

« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2017, 12:32:56 PM »
Whatever anyone thinks of them, and whatever may or may not be true, one indisputable fact is that, along with Supercheap, they are one of the most successful and biggest growing chain retail stores in Australia over the last 20 years.  You cannot deny that, and therefore the basic principles of the business must be sound.  The bigger stores are usually good IMHO, but the smaller outlets such as ours at Victoria Point leave a lot to be desired sadly. We have no other options within 1/2hr of home, other than the local Mitre 10 which is a joke as its floor space is little more than a maccas and opening hours from the 70's
The following users thanked this post: archer63

« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2017, 12:48:57 PM »

Of course they did. Bunnings may have aisles full of say rivets, but not THE one you want....like the local little Mitre 10 had !

« Reply #12 on: April 29, 2017, 01:10:03 PM »
Of course they did. Bunnings may have aisles full of say rivets, but not THE one you want....like the local little Mitre 10 had !

Did you want a rivet or a trivet? No I want a rivet.... OK, I'll go and get a manager.....
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

3rd time lucky

« Reply #13 on: April 29, 2017, 01:53:32 PM »
Mitre 10 Gympie is awesome...just saying...lol

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #14 on: April 29, 2017, 02:24:47 PM »
I've never had a problem but then i go in knowing what i want and generally know where it is.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

Offline Roo

• Is hitting the road Jack.
« Reply #15 on: April 29, 2017, 02:45:07 PM »
I never have a problem at Bunnings but then I did work in Hardware for a few years so generally know what in looking for....the elusive lefthanded screwdriver and the checkered paint.

[insert witty comment]

« Reply #16 on: April 29, 2017, 02:59:39 PM »
the one back home that destroyed 4 top small shops is getting bigger
"Bunnings Warehouse at Caringbah will close its doors soon, allowing work to start on a $38 million knockdown-rebuild"

http://www.theleader.com.au/story/4615174/bunnings-taren-point-to-open-soon/

Quote from: 3rd time lucky
Whatever anyone thinks of them, and whatever may or may not be true, one indisputable fact is that, along with Supercheap, they are one of the most successful and biggest growing chain retail stores in Australia over the last 20 years.  You cannot deny that, and therefore the basic principles of the business must be sound

nobody is denying it.. doesn't make it better for consumers.. just shows how ****ed the human race has become.

The bigger stores are usually good IMHO, but the smaller outlets such as ours at Victoria Point leave a lot to be desired sadly. We have no other options within 1/2hr of home, other than the local Mitre 10 which is a joke as its floor space is little more than a maccas and opening hours from the 70's
Bigger are better? Bunnings?? There isnt anyone in our local bunnings who could use a screwdriver....
the reason smaller stores 'leave to be desired' is because nobody shops there and they have no $$ to buy stock. its just a vicious circle - but that's their business model how to destroy the competition
« Last Edit: April 29, 2017, 03:11:22 PM by Bird »

« Reply #17 on: April 29, 2017, 03:21:40 PM »
Whatever anyone thinks of them, and whatever may or may not be true, one indisputable fact is that, along with Supercheap, they are one of the most successful and biggest growing chain retail stores in Australia over the last 20 years.  You cannot deny that, and therefore the basic principles of the business must be sound.  The bigger stores are usually good IMHO, but the smaller outlets such as ours at Victoria Point leave a lot to be desired sadly. We have no other options within 1/2hr of home, other than the local Mitre 10 which is a joke as its floor space is little more than a maccas and opening hours from the 70's
nobody can deny their business model is a success, but it has been at the expense of many smaller family run businesses sadly. How good the stores are depends on what you want to buy I guess...from a Carpenter of 25 years point of view I think they are woeful as far as being a proper hardware store. Yes they stock the basics, but their range has dwindled over the years to only stock their biggest selling items....great from a profitable business point of view, but rubbish as a customer if you are trying to do something other then what the average home handyman wants to do.

Mitre 10 Gympie is awesome...just saying...lol
and charged like wounded bulls before Bunnings came along to break their dominance in town. I have found Bunnings Gympie has a better selection of hardware type stuff then my local Brisbane stores have...each store seems to cater to their local market I guess.

« Reply #18 on: April 29, 2017, 04:57:22 PM »
I've always found the staff very intellleegebt...um..itelee gent....no, that's nor tight....smarda dan me and very elpfull.

Being as dum as wheelbarra full of bricks has its advantages.  ;D

I did a Govt. funded IQ test thingy about 3 weeks ago.

On Friday, they sent me Get Well card and $20.00...... guess i'm the winner.

Offline 03GV

« Reply #19 on: April 29, 2017, 05:20:48 PM »
Here in south oz, all the others like Mitre 10 and Home hardware are useless except a bigger Mitre 10 on the south coast because they serve a huge amount of builders a trades down that way.

Our localish Bunnings has the same with the self serve, never open unless its the week before xmas day so no point to them even being there.
And I reckon if you don't know what you want before entering  your gonna suffer!
2010 DDIS Grand vitara
Lumberjack  Buckley  Campertrailer

« Reply #20 on: April 29, 2017, 06:50:25 PM »
For home its the local Mitre 10. For work it Bowens Timber. Tools its Power Tool Specialist.
Last resort its the Green Shed.

3rd time lucky

« Reply #21 on: April 29, 2017, 06:50:48 PM »
The bigger stores in our area have a far better range - i wasnt referring to better service from the staff. The majority of the general public buy from them, so they must be doing something right. If the so called local small hardwares were relevant they would survive. Alas they are dwindling just like road side strip shops suffered at the hands of Westfield etc. I dont deny i go where i have the best chance of getting everything "in 1 hit" so to speak. Thats why Woolies and Coles clean up in comparison to the local butcher and green grocer. They potentially have better produce, but these days time poor consumers only want 1 check out instead of 3.

« Reply #22 on: April 29, 2017, 06:54:19 PM »

Bumbling's

say no more           :cheers:

« Reply #23 on: April 29, 2017, 07:34:14 PM »
Not like the old little Mitre 10 store down the road.......if you wanted 15 screws...not a problem.....Bunnings......do you want a packet of 100 or packet of a 500 ??
I remember buying by weight...ok, I wanted about 10 screws....you might have got 12, but at the price, who cared !!

« Reply #24 on: April 29, 2017, 07:41:58 PM »
Quote from: 3rd time lucky
The majority of the general public buy from them, so they must be doing something right.
yes the majority have no options. that was the killing off of the smaller stores you missed  ;D

If the so called local small hardwares were relevant they would survive.
rubbish.
large shops have massive buying power. Coles, Woolies, etc etc
Bunnings rings up and says we'll take 100 pallets of Bosch things... Yep for an order that big, you can have for $40 per unit
Dad n Daves hardware rings and says we'll take 10 units. for that order you can have them at $75

Bunnings sells for $60 which is less than Dad n Dave can buy it for. Dad n Dave go broke, Bunnings love it and up their price.. its known as divide and conquer and give you no options.\

But I'm sure this has been done a dozen times in the past.