General => General Discussion => Topic started by: UIZ733 on April 29, 2017, 08:33:02 AM

Title: Bunnings
Post by: UIZ733 on April 29, 2017, 08:33:02 AM
Is it Australia's newest and most observed religion?
Significantly more cars in the Big Green Sheds car-park and people inside on a Sunday morning, than any of the recognized religions.
We might have to get Pauline (perhaps Cory and George too) onto it in case there are subversive implications for the nation. ;D
Title: Re: Bunnings
Post by: loanrangie on April 29, 2017, 09:47:12 AM
Significantly more cars in the Big Green Sheds car-park and people inside on a Sunday morning, than any of the recognized religions.
We might have to get Pauline (perhaps Cory and George too) onto it in case there are subversive implications for the nation. ;D
Must be the yearning for snag in bread that draws the crowds.

Sent from my K4000_PRO using Tapatalk

Post by: Chris. on April 29, 2017, 09:57:17 AM
Must be the yearning for snag in bread that draws the crowds.

It wouldn't be the customer service you receive there  ;D
Post by: gronk on April 29, 2017, 10:29:59 AM
It wouldn't be the customer service you receive there  ;D

Every body goes there, but no one complains about the worst service in Australia !!

To the lady at the front saying hello, get your ar*e behind that cash register....now !!

They have self service checkouts.......but not for cash ??
Post by: D4D on April 29, 2017, 10:35:34 AM
They have self service checkouts.......but not for cash ??

That's because Bunnings IT built the self serve point of sale in-house, rather than paying squillions for some from NCR etc. that take cash like Coles did. There's a bit of competitive rivalry between the Wesfarmers companies.
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 29, 2017, 11:08:48 AM
At our local Bunnings (THE worst in Australia, hands down winner) the self serve are never open anyway - they need someone to supervise the checkouts lol.
Post by: The punter on April 29, 2017, 11:14:35 AM
If Bunnings was a religion, they would need a figurehead skyfairy
Post by: Bird on April 29, 2017, 11:26:51 AM
Quote from: gronk
Every body goes there
that's cause they have killed off the useful smaller hardware stores.
religion is a bad joke anyway.. my fictional character is better than yours :-*
Post by: Chris. on April 29, 2017, 11:30:42 AM
Every body goes there, but no one complains about the worst service in Australia !!

says a lot for the human race hey... I love the place but you need to know what you're after... heaven help anyone who needs to ask for some assistance.
Post by: Rumpig on April 29, 2017, 12:26:54 PM
religion is a bad joke anyway.. my fictional character is better than yours :-*
still some great little hardware stores about, but many Bunnings visitors want the ease of a store being 5 minutes away over quality service and product knowledge. I'm happy to drive 20 minutes away into the city to visit Paddington Hardware here in Brisbane at times over visiting Bunnings who have very little variety of many products. Finlaysons whilst expensive is my go to for timber mouldings, especially when chasing anything related to old Qld'er houses, Bunnings will have very little to choose from. I avoid Bunnings as much as possibly especially on weekends (Brett's and Hudsons are other options), but sometimes the store being literally 5 minutes up the road means I'll stop in there to grab stuff over visiting a real hardware store.
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 29, 2017, 12:32:56 PM
Whatever anyone thinks of them, and whatever may or may not be true, one indisputable fact is that, along with Supercheap, they are one of the most successful and biggest growing chain retail stores in Australia over the last 20 years.  You cannot deny that, and therefore the basic principles of the business must be sound.  The bigger stores are usually good IMHO, but the smaller outlets such as ours at Victoria Point leave a lot to be desired sadly. We have no other options within 1/2hr of home, other than the local Mitre 10 which is a joke as its floor space is little more than a maccas and opening hours from the 70's
Post by: gronk on April 29, 2017, 12:48:57 PM

Of course they did. Bunnings may have aisles full of say rivets, but not THE one you want....like the local little Mitre 10 had !
Post by: Troopy_03 on April 29, 2017, 01:10:03 PM
Of course they did. Bunnings may have aisles full of say rivets, but not THE one you want....like the local little Mitre 10 had !

Did you want a rivet or a trivet? No I want a rivet.... OK, I'll go and get a manager.....
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 29, 2017, 01:53:32 PM
Mitre 10 Gympie is awesome...just saying...lol
Post by: loanrangie on April 29, 2017, 02:24:47 PM
I've never had a problem but then i go in knowing what i want and generally know where it is.
Post by: Roo on April 29, 2017, 02:45:07 PM
I never have a problem at Bunnings but then I did work in Hardware for a few years so generally know what in looking for....the elusive lefthanded screwdriver and the checkered paint.

Post by: Bird on April 29, 2017, 02:59:39 PM
the one back home that destroyed 4 top small shops is getting bigger
"Bunnings Warehouse at Caringbah will close its doors soon, allowing work to start on a $38 million knockdown-rebuild"

http://www.theleader.com.au/story/4615174/bunnings-taren-point-to-open-soon/ (http://www.theleader.com.au/story/4615174/bunnings-taren-point-to-open-soon/)

Quote from: 3rd time lucky
Whatever anyone thinks of them, and whatever may or may not be true, one indisputable fact is that, along with Supercheap, they are one of the most successful and biggest growing chain retail stores in Australia over the last 20 years.  You cannot deny that, and therefore the basic principles of the business must be sound

nobody is denying it.. doesn't make it better for consumers.. just shows how ****ed the human race has become.

The bigger stores are usually good IMHO, but the smaller outlets such as ours at Victoria Point leave a lot to be desired sadly. We have no other options within 1/2hr of home, other than the local Mitre 10 which is a joke as its floor space is little more than a maccas and opening hours from the 70's
Bigger are better? Bunnings?? There isnt anyone in our local bunnings who could use a screwdriver....
the reason smaller stores 'leave to be desired' is because nobody shops there and they have no $$ to buy stock. its just a vicious circle - but that's their business model how to destroy the competition
Post by: Rumpig on April 29, 2017, 03:21:40 PM
Whatever anyone thinks of them, and whatever may or may not be true, one indisputable fact is that, along with Supercheap, they are one of the most successful and biggest growing chain retail stores in Australia over the last 20 years.  You cannot deny that, and therefore the basic principles of the business must be sound.  The bigger stores are usually good IMHO, but the smaller outlets such as ours at Victoria Point leave a lot to be desired sadly. We have no other options within 1/2hr of home, other than the local Mitre 10 which is a joke as its floor space is little more than a maccas and opening hours from the 70's
nobody can deny their business model is a success, but it has been at the expense of many smaller family run businesses sadly. How good the stores are depends on what you want to buy I guess...from a Carpenter of 25 years point of view I think they are woeful as far as being a proper hardware store. Yes they stock the basics, but their range has dwindled over the years to only stock their biggest selling items....great from a profitable business point of view, but rubbish as a customer if you are trying to do something other then what the average home handyman wants to do.

Mitre 10 Gympie is awesome...just saying...lol
and charged like wounded bulls before Bunnings came along to break their dominance in town. I have found Bunnings Gympie has a better selection of hardware type stuff then my local Brisbane stores have...each store seems to cater to their local market I guess.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 29, 2017, 04:57:22 PM
I've always found the staff very intellleegebt...um..itelee gent....no, that's nor tight....smarda dan me and very elpfull.

Being as dum as wheelbarra full of bricks has its advantages.  ;D

I did a Govt. funded IQ test thingy about 3 weeks ago.

On Friday, they sent me Get Well card and $20.00...... guess i'm the winner.
Post by: 03GV on April 29, 2017, 05:20:48 PM
Here in south oz, all the others like Mitre 10 and Home hardware are useless except a bigger Mitre 10 on the south coast because they serve a huge amount of builders a trades down that way.

Our localish Bunnings has the same with the self serve, never open unless its the week before xmas day so no point to them even being there.
And I reckon if you don't know what you want before entering  your gonna suffer!
Post by: kylarama on April 29, 2017, 06:50:25 PM
For home its the local Mitre 10. For work it Bowens Timber. Tools its Power Tool Specialist.
Last resort its the Green Shed.

Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 29, 2017, 06:50:48 PM
The bigger stores in our area have a far better range - i wasnt referring to better service from the staff. The majority of the general public buy from them, so they must be doing something right. If the so called local small hardwares were relevant they would survive. Alas they are dwindling just like road side strip shops suffered at the hands of Westfield etc. I dont deny i go where i have the best chance of getting everything "in 1 hit" so to speak. Thats why Woolies and Coles clean up in comparison to the local butcher and green grocer. They potentially have better produce, but these days time poor consumers only want 1 check out instead of 3.
Post by: speewa158 on April 29, 2017, 06:54:19 PM

Bumbling's

say no more           :cheers:
Post by: gronk on April 29, 2017, 07:34:14 PM
Not like the old little Mitre 10 store down the road.......if you wanted 15 screws...not a problem.....Bunnings......do you want a packet of 100 or packet of a 500 ??
I remember buying by weight...ok, I wanted about 10 screws....you might have got 12, but at the price, who cared !!
Post by: Bird on April 29, 2017, 07:41:58 PM
The majority of the general public buy from them, so they must be doing something right.
yes the majority have no options. that was the killing off of the smaller stores you missed  ;D

If the so called local small hardwares were relevant they would survive.
rubbish.
large shops have massive buying power. Coles, Woolies, etc etc
Bunnings rings up and says we'll take 100 pallets of Bosch things... Yep for an order that big, you can have for $40 per unit
Dad n Daves hardware rings and says we'll take 10 units. for that order you can have them at $75

Bunnings sells for $60 which is less than Dad n Dave can buy it for. Dad n Dave go broke, Bunnings love it and up their price.. its known as divide and conquer and give you no options.\

But I'm sure this has been done a dozen times in the past.
Post by: Rumpig on April 29, 2017, 08:06:14 PM
yes the majority have no options. that was the killing off of the smaller stores you missed  ;D
rubbish.
large shops have massive buying power. Coles, Woolies, etc etc
Bunnings rings up and says we'll take 100 pallets of Bosch things... Yep for an order that big, you can have for $40 per unit
Dad n Daves hardware rings and says we'll take 10 units. for that order you can have them at $75

Bunnings sells for $60 which is less than Dad n Dave can buy it for. Dad n Dave go broke, Bunnings love it and up their price.. its known as divide and conquer and give you no options.\

But I'm sure this has been done a dozen times in the past.
it's not just their buying power, many items on the shelf Bunnings don't even own, they sell the space that those items are stocked on and other companies carry the cost of those items until they are sold.
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 29, 2017, 08:22:39 PM
Rubbish is all i am reading. Successful businesses adapt to market forces and governing authority regulations. Whinging losers with their heads stuck in the 70's sand go broke. No capitalist economic environment stays stable for long. Constant evolution. I have no other option? Is that why i drive straight past the pig sh#t local hardware for another 5 minutes in heavy traffic to get to Bunnings?  Really,l? Lol agree to disagree and leave it there. Be good.
Post by: Bird on April 29, 2017, 09:08:21 PM
Rubbish is all i am reading. Successful businesses adapt to market forces and governing authority regulations.
So a company with 250k turn over should be able to survive against a billion $ company that could infact sell at a loss for 5 yrs to just pwn the smaller business?? specially when shelves are full of items on consignment? LMAO

Bunnings figures 2016.
Revenue A$11.6 billion (2016)
Operating income A$1.2 billion (2016)
Post by: gronk on April 29, 2017, 09:14:02 PM
Rubbish is all i am reading. Successful businesses adapt to market forces and governing authority regulations. Whinging losers with their heads stuck in the 70's sand go broke. No capitalist economic environment stays stable for long. Constant evolution. I have no other option? Is that why i drive straight past the pig sh#t local hardware for another 5 minutes in heavy traffic to get to Bunnings?  Really,l? Lol agree to disagree and leave it there. Be good.

I know for a fact ( clothing shop ) that a dad and dave rural shop can't ever compete with a big retail shop that comes to town.
As said, if dad and dave buy 50 pairs of jeans at $25 and sell them at $50 ( only way to make a living ) and David Jones buy them ( 500 at a time )at $18 ( because of buying power ) and sell them at $40, the local bloke has no hope of making a living....UNLESS he can keep his loyal customers.....but money is money, so how many customers can he keep ??

Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 29, 2017, 09:22:52 PM
And that is precisely the whole point of this tangent of the thread - pure economics. Why is there so much moaning and pessimistic negative attitude towards modern big business? Thats life in tbis day and age. Lamenting days gone by achieves nothing. Its so easy to criticise.
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 29, 2017, 09:26:36 PM
So a company with 250k turn over should be able to survive against a billion $ company that could infact sell at a loss for 5 yrs to just pwn the smaller business?? specially when shelves are full of items on consignment? LMAO

Bunnings figures 2016.
Revenue A$11.6 billion (2016)
Operating income A$1.2 billion (2016)
They survive or go under....its not a God given right to open a business and expect it to survive. Adapt ie grow/merge/fold...or accept the consequences.
Post by: Nomad on April 29, 2017, 09:36:06 PM
Mum and dad operators cannot keep up with Wesfarmers. Mitre 10, Homehardware etc cannot keep up with Wesfarmers......ffs Woolworths cannot keep up with Wesfarmers.

They have the money and that has been enough to hire the best in every business they want to be in. They have the money to implement any strategy they justify worth having a go at.

Yep they sell on consignment, the market has shifted that way across all major retail from food to fashion over the last 5 to 10 years. Infact because of that major retail centres are starting to feel the pinch because the likes of Coles, Woolworths, David Jones and Myer can rent space to the major retail brands, i.e. Myers selling Country Road, for alot cheaper than Country Road would have to spend setting up there own store in the same centre. They also do it on lease terms, such as turnover thresholds that are favourable to them and if the brand can't make target then they are shown the door and the new brand is wheeled in.

Coles no longer like having any specialty shops around them, they tolerate a small coffee shop and their own bottle shop but other than that they want to compete against everyone else.....and that comment is direct from the source.

Strip retail is actually going through a growth phase again, and if you look at places like Sunshine Plaza and Chermside the retail component is shrinking and food and service business's are replacing them.........eat your nitrogenie icecream whilst getting your toes done by some little Thai working in a nail joint......sure take your pick of them

Wesfarmers is now considered the fifth largest bank in Australia............now thats something to think about!
Post by: 03GV on April 29, 2017, 09:51:03 PM
I can't wait for ol'mate billionare Gerry harvey to cop it when amazon come here.
Post by: BrettMG on April 30, 2017, 08:50:33 AM
Masters?
Post by: gronk on April 30, 2017, 09:08:47 AM
Why is there so much moaning and pessimistic negative attitude towards modern big business?

Mainly because for Bunnings, they carry a huge lot of stock, but never the range. Lets go back to the rivets...the old little hardware store may have had only 1 packet ( or a handful out of a box )of each sort of rivet, but you could get the unusual type as well. Bunnings.....yep, you can buy 20 packets of most rivets, but no, not the unusual type !!

They can't even order some in, because they don't carry that sort, so they can't order them ?

This is the general attitude of big business , corner the market, but don't deliver good service.
Post by: Roo on April 30, 2017, 09:13:04 AM
Go back a few generations and the story looks a little different. Elders became BBC...who took over Campbells then a few years later Bunnings came to town and eventually bought them out too. Big fish eat little fish.
If you want to live in the 70's, move to a small rural town well away from the bright lights. You'll find your Dad and Dave store there. I visited a Co Op hardware store in a small town west of Swan Hill Vic. It was pretty well stocked and quite keenly priced. They're out there, go use them if you like. Nothing wrong with Bunnings but it is a different model. That said after years working on the trade desk of a large trade supply focussed BBC store I switched sides and worked as a buyer/estimator for a small volume,  high end building company. With the transition to Bunnings we had no issues with poor service or lack of range from Bunnies. Sales reps with decades of industry experience always available. Staff in store with decades of trade sales too. But things change. Nobody really aspires to work at Bunnings....do they? They might start there as an after school job or transistion through from one job to another on their way to bigger things. We lost a generation to the mining boom who now have unrealistic wage expectations. Things change. Move with it. No point yelling at the wind.

Post by: kylarama on April 30, 2017, 09:35:51 AM
Any Melbournians remember Faram Bro's Hardware in Bay St Port Melbourne? About as old school as they came. Closed up back in 2012. Still bought your nails and linseed putty by the pound. My ex girlfriends boat restoring father used to send me there for a pound of linseed putty. "The good stuff, not the glaziers crap". I think it was all the same... They used to close for 1/2   everyday for a sit down hot lunch with their wives.

Another great one is Charalambous Hardware on Sydney Rd Brunswick. Old Greek family that sell everything.  Its worth going in just for the experience.

I've been helping the inlaws restore their 100 year old Brunswick rental. Great place for oddball old door hardware and if they don't have it, they know where to get it from.

Hurstbridge had Stubbly Bro's until 7-8 years ago. Was a great source for irrigation fittings. Although the Bosch power drill boxed up in the front window was top dollar. Even though the box was faded to almost beyond recognition.

Post by: prodigyrf on April 30, 2017, 09:53:32 AM

No it is the temptation of the Devil and beware all ye who enter there  >:D
Post by: krisandkev on April 30, 2017, 11:02:26 AM
I can't wait for ol'mate billionare Gerry harvey to cop it when amazon come here.

I hope you are joking.  Amazon is an American company, most profits will go there.  They do not employ as many staff as traditional stores.  They have said they will sell at a loss for a few years with the aim to decimate local retailers in Australia.  The potential is real serious for our country and jobs.  If you have super then there is a real chance your fund has shares in companies which could be affected by Amazon.  Some experts think Amazon will not survive here because of our unions and Amazon run their staff like robots and their online approach for groceries is not suited to our distances and population centres.  At least Bunnings is an Australian company, same as Harvey Normans.     Kevin
Post by: Hairs on April 30, 2017, 11:11:52 AM
Go back a few generations and the story looks a little different. Elders became BBC...who took over Campbells then a few years later Bunnings came to town and eventually bought them out too. Big fish eat little fish.

In the Clarence Valley it was Shaffers that Howard Smith bought out.
Two stores, Maclean & Grafton. There are a couple that still work for Bumblings today.

Started with BBC as a Truck Driver, then Storeman(GIR), then Trade counter. The lower Clarence was slowly starting to grow, Wesfarmers purchased the BBC business from Howard Smith. I remember Allan Fels(ACCC) at the Press Club crowing that, that the Wesfarmers takeover of BBC was a good thing for the consumers of the country, yeah right.

Bumbling closed the two small stores in the lower Clarence, we were offered jobs in Grafton(Pound St).
Our local Council and the RMS bent over backwards to allow Bumblings to build their new warehouse at South Grafton, the road intersection was changed to funnel H/way traffic to the new store.
I left their employment well before the new store opened.
Why, because I was frustrated with Melbourne dictating what we were to carry, supplying to the building/cottage industry. Product had to comply with the Building Code of Australia. We needed to carry product that complied with Wind Rated 41, Melbourne didn't want to deal with certain suppliers, these suppliers were at the time the only ones that produced these products.
Their trade walked away.
Bumblings also saw the rebate system from suppliers as a given, they only saw the $$$$$$.

Now that I work for myself, Property Maintenance, they are the only ones that caryy some products that I need.
March 24th I order from Bumblings a length of Fascia, 180x25 Bullnose 6.0M. It had to come from Coffs Harbor(80k's away from the Grafton store)
Pay by CC, Card is deducted then.
A week later I inquire, nobody can help me, I am told someone will chase this up.
The salesperson is on holiday.
I arrive at Mansfield for the National meet, I receive a call from a lady at Grafton bumblings informing me that my special order has arrived.
The following Thursday on our way back from the meet, I swing on by Grafton Bumblings to pick up the stick of fascia to save a trip from home(Lawrence 35k's).
They know the stick is there, nobody can find it. 3/4 of an hour later and a staff member walks out to the pick up area with it.
(http://www.clarencecoastpropertymaintenance.com.au/images/smilies/WTF.gif)
It's damaged (http://www.clarencecoastpropertymaintenance.com.au/images/smilies/shocked.gif)
The complex manager didn't want to know about.
I can use 90% of it, but still, no sorry, no what can we do to make this better for you.
Youtube Chopper Reid Bunnings.
Says it all.

Post by: Paddler Ed on April 30, 2017, 12:06:39 PM
Now that I work for myself, Property Maintenance, they are the only ones that caryy some products that I need.
March 24th I order from Bumblings a length of Fascia, 180x25 Bullnose 6.0M. It had to come from Coffs Harbor(80k's away from the Grafton store)
Pay by CC, Card is deducted then.
A week later I inquire, nobody can help me, I am told someone will chase this up.
The salesperson is on holiday.
I arrive at Mansfield for the National meet, I receive a call from a lady at Grafton bumblings informing me that my special order has arrived.
The following Thursday on our way back from the meet, I swing on by Grafton Bumblings to pick up the stick of fascia to save a trip from home(Lawrence 35k's).
They know the stick is there, nobody can find it. 3/4 of an hour later and a staff member walks out to the pick up area with it.

That sounds like the experience I had with them - special ordered a Space Case in Grey (already had a blue one, and we needed his and hers but not in matching colours) and paid in advance because they couldn't find the one that was supposed to be in stock... 3 weeks later still no case (OK, Christmas was in the way, so I'll them off that bit call it a week) but still no idea when it was going to arrive from the supplier... gave them another week for it to arrive, still no case and it's getting closer to when I needed it for... Eventually got them to transfer it from Tamworth instead; why they didn't do that first, I don't know. I suspect because the supplier pays shipping, whereas a store transfer they wear the cost.

Now I won't order anything from them if they require payment in advance...

In terms of their tactics, they win because they come in touting that they will create x number of job; as with so many retailers this is at the expense of the incumbents (who are often locally owned, rather than national or multinational) as they take the money that would have been spent with them and is now spent with the BGS. We're lucky; we still have a local independent building supplier, a couple of independent nurseries and a Home Franchise, along with 3 plumbers merchants, 1 irrigation place, couple of metal suppliers and 2 electrical places... however, they close at lunchtime on a Saturday, and some may open on a Sunday in the summer... I do go round everyone when I want something, and often can find things more easily in the others than I can in the BGS because they don't always organise things sensibly, and actually have a decent staff and staffing ratio that isn't based on nepotism...

I also suspect that Wesfarmers tell their suppliers they're paying on 60 or even 90 day from end of month terms, rather than the 30 or 45 from date of invoice that the supplier might like... whereas if you have an account with them it might be 30 days from date of invoice. This makes a big difference to cash flow - Wesfarmers can have the money sitting in their account for something that you've bought from them for a while before they need to pay the supplier.
Post by: Chris. on April 30, 2017, 12:22:03 PM
Youtube Chopper Reid Bunnings.
Says it all.

that was awesome  ;D
Post by: D4D on April 30, 2017, 12:37:04 PM
Hmmm http://www.news.com.au/national/courts-law/shoplifters-allegedly-bashed-ran-down-security-guards-at-bunnings-bankstown/news-story/1361cf97f2b7bf1b517935aa9315b96b (http://www.news.com.au/national/courts-law/shoplifters-allegedly-bashed-ran-down-security-guards-at-bunnings-bankstown/news-story/1361cf97f2b7bf1b517935aa9315b96b)
Post by: Hairs on April 30, 2017, 01:01:28 PM
I also suspect that Wesfarmers tell their suppliers they're paying on 60 or even 90 day from end of month terms, rather than the 30 or 45 from date of invoice that the supplier might like... whereas if you have an account with them it might be 30 days from date of invoice. This makes a big difference to cash flow - Wesfarmers can have the money sitting in their account for something that you've bought from them for a while before they need to pay the supplier.
They also tell their suppliers that they will supply product X for a price, if you can't we don't want to carry your product.
Yes, they have a policy of "Free into Store" they don't pay for transport.

Wesfarmers model their Bunnings business on the Walmart plan.
They are there for shareholders, not for the customer, not for the producer, not for the manufacturer, and certainly not for their employees. They squeeze the life out of all that are in either competition or supply to them.
They are predatory while telling you they are the best thing to happen to your life.

Post by: BaseCamp on April 30, 2017, 02:19:40 PM
Its the same way with all the independent mom and pop craft stores: and haberdashery shoppes; and party shops.....

Spotlight (& Sparties) moved in; and killed off all the small independent operators in all these 3 categories.....   Not only in the capital cities, but in many regional centres as well...

The really sad thing is that all these 3 retail categories require a tremendous amount of staff product knowledge; fantastic AAA service; and product innovation.....   Which is something very much largely missing from the "category killers"...

Just look at the mostly scathing customer Google reviews regarding Spotlight (Everton Park) - to see the amount to totally unhappy consumers.   Some in these reviews even lamenting that there are no options left to shop at...

But when Spotlight (and Big W); continue to sell helium balloons for $1 - $2ea; etc etc... (as but one example); its hard for any independent to survive. ...

And referring to "new economy" innovation such as ebay etc;  ... if you have 'commodity' based products, (not bespoke or unique items) -- then your sales (and profitability) will be a race to the bottom of the world...

:(
BaseCamp

Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 30, 2017, 05:51:28 PM
This whole train of thought is interesting - everyone does realise that free enterprise trading in a capitalist economy will always encourage monopilies of the Bunnings ilk, esp in smaller populatiom bases such as ours. Every single publicly listed company has share holders to satisfy, and greed dictates that "more" must be gained than previous years. Why a certain profit level is not accetable is beyond me, but there it us. Ever must there be bigger profit margins and income.
Post by: fuji on April 30, 2017, 06:10:32 PM
Mitre 10 Diamond Creek👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍
Post by: prodigyrf on April 30, 2017, 08:13:59 PM
This whole train of thought is interesting - everyone does realise that free enterprise trading in a capitalist economy will always encourage monopilies of the Bunnings ilk, esp in smaller populatiom bases such as ours.

Not at all as there is no monopoly here and Masters proved that. The only necessary condition for competition is there be free entry to the marketplace and it has nothing whatsoever to do with the market shares that eventuate under that regime. Bunnings are just damn good at what they do which is why so many of us shop there but if Amazon or ebay, etc can do it better, then we're a very fickle lot. If you think you and your mates can do better than Bunnings then you gather your hard earned together and go gobble up all those super profits you reckon are going begging and best of luck to you  :-*
Post by: Bird on April 30, 2017, 08:29:38 PM
Quote from: Hairs
3/4 of an hour later and a staff member walks out to the pick up area with it.

It's damaged
The complex manager didn't want to know about.
should have told them to insert it in their anus and give you your $ back

but they know they have you ****ed, so they don't have to give a Shit.
Post by: gronk on April 30, 2017, 08:32:09 PM
Bunnings are just damn good at what they do which is why so many of us shop there

I don't know what their good at, but we have no choice but to shop there as they gobbled up all the opposition.

When you get the chance to compare prices, Bunnings are not cheaper than the small remaining shops that still sell comparable products.
Post by: bully on April 30, 2017, 08:57:01 PM
Funny but the only reason Dad and Dave shut down was all their customers decided to support the big corporate chain instead of supporting the little man because they thought they were getting it cheaper due to advertising. It's not the big corporations that shuts down little stores. It's the customers not spending money there anymore.
Post by: 3rd time lucky on May 01, 2017, 09:15:24 AM
Lol no monopoly,  Masters proved that? Lmao.
Others will recall Hardware House, another large size chain store business that Bunnings sunk then took over. We dont have the population base for a truly thriving competitive retail sector. Look at our internet and phone costs - what a farce, having "limits " to download data.
Post by: Tim - Stratford on May 01, 2017, 09:23:36 AM
What ever happened to the chain store McEwans? For memory they had a uniform very similar to Bunnings.
Post by: Bird on May 01, 2017, 09:36:03 AM
Quote from: Tim - Stratford
What ever happened to the chain store McEwans? For memory they had a uniform very similar to Bunnings.

"In 1997, the remaining smaller-format McEwans stores were renamed "Bunnings"."

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bunnings_Warehouse
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 01, 2017, 09:51:02 AM

Yep, used to be a McEwans in Bourke St., Melbourne just West of Elizabeth Street.
Don't think it's a Bunnings now though.
Post by: kylarama on May 01, 2017, 09:56:31 AM
Yep, used to be a McEwans in Bourke St., Melbourne just West of Elizabeth Street.
Don't think it's a Bunnings now though.
It became a Bunnings for a short period and was then closed down when the Bunnings Port Melbourne opened.

Post by: rotare on May 01, 2017, 10:06:34 AM
If the little corner hardware stores are what everyone prefers, why are they closing down?  Surely strong customer support goes a long way in dictating the success or failure of a business?

Personally I'd rather drive an extra 5 minutes to buy from a Bunnings or a large hardware chain, than any of the three 'little corner' hardware stores near me.  For a starters all three of the independent hardware stores have different opening / closing hours and none are open on Sunday's.  Having a busy lifestyle, opening hours of 7.00am till 9pm during the week and closing at 5pm on weekends is appealing and convenient.  I've found that the smaller stores have limited range, and before Bunnings in our local area I'd often have to travel to at least two smaller stores to get what I need for a weekend project.  Without a doubt the smaller stores are more expensive.  Sure, I may be able to buy 10 individual rivets from the smaller hardware store, but why would I do that when I can buy a pack of 50 from Bunnings for the same price?

So far as service, they are about the same.  Smaller stores have less staff to provide service than the larger ones, so the waiting times for advice or service the same IMO.  In reflection I've had more issues trying to claim warranties or to return damage goods at the smaller stores, than the larger ones - I've never been questioned and cross examined at Bunnings when returning a faulty piece of electrical equipment like I was at a smaller store.  The same type of part time teenagers that work at the local stores, are the same type I find at Bunnings.  There were comments made in this thread about Bunnings employment not being a career choice, but a good portion of staff at my local Bunnings have been the same old faces for at least 5 years or so, so it must be a good source of employment for some I assume.

Similar level of service, restrictive opening hours, lack of range and more expensive - tell me again why I should support my local hardware store? 

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 01, 2017, 10:11:54 AM
There's a Mum & Pop hardware store in Johnson Street, just East of Smith St. on the North side.
Been there a long time, hard to move around inside because of all the stock, the man at the till knows what's located where too.
Bit like a Steptoe & Son.
Post by: prodigyrf on May 01, 2017, 11:41:19 AM
Lol no monopoly,  Masters proved that? Lmao.

All I can say to that is- so many consumer eggsperts, so few profitable long term suppliers  :cheers:
Post by: Tim - Stratford on May 01, 2017, 01:38:20 PM

Should have got Sarah making green aprons years ago.....would have cashed in!  ;D
Post by: PWE on May 01, 2017, 05:34:00 PM
When I built my rear drawer I bought one of the 100 packets of M10 bolts and nuts.
I do not have to look around for different bolt and carry few tools because I have standardise my bolts.
I normally find what I want in Bunnings, it is normally power tools accessories and auto parts that Bunnings do not stock, but super cheap cover that.

Having said that, I work in Government (construction). I make it one of my main goals to setup accounts with the local (close to the site) mon & dad shops and buy all my site small consumables from them. And make sure that they can tender for some of the site contracts with a local weighting advance towards them.
Post by: Symon on May 01, 2017, 05:40:59 PM
Having said that, I work in Government (construction). I make it one of my main goals to setup accounts with the local (close to the site) mon & dad shops and buy all my site small consumables from them. And make sure that they can tender for some of the site contracts with a local weighting advance towards them.

How much does the building trade source stuff from Bunnings?  I remember talking to a builder who refused to deal with them due to some pricing issue, it was a few years ago though.  They certainly have the retail market, but what about trade?
Post by: Rumpig on May 01, 2017, 06:10:14 PM
it is normally power tools accessories and auto parts that Bunnings do not stock, but super cheap cover that.
they don't even stock 11mm pine quad at my 2 local stores these days (which they used to stock), it's a standard product at any hardware store selling mouldings once upon a time....they have 18mm quad, but don't have the smaller size which is a joke if you are a builder stopping in there to grab something. The amount of times I have stopped in to grab 12mm bolts to build a patio or verandah and they don't have any the right length (between 120mm and 150mm long) is rediculous, the most commonly sold size for verandah and they have either none or just a couple in stock. To say they only normally don't stock power tool accessories and auto parts is just plain wrong...these days they cater for home handymen mainly, it's where there biggest profits are. What they did was buy out proper hardware stores like BBC, then over time have culled what they stock to only sell their biggest profit makers. Like I said earlier, it's great for them from a business money making sense...but why I mainly get gear from Hudsons or Bretts instead.
Post by: Troopy_03 on May 01, 2017, 06:36:37 PM
When I built my rear drawer I bought one of the 100 packets of M10 bolts and nuts.
I do not have to look around for different bolt and carry few tools because I have standardise my bolts.
I normally find what I want in Bunnings, it is normally power tools accessories and auto parts that Bunnings do not stock, but super cheap cover that.

Just watch out for those bolts from Bunnings, I got two sizes of bolts like that a while ago, ZP M8 and M10, and they were rubbish. Must have been made from recycled chewing gum. These days I get all my fasteners from a specialist fastener supplier, and most of the time it works out cheaper too.
Post by: kylarama on May 01, 2017, 07:26:33 PM
How much does the building trade source stuff from Bunnings?  I remember talking to a builder who refused to deal with them due to some pricing issue, it was a few years ago though.  They certainly have the retail market, but what about trade?
As a commercial fitout builder we use them for bits and bobs. Up to $100 purchases if you need something quick.
Probably still spend around 2K a month.

Completely and utterly useless for timber and board products.  With no drive through timber yard. Our driver would have to park a 12T truck, grab a trolley, hand pick and then walk it out and hand load. Costs a fortune in time.

Getting their trade department to quote on project quantities is pointless. Can't read or don't want to read specs, slow to respond and usually are the dearest.

Post by: Brodie Tas on May 01, 2017, 07:44:31 PM
As a painter I won't use them for there paints I get better prices and customer service from the paint shops with delivery and knowledge, after going there on a weekend to buy a knot duster and asked the paint staff where they are to be answered painters don't use dusters haha, also over heard one guy telling some people that painters use cheap paint because they can finish it of proper... I only use the best because it last longer easier to keep clean and finish of, but saying this I will go there to buy what ever I need for home projects etc
Post by: Pete79 on May 01, 2017, 07:57:24 PM
Just watch out for those bolts from Bunnings, I got two sizes of bolts like that a while ago, ZP M8 and M10, and they were rubbish. Must have been made from recycled chewing gum. These days I get all my fasteners from a specialist fastener supplier, and most of the time it works out cheaper too.
I must have got some bolts from the same batch as you, 30mm and 50mm M8. Got big boxes of each, but can't actually use them for anything much.
If you nip them up with a socket on a hand driver they just hold, put a spanner or ratchet anywhere near them and you'd swear they are made of cheese.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 01, 2017, 08:02:44 PM
Pete, take 'em back.
Not fit for purpose.
Try them on for being responsible, for a collapsed structure etc., and see if they respond.
Post by: Symon on May 02, 2017, 05:26:13 AM
Completely and utterly useless for timber and board products.  With no drive through timber yard. Our driver would have to park a 12T truck, grab a trolley, hand pick and then walk it out and hand load. Costs a fortune in time.

Thought that would be the case.  I've noticed it is pretty hard to get a straight piece of timber from them as well, everything is warped.

The DETA branded electrical stuff and the Arlec lights they stock are just awful, I'm amazed they are actually AS compliant.
Post by: vern on May 02, 2017, 08:07:34 AM

The DETA branded electrical stuff and the Arlec lights they stock are just awful, I'm amazed they are actually AS compliant.

Arlec, every electricians nightmare! Would hate when customers supplied there own gear and it would be this rubbish!

Post by: greygonads on May 02, 2017, 08:34:39 AM
The "Bunnings Chalenge" to get the daily double.IE. Get in and out without saying hello to the doorperson. Takes a bit of skill.
Post by: Bird on May 02, 2017, 08:54:56 AM
Quote from: greygonads
The "Bunnings Chalenge" to get the daily double.IE. Get in and out without saying hello to the doorperson. Takes a bit of skill.
... even worse when its ya neighbours cute ex-missus
Post by: The punter on May 04, 2017, 09:54:17 AM
My biggest gripes about Bunnings are their customers. Whole families out for a day trip and pensioners there holding up checkouts on a Saturday, like wtf do you do all week? I just wanna get in get my sh1t and get out, kids playgrounds, cafes, really?
Post by: oldmate on May 04, 2017, 04:40:58 PM
As a commercial fitout builder we use them for bits and bobs. Up to $100 purchases if you need something quick.
Probably still spend around 2K a month.

Getting their trade department to quote on project quantities is pointless. Can't read or don't want to read specs, slow to respond and usually are the dearest.

yeah bunnings is great for some little things, as long as you know they stock it, where it is in the store, and it aint a special order.  The problem is their staff, i think they put in a "special"order when hiring.
Post by: briann532 on May 04, 2017, 06:18:36 PM
A mates son works in Bumblings and boy does he have some funny stores to tell around the campfire.

He is a young boy, on his P's and it's a job for him while he studies and enjoys life. Surely no one can think that Bunnings can supply a "career" to the average staffer on the floor?
Retired, filling in time, extra income, studying etc. A means to an end, but not a career goal.
So how can we expect top service then?
As lots of other previous posts state, we buy cheap, we get Bunnings.
Also we need to remember that despite their ads, they are a business. Purely there to make profit. Minimal costs, maximum profit.

Now I have to admit, I love Bunnings. Its a hardware store no matter what you say, it has to be good.........
Yes there are better or were better, but its still a hardware store, it has boy stuff and that sausage sizzle......
Yes I still love the country hardwares and the skilled staffers and the better products, but that big green shed......it has most things you need and plenty parking. Oh and did I mention the snags??? Add a steak house and I reckon I could move in...

Post by: Spada on May 04, 2017, 07:09:11 PM
Its a hardware store no matter what you say, it has to be good.........

Welllllllllll...................it's LIKE a hardware store.....................................................but for women

after all, it's got 3 isles of mops and brooms, and somewhere for the kiddies to play, and you can have a cup of coffee while you potter about looking at the flowers and garden ornaments ?

Oh, you want M6 stainless hex heads with nyloc nuts.................sorry, but your sh!t outa luck
Post by: Rumpig on May 04, 2017, 07:20:06 PM
Welllllllllll...................it's LIKE a hardware store.....................................................but for women

after all, it's got 3 isles of mops and brooms, and somewhere for the kiddies to play, and you can have a cup of coffee while you potter about looking at the flowers and garden ornaments ?

:cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: oldmate on May 04, 2017, 11:17:14 PM

Oh, you want M6 stainless hex heads with nyloc nuts.................sorry, but your sh!t outa luck
Hahahahaha. Made my night.   

Post by: Fizzie on May 05, 2017, 07:35:57 AM
Now I have to admit, I love Bunnings. Its a hardware store no matter what you say, it has to be good.........
Yes there are better or were better, but its still a hardware store, it has boy stuff and that sausage sizzle......
Yes I still love the country hardwares and the skilled staffers and the better products, but that big green shed......it has most things you need and plenty parking. Oh and did I mention the snags??? Add a steak house and I reckon I could move in...

Our VMR unit does regular barbies at the BGS, which is always good for a few $ :cup:

Was in there shopping, a few days before we did one last year, & when we finished, turned out the bloke on the check-out was the barbie coordinator. Introduced myself as we'd been exchanging e-mails & chatted for a few minutes (mid-week so not crowded ;D).

He mentioned that the parent company had recently run a survey asking people comments, what they thought & so on ???

The overwhelming response to "What does Bunnings mean to you" ??? - Sausage sizzles! :D

(& if pressed, I would have to admit that I have, in the past, gone in there just to get brekkie / smoko / lunch... :-[ :D)
Post by: Symon on May 05, 2017, 05:44:01 PM

Arlec, every electricians nightmare! Would hate when customers supplied there own gear and it would be this rubbish!

Plenty of electricians out there refuse to install it.  Those that do usually put a disclaimer on the CES saying they won't warrant the customer supplied components from failure.
Post by: Troopy_03 on May 06, 2017, 07:19:49 PM
Our VMR unit does regular barbies at the BGS, which is always good for a few $ :cup:

Was in there shopping, a few days before we did one last year, & when we finished, turned out the bloke on the check-out was the barbie coordinator. Introduced myself as we'd been exchanging e-mails & chatted for a few minutes (mid-week so not crowded ;D).

He mentioned that the parent company had recently run a survey asking people comments, what they thought & so on ???

The overwhelming response to "What does Bunnings mean to you" ??? - Sausage sizzles! :D

(& if pressed, I would have to admit that I have, in the past, gone in there just to get brekkie / smoko / lunch... :-[ :D)

If I'm driving past I will sometimes do the same. But I hate it when the tight @rse brigade get the crap supermarket snags. They are usually pretty good though, and have decent ones.
Post by: Rumpig on May 06, 2017, 09:51:59 PM
If I'm driving past I will sometimes do the same. But I hate it when the tight @rse brigade get the crap supermarket snags. They are usually pretty good though, and have decent ones.
Bunnings actually have strict rules as to what sausages you can buy and where to buy them from and how they need to be stored  if you are doing one of their sausage sizzles. My old 4wd club did a sausage sizzle at a store once, the rules were pretty stringent.
Post by: Fizzie on May 07, 2017, 07:54:05 AM
My old 4wd club did a sausage sizzle at a store once, the rules were pretty stringent.

They are indeed, but that's not altogether a bad thing.

Local store told us last time that the Council Health Inspectors have taken to dropping in at random to check hot & cold temps, food & cash handling procedures, rubbish disposal & so on.
Post by: Rumpig on May 07, 2017, 08:13:46 AM
They are indeed, but that's not altogether a bad thing.

Local store told us last time that the Council Health Inspectors have taken to dropping in at random to check hot & cold temps, food & cash handling procedures, rubbish disposal & so on.
yes definately a good thing....only posted it up as I was surprised to read Troopy_03 say that about the snags, considering they dictate what you have to buy and all. I have no idea how they check if you have done the right thing or not, as I wasn't involved in the event, I guess they have someone to check the receipt of purchase maybe.
Post by: Troopy_03 on May 07, 2017, 08:16:29 AM
yes definately a good thing....only posted it up as I was surprised to read Troopy_03 say that about the snags, considering they dictate what you have to buy and all. I have no idea how they check if you have done the right thing or not, as I wasn't involved in the event, I guess they have someone to check the receipt of purchase maybe.

Yeah, may not have been the "infamous" supermarket snags, but a couple of times (not often) they definitely have been a bit sus. Good to see that Bunnings try to keep the standard up though.
Post by: DarWen on May 07, 2017, 01:25:22 PM
Bunnings actually have strict rules as to what sausages you can buy and where to buy them from and how they need to be stored  if you are doing one of their sausage sizzles. My old 4wd club did a sausage sizzle at a store once, the rules were pretty stringent

Westfarmers may have shares in the in the Meat trade. ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Rumpig on May 07, 2017, 05:53:51 PM
wouldn't surprise me the way they operate...lol... but I think it is more about people not making their own or buying the cheapest they can find to flog off to people.
Post by: Spada on May 07, 2017, 06:25:16 PM
The bastards got me again today  >:(

I'm in the process of replacing the rotten retaining walls around my shed at the moment, and needed an elbow for the 1" poly feed to the garden taps. Having a yarn with the neighbour over the fence and he mentions he's about to duck into bunnings cause he needed a new handle for his garden fork. Great, I'll tag along I thought.

Go to the plumbing isle and start searching the shelves.....................................want to guess what they were out of stock of  >:( >:( >:( there was an empty spot on the shelf with a price ticket, but none of what I needed. The one thing I went there to get. Along comes a red shirt,  who looks and says "nah mate we got none, you could try a hardware" ??? 

They also had no shovel handles that my mate was after.

Stop at the hole in the wall hardware on the way home, and bugger me.............both items in stock, and the poly elbow was $1 cheaper than the women's hardware (after all, they do wear aprons).

Bastards.....I hate them with a passion.
Post by: Paddler Ed on May 07, 2017, 08:49:51 PM

Yep, they do - ABC Landline (http://www.abc.net.au/landline/content/2017/s4634427.htm) had a good piece on their marketing of the "offcuts" to China where they have created a premium Australian brand product line and retail environment in conjunction with a couple of Chinese guys.
Post by: Annieandandy on May 07, 2017, 11:17:20 PM
Bunnings actually have strict rules as to what sausages you can buy and where to buy them from and how they need to be stored  if you are doing one of their sausage sizzles. My old 4wd club did a sausage sizzle at a store once, the rules were pretty stringent.

Unfortunately they don't teach them how to cook snags. Old mate burnt Shit out of the snags and as a gesture of good will he gave me two burnt snags on my bread. Thanks mate straight in the bin keep the donation lol.
Post by: BaseCamp on May 08, 2017, 08:09:26 AM
Regarding the quality of the snag meat -- I think bunnings would want to QC that - because of that expectation of consistency thing across the chain that the big boys go for....   

(ie:  all McDonald's Restaurants will face out all their products/packages on the tray with the goldern arches facing the customer. ....)

But as for the quality of the cooking process for bunnings snags --I have found that results vary.....

BaseCamp

Post by: 3rd time lucky on May 12, 2017, 11:58:48 AM
Lol what cracks me up is when the people manning the stall ask you what do you want - um gee i was kinda hoping for a meat pie and a latte....no?  Considering its snags or....snags, the only question should be "onion or no onion?"
Post by: Chappie on May 12, 2017, 02:21:14 PM
That will be me Saturday, colouring sausages out the front of a Bunnings for the kids swim club. 
We get our sausages from Coles, just the boring old bulk packs. 
Bunnings have a comprehensive set of rules on how it is run but then if something goes astray it is Bunnings that get the sharp end of the stick. We try and book a spot fairly regularly so we have to toe the line if we want to go back.
As far as the colour of the sausages i like to offer the full range of colours from tan to brown to black striped, try to exclude the pink ended ones though.
Post by: MadMarv on May 12, 2017, 05:05:05 PM
Bunnings are great ...... we use them all the time ..... but if i need power tools i go to a power tool shop or timber i go to a lumber yard .... the thing bunnings have over everyone else is there opening hours ..... yes many items can be found cheaper elsewhere but many off those places are only open 9 to 5
Post by: gronk on May 12, 2017, 07:40:39 PM
Bunnings are great ...... we use them all the time ..... but if i need power tools i go to a power tool shop or timber i go to a lumber yard .... the thing bunnings have over everyone else is there opening hours ..... yes many items can be found cheaper elsewhere but many off those places are only open 9 to 5

Yep, it's like IGA, you know they are dearer but being local, you just duck in for a couple of things.
Post by: Troopy_03 on May 13, 2017, 01:25:01 PM
Their sausage QA guy slipped up again today at the local Bunnings.... Bl@@dy supermarket snags again... Oh well I was hungry, and with onions and mustard and sauce, they stopped me stomach growling for a while.... Now it's making funny gurgling noises  ???
Post by: Rumpig on May 13, 2017, 02:54:01 PM
Their sausage QA guy slipped up again today at the local Bunnings.... Bl@@dy supermarket snags again... Oh well I was hungry, and with onions and mustard and sauce, they stopped me stomach growling for a while.... Now it's making funny gurgling noises  ???
regardless of their quality control there, anyone buying sausages from a hardware store carpark can't really complain about the taste I reckon. Got a friend that was inducted into the Sausage Kings Hall of Fame recently, get a bad snag from him and you can complain, but not from a hardware store.
Post by: gronk on May 13, 2017, 07:32:23 PM
. Got a friend that was inducted into the Sausage Kings Hall of Fame recently,

Fair dinkum ??  Is that for cooking them or making them ?? I suppose for both !
Post by: JD-120 on May 13, 2017, 09:59:18 PM
Hahah, I like em, get one every time I go there 😀.

Sent from my XT1580 using Tapatalk

Post by: Rumpig on May 13, 2017, 10:53:15 PM
Fair dinkum ??  Is that for cooking them or making them ?? I suppose for both !
making them mainly I think, but I have no idea how the competition is run as to whether they need to cook them also. It's a big thing with butchers these competitions, they compete at RNA shows then go on to compete against each states winner I think, before being crowned the best in the country....win best in the country often enough and they then get inducted in the hall of fame I believe. I've never had anything to do with it to know how it works exactly, so don't take my word as gospel on the subject.
Post by: Hoyks on May 13, 2017, 10:59:25 PM
I was in there today looking for secutars (20 different types, none were what I was after) and found this gem.

Seriously, WTF?
$10 for a hacked up log offcut with a piece of rope attached? Must be a hell of a mark up.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170513/76ec0512fa377e839ff8f14ead733d92.jpg)
Post by: glenm64 on May 14, 2017, 08:49:36 AM
I was in there today looking for secutars (20 different types, none were what I was after) and found this gem.

Seriously, WTF?
$10 for a hacked up log offcut with a piece of rope attached? Must be a hell of a mark up.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170513/76ec0512fa377e839ff8f14ead733d92.jpg)
Bonfire Starter??
If you had enough wood for a bonfire, why would you need to buy a piece of wood to start it??
There must be some real gumbies out there, seriously!

Post by: Bigfish on May 14, 2017, 09:32:37 AM

Seriously, WTF?

You,d be paying close to $1000.00 a tonne for firewood....WTF?
Post by: Gandalf the White on May 14, 2017, 09:44:41 AM
Ok gentlemen, I'll bite as this could be fishing or your naivety. These cut logs are known as Swedish torches. Popular in the north.
https://www.google.com.au/amp/www.instructables.com/id/Swedish-Torch/%3Famp_page%3Dtrue (https://www.google.com.au/amp/www.instructables.com/id/Swedish-Torch/%3Famp_page%3Dtrue)
Post by: 03GV on May 14, 2017, 10:12:01 AM
Probably to hard to read a label?

http://www.ecoforestfirewood.eu/products-page/ecoforest/light-n-go-bonfire-log-2/ (http://www.ecoforestfirewood.eu/products-page/ecoforest/light-n-go-bonfire-log-2/)

This method has been around for a very long time!
Post by: Troopy_03 on May 14, 2017, 10:37:46 AM
regardless of their quality control there, anyone buying sausages from a hardware store carpark can't really complain about the taste I reckon. Got a friend that was inducted into the Sausage Kings Hall of Fame recently, get a bad snag from him and you can complain, but not from a hardware store.

What taste? fat isn't a taste or a flavour...  ;D  Anyway, the $2.50 is happily donated. It's the $3.00 worth of antacids tabs I begrudge..
Post by: gronk on May 14, 2017, 10:51:12 AM
What taste? fat isn't a taste or a flavour...  ;D  Anyway, the $2.50 is happily donated. It's the $3.00 worth of antacids tabs I begrudge..

Ha ha, any 1/2 decent camper needs to have cast iron guts..

The old Bunnings snags are probably a lot better than some stuff I've consumed while camping !!   :cheers:
Post by: Hoyks on May 14, 2017, 12:18:02 PM
Ok gentlemen, I'll bite as this could be fishing or your naivety. These cut logs are known as Swedish torches. Popular in the north.
https://www.google.com.au/amp/www.instructables.com/id/Swedish-Torch/%3Famp_page%3Dtrue (https://www.google.com.au/amp/www.instructables.com/id/Swedish-Torch/%3Famp_page%3Dtrue)

I'm familiar with the process and have done it a few times when camping, but $10?
Post by: Gandalf the White on May 14, 2017, 12:22:18 PM
I'm familiar with the process and have done it a few times when camping, but $10?
lol....you're obviously not a gullible city dweller😉
Post by: Troopy_03 on May 14, 2017, 01:17:05 PM
Come on guys, this is a quality American product, manufactured to conform to the expectations of the most eclectic purchaser. Of course you have to pay for it. What is that old saying that keeps popping up when people pay outlandish prices for something, and they need to feel better about it?

You only get what you pay for.......  ;D  8)
Post by: 100bedonderd on May 14, 2017, 01:51:44 PM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170514/ce09e0100132efb2fb0c14ef0202f494.jpg)
What they go for here in the us

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk
Post by: Rusty on May 16, 2017, 12:55:00 PM
http://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/food/eat/bunnings-vegan-sausage-sizzle-cheltenham-cat-rescue-has-no-meat-in-snags/news-story/c48897ab5a36cb7edeaddd1fc257fa93 (http://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/food/eat/bunnings-vegan-sausage-sizzle-cheltenham-cat-rescue-has-no-meat-in-snags/news-story/c48897ab5a36cb7edeaddd1fc257fa93)

surprised there was not a riot

Rusty
Post by: rags on May 16, 2017, 02:53:45 PM
http://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/food/eat/bunnings-vegan-sausage-sizzle-cheltenham-cat-rescue-has-no-meat-in-snags/news-story/c48897ab5a36cb7edeaddd1fc257fa93 (http://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/food/eat/bunnings-vegan-sausage-sizzle-cheltenham-cat-rescue-has-no-meat-in-snags/news-story/c48897ab5a36cb7edeaddd1fc257fa93)

Next week there will sausages made from cat but still tastes like chicken
Post by: terravista on May 16, 2017, 04:15:18 PM
[/quote

It probably comes down to need vs. cost, but I am damned sure I wouldn't sharpen the chainsaw and throw it in the car, drive out to a dead tree somewhere, cut the log thing to length, slice the top to allow the fire to burn more efficiently, and bring it back to town. If I wanted one I wood (pun intended) be happy to pay a lousy $10.
Plus you can get a veggie snag sanga if you go to a Bunnings with people conducting  fundraising for local Pussy.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on May 16, 2017, 06:40:12 PM

Seriously, WTF?

These only burn for around 20 minutes as well before they burn out.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

Post by: #jonesy on May 16, 2017, 07:19:42 PM

surprised there was not a riot

Rusty

Came across a similar thing at Nunawading Bunnings a while ago with my son. I think it was a cat protection society. Saw the sign for vegan snags and thought how cute.
So I asked if they had real sausages and was politely told no.  So off we go and detour past another Bunnings for lunch.

Really if I wanted a vegan snag wouldn't it be easy to BBQ a carrot?
Post by: Bird on May 17, 2017, 09:12:00 AM
Quote from: #jonesy
Really if I wanted a vegan snag wouldn't it be easy to BBQ a carrot?
like people going into  burger joint and asking for a burger with no meat.
Post by: JPH on May 17, 2017, 11:58:33 AM
like people going into  burger joint and asking for a burger with no meat.

That's a salad roll.....
Post by: monbeg on May 17, 2017, 12:02:58 PM
That's what he wanted too  :laugh:
Post by: Hairs on May 17, 2017, 05:26:31 PM
That's a salad roll.....
When I was younger, I use to get.
A Honey roll over with lets us on top.

Now I get Gout.  >:(
Post by: Rumpig on May 17, 2017, 05:36:25 PM
When I was younger, I use to get.
A Honey roll over with lets us on top.

Now I get Gout.  >:(
and some hot tounge and cold shoulder
Post by: speewa158 on May 17, 2017, 05:59:44 PM
You,d be paying close to $1000.00 a tonne for firewood....WTF?

Have l got a deal for YOU,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, :cup:     Trust Me     :cheers:
Post by: Nomad on May 17, 2017, 07:54:52 PM
You could even chuck in a free PDFP for that............ok maybe just 20% off the PDFP  :cheers:
Post by: briann532 on May 17, 2017, 09:21:06 PM
Hey, I live in Sydney, plenty of man buns would love to clink frappalatte glasses around the uberfire.
Its hip man.........
And rebellious too...........put away the weed brother, this is real like fire like whoa man, truly passive.
Carbon warriors at the ready, we're having a patio bonfire!!!
Hey bro does my beard look trim or what?

Post by: Gandalf the White on May 17, 2017, 09:29:55 PM
Hey, I live in Sydney, plenty of man buns would love to clink frappalatte glasses around the uberfire.
Its hip man.........
And rebellious too...........put away the weed brother, this is real like fire like whoa man, truly passive.
Carbon warriors at the ready, we're having a patio bonfire!!!
Hey bro does my beard look trim or what?
I think these could be the same people that will light it up on their verandah or balcony, sit around enjoying the warmth and glow, then wonder why the timber deck burnt down around them
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 17, 2017, 10:04:52 PM
Gandalph, I think you hit the nail on the head with that call.
The should leave their address and Bunnings can get the Fire Brigade to call by later.
At least it'll create sales for Bunnings when the house or deck or both, have to be rebuilt.
Post by: #jonesy on May 18, 2017, 06:20:53 PM
Look what the wife bought

Vegan sausages
Post by: Spada on May 20, 2017, 05:41:18 PM
Will I ever learn  :'(

Went there today cause they open an hour earlier than the local and I was keen to get started on a job. I'm doing some plumbing and drainage for the shed, and need an assortment of bits and a length of 50mm drain pipe. Thought I'd leave the pipe till last and get all the little bits into my basket first............great, I'm on a roll, they've got everything I need.................

all I need now is the 50mm pipe.............................want to guess what was out of stock.  >:( >:( >:(

no point giving them any money for all the little bits if I cant get the main item. called into the local guy on the way back and got everything I needed.

I recon chopper has got their number  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4gZb73h5evc (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4gZb73h5evc)
Post by: Hairs on May 26, 2017, 05:09:29 PM
Are they serious  ???
https://www.facebook.com/JoshuaAHuggett/photos/a.1129015913857238.1073741828.1128118347280328/1409858985772928/?type=3&theater (https://www.facebook.com/JoshuaAHuggett/photos/a.1129015913857238.1073741828.1128118347280328/1409858985772928/?type=3&theater)
Post by: Rumpig on May 26, 2017, 05:18:43 PM
Just a publicity stunt for Weekend Warrior World by the looks of it.
Post by: Hairs on May 26, 2017, 05:24:48 PM
Weekend Warrior
That's what they are  ;D

Post by: DrewXT on May 26, 2017, 10:18:08 PM
Did you see the first reply?

Priceless(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170526/04cc81eb1514df3f4f05e5c94a95416a.jpg)

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Post by: 03GV on May 26, 2017, 10:55:00 PM
What a joke, so the charity cooking up for the day would need to buy some vegan sausages on the off chance one vegan would buy one, then there's the fact they would need a separate hotplate so its not tainted with the juice of a dead animal.
Then the price , they would have to charge more than $2.50  as they're dearer than a real snag.
Post by: prodigyrf on May 27, 2017, 12:58:20 AM
What's with the "We want vegan snags" sign? Does he really think he'd taste any good sausaged?
Post by: kylarama on May 27, 2017, 07:17:03 AM

Are they serious  ???
https://www.facebook.com/JoshuaAHuggett/photos/a.1129015913857238.1073741828.1128118347280328/1409858985772928/?type=3&theater (https://www.facebook.com/JoshuaAHuggett/photos/a.1129015913857238.1073741828.1128118347280328/1409858985772928/?type=3&theater)

It's a clear pi$$ take.  Reading the comments, it's amazing how many suckers there are.

Post by: Fizzie on May 27, 2017, 08:38:16 AM
Love the way that he's there apparently in the middle of the night "protesting" - because if he was there during the day, B would get the cops in & have him thrown off their property >:D
Post by: prodigyrf on May 27, 2017, 09:15:02 AM
Spose we could him a go. Throw his old feller on the barbie and try it out on the dog first  ???

https://meanwhileinoz.com.au/2017/05/man-south-australia-demans-bunnings-sell-vegan-snags/
Post by: Troopy_03 on May 27, 2017, 10:39:02 AM
Love the way that he's there apparently in the middle of the night "protesting" - because if he was there during the day, B would get the cops in & have him thrown off their property >:D

And worried about the sh*t he'd cop from the people thinking it's a serious protest...
Post by: 03GV on May 27, 2017, 01:13:40 PM

It's a clear pi$$ take.  Reading the comments, it's amazing how many suckers there are.

It might be a piss take but the idiot vegan that my partner works with has been banging on about this article to everyone at her work place!
Post by: kylarama on May 27, 2017, 01:24:25 PM
It might be a piss take but the idiot vegan that my partner works with has been banging on about this article to everyone at her work place!
As I said. Suckers everywhere. Doesn't matter which side of the fence you're on.

I'm struggling with the big deal about it.
If your day is ruined by Bunnings not selling a sausage full of mystery meat (or not offering a 'green' alternative). You probably need to reevaluate your position in life.

Still no where near as funny as the largeish women who lost it completely in Benella KFC last year. When they ran out of potato and gravy. Napkins everywhere and the exit door almost off its hinges!

I mean, I love a 3 piece box, but I managed to hold myself together throughout the whole ordeal...

Post by: achjimmy on May 27, 2017, 01:50:27 PM
As I said. Suckers everywhere. Doesn't matter which side of the fence you're on.

I'm struggling with the big deal about it.
If your day is ruined by Bunnings not selling a sausage full of mystery meat (or not offering a 'green' alternative). You probably need to reevaluate your position in life.

Still no where near as funny as the largeish women who lost it completely in Benella KFC last year. When they ran out of potato and gravy. Napkins everywhere and the exit door almost off its hinges!

I mean, I love a 3 piece box, but I managed to hold myself together throughout the whole ordeal...

Lol reminds me of falling down.

https://youtu.be/zJs9p-VNORw
Post by: Troopy_03 on May 27, 2017, 04:05:19 PM
What about the new KFC Cleaneating burger? They should sell like .... ummmm.... nah, who's kidding, no-one would buy them...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VxkSU-N-igE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VxkSU-N-igE)

Post by: JD-120 on May 27, 2017, 07:09:06 PM
Maybe if you deep fry it

Post by: DrewXT on May 27, 2017, 07:30:28 PM
Maybe if you deep fry it

And wrap it between two pieces of original fillet

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Post by: JD-120 on May 27, 2017, 07:31:12 PM
Hahah, now you're talking

Post by: Paddler Ed on May 27, 2017, 07:52:22 PM
Here you go (http://fxcuisine.com/default.asp?language=2&Display=129&resolution=high)... or if a burger doesn't take your fancy how about a pizza (http://fxcuisine.com/default.asp?language=2&Display=112&resolution=high)?
Post by: prodigyrf on May 28, 2017, 11:02:27 AM
Nothing the old man liked better than the jelly and dripping mum drained off the Sunday roast as he'd smear it on his white bread or toast with lashings of salt and pepper. When youngest sis was nursing and full of the latest she began to lecture him about cholesterol and then salt, etc to which he'd reply, it's not my dripping that'll kill you girl but the worry, as he lived quite healthily to 92  ;D
Post by: Rumpig on May 28, 2017, 03:56:53 PM
Just had the ahh...cough...cough..."pleasure"....of visiting our local Weekend Warrior World earlier to try and get a new floor grate for our shower, due to the old one being broken. Search the aisles and can't find what I want, eventually find a male staff member who tries to walk straight past me as I ask for some help. Begrudgingly he stops after going by me and in a grumpyish tone points off to the where what I seek is to be, telling me which aisle to look in. I find where said items are but no surprise they have every size but the one I seek...I need 90mm diameter and they have either 100mm or 80mm only. I start to walk out of the store not getting what I want, only to see why I couldn't find a staff member earlier...there's a couple of female staff members standing in an aisle cuddling some ladies puppy dog instead of helping the customers  ::) ::) Tomorrow I'll try and find the time to drop into a plumbing supply store instead to get what I want  8)
Post by: BaseCamp on May 28, 2017, 04:16:33 PM
I was unfortunate enough to be in Bunnings Indooroopilly  (BNE)  Friday 26th May approx 4pm

What a disgrace of a store  ...   I have never seen anything so hopeless for many years....   

At about 1,500sqmtr?  this outlet is about 40% of their usual format ..... BUT  having circled around ALL the isles one and a half times....   not one red shirt could be found anywhere. ....   wtf !!!   

There were 4 goons at the checkouts;  a genuinely very helpful and good product knowledge guy operating the paint deck, (and doubling up as their tool guy); I needed some Ryobie.....

But that was it....   I was almost tempted to walk out with something just to "prove a point" ....   grrrrr

BaseCamp

Post by: nab on May 28, 2017, 11:47:19 PM
I need 90mm diameter and they have either 100mm or 80mm only.

I thought only stormwater was 90mm? Waste pipe is 100mm & 80mm, no in between.
Post by: Rumpig on May 29, 2017, 06:23:03 AM
the actual diameter of the grate I need is 90mm, not the surround part that is in the pipe itself....so it's 100mm pipe that has been used. I'll likely have to buy the whole inner and outer sections, but I just need to use the inner grate section.
Post by: nab on May 29, 2017, 10:03:23 PM
Ahh, gotcha. Goodluck...
Post by: Rumpig on May 30, 2017, 06:11:45 AM
Ahh, gotcha. Goodluck...
walked into a plumbing supply shop yesterday arvo and sat down on the seat at the front counter, I showed the guy the broken grate I needed and he walked out the back to get exactly what I was after. No me walking the aisles looking for said item, looking for missing staff members to help etc etc etc...no wonder I avoid Weekend Warrior World when I can.
Post by: rags on May 30, 2017, 07:37:09 PM
walked into a plumbing supply shop yesterday arvo and sat down on the seat at the front counter, I showed the guy the broken grate I needed and he walked out the back to get exactly what I was after. No me walking the aisles looking for said item, looking for missing staff members to help etc etc etc...no wonder I avoid Weekend Warrior World when I can.

Rumpig I love the modern day plumbing supply store you just described,sounds like a Reece or trade link.bar chairs at the counter, espresso machine in the corner and you never dare venture beyond the front counter. Modern day Plumbers with shaved legs and tuff Tatts on steroid enlarged biceps who only know how to crimp pex pipes.
I like the old days where you could walk the isles throwing the bits in a vinidex box, grab a drink out of the fridge share an egg on Friday mornings while talking Shit with the your fellow tradesman.
I agree with your view though that you are better off heading to the specialist supplier and rely on Bunnings on Sunday. It reminds me of the day that I needed to replace a HWS on a Sunday so got it from Bunnings (hardware house at the time) for the marked up price and on Monday got another similar heater from my usual supplier Cooks P/S for my buy rate and returned it to Bunnings for a credit.
Post by: oldmate on May 30, 2017, 07:52:48 PM

what you waste time at bunning looking for people to help???
Post by: Hairs on May 30, 2017, 09:05:35 PM
You know what thought thought ???
Bloody hell, never heard of dodgy brothers, they do sh1t that you can't match or replace.
Ya just gotta work with what ya have.
I do Property Maintenance, sheeeesh, some property owners want sh1t replaced that hasn't been made for 50 years, then if I can a replacement it, they don't want to spent sweat stuff all replacing it.
The Bloody green box has screwed everyone.
They screw their suppliers,
They screw their employees,
They screw their customers.
As long as sheep keep going through their doors it wont change.
It may cost more, but support your local bloke.
This also applies to your local butcher, fruit shop, chemist, the list goes on.
Last Christmas I bought all the gifts I needed to from The main Street in Maclean, I may of paid a few dollars more, But I know it help employ and keep a local job.
BTW, ask your local hardware shop about holding a sausage/bbq and they will help out if your are prepared to do some leg work.
F@$# Bumblings,
They are predatory     >:D

Post by: Rumpig on May 30, 2017, 09:24:29 PM

what you waste time at bunning looking for people to help???
foolish me I know, dunno what I was thinking...lol
Post by: speewa158 on July 07, 2017, 07:19:44 AM
l have been in the Green $ box  & seen punters trying to decide on what to buy . l asked a bloke once why he was going to buy a brush cutter here  ???
Punter  -The price is good   ???
Me  - What are you going to be doing with it  ???
P - Got to clear bracken on a 5 acre block    :-[
M - Explained he needs a bigger unit to do the job & where do you get it serviced down the line   ??? Go to a mower shop get real advise & don't buy toys  . We walked out together ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,saved 1 at least      :cup:            :cheers:
Just cause you put a red shirt & a green apron  dosent mean they have a clue  >:D
Post by: Bird on July 07, 2017, 09:42:11 AM
Quote from: speewa158
sJust cause you put a red shirt & a green apron  dosent mean they have a clue  >:D
The only bloke I've ever found of any use at Bunnings was a disabled bloke working at the local near work here.. He was a bit slow, but his service was impecable.. He wouldnt just point to asile 44 then go and hide, he really knew where things were.. he would take you to the item you asked about and would do anything he could to help you - which more than once he thought of a problem with the way I was going to do the job.
Awesome bloke, but havent seen him there for a long time.. just numpties in there now.
Post by: MadMarv on July 07, 2017, 04:52:40 PM
Ive always liked bunnings due to them being open earlier and longer than everyone else .... but if i need items say bolts etc in bulk id wait till the local bolt shop was open ... but if i needed something now, well it just costs more ...