Author Topic: edited.  (Read 15194 times)

edited.
« on: January 01, 2020, 03:32:03 AM »
.edited

Re: edited.
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2020, 02:12:34 PM »
.edited

What happened Kev, Did Astrid catch you trying to post naughty pics of her on Myswag??
 ;D ;D :angel: :angel:

« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2020, 02:19:32 PM »
KRAFT,
Has set in.
He forgot what he was going to type.

« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2020, 02:21:40 PM »
More shocked he figured out how to edit it... :P

Offline KathyL

• Ron & Kathy's Adventures
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2020, 02:22:16 PM »
KRAFT,
Has set in.
He forgot what he was going to type.
Reckon it's because you can't delete your own topics/posts ...
2016 Toyota FJ Cruiser
2015 Ultimate Xplor GT
Travel Blog:  Not At Home Today

« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2020, 02:24:34 PM »
More shocked he figured out how to edit it...
Ehehehe

« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2020, 02:48:28 PM »
More shocked he figured out how to edit it... :P
It was a mild surprise to me as well.  ;D

Well boys and girls, i'm off for a while.
I might come back on later on, but a bit unlikely i'm afraid.

To keep it civil, i'm just over the bitching and arguing on here.
This site has been a cracker for many years, but not so much now and its been going down hill for a while.

So, see ya's on the flip side.

Don't worry about sending me a PM, as I won't see it anyway.

Cheers...  :cheers:

« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2020, 03:05:48 PM »
It was a mild surprise to me as well.  ;D

Well boys and girls, i'm off for a while.
I might come back on later on, but a bit unlikely i'm afraid.

To keep it civil, i'm just over the bitching and arguing on here.
This site has been a cracker for many years, but not so much now and its been going down hill for a while.

So, see ya's on the flip side.

Don't worry about sending me a PM, as I won't see it anyway.

Cheers...  :cheers:

I’m hearing ya

« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2020, 03:30:09 PM »
If I see a thread going in a direction I don't like, I will ignore it.
If I see a member regularly posting in a manner I don't like, I will ignore him/her.
It's just a little camping forum. No need to get too worked up over any of it.
Too many good people on here to let a few others get in the way.

My 2c.....

The following users thanked this post: nab, Black Diamond, Troopy_03, edz, Spada, plusnq

« Reply #9 on: January 01, 2020, 03:46:00 PM »
If I see a member regularly posting in a manner I don't like, I will ignore him/her.

My 2c.....

Spot on.

« Reply #10 on: January 01, 2020, 04:13:10 PM »
 8) :( :cheers:

« Reply #11 on: January 01, 2020, 06:04:43 PM »

My 2c.....

Yep.  :cheers:

« Reply #12 on: January 01, 2020, 06:13:28 PM »
Have I missed something? Can someone point me in the direction of the bitching and arguing thread, I like reading them ;D

« Reply #13 on: January 01, 2020, 06:16:18 PM »
Quote from: DannyG
Have I missed something? Can someone point me in the direction of the bitching and arguing thread, I like reading them ;D

Hit the electrical section, or search for climate LMAO

Offline JD-120

« Reply #14 on: January 01, 2020, 07:01:51 PM »
I don't disagree jeepers. Was just saying to sixpac the other day what a bitch fest it is at the moment. Not sure anyone had time to go camping by the sounds of thiey posts

I just ignore it all however.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: Spada

« Reply #15 on: January 01, 2020, 07:50:23 PM »

Maybe start your own Danny?? ;D ;D

« Reply #16 on: January 01, 2020, 09:13:23 PM »

Hit the electrical section, or search for climate LMAO
I regret starting that one.
It did it to get an idea of percentages either way as it was constantly being mentioned in the fire threads.

Not to start a bitch fight of who was right.

Offline sharkcaver

• My ramblings:
« Reply #17 on: January 01, 2020, 10:04:14 PM »
It did it to get an idea of percentages either way as it was constantly being mentioned in the fire threads.

Well I thank you for starting it. You had no control over the numpties destroying it. The final poll result was interesting.

My advice to jeepers (with respect) is to harden up. Seems a shame to spit the plug on all when you can just elect to not read the drivel. You have choice. I hope you hang around.
An NX Paj, a D-Max and an Ultimate X-trk

http://sharkcaver.blogspot.com.au/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoz71vk1CWl6lp6Tv3dXhkQ/videos?sort=dd&view=0&shelf_id=0
The following users thanked this post: GeoffA, Troopy_03, stephenh1235

« Reply #18 on: January 01, 2020, 11:22:38 PM »
Its one thing to decide not to read the crap being posted up here in occasions...

But what started out many years ago kinda like a digital mens shed - devolved over time to where many of the longer term members have just simply pulled the plug and walked away...   

Jeeps is just one of a long line of these members...   And he was such a believer in MySwag once upon a time - that he even volunteered to lead and organise a successful National Meet a few years ago...

Look at any slab of posts from say 3 to 6 years ago, and you will see heaps of ghosts of names - that were once active and enthusiastic contributors and members....   No all but gone...

The problem at the base of it all is that the trolls had little or nill moderation; and freely tore down the goodwill and camaraderie of this place....   

The exception being to some extent, boys who had met up at National Meets etc and had got to know each other in the real world...    This group was not so readily trolled....

But because the forum felt unsafe, (from being dumped on by troll attacks getting dished out from total strangers behind a keyboard); the forum only had very few regular contributors; (maybe about 30+/-?).

Whilst some of the "thousands of members" signed up - had either walked away, or may have become occasional lurkers from a distance...   "too afraid" to contribute (any more).... 

Then the other "phenomenon" about this place ...  was that time and time and time again; any contributor's posts; (who was outside the above mentioned clique); well there contributors and posts were often routinely completely ignored...

So now to this post that I have made - will it be immediately attacked and trolled and get flamed; or will the issues I have raised be thought about; considered; and debated in an open minded and respectful way?

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.
The following users thanked this post: Spada, Fizzie

« Reply #19 on: January 02, 2020, 07:13:14 AM »

I actually thought it was good you started it as like you said, it gave people somewhere to post their views rather than ‘spamming’ other threads.

And if you don’t like it, don’t read or post to it.

I read MySwag multiple times a day and have done for some time. It is hands down the best forum I’m on. I can quite easily see past the few trolls and actually enjoy hearing other people’s opinion.

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA

« Reply #20 on: January 02, 2020, 07:40:32 AM »
Maybe start your own Danny?? ;D ;D

I have managed to start the odd thread that turns into a sh!t fight ;)

CTL

« Reply #21 on: January 02, 2020, 07:58:28 AM »
That climate change post was a classic example of the mentality of some on this forum.

The first couple of replies were just trolling.

A new member, who is obviously passionate about the subject, posts a sensible response but made the rookie error of using the word “idiots”.  It wasn’t a personal attack on anybody as he would not have known who voted they way they did.  The word idiot was used to describe a group of of anon. voters.  Straight away he is attacked.  Why that member took it personally I have no idea.

Two replies later the new member apologies for using the word idiot and goes on to make another valid statement to support his opinion.

Well, what happens then, three pages of the “old guard” smashing him.  Relentless bullying of a new member with an opinion different to theirs.  Sad and childish behaviour.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2020, 08:00:34 AM by CTL »

« Reply #22 on: January 02, 2020, 08:02:39 AM »
I have managed to start the odd thread that turns into a sh!t fight ;)

;D ;D

Online Fizzie

« Reply #23 on: January 02, 2020, 08:11:43 AM »

Look at any slab of posts from say 3 to 6 years ago, and you will see heaps of ghosts of names - that were once active and enthusiastic contributors and members....   No all but gone...

Have thought about them, & missed their comments & point of view, a number of times :'(

The problem at the base of it all is that the trolls had little or nill moderation; and freely tore down the goodwill and camaraderie of this place....   

I'm also a member on Whirlpool, which has very active moderation ;D Quite a few people complain that it's too strict, but if you're obviously trolling, or make a personal attack on another member, be assured that your post won't stay for long - in some cases, they're gone in minutes! >:D

That level on moderation may be too strict for (what should be) a fairly happy-go-lucky place like MySwag ;D, but I'd personally like to see more.

& Jeepers, if you are still reading this - Come back, mate!!!

Offline rossm

« Reply #24 on: January 02, 2020, 09:15:20 AM »
I have always thought this place pretty friendly compared to some. Most actually.

But I treat it like I treat conversation around the campfire. Easier to let people talk rubbish than have a fight.

And quietly head off to bed.