General => General Discussion => Topic started by: weeds on November 12, 2017, 01:56:06 PM

Title: ALL FOR ADVENTURE.....Simpson desert
Post by: weeds on November 12, 2017, 01:56:06 PM
Defiantly fish out of water.......well for Simon anyway

OMG towing a caravan across the French line

Title: Re: ALL FOR ADVENTURE.....Simpson desert
Post by: Rumpig on November 12, 2017, 02:01:55 PM
They struggled on many of those dunes due to the damage others had done before them...once they did the shovel work and filled the holes in, it was much easier going for them.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on November 12, 2017, 02:59:23 PM
Hi Weeds, I thought it was a good show, they just poked along and made it look easy in the end, Not my cup of tea towing that size van though there worth that much money, I Would not mind going one day with another 4wd, but only towing my old Jayco its only 750kg with bedding and two spare tires and two spare springs, Craig
Post by: Coolblue80 on November 12, 2017, 03:09:35 PM
Definitely wasn't their usual "Rip, tear, bust" style of show.
Post by: PWE on November 12, 2017, 04:17:53 PM
Agree, better than before. No bash just to bash.
Post by: Aussie Iron on November 12, 2017, 04:46:11 PM
Believe it or not it wasn't as it seemed to be in the show. I was there and meet up with them at Mt. Dare and had a talk with them. But this was also after I had seen some video footage that some bikers had taken of them on some of the dunes. The show was good, it was the sponsor that wanted the caravan taken across the desert.

Dan.
Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on November 12, 2017, 05:31:12 PM
even last weeks episode around western qld and down through cameron corner etc was enjoyable too
Post by: weeds on November 12, 2017, 06:16:56 PM
Believe it or not it wasn't as it seemed to be in the show. I was there and meet up with them at Mt. Dare and had a talk with them. But this was also after I had seen some video footage that some bikers had taken of them on some of the dunes. The show was good, it was the sponsor that wanted the caravan taken across the desert.

Dan.

Yep, they wouldn’t be Paton for the van...or for much.

I reckon we only sore the gentle approach as I’m sure they would have to wombat holes as I don’t reckon they got the shovel out for every dune.

Either that I don’t mind watching them, two blokes having a go and they don’t push their sponsors the death during the show...i thought it wasn’t on free to air anymore.

Post by: Craig Tomkinson on November 12, 2017, 07:34:24 PM
Been told by my mate Murray from GuflfLanders extreme he builds boat loaders for 4wds, He is building a boat loader for the bloke that build the 6x6 unit for Patriot boys 79 series project making 500hp, as this was the offer put to him as they wanted his unit for a project, there major sponsors give them the product and 100 grand a series to plug it, not bad coin, Craig
Post by: JusyApples on November 15, 2017, 09:20:18 AM
Often wondered what kind of money is involved in these type of 4WD/adventure shows and how much these presenters earn.
Post by: doc evil on November 15, 2017, 09:33:18 AM
Been told by my mate Murray from GuflfLanders extreme he builds boat loaders for 4wds, He is building a boat loader for the bloke that build the 6x6 unit for Patriot boys 79 series project making 500hp, as this was the offer put to him as they wanted his unit for a project, there major sponsors give them the product and 100 grand a series to plug it, not bad coin, Craig

$420K to build it, and the word is it cannot be certified/rego'd for road use.............
Post by: Charlie Brown on November 15, 2017, 09:47:06 AM
Appears to be registered in this photo
Post by: jwb on November 15, 2017, 09:57:12 AM
And a quick rego check states
Registered  till 22/2/2018

Post by: The punter on November 15, 2017, 10:34:13 AM
How did the AusRV van go?

Have to say it's good to see MDC finally coming up with their own designs in what looks like a reasonable quality product.
Post by: Rumpig on November 15, 2017, 11:21:57 AM
How did the AusRV van go?

Have to say it's good to see MDC finally coming up with their own designs in what looks like a reasonable quality product.
spoke to the Aus RV sales guy at recent show that went up to Cape York with A4A boys and they took a van up Maytown track (must be coming up in future show)...he reckons they eventually  lost the wind out awning off the van and broke off a stabilizer leg from under the van. If that's all that really happened it's to bad really, he also reckoned they had pretty much no dust ingress, one tiny bit that was barely worth a mention.
Post by: trinityalyce on November 15, 2017, 11:43:19 AM
I couldn't bear to watch it just for the thought of towing in the Simpson. Watched too many people rip up the tracks with trailers when we headed through, so the thought of a caravan? Maybe I should watch it...
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on November 15, 2017, 11:51:12 AM
I think Jason owns the show with his old partner Rodo, weather he bought him out I do not, They would have to be getting over half a Mil profit a series you would think, good luck to them, Craig
Post by: Rumpig on November 15, 2017, 11:51:53 AM
I couldn't bear to watch it just for the thought of towing in the Simpson. Watched too many people rip up the tracks with trailers when we headed through, so the thought of a caravan? Maybe I should watch it...
clowns not towing that don't deflate their tyres or driving in 2wd do more damage then a properly deflated vehicle towing. You only have to watch the video and see the holes people before them have dug in the tracks, all due to not deflating their tyres or not deflating them sufficiently....Head to Bribie Island and the evidence is exactly the same, tracks rough as guts because so many people can't be bothered deflating their tyres. At the start of the show I reckon Simon had his tyre pressure to high and got bogged on the first hill after Big Red, can't say he helped the trailer towing groups much with that effort, especially throwing up abit of a rooster tail as he dug in deep.
Post by: trinityalyce on November 15, 2017, 11:54:31 AM
clowns not towing that don't deflate their tyres or driving in 2wd do more damage then a properly deflated vehicle towing. You only have to watch the video and see the holes people before them have dug in the tracks, all due to not deflating their tyres or not deflating them sufficiently....Head to Bribie Island and the evidence is exactly the same, tracks rough as guts because so many people can't be bothered deflating their tyres. At the start of the show I reckon Simon had his tyre pressure to high and got bogged on the first hill after Big Red, can't say he helped the trailer towing groups much with that effort, especially throwing up abit of a rooster tail as he dug in deep.

There's definitely merit to that. Most people we saw struggling - towing or not - appeared to have their tyre pressures way too high.
Post by: JusyApples on November 15, 2017, 01:18:34 PM
I think Jason owns the show with his old partner Rodo, weather he bought him out I do not, They would have to be getting over half a Mil profit a series you would think, good luck to them, Craig
In saying that 4wd action claim they can spend up to $100k per DVD
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on November 15, 2017, 01:42:19 PM
That sounds about right, to get it made and sent out not cheap by any means, Craig 
Title: ALL FOR ADVENTURE.....Simpson desert
Post by: wakychapmans on November 15, 2017, 03:50:11 PM
In saying that 4wd action claim they can spend up to $100k per DVD

let me tell you how... "someone else" in the that game does it. I know this from very personal experience...

TV networks have to, by law, show a certain % of "locally produced" shows each week/month etc.

4wd personality approaches them and says "I'll give you 8 x 1hour episodes of locally produced content for free, plus I can get ad content to fill the ad breaks"

TV network loves this. No cost to them. They have re-run rights for the off season and they satisfy their requirement for local content.

4wd personality (who may wear a hat) then approaches 4wd vehicle company, camper trailer company and accessory company and says "hey I can get you on network TV every week with an audience exposure of around whatever-hundred thousand viewers... just give me free vehicle/trailer/stuff (oh and for $xxxx,000 cash i'll make up ads for the ad breaks and rave about your gear during the show)"

the cash from the 4wd/trailer/accessory companies more than pays for the actual production costs. (with profit left over) They use freelance cameramen so they they don't need to actually "own" the expensive camers and editing stuff.

They also get new cars/trailers/gear each season so they can sell the old stuff off (more profit)

and if they're also selling a magazine/DVDs/whatever... then that is also profit. (the DVDs cost... ummm... a hell of a lot less that you probably imagine to reproduce, including the case)

being honest though... while there is profit to be had... it's more a way to keep living the lifestyle and being paid for it.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on November 15, 2017, 03:56:07 PM
Would be a great way to see the country if you had the time and a misses that whats to so it with you, Doing the shows that would give me the Shirts, Craig
Post by: Rumpig on November 15, 2017, 05:15:34 PM
let me tell you how... "someone else" in the that game does it. I know this from very personal experience...

TV networks have to, by law, show a certain % of "locally produced" shows each week/month etc.

4wd personality approaches them and says "I'll give you 8 x 1hour episodes of locally produced content for free, plus I can get ad content to fill the ad breaks"

TV network loves this. No cost to them. They have re-run rights for the off season and they satisfy their requirement for local content.

4wd personality then approaches 4wd vehicle company, camper trailer company and accessory company and says "hey I can get you on network TV every week with an audience exposure of around whatever-hundred thousand viewers... just give me free vehicle/trailer/stuff (oh and for $xxxx,000 cash i'll make up ads for the ad breaks and rave about your gear during the show)"

the cash from the 4wd/trailer/accessory companies more than pays for the actual production costs. (with profit left over) They use freelance cameramen so they they don't need to actually "own" the expensive camers and editing stuff.

They also get new cars/trailers/gear each season so they can sell the old stuff off (more profit)

and if they're also selling a magazine/DVDs/whatever... then that is also profit. (the DVDs cost... ummm... a hell of a lot less that you probably imagine to reproduce, including the case)

being honest though... while there is profit to be had... it's more a way to keep living the lifestyle and being paid for it.
it's the same with fishing shows also...got a mate that edits ET's Fishing Show, in the early days ET was paid for his show, but nowadays he buys the time slot and sells the advertising spaces / breaks to pay or it.
Got another mate that does photography and helps with some video on a different 4wd show to A4A, as you say he is freelance and has big dollars tied up in his equipment....it's a great way to see parts of Australia many people will not get to visit, but the days they are shooting are big hours and not much time to enjoy where they go, on a tight schedule to get the footage they move then move on and spend a fair bit of time away from home....personally it doesn't appeal to me as a job, but beats working in an office I suppose.
Post by: Rumpig on November 15, 2017, 05:20:44 PM
That sounds about right, to get it made and sent out not cheap by any means, Craig
was told on the weekend that this season the A4A guys paid something like $100K - $150K in transport cost to get their trailers, boat and unimog etc around the country for filming. I have been told previously how many people had subscribed to their Unleashed show (forget the number now), it was a surprisingly much higher number then I expected....multiply that by what it cost to subscribe  and it was some good coin they were getting in.
Post by: alnjan on November 15, 2017, 06:08:29 PM
Appears to be registered in this photo

Rego doesn't mean engineered
Post by: weeds on November 15, 2017, 06:13:31 PM
MR MAXTRAX has a 6x6 200 that is fully engineered in QLD....should be straight forward for a 79’series.

Post by: Rumpig on November 15, 2017, 06:57:51 PM
MR MAXTRAX has a 6x6 200 that is fully engineered in QLD....should be straight forward for a 79’series.

you'd think the 6x6 is straight forward as JMACX have done the engineering already, but not when it's running portal axles and 37" tyres though, they did some chopping and altering to get what they have on that new 79...but appears they managed somehow
Post by: alnjan on November 15, 2017, 07:45:43 PM
you'd think the 6x6 is straight forward as JMACX have done the engineering already, but not when it's running portal axles and 37" tyres though, they did some chopping and altering to get what they have on that new 79...but appears they managed somehow

and the air bag suspension
Post by: weeds on November 15, 2017, 08:32:29 PM
Oh, didn’t know the specifics of the 70series

Post by: Rumpig on November 15, 2017, 09:00:05 PM
Oh, didn’t know the specifics of the 70series

it's an impressive build, you can watch it on YouTube in a 6 part series I think it was....no idea how they got it regi steered on a Qld road though considering how strict they normally are here.
Post by: callmejoe on November 15, 2017, 10:05:04 PM
It looks tuff as. Yet I bet jackroo with a 2in lift would go further.
6x6 = crap off rd abilities bar in a straight line.

But hey thats just my opinion......
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on November 15, 2017, 10:14:13 PM
Just to save everyone else some time.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UF8WJg-SgoQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UF8WJg-SgoQ)

4x4's introduction to the 6x6 Toyota.
Post by: weeds on November 16, 2017, 05:00:48 AM
Geez.....thanks for the link

Post by: brickiematt on November 16, 2017, 05:01:35 AM
It was an interesting watch for me, as we've just returned from a trip down the Hay River Track and acrosd the QAA Line. There were three of us, and yes, we were all towing.
I got stuck on the very first dune on the Hay, but apart from that, we had no dramas at all. Low tyre pressures (15psi front and Kamper, 18psi rear) sand was super soft as we had temps of 40deg plus!
It's funny some people's attitude towards towing across the Simpson. I know it is discouraged, bit it is not forbidden. We pulled into Poeppel Cnr, and there was a group of half a dozen people there, and the looks they gave us when they saw we were all towing could have curdled milk!!!
Having said that, i wouldn't tow heading the other way (East to West). The eastern faces of the dunes were badly chopped up, massive wombat holes and steep faces.
I dunno when the A4A boys did the trip, but I reckon they might have struggled a bit more than they showed,  especially getting that van up some of the dunes.
Was a good watch anyway!
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on November 16, 2017, 06:03:57 AM
Hi Callmejoe, Gee I have never driven a 6x6 4wd but I driven heaps of boggy drive tippers and they will go heaps more places better than a single drive tripper, So I would thought that a true 6x6 and not a lazy axle 6x6 would go really well, in the vid they did it perform well, Craig

Hi Brickiematt, Is worth the drive and how much fuel did you burn, I would not mind going for a look one year with my sons, Craig
Post by: weeds on November 16, 2017, 06:49:22 AM
I drove 6x6 for many year....yeah bigger turning circle but a two point turn normally gets you heading in the right direction

Post by: edz on November 16, 2017, 07:19:57 AM
no idea how they got it regi steered on a Qld road though considering how strict they normally are here.
Individual constructed prototype  on the Engineering papers maybe ?    and registered as a JMACX -##  prototype .. From memory,  If the laws havent changed over the years you could  build  x  ###   individual prototypes without having to crash test and so long as they meet the ADRs of the current year of completeion  .     
EDIT :   Google :    registering individual constructed prototype cars in QLD      . brings up a QLD transport  PDF file  on it
Post by: PWE on November 16, 2017, 08:16:23 AM
Agree, I think the majority of the dune climbs was not filmed, but I was impress with the 200 pulling that caravan up with little wheel spin. Yes, it was bogged very bad once (ignoring the 1,000 other dunes) Still, they made an effort to fill the holes with some shovel work, (similar to the old 4wd action dvd's).
The Gall Boys towed parted of the Canning with a Kedron and standard 200. They suffered and turn back. For me, it shows the differents between experience offroad towing and experience outback towing. I am sure that the A4A boys can complete the Canning with the van with little effort.

There are enough stories about towing and not towing, we can just follow the law. Some idiots will tow and some tools will drive in 2wd, but the vast majority will stay within their comfort zone - tow if they are experience and drive in 4H.

If I win a 6x6 I'll sell it, useless for anything other than show pony. For that money I'll buy an ex-army Unimog and set it up for touring/Fraser Island fishing. Atleast I know the Unimog will still be running after 10 years. Wonder if the 6x6 will last that long.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on November 16, 2017, 09:08:28 AM
Hi PWE, Deany from Deans ice at Rainbow Beach has a Yellow 6x6 Toyota around 1995 model tray back ex mines truck it has the Diesel mulitivavle motor in it putting out 240rwhp it tray is 10 or 12 feet long great looking rig, They have had it running about 3ton of ice or firewood up fraser for years and they love it goes anywhere he said, but it does were out the back tires as they scrub off turning, Unmogs are good but very high and you can not get into a lot of places that overhang trees, Craig   
Post by: alnjan on November 16, 2017, 09:15:50 AM

If I win a 6x6 I'll sell it, useless for anything other than show pony. For that money I'll buy an ex-army Unimog and set it up for touring/Fraser Island fishing. Atleast I know the Unimog will still be running after 10 years. Wonder if the 6x6 will last that long.

The 6x6 will last a long time

http://www.allisons.org/ll/4/LandRover/Perentie/ (http://www.allisons.org/ll/4/LandRover/Perentie/)

http://www.remlr.com/perentie-6-gs.html (http://www.remlr.com/perentie-6-gs.html)
Post by: PWE on November 16, 2017, 12:37:18 PM
Sorry, I was not clear, I am referring to the Patriot/JMacx 6x6, not the army LR 6x6.
I know that they test and retest everything while they built the Patriot/JMacx 6x6, but I would like to see how it goes in 10 years time.
Post by: trinityalyce on November 16, 2017, 03:20:05 PM
Queensland Transport do let you modify to 6x6's --> "The fitment of an additional axle is permitted in Queensland under the LB2 modification code." (From QLD Code of Practice Vehicle Modifications 2017, LB2 code is part of the National Code of Practice for Light Vehicle Construction & Modification)

One of the reasons for doing it in QLD is to get your GVM higher - you can potentially exceed QLD's "only increase by 10% factory GVM" cut-off with an additional axle.

That said, I'm not sure the cost would be worth it, or the manoeuvrability issues like others have mentioned... I wouldn't do it, but that's not to say it isn't legal.
Post by: GBC on November 16, 2017, 05:48:07 PM
Plenty of mobs in Qld do lazy axles and 6x6.
Saw these on fb today. $30k buys the lazy axle and tub setup ready to drive off. Bit more for the 6x6 version.
The ranger goes on the road with 4500 kg tow at 1900 kg payload which is just under the magic 4495kg truck licence and registration cutoff.

Photo was of a tubbed 6wd ranger but as usual this archaic site won’t upload it.
http://www.sixwheeler.com.au/ (http://www.sixwheeler.com.au/)
Post by: edz on November 16, 2017, 07:49:23 PM
Think the Blokes might have been  watching reruns of Top Gear on youtube .. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QaNk116b2kw (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QaNk116b2kw)  ..
Wonder what the warranty and parts back up of all those custom made bits would be like  if you broke something ..  Can the Toy Toyota  deflate / reinflate all six tires by pushing a button in the cab too .
They could always go retro ;D
Post by: Alan Loy on November 17, 2017, 05:21:37 AM
I agree that these 6 wheelers look cool but is there any real advantage over something like Iveco Daily 4X4?
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on November 17, 2017, 06:30:19 AM
Hi Alan, If you love going to out of the way places the Iveco 4x4 and Unimogs are way to high to get in a lot of places, There was a couple come into Pennefarther up the Cape this year they just about tore down every tree limb in the joint let alone what damage they did to the top of the 4wd, As you say the 6x6 look good but for the average camper way over the top, I only have an old 80 series and Jayco pop up or a 5m tinny and I carry way to much crap, let alone a 6x6 would take me hours to unpack and pack up again, Craig
Post by: Rumpig on November 17, 2017, 06:35:02 AM
Hi Alan, If you love going to out of the way places the Iveco 4x4 and Unimogs are way to high to get in a lot of places, There was a couple come into Pennefarther up the Cape this year they just about tore down every tree limb in the joint let alone what damage they did to the top of the 4wd, As you say the 6x6 look good but for the average camper way over the top, I only have an old 80 series and Jayco pop up or a 5m tinny and I carry way to much crap, let alone a 6x6 would take me hours to unpack and pack up again, Craig
i remember back in 2006 being up the Cape and as we headed South along the Tele Track we came across a similar sort of truck coming the opposite way....the husband was walking in front of the truck with an axe as his misses drove, looked like he was doing a fair whack of clearing as they went.
Post by: vern on November 17, 2017, 07:01:40 AM
I agree that these 6 wheelers look cool but is there any real advantage over something like Iveco Daily 4X4?
Probably reliability over the iveco.
Check out the iveco daily fails and lemons facebook page.
Fantastic car for offroad touring, crap in every other way.

Post by: ravenhard on November 17, 2017, 08:26:02 AM
Omg YES. I see a lot written about how good the Iveco daily is. I just cringe. We had 6 at my work depot for a few years. They were the biggest POS we had. Continually breaking down and needing rebuilds. There wasn’t a time when we had all 6 running at the same time. Engine, tranny diff rebuilds where common let alone all the electrical gremlins it had.

On top of the the thing was slow and dangerous. 125kw/400nm for something with a GVM of 4.5T. We had autos and it had the worst turbo lag imaginable.

The worst was being a passenger in 1. Yes we had the basic spec model but the passenger seat couldn’t recline and the back seats had narrow doors and almost vertical upright seats. Hated being in the thing longer that 30mins as the seats were paper thin.

Got rid of all of them as they were deems too dangerous to drive all before they hit the 150k mark

Sorry for the rant. It makes my blood boil every time I see 4wd TV and that knob Simon Christie say how good it is
Post by: GBC on November 17, 2017, 09:30:25 AM
Now that the Canter 4x4 is back and improved I'd think the Ivecos will take a big back seat again. For carrying weigh a 6x6 with articulation is going to belt a 4x4 simply because the psi on the ground is less. Have you ever seen a Tatra 6x6 in action?
Post by: Rumpig on November 17, 2017, 12:13:25 PM
Sorry for the rant. It makes my blood boil every time I see 4wd TV and that knob Simon Christie say how good it is
just like every other show talking up the free 4wd's they have been given, never hear a bad word about the vehicles do ya...lol.
Post by: PWE on November 17, 2017, 12:28:00 PM
just like every other show talking up the free 4wd's they have been given, never hear a bad word about the vehicles do ya...lol.

I always wondered why no-one have a Great Wall, Mahindra or SSANGYONG Actyon Sports as a show pony. ;D
Post by: plusnq on November 17, 2017, 12:33:23 PM
I always wondered why no-one have a Great Wall, Mahindra or SSANGYONG Actyon Sports as a show pony. ;D

Can’t be far away. I know of a Great Wall that did the Canning Stock Route. What’s the bet it is a second vehicle on a crew “ for evaluation”.

All the vehicles are compromises. We just have to choose what is important to us at the time.
Post by: trinityalyce on November 17, 2017, 01:22:09 PM
All the vehicles are compromises. We just have to choose what is important to us at the time.

Truer words haven't been spoken. Who can say they like everything about their vehicle? Is anyone out there actually driving their car completely stock and loving it in all its glory, or have we made modifications to the car we can justify/afford/was the best option for us at the time?

I love our Patrol... but there sure are things I'd change about it... and there's a lot of things we HAVE changed.

For some people, a Great Wall might be "the best they can afford". Good on them. I think it was on here (could have been one of the other forums I'm on) someone posted a photo in one of my threads of a lady driving remote in her little Jimny (I think it was a tag-along?). I wouldn't dream of touring in mine! But that is what the previous owners of my car did with it... and it suited them fine.
Post by: Bird on November 17, 2017, 01:37:39 PM
there was a chick trying to sell one setup as a B&S ute few years ago.. **** she copped hell over it.. spent thousands on doing it up.. but it was still a pig with 1/2 lipstick on it
Post by: Humphreythebear on November 17, 2017, 02:16:22 PM
Not to be a knob Mr Bird ....
But people buy chinese campers ....
not defending them - but everyone has a price point that they can justify , whether to themselves or their other half .

" babe/darl/luv/hon , ive got to get a landcruiser with a bar n winch n lights and drawers with a fridge , a 2 way then we'll need a lift and new tyres "
coz im making memories with you , luv/darl/hon/babe .

"can i buy a camper ? "

'Go buy anything you like , dont spend more than $5 grand ! '

:angel:
Post by: 03GV on November 17, 2017, 09:11:35 PM
I see Jase's landcruiser from last year is for sale for $140,000 .
Post by: McGirr on November 17, 2017, 09:27:55 PM
These days its purely lets get free gear and paid a fortune and do a show.

Miss the good old days of Malcolm Douglas etc where it was an adventure show with no advertising or promotional crap just great locations and great fishing with basic gear. Always laughed when he had pliers to use a frypan on a fire.

Must be getting old as the new shows do nothing for me.

Post by: tracker on November 18, 2017, 01:54:36 AM
These days its purely lets get free gear and paid a fortune and do a show.

Miss the good old days of Malcolm Douglas etc where it was an adventure show with no advertising or promotional crap just great locations and great fishing with basic gear. Always laughed when he had pliers to use a frypan on a fire.

Must be getting old as the new shows do nothing for me.

X2....... Cheers Tracker.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on November 18, 2017, 03:55:21 AM
Gee I do not know which Malcolm Douglas you watched all the ones I have seen were full of sponcers gear, His Toyota, his Trailcraft boat, the outboards the oils he used , the winches, the tyre and tire changer, come to think of it everything on the show had sutle ads for the lot, even his croc farm, but great show anyway, You got to remember this load and in your face stile is all for the yanky market, Steve Irwin was the master of it, Craig
Post by: wakychapmans on November 18, 2017, 06:17:04 AM
Gee I do not know which Malcolm Douglas you watched all the ones I have seen were full of sponcers gear, His Toyota, his Trailcraft boat, the outboards the oils he used , the winches, the tyre and tire changer, come to think of it everything on the show had sutle ads for the lot, even his croc farm, but great show anyway, You got to remember this load and in your face stile is all for the yanky market, Steve Irwin was the master of it, Craig

three words...

Bush Tucker Man.

not one ad. Not one promo...

great hat.
Post by: vern on November 18, 2017, 06:41:28 AM
three words...

Bush Tucker Man.

great hat.
Great car too

Post by: DaveR on November 18, 2017, 07:45:11 AM
Great car too

And great books.!

I must admit, I have now watched the 2 episodes for this season of A4A, and they are the only ones I have seen. I don't mind it as they aren't knobs like the hat, who I can't watch.
Although the A4A boys need to improve on their comedy routine, the coffee thing was kind of funny, but how is he not gonna know about the van being unhitched.  ;D
Post by: Bird on November 18, 2017, 08:23:15 AM
Quote from: MuruCycles
three words...

Bush Tucker Man.

great hat.
yup, was watching some last night actually! Imagine what you could learn from a 2 week trip with him LOL

PS... still have his hat here :D
Post by: 03GV on November 18, 2017, 11:37:41 AM
Just watching the simpson episode and as mentioned above, they definitely wiched alot more than they show. Because Simons winch rope is in all sorts of differnt positions throughout.
Post by: Rumpig on November 18, 2017, 12:31:18 PM
Just watching the simpson episode and as mentioned above, they definitely wiched alot more than they show. Because Simons winch rope is in all sorts of differnt positions throughout.
my guess is they winched plenty on that crossing, but show how much they really did it and they'd likely cop a massive backlash about it. When they did that crossing earlier this year, a mate who deals with them told me Vaughan who owns MDC / Aus RV was getting ready to cop a heap of criticism for them taking the van over......I'd say they decided to show some of the winching but not make out they struggled that much to limit any outcry.
Post by: GBC on November 18, 2017, 06:12:55 PM
Great car too

I spent some time with the camera crew in 1989 up the cape. The number of shots where the crew’s troopys had already driven through, set up the shot and watched the Landy get stuck were comical.
Post by: vern on November 18, 2017, 06:54:29 PM
I spent some time with the camera crew in 1989 up the cape. The number of shots where the crew’s troopys had already driven through, set up the shot and watched the Landy get stuck were comical.
90% of the time I have seen it the opposite, where a stock landy goes and a cruiser gets stuck. Its quite comical

Post by: GBC on November 18, 2017, 08:03:50 PM
Best 4wd in the world with the royal engineers fixing them each night. Then again so would a Great Wall. How did the camera get there......
Post by: DaveR on November 20, 2017, 06:04:40 AM
I wonder what the skin cancer folk think about the shows with the guys being sunburnt most of the time.  ;D
Post by: doc evil on November 20, 2017, 09:47:39 AM

You forgot the main one that he had plastered everywhere...........AMPOL.

But still, no real plugging of products unlike the current crop. Can't even fast forward as you think the ads are part of the show (and vice versa)
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on November 20, 2017, 03:00:15 PM
Yep true,  Great show old Malcolm's was, his and bush Tuckerman, Craig
Post by: trinityalyce on November 20, 2017, 04:50:21 PM
Product placement is everywhere. Even in your blockbuster movies and "mainstream" TV shows that have nothing to do with the actual product. That brand of drink the character is drinking? Advertising right there. Just like all the "social media celebrities" getting paid to drive around in Juicy camper vans or promote certain regions to their 10k Insta followers...

I'd rather them come right out and say it in a way that's clearly advertising. The "grey area" of disclosure of sponsored/paid promotion in the social media world is rather frustrating, and many do it in such a way that is ambiguous (or just don't mention any disclosure at all).
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on November 21, 2017, 07:12:52 AM
Hi Ttle, Yes it everywhere, I was lucky to get a start writing for a small QLD fishing mag that sells around 25,000 copies a month in QLD and NSW and the NT, 12 or 14 year ago now, The owners tried to get all the there writers to disclose who they were sponsored by it never happened, What I have found the one with the brownest lips wins, Craig     
Post by: KeithB on November 21, 2017, 08:25:32 AM
I have owned a business-to-business publishing and exhibitions outfit for 30 years and the digital landscape in recent years has changed everything. Companies can now have a direct relationship with their buyers through social media, can directly measure customer engagement and have developed websites that have completely bypassed the retailer. Donald Trump has become president largely via social media.

This has left traditional media like print and TV at something of a loose end. So they have been under increasing pressure to sell their souls to keep afloat. We now see product promos on TV passed off as news pieces. Ditto in magazines. It's not been a matter of greed, but of commercial survival.

In the 4WD world, just look at how the new digital publications have completely bypassed the newsagent. And their TV equivalents look like one continuous ad.

I think we are going to see many retailers downsizing their bricks and mortar presence and increasing their digital presence in the coming years and will will rely less and less on print and TV advertising. We'll probably also see the spectre of fake news raising its ugly head in the consumer products arena. Rigged product reviews immediately come to mind. For serious newspapers, expensive investigative journalism and general news reporting is also under threat. Just weigh favourite newspaper and compare it to 20 years ago.

These are very changing times.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on November 21, 2017, 10:15:32 AM
So true Kieth, But it still comes back to who you know in a lot of cases, Craig
Post by: trinityalyce on November 21, 2017, 10:33:15 AM
I have owned a business-to-business publishing and exhibitions outfit for 30 years and the digital landscape in recent years has changed everything. Companies can now have a direct relationship with their buyers through social media, can directly measure customer engagement and have developed websites that have completely bypassed the retailer. Donald Trump has become president largely via social media.

This has left traditional media like print and TV at something of a loose end. So they have been under increasing pressure to sell their souls to keep afloat. We now see product promos on TV passed off as news pieces. Ditto in magazines. It's not been a matter of greed, but of commercial survival.

In the 4WD world, just look at how the new digital publications have completely bypassed the newsagent. And their TV equivalents look like one continuous ad.

I think we are going to see many retailers downsizing their bricks and mortar presence and increasing their digital presence in the coming years and will will rely less and less on print and TV advertising. We'll probably also see the spectre of fake news raising its ugly head in the consumer products arena. Rigged product reviews immediately come to mind. For serious newspapers, expensive investigative journalism and general news reporting is also under threat. Just weigh favourite newspaper and compare it to 20 years ago.

These are very changing times.

All very valid points. My current study/career change direction is in the world of "information" (yes, rather broad. I tell people I meet I'm becoming a librarian when I don't want them to talk to me... Makes a nice change to hearing everyones "cute animal stories" when I told them I was a veterinarian!  ;D ). The issue of "fake news" isn't directly something that comes up in my studies, but something that the field skirts around. People need to be taught to be discerning consumers of information (it's not a natural skill), to recognise when things are sponsored (biased) even if it is not clearly disclosed, or when they're downright fabricated (unverifiable, usually). We used to be able to trust what we read as it was reviewed, fact-checked, edited, and determined suitable for print. The world of the internet has changed that - anyone can write what they like on whatever platform they choose to project their voice from.

You only have to look at some of the 4WD blogs out there giving slightly incorrect to downright dangerous advice for an example. Many people no longer have integrity in "publishing" (traditional media through to blogs, youtube, etc.). They post their opinion as gospel truth. They don't back up their "facts" with reputable sources. As a result, anyone can slander anyone, anyone can promote their item as "the best", propagate misinformation, etc.

OK, enough of my soapbox ranting. ;)
Post by: Rumpig on November 21, 2017, 11:28:38 AM
Hi Ttle, Yes it everywhere, I was lucky to get a start writing for a small QLD fishing mag that sells around 25,000 copies a month in QLD and NSW and the NT, 12 or 14 year ago now, The owners tried to get all the there writers to disclose who they were sponsored by it never happened, What I have found the one with the brownest lips wins, Craig     
ET would be a winner for sure, his fishing show is by far the worst for consistent product endorsements i reckon....even worse then Mr 4x4
Post by: wakychapmans on November 21, 2017, 11:57:30 AM
ET would be a winner for sure, his fishing show is by far the worst for consistent product endorsements i reckon....even worse then Mr 4x4

that's a huge call... even worse than the Pat in the hat?

Post by: GBC on November 21, 2017, 12:26:32 PM
ET for the infomercial win - I haven't been able to watch for a couple of years.

A grand example of misinformation would have to be Pat's latest online edition, espousing body lifts and how the only thing you need to be aware of is loosening the steering column. The 'journo' who wrote it has clearly never had anything to do with body lifts and missed the bulbar, radiator!!!, fuel filler, gear selector, towbar, handbrake etc etc etc. There will be a whole generation of kids buying lift blocks off ebay this week with no clue about what lies ahead thanks to that article.
Post by: Eski on November 21, 2017, 01:43:08 PM

You only have to look at some of the 4WD blogs out there giving slightly incorrect to downright dangerous advice for an example. Many people no longer have integrity in "publishing" (traditional media through to blogs, youtube, etc.). They post their opinion as gospel truth. They don't back up their "facts" with reputable sources. As a result, anyone can slander anyone, anyone can promote their item as "the best", propagate misinformation, etc.

OK, enough of my soapbox ranting. ;)

I read somewhere, in the old days, society ran on Fact & Reason.   However the current society now runs on Opinion & Feelings.  When you sit back and l look around you it's pretty much true..
Post by: Rumpig on November 21, 2017, 06:03:04 PM
that's a huge call... even worse than the Pat in the hat?
i haven't seen a show yet where ET hasn't mentioned the reason he sees a fish is because of his brand X polarised sunnies, he's wearing such and such belt syle life jacket around his waste, etc etc etc...i reckon he's more blatant then Pat
Post by: 03GV on November 21, 2017, 08:09:06 PM
i haven't seen a show yet where ET hasn't mentioned the reason he sees a fish is because of his brand X polarised sunnies, he's wearing such and such belt syle life jacket around his waste, etc etc etc...i reckon he's more blatant then Pat

What about  Paul "I wet my pants from excitement" Worsteling?
Post by: rags on November 21, 2017, 08:41:22 PM

Funny you should mention the ET sunnies, I'm just sitting here watching an episode of A4A that I recorded from earlier this year ( I set the fox to record as a series and watch later usually when wife is away like now)
Anyway in this episode they are on Dirk Hartog Island and Simon drops his sunnies over a cliff edge and so gets Jason to winch him over the edge in a bosson chair set up and down to ocean level to retrieve the sunnies. Great for effect but I gathered from this that A4A have not secured as sponsor  for sunnies as 1) if they where sponsored I'm sure they would have multiple spare pairs, 2) They never once mention the sunny brand considering they were not broken from the fall so good advertising opportunity 3) you would only retrieved them if you payed your hard earn $ for them and had no spares.
Post by: trinityalyce on November 22, 2017, 08:12:44 AM
3) you would only retrieved them if you payed your hard earn $ for them and had no spares.

Or if you thought it'd make for good TV and keep viewers watching ;)