General => General Discussion => Topic started by: MarkGU on June 02, 2017, 07:47:42 PM

Title: My 2018 entry for the Variety Bash NSW
Post by: MarkGU on June 02, 2017, 07:47:42 PM
As the title states this is the car i recently purchased for the 2018 Variety Bash. ;D

Its a 1964 Wolseley 24/80. It has a 2.5 litre 6 cylinder engine with a 3 speed Auto Borg Warner gearbox.It is in very good condition for its age,with only being shedded 6 years ago after being a daily driver in the Gold Coast area.
Cant wait to get her all all complete so we can go cruising  :cup:

Price paid: 1 x ctn beer. :angel:

(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P1000791_zpss4pcjnyj.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P1000791_zpss4pcjnyj.jpg.html)
(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P1000814_zpskgkf1ub6.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P1000814_zpskgkf1ub6.jpg.html)
(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P1000802_zps83qs3duq.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P1000802_zps83qs3duq.jpg.html)
Title: Re: My 2018 entry for the Variety Bash NSW
Post by: Rumpig on June 02, 2017, 07:58:36 PM
Was amazing to see where we took cars on the Endevour Car rallies I used to go on.....bit of a suspension lift and some good quality off-road tyres on the vehicle worked wonders.
Post by: Bird on June 02, 2017, 08:04:45 PM
always wanted to do one of them events... mate did the 4wd one years back and had the best time of his life.
Post by: JPH on June 02, 2017, 09:44:25 PM
That's awesome! Amazing what you can get for a box! Look forward to the build and adventures!
Post by: Frostd on June 02, 2017, 10:40:08 PM
Mate, stunning. It will be a great car to get you through the rally. ;)
Post by: GeoffA on June 03, 2017, 06:53:36 AM
Hey Mark, you'll have plenty of time to enjoy the scenery.... ;D

What are you going to call it?

The handbrake doesn't work.

Heaps of fun to be had... :cup: :cup:
Post by: MarkGU on June 03, 2017, 07:15:43 AM
Hey Mark, you'll have plenty of time to enjoy the scenery.... ;D

What are you going to call it?

The handbrake doesn't work.

Heaps of fun to be had... :cup: :cup:
actually the hand brake works great in it. the rest of the braking system doesnt, but i will sort that part out  :cup:
Post by: Rumpig on June 03, 2017, 07:31:00 AM
So where do Swaggers put their name down to be drawn out of a hat to be ride along Crew? ;D ;D ;D
Not sure if you are choosing Variety Bash for a particular reason, but they were a lot more expensive to enter into then the Endevour Car Rallies were. I've not done a bash for probably 10 years now, but check out the prices to go in them as it used to be nearly double to do the Variety Bash over the Endevour Car Rally.
Post by: MarkGU on June 03, 2017, 07:40:58 AM
So where do Swaggers put their name down to be drawn out of a hat to be ride along Crew? ;D ;D ;D
Not sure if you are choosing Variety Bash for a particular reason, but they were a lot more expensive to enter into then the Endevour Car Rallies were. I've not done a bash for probably 10 years now, but check out the prices to go in them as it used to be nearly double to do the Variety Bash over the Endevour Car Rally.
Variety is all about the kids.4k to enter ( donations are already rolling in for that part.)
Bring it on.
Post by: GeoffA on June 03, 2017, 07:52:16 AM
Variety is all about the kids.4k to enter ( donations are already rolling in for that part.)
Bring it on.

How does one contribute?
Post by: Rumpig on June 03, 2017, 08:08:54 AM
Bring it on.
was just reading their page as $4K seemed cheaper then I recalled it being. It says minimum cost looks to be $5660 for a rookie team assuming only you in the car ($5k donation and $660 each person in the vehicle, and a $7K donation required for non rookie teams plus $660 each person). Cost all goes to a good cause regardless, and all these car / 4wd rallies help out people in need which is what it's about. Have fun mate
Post by: Steffo1 on June 03, 2017, 08:44:41 AM
I'm looking forward to this Mark. Keep the pics supplied mate!
Good Luck with it.
Post by: edz on June 03, 2017, 09:58:54 AM
Now thats a blast from the past .. We had two Wolseleys to pull a part / put back together and do body work and paint on in our Auto mechanics class at high school ...
See someone modernised the brakes with a remote VH 40/44 brake booster  too. Give the O'l girl a nice house paint sponsored paint job and she will look a treat .
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 03, 2017, 02:09:39 PM
An old axle snapper.....  :cup:

Those vents on each side of the grille, have been used for years as mudguard flutes on old customs in the 60's and 70's.

Make sure you have ya bowls hat on the back parcel shelf.
Post by: broncos11 on June 03, 2017, 03:01:35 PM
Well done mate. Awesome effort by you for a great cause. Can we crack South Beach with her for a trial run????
Post by: GeoffA on June 03, 2017, 03:51:52 PM
An old axle snapper.....  :cup:

...with an Auto??
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 03, 2017, 03:56:31 PM
...with an Auto??

Most likely.... A HB pencil would be bigger than an axle in one those things and they only about 8 splines on 'em.
Post by: bdrjnr on June 04, 2017, 10:49:16 AM
I am x basher from nsw and loved doing the rallies.  We used to go in a larger team of about 5 cars. And about 20 people. 

We are trying to get the old crew back together. But all comes down to time and money these days.

I used to have a xy falcon.  Dad had a mustang then a zepher.. 

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: Bad Scott on June 05, 2017, 05:04:55 PM
Give the O'l girl a nice house paint sponsored paint job and she will look a treat .
box of 2 pak pressure pak cans with GT strips and flames ;D ;D
Post by: GeoffA on June 05, 2017, 05:19:43 PM
box of 2 pak pressure pak cans with GT strips and flames ;D ;D

:cup: :cup:

.....or camo
Post by: Bad Scott on June 05, 2017, 05:21:56 PM
.....or camo
'Dude, where's my car' comes to mind   ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on June 05, 2017, 05:27:01 PM
see thru :D

(http://i.imgur.com/48SNK.jpg)
Post by: MarkGU on June 24, 2017, 07:44:22 PM
More pics from the Wolseley 24/80 build up.  :cup:

(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P1000842_zpsdbdx5csw.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P1000842_zpsdbdx5csw.jpg.html)

(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P1000840_zpsh2xivywx.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P1000840_zpsh2xivywx.jpg.html)

(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P1000839_zpsloulv88s.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P1000839_zpsloulv88s.jpg.html)

(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P1000838_zpsfesjk3nd.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P1000838_zpsfesjk3nd.jpg.html)

Post by: MarkGU on June 24, 2017, 07:51:19 PM
(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P1000799_zpsaka1vgfy.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P1000799_zpsaka1vgfy.jpg.html)

(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P1000851_zpskmgq6a2y.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P1000851_zpskmgq6a2y.jpg.html)

(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P1000853_zpsxlzpuirr.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P1000853_zpsxlzpuirr.jpg.html)

(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P1000854_zpshtckeyml.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P1000854_zpshtckeyml.jpg.html)

(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P1000856_zpscmywx1zq.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P1000856_zpscmywx1zq.jpg.html)

Post by: Hairs on July 14, 2017, 10:55:20 PM
Can't see any of the pictures in your thread.  ???
Looks like you have to upgrade your account at Photobucket.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on July 15, 2017, 01:01:27 AM
Looks like Mark's stuff is being held for ransom by photobucket.
Post by: Hairs on July 15, 2017, 06:45:43 AM
Anyone that has a photobucket account that they use for hosting has the same image showing.
Go through Swaggers profiles, the same image showing where the sig pic is hosted with Photobucket.
Looks like it will be cheaper to buy your own domain and host pictures there.
Post by: MrCruza on July 15, 2017, 09:22:07 AM
Or you could just attach them to your post. Look at the Additional Options button under the text box and attach your photo there.
Post by: Hairs on July 15, 2017, 09:39:21 AM
(http://www.clarencecoastpropertymaintenance.com.au/images/smilies/thumbsup.gif) 

Post by: MrCruza on July 15, 2017, 10:08:57 AM
Set up an account on Imgur..

Imgur photo hosting (https://imgur.com/)

Virtually the same as the bucket but still free.
Post by: MarkGU on July 17, 2017, 10:54:08 PM
Some more pics.

Replaced the front cross member boxes as they were all but rusted away.Welded in 1.6mm plate to replace what was missing.
http://imgur.com/5Xwg8j0 (http://imgur.com/5Xwg8j0)
http://imgur.com/n7ONNfP (http://imgur.com/n7ONNfP)
http://imgur.com/zhGyIw6 (http://imgur.com/zhGyIw6)
http://imgur.com/nxdPD5Q (http://imgur.com/nxdPD5Q)
http://imgur.com/nDOHmQU (http://imgur.com/nDOHmQU)
http://imgur.com/2qSQ1Hr (http://imgur.com/2qSQ1Hr)
Post by: MarkGU on August 04, 2017, 07:40:55 AM
gday all.

Here i have added my donation page for the 2018 Variety Bash  :cup:

Please donate what you can for this worthy cause...........Variety, The Childrens Charity.

https://nswbash2018.everydayhero.com/au/variety-bash-car-no-0169 (https://nswbash2018.everydayhero.com/au/variety-bash-car-no-0169)
Post by: GeoffA on August 04, 2017, 08:07:43 PM
Please donate what you can for this worthy cause...........Variety, The Childrens Charity.

Done... :cup: :cup:
Post by: MarkGU on August 04, 2017, 08:21:30 PM
Done... :cup: :cup:
thank you very much Geoff  :cup:
Post by: MrCruza on August 04, 2017, 09:59:24 PM
Done :)

Looks like your going to have a blast  :cheers:
Post by: MarkGU on August 05, 2017, 07:17:46 AM
Done :)

Looks like your going to have a blast  :cheers:
i see your contribution John.........thank you very much  :cup:
Post by: GeoffA on August 07, 2017, 06:22:44 PM
Bump..... ;D ;D
Post by: MarkGU on September 23, 2017, 08:15:41 PM
Gday everyone.

I have been very busy with the car build to do anything else lately.it is coming along great atm,with just the engine install the major job to do.  :)

I have a donation page set up for my car, so if you can, a few dollars donated would be appreciated by myself & the kids to which the money will go.  :cup:

https://nswbash2018.everydayhero.com/au/variety-bash-car-no-0169 (https://nswbash2018.everydayhero.com/au/variety-bash-car-no-0169)

I will add more pics in when i find a host for my pics ( dam photobucket are charging now)  >:(