Author Topic: How do you get your mojo back for your 4x4?  (Read 17627 times)

Re: How do you get your mojo back for your 4x4?
« Reply #50 on: July 07, 2017, 12:28:44 PM »
When the boys got to teen years camping was mainly short trips with the camper behind me, and Elaine would tow bike trailer. Extra seats meant boys could bring mates. Tried to have an annual big trip too.
Now they are older we are able to do big trips as much as we can on our own. We dont have many friends into off road touring, but that doesnt stop us. You meet people everywhere. Im sure once the boys have their own families they will want to do family trips.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

« Reply #51 on: July 07, 2017, 12:37:32 PM »
Really struggling with this lately. I'm just about 95% ready to sell 4b and all camping gear up.

Running a snow trip up Skene for club in couple of weeks, and really have no interest in going.  Even planning what to take is turning me off. 

Last 3 trips I've done the weather has been pretty abysmal which hasn't helped.. I ****in hate camping in Shit weather.

Family never really show much interest in going - or lets put it this way they never say 'lets go camping next week'... If I arrange everything they will reluctantly tag along. None of my mates go camping or wheeling anymore, and the club that I'm in has 2 trips between now and Xmas.  Paying rego on Patrol and camper for nort.
Problem is I don't have any other hobbies.

Anyone else going through this?

Years ago mate...............when I was living in Vic.

Bought a camper trailer (Dingo) so the then cheese n kisses would go. Never was used so it got sold!

I also ended up in 2 clubs.
1 was competition orientated at the time and the other was camping/family orientated.

Maybe look at  another more active club (no reason to leave the one your in) and start getting out there..............

« Reply #52 on: July 07, 2017, 03:33:39 PM »
Really struggling with this lately. I'm just about 95% ready to sell 4b and all camping gear up.

I would take a deliberate 12 months off before selling up everything, No thinking the stuff is sitting there and you should be making use of it as you deliberately aren't going, then evaluate things after 12 months and try some other things in the meantime. You might find all that's needed is a break as opposed to actually giving it away altogether.

« Reply #53 on: July 07, 2017, 05:53:14 PM »
My story has aspects of most of yours.  Started camping when the kids were little and we did lots, really enjoyed it.  Kids became teenagers and had to drag our son untill it just got too hard.  Bought a holiday house and eventually couldn't get them to bother going there.  Sold it last year.

Have got back into camping now there is just the two of us.  We have both just retired spent ridiculous sums of money on a Tvan so now we are going to give it a serious go.

Times (and people) change

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #54 on: July 08, 2017, 12:31:18 AM »
I'm in a bit of a funk too...  Stuffed my back when we were on Fraser, and have had the truck at the dealers for three weeks with an odd mechanical issue that had to be escalated to the motherland, finally getting it back today.

This time of the year, I'd be itching to go skiing - the kids are finally is enough to have a crack, but there's no bloody snow, and with a stuffed back, I can't ski anyway...

Got bikes, a boat, and more bloody fishing gear than you can poke a stick at, and it's not getting used at the moment...

Camper is currently in a mates shed while we build our new house... Just waiting for the winter to bugger off so we can hopefully get away maybe one weekend a month and get the mojo back

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #55 on: July 08, 2017, 08:55:17 AM »
I'm in a bit of a funk too...  Stuffed my back when we were on Fraser, and have had the truck at the dealers for three weeks with an odd mechanical issue that had to be escalated to the motherland, finally getting it back today.

This time of the year, I'd be itching to go skiing - the kids are finally is enough to have a crack, but there's no bloody snow, and with a stuffed back, I can't ski anyway...

Got bikes, a boat, and more bloody fishing gear than you can poke a stick at, and it's not getting used at the moment...

Camper is currently in a mates shed twhile we build our new house... Just waiting for the winter to bugger off so we can hopefully get away maybe one weekend a month and get the mojo back

Drew I have to correct you !  You can never have too much fishing gear  :laugh:
« Last Edit: July 08, 2017, 08:58:42 AM by achjimmy »

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #56 on: July 08, 2017, 09:25:16 AM »
Drew I have to correct you !  You can never have too much fishing gear 
I didn't say I have too much!!! You can never have enough toys, or fishing gear

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #57 on: July 08, 2017, 10:49:12 AM »
Quote from: DrewXT
Just waiting for the winter to bugger off so we can hopefully get away maybe one weekend a month and get the mojo back
we used to say that but it just never happened... even with mate, we had plans, he ended up selling up all his gear as it never got used

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #58 on: July 09, 2017, 11:14:35 AM »
If you have a swag just get out there, post up where and when and go no matter what.
 I'm lucky my wife and 10yo are usually keen , 10yo more so.

Sent from my K4000_PRO using Tapatalk

MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

« Reply #59 on: July 09, 2017, 04:30:53 PM »
My mojo has returned a bit. My best mate bought a camper last year but due to having a newish bub it didn't get used much. They are getting back into it now and I feel like I am having a mental release as they ask me a million questions about mods and techniques and all the camping info in my brain is busting to get out!!!! We camped out a few weeks back and are heading out to Kalbarri this coming week so I have spent some time on camper/Pajero maintenance. Hopefully heading for some beach driving and playing in the dunes and just chilling out.

It is not like it used to be though, just grab the esky and swag and off you go. Now the week leading up to the trip is double checking the camper/water tanks/gas bottle/packing clothes and jackets etc, just an hour here and there after the kids go to bed as that's all the spare time you have!

As mentioned by others, most of the mods that I wanted to do have been done to the camper and Pajero which was half the fun, but it is good to know that we can just hook up the camper at short notice and be ready for any track we choose.

Getting itchy fingers though, I need to get the grinder out and start hacking something...

« Reply #60 on: July 09, 2017, 08:06:21 PM »
                        Treg up & Make Dust                           :cup:                 :cheers:
The following users thanked this post: Ragman

« Reply #61 on: March 16, 2018, 07:01:42 PM »
Its taken a while, but I've made the decision.

« Reply #62 on: March 16, 2018, 07:43:08 PM »
We are planning a 8 to 12 week trip up north Right to Left or so  from down South . l could fill in the details but you would only want to come to . You would take up way to much space ,,,, & the extra Grog,,,,   . That will jam some MoJo into the rig , big pedel on the right to the metal  :cheers:

Offline Hookie

« Reply #63 on: March 16, 2018, 07:53:00 PM »
I hope I never have the problem some of you guys have. My wife and kids can't get enough of camping. Been trying to find a place that's not chest to chest for easter weekend and she says she doesn't care where we camp, as long as we camp.
Trading our soft floor for a swan did help. No more hours spent packing things into tubs and then into the trailer, everything is always in there ready to go at the drop of a hat.

But anyway, going waaaay back to the OP, have you considered that maybe you enjoy building 4WDs more than using them? Plenty of people do. I can understand if you wouldn't want to admit that if it's true, as admitting it would mean no more spare money ever.

« Reply #64 on: March 16, 2018, 10:28:28 PM »
Bird, you keeping the tug/camper or getting a Kia???

Hookie, I wondered if it was just the mods that were enjoyable but we did a trip to Esperance in January and it was awesome, we all had a blast. Missus is in my ear to get out soon, I'm flat out at work but hoping to get away to a local spot for a couple nights before Easter.

Speewa, can't wait for the pics and report...

« Reply #65 on: March 16, 2018, 10:43:35 PM »
Quote from: nab
Bird, you keeping the tug/camper or getting a Kia??
None of it.. all going right down to swags... nobody in the family has any interest what so ever in camping or travelling, and to me doing it with the family or someone is what its all about.... at the moment my family is falling apart. Bring on death. 

« Reply #66 on: March 17, 2018, 12:06:15 AM »
None of it.. all going right down to swags... nobody in the family has any interest what so ever in camping or travelling, and to me doing it with the family or someone is what its all about.... at the moment my family is falling apart. Bring on death.

That sounds like it sucks arse, there are plenty of ears around here if ya need to chat to someone.

« Reply #67 on: March 17, 2018, 09:20:31 AM »
We did that a couple of years back, sold the CT and got an RV4. Back to basics.
Did Tassie for most of Feb in the RV4 and loved it.
I went back to a swag for the blokes trips.
Wife and I go bush for four days a fortnight and have done for the past 6 years.
As soon as she is ready to pull the pin we sell up and hit the road, at this stage looking at a 200 and a conqueror.

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #68 on: March 19, 2018, 12:33:56 PM »

I know what you mean, sometimes i feel the same way but i still want to get out there even if its just me and a mate.
 My almost 15yo daughter wont go anymore but my 11yo is always up for camping, wife wants to be able to walk to shop FFS ?
I would keep a swag just for your self at the least.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan

« Reply #69 on: March 19, 2018, 01:16:45 PM »
Quote from: loanrangie
I would keep a swag just for your self at the least.
Not much point.. I've had one phone call in 2 yrs askin me to go away with mates.
Shitful boring going on your own I'd guess.

« Reply #70 on: March 19, 2018, 04:12:24 PM »
Not much point.. I've had one phone call in 2 yrs askin me to go away with mates.

Stop ya grizzling ya big sook.... :P :P
You were pestered to go to the National Meet last Easter and you CBF.

The following users thanked this post: loanrangie

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #71 on: March 20, 2018, 10:45:51 AM »

I've gone just me and the dog if i cant get anyone else to go.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan

« Reply #72 on: March 20, 2018, 11:29:35 AM »

Always welcome to join any of the camps/trips that I put up . ;D

« Reply #73 on: March 20, 2018, 10:10:28 PM »
I did Perth-Adelaide and back last year, just me, the dog and the swag. It was bloody marvellous, would do it again tomorrow.

« Reply #74 on: March 20, 2018, 10:36:45 PM »
So what's hapnin Queen's b/day. W/End  Bruce, C'mon.